Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Clay County, Missouri"

See other formats


HISTORY 



OF 



CLAY COUNTY 

MISSOURI 



BY 

W. H. WOODSON 



ILLUSTRATED 



HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

Topeka Indianapolis 

1920 



'l^ymi 



•v\ 



/ 



PREFACE 



This history of Clay County has been compiled from three sources, 
printed and oral, which were deemed authentic and reliable, and from 
personal observation. No apocryphal event has been recorded, nor ques- 
tionable story attempted to be preserved. Gleanings from unquestioned 
truthful printed history have been freely made. The public archives in 
Washington City have been in requisition, and from the writings of Mr. 
Jefferson more than excerpts have been taken therefrom. 

The Editor has been a resident of Clay County for more than half 
a century which is more than half of the time since the County has had 
an existence, and has had not only the acquaintanceship, but in many 
instances the friendship of a number of the original settlers. Not a few 
of these men had vivid recollections of events occurring in the County 
from the very earliest days down to the time when they took delight 
in giving information to the writer, who was invariably a receptive 
listener. To him no entertainment was preferable than to have the priv- 
ilege of listening to such men as John Wilson, "Marse" Fountain Waller, 
John Bronaugh, James, Alvin and Foster Means nan-ate true incidents, 
stories of the early days in Clay County. James Means lived continuously 
on the same farm from infancy to very old age, yet he lived during that 
time in three different counties — Howard, Ray and Clay. 

Had not the Editor a predisposition to observe and retain historical 
facts, he certainly must have in the course of fifty years absorbed, at 
least, a modicum of historical events. 

Liberty, Mo., December 21, 1920. The Editor. 



This Volume, in Token of Friendship That Endures, is Dedicated to the 
Memory of Hon. D. C. Allen, Who, During a period of more than 
Sixty Years of Mature Life, did more for the Welfare of 
the People of Clay Co^cnty, than any other Man who 
ever Lived within its Borders, But whose Fi- 
delity and Services were never Appre- 
ciated, and died, 'Unwept, Unhori/- 
ored and Unsung." — W. H. W. 



INDEX 



Aker, Lee R 589 

Alpine Ice Company, The 682 

Anderson, Henry D 620 

Ashley, Dr. Madison A 663 

Atliins, Roy G 766 

Bainbridge, D. P 1 599 

Baird, Dr. J. Ed 630 

Baldwin, G. T 765 

Balkey, William B 691 

Barnes, W. P 724 

Bates, R. L. 638 

Bell, B. K ^.— 409 

Bell, Elisha B Z 54S 

Benson, Alanzo W 587 

Bergman, Axel F. 64S 

Best, Zack M 684 

Bethune, J. Byron 617 

Bevins, David M. . 601 

Bigham, Charles R 690 

Black, E. B 390 

Black, E. L 391 

Blevins, John M 454 

Bogart, Dr. Thomas N 614 

Boggess, Owen J 553 

Bollinger, P. J 649 

Borgmier, Bernard S 598 

Boyd, John K., Jr 577 

Boyer, Moses E 729 

Brigham, William D 735 

Bronaugh. David Thomas 452 

Brooks, Eugene A 571 

Brooks, Van W 554 

Buchta, M. E. 650 

Camron, E. F. 701 

Campbell, Arch A 732 

Campbell, Laura A 374 

Capps, Ernest L 771 

Carlyle, Arthur and Lank 529 

Carpenter, Walter 458 

Carson, James P 528 

Gates, James L. A 531 

Citizens Bank of Liberty, The 349 

Clardy, Oswald B. 467 

Clark, Robert J 748 



Clay County State Bank 696 

Clutter, Ross H 513 

Cockrell, J. J 711 

Coen, John William 621 

Cole, S. B 648 

Collins, Andy W 604 

Commercial Bank of Liberty, The 352 

Compton, George Thomas 447 

Conley, Daniel 518 

Connell, Robert H 503 

Cooley, Frederick Earl 478 

Cooley, Herbert M 472 

Cooper, G. G 750 

Coppinger, Charles Henry 369 

Coppinger, John Claude 358 

Corbin, B. B 359 

Coston, Aubrey H. 775 

Craven, William A. 669 

Creason, William D 774 

Crowley, Prank T 741 

Crowley, John 740 

Dagg, Dr. Hiram McElroy 540 

Daily and Dugan 404 

Dale. P. M 428 

Darby, Archibald Logan 776 

Davidson, James Oscar 720 

Davidson, L. A 362 

Davis, P. M. 693 

Deaton, Charles N 572 

Denny. Earl 547 

Doniphan, P. D 643 

Donovan, Claude N 377 

Donovan, Luke E 490 

Dorsett, L. T 348 

Dougherty, Capt, Lewis B 351 

Dresslaer, Lewis E 707 

Dudfield, Alvin 624 

Duncan. Andrew 653 

Duncan, William 702 

Eby, John A. 668 

Ecton, George T 557 

Edwards, Richard W 413 

Edwards, Prof. Ward 401 

Elgin, Joseph M 773 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Emmke, John 667 

Evans, Dr. David Jones 338 

Evans, J. McGee 721 

E^vans, Joseph L. 608 

Farmers Bank of Snaithville 517 

First National Bank, The 343 

Fish, C. W 631 

Flanders, Ella Jean 700 

Ford, M. S. — 564 

Pox, Dan H 652 

Prazier, John C 434 

Frick. George W 422 

Gabbert, Melvin M 432 

Gaines, Dr. John J 662 

Gentry, Oliver P 384 

Glasscock, A. B 473 

Gordon. Thomas C 444 

Gordon, Baylis Thornton 688 

Gragg, John 493 

Greene, Dr. John Priest 671 

Greenfield, Samuel C 610 

Griffin, E. P 582 

Gross, A. W 738 

Hall, E. P 398 

Hall, Rice Emmett 497 

Hall, George T 480 

Hallissy, William E 410 

Hamel, Philip E., Jr 522 

Harbaugh, Robert h 541 

Hardwicke, Claude 388 

Harlin, J. W 710 

Hart, James Moore 768 

Hart. John N 764 

Hayes, B. P 364 

Haynes, Henry 402 

Heathman, E. P 600 

Heifner, James P 491 

Henderson, Thomas H 609 

Hessel, Fred 602 

Hessel, Louis 607 

Hey, William 538 

Hicks, Leonard N 420 

Hodge, P. D 463 

Holloway, E. W 742 

Holt, Thomas J. 767 

Hope, Herbert T 640 

Hoy, William 692 

Hudelmeyer, John 474 

Hughes, James 451 



Hulse, Jefferson N. 574 

Hulse, Landie R 706 

Hummel, John 368 

Irminger, James Philip 394 

Irminger, R. H 597 

Irminger, William 394 

Isenbour, William 527 

Isley, Dr. Lafayette 672 

Jackson, O. A 677 

Jamison, Ed. ._ 512 

Jones, John B 682 

Jones, Rev. Allen Bailey 745 

Karr, Judge John W.._l 757 

Kenyon, Robert L 492 

Killgore. Charles M 588 

Kimbrell, Henry 442 

Kindred, Charles W 558 

King, John 680 

King, Hubert Earl 549 

Kirkland. E. E. 354 

Kirschner. John J 470 

Knighton, Claude P 460 

Laffoon, Edgar 737 

Laipple, John 370 

Lancaster, Ambrose 499 

Lancaster, John Samuel— 500 

Lancaster, Leslie 754 

Lancaster, Lewis R 754 

l.^nd, E. B 459 

Leavell, L. W 611 

Lewis, John S 670 

Ligon, Charles L 464 

Ligon, W. P 382 

Lightburne, Marcus Lee 713 

Linden Bank, The 487 

Long, G. W 529 

Loughrey, Hugh R 719 

Lownian, Alfred O 561 

McConnell, Thomas William 733 

McCrorey, Norman G. 763 

McDavid Brothers 697 

McKee, Charles 760 

.McRorey. W. T 628 

Mace. John H 477 

Macken, Alonzo E 424 

Macken, William E 470 

Major, Dr. Herman S 341 

Major, Dr. Ralph Herman 351 

Major, .lohn Sleet 339 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Major, Rev. John Sleet 342 

Manley, Walter 371 

Martin, James T 533 

Massey, Richard M 644 

Matthews, Dr. Francis Holmes 414 

Mereness, George H 728 

Mereness, James H 704 

Meservey, B. M 623 

Meservey, W. H 622 

Minter, Rolbert Lee 715 

Minter. James R 752 

Mitchell, Samuel H 761 

Miller, Dr. Enoch H 770 

Missouri City Banking Company, The 488 

Moberly, William Elisha l'>i> 

Montgomery, John A 727 

Moore, Captain Harris L 641 

Moore, Charles M. 419 

Moore, Edward D ■. 373 

Morgan, L. M 573 

Morton, John S 618 

Mosby State Bank, The 751 

Munkirs, Washington E 7r)l 

Musgrave, Dr. John E. 660 

National Bank of North Kansas City, 

The 472 

Nail, Edgar 498 

Nave, Harry 723 

Newlee, John M 340 

Norton, William F 399 

Nutter, Trigg L 372 

Pack, R. W. 674 

Paradise, Bank of. u83 

Paradise, William F 412 

Patterson, Joseph M., Jr 712 

Peters, Garnett M 407 

Pence, Charles 501 

Pence, Gilbert 734 

Petty, Beverly B 708 

Petty, George W ' 67S 

Petty, Oscar :\I 427 

Pigg, B. L. 483 

Plxlee, Benjamin F 381 

Pixlee, Peter C 378 

Plxlee, William Thomas 737 

Porter, George Raymond 717 

Portwood, Elijah 731 

Preston, Hugh H 524 

Prewitt, Prank 471 



Pryor, John Walter 430 

Reynolds, George W 532 

Rhodus, John Dan 762 

Rice, Dr. James T 661 

Rice, William C 590 

Ritchey, George S 539 

Robb, John P 429 

Rogers, Thomas Benton, Jr 443 

Rollins, Frank P 560 

Rollins, William Penn 562 

Rothwell, Dr. John Hughes 344 

Rowe, Marvin L 659 

Rowell, Samuel J 637 

Scott, Judge J. W 544 

Scott, James R 494 

Scott, Martin A 588 

Shannon, William P 755 

Shaw, C. G 521 

Shelton, Doniphan S 633 

Shelton, Judge Alonzo H 632 

Shelton, Merriman 696 

Silvers, Harry L 664 

Simmons and Sons, Willis 725 

Simrall, Ernest G 361 

Simrall, James S 360 

Sissom, Lonzo P 367 

Sisk, W. C 647 

Smith, Samuel H 612 

Smjthville. Bank of 551 

Snail, H. H. C 592 

Snapp, James W 694 

Snyder, Walter 684 

Squires, E. A. 403 

Stark, William J 519 

Stepp, James M 716 

Steenstry, Frank W 469 

Stollings. David Y 484 

Stollings, John S 411 

Stephens, R. T 627 

Stewart, J. T. 584 

Street, Sidney 482 

Suddurth, Dr. Charles H 594 

Sullivan, Judge James W 736 

Swan, George E 363 

Taul. John T 654 

Taul. Robert C 591 

Tapp, C. C 654 

Thomas, B - 627 

Thomas. J. E 634 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Thomas, Isaac BViJs 488 

Thomas. W. M 523 

Thomason, J. W 383 

Thomason, Marcellus S 705 

Thomason, Samuel N 651 

Thompson, Allen M. 580 

Tindall, H. Clay 639 

Trimble, W. L 393 

Vance, Willis L 568 

Venrick, James M 658 

Vest, Albert 448 

Vest, Robert D 709 

Wagner, George W 504 

Waller, Judge Joe B 579 

Waller, Sylvanus B 699 

Wallis, Robert H 759 

Wason, James D 421 

Watkins, Adoniran Judson..- 769 

Watkins, John H 742 

Wherritt, Alan P 542 

Williams, Daniel W 570 



Williams, Francis Marion.. : 461 

Williams, G. K 681 

Williams, John 550 

Williams, Sidney J 552 

Williams, William 431 

Willmott, William Canby 357 

Wilson, Cyrus D 439 

Winn. William Newton 440 

Withers, Robert S. 507 

Withers, Webster 438 

Woods, John B 514 

Woods. Henry A. 534 

M'ord, S. F. 397 

Wornall, Tom, Jr. 389 

Wren, Oscar M 437 

Wubbenhorst, Hiram L 689 

Wubbenhorst. John H 726 

Wymore, Colonel Doniphan 449 

Yates, O. P 578 

Young, James W 567 



History of Clay County 



CHAPTER I. 



LOUISIANA PURCHASE. 



DISCOVERY BY LA SALLE— FRENCH TERRITORY— CEDED TO SPAIN IN 1762 — BACK 
TO FRANCE IN 1800— PRESIDENT JEFFERSON OPENS NEGOTIATIONS 
THROUGH LIVINGSTON AND MADISON— PURCHASED FROM NAPOLEON IN 
1803 FOR $15,000,000— JEFFERSON'S FORESIGHT— "HEADS OF CONSIDERATION" 
—CONSEQUENCES OF CESSION AND GUARANTEE— FORMAL POSSESSION BT 
THE ITNITED STATES 65-72 



CHAPTER II. 



ORGANIZATION OF COUNTY. 



UNDER TERRITORIAL ACT— CLAY COUNTY FORMED IN 1822— COUNTY SEAT 
SELECTED— REDUCED TO ITS PRESENT LIMITS IN 1833— TWO ORIGINAL 
TOWNSHIPS— PERMANENT SETTLERS — IMMIGRATION — OLD FRANKLIN — 
TOPOGRAPHY— ACT CREATING CLAY COUNTY— CLASS OF CITIZENS— FROM 
BECK'S GAZETEBR— EARLY INDUSTRIES— FIRST ROAD— PIONEER SCHOOLS- 
TEACHERS' INSTITUTE ORGANIZED 73-84 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER III. 



EARLY COURTS AND ELECTIONS. 



FIRST COUNTY COURT— A COURT INCIDENT— ROADS ESTABLISHED— OFFICIALS 
APPOINTED— TAX LIST— FIRST ELECTION— SIMON COCKRELL— SECOND TERM 
— FIRST PATROL— FIRST CIRCUIT COURT— OFFICERS — JURORS — FIRST PER- 
SON HANGED IN CLAY COUNTY— "THE RING TAILED PAINTER"— COURT 
HOUSE — JAIL— OTHER ROADS ESTABLISHED— TOWNSHIPS CREATED— FER- 
RIES ESTABLISHED— SLAVE AND OTHER VALUES — STEAMBOATING— AN 
ATTEMPTED MURDER— A DOUBLE HANGING^A REVIEW OF THE EARLY 
DAYS 85-97 



CHAPTER IV. 



INDIAN TROUBLES. 



J'KOXnilTY OF INDIANS— THE VASSER FAMILY— INDIANS AT McELWEE'S PLACE 
—MARTIN PALMER— A FIGHT WITH INDIANS— TWO INDIANS KILLED— BLACK 
HAWK WAR— TROOPS ORGANIZED— AHE "HETHERLY WAR" 98-103 



CHAPTER V. 



MEXICAN WAR. 



DECLARATION OF WAR— PRESIDENT CALLS FOR 50.000 VOLUNTEERS— PLAN OF 
CAMPAIGN— MISSOURI REGIMENT— COMPANY C FROM CLAY COUNTY— ROSTER 
—FACTS ABOUT SOME OF THE OFFICERS AND MEN— COLONEL DONIPHAN IN 
COMMAND— OTHER OFFICERS— DONIPHAN'S EXPEDITION— MUSTERED OUT 
OF SERVICE— NECROLOGY'— HOME COMING RECEPTION— POLITICAL EFFECT. 

104-112 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



CHAPTER VI. 



EVENTS PRIOR TO THE CIVIL WAR. 



POLITICAL CAMPAIGN OF 1840— CLAY'S PREDICTION— CONGRESSIONAL ELECTION 
OP 1846— ELECTION OF 1845— GREAT FLOOD OF 1844— PRICES IN 1846— DIS- 
COVERY OF GOLD IN CALIFORNIA— SOME CLAY COUNTY 49ERS— CHOLERA- 
NECROLOGY— POLITICAL QUESTIONS OF 1850— MEETINGS HELD— QUESTION 
OF SLAVERY— KNOW NOTHING PARTY— ITS PLATFORM— TROUBLES IN KAN- 
SAS—PRO SLAVERY AND FREE STATE AGITATION— KANSAS ELECTION- 
PRO SLAVERY MEN ORGANIZED— MEN AND MEANS FURNISHED TO MAKE 
KANSAS A SLAVE STATE— RAILROAD BUILDING — POLITICAL CONDITIONS 
IN 1860 113-122 



CHAPTER VII. 



CIVIL WAR PERIOD. 



BEGINNING OF WAR— ARSENAL IN CLAY COUNTY SEIZED— ARMS AND AMMUNITION 
TAKEN— MASS MEETING AT LIBERTY— COMPANIES ORGANIZED— GOVERNOR 
ISSUES ORDERS — THE ROCK CREEK AFFAIR— TROOPS TO LEXINGTON- 
FIGHT AT BOONVILLE— CARTHAGE— BATTLE OF WILSON'S CREEK— SIEGE 
OF LEXINGTON— BLUE MILLS LANDING— FIGHT SOUTH OF LIBERTY— LEGIS- 
LATURE MEETS AT NEOSHO— FEDERAL TROOPS AT LIBERTY— STATE GOV- 
ERNMENT REORGANIZED— SOLDIERS AT LIBERTY— CONSERVATIVE UNION 
MEN— RAID ON MISSOURI CITY— BUSHWHACKERS— ORDER NO. 11— RAIDS 
BY BUSHWHACKERS.— END OF WAR 123-137 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER VIII. 



AFTER THE CIVIL WAR. 



DRAKE CONSTITUTION— CLu\.Y COUNTY SAVINGS ASSOCIATION ROBBED— DIS- 
FRANCHISEMENT— DEMOCHATS SUPPORT B. GRATZ BROWN FOR GOVERNOR 
—HOW THE NEGRO VOTE WAS SECURED— RESULT— THE WOODSON-McCARTY 
SENATORIAL, CAMPAIGN— RAILROADS— GRASSHOPPER YEAR — POLITICAL 
ISSUES AND ECONOMIC CONDITIONS— INDUSTRIES— VALUATION— ELECllON 
OF 1920 — DEMOCRATS CARRY CLjVY COUNTY 138-147 



CHAPTER IX. 



LIBERTY TOWNSHIP. 



PRESENT BOUNDARIES— TOPOOHAPHY— WATER SUPPLY"- FIRST SETTLERS- 
OTHER SETTLERS— LIBERTY LANDING — LITTLE SHOAL CREEK BAPTIST 
CHURCH — PROVIDENCE MISSIONARY' BAPTIST CHURCH 148-150 



CHAPTER X. 



LIBERTY. 



TOWN SITE ON LAND OF JOHN OWENS — COUNTY SEAT SELECTED— FIRST SALE 
OF TOWN LOTS— FIRST HOTEL AND STORES— TOWN INCORPOR.\TED— LIB- 
ERTY IN 1846— REINCORPORATED IN 1861- EARLY INDUSTRIES— WATER AND 
LIGHT— LODGES— CHURCHES— SCHOOLS — URBAN LAKE— ODD FELLOWS HOME 
ADVANTAGES OF LIBERTY— PROGRESS 151-167 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



CHAPTER XI. 



FISHING RIVER TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION— SOIL— FIRST SETTbliMENT— EARLY SETTLERS— MISSOURI CITY— EX- 
CELSIOR SPRINGS— WILLIAMS' LANDING— FLOOD OF 1844— ST. BERNARD— 
TRAGEDIES— LODGES— CHURCHES 167-172 



CHAPTER XII. 



EXCELSIOR SPRINGS. 



DISCOVERY OF SPRINGS— J. V. B. FLACK— FIRST HOUSE— RAPID GROWTH— VIL- 
LAGE INCORPORATED— FIRST OFFICERS— A FAMOUS RESORT— HOTELS- 
PARKS AND DRIVEWAY— MORE THAN TWENTY SPRINGS— MINERAL PROP- 
ERTIES OF WATER— REGENT SPRINGS— SILOAM SPRINGS — BATHING— GOLF 
CLUB AND COURSE— AN UP-TO-DATE TOWN— PUBLIC UTILITIES AND PRIVATE 
ENTERPRISES— AMUSEMENTS AND RECREATIONS— PUBLIC SCHOOLS__173-18S 



CHAPTER XIII. 



GALLATIN TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION — DRAINAGE — ONE OF THE ORIGINAL TOWNSHIPS — SETTLED IN 1822— 
VILLAGES— BARRY, FIRST AN INDIAN TRADING POST— HARLEM— MOSCOW— 
RANDOLPH— NORAH KANSAS CITY— EARLY CHURCHES 189-192 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER XIV 



PLATTE TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION AND BOUNDARIES— PHYSICAL FEATURES— GOOD FARMS— EARLY SET- 
TLERS— "yANKEE" SMITH— OTHER SETTLERS— TOWNSHIP CREATED FROM 
GALLATIN IN 1827— ORIGINAL BOUNDARIES— FIRST OFFICERS AND ELEC- 
TIONS — ELM GROVE. FIRST POST OFFICE— CIVIL WAR TRAGEDIES— PIONEER 
CHURCHES— SMITHVILLE—GOSNEYVILLE 193-200 



CHAPTER XV 



KEARNEY TOWNSHIP. 



ORGANIZATION-BOUNDARIES— FIRST JUSTICE OF THE PEACE— TOPOGRAPHY- 
SETTLEMENTS — WILD ANIMALS— CIVIL WAR TRAGEDIES— CHURCHES— THE 
TOWN OF KEARNEY— HOLT 201-207 



CHAPTER XVI 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION AND TOPOGRAPHY— RAILROAD FACILITIES— GREENVILLE AND CLAY- 
VILLE EXTINCT TOWNS— FIRST SETTLERS — TOWNSHIP FORMED IN 1830— 
BOUNDARIES— FIRST OFFICERS ANl5 ELECTION— MT. VERNON MISSIONARY 
BAPTIST CHURCH 20S-210 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



CHAPTER XVII 



WILLIAM JEWELL COLLEGE. 



THE STORY OP ITS FOUNDING AND LOCATION— OFFICERS AND FACULTY-. .211-224 



CHAPTER XVIII 



ORGANIZED MEDICINE IN CLAY COUNTY. 



By John Joseph Gaines, M.D., Secretary. 

FOUNDED IN 18B4— SECOND OLDEST IN THE STATE— EARLY MEETINGS— QUALIFI- 
CATION FOR MEMBERSHIP— OBJECTS— MEMBERSHIP FEE— FIRST OFFICERS 
—INVENTION AND DISCOVERY INVITED— CIVIL WAR— INTEREST— IN THE. 
WORLD WAR— "EVERY MAN A VOLUNTEER"— DISTINGUISHED SERVICE- 
SERVICE AT HOME — AUXILIARY DEFENSE COMMITTEE— NECROLOGY OF 
MEMBERS — DOCAOR ALLEN— PRESENT OFFICERS 223-230 



CHAPTER XIX 



ROAD BUILDING. 



NEED OF GOOD ROADS — MOVEMENT IN CLAY COUNTY IN 1916 — $1,250,000.00 BONDS 
VOTED— WORK DELAYED BY WORLD WAR— COL. E. M. STAYTON IN CHARGE 
—WORK ACCOMPLISHED AND IN PROGRESS— HOW THE FEDERAL GOVERN- 
MENT AND STATE COOPERATES IN GOOD ROADS BUILDING 231-236 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER XX 



DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



ALEXANDER DONIPHAN CHAPTER. 



By Mrs. Robert S. Withers. 



OBJECT— ORGANIZED IN 1909— COU ALEXANDER DONIPHAN— ACTIVITIES— MEM- 
BERS HONORED BY STATE ORGANIZATION— WORLD WAR WORK— ACTIVE 
RESIDENT MEMBERS^NON-RESIDENT MEMBERS— TRANSFERRED TO OTHER 
CHAPTERS— WITHDRAWN— DECEASED 237-242 



CHAPTER XXI 

THE PRESS. 



"THE PAR WEST" FOXWDED IN 1836— 'THE WESTERN JOURNAL"— "THH LIBERTY 
BANNER"— "THE WESTERN PIONEER"— "THE DEMOCRATIC PLATFORM"— 
"CLAY COUNTY FLAG"— "LIBERTY WEEKLY UNION"— "THE CLAY COUNTY 
DEMOCRAT"— "RICHFIELD MONITOR"— "THE SENTINEL"— "THE KEARNEY 
CLIPPER"— "THE LIBERTY TRIBUNE '—"THE LIBERTY ADVANCE"— "THE EX- 
CELSIOR DAILY CALL"— "EXCELSIOR SPRINGS STANDARD"— "CHRISTIAN 
UNION HERALD"— "CLAY COUNTY DEMOCRAT"— "CLAY COUNTY RUSTLER"— 
"CLAY COUNTY NEWS" 243-244 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER XXII. 



THE MORMONS. 



MORMON INFLUX TO JACKSON COUNTY IN 1832— TROUBLE IN JACKSON COUNTY- 
TOOK REFUGE IN CLAY AND OTHER COUNTIES- HOSTILITIES AGAINST MOR- 
MONS—MORMONS ARMED— FORCES CONCENTRATED AT FAR WEST— STATE 
MILITIA CALLED OUT— GENERAL DONIPHAN IN COMMAND^— MORMONS SUR- 
RENDER—JOE SMITH .-YND OTHER LEADERS INDICTED— IN JAIL AT LIBERTY 
—LEADERS SAVED BY' DONIPHAN— GOVERNOR BOGGS MURDERED— MOR- 
MONS REMAIN AWAY FROM STATE FOR FIFTY' YEARS— AT INDEPENDENCE. 

245-248 



CHAPTER XXIII. 



THE JAMES BOYS. 



NATIVES OF THIS COUNTY— FATHER, REV. ROBERT JAMES, DIED IN CALIFORNIA 
—MOTHER'S SUBSEQUENT MARRIAGES— FRANK JOINS CONFEDERATE ARMY- 
CAPTURED AND PAROLED— AGAIN ARRESTED— ESCAPES AND BECOMES A 
GUERILLA— RAIDS— MOTHER ARRESTED BY FEDERALS- JESSE "WENT TO 
THE BUSH"— TWICE WOUNDED— CAREERS OF BRIGANDAGE— PURSUIT KEPT 
UP BY LOCAL OFFICERS— PINKERTON DETECTIVE AND DANIEL ASKEW 
KILLED— END OF CAREERS— LITTLE KNOWN IN CLAY COUNTY 249-254 



CHAPTER XXIV. 



THE WORLD WAR. 



PKKSIDENT WILSON— AMERICAN PATRIOTISM— SUMMARY OF WAR— PERSONNEL 
OP LOCAL DRAFT BOARD— ROSTER OP SOLDIERS AND SAILORS FROM CLAT 
COUNTY-NECROLOGY— HONOR ROLL OF GOLD STARS— AMERICAN EFFORT 
IN THE WORLD WAR— ACHIEVEMENAS OP AMERICAN TROOPS 255-275 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER XXV. 



THE CLAY COUNTY COUNCIL OF DEFENSE. 



(By Robert S. VVJthers.) 



RAPIDITY OF RESPONSE— COUNSEL OF DEFENSE CREATED BY CONGRESS — WAR 
DECLARED— GOVERNOR GARDNER CALLS MEETING — CLAY COUNTY REPRE- 
SENTATIVES — PURPOSE AND DUTIES— MEMBERS 276-278 



CHAPTER XXVI. 



CLAY COUNTY WOMAN'S COMMITTEE COUNCIL OF NATIONAL 

DEFENSE. 



(By Mrs. Robert S. Withers.) 



WOMAN'S PART IN THE WAR— WOMAN'S DIVISION OF MISSOURI ORGANIZED— 
REGISTRATION— FAMILY ENROLLMENT— LUNCHEON AT LIBERTY— PROGRAM 
—FOOD CONSERVATION — CHILD WELFARE WORK— WORK OF TRAINING 
CAMP ACTIVITIES COMMITTEEJ— WAR SAVINGS AND LIBERTY IX)AN CAM- 
PAIGNS—MISCELLANEOUS ACTIVITIES— TOWNSHIP CHAIRMEN— TOWN CHAIR- 
MEN—COUNTY DEPARTMENTAL CHAIRMEN— FOOD CONSERVATION— CHILD 
WELFARE — RED CROSS — LIBERTY' LOAN— TRAINING CAMP ACTIVITIES — 
PATRIOTIC EDUCATION AND AMERICANIZATION— REGISTRATION 279-291 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

CHAPTER XXVII. 



CLAY COUNTY CHAPTER, AMERICAN RED CROSS. 



FIRST WAR FUND DRIVE— ORGANIZATION FORMED IN CLAY COUNTY— OFFICERS 
OF CLAY COUNTY— CHAIRMEN— WAR FUND AND MEMBERSHIP CAMPAIGNS- 
RECEIPTS AND EXPENDITURES — PRODUCTION DEPARTMENT — CANTEEN 
WORK — HOME SERVICE SECTION — DOCTORS FROM CLAY COUNTY WITH 
ARMY AND NAVY— DENTISTS— VETERINARIES— STUDENT DOCTORS— NURS- 
ING DEPARTMENT JUNIOR RED CROSS— NEGRO AUXILIARY 292-309 



CHAPTER XXVIII 



SOME CLAY COUNTY AND MISSOURI EVENTS. 



SOME DATES OF DISCOVERY, SETTLEMENT AND PROGRESS OF MISSOURI AND 
ANNALS OF CLAY' COUNTY, MISSOURI 310-327 



CHAPTER XXIX 



OFFICIALS FROM THE ORGANIZATION OF CLAY COUNTY. 



CONVENTION DELEGATES — STATE SENATORS — REPRESENTATIVES — CIRCUIT 
COURT JUDGES— PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS— JUDGES OF PROBATE— COUNTY 
COURT JUDGES— COUNTY CLERKS— SHERIFFS— CIRCUIT COURT CLERKS- 
COLLECTORS OF COUNTY REVENUE— COUNTY ASSESSORS— COUNTY TREAS- 
URERS—COUNTY SURVEYORS— RECORDERS OF DEEDS— COUNTY COMMISSION- 
ERS OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS — CORONERS— RESIDENT ATTORNEYS— EARLY 
LAVl'YERS 328-337 



INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS 



Blevins, John M 455 

Bogart, Dr. Thomas N : 615 

Bridge Across Smith's Fork 193 

Brooks, Van. W 555 

Cam,pbell, Laura A. 375 

Collins, Residence of Andy W 605 

Court House, Clay County 65 

Daily and Dugan 405 

Dudfield, Alvin 625 

Early Day Transportation 136 

Elms Hotel. Excelsior Springs 176 

Evans, David Jones 338 

Ford, M. S. and Grandson 565 

Frazier, John C 435 

Frazier, Mrs. John C 435 

Garage, Day and Night, Excelsior 

Springs 665 

Gashland Lumber Company 525 

Gentry, O. P 385 

Gordon, Thomas C 445 

Hayes, B. P 365 

High School, Excelsior Springs 184 

Hudelmyer, Mr. and Mrs. John and 

Grandson 475 

Hulse, J. N 575 

Hulse, Mrs. J. N 575 

Irminger, James Philip 395 

Jail at Liberty, Old 65 

Kearney Public School 168 

Kirkland, E. E. 355 

Ligon, Mr. and Mrs. Charles L. and 

Son 465 



Macken, Albert and Elizabeth J 425 

Massey, R. M 645 

Matthews, Dr. F. H 415 

Mexican War Veterans 104 

Odd Fellows' Home 152 

Pack, R. W 675 

Pioneer Home 120 

Pioneer Motor Power 120 

Post Office, Excelsior Springs 176 

Public Library, Excelsior Springs 184 

Rothwell, Dr. John H 345 

Scott, James R 495 

Scott, Judge J. W. 545 

Smithville Public School 193 

Snyder, Walter 685 

Steamboating, in 1860 80 

Stewart, J. T 585 

StoUings, David Y 485 

Suddarth, Dr. C. H 595 

Tapp, Mr. and Mrs. C. C 655 

Thomas, J. E 635 

Thomas, Mrs. J. E 635 

View from Missouri City 168 

Wagner, Mr. and Mrs. George W 505 

William Jewell College, Campus 216 

William Jewell College, Jewell Hall- 224 
William Jewell College, Science Hall 216 

Woods, John B 515 

Woods, Mr. and Mrs. Henry A 535 

Woodson, W. H. Frontispiece 




ci.AV corx'i'v coriri' iiofsK, liukkty. mo. 




OLD JAIL AT LIBKRTV, MO., WHLKIO JOSKPH S.MITH WAS 
INCARCKKATKI) I.\ 1S37 



History of Clay County 



CHAPTER I. 



LOUISIANA PURCHASE. 



DISCOVERY BY LA SALLE— FRENCH TERRITORY— CEDED TO SPAIN IN 1762— BACK 
TO FRANCE IN 1800- PRESIDENT JEFFERSON OPENS NEGOTIATIONS 
THROUGH LIVINGSTON AND MADISON— PURCHASED FROM NAPOLEON IN 
1803 FOR $15,000.000 — JEFFERSON'S FORESIGHT — "HEADS OF CONSIDERATION" 
— CONSEQUENCES OF CESSION AND GUARANTEE — FORMAL POSSESSION BY 
THE UNITED STATES. 

The ownership of the territory, known as the Louisiana Purchase, 
was not asserted until LaSalle, in 1682, took possession of that country, 
in the name of his sovereign, Louis XIV, King of France, and in whose 
honor he named the province, Louisiana. That part of Louisiana lying 
west of the Mississippi river was, in 1762, ceded to Spain, and from that 
time until 1800, Spain held undisputed sovereignty over the whole of the 
Louisiana province. For years during the latter part of the seventeenth 
century, and for more than a decade in the early part of the eighteenth 
century, all Europe, and America, were caldrons of wars, rumors of wars, 
contention and diplomacy. The most powerful single personality of mod- 
em days, the greatest soldier since Caesar, the most astute and adroit 
diplomat of all time. Napoleon Bonaparte, was at the zenith of his glory, 
and wonderful career, and was panoplied with such power the greater 



66 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

part of this period as to cause the gi-eater part of Europe to quake with 
fear for its safety, and America, especially the United States — then in 
its infancy — to be not a little concerned for its safety and pei^petuity. 

Jealous of the increasing activities of England and Spain in America, 
Napoleon compelled Spain into a treaty, known as the Treaty of Ildefonso, 
October 1, 1800, by which Spain ceded to France, all the territory known 
as Louisiana, west of the Mississippi. Although this result had been 
accomplished during the most tumultous and exceedingly dangerous 
times, yet this treaty had been kept a secret for three years, still not 
sufficiently so that Thomas Jefferson — then President — did not fail to 
get an inkling that such a treaty had been consummated, and he determined 
on prompt action to secure, if possible, the province of Louisiana, deem- 
ing such acquisition as not only absolutely necessary to protect the in- 
tegrity and safety of his country, but to prevent impending war, and, 
also, by so doing succeeded in extending the confines of his own coun- 
try. Robert Livingston was the American minister to France, and to 
him was promptly sent instructions to make known to that govenmient 
that the United States would insist upon the free navigation of the Mis- 
sissippi, and that the occupation, by tlie French government, of New 
Orleans, would bring about a conflict between the two nations, which 
would culminate in armed rupture; that it was the part of \visdom, as 
well as diplomacy, for the two countries to remain on peaceable and 
friendly terms; that the United States government desired peace with 
all nations; that the occupancy of New Orleans might oblige the United 
States to make common cause with England, France's bitterest, and, 
apparently, implacable enemy; that to avoid such a step, the govern- 
ment of the United States would purchase the province of Louisiana. 

James Madison was authorized by Mr. Jefferson, the President, to 
assist Mr. Livingston in this negotiation with France, which proved suc- 
cessful, and on the 29th day of December, 1803, the flag of this country 
floated over the City of New Orleans; the territory having been pur- 
•chased from France at a cost of only $15,000,000. Thus was added to 
our domain all the territory known as the Louisiana province. 

From the time the Colonies won their independence from Great 
Britain, to 1803, the United States was bounded on the North by Canada 
— a province of Great Britain; on the East by the Atlantic ocean; on 
the South by Florida — a province of Spain, and the Gulf of Mexico; on 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 67 

the West by Louisiana — a province of France; contentious, belligerous 
nations, implacable enemies, virtually surrounding an infant govenrment, 
without a navy to protect her seaboard. 

The dangers of such a condition as early as 1790, had been seen by 
Mr. Jefferson, for he then indicted certain secret obsei-vations, not elab- 
orating them, but in epitome, which abound in much historic value, and 
of much interest. In the archives in Washington, D. C, are many of the 
books, and papers of Thomas Jefferson, bought by Congress at large ex- 
pense, from v/hich has been secured excerpts from what Mr. Jefferson 
termed "Heads of Consideration," as follows: 

Heads of Consideration on the Conduct we are to Observe in the 
War between Spain and Great Britain, and Particularly should the Lat- 
ter attempt the Conquest of Louisiana and the Floridas. 

The dangers to us, should Great Britain possess herself of those 
countries : 

She will possess a temtory equal to half ours beyond the Mississippi. 

She will i-educe that half of ours which is on this side of the Mis- 
sissippi: By her language, laws, religion, manners, government, com- 
merce, capital; by the possession of New Orleans, which draws to it the 
dependence of all the waters of the Mississippi; by the markets she can 
offer them in the Gulf of Mexico and elsewhere. 

She will take from the remaining part of our States the markets 
they now have for their produce; by furnishing those markets cheaper 
with the same articles, tobacco, rice, indigo, bread, lumber, arms, naval 
stores, furs. 

She will have then possessions double the size of ours, as good in soil 
and climate. 

She will encircle us completely, by these possessions on our land- 
board, and her fleets on our sea-board. Instead of two neighbors balanc- 
ing each other, we shall have one more than the strength of both. 

Would the prevention of this be worth a war? 

Consider our abilities to take part in a war. Our operations would 
be by land only. How many men should we employ? — their cost? Our 
resources of taxation and credit equal to this. 

Weigh the evil of this new accumulation of debt against the loss 
of markets, and eternal expense and danger from so overgrown a neighbor. 

But this supposition that France, as well as Spain, shall be engaged 



68 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

in the war; for with Spain alone, the war would be unsuccessful, and our 
situation rendered worse. 

No need to take a part in the war as yet. We may choose our own 
time. Delay gives us many chances to avoid it altogether. 

In such a choice of objects, Great Britain may not single out Louisi- 
ana and the Floridas. She may fail in her attempt on them. France 
and Spain may recover them. 

If all these chances fail, we should have to re-take them. The differ- 
ence between retaking and preventing, overbalanced by the benefits of 
delay. Delay enables us to be better prepared to obtain from the allies 
a price for our assistance. 

Suppose these our ultimate views, what is to be done at this time? 

1. As to Spain: 

If she be as sensible as we are, that she cannot save Louisiana and 
the Floridas, might she not prefer their independence to their subjection 
to Great Britain. Does not the proposition of the Count d'Estaing fur- 
nish us an opening to communicate our ideas on this subject to the court 
of France, and through them to that of Madrid, and our readiness to 
join them in guaranteeing the independence of those countries? This 
might save us from a war, if Great Britain I'espected our weight in a 
war; and if she does not, the object would place the war on popular 
ground with us. 

2. As to England: 

That as to the treaty of commerce, we would prefer amicable to ad- 
versary arrangements, though the latter would be infallible, and in our 
power; that our ideas are, that such a ti-eaty should be found in perfect 
reciprocity, and would, therefore, be its own price; that as to an alliance, 
we can say nothing till its object be shown, and that it is not to be in- 
consistent with existing engagements; that in the e\'ent of a war be- 
tween Great Britain and Spain, we are disposed to be strictly neutral; 
that, however, we should view with extreme uneasiness any attempts of 
either power to seize the possessions of the other on our frontier, as we 
consider our own safety interested in a due balance between our neigh- 
bors (It might be deemed advantageous to express this latter sentiment, 
because, if there be any difference of opinion in their councils, whether 
to bend their force against North or South America, or the islands — 
and certainly there is room for difference — and if these opinions be 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 69 

nearly balanced, that balance ought to be determined by the prospect of 
having an enemy the more or less, according to the object they should 
select). 

Heads of Consideration on the Navigation of the Mississippi. 

We have a right to the navigation of the Mississippi: 1st, by nature; 
2nd, by treaty. It is necessary to us. More than half the territory of the 
United States is on the waters of that river. Two hundred thousand of 
our citizens are settled on them, of whom forty thousand bear arms. 
These have no outlet for their tobacco, rice, corn, hemp, lumber, house 
timber, ship timber. 

We have hitherto respected the indecision of Spain, because we wish 
peace; because our western citizens have had vent at home for their 
productions. 

A surplus of production begins now to demand foreign markets. 
Whenever they shall say: "We cannot, we will not, be longer shut up," 
the United States will be reduced to the following dilemma: 

1st, To force them to acquiescence. 2nd, To separate from them, 
rather than take part in a war against Spain. 3rd, Or to presei-ve them 
in our Union, by joining them in the war. 

The first is neither in our principles, nor in our power. 2nd. A 
multitude of reasons decided against the second. It may suffice to speak 
out one; were we to give up half our territory rather than engage in a 
just war to preserve it, we should not keep the other half long. 3rd. 
The third is the alternative we must adopt. 

How are we to obtain that navigation? 

(A) By Force. 

1st. Acting separately. That we can effect this with certainty and 
promptitude, circumstances decide. 

Objection. We cannot retain New Orleans, for instance, were we to 
take it. 

Answer. A moderate force may be so secured, as to held out till 
succored. Our succors can be prompt and effectual. Suppose, after tak- 
ing it, we withdrew our force. If Spain retakes it by an expedition, we 
can recover it by a counter-expedition, and so as often as the case shall 
happen. Their expedition will be slow, expensive, and lead to catastrophe. 
Ours sudden, economical, and a check can have no consequences. We 
should associate the country to our Union. The inhabitants wish this. 



70 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

They are not disposed to be of the Spanish government. It is idle in 
Spain to suppose our Western inhabitants will unite with them. They 
could be quiet but a short time under a government so repugnant to their 
feelings. Were they to come under it for present purposes, it would be 
with a view to throw it off soon. Should they remain, they would com- 
municate a spirit of independence to those with whom they should be 
mixed. 

2nd. Acting in conjunction with Great Britain, and with a view to 
partition. The Floridas (including New Orleans) would be assigned to 
us. Louisiana (or all the Western waters of the Msisissippi) to them. 
We confess that such an alliance is not what we would wish. Because it 
may eventually lead us into embaiTassing situations with our best friend, 
and put in power of two neighbors into the hands of one. L. Lansdowne 
has declared he gave the Floridas to Spain rather than the United States 
as a bone of discord with the House of Bourbon, and of reunion with 
Great Britain. Connolly's attempt (as well as other facts) proves they 
keep it in view. 

(B) By Negotiation. 

Ist. What must Spain do of necessity? The conduct of Spain has 
proved that the occlusion of the Mississippi is system with her. If she 
opens it now, it will be because forced by imperious circumstances. She 
will consequently shut it again when these circumstances cease. Treaty 
will be no obstacle. Irregularities, real or pretended, in our navigators 
will furnish color enough. Perpetual broils, and finally war will ensue. 
Prudence and even necessity, imposes on us the law of settling the mat- 
ter now, finally, and not by halves. With experience of the past and 
prospect of the future, it would be imbecility in us to accept the naked 
navigation. With that, we must have what is necessary to its use, and 
without which it would be useless to secure its continuance; that is, a 
port near the mouth to receive our vessels and protect the navigation. 
But even this will not secure the Floridas and Louisiana against Great 
Britain. If we are neutral, she will wrest those possessions from Spain. 
The inhabitants (French, English, Scotch, American) would prefer Eng- 
land to Spain. 

2nd. What then had Spain better do of choice? Cede to us all ter- 
ritory on our side of the Mississippi; on condition that we guarantee all 
her possessions on the Western waters of that river, she agreeing fur- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 71 

ther, to subsidize us if the guarantee brings us into the war. Should 
Great Britain possess herself of the Floridas and Louisiana, her gov- 
erning principles are conquest, colonization, commerce, monopoly. She 
will establish powerful colonies in them. These can be poured into the 
Gulf of Mexico for any sudden entei"prise there, or invade Mexico, their 
next neighbor, by land. Whilst a fleet co-operates along shore and cuts 
off relief. And proceed successively from colony to colony. 

With respect to us, if Great Britain establishes herself on our whole 
land-board our lot will be bloody and eternal war, or indissoluble con- 
federacy. Which ought we to choose? What will be the lot of the Span- 
ish colonies in the jaws of such a confederacy? What will secure the 
ocean against the monopoly? 

Safer for Spain that we should be her neighbor, than England. Con- 
quest not in our principles, inconsistent with our government. Not our 
interest to cross the Mississippi for ages. And will never be our interest 
to remain united with those who do. Intermediate chances save the 
trouble of calculating so far fonvard. 

Consequences of this cession, and guarantee: 1st. Every subject 
of difference will be removed fi'om between Spain and the United States. 
2nd. Our interest will be strongly engaged in her retaining her Ameri- 
can possessions. 3rd. Spain will be quieted as to Louisiana, and her 
territories west of that. 4th. She may employ her whole force in de- 
fence of her islands and Southern possessions. 5th. If we preserve our 
neutrality, it will be a very partial one to her. 6th. If we are forced 
into the war, it will be, as we wish, on the side of the House of Bour- 
bon. 7th. Her privateers will commit formidable depredation on the 
British trade, and occupy much of their force. 8th. By withholding 
supplies of provision, as well as by concurring in expeditions, the British 
islands will be in imminent danger. 9th. Their expenses of precaution, 
both for their continental and insular possessions, will be augumented 
as to give hope of running their credit down. In fine, for a narrow slip 
of barren, detached, and expensive country, Spain secures the rest of her 
territory, and makes an ally where she might have a dangerous enemy. 

Formal possession of Louisiana by the United States was in Decem- 
ber, 1803, and no later than January, 1804, the President, to the cele- 
brated Dr. Joseph Priestly, thus expressed himself. "I very early saw 
that Louisiana was indeed a speck in our horizon which was to burst in 



72 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

a tornado; and the public are unapprized how near the catastrophe was. 
Nothing but a frank and friendly development of causes and effects on 
our part, and good sense enough in Bonaparte to see that the train was 
unavoidable, and would change the face of the world, saved us from that 
stomi. I did not expect he would yield till a war took place between 
F\-ance and England, and my hope was to palliate and endure * * *. 
I believe the event not very distant, but acknowledge, it came sooner 
than I expected. Whether, however, the good sense of Bonaparte might 
not see the course predicted to be necessary and unavoidable, even before 
a war should be imminent, was a chance which we thought it our duty 
to try; but the immediate prospect of rupture brought the case to im- 
mediate decision. The denouement has been happy ; and I confess I look 
to this duplication of area for the extending a government so free and 
economical as ours, as a great achievement to the mass of happiness 
which is to ensue." 



CHAPTER II. 



ORGANIZATION OF COUNTY. 



UNDER TERRITORIAL ACT— CLAY COUNTY FORMED IN 1822— COUNTY SEAT 
SELECTED — REDUCED TO ITS PRESENT LIMITS IN 1S33— TWO ORIGINAL 
TOWNSHIPS— PERMANENT SETTLERS — IMMIGRATION — OLD FRANKLIN — 
TOPOGRAPHY — ACT CREATING CLAY COUNTY — CLASS OF CITIZENS — FROM 
BECK'S GAZETEER— EARLY INDUSTRIES — FIRST ROAD— PIONEER SCHOOLS — 
TEACHERS' INSTITUTE ORGANIZED. 

Under the territorial Act of 1812, all west of the Mississippi river 
and north of the Mississippi river, formed St. Charles County; which 
continued until 1816, when that part of Howard, north of the Missouri, 
was taken, and from Howard, in 1829, Ray County was formed, includ- 
ing all areas west of Grand River to the State line, and from the Missouri 
north to the Iowa line. 

Clay County was formed from Ray, January 2, 1822, extending 
from the Missouri River north to the Iowa line, with its present width 
of about twenty-one miles, and its length, of about one hundred miles. 

The Act of the Legislature creating the C9unty, appointed five com- 
missioners to select a permanent seat of government for the county, and 
further provided that until the selection of this permanent seat was made, 
all courts should be held at the house of John Owjns, which house was 
located upon what is now known on the plat of the town — now city — of 
Liberty, as lot 173, o n Water street. The commissioners named in the 
Act were Henry Estes, Enos Vaughn, Wyatt Adkins and John Pouge. 
These commissioners made report to the Circuit Court of the county, July 
1, 1822, as follows: 



74 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

"That in pursuance of the object of their appointment, they as- 
sembled together on the 20th of March last, to examine the different dona- 
tions offered the county, and continued in session three days examining 
sites for a town, that after mature deliberation and minute investigation 
the tract of land owned by John Owens and Charles McGee was thought 
best adapted for which it was designed, as being more central for the 
population, surrounded with good and permanent springs, lying suffi- 
ciently elevated to di-ain off all superfluous waters, in a healthy and 
populous part of the country, and entirely beyond the influences of lakes, 
ponds, or stagnant waters of any kind ; they therefore, unanimously agreed 
to accept of the proposition of Mr. Owens and Mr. McGee of a donation of 
twenty-five acres each for the use of the county." 

Again it was deemed advisable to limit the area of the county, and on 
January 2, 1833, the reduction was made to its present limits, being 
bounded on the north by Clinton on the east by Ray, on the south by 
Jackson, with the Missouri River intei"vening — and on the west by Platte. 
The county comprises 254,423 acres. The county was divided into only 
two townships — Gallatin and Fishing River; the county seat being in 
Gallatin until May 2, 1825, when Liberty Township was created. Platte 
Township was createti June 4, 1827; Washington Township, August 9, 
1830, and Kearney Township was created September 3, 1872. That pai-t 
of the county north of its present limits in 1831, extending to the Iowa 
line was called Lafayette Township, and was very sparsely settled, and 
on the west of the limits of the county "attached for civil and military 
purposes," was the Platte country, or rather the greater part of what 
constitutes now Platte County, was in 1837, divided into Pettie, CaiToll, 
Far West and Preston Townships. / 

No i-eliable, authentic infoi-mation can be given of any peiTnan^nt 
settlement made in what is now Clay County prior to the year 181£^ In 
that year there came John J)wens, Saniuel McGee, Benja min Hensley, 
William Campbell, Thomas Campbell. John Wilson, Zachariah Averett, 
John Braley, Charles McGee, George Taylor, Travis Finley, Cornelius 
Gilliam and Edward Byburn. These located in the southern, southeastern 
and northeastem parts of the county; many descendants of whom are at 
this time residents of the county. 

The great tide of immigration began in earnest in 1820,^ and settle- 
ments were made on Fishing river. Big Shoal, along the Missouri river, 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 75 

and the sojrfthern portion of the county, generally by Samuel Tilford, John 
Thornton, Andrew Robertson, Sr., Andrew Robertson Jr., Colonel Shubael 
Allen, Robert Mun-ay, John Bartleson, Andrew Bartleson, Andrew Bartle- 
son, John Dean, Henry Estes, Thomas Estes, Peter Estes, James Hyatt, 
Samuel Hyatt, Richard Hill, William Munkers, James Gilmore, Robert 
Gilmore, Ennis Vaughn, Andrew Russell, Eoba Tilleiy, Martin Parmel^^ 
Henry Mailes, Squire Hutchinson, Solomon Fry, Edmund Munday, William 
Lenhart, Wm. L. Smith, Humphrey Best, David McElwee, Eldridge Pat- 
ter, Thomas Hixon, Joseph Groom, Hugh Brown, Joseph Brown, Thomas 
Officer, Robert Officer, Patrick Laney, and others. It can be said of these 
early settlers that a moi'e intelligent, industrious, better educated and 
-worthier set of men never settled m any new country. They were the 
scions of a noble ancestry, who had settled originally in Virginia, giving 
to that State renown and prestige such as no other State in the Union 
possessed; whose fathers had gone to Kentucky ^ Tenne ssee, and the 
Carolinas, and whose sons now were seeking homes in western Missouri. 
It is not contended that all of this immigration was from these States, 
for such was not the case, but by far the greater portion of these settlers 
were from Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North and South Carolina. 
I' In 1820 the territory embraced in Clay County fonned a part of what 
I was known as Howard County, and the county seat was Old Franklin. At 
this time, there was not a store at which goods could be purchased within 
the present confines of Clay County, (it is true some French men had a 
trading post at Randolph Bluffs, where barter and trade were made for 
furs and beeswax, exchange being made therefor, in gewgaws and trink- 
ets; but nothing of a substantial character could be purchased^) At this 
time, if a settler wanted a new axe there was no place to obtain it north, 
south or west, but only at the nearest place, which was five miles this 
side of Old Franklin, in Howard County, to a certain blacksmith, who 
made axes with his bellows, steel and iron, anvil and hammers, and it was 
estimated for a settler to leave home, with his saddle bags, go to this 
blacksmith's, get his axe made, then return home, shaiTDen the axe with 
an old fashioned gi'indstone, would take about two weeks of the settler's 
time. Up to 1819, there was no money in circulation, nor was there in 
what is now Clay County, according to Mrs. Shubael Allen, then a resi- 
i dent, a silk ribbon. 

Blue grass was indigenous to this immediate section of the countiy; 



76 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

the topography of this section bore a striking resemblance to that of 
Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee; timber abounded almost over the 
section, especially for miles along and away from the JMissouri River, all 
these things, together with the cheap cost of the land, were very alluring, 
captivating to these young men of the older states, and determining to 
avail themselves of opportunity afforded them, hastened to this section 
of the country, and right well did they do their pai-t, not only in secur- 
ing homes, but in clearing the land of its dense timber, cultivating the 
soil, erecting school houses, churches, colleges, building towns and vil- 
lages; foremost in all enteri^rises, until now, no county in the state has a 
better prestige for morals, enterprises, education, thrift and general en- 
lightenment. 

V Bluffton which stood on the Missouri River, near where Camden now 
stands, was made the county seat of Ray County, after that county was 

I taken from Howard, Clay County being at the time a part of Ray. The 
first county court was held there in April, 1821, and two of its members 

/ were John Thornton and Elisha Camron, and the clerk of the court was 
William L. Smith ; all three of these officers were citizens of what is now 
Clay County. 

The first settlers of the territory bordering on the Missouri River, 
not only in what is now Clay County, but in almost all other counties, 
were Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, and the two Carolinas, and in mak- 
ing their settlements, located their houses near springs. Their locations 
were in timbered lands, not prairie, for in that early day prairie land was 
an unknown quantity, it having been reported, and believed to be, fit only 
for grazing purposes, hence settlements were made almost exclusively in 

timber lands. 

y 
So numerous were the settlers in what is now Clay County, prior to 

the autumn of 1821, that it was determined to create a new county, sub- 
dividing Ray into two or more counties, and accordingly on the 2nd day 
of January, 1822, the Legislature passed the following act creating the 
county of Clay: 

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri as 
follows : 

1. A new county shall be established as follows: Beginning in the 
middle of the main channel of the Missouri River, south of the range 
line passing between range twenty-nine and thirty west of the fifth prin- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 77 

cipal meridian, thence north and with said range line, pursuing the course 
thereof, when continued to the northern boundary line of the state; thence 
west with the northern boundary line to the northwest range of this state ; 
thence south with said boundary line due south to the Missouri River, and 
to the middle of the main channel thereof; thence down the middle of 
the main channel thereof to the place of beginning, which shall be called 
the county of Clay. 

2. John Hutchins, Henry Estes, Enos Vaughn, Wyatt Adkins and 
John Poague, be, and are hereby appointed commissioners, with power 
to fix upon the most suitable place in said county whereon to erect a 
court-house and jail; and the place whereon they, or a majority of them 
shall agree, shall be the permanent seat of justice for the said county of 
Clay. 

3. The power and duties of the said commissioners within the said 
county of Clay shall be the same as the powers and duties assigned by 
an act entitled "An act defining the limits of Howard County, and laying 
off new counties within the limits of said county as heretofore defined", 
to the commissioners appointed to point out and fix upon the most suit- 
able place in the county of Kay whereon to erect a court-house and jail 
for the said county of Ray. 

4. The said commissioners, or a majority of them, be and are hereby 
empowered to receive as a donation, or to purchase the land by them 
selected, and to lay off the same into lots or squares, and to expose them 
to public sale under the same restrictions as were imposed by the before 
recited act, on the commissioners of Ray County, and the powers and 
duties of the judge of the circuit court shall be same in the said county 
of Clay, as in the said county of Ray. 

5. The courts to be holden in the county of Clay, shall be at the 
house of John Owens, until said commissioners shall choose and fix on a 
temporary seat of justice for said county; and after the said commis- 
sioners have selected a temporary seat of justice for said county, the 
courts to be holden for said county shall be holden at the temporary seat 
of justice until a house for holding courts and a jail is provided at the 
permanent seat of justice for said county of Clay. 

6. All executions to be issued after the taking eflFect of this act, 
from the circuit court of the county of Ray, shall be directed to the 
proper officers of the county of Clay, if the person against whom they 



78 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

may issue resides within the said county of Clay; and such executions 
shall be executed and returned by him in the same manner as if issued 
by the clerk of the county of Clay; and all accounts of executors, ad- 
ministrators and guardians now pending in the county of Ray, if such 
executors, administrators or guardians x-eside in the county of Clay, shall 
at the request of such executors, administrators or guardians, be certi- 
fied by the clerk of said county of Ray, with the proceedings had thereon, 
to the clei-k's office in the county of Clay, and shall stand ready for trial 
or settlement as if they had commenced therein; and all justices of the 
peace and constables now residing in the limits of said county of Clay 
shall continue to execute all the duties of their offices, as justices and 
constables, in the county of Clay ; and it shall be the duty of the county 
court for said county of Clay, at the first term of said court, to appoint 
a collector for said county, who shall immediately enter upon the duties 
of his office ; and the taxes for the said county of Clay shall be collected 
and accounted for by the collector of said county in the same manner 
as is now required of the collector of Ray County. 

This act shall take effect and be in force from and after the passage 
thereof. 

Appi-oved, January 2, 1822. 

At the time of the organization of the county the population was 
about 1,200. and about this time, or shortly thereafter, this population 
consisted of other men of sterling worth, not hereinbefore mentioned, 
who by their industiy, entei-prise and discernment contributed largely to 
the upbuilding of the county, namely, David Ashby, John and Robert 
Aull, John and Western Averett, Thomas and Garrett Arnold, John and 
Johnathan Adkins, Pleasant Adams John Akers, Humphrey Best, Cyrus 
Brashears, John Bartleson, David Boggs, John Ben-y, John Braley, Wil- 
liam and Stephen Baxter, Walker and Truman Bivens, Hugh and Joseph 
Brown, John and Joseph Broadhurst, Van and Robert H. Brooks, Leonard 
Brasfield, Ambrose Brockman, Ed Linn Breckenridge, John Boggess, 
Charles H. Beriyman, Jonathan Cameron, John and Nathan Culp, Abram 
Croyadale, Robert and William Collins, John Collier, Cyrus Curtis, John 
Capps, Nathan Chaney, Daniel and John Carey, Heniy Coleman, Killion 
and John W. Creek, William Corum, Joseph and Thomas Courtney, George 
Claybrook, Uriel Cave, Edward and Richard Clark, James Chanslor, Simon 
Cockrell, Weekly Dale, Robert and James Dunlap, William, Matthew and 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 79 

Alexander B. Duncan, Rice B. Davenport, Archibald Logan Darby, John 
Ewing, John Estes, John Ecton, Ambrose Embree, Robert Elliott, Ely, 
Petei-, William, John, Littleberiy and Bartley Estes, Travis Finley, Simeon 
and Hiram Fugit, Joseph and Young Fowler, Alexander Fudge, Martin 
Fisher, George B. Finley, Hiram Ferril, Samuel Gilmore, Benjamin, 
Samuel, William, Jefferson, James, Henry, Jacob and John Gragg, Jacob 
and David Groomer, Abrani, Amos, Isaac and Joseph Groom, John and 
Joseph D. Gash, Andrew and Richard Gartin, Robert Gilliam, Josluia B. 
Gotchcr, James and Samuel G. T. Greenfield, J. Conway Garner, Gow, 
Henry Hill, James and Samuel Hyatt, Philip A. Hardwick, Simon and 
Samuel Hudson, Anthony Harsel, Squire Hutchinson, Daniel Hughes, 
Thomas Hixon, Collet Haynes, John Howdeshell, John and Moses Hutching, 
Ezekiel Huffman, Robert, Jefferson and James Hanis, Peter Holtzclaw, 
Robert Henderson, Woodford and Richard Jesse, Jonathan Jones, Wil- 
liam Lainhart, Joseph Lewis, John Linville, John Lakey, George B. 
Lingenfelter, Abrarn, John and George Lincoln, William Laidlow, John 
and Reuben I^jng, Leonard W. Ligon, Alvan Lightbuni, Richard. Redmond 
and William Munkres, Arch, and John McCorkle, David McEhvee, David 
McKee, Andrew Means, Ed. Munday, John M., David and Joel P. Moore, 
John S. Major, James Marsh, Henrj' Mailes, Samuel Monroe, Joseph H. 
and John McWilliams, CaleJj Magill, William and John S. Malott, William 
A. and Thomas A. Morton, Nicholas Mosby, Nicholas Michalucine, William 
Nail, Clement Neely, Robert Officer, Nicholas Owens, Winfrey E. Price, 
John, Adam and Henry Pence, Benjamin and Edward Pickett, James 
Poteet, Nathaniel Powell, Daniel Patton, George M. Pryor, Ashby, Ira and 
John R. Peters, Benjamin and Thomas Parish, Joseph and Baruth Prather, 
Lee Rollins, Samuel Ringo, Benjamin W., Hezekial and Alfred M. Riley, 
Jonathan and Allen S. Reed, Jani&s :ind David Roberts, Andrew Slaughter, 
Andrew Russell, Wiili.-am Rice, William Ross, David S. Rogers, Littleberry 
Sublette, Thomas Slaughter, Sabert Sollers, James Sullivan, Benjamin 
Soper, Mason Summers, John Shouso, Jesse Stollings, Daniel Stout, John 
and William Thoi-p, William. Elisha and Jo seph Tod d, Ebenezer Titus, John 
Talbot, Eleven Thatcher, William Thomjison, Edward C. Tillman. ILmdle 
and Solomon Vance, Samuel H., Petei", Jenkins and James J. Vassar, John, 
Francis and Peter Writesnian, Tarleton Whitlock, Peter and Avcliibald 
Woods, James Williams, George Wallis, Founj,ain_Waller, Benjamin and 
John M. Wilkerson. Charles Warren, Robert and John Walker, Samuel 



80 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Wymore, James and Waltus L. Watkins, James B. and David Wills, Abijah 
Withers, John Wilson, Henry and Caleb Weedon and Charles Younger. 

The above are names entitled to record in the annals of the county; 
thei*e are many others equally as desei-ving who would be mentioned if 
their names were known to the compiler of this list. 

At the time of the organizations of Clay County, January, 1822, not- 
withstanding its tenitory extended from the Missouri River to the Iowa 
line, the population was almost entirely confined to its present limits, for 
the reason, as heretofore stated, these settlers from Virginia, Kentucky, 
Tennessee and the Carolinas had been informed that prairie lands were 
not adapted to agricultural purposes, farther than to be used for grazing 
purposes, and from the present limits of the county, north to the Iowa 
line was, practically, one vast prairie. 

The reader will be interested in the following excei^pt taken from 
Beck's Gazetteer of Missouri in relation to Clay County, and prairie lands, 
published in 1823: 

"Clay County was erected from Ray in 1822. It is bounded on the 
north and west by the boundary lines of the state, east by the county of 
Ray, and south by Lillard (now Jackson). Its fonii is that of a parallelo- 
gram, about 100 miles in length, and twenty-one miles in breadth; con- 
taining an area of about 2,000 square miles. The southern boundary is 
washed by the Missouri River; the interior is well washed by Fishing 
River, and numerous other small streams, running in a southerly and 
westerly direction. The lands are generally elevated, and in the northern 
part approaching to hilly. Of the fertility of this county and the in- 
ducements which it offers to emigrants, I need not adduce a more con- 
vincing proof than the fact that but two or three years since it was a 
complete wilderness without a single white inhabitant; while at the 
present time its population is not less than 1,000. The county north and 
west is owned and inhabited by Indians. 

The prairies, although generally fertile, are so extensive that they 
must for a great length of time, and perhaps forever, remain wild and 
uncultivated; yet such is the enterprise of the American citizen — such 
the immigration to the West, that it almost amounts to presumption to 
hazard an opinion on the subject. Perhaps before the expiration of ten 
years, instead of being bleak and desolate, they may have been converted 
into immense grazing fields, covered with herds of cattle. It is not pos- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 81 

sible, however, that the interior of the prairies can be inhabited; for, 
setting aside the difficulty of obtaining timber, it is on other accounts 
unpleasant and uncomfortable. In winter the northern and western blasts 
are excessively cold, and the snow is drifted like hills and mountains, so 
as to render it impossible to cross from one side to the other. In sum- 
mer, on the contrary, the sun acting upon such extensive surface, and the 
southerly winds, which uniformly prevail during the season, produce a 
degree of heat almost insupportable. 

It should not, by any means, be understood these objections apply 
to all the prairies, the smaller ones are not subject to these inconveniences; 
on the contrary, they are by far the most desirable and pleasant situa- 
tions for settlement. 

There are those of this description in the county of which we are 
treating, surrounded by forests, and containing here and there groves of 
the finest timber, watered by beautiful running streams, presenting an 
elevated, rolling or undulating surface, and a soil rarely equaled in 
fertility." 

The same year of the organization of the county, the seat of the 
county. Liberty, had been laid out into lots, and as many as twelve or 
fifteen cabins or small houses were erected and of that number two stores 
had been placed therein. Four other small stores were in the county 
during that year. For several years thereafter, the merchants in Liberty 
were Samuels & Co., Moores, Samuels & Croysdale, Hickman & Lamme, 
James M. Hughes & Co., James Aull, F. P.JUhouteau, Hiram Rich, Joshua 
Fallen, Gershom Compton and Laban Gan-ett. 

Lewis Scott had a tanyard in 1825, located just north of the bridge 
which crosses the town branch near Fairview cemetery, in Liberty. John 
Baxter had a harness and saddle shop in Liberty in 1827. In 1823, one 
Gilliam operated a horse-mill, which was located near the spring (now 
covered over) southeast corner of Mill and Leonard streets in Liberty and 
about where the electiic depot is now located. Alonzo Baldwin, the 
second male child bom in Clay County, informed the winter that when 
a very small boy he was once taking a grist of com to the Gilliam mill, 
and when coming over what is now known as the Lightbume hill, the only 
ingress by horse or wagon into Liberty, at the time, he saw a bear run 
across the road in front of him; that he hurried to the mill, informed 
Gilliam of what he had seen ; whereupon Gilliam called for his two hounds 



82 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

who readily responded to the call, and went in pursuit of the bear, chased 
the animal which took refuge up a linden tree, which stood exactly where 
Madison Miller so long lived, now residence of John W. Newlee, lot 58, 
old town, now city of Liberty, when the bear was dispatched by a well 
aimed shot from Gilliam's rifle. 

As early as 1826, four other mills were existing in the county — Man- 
chester^ mill, on Shoal Creek; William and Joel Estes' mill, on Fishing 
River ;(Smith's mill, on Smith's fork of Platte River) and Hixon's mill. 

The first road opened in the county was from Liberty to the Ray 
County line, through as dense and heavy woodland as ever existed in this 
or any other country. All able bodied male persons over the age of 
eighteen years were summoned and required to open this road to the Ray 
County line, there to meet a road being built or opened by the citizens 
of Ray County from Richmond to the Clay County line. Old John Wil- 
son, one of these men, infonned the writer that among so many men 
encamped and working together in this road opening, that bickerings, 
misunderstandings and quarrels almost necessarily ensued, which often- 
times resulted in "fist and skull" fights on Saturday afternoons, as no 
work was required the afternoons of that day. Always some entei-prising 
person, too feeble to be a workman on the road, but feeling a deep sym- 
pathy for the poor workmen away from their homes, would provide 
several jugs of "Old Bourbon", whereupon, as men at that early day had 
no compunctions of conscience in imbibing a little of this lotion for the 
"stomach sake", only, would partake of it, too frequently and in siich 
quantity as to cause excessive pugnacious dispositions which could not 
be satisfied but by a resort to pugilistic encounters with which their 
enemies were more than ready to accommodate them. A ring was made, 
the contestants took their places, when the rules of the fight were given, 
to the effect that no blows were to be struck below the belt until the 
"word went round, 'Bite, Kick and Gouge', then everything was "far." 

The first schools taught in the county wei'e made up by subscription 
and taught during the summer or autumn. The schoolhouses were gen- 
erally hastily improvised without much attention being paid to comfort 
or convenience. Sometimes a winter school was provided if a house could 
be found comfortable enough. 

In township 52, range 30, — in the southeastern portion of the county 
— the people first thoroughly organized for school purposes. In Febru- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 83 

ary, 1836, the township was organized into two school districts, with Fish- 
ing River the dividing line between them. The southern district was 
called Franklin, and the trustees were James Dagley, George Withers 
and Sam Crowley. The northern district was called Jefferson; trustees, 
Winfrey E. Price, Michael Welton, Joel P. Moore. In the spring Jefferson 
was divided into two districts, and the westeni or northwestern was 
called Clark, in honor of Jesse Clark. 

In April, 1836, township 52, range 31, lying northeast of the town 
of Liberty, was divided into four school districts. Clay, Washington, White 
and Bell. Schools were established soon after in all these districts, and 
already there were good schools at Liberty. From the earliest period of 
its official existence Clay County has always taken a leading part in school 
matters among the best counties of the state. 

The sixteenth sections in every congi-essional township in Missouri 
were from the first set aside for public school purposes, to be sold to the 
best advantage and the proceeds thereof properly applied, upon petition 
of two-thirds of the inhabitants of said congressional township. The 
Clay County court, in February, J 831, appointed Ware S. May to select 
the sixteenth sections in this county. Samuel Tillery was appointed com- 
missioner, and he made sales from time to time up to the spring of 1834. 

Under the act of February 9, 1839, public schools were instituted, 
and were aided from the interest of the township fund arising from the 
sales before mentioned. In 1842, the state began the distribution of a 
small fund. These schools were rather meager in their results until the 
act of February, 1853, set apart twenty-five per cent of the state revenue 
for the support of common schools. This act also created the office of 
county school commissioner, and Col. A. W. Doniphan was appointed to 
the office in November, 1853, which he filled until August 8, 1854, when 
he resigned, having been elected county representative. George Hughes 
was then appointed to fill the vacancy, with complete satisfaction to all. 

The first annual report to the State Superintendent, by County Com- 
missioner Hughes, was made November 4, 1854. The whole number of 
white children over five and under twenty years of age in the organized 
tory the children of school age were estimated to be about 500. The 
school township for that year was 2,426, and in the unorganized terri- 
number of public schools was thirty-two and the number of teachers em- 
ployed was thirty-four. The average number of children attending pub- 



84 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

lie school was 1,264. The average salary paid teachers was twenty-nine 
dollars per month, and the length of school term was about five months 
and a fourth. 

County Teachers' Institute. — The County Teachers' Institute was 
first organized in 1854, and held its first annual session at Mt. Gilead 
Church, August 29, 1855 (James Love was president and L. R. Slone 
secretary). This is believed to be the first county teachers' institute ever 
held in the state. It continued to hold annual, and, sometimes semi- 
annual sessions, until the public schools were suspended, in 1861. When 
the public schools were again organized after the close of the Civil War, 
the county institute was also reorganized, and held annual sessions until 
monthly institutes and county normal institutes supplied its place in the 
educational work of the county. 



CHAPTER III. 



EARLY COURTS AND ELECTIONS. 



FIRST COUNTY COURT— A COURT INCIDENT— ROADS ESTABLISHED— OFFICXAXS 
APPOINTED— TAX LIST— FIRST ELECTION— SIMON COCKRELI^— SECOND TERM 
—FIRST PATROL— FIRST CIRCUIT COURT— OFFICERS— JURORS— FIRST PER- 
SON HANGED IN CLAY COUNTY— "THE RING TAILED PAINTER"— COURT 
HOUSE — JAIL— OTHER ROADS ESTABLISHED— TOWNSHIPS CREATED— FER- 
RIES ESTABLISHED— SLAVE AND OTHER VALUES — STEAMBOATING— AN 
ATTEMPTED MURDER— A DOUBLE HANGING— A REVIEW OF THE EARLY 
DAYS. 

The first county court of Clay County convened at the house of John 
Owens, in Liberty, February 11, 1822. There were present the three 
county justices, John Thornton, James Gilmore and EHsha Camron, who 
having exhibited their commissions, duly signed by the governor of the 
state, Alexander McNair, entered upon the duties of their office. Two 
of these judges were men who became noted afterwards in the history of 
Clay County. Major Thornton" was one of the first white men who ever| 
settled in the county; a man of far more than ordinary natural ability, 
which, coupled with his erudition and urbanity, made him one of the most 
influential men, not only in the county, but in northwest Missouri. In 
1872, the writer heard in a public address by ex-United States Senator 
General David R. Atchison, at the celebration of the semi-centennial organ- 
ization of the county, utter an eulogy of Major Thornton unsurpassed by 
any eulogy he ever heard of any man. Judge Elisha Camron, for natural 
ability, never had a superior in the county; uneducated, scarcely knowing 
how to read or write, yet he was an exceedingly popular man with all 
who knew him, or came in contact with him. He was eccentric and 



86 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

humorous; upon one occasion while he was holding coui*t in a case where 
General David R. Atchison was engaged on the one side and Amos Rees, 
a man of quick, high temper, on the other. General Atchison said some- 
thing which incited the anger of Mr. Rees, who quickly and in a loud 
tone of voice, easily to be heard over the court room exclaimed, "Dave 
Atchison, you go to hell". Judge Camron cast his eyes first in the dii^ec- 
tion of Rees, then at Atchison, again at Rees, then at Atchison, when 
catching the eye of Atchison, the judge beckoned the General to approach 
him. Atchison slowly approached the judicial bench and leaned foi'ward 
to hear what the judge wanted with him. Judge Camron, in a low voice 
said, "Dave, if I were you, I wouldn't do it." Quick as a flash, Atchison 

yelled at the top of his voice, "You d d old fool, did you think I am 

going to do it!" It is needless to say that for one time, to say the least, 
the dignity of the court was not maintained. 

Other roads were ordered established at the May regular term of 
the county court. A road leading from the north end of Main street, in 
Liberty, "the nearest and best way to the prairie in the direction of 
Magill's". The court appointed as commissioners to open this road, John 
Owens, Eppa Tillery, Ezekial HuflFman and John Hall. A road "leading 
from the court house (John Owens') in Liberty, the nearest and best way 
to Andrew Russell's, from thence to the (state) boundary line." Andrew 
Russell, Aaron Roberts, South Malott and Mitchell Poage were appointed 
to open this road. At this term of court David Manchester was appointed 
county sui*veyor and Joshua Adams assessor for Fishing River township. 
The county collector reported to the court that six stores in the county 
had been licensed to do business at five dollars each. 

The total tax list in the county for 1822 was $142,771/2, and of 
this amount collected $140.27Vo, leaving a delinquent list of but 
two dollars and fifty cents. This court was in session nine days in 1822. 

The first election held in Liberty was on the first Monday in August, 
1822 and although the order had been made that the election should be 
held at the house of John Owens, yet for some reason or other, probably 
on account of the circuit court being in session there at the time, or the 
heat of the day, it was held on the butt of a large elm tree which had been 
felled just east of where the court house now stands. As the white men 
voted, a number of Indians perched themselves in the branches of the 
fallen tree and watched the novel proceedings. About the polls that day 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 87 

was a very tall, erect conspicuous old man; he was wearing tow-linen 
trousers, tow-linen shirt, brogan shoes, and on his head was a hat made 
of wheat straw. This man had raised the flax, broken it, carded it. His 
wife had spun the materials into threads, woven it into cloth, cut out the 
garments, and had made them into clothes for her husband. She had 
plaited wheat straw and made the covering for his head. This old man 
was a candidate for the Legislature, and was elected mainly because he 
was known to be "smart and honest", and his name was Simon Cockrell, 
the grandfather of United States Senator, Francis M. Cockrell, who for 
thirty years represented the state of Missouri in that august body. The 
Legislature was to meet that winter in St. Charles and when the time 
came Uncle Simon, as he was generally called, was at a loss to know 
how he was to get to St. Charles. The old man was very poor in this 
world's goods, having no horse to ride; there were no stage coaches or 
other means of travel, in truth no roads had as yet been opened for any 
kind of travel. Uncle Simon and some of his neighbors met at the house 
of Clement Neely, near the seven-acre farm, the property of the old man, 
to devise ways and means to get the old gentleman to St. Charles. After 
some discussion, Mr. Neely suggested that he would loan Uncle Simon a 
horse to ride, provided some one or more of those present would loan a 
saddle and bridle. At the suggestion. Uncle Simon remarked, that was 
all he wanted, a horse; that he would make his own saddle and bridle. 
He made his saddle of com shucks, his bridle of twine strings, got the 
horse from Neely, and in due time away to legislative halls went the first 
lawmaker from Clay County. 

Upon the authority of the late John S. Story it may be stated that 
the seven acres owned by Mr. Cockrell was surrounded by a fence of ex- 
ceedingly large white oak and black walnut rails, fourteen and sixteen 
feet in length, made by the owner, who, when the rails were made, had 
the pick, gratuitously, of the best timber in the neighborhood, and that 
the old man cultivated this land with a long handle hoe. 

At the August term, 1822, of the county court, an order was made 
for the erection of the first public structure in the county. A "stray 
pen", enclosure or pound, for restraining of animals running at large, 
was deemed a pressing necessity, whereupon a pen 60 feet square was 
erected by the order of court and Jonathan Reed erected it of posts and 



gg HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

rails, at a cost to the tax payers of twenty-nine dollars eighty-seven and 

one-half cents. 

The first patrol was appointed in 1824. To the present generation 
it may be well to explain what then were patrols. In the days of slavery 
it was deemed unwise and unsafe to let negroes, male or female, go about 
the country in the ijight time, without a written permit from their owners 
or masters. County courts usually named patrols for each neighborhood 
in the county, and where they failed to name the patrols, the citizens of 
a neighborhood would name them. It was the duty of patrols to watch 
the roads, byways and places where negroes were likely to be or congre- 
gate and when found after nine o'clock without a written pass or permit, 
that negro or negroes were punished by the patrols then and there, ad- 
ministering a sound thrashing. Ghosts, hobgoblins were no greater terror 
to the average negro than patrols (negroes called them patterrollers) . 
When old Uncle Rastus prayed, he said, "Oh, Lord, we thank thee for the 
new Jerusalem, with its pearly gates and its golden streets, but above 
all, we thank Thee for that high wall around the great big city, so high 
that a patterroller can't get over it." 

The first circuit court was held in Clay County at the house of John 
Owens, in Liberty, March 4, 1822. David Todd, an uncle of the wife of 
Abraham Lincoln, who was Maiy Todd, was judge; William L. Smith, 
clerk; Hamilton R. Gamble, circuit attorney, and John Hams, sheriff. 
William L. Smith was born in a northern state, a man of education and 
of many accomplishments, popular with the people, and held this office 
until 1831, when he resigned the office. Hamilton R. Gamble was a Vir- 
ginian, bom in 1798; came to St. Louis in 1818, came to Old Franklin 
in 1819, was circuit attorney in 1822, secretary of state in 1824, supreme 
judge in 1851, and in 1861, on the flight of Governor Claiborne Fox Jack- 
son from Jefferson City, was made provisional governor of Missouri. He 
died in 1864. John Harris was a lineal descendant of Mary Jefferson, 
sister of Thomas Jefferson; Mary Jefferson married Col. John Turpin 
and her daughter, Obedience, married Col. John Harris. 

Very little business was transacted at this term of the circuit court 
as it was in session only two days. The grand jurors for the term were 
Richard Linville, foreman; Zachariah McGree, Benjamin Sampson, Rob- 
ert Y. Fowler, Zachariah Averett, Howard Averett, John Ritchie, James 
Munkers, John Evans, Thomas Estes, Andrew Robertson, Richard Hill, 



HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 89 

David Magill, Walker McClelland, Robert Poage, Samuel Tilford, David 
Gregg, William Allen, Elisha Hall and James Williams. There are many 
descendants of the men who constituted this grand jury now residents 
of Clay County. The next term of the circuit court was in July follow- 
ing, and only one jury trial, that of the State vs. Jonathan Camron, who 
had been indicted for affray. A jury of twelve good and true men were 
selected to try the defendant; they were Abijah Means, Richard Chaney, 
Abraham Creek, John Bartleson, James Gladden, Francis T. Slaughter, 
Enos Vaughn, Andrew Copelin, John Carrell, Matthew Averett, Eppa Till- 
eiy and Samuel Magill, who after hearing the evidence, instructions of 
the court, and arguments of counsel, retired, but soon returned with a 
verdict, "We, the jury, find the defendant not guilty". 

The first person ever hanged in Clay County for murder was a negro 
woman, owned by a man named Pryor, residing near Greenville, in the 
northeastern part of the county. She murdered, by throwing two (or 
three) of her children into a deep pool formed by a small water-fall, and 
was chasing an elder child to drown when she was apprehended. The 
proof was positive against her and being tried in the circuit court for 
the crime, she was found guilty and Judge Todd sentenced her to be 
hung on the 23rd day of August, 1828. There was no appeal of the case, 
no pardon, no commutation, no postponement of the execution, and on 
the day appointed was executed by Colonel Shubael Allen, then sheriff. 

The first State Senator from Clay County was elected in 1826, was 
Martin Parmer, a great grandfather of the noted and famous Allen Par- 
mer, brother-in-law of the James boys, and celebrated "Bushwhacker" of 
Civil War times. Panner discounted all men of his generation, or for 
that matter, any other generation, in his conversation and ways, and had 
attached to him the sobriquet of "The Ring Tailed Painter". He was a 
man of more than ordinary shrewdness, unlettered, but more cultivated 
than he ordinarily exhibited. Wetmore's Gazetteer gives the following 
incident that occurred during Pamier's career as State Senator: 

"When the time approached for the meeting of the Legislature, Par- 
mer loaded a small keel with salt on the Missouri, above Hardeman's 
plantation, and having taken the helm himself, manned the vessel with 
his son and a negi'o. Uniting, as he did, business and politics, while 
afloat on the river he stood astride of the tiller with a newspaper in hand 
(not more than six weeks old) out of which he was spelling, with all his 



90 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

might, some of the leading points of a political essay. At this critical 
period the assemblyman was reminded by his vigilant son in the bow, of 
& break of a 'sawyer head'. 'Wait a minnit', said he, 'until I spell out 
this other crack-jaw; its longer than the barrel of my rifle gun', but the 
current of the Missouri was no respecter of persons or words, the 'river 
went ahead', and the boat ran foul of the nodding obstruction and was 
thrown on her beam ends. The next whirlpool turned her keel upper- 
most. The cargo was discharged into the bowels of the deep, and there 
his salt lost its savor. The negro, in a desperate struggle for life, 
swam for the shore, but the steersman, who, like a politician, detemained 
to stick to the ship as he would to his party, as long as a timber or a 
fish floats, continued to keep uppermost. Having divested themselves 
of their apparel to be in readiness for swimming, the father and son con- 
tinued astride the keel until the wreck was landed at the town of Frank- 
lin. Here the old hunter, who was a lean citizen, was kindly supplied by 
a stout gentleman with a suit of clothes, which hung like the morals of 
the politician, rather loosely about him. The suiTerers by shipwi-eck were 
invited into the habitation of a gentleman who dwelt near the shore on 
which they had been cast. 

"While recounting their perils at the breakfast table, the lady who 
was administering coffee, inquired of the politician if his little son had 
not been greatly alarmed. 'No, madam', said he, 'I am a real ring-tail 
painter, and I feed all my children on rattlesnakes' hearts, fried in 
painter's grease. There are a heap of people that I would not wear crape 
for, if they was to die before their time, but your husband, marm, I allow, 
had a soul as big as a court house. When we war floating, bottom upper- 
most (a bad situation for the people's representative) past Hardeman's 
garden, we raised the yell, like a whole team of bar-dogs on a wild cat's 
trail, and the black rascals on the shore instead of coming to our assist- 
ance, only grinned up the nearest saplin as if a buck possum had treed. 
Now, madam, I wish God Almighty's earthquakes would sink Hardeman's 

d ned plantation — begging your pardon for swearing, madam, with my 

feet on this kivei'lid you have spread on the floor to keep it clean ; I'll go 
to the door — we don't mind putting anything over our puncheon floors.' 
'The river, marm,' continued the guest, 'I find is no respecter of per- 
sons, for I was cast away with as little ceremony, notwithstanding I am 
the people's representative, as a stray bar-dog would be turned out of a 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 91 

city church ; and upon this principle of Democratic liberty and equality it 
was that I told McNair, when I collared him and backed him out of the 
gathering at a shooting match, where he was likely to spoil the prettiest 
kind of a fight. 'A governor,' said I, 'is no more in a fight than any 
other man'. I slept with Mac once, just to have it to say to my friends 
on Fishing River that I had slept with the governor." 

There was no fixed and determined place for holding courts until 
1832, when the first court house was built. Generally courts were held 
at the house of John Owens but oftentimes, the weather permitting, under 
the shade of trees standing in the present court house yard. The cost 
of the erection of the first court house was paid from the sale of lots in 
Liberty and from voluntary donations by the public. This building was 
built of brick. After a few years two brick offices were erected, one on 
the east and one on the west of the main court house. The accidental 
destruction by fire of the court house in 1857, led to the erection of the 
present edifice in 1858, one of the most convenient court houses in the 
state, yet it must be admitted that it is not now sufficiently com- 
modious to meet the requirements of the increased population of 
the county. The vaults for the deposit of valuable records, books 
and papers in the different offices, county clerk, circuit clerk, pro- 
bate, recorder of deeds, collector of the revenue are now completely filled 
with records and documents, and the time is at hand when provision must 
be made for the preservation of these valuables, and for the accommoda- 
tion of others to come. A stone jail, the first built in the county, was 
built just north of the Presbytei-ian church in 1823, by Elisha Cami'on, 
at a cost of less than six hundred dollars. This jail served for the in- 
carceration of criminals until 1853, when the present jails were placed 
in the court house basement. As a jail this stone building was demolished 
a few years ago. It was here that Joseph Smith, the Mormon, so-called 
prophet, Hiram Smith, his brother, Sidney Rigdon and other followers of 
the prophet were imprisoned. When these men were in jail here, an at- 
tempt was made by them to escape. As James H. Ford, deputy sheriff 
and ex-officio jailer, was opening the door of the jail one evening to hand 
to the inmates their supper, a rush to the door was made by several of 
the prisoners to make their escape and it was only by a timely shot and 
wounding of one of them was the escape of all the prisoners prevented. 
These prisoners were sent to Liberty for safe keeping, from Gallatin, in 



92 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Davies County, where they had been indicted for various violations of 
the laws of the state. Until the old stone jail was demolished, it was a 
kind of Mecca for faithful Mormons, especially that branch of Monnons 
from Utah, who came to see the old jail. Jake Hicks, the old time photog- 
rapher of Liberty "reaped an annual harvest" from these followers of 
Joe Smith, for yeai's selling them pictures of the jail. 

In the fall of 1823, a road had been established through the county 
to "the Council Bluffs and the following year another road was ordered 
laid out from Liberty to the Missouri River "at a certain blue bank" (Blue 
Mills Landing). 

Liberty township was created by the following order of the county 
court at its March term, 1825: 

Ordered, That the following boundaries hereafter constitute the town- 
ships of this county: 

All that part of this county which lies between the line dividing Ray 
and Clay Counties to the sectional line running north and south, dividing 
sections 9 and 10, in the tier of tovmships in range 31, be and constitute 
Fishing River township. 

All that part of the county which lies between said sectional line 
dividing sections 9 and 10, in townships 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 and 57, 
in range 31, be and constitute a new township to be called and known as 
Liberty township. 

All that part of the county which lies west of said sectional line divid- 
ing sections 1 and 2, in townships 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 and 57, in range 
32, to the western boundary of the county constitute and hereafter known 
and designated as Gallatin township. 

August following the court changed these boundaries. The western 
boundaiy of Fishing River w^as made the section line between sections 2 
and 3, in range 31, which is now (1920), the eastern line of Liberty. The 
western boundary of Liberty was made the line between sections 2 and 3 
in range 32. a mile west of the present boundary of the township. Gal- 
latin township comprised the western part of the county. All the town- 
ships extended from the Missouri River to the northern boundary of the 
state, each township about 100 miles in length. 

The county court ordered a number of roads laid out in the early 
spring of 1825; one from Liberty to Thornton's feiry on the Missouri 
River ; another from Liberty to the Missouri River "at the boat landing at 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 93 

the town of Gallatin". Another from Liberty "to the mouth of the Kan- 
sas River". 

A number of ferries across the Missouri River had been previously 
established and others were licensed during the year 1825, "from the bank 
near where Wyatt Adkins lives" ; one "from where Louis Barthelette now 
lives", as well as others. The rates were uniform : "For a loaded wagon 
and team, two dollars ; empty wagon and team, one dollar and fifty cents ; 
loaded car and team, one dollar; for a Dearborn and horses, or gig and 
horses, sixty-two and one-half cents; horses, each eighteen and three- 
fourths cents ; man and horse, thirty-seven and one-half cents ; single per- 
son, eighteen and three-fourths cents ; sheep, hogs and cattle, three cents 
each". 

The value of negroes at this early day may be approximated by an 
appraisement made of a number of slaves belonging to an estate: "Jiney, 
a cripple girl, thirty years old, $100 ; Anthony, Jiney's child, one year old, 
$100; Susan, fourteen years old, $300; Heniy, thirteen years old, $336; 
Isaac, twenty-five years old, $450 ; George, thirteen years old, $316. Other 
personal property had the following sworn values: A horse and side- 
saddle, forty dollars ; cow and calf, seven dollars and fifty cents ; sow and 
five pigs, one dollar and fifty cents; sheep, each, one dollar; a flax wheel, 
three dollars; a cotton wheel, three dollars; flag-bottomed chairs, fifty 
cents each ; skillet, one dollar and twenty-five cents ; a good horse, twenty- 
five dollars. 

Because steamboats began to make regular trips up the Missouri in 
1830, Col. Shubael Allen established a warehouse and landing on his farm, 
near a ferry across the river operated by William Yates and the next 
year Colonel Allen obtained the ferry and operated it from the warehouse. 
Soon after the erection of this warehouse and landing, Allen's Landing 
became the shipping or starting point of a large number of the employees 
of the American Fur Company ; boats brought vast quantities of goods 
and merchandise which were taken by wagons to the northeastern part 
of the state. One informed wiiting of Allen's Landing has this to state: 
"Until Colonel Allen's death (1841), Allen's Landing was the main point 
of exit and entrance of nearly all the business and travel of Northwest 
Missouri, in its communication with the outer world by the river, and 
hence there were visible at that point a degree of activity and a multitude 
of commercial transactions utterly unknown in these days of the degener- 



94 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

acy of the river traffic in Missouri. It was for many years the starting 
point of a large number of the employees of the American Fur Company 
in their expeditions to the plains and mountains of the great northwest. 
The scene presented annually on the assemblage of these employees — 
embracing as it did, swarthy French voyageurs; tall, half-breed Indians, 
straight as arrows, and dressed in wild garbs; the display of aims of all 
kinds, the tents scattered over the lawn, the picketed animals, the many- 
colored garments — the scene was unique, semi-barbarous, but animated 
and highly picturesque." Colonel Allen was a colonel of militia, sheriff 
of the county and father of a family of sons, all of whom became very 
prominent, quite prominent not only in the county, but well known as 
men of more than ordinaiy intelligence and enterprise throughout the 
northwest part of the state ; two of the sons. Dr. J. M. Allen and Hon. D. 
C. Allen had reputations for ability eveiywhere in Missouri. A daughter 
was the wife of Major General Dyer, quarter-master general of the United 
States army. Col. Shubael Allen was born in the state of New York, 
went to Kentucky when a young man, remained in that state a short time, 
but sufficiently long to be made a Master Mason in 1819; came to Howard 
County, Missouri, married Miss Dinah Trigg, then removed to Clay County. 
A dastardly attempt to murder Mrs. Dinah Allen, widow of Col. 
Shubael Allen, was made early in the morning of April 1, 1850, in her 
house. About three o'clock that morning Mrs. Allen was aroused from 
sleep by a blow from an axe, she having been struck in the face with the 
sharp edge. She ran into the room of her sons, awakening them; she 
announced that she was bleeding to death. It was at first thought that 
the wound would prove fatal. The citizens were greatly aroused and per- 
sistent efforts made to discover the perpetrators. At last they were 
found out. Mrs. Allen OA\Tied a negro woman named Annice, upon whom 
suspicion rested. She was arrested and placed in jail. A few days there- 
after she voluntarily made a confession, in which she implicated one Mc- 
Clintock, a white man living in Liberty. This confession was reduced to 
writing and published in the Liberty Tribune, in its issue of May 17, 1850, 
and was as follows: "Four days before the commission of the act, Mc- 
Clintock told me that there was a good deal of money in the house of my 
mistress and that I ought to kill her; that he would assist me; that we 
could get the money and with that we could go to California and that I 
would be his wife and be free. On Sunday night, the night of the com- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 95 

mission of the crime, he came to the kitchen where I was sleeping, waked 
me up and we proceeded to the house. McClintock hoisted the window 
and got in the house and pulled me through the window after him. He 
approached the bed, found my mistress asleep and said to me, 'She lays 
right'. I took the axe which belonged to McClintock and made the lick. 
McClintock had the axe in his hand when I took hold. My mistress made 
a noise and we both ran out of the house; he went to his own house, a 
few hundred yards off and I went back to the kitchen and laid down on 
the bed." 

After the confession of Annice, McClintock was arrested and placed 
in jail. - Recently and prior to this terrible attempt to assassinate one of 
the most prominent and popular women in the county, several attempts 
to commit murder of whites by negroes had been made and the concensus 
of opinion was that speedy justice must be meted out to the guilty, in 
order to remedy this condition of affairs. The day after the arrest and 
imprisonment of McClintock, a mass meeting of the citizens was held to 
determine what should be done in the preniises. Under the laws of the 
state no slave testimony could be taken in court and in this case, the only 
evidence was that of Annice. She was brought before the meeting as- 
sembled and face to face to McClintock firmly declared that he was the 
sole instigator of the attempted murder. No better class of men ever 
assembled to consider any matter and no men ever calmer and more 
deliberately considered any case than these citizens did this one. They 
knew that under the laws of Missouri, a slave like Annice could not 
testify in court; they knew there was no law for their action; but justice 
must be meted out; that the law was not adequate to bring to justice the 
perpetrators of this infamous crime; that an outrageous crime had been 
committed, and the guilty must suffer and it was so determined. A vote 
was being taken as to the guilt of Annice, when a cry was made, "Hang 
both of them! Hang McClintock too". The vote for hanging both of 
them was unanimously carried. They were hanged about a mile north- 
west of Liberty, near the road running from Liberty to Plattsburg, the 
old line road. The meeting was composed of all classes of citizens, farm- 
ers in large numbers, lawyers, doctors, merchants, mechanics and others. 
Its proceedings were endorsed generally by the best classes of citizens, 
though they admitted there was no law for their action and their course 
irregular. No attempt was made to interfere with them. 

A writer in the Liberty Tribune of December 19, 1846, thus writes 



96 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of Clay County. Who the writer was can not be stated, as he is not now 
known. He signed himself "Old Settler". 

"In the month of December, 1829, I saw for the first time the county 
of Clay and the town of Liberty. I remember it well. I entered the 
county by way of Meek's (then Jack's) ferry, and I had not ridden more 
than a mile or two before I saw an opossum and I got off my horse and 
killed it. 

"What changes have taken place since that day! The whole Platte 
Miountry was then inhabited by the Iowa, Sac and Fox Indians ; there were 
only one or two families in what are now Clinton, Dekalb, Gentry, Cald- 
well, Davies and Harrison Counties. Clay County was the ultima thule 
of Western emigration and Liberty was regarded as the paradise of West- 
ern towns. Compared to the neighboring towns it was so, for Richmond, 
Lexington and Independence scarcely deserved the name of towns and 
Plattsburg was not then in existence. 

"In these days Liberty was a thriving town. It was the headquarters 
of the Upper Missouri, and Liberty Landing was the head of navigation, 
except occasionally steamboats would go up to Fort Leavenworth. There 
was no warehouse then at our landing. The arrival of a boat was an- 
nounced by the firing of a cannon four or five miles below and by the 
time it reached Colonel Allen's all the merchants would be there, as well 
as half the town and neighborhood. Freight was high, but money was 
plentiful and everybody thought there was no other such a place as Clay 
County. The thought of ever being in want of a market for the surplus 
production of the county never once entered into any of our minds. 

"The change is wonderful in this and the surrounding country since 
1829. The Indians have left the Platte country and now there are at 
least three counties in it that contain as heavy a population as Clay, viz: 
Buchanan, Platte and Andrew. 

"In 1830, an election for senator, representative and sheriff took place. 
I attended a muster at Judge Elisha Cameron's and heard the candi- 
dates speak. Jacksonism at that time was in its zenith and rode over 
everything else. A candidate had but little else to say besides declaring 
himself 'a Jackson man'. That was enough to defeat the best men who 
'were opposed to Jackson. I recollect the speech of the famous "Neal" 

G (Cornelius Gilliam) at the muster above spoken of. He was a 

candidate for sheriff and of course was elected. He mounted a big elm 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 97 

log and said: 'Fellow Citizens — I am a Jackson man up to the hub. I 
have killed more wolves and broke down more nettles than any man in 
Clay County. I am a candidate for sheriff, and I want your votes.' He 
then dismounted and a 'Hurrah for Neil' was given by the crowd. In 
1832, the Jackson spell was somewhat broken, as the Clay County Whigs 
succeeded in electing Dr. Woodson J. Moss to the Legislature along with 
Col. Thornton. The Whigs have been in the ascendancy ever since." 



CHAPTER IV. 



INDIAN TROUBLES. 



PROXIMITY OF INDIANS-THE YASSER FAMILY-INDIANS AT McELWEFVS PI.ACB 
-MARTIN PALMER-A FIGHT WITH INDIANS-TWO INDIANS KILbED-BUACK 
HAWK WAR-TROOPS ORGANIZED— THE "HETHERLY WAR". 

In Close proximity to Clay County were a number of bands or tribes 
Of Indians, vet not hostile, no outbreaks or collisions between them and 
the pioneers until 1821. Several versions of a hostile character on the 
part of Indians toward the white settlers have been given, but the most 
authentic statement of the facts of the acts of a party of Indians dunng 
this year is as follows and as published by The National Historical 

Company: , i. i- i +1, 

"Up in what is now the northwestern part of the county lived the 
Vesser familv. whose adult male members were not above suspicion in 
manv regards. Especially were they accused of frequently acquinng 
property by questionable means. Their fondness for horses was a peculiar 
weakness." On one occasion in the summei of 1821. they visited a camp 
of Iowa Indians up in the Platte country and carried away some horses 
belonging to the savages. 

"It was some time in the month of August of that year, probably when 
nine Iowa Indians came down into the Clay County settlements to take 
reprisal for the horses stolen from them by the Vessers. To the south- 
eastern part of the county, three miles northeast of where Missouri City 
now stands (northxvest quarter section 31. township 52, range 30), David 
McElwee had come from Tennessee the previous year and had built a 
house and opened a farm. At the time of the visit of the Indians, how- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 99 

ever, he was back in Tennessee on a visit, having taken with him his wife 
and daughter, the latter now Mrs. Margai-et Howdeshell. He left behind 
to care for the house and farm his sons, James and William and his 
daughter Sarah, all young- unmarried people. 

"The nine Indians came to Mr. McElwee's one evening and took three 
horses belonging to the settler fi-om the stable, and seized another which 
they were prevented from carrying off only by the stubborn and plucky 
interposition of young James McElwee. The Indians seemed greatly 
elated at the ease with which they had "got even" with the whites in 
the matter of horse stealing, and at once sent off the three captured 
animals in charge of two of their numbei', to the tribe. The other seven 
Indiana wont into camp for the night within fifty yards of Mr. McElwee's 
house. 

"The young McElwees were in great terror to be sure. But when 
their father left he had charged them that if ever in danger from Indians 
they had only to let the nearest neighbor know of it, and they would soon 
be relieved. On this occasion they contrived to let Mi". Tom Officer know 
their situation, and soon the entire settlement was informed that seven 
Indians had already taken three horses from the McElwee young folks 
and were threatening them by their presence with further damage and 
injury. 

"The next morning early came o^d Martin Panner, and with him 
Patrick Laney, Thomas Officer, James Officer, David Liles. William Liles, 

James Woollard and Brummett. With them were Mrs. Jane 

Laney, wife of Patrick Laney, and Miss Maiy Crawford, who had come 
for companionship for Miss McElwee. 

"The Indians were a little startled by the appearance of the settlers, 
but stoutly maintained that what they had done was justifiable and alto- 
gether proper. Old Martin Parmer was not in a mood to discuss the 
principles of the lex talionis and its applicability to this case. He never 
let an opportunity pass to have a fight with the Indians. Two years be- 
foi'e, in a fight of his own bringing on, down on the Wakenda, in Carroll 
County, he and his party killed three Indians and wounded a number more. 
His voice was always for war, or at least for a fight, when there was the 
smallest provocation. 

"The discussion in McElwee's door-yard grew warm, and at last Par-' 
mer said something to one of the Indians which so incensed him that he 



100 HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 

presented his gun at Parmer, and cocked it, but before he could fire Par- 
mer shot him dead. A fierce and stubborn httle fight then came off m 
the door-yard. Both whites and Indians ran to cover. Two of the In- 
dians ran into the house where the ladies were, but seeing them commg. 
Miss McElwee ran out doors, and Mrs. Laney and Miss Crawford took 
refuge under a bed. The Indians outside were defeated and scattered, 
one of them being wounded. Those in the house closed the door tightly 
and bravely held the fort. But at last the whites climbed to the top of 
the house and began tearing away the roof, when the savages suddenly 
opened the door and sprang forth, hoping to escape by swift runnmg. ' 
Some of the settlers were waiting for them, and one was shot dead be- 
fore he had gotten twenty feet from the door; the other escaped. 

"The fight was over. Two Indians had been killed, and one, at least 
was wounded. Three of the unharmed survivors made their way in 
safety back to the tribe, but the remaining one was never heard of. It 
was believed that he, too, was wounded, and crawled off into the woods 
and died. The one known to have been wounded made his way to Fort 
Osage, where he was cared for until he recovered, and was then sent 
back to his tribe. , 

"When the two Indians were running into the cabin, WiUiam McElwee 
and his sister, Sarah, both attempted to run out. Miss McElwee got 
safely away, but one of the Indians struck at William with a tomahawk. 
Young McElwee threw up his arm to protect his head from the blow, 
but the weapon descending, cut off one of his fingers. This was all the 
injuries the whites received, though some of them heard bullets whiz 
uncomfortably close to their ears." 

"It is believed that this is the first time the details of this incident 
have been published, and that this account is the only correct one ever 
given to the public. It has been derived from the statements of Mrs. 
Margaret Howdeshell. a daughter of David McElwee, and a sister of 
Sarah, William and James McElwee. She was living (1885), in Fishing 
River Township, and through her son Samuel, the facts above set forth 
have been learned. 

Smith's sketch in a county Atlas refers to this incident as having 
occurred m 1820, and calls it "a skirmish which occurred that year in 
the eastern part of the county, and in which seven Indians were killed." 
Mr. D. C. Allen, author of the valuable and well written article on Clay 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 101 

County, in Campbell's Gazetteer (1875), thus describes it: "In a skirm- 
ish in the southeastern part of the county, in 1820, seven Indians were 
killed ; another about the same time had his hand cut off in attempting to 
burst open the door of David McElwee's house." 

The reader will see that both Mr. Smith and Mr. Allen were misin- 
formed in regard to facts in the case. Mr. Allen's informants caused 
him to believe that not only were "seven" Indians killed in the "skirmish," 
but another row occurred in the same locality in which an Indian had 
his hand cut off, etc. The old settlers got the story mixed. It was Wil- 
liam McElwee's finger which was cut off by an Indian, and this occurred 
in the only "skirmish" ever had with the savages in this county; and 
moreover only two or possibly three Indians were slain, not "seven." 
There were only seven Indians in the party. 

In 1852, what is known as the Black Hawk War broke out in Wiscon- 
sin, and extended down into Illinois, between the whites and the Sacs, 
Foxes and Winnebago Indians, and it is believed that anmity extended 
to Mexico among all tribes, and that the war having broken out in Wis- 
consin, there would soon be an uprising of Indians against the whites, 
from the Great Lakes to Mexico. So great was this apprehension among 
the people of Missouri, especially the settlers in the northern part of the 
state, that the Governor of the state, John Miller, early adopted precau- 
tionary measures. On the 25th day of May, 1832, he ordered Maj. Gen. 
Richard Gentry, to raise, without delay, one thousand volunteers for the 
defense of the frontiers of the State, to be in readiness to start at a 
moment's warning. Other militia was organized ; two companies in Clay 
County, commanded by Capts. George Wallis and Smith Crawford, took 
the field. This battalion was under the command of Col. Shubael Allen, 
who marched northeast into the Upper Grand River country, scouting 
that region thoroughly. From Grand river the battalion moved westward 
to the boundary line, thence down the line to near Smithville, and came 
back by way of that town to Liberty, which they reached after an absence 
of thirty-two days. Not an Indian on the war path was seen, nor was 
even a friendly Indian encountered on the entire march. Thus ended, so 
far as Clay County is concerned, the Black Hawk War. 

In the summer of 1836, an equally bloodless war occurred, so far as 
the soldiers of Clay County were concerned, known as the "Hetherly 
War." An old disreputable man named Hetherly had a family consist- 



102 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ing of his wife, four sons, and a daughter. The old man and the soiis 
were noted as horse thieves, and the old woman and the daughter, equally 
well known as common strumpets, located a home in the northern part of 
Carroll County, then known as the Upper Grand River countrJ^ Then- 
house was a rendezvous of lawless charactei-s. In the month of June, 
1836 a hunting party of Iowa Indians, from southern Iowa, came down 
the east fork of Grand River on a hunting expedition. As soon as the 
Hetherlys received information of the Indians' camping ground, they 
resolved to steal their horses, and cariy them do^^'n the river to some 
of the lower counties, and there sell them. The Hetherlys took with 
them on this visit to the Indian camp, James Dunbar, Alfred Hawkms^ 
and a man named Taylor, men of unsavory reputations for honesty, and 
who were equally bent on stealing as the Hetherlys. They were m luck, 
for after securing a number of ponies, escaped, taking them to the forks 
of Grand River, where they were overtaken by the Indians who opened 
fire on the theives, killing one of their number, putting to flight the 
thieves, and recovering their ponies. The thieves determined to go to 
the settlements, and report an uprising of the Indians against the whites, 
and as evidence of the fact, they stated the loss of one of their number. 
The news was at first believed and there was intense excitement through- 
out the country. A part of the story-that the Indians were m the 
country-was well known to be true, and the rest was readily believed. 
The general commanding the militia forces in the easterr. part of the 
state was Gen. B. M. Thompson, of Ray County, who ordered out several 
companies, among them two companies from Clay County, commanded 
by Capts. Wallis and Crawford, the same officers who led the Clay mihtia 
in the Black Hawk War. This battalion was commanded by Col. Shubael 
Allen After marching to Grand River, camping on its banks. General 
Thompson having investigated and ascertained that there were no hos- 
tile Indians in the state, ordered the troops to their respective homes. So 
ended the second bloodless war, so far as Clay County was directly con- 
cerned. . 

In a short time it became kno%vn that the Hetherlys had committed 
the depredations and crimes against the Indians. Indictments were 
found a<rainst all the Hetherlys, and a separate indictment against Alfred 
Hawkins another of the thieves, in the Circuit Court of Carroll County. 
The sheriff of Carroll County, with the aid of a large posse, arrested the 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 103 

indicted parties, and incarcerated them in the jail of Ray county. Octo- 
ber 27, 1836, in obedience to a habeas corpus, issued by the judge of the 
Circuit Court, John F. Ryland, in vacation, the sheriff of Ray County, 
brought into the Circuit Court, at Carrollton, the prisoners, all charged 
with the murder of one James Dunbar. They were not released, but re- 
turned to the custody of the sheriff John Hetherly, on the 7th day of 
March, 1857, were tried and acquitted of the charge. There being no 
sufficient jail in Carroll County, all the Hetherlys were sent to the La- 
fayette county jail, and Hawkins to the jail of Chariton County, for 
safekeeping. 

It was evident to the circuit attorney, that unless some one or more 
of the criminals would testify against the defendants, no conviction could 
be obtained. This officer entered a nolle prosequi against the Hetherlys, 
and being discharged, by the court, Hawkins was placed on trial. Being 
ably defended, and the jury from the evidence adduced believing that 
the Hetherlys were the more guilty parties, failed to return a verdict of 
guilty, and the jury was discharged. Subsequently, at the November 
term of the court, Hawkins was again tried, found guilty, and sentenced 
to death. The sentence afterwards was commuted to twenty years in 
the penitentiary, where he died after serving about two years. From 
this time nothing is known of the Hetherlys. 



CHAPTER V. 



MEXICAN WAR. 



DECLARATION OF WAR— PRESIDENT CALLS FOR 50.000 VOLUNTEERS— PLAN OF 
CAMPAIGN— MISSOURI REGIMENT— COMPANY C FROM CLAY COUNTY— ROSTER 
—FACTS ABOUT SOME OP THE OFFICERS AND MEN — COLONEL DONIPHAN IN 
COMMAND— OTHER OFFICERS— DONIPHAN'S EXPEDITION— MUSTERED OUT 
OF SERVICE — NECROLOGY— HOME COMING RECEPTION— POLITICAL EFFECT. 

The annexation of Texas was the alleged cause of the declaration of 
war by Mexico against the United States in April, 1846, and a counter 
declaration by Congress was made, that "a state of war exists between 
the United States and Mexico." There was a strip of disputed territory 
lying between the Nueces and Rio Grande rivers, in Texas; the United 
States troops occupied this territory, when the Mexicans crossed the Rio 
Grande, with a large army, under command of two able generals, Am- 
pudia and Arista. General Taylor had defeated these troops in their 
attack on the American forces at Palo Alto on the 8th of May, and at 
Resaca de la Palma, the day following, and these defeats were accom- 
plished with great slaughter of Mexicans. The United States Congi'ess, 
in April, 1846, had passed an act authorizing the President to call into 
the war with Mexico 50,000 troops. The general commanding the Ameri- 
can forces determined to attack Mexico at three different places; but 
changed his plans so that Major-General Scott, with a well appointed 
force, was sent to Vera Cruz; General Wood was ordered to effect a 
junction with General Taylor at Saltillo, and Gen. Kearney was ordered 
to divide his troops into three separate commands; the first to lead in 
person to the shores of the Pacific. A body of troops of about 1,000 Mis- 




-;()\IK .MKMHKltS OF THK FIRST 1{F(;1.MF.\T 
F.XDKR t'O.MMAXI) OF COL. 



MO. VOl.rXTKFKS. MEXICAN \V.\R 
A. \V. nOXlPHAX 



1— Col. Alexander W. noniplian; 2—0. )'. .Moss. Captain: 3- L. 13. Subletl. 1st 
l.ieut.: -! -.las. H. Moss. 2nd Lieut.; 5— Thos. McCarty. 1st Sergt.; 6 —A. K. McClintoclv. 
2nd Sergt.; 7 — Geo. H. Wallace. Corporal; S — John Warren; 9 — W. H. Pence: 10 — W. C. 
r'ampbell; 11— Joshna B. Tillery; 12— John S. Story; 1:3— John Neal; 14— J. J. Moore: 
l""— Ell Murray: 16— John Shouse; 17— Josiah Pence; IS— R. T. Stevenson; Ifl— A. K. 
Smith; 20— Xewton A. Jacobs; 21— Richard A. Neeley; 22— W. W. Drew; 23— J. K. 
Rollins; 24— Peter Pixley: 2:.- Jno. S. Groom; 2fi— R. W. Flemin.i; ; 27— G. W. Bell; 
2,S— Dewilton W. Mosby. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 105 

souri volunteers, under the command of Col. A. W. Doniphan, was ordered 
to make an invasion of the State of Chihuahua, with the expectation of 
joining General Wood at the capital ; while the greater number of soldiers 
were to be left as a garrison at Santa Fe, under the command of Gen. 
Sterling Price. The original plan of operations against Mexico was as 
follows: A southern wing of the army or the "Army of Occupation," 
commanded by Major-General Taylor, was to strike directly into the heart 
of Mexico ; a column under Brigadier-General Wood, or the "Anny of the 
Center," to operate against the City of Chihuahua, and a command under 
Colonel Kearny, afterwards general, known as the "Army of the West," to 
march upon the city of Santa Fe. 

The call of the President for 50,000 volunteers was promptly re- 
sponded to; but only about 17,000 were required to enter Mexico. The 
rank and file of these three divisions of a small army, consisted mainly 
of young volunteers, chiefly sons of men living south of Mason and Dix- 
on's Line; sons of men whose lineage could be traced to forefathers in 
Old Virginia. The assertion is made that in that army of invasion in 
Mexico there was more military genius, in embryo, which afterward de- 
veloped into national reputations, and world renown, than any army, 
great or small, ever marshalled on the earth. Xerxes and his army of a 
million of men, no doubt developed many masterly soldiers. Napoleon 
with all his troops, and the combined armies of Europe, in the latter part 
of the eighteenth, and first decade of the nineteenth century, never pro- 
duced as many masterful and able generals as commanded the forces of 
the Federal and Confederate annies, during the war between the states, 
nearly all of whom served as soldiers in the war with Mexico. 

President Polk called on Govemor Edwai-ds, of this state, for a 
regiment of volunteers to join General Kearney's "Army of the West," 
then being organized at Fort Leavenworth. Governor Edwards called 
for a regiment of mounted volunteers, to which there was a prompt re- 
sponse. Clay County furnishing one company 

Company C, Clay County. 

Captain Oliver P. Moss's Company C, First Regiment, Missouri 
Mounted Volunteers, Mexican War. 

Muster-in Roll, dated June 7, 1846. 

This company came from Liberty, Clay County, Missouri, distant 



106 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



fi-om Fort Leavenworth fifty-two miles. Roll signed by 0. P. Moss, 
Captain. The following- certificates appears on the roll: 

I certify that the above is a true copy of the Muster Roll of this 
Company as mustered by Captain Allen, First Dragoons, June 7, 1846, 
except English W. Burton and Balor Jacobs, who were mustered into 
sei'vice by Captain McKissick, Q. M. Dept., June 25, 1846. 

(Signed) 0. P. MOSS. 
Captain Commanding Company. 

Muster roll, June 7, 1846, to June 21, 1847, shows company at New 
Orleans, La. 

This company left Liberty, June 4, 1846, and marched to Fort Leav- 
enworth, arriving there June 6, two days following. The company was 
discharged from further service, at New Orleans, La., June 21, 1847, by 
Samuel Churchill, Inspector General, Mustering Officer. 



1. 0. P. Moss Captain 9. 

1. L. B. Sublette 1st Lieut. 10. 

1. James H. Moss 2nd Lieut. 11. 

2. Henry T. Ogden __.2nd Lieut. 12. 

1. James H. Long 1st Sergt. 13. 

2. Thomas McCarty Sergt. 14. 

3. William Wallace Sergt. 15. 

4. A. K. McClintock Sergt. 16. 

1. William C. Skaggs Corp. 17. 

2. George H. Wallis Corp. 18. 

3. John S. Groom Corp. 19. 

4. Benjamin W. Marsh Corp. 20. 

1. Abraham Estes Bugler 21. 

1. James T. Barnes Farrier 22. 

1. Ammons, Henry B. _ .Private 23. 

2. Briscoe, John Private 24. 

3. Beale, William Private 25. 

4. Burns, James Private 26. 

5. Bell, George W. Private 27. 

6. Burton. E. W. Private 28. 

7. Cooper, James P. Private 29. 

8. Cummins, Smith Private 30. 



Crowley, George W. 
Christy, John G. -__ 

Chorn, James 

Crapster, Edmond W. 
Campbell, William C. 

Chaney, Hiram 

Cai-penter, Noah P. 
Clayton, Simon H. 
Drew, Washington 

Dameal, James H. 

Duncan, Theodore 

Dundan. Matthew __ 
Everett, Benjamin R. 

Ellis, Henry 

En.glish, H. W. 

Faubion, Spencer 

Franklin, Levi 

Franklin, William R. 
Fielding, Thomas I. _ 
Fleming, Robert W. _ 

Fleming, George 

Gunter, William C— 



Private 

Private 

Private 

Private 

-Private 

-Private 

-Private 

-Private 

-Private 

-Private 

-Private 

-Private 

Private 

.Private 

.Private 

.Private 

.Private 

.Private 

.Private 

.Private 

Private 

Private 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



107 



31. Green, Hiram Private 68. 

32. Human, Charles Private 69. 

33. Holt, John D. Private 70. 

34. Hughes, Francis C. __Private 71. 

35. Hughes, John T. Private 72. 

36. Hall. Alexander Private 73. 

37. Hall, Willard P. Private 74. 

38. Jacobs, Newton Private 75. 

39. Jacobs, Baylor Private 76. 

40. Job, Andrew Private 77. 

41. Letchworth, Joseph M. Private 78. 

42. Lard, William T. Private 79. 

43. Lamar, James Private 80. 

44. Long, Southey Private 81. 

45. Long. Richardson Private 82. 

46. McNeese, Solomon Private 83. 

47. McQuiddy, Albert .^.Private 84. 

48. Martin, Wesley Private 85. 

49. Murray, Eli Private 86. 

50. Mosby, Dewilton Private 87. 

51. McGee, James Private 88. 

52. Miller, Abraham Private 89. 

53. Moore, J. J. Private 90. 

54. Nealey, Richard A. __Private 91, 

55. Nash, John Private 

56. Neale, John Private 

57. Owens, Edward P. Private 

58. Price, Jesse I. Private 

59. Pence, Josiah Private 

60. Pence, William H. Private 

61. Pixlee, Peter C. Private 

62. Patterson, William C. Private 

63. Pendleton, William Private 

64. Pendergrasa Nimrod _Private 

65. Rollins, John K. Private 

66. Russell, William H. __Privato 

67. Ringo, Martin Private 



Rudd, 0. F. Private 

Shearer, Robert Private 

Shouse, John W. Private 

Sullivan, Obadiah Private 

Story, John S. Private 

Sites, James R. Private 

Soott, Alexander C. -Private 

Sanders, James Private 

Stephenson, Robert T. Private 

Sanderson Joseph Private 

Smith, Joseph A. Private 

Samuel, Chilton B. _ .Private 
Snowdon, W. P. A. _ .Private 

Tillery, Joshua B. Private 

Tillery, Henry Private 

Tracy, Andrew W. Private 

Thompson, William A. Private 

Waller, Thomas Private 

Walls, William Private 

Warren, Hardin Private 

Warren, John Private 

Wood, Gideon Private 

York, James N. Private 

York, John Private 

Coe, Allen Private 

Duncan, William Private 

Finley, James M. Private 

Hall, James Private 

Lard, John D. Private 

Wills, James A. Private 

Cox, Russell R. Private 

Ren thai, Parker Private 

Morton, James T. Private 

Ogden, Henry T. Private 

Patterson, William C. Private 

Ruff, C. E. Private 

Doniphan, A. W. Private 



108 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

The following concerning nearly one-half of the above roster, was 
furnished WilHam E. Connelly, author of "Doniphan's Expedition and 
the Conquest of New Mexico and California," a most estimable work, 
by the late John S. Story, of whom praiseworthy mention has been made 
in another part of this volume. 

Heniy T. Ogden, second lieutenant. A man of wonderful energy; 
full of life; nervous; had to be doing something; always playing pranks. 
Came to Clay County before the Mexican War; as a joke pretended for 
a day or two to be deaf and dumb ; a bright man, and well educated ; could 
quote from Shakespeare by the hour; often harangued the troops in a 
humorous vein; a favorite of officers and men; was a lawyer; lives now 
in Cincinnati, Ohio. 

No. 1. From one of the Carolinas; a tailor. 

No. 3. A Virginian; farmer; killed two deer at one shot in the 
north part of Clay County. 

No. 4. Irishman ; died in Clay County. 

No. 5. Kentuckian; bom in Mason County. 

No. 8. Kentuckian; farmer; died in Arkansas. 

No. 10. Merchant in Liberty; went to St. Louis; killed in south- 
em Missouri in the Civil War. 

No. 11. Virginian; farmer. 

No. 13. Raised in Clay County; married a Miss Evans, whose father 
owned 240 acres of land, now in the heart of Kansas City. 

N6. 14. Virginian; raised in Clay County. 

No. 15. From Woodford County, Kentucky; John T. Hughes mar- 
ried his sister. 

No. 18. Kentuckian; cousin of the wife of John T. Hughes and Noah 
Carpenter. 

No. 19. Reared in Clay County; brother to No. 20. 

No. 20. Reared in Clay County. 

No. 21. Reared in Clay county ; family came to Missouri ; his father 
was a minister (Disciple or Christian) ; Everett was a devout Christian, 
and carried his religion clear through the term of his service; did not 
backslide, and had the respect of all the soldiers; read the Bible con- 
stantly. 

No. 22. Died in Clinton County. 

No, 23. Went to Congress from Nebraska. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 109 

No. 24. From Tennessee; died in Clay County. 

No. 36. Father a Kentuckian; went to Califomia in 1849; became 
reckless there ; killed three men ; was killed ; no relation to Willard P. Hall. 

No. 38. Lived in Ray County. 

No. 39. Brother of No. 38 ; lived in Ray County. 

No. 41. Father a Kentuckian. 

No. 45. A Kentuckian; cousin to the other Longs. 

No. 47. Father from Woodford County; died two months after he 
got home from the army. 

No. 49. A Kentuckian. 

No. 50. Father a Kentuckian. 

No. 52. Tennesseean. 

No. 53. Tennesseean. 

No. 54. Tennesseean. 

No. 58. Son of Ebenezer Price, of Clay County; cousin to John T. 
Hughes; his uncle was a candidate for colonel against Doniphan. 

No. 59. Kentuckian; married a daughter of Richard M. Johnson, 
of Kentucky. 

No. 60. Kentuckian; lives on a fai-m near Kearney, Clay County, 
now, 1906. 

No. 61. Kentuckian. 

No. 66. Kentuckian. 

No. 70. Kentuckian. 

No. 71. Kentuckian; had been five years in regular army; knew 
how to forage for food; would aid his stai-ving comrades to steal food 
from the commissary with great pleasure. 

No. 74. Kentuckian; big man; was called "Frosty" White, because 
he was old and his hair and beard were white. 

No. 76. Living yet in Clay County. 

No. 81. Kentuckian. 

No. 82. Kentuckian; brother to 81. 

No. 84. Tennesseean. 

No. 85. Kentuckian. 

No. 90. New Yorker. 

William Wallace, sergeant, and George H. Wallace, corporal, were 
brothers; sons of a noted character, who was an Indian fighter and 
freighter across the plains. 



110 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John S. Groom, coi-poral, was boni in Clay County; his father was 
a Tennesseean, and came to Clay County, about 1818. 

Benjamin Marsh, corporal, reai*ed in Clay County. 

James Barnes, Farrier, came to Clay County from Baysville, Ken- 
tucky. 

The volunteer companies numbering somewhat over 1,000 men, under 
their respective commanders, were all assembled at Fort Leavenworth, by 
the 19th day of July, 1846, and on that day held an election for field officers ; 
Gen. A. W. Doniphan was elected colonel; C. E. Ruff, lieutenant^colonel ; 
and William Gilpin, major. Colonel Ruff and Major Gilpin were West 
Pointers, strict disciplinarians, and on that account very unpopular with 
the young volunteers. The September following, Colonel Ruff resigned, 
and was appointed captain in the regular army. Col. Congreve Jackson> 
of Howard County, succeeded Colonel Ruff as lieutenant-colonel. A sin- 
gular fact may here be mentioned. The Democrats, us a party, were in 
favor of the war against Mexico, and the Whig party opposed to the 
war, yet it was a Democratic war, and a Whig fight; perhaps a majority 
of oflScers and soldiers were Whigs; certainly Generals Scott and Taylor 
were W^higs, «nd but little doubt that a majority of the volunteers fro/ii 
Kentucky and Missouri were Whigs. Capt. 0. P. Moss's company was 
composed of 114 men, and ninety were Whigs and twenty-four were 
Democrats. Doniphan and Moss were Whigs. 

Doniphan's expedition to Mexico is a matter of general history, and 
well known to even school children, and will not be rehearsed in these 
pages. Before Colonel Doniphan's regiment left Mexico for the United 
States, it received the following complimentary mention from Brigadier- 
General Wool, commanding division: 

Headquarters at Ruena Vista, May 22, 1847. 
Special Orders No. 273. 

1. The general commanding takes great pleasure in expressing the 
gratification he has received this afternoon in meeting the Missouri vol- 
unteers. They are about to close their present temi of military service, 
after having rendered, in the course of the arduous duties they have 
been called upon to perform, a series of highly important services, crowned 
by decisive and glorious victories. No troops can point to a more bril- 
liant career than those commanded by Colonel Doniphan, and none will 
ever hear of the battles of Bracito and Sacramento without a feeling of 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 111 

admiration for the men who gainod them. The State of Missouri has 
just cause to be proud of the achievements of the men who represented 
her in the army against Mexico, and she will, no doubt, receive them on 
their return with all the joy and satisfaction to which a due appreciation 
of their merits and services so justly entitles them. In bidding them 
adieu, the general wishes to Colonel Doniphan, his officers and men, a 
happy retuni to their families and homes. 

By Command of 

Brig.-Gen. John E. Wool. 

Irvin McDowell, A. A. Gen. 

About two weeks after the arrival at home of Colonel Doniphan, and 
the Clay County volunteers, 15th day of July, 1847, there was given a 
grand public reception to them, and a dinner spread in A grove a little 
southeast of Liberty. There was a large pi-ocession in charge of Judge 
James T. V. Thompson, as grand marshal. The welcoming address was 
delivered liy Col. Henry L. Routt, to which Colonel Doniphan responded. 
Other speakers addressed the vast assemblage. Hon. David R. Atchi- 
son and Judge James H. Birch. 

The necrology of Company Cr John M. Finley died at E! Paso, of 
typhoid fever, aged 21. William Duncan died in New Mexico, at Bent*s 
Fort. John D. Lard was killed by Benjamin W. Marsh, at the Valverde 
crossing of the Rio del Norte. Marsh was tried by court-martial, but 
acquitted. James Wills died en route to Chihuahua, below El Paso. 

After the grand reception to General Donijihan and his volunteers at 
Liberty, an invitation was extended to them, by Jackson County, to attend 
a reception in their honoi- ;it Iiulependenci'. This invitation was accepted, 
and on the day appointed a vast concoui'se of people assembled in a grove 
southwest of Independence. An elaborate repast was spread under the 
shade of the trees. After the sumptutous dinner, an address of welcome 
was delivered by the Hon. Samuel H. Woodson, and responded to by Colonel 
Doniphan. A poem, dedicated to Colonel Doniphan and his soldiers was 
then read by a Mrs. Buchanan ; at the closing of which she crowTied Col- 
onel Doniphan with flowers. No more gaily and enjoyable day was ever 
experienced by the Jackson County i^eople. 

Gen. Zachary Taylor's part in the war with Mexico caused him to be 
an exceedingly popular man, particularly with the Whigs, who were in- 
clined to make him their candidate for President in 1848. and as this 



112 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

movement increased, from month to month, it was determined by them 
to nominate "Rough and Ready," as he was called, for that high and 
exalted office. Taylor was nominated for President, and Millard Fillmore, 
for Vice-President. At the November election in Clay County, Taylor, 
the Whig candidate, received 626 votes; Cass, the Democratic candidate, 
received 418. Taylor was elected, and the Whigs had a grand celebra/^ 
tion over the election of General Taylor, at Liberty, the meeting being 
presided over by Madison Miller. Colonel Doniphan, and others, made 
speeches. 



CHAPTER VI. 



EVENTS PRIOR TO THE CIVIL WAR. 



POLITICAL CAMPAIGN OF 1840 — CLAY'S PREDICTION — CONGRESSIONAL ELECTION 
OP 1846— ELECTION OF 1845 — GREAT Fl^OOD OF 1844 — PRICES IN 1846 — DIS- 
COVERY OF GOLD IN CALIFORNIA— SOME CLAY COUNTY 49ERS— CHOLERA- 
NECROLOGY — POLITICAL QUESTIONS OF 1850— MEETINGS HELD — QUESTION 
OP SLAVERY— KNOW NOTHING PARTY— ITS PLATFORM— TROUBLES IN KAN- 
SAS—PRO SLAVERY AND FREE STATE AGITATION— KANSAS ELECTION- 
PRO SLAVERY MEN ORGANIZED— MEN AND MEANS FURNISHED TO MAKE 
KANSAS A SLAVE STATE — RAILROAD BUILDING — POLITICAL CONDITIONS 
IN 1S60. 

From the time the Colonies secured independence from Great Britain 
no campaign caused so much excitement as the presidential race in the 
year 1840. The two great political parties were the Whigs and Demo- 
crats. William Henry Harrison, for President, and John Tyler, for Vice- 
President, were the candidates of the Whig party, and Martin Van Buren, 
for President, and Johnson, for Vice-President, were the candidates of 
the Democrats. Everywhere over the entire country immense meetings 
were held, where the political issues were discusasd, and the merits and 
demerits of the respective candidates were proclaimed to the people. Be 
it remembered there were giants in those days, and Clay County had 
such men. Gen. A. W. Doniphan, Maj. John Dougherty and Judge Wil- 
liam T. Wood marshalled the Whig forces. Gen. David R. Atchison, 
Col. John Thornton and Capt. George Wallis led the Democrats. In the 
political battle that ensued at every gathering for public speaking, log 
cabins, barrels of hard cider, live raccoons, and other emblems of political 
heraldry were in evidence. The Whigs were defeated, the vote being 



114 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Van Buren, 649; Harrison, 457; Democratic majority, 192. But in 1844, 
in the contest for the Presidency between Henry Clay and Fi-elingheyson, 
the Whig candidates, and James K. Folic and George M. Dallas, the Demo- 
cratic candidates, the Whigs were victorious in Clay County, the vote be- 
ing Clay, 765; Polk, 552. The Whigs rallied largely to Mr. Clay, the 
"favorite son" of their native state. Polk and Dallas were elected. 

It is related of Mr. Clay that when he first heard that James K. Polk, 
of Tennessee, had been nominated by the Democrats for the presidency, 
he was in Raleigh, North Carolina. An ardent Whig, and friend of Mr. 
Clay, rushing up to the gi-eat man, said, "Mr. Clay, have you heard the 
news? James K. Polk has been nominated by the Democrats; now you 
will have 'a walk-over.' " Mr. Clay looked thoughtfully at the friend, for 
a moment or two, and said, "I am a defeated man" ! The friend, evincing 
astonishment, exclaimed, "Why, Mr. Clay, do you say that you are a 
defeated man?" Clay responded by saying, "Because I have a record, 
and James K. Polk hasn't." And the result of the election proved that 
Mr. Clay was coirect. Never was a presidential candidate's record more 
viciously assailed, not even that of Woodrow Wilson's record in 1920. 

Rather a unique Congressional election was held in the then Fourth 
district in 1846, of which Clay County was a part ; the district being com- 
posed of Clay, Platte, Davies, Linn, Grundy, Livingston, Carroll, Ray, 
Clinton, Caldwell, Buchanan, Holt. DeKalb. Harrison, Nodaway, Putnam, 
Gentry, Atkinson, Mercer, Adair, Andrew and Sullivan counties, twenty- 
two in number. Willard P. Hall, a well known lawyer, then a private in 
service in Capt. 0. P. Moss's company from Clay County, then in Mexico, 
had been nominated by the Democrats, in a convention at Gallatin, for 
Congress. Judge James H. Birch, of Clinton County, announced himself 
as an independent Democratic candidate. Although Judge Birch was one 
of the best stump orators in the state, with no little popularity with the 
people, he, however, in his canvas cast some reflections on the patriotic 
motives which induced his opponent to enter the service of his country; 
this contributed largely to Birch's defeat. A note from Hall, dated at 
Santa Fe, to the people of the congressional district, in reply to Birch's 
charges, proved a most effective campaign document. 

The vote at this election in Clay County was as follows: Constitu- 
tion of 1845 — For, 809 ; against, 211. Congre'ss — Hall, regular Democrat, 
564; Birch, Independent, 463. Legislature — Coleman Younger. Whig, 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 115 

498; Henry Owens, Democrat, 575. The candidates for the Legislature 
had no opposition. Sheriff — Samuel Hadley, Democrat, 683; H. M. Riley, 
Whig, 468. 

The great flood in the Missouri river in 1844, is a part of the history 
of every county on this river in the state. No such flood since 1826 had 
been experienced. For days in the month of June the waters of the 
river extended from bluff to bluff, engulfing and destroying the crops 
of the farmers; scarcely a vestige of farm produce could be discovered, 
after the waters subsided, in the valleys near the river, from where it en- 
tered the state to its mouth, everywhere was desolation. Great distress 
was the result of the flood, from a pecuniary point of view, for thousands 
of farmers living in the river bottoms lost their all. The weather con- 
ditions were exceedingly peculiar. For weeks the days would be clear 
and beautiful, but when night was approaching dark clouds would arise, 
and by night mutterings of thunder would be heard, and at about ten 
o'clock rain would begin to fall in ton-ents, followed by flashes of light- 
ning and terrific claps of thunder. 

The prices of produce in the summer of 1846, in Clay County, were 
as follows : Wheat, 45 to 50 cents per bushel ; hemp, $2.50 per cwt. ; 
flour, $2 to $2.50 per bai-rel ; hams, 4 cents per pound ; dressed whole hog, 
31/2 cents per pound. 

Early in the year 1849, the news of the discovery of gold in Cali- 
fornia became known to the country, and great excitement was the result. 
Among others who determined to go to the land of gold were scores of 
men in Clay County. Cholera, the deadly contagion, was prevailing in 
certain parts of Missouri, in Clay and Jackson counties, and reports that 
the disease was killing hundreds of men. on the plains bound for Cali- 
fornia gold fields, did not deter a great many men of Clay County to make 
the journey westward to the land of promises. Among others who 
started for California that year were Paley Carpenter, Thomas Conington, 
Daniel Mosby, Dr. Henry B. Hixon, Jasper M. Hixon, W. W. Estes, Thomas 
Estes, Albert Davis, Taylor Dougherty, John Minter, John W. Collins, 
William Pixler, John Waller, James Withers, Anderson Chanslor, William 
Davenport, Perry Keith, Henry B. Ammons and Edward Crapster. A 
much greater emigration left the county in 1850. The California fever 
in 1849 and 1850 was so intense that reports as to the hardships to be 
endured in reaching the gold mines ; the numerous deaths from cholera 



116 HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 

and other diseases; the over-rated richness of the mines; the high cost 
of livining in California, did not abate the fever; but hundreds from the 
county rushed to the new EJldorado ; there to find that reports sent them 
before they left home were not exaggerations. This exodus of men from 
Clay County resulted in riches in experience, but little in the accumulation 
of the precious metal for the Clay Countians, who made the long journey 
across the plains. 

Necrology of Clay County men in California, 1850. Abel King, at 
Weber, in January; Randolph King, at Hangtown, in February; Daniel 
Mosby, at Sacramento, in June; Ben Keyser, at Hangtovra, in July; Ben 
Clark, at Sacramento, In August; Rev. Robert James (father of Frank 

and Jesse), Thomas Pence, Albright, and Maxwell, at Rough 

and Ready, in August; John Brock, killed at Hangtown, in August; 

McCrorey, at Weber, in November; James A. Walker, at Weber, in Octo- 
ber; James Ellet, at Weber, in November; George W. Wallis and Samuel 
M. Gant, at Nevada, in November; Benj. Carpenter, at Hangtown, in Oc- 
tober; William Morton, at Greenwood, in November; John H. Mosby, near 
Sacramento, of cholera ; John McCrorey, at Weber, in August ; Henry Gill, 
at Johnson's ranch, in September; Anderson Estes, at Nevada, in August; 
George Estes, at Hangtown, in August; William Homer, Samuel Mc- 
Kneiss, Sanford Bell, George W. HuflFaker, Washington Huffaker, two 
Ellises, and three Graggs, at other places and times. 

Political conditions in Missouri, and in all states of the Union, in 
1850, had greatly excited the people to an unusual degree. The question 
of the admission of California into the Union with a constitution prohibit- 
ing slavery, the passage of a fugitive slave bill by Congress; the com- 
promise or "Omnibus Bill," and of "Personal Liberty" bills by several 
Northern states, intended to interfere with the operation of the fugitive 
slave law, were mainly the causes of this unrest. Public meetings were 
held in almost all sections of the state and nation. In the meetings held 
in the Southern states, secession was advocated. Clay County at this time 
was intensely loyal to the Union, and deprecated a dissolution of the 
states. The Liberty Tribune issued the following call for a public meeting: 

"The friends of the Union of these States, without regard to party, 
will hold a public meeting on the fii'st Monday in May, 1850, to congratu- 
late Messrs. Clay. Webster, Cass, and other friends of the Union in Con- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 117 

gi-ess, for the noble stand they have taken against the spirit of secession 
and disunion. Let there be a full turn-out." 

This meeting was very largely attended, by men representing all 
shades of political views, Whigs and Democrats, Benton and anti-Benton ; 
there being but few, if any, in favor of disunion. Resolutions were 
unanimously passed reviewing the political situation and with this re- 
solve, "That our thanks are especially due, and are hei'eby tendei'ed to 
Henry' Clay, of Kentucky ; Daniel Webster, of Massachusetts ; Lewis Cass, 
of Michigan ; Daniel S. Dickinson, of New York, and John Bell, of Tennes- 
see, for the noble and patriotic stand they have tr,ken in defense of the 
Union, and the noble spirit of compromises which they have evinced in 
the settlement of the agitating question of slavery." 

The people of Clay County were unquestionably for the Union; but 
they stated in their resolutions that "We regard the Wilmot proviso and 
all kindred measures with the most perfect abhorrence." Ten years there- 
after these "kindred measures" had become so numerous and tlireatening 
as to change a large majority of those participating in this meeting into 
ardent secessionists. 

The Legislatuie of the state, in 1851, elected Hon. Henry S. Geyer, 
a distinguished lawj^er, of St. Louis, to be United States Senator, the 
vote standing: Geyer, 80; Benton, 55; Benj. F. Springfellow, 18, and 4 
scattering. 

From 1851 to 1860, the Whigs and The America, or as it was gen- 
erally called, the "Know Nothing" party, was in the ascendency in Clay 
County. At this day the rising genei'ation, and many older persons, know 
nothing of the American or Know Nothing party, a political oi'ganization 
which grew mightily in its numbers from 1854 to 1856, so as to elect 
governors of states and members of Congress, and which was a dominator 
of political power in Clay County, the platfonn of the party as adopted in 
Missouri being practically the same in all other states, was as follows : 

* 4> * * Hi 

A full recognition of the rights of the several states, as expressed 
and i-eserved in the Constitution, and a careful avoidance by the general 
goveniment of all interference with their rights by legislative or execu- 
tive action. 

Obedience to the Constitution of these United States aa to the supreme 
law of the land, sacredly obligatory in all its parts and members — a strict 



118 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

construction thereof, and steadfast resistance to the spirit of innovation 
of its principles — avowing that in all doubtful or disputed points, it may 
be legally ascertained and expounded by judicial powers of the United 
States. 

That no person should be selected for political station, whether native 
or foreign prince, potentate or power, or who refuses to recognize the 
Federal or State Constitition (each within its sphere) as paramount to 
all other laws or rules of political action. 

Americans must rule America; and to this endnative bom citizens 
should be selected for all State and Federal offices in preference to natuial- 
ized citizens. 

A change in the laws of naturalization, making a continued residence 
of twenty-one years an indispensable requisite for citizenship, and exclud- 
ing all paupers and persons convicted of crime, from landing on our shores ; 
but no interference with the vested rights of foreigners. 

Persons that are bom of American parents, residing temporarily 
abroad, are entitled to all the rights of native bom citizens. 

An enforcement of the principle that no State or Territory can admit 
others than native bom citizens to the rights of suffrage, or of holding 
political office, unless such persons have been naturalized according to the 
laws of the United States. 

That Congress possessed no power under the Constitution to legis- 
late upon the subject of slavery in the States where it does or may exist, 
or to exclude any State from admission into the Union, because its consti- 
tution does or does not recognize the institution of slavery as a part of its 
social system and expressly preteiinitting any expression of opinion upon 
the power of Congress to establish or prohibit slavery in any territory; 
it is the sense of this meeting that the territories of the United States 
and that any influence by Congress with slavery as it exists in the District 
of Columbia, would be a violation of the spirit and intention of the com- 
pact by which the State of Maryland ceded the District to the United 
States, and a breach of the national faith. 

That we will abide by and maintain the existing laws on the subject 
of slavery as a final and conclusive settlement of the subject on spirit, 
and in substance, believing this course to be the best guarantee of future 
peace and fraternal amity. 

This party was composed chiefly of Whigs, although many Demo- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 119 

crats joined its ranks. The slogan of the party was that "Americans 
must rule America." At the first organization of the party, there was 
a prescriptive plank in their platform to the effect that Roman Catholics 
ought not to be permitted to hold office of honor, trust or profit in the 
government. Soon, however, this plank was eliminated. For a few years 
the native American party was a factor to be reckoned with, but the op- 
posing parties. Democratic and Republican, in their respective platforms, 
condemned its principles, so that by degrees the party grew smaller until 
the election in the fall of 1860, when it ceased to exist. Henry A. Wise, 
of Virginia, in his race for governor of that state, gained the credit of 
having given the Know Nothing party its mortal wound. 

The troubles in Kansas began in 1853, when the Kansas-Nebraska bill 
was being discussed in the halls of Congress; this bill was passed by 
Congress, and repealed the Missouri Compromise of 1820. The law left 
to the people of the ten-itory to decide whether slavery should exist or be 
excluded therefrom. "The true intent and meaning of the act" as therein 
expressed, to be "not to legislate slavery into any state or territory, or 
exclude it therefrom," but to leave the people form and regulate their 
domestic relations as they pleased, subject only to the Constitution of the 
general government. The Free Soilers claimed that all public territories 
were to be admitted into the Union, as free States, and that slavery was 
tol be excluded therefrom ; on the other hand, this was denied by pro- 
slavery men ; that under the Kansas-Nebraska bill, they had the right to 
vote in the territory of Kansas, there being no restrictions denying them 
the right. The Free State men claimed only actual settlers had the right 
to vote in the territory. Yet it became a notorious fact that "Emigrant 
Aid Societies" from New England, and parts of the North, sent hundreds 
of men, "armed with the Bible in one hand, and a Sharp rifle in the other," 
as expressed by a noted Northern preacher, for no other purpose than to 
vote to make Kansas a free state. This was known to the people of the 
Southern states, and was the cause of great excitement to Missourians, 
and particularly so to those living in the Western part of the state, who 
determined if the Free State men intended to import voters into the terri- 
tory, certainly the Missourians or any other persons had the right to ex- 
ercise suffrage at the same polls, to determine whether the territory should 
be admitted as a state, with or without slavery. 

No subject for years had caused so much talk during 1854, and winter 



120 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of 1855, as the Kansas question. Organizations, not only in Missouri, but 
the Southern States, were made to take suitable action in the premises. 
Western Missouri was very active. The border counties on the North side 
of the Missouri river, next to Kansas, held meetings and men were urged 
to go to Kansas, and be there by March 30, 1855, for an election was to be 
held to choose members of the Territorial Legislatui'e. On the South side 
of the Missouri, and in counties bordering on Kansas, like meetings were 
held, and resolutions passed pledging the people to go to Kansas. 

The people of Clay county were thoroughly ai'oused. A large and 
enthusiastic meeting assembled at the court house, and many of the best 
men of the country were enrolled into companies, and started for Kansas. 
Many who did not go in person, furnished horses, arms and provisions. 
Gen. David R. Atchison was the leader, chief adviser and commander of 
the men living in Northwest part of the state. These men crossed the 
river at Leavenworth, and on the day of election cast their votes at the 
various polling places in that section. The Missourians from the Southern 
and Western part of the state, south of the Missouri river, were under the 
leadership of Congressman Samuel H. Woodson, at Tecumseh, and points 
in that part of Kansas, to cast their votes. The result of this, the first, 
election in Kansas, was that the pro-slavery candidates were elected by 
an ovei^whelming majority. 

During the entire troubles in Kansas until it was admitted as a state 
into the Union, Clay County furnished men and meaiis to aid the pro- 
slavery cause whenever called upon. On one occasion when the young 
men of the county were preparing to go to Kansas in aid of the pro-slavery 
cause the following subscriptions were obtained to pay their e.xpenses: 
Col. James H. Moss, $20.00; J. T. V. Thompson. $50.00; John Purley, 
$10.00; A. G. Reed. $20.00; F. R. Long. $20.00; W. E. Price, $20.00; E. M. 
Samuel, $50.00; R. C. Thompson, $10.00; A. Withers, $20.00; David Lin- 
coln, $10.00; John Dougherty, $50.00; John Holbert, $5.00; W. H. Wymore. 
Bird & Co., $50.00; Joel Turnham, $50.00; W. E. Rhea, $10.00; R. M G. 
Price. $50.00; John Mosby, $10.00; Garrard Long, $20.00; William Mc- 
Neely, $10.00; Francis Henshaw, $25.00; J. M. Watkins, $10.00; Joseph 
Pfester, $5.00; John Arthur, $10.00; Spencer Anderson. $20.00; R. H. 
Miller, $10.00; William Onan, $10.00; M. Haines, $10.00; David Roberts. 
$25.00; Ed\\in Bell, $10.00; G. W. Gorden. $20.00; Thomas McCarty. 
$10.00; William Davenport. $10.00; Simpson McGaghey. $5.00; Capt. 




I'loxKKi; MdToi; I'owioi; 




A PIONEER HOME 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 121 

Anthony Harsel, $20.00; A. Lightburne, $50.00; Thomas Routt, $10.00; 
George Stone, $10.00; Thomas Fields, $rjO.OO; Bernard Mosby, $10.00; A. 
J. Calhoun, $10.00 ; John Estes, $10.00 ; Wade Mosby, $50.00 ; Robert Ad- 
kins, $10.00; D. J. Adkins, $50.00; J. J. Moore, $10.00; S. R. Shrader, 
$50.00; John B. Talbott, $20.00; R. A. Neely, $20.00; John Beny, $10.00; 
M. Arthur, $50.00; Robert Reardon, $20.00; John Ecton, $20.00; Joseph 
Anderson, $50.00 ; David D. Miller, $10.00 ; M. V. Wymore, $10.00 ; Bland, 
Fisher & Co., $20.00; A. B. Everett, $10.00; M. Estes, $10.00; 
Andrevv' Robertson, $25.00 ; Elisha Cravens. $5.00 ; Samuel Homes, $5.00 ; 
Strother H. McGinniss. $25.00; 0. P. Moss, $20.00; Fountain Waller, 
$25.00; Thomas C. Gordon, $50.00; Presley Gray, $10.00; Robert 
Thomason, $5.00 ; John D. Hall, $25.00 ; James Chanslor, $25.00 ; Gen. A. 
W. Doniphan, $40.00; William J. Stark, $10.00; J. D. Davidson, $20.00; 
John D. Ewing, $10.00; William Collins, $20.00; Joseph Lewis, $20.00; 
James Fleming, $25.00 ; T. J. Young, $10.00. 

The Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad was completed between Han- 
nibal and St. Joseph in the spring of 1859. It was deemed necessary to 
build a railroad from Kansas City to Cameron, in Clinton County, a small 
town located on the H. H. St. J. Railroad un.l sliortiy after tlie road had 
been finished between Hannibal and St. Joseph, Clay County was 
thoroughly canvassed requesting the people to ask the county court to 
subscribe $200,000 to aid in l)uilding this branch road. The most influen- 
tial citizens of the county favored the project and became enthusiastic on 
the subject, particularly after the ablest men in the county had made 
speeches in its advocacy. A special election was held in June, 1860, and 
out of a vote of 2,032, 1,200 voted for the subscription to be made by the 
court. An additional sum of $25,000 was afterwards made to aid in the con- 
.struction of the road. Delay from one cause or another, principally on 
account of the diffiLulties incident to the war between the states i.ssued 
and this branch was not finished until 1867. 

The Democrats in 1860 were divided into two factions: One faction 
placed in nomination Stephen A. Douglas and Herschel V. Johnson for 
President and Vice-President; the other, John C. Breckenridge and Joseph 
Lane for President and Vice-President. The first faction claimed they 
were the "regulars", while the others claimed also to be "regulars". The 
Republicans placed in nomination Abraham Lincohi and Hannibal Hamlin 
for President and Vice-President. The I'liion party, consisting of the 



122 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

remnants of the American or "Know Nothing" party and the disaffected 
of all other parties, placed in nomination John Bell and Edward Everett 
for President and Vice-President. Clay County gave Bell and Everett a 
majority of its votes. Missouri gave its electoral vote to Douglas and 
Johnson. Lincoln and Hamlin were elected, but did not receive a vote in 
Clay County. 

H 



CHAPTER VII. 



CIVIL WAR PERIOD. 



BEGINNING OF WAR— ARSENAL IN CLAY COUNTY SEIZED— ARMS AND AMMUNITION 
TAKEN— MASS MEETING AT LIBERTY— COMPANIES ORGANIZED— GOVERNOR 
ISSUES ORDERS — THE ROCK CREEK AFFAIR— TROOPS TO LEXINGTON- 
FIGHT AT BOONVILLE— CARTHAGE — BATTLE OF WILSON'S CREEK — SIEGE 
OF LEXINGTON— BLUE MILLS LANDING — FIGHT SOUTH OF LIBERTY— LEGIS- 
LATURE. MEETS AT NEOSHO— FEDERAL TROOPS AT LIBERTY— STATE GOV- 
ERNMENT REORGANIZED— SOLDIERS AT LIBERTY— CONSERVATIVE UNION 
MEN— RAID ON MISSOURI CITY— BUSHWHACKERS— ORDER NO. 11— RAIDS 
BY EU.SHWHACKERS — END OF WAR. 

The firing on Fort Sumpter, April 12, 1861, precipitated the Northern 
and Southern states into war. No sooner than had the President made 
his call for volunteers and Governor Claibonie Fox Jackson's refusal to 
comply with the President's demand for troops from Missouri, this state 
was intensely excited and in many quarters hurried preparations were 
made for war. In no county in the state was the excitement greater than 
in Clay. Immediate conference was had with the leading men whose 
sympathies were with the South, living in Jackson, Buchanan and other 
counties to seize the arsenal near Liberty and secure guns and ammunition 
there stored and arm volunteers for the conflict which every one could see 
was imminent. Accordingly, quietly and without the least publicity, 
armed men from Jackson County as well as men from Buchanan and 
other counties, on April 20, 1861, seized the arsenal, four miles south of 
Liberty. It has been charged that Governor Jackson gave his personal 
sanction to this seizure. Such was not the case. The governor knew 



124 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

nothing of it until after the seizure had been made. Other gentlemen 
of prominence were fully aware that the seizure would be made. It was 
the suggestion of Hon. Samuel H. Woodson that the seizure should be 
made and concurred in by Gen. John W. Reid and M. Jeff Thompson, and 
certain men at Independence, Kansas City, St. Joseph and Liberty. Col. 
Nat Grant, who was in charge of the arsenal at the time, was powerless 
to prevent the munitions of war from being taken. He could only protest. 
Not a gun was fired. Everything that could be used in the way of cannon, 
small aiTTis of every description, powder, etc., was carried away and subse- 
quently distributed and used by companies in the Missouri State Guard 
and in the Confederate army. This was the first act Missouri showed 
aganst the United States government. This act created consternation 
throughout the country. Even the President was concerned and tele- 
graphed to constituted authority for explanation. Captain Lyon in com- 
mand at Jeflferson Barracks doubled his guards, fearing an attack on the 
arsenal at the barracks. 

An inventory of the property taken was made and consisted of three 
six-pound cannon, mounted on carriages, twelve unmounted iron cannon, 
five caissons, two wagons, two forges, a lot of equipment for artillery. 
1,000 rounds of artillery ammunition, mostly canister and solid shot ; 1,180 
muskets, 250 rifles, 119 carbines. 100 pistols, 420 sabers, forty swords, 
450,000 cartridges, 1,000 iwunds of coarse jjowder, 1,550 pounds of fine or 
rifle powder, large quantity of cartridge boxes, belts, scabbards and sundry 
articles of military equipment for army use in great quantity. Large 
amount of the powder was hidden in various parts of the county, in hay 
stacks and hay lofts, but the greater part of which reached those for 
whose use it was intended, the Confederates. 

The first Monday following the seizure the circuit court was in session. 
The court took a recess in order that a political meeting could be held in 
the court room. The meeting assembled in great numbers. Hon. Samuel 
H. Woodson delivered an eloquent and impassioned address in favor of 
Missouri taking her stand with her sister southern states — a seces.sion 
speech. He was followed by Aaron Conrow, of Ray ; Dr. G. M. B. Maughs, 
of Jackson; John E. Pitt, of Platte; John T. Hughes, of Clinton; J. H. 
Adams. G. S. Withers, J. C. C. Thomton and J. W. Gillispie, of Clay. A 
fine secession flag was raised amid the cheers of the multitude. Resolu- 
tions were passed unanimously condemning the President's call for troops 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 125 

and indorsing Gov. C. F. Jackson for his reply to the call of Mr. Lincoln. 
One resolution was, "That in the event there should be a new convention 
ordered, we pledge ourselves to support no man for delegate for said con- 
vention who will not aver himself a Southern Rights man and that we 
will use all honorable means for the immediate secession of Missouri". A 
few months previous Clay County was enthusiastically for the main- 
tenance of the Union; now that a call had been made to make war on 
Southern states, Clay County must give expression of its hostility to such 
a course and its willingness to secede from the Union. Only a very few 
of the better class of the people of the county did not declare themselves 
in favor of secession. A meeting of those opposed to secession was held 
the day following. Dr. William A. Morton was chainnan. Colonel Doni- 
phan and Col. James H. Moss delivered eloquent speeches. Doniphan de- 
clared he was still for the Union, but that he could not take part in the 
war. Moss pleaded for the Union. Resolutions were adopted claiming 
"that secession was no remedy for an evil, and asserting that the true 
policy of Missouri at present is to maintain an independent position within 
the Union, holding her soil and institutions against invasion or hostile 
interference from any quarter". 

Companies of men were organized in various parts of the county. A 
company of "South-Rights" men was organized in Liberty with Henry L. 
Routt, as captain and L. S.. Talbott, George W. Morris and John W. Gil- 
lispie as lieutenants. At Smithville a company was formed with Theodore 
Duncan as captain and J. E. Brooks, William Davenport and P. M. Savery, 
as lieutenants. In the northeast part of the county a company was 
officered by Prof. L. M. Lewis as captain and G. W. Mothershead, M. D. 
Scruggs, Richard Laffoon, as lieutenants. In Gallatin township another 
company was organized with G. W. Crowley, captain, Amos Stout and R. 
H. Stout, lieutenants. Just west of Kearney, at Gilead, a company for 
"home defense" was organized of which O. H. Harris was captain ; W. W. 
Smith and Samuel Henderson were lieutenants and Tapp Soper orderly. 
Another company at Liberty was organized, 0. P. Moss, captain; James 
H. Moss, William G. Garth and John Dunn, lieutenants. With the ex- 
ception of the company of which 0. P. Moss was captain were armed with 
arms from the Liberty arsenal. These various companies did not all re- 
main intact. Some of them were broken up and the men joined other 
companies and served in the Confederate cause. Camp Jackson, near St. 



126 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Louis was captured by General Lyon and E. P. Blair, Jr. This was a camp 
of Missouri State Guards, under the command of Gen. D. M. Frost. 
Directly thereafter the Missouri Legislature passed the famous "military 
bill". Governor Jackson immediately ordered several companies of the 
Missouri State Guai'd to come to the capital for its defense. Captain 
Routt's company from Liberty and Capt. Theodore Duncan from Smith- 
ville left for Jefferson City in obedience to orders, but only remained a few 
days, returning to their respective homes. On the 15th day of June, 
1861, by orders of the governor, Capts. Routt, Duncan and Mothershead, 
with their companies, crossed the Missouri River at Blue Mills Landing 
and joined the forces under Col. Richard H. Weightman, who were in camp 
on the Lexington road a few miles east of Independence. Some history 
states that on this date a fight had ensued on Rock Creek, two miles west 
of Independence, between the Missouri State Guards under the command 
of Col. Hollaway and some regular army forces under the command of 
Lieutenant Stanley. No such conflict ever occurred. Colonel Holloway's 
men were in camp west of Independence, when receiving information that 
a large force of Federals had left Kansas City with the intention of attack- 
ing the State Guards, Colonel Holloway made preparations for defense and 
when the Federals approached the camp of the State Guard, Colonel Hollo- 
way obsen'ed that a white flag was being earned at the head of the Fed- 
eral column; riding toward the Federals. Colonel Holloway was accident- 
ally shot, mortally wounded, by one of his own men. Some one had acci- 
dentally shot his gun off, which the rank and file of Holloway's men 
thought was a signal to fire, when there was a general fusillade from the 
State Guard, mortally wounding the commanding officer. Colonel Holloway, 
and Bud McClanahan and slightly v/ounding Samuel Ralston. The Fed- 
erals did not fire a gun but returned with the least disorder to Kansas 
City. While in camp east of Independence, Capt. Theodore Duncan was 
shot and mortally wounded, dying from the wound a few days later and 
was buried in Liberty. At the time Colonel Holloway was wounded he 
was acting instead of Brig. Gen. James S. Rains, the commander of that 
military division of the state, and had for his aids-de-camp, John W. 
Henry, afterw^ards judge of Supreme Court, Shrewsberry Dameal, Bud 
McClanahan and William H. Woodson, all citizens of Independence. 

Lieut. Colonel Weightman marched the State Guard to Lexington, 
where General Rains assumed command of the troops gathered at that 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 127 

place. In the meantime other companies were being organized in Clay 
County. Capt. Thomas McCarty organized a company of infantry, with 
Alexander J. Calhoun, J. C. Vertress and R. P. Evans as lieutenants. This 
company started for Lexington, June 17th. Within a week four other 
companies from Clay County were on the road to Lexington — Captain Tal- 
bott's, Captain Holt's, Captain Mothershead's and Captain Crov/ley's. 
Captain Talbott succeeded Captain Routt in command of the "Rangers", 
Routt being elected to the rank of lieutenant-colonel. 

The Federal forces under Lyons and Sturgis had a fight at Boonville 
with the State Guards, compelling the latter to retreat to Lexington and 
other places southwest of Boonville. These Missourians were compelled to 
still further retreat toward the southern part of the state, but were inter- 
cepted near Carthage on the 5th day of July by a large force of Federals 
under command of Gen. Franz Sigel. A battle was fought, resulting in 
the defeat of the Federals. In this battle, Captain McCarty's company 
had one man killed, Albert (Dink) Withers. On the 10th day of August, 
the greatest, most stubbornly and sanguinary battle on Missouri soil dur- 
ing the war between the states was fought at Wilson's Creek. The follow- 
ing men from Clay County under General Price were killed : Sergts. A. W. 
Marshall, John W. Woods and Amos Stout; privates David Morris, John 
Grant (cousin of Gen. U. S. Grant), and Richard Gates. The wounded 
were: Capt. Thomas McCarty, seriously, and Lieut. Theodore K. Gash, 
James Miller, J. B. Winn, C. S. Stark, Richard Talbott, William Hymer and 
L. B. Thompson, more or less severely. Gen. Nathaniel Lyon, the com- 
mander-in-chief of the Federal forces was killed and his army defeated. 
Gen. Samuel Sturgis succeeded to the command and retreated to Spring- 
field and from that place to Rolla. This victory gave great encourage- 
ment to the people of Southern sympathy and greatly stimulated by the 
Federal defeats at Carthage and Wilson's Creek, many rushed to enlist 
before the war should be over. The Federals in the western part of the 
state kept remarkably quiet for quite awhile as the Confederates passed 
to and from Price's army with no "one to molest or make them afraid". 

Clay County formed a part of Gen. A. E. Stein's military division of 
the state. This commander issued in August a proclamation calling upon 
men to enlist in his army to drive from the state the Northerners who had 
invaded it, which was not without results. Men were organized into com- 
panies and I'egiments in Stein's division which was in Northwest part of 



128 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

the state. Colonel Saunders from the extreme northwest Missouri, com- 
manded a regiment and other regiments were organized, ready for im- 
mediate service. Col. John H. Winston, of Platte County, organized a 
regiment. A considerable force under the command of Col. Henry L. 
Routt, were encamped near Lexington. Colonel Mulligan, a Fedei^al com- 
mander with a large force had taken the Old Masonic College building at 
Lexington in possession and had thrown up entrenchments. The South- 
erners determined to capture this officer and his anny if possible. To this 
end the two above mentioned regiments hastened to Lexington. In Clay 
County, Capt. L. B. Dougherty commanded a company, with James A. 
Gillispie and L. A. Robertson, as lieutenants. Capt. John S. Groom and 
Capt. Peter C. Pixlee had also organized companies. These Clay County 
soldiers also repaired to Lexington, for the news had reached them that 
Gen. Sterling Price was marching on Lexington from Springfield. The 
regularly organized companies from Clay County which participated in the 
siege of Lexington and assisted in the capture of 2,800 Federals under 
Colonel Mulligan, who surrendered September 20th, were those of Captain 
Pixlee, Captain Groom, Capt. Gideon Thompson, L. B. Dougherty and Cap- 
tain Mothershead. Other men from Clay County participated in the siege, 
but were attached to other commands. 

The Missourians from northwest concentrated at St. Joseph for their 
march to Lexington, and on their march to Lexington were joined by the 
regiment of Colonel Winston, numbering about 3,500 men, most of them 
mounted, and the baggage train numl)ered over sixty wagons. They had 
three cannon, two six-pounders and one nine-pounder. The Federal com- 
mander of the northwest part of the state was fully aware of the move- 
ment of these Missouri troops and determined to prevent them from cross- 
ing the Missouri River and augmenting the force confronting Mulligan at 
Lexington. This Federal commander from the northwest rushed troops 
from all quarters toward Blue Mills Landing, for that was the point where 
the Missouri troops expected to cross the river. Colonel Winston's regi- 
ment without interference crossed the river. At Liberty, Colonel Saun- 
dures receiving infonnation that Federal troops were near and he was likely 
to be attacked, rapidly marched his forces in the direction of Blue Mill 
Landing. The Federals also were alert; they too hurried toward the 
Landing Before the Missourians could reach the crossing, messengers 
apprised the commander of the close proximity of the enemy. Colonel 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 129 

Saunders secreted a large number of his men behind an embankment of a 
slough for at least a quarter cf a mile just west of the farm of John Beau- 
champ, about four miles south of Liberty. Thick underbrush between the 
embankment and the road prevented the Federals from observing their 
enemy who were in complete ambuscade. The Federals marched gaily 
along ; suddenly a teri'ific fire was opened upon them from the guns of the 
State Guards with disastrous results. The advantage was with the Stat©- 
Guards from the start to the close, which was of short duration, as the 
Federals being taken by surprise fled in haste and disorder back to Liberty. 
The Missourians crossed the river that day and marched to Lexington 
without being further hindered or molested. That night the Federals 
visited the field and removed nearly all their wounded. The next day they 
were all brought back to Liberty and taken to the William Jewell College 
building, which was improvised into a hospital for their accommodation. 
The dead, consisting of fourteen in number, were buried on the College 
grounds. The wounded were about eighty. 

To give the reader some idea of reports of battles in those days made 
by officers whose duty it was to make reports of engagements, we here 
give reports of the killed and wounded in this affair. Colonel Saunders, 
commander of State Guards, in his report, dated September 21, 1861, 
states that he had one man killed and seventeen wounded and that the 
Federals admitted a loss of 150 to 200 killed, wounded and missing. 
Lieut.-Col. John Scott, of the 3rd Iowa Volunteers, commanding the Fed- 
erals, states in his report, dated Liberty, September 18, 1861, "The loss 
of the enemy can not be certainly ascertained, but from accounts deemed 
reliable, is not less than 160, many of whom were killed". The colonel in 
his report does not state the loss of the Federals, but states, "I have to 
regret the loss of a number of brave officers and men who fell gallantly 
fighting at their posts. I refer to the enclosed list of killed and wounded 
as a part of this report." 

Governor C. F. Jackson having been driven from Jefi'erson City, called 
the legislature to meet in Neosho on the 26th of October and on the 28th, 
an ordinance of secession was passed by both houses. In the Senate, only 
one vote was cast against the ordinance, that of Charles H. Hardin, then 
senator fiom Boone and Callaway district and aftei-wards governor of the 
state and in the House only one vote cast against the ordinance, that of 
Shambaugh, of Dekalb County. The Congress of the Confederacy at Rich- 



130 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

mond, Virginia, approved of this ordinance annexing of the people of Mis- 
souri with the Southern Confederacy. 

Our citizens were greatly surprised on one Sunday early in Decem- 
ber, 1861, to find a large body of soldiers under the command of Gen. B. M. 
Prentiss, of the regular United States army come into Liberty, where they 
remained until the Tuesday following. During their stay numbers of per- 
sons of Confederate proclivities were ai-rested and forced to take the oath 
of loyalty to the Federal government. When this general departed with 
his troops, returning to Leavenworth, he carried with him Judge James C. 
Vertrees, judge of the Probate Court, J. J. Moore, deputy sheriff, James 
H. Foi'd, constable, and about a dozen other prominent citizens. 

Missouri state government was reorganized by ordinance of the State 
Convention, with Hamilton R. Gamble as provisional governor, Willard P. 
Hall, as lieutenant-governor, and Mordecai Oliver as secretaiy of state. 
It required all county officers and almost all other civil officers of the state 
to take an oath of loyalty to the State and National Government, which 
was generally deemed not improper, but there were many obnoxious pro- 
visions in the oath which a great many officers in the state would not take 
or subscribe to. Judge W. Dunn, of the Clay Cou7ity Circuit Court refused 
to subscribe to the oath and ex-governor A. King was appointed his stead. 
D. C. Allen, circuit attorney, would not take and subscribed to the oath, 
and D. P. Whitmer, of Ray County, became his successor. A. J. Calhoun, 
the circuit clerk, subscribed to the oath. 

In March, 1862, a man claiming to be a Confederate officer, named 
Parker, with a few men came into Liberty and held the place for part of a 
day. Captain Hubbard, a I'ecruiting officer for the United States govern- 
ment, with about ten men, were in a house of old man Grady, which was 
located on the northwest coraer of Kansa.s and Leonard streets, in Liberty. 
Hubbard and his men were attacked and forced to surrender to Parker 
after a fight of an hour or two. No lives lost. 

After Parker's victorious achievement, for months peace and quiet 
prevailed in our county, but was maired by the coming into the county 
of one Col. William R. Pennick with his regiment of men, principally from 
northwest Missouri — some were from Kansas. Penick was a resident of 
St. Joseph; he was of Southern birth and rearing, a native of Boone 
County, Missouri, a slave holder. Penick and his men were stationed in 
Liberty practically the whole summer. When they were gone, no set of 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 131 

men ever left a community having less benedictions for their future wel- 
fare and happiness. 

After about one year's service, such as it was, Penick's regiment was 
disbanded, as the order said, "in view of the interests of the public 
service". 

The leader of the conservative Union men of northwest Missouri was 
Co!. James H. Moss, brother of Capt. Oliver P. Moss, a brother-in-law of 
Hon. John J. Crittenden, of Kentucky. It was Colonel Moss and the men 
of his regiment, composed of men from Clay and Platte Counties, who did 
more than all other agencies combined from 1862 to the end of the war 
between the states, to protect Clay and Platte Counties from marauders, 
thieves and villains, military and otherwise. In September, 1862, the 
companies of enrolled militia in Clay and Platte were organized into a regi- 
ment denominated the Forty-eighth Regiment: Colonel, James H. Moss; 
lieutenant-colonel, Nathaniel Grant; C. J .White, adjutant; William T. 
Reynolds, quartermaster; Dr. William A. Morton, surgeon, all of Clay. By 
reason of the very large reduction in numbers of this regiment by re- 
movals from the state and other causes, this regiment was disbanded in 
November, 1863. Colonel Moss retaining his commission, was instructed 
to reorganize effective militia of Clay, Clinton and Platte Counties, which 
he accordingly did and into a regiment. Eighty-second Enrolled Missouri, 
better known as the "Paw-Paw" militia: Colonel, James H. Moss; lieu- 
tenant-colonel, Nathaniel Grant, both of Clay; major, John M. Clark, of 
Platte. A book of no small dimensions could be tnithfully written, giving 
a history of this command during the trying times from the time of its 
organization to the end of the war. Its combats with thieves and "Red 
Legs" alone, depicted, would be a long and interesting narrative. Espec- 
ially next to Colonel Moss, due credit would be given to Capt. John S. 
Thomason, of Clay, and Davis Johnson, of Platte, and great praise, not 
a modicum, to Maj. John M. Clark. It was this command that prevented 
Clay and Platte from being laid waste by vandals from our neighboring 
state of Kansas, as Jackson, Cass and a part of Bates Counties were de- 
spoiled about this period of the war by these same vandals. 

On the 19th of May, 1863, a body of armed men, under the command 
of one Fernando Scott, who crossed the river at Sibley several days be- 
fore, made a raid into Missouri City. An account of which was published 
in the Liberty Tribune is as follows: 



132 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

"One of the residents of Missouri City came in and reported to Capt. 
Darius Sessions of the enrolled militia, or Lieutenant Gravenstein, of the 
Twenty-fifth Missouri Volunteers, that he noticed two or three suspicious 
characters lurking about a short distance below that place. The captam 
and lieutenant with not more than three or four men— all we suppose 
they could muster at the time for duty— went out on a scout and had not 
proceeded far before they were fired upon from the bnish by a body of 
men at least three or four times their number. Finding their little force 
inadequate, they were compelled to beat a hasty retreat in a somewhat 
northeriy direction. They were, however, hotly pursued by the bush- 
whackers. Captain Sessions was shot dead, several bullets, it is said, 
entering his body. Lieutenant Gravenstein, finding his pursuers gaining 
on him and escape about hopeless, turned and offered to sun-ender, but 
was killed on the spot without mercy. A private of the Twenty-fifth Mis- 
souri, who was wounded in the arm, found by a citizen and brought into 
Missouri City, was cruelly fired upon by several of these outlaws as they 
came rushing into town— neither his helpless condition nor the humane 
attentions of those around him dressing his wound, could save him. He 
was still alive when last heard from, but his recovery is deemed hopeless. 
The ruflSans broke into James Reed's store, forced open his safe, took 
therefrom some $170 or $180 in gold, destroyed all his valuable papers 
and other property. They also plundered and did considerable damage 
to Mr. B. W. Nowhn's store and after charging about for some time in a 
threatening manner, departed to the woods below the city. 

"These men, those of them who came into the city, were under the 
leadership of Scott, a saddler who lived in Liberty some years ago, but 
for the past four or five years has resided in Jackson County. He is a 
native of Ohio. George Todd, it is said, was at hand with another squad. 
Their pickets were seen eariy Wednesday morning on the bluff above the 
lower part of Missouri City. The number of guerrillas altogether was 
sixteen, although at first they were supposed to number a much larger 

force. 

"Captain Garth, with what forces he could hastily gather up, immedi- 
ately went in pursuit but did not succeed in capturing any of them. In 
the absence of the militia, the citizens of Liberty turned out en masse to 
defend the town and it was done with a willingness and a "vim" that 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 133 

plainly indicated that the bushwhackers had but few, if any, sympathizers 
in Liberty. 

"The bushwhackers were all from Jackson and other counties but 
three — Vondivere, Easton and James — all of whom were of Clay. Vandi- 
vere boasted in the streets of Missouri City that he killed Captain Sessions 
because he reported on him and wouldn't let him stay at home. The 
rascals, when firing on the wounded man in town, declared that when any 
of their men were captured they were killed and that they intended to do 
the same — that they asked nor gave quarter. 

Mr. Benjamin Soper, residing some eight or ten miles north of Lib- 
erty, reported to headquarters on Thursday that fourteen of the above 
squad took possession of his farm, stationing out pickets and notifying 
him and his family that they were prisoners and not to leave the place. 
That they remained all one day and on leaving took one of his best horses 
and warned him it would not be good for any of his family to be caught 
from home that night." 

Durhig the summer of 1865, Clay County was badly infested with 
bushwhackers, lawless soldiers and other disreputable characters, keeping 
peaceable and law abiding citizens in almost constant fear of losing lives 
and property. So great was the disturbed condition of affairs that it was 
deemed by the county court unsafe to attempt the collection of the county 
revenue m the usual manner and in the time prescribed by law, that the 
court by a special order of record required all tax payers of the county 
who had not paid their taxes up to the time of the order, July 8, 1863, be 
notified and enjoined to repair as soon as practicable to the office of the 
sheriff and ex-officio collector of the revenue, Francis R. Long, at the court 
house, in the city of Liberty, and pay their taxes to said collector or his 
deputies, and, unless they promptly respond to the order, the court will 
not be compelled as an act of justice to the state, the county, and the 
brave militia faithfully serving the cause of law and loyalty, and said col- 
lector either to call into requisition the services of said militia to enable 
said officers to collect said taxes or to order said defaulting tax payers to 
be returned as delinquents. 

The troubles in Clay County were greatly augmented by the issuance 
of the celebrated order of Gen. Thomas Ewing, known as "Oi'der No. 11", 
the result of which was the depopulation of the counties of Jackson, Cass 
and a part of Bates, except certain towns and cities in said order desig- 



134 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

nated, which order, practically left the country districts of these counties 
open to all crimes, murder, arson, petty and grand larceny, in fine the 
whole catalogue of crimes. Hordes of men, many of them claiming to be 
soldiers from Kansas overrun this territory effected by Order No. 11; 
killing men, robbing and burning houses, driving off horses, mules and 
cattle, loading wagons with household and kitchen furniture, leaving in 
their wake absolute desolation. In retaliation for these acts, a consider- 
able force of young men, the large majority of whom were the sons and 
relatives of those who had been murdered or plundered, whose houses had 
been burned or property stolen, went to Lawrence, Kansas, and there com- 
mitted what is known as the "Lawrence Massacre", committing murders 
and other atrocious crimes. Many fai-mers in the counties effected by 
this infamous order, instead of going to the places designated in the order, 
fled from their homes and sought a refuge elsewhere, many of them com- 
ing to Clay County. The men, with their families, who came to our 
county, were quiet inoffensive citizens, not connected with either the Fed- 
eral or Confederate army— non-combatants. The military authorities 
then in Clay County greeted these refugees with this order: 

Headquarters, Liberty, Mo., Sept. 9, 1863. 

Special Order: 

All persons who are leaving General Swing's district in compliance 
with his order (No. 11) are hereby prohibited from stopping in this county 
to reside. All those failing to comply with this order will be escorted 

beyond the lines of the county. 

JOHN R. GREEN. 
Major Commanding Post. 
By Robt. W. Fleming, Act. Post. Adjt. 

Among the men who went with Quanti-el from Jackson County to the 
City of Lawrence, were several from Clay County. It was currently be- 
lieved that John D. Holt, Frank and Jesse James and Ninian (Ning) Letton 
were among the number. There was intense alarm in the county after 
the sacking of Lawrence. Many Kansans were disposed to organize, go 
into Missouri and seek vengeance. General Ewing being apprised of the 
intention of these people of Kansas, notified military officials in Missouri, 
who took the necessary precautions to prevent the men from canying out 
their designs. Troops were placed near all ferries and crossings ready 
and willing to meet the invaders. Ascertaining that Federal troops were 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 135 

ready to meet these Kansans should they attempt to enter Missouri with 
their criminal designs, the expedition was abandoned. 

Numerous raids by bushwhackers were made in the county during 
the early part of 1864, and the summer of that year. A body of thieves 
under command of one Sanders, claiming to be a part of Jennison's regi- 
ment of Kansas, one night in the month of January, captured Missouri 
City, where were located a small number of enrolled militia under com- 
mand of Capt. George S. Story, taking the captain and the militia prison- 
ers. After plundering Nowlin's store of all it contained, fled before the 
rising of the sun. The most notorious bushwhacker with his followers of 
about sixty men, was Charles Fletcher Taylor, whose home was at Inde- 
pendence. "Fletch" Taylor, Peyto Long, of Liberty, Arch Clements and 
James Bissitt, of Jackson County, all bushwhackers, were charged with 
killing, in cold blood, one Bradley Bond, an ex-Federal soldier, who was 
living quietly at his home. No positive proof, however, was ever known 
that these men were guilty of the crime, for crime it was, the man being 
called to his door and murdered. A day or two afterwards Alvis Daily 
was working in his field, when he was shot to death. His family were 
notified that bushwhackers did the deed because Daily belonged to the 
company which killed Park Donqvan about a year before. 

Lieut.-Col. J. C. C. Thornton was an officer under Col. John H. Winston, 
both of whom were, or had been, recruiting for Gen. Sterling Price's amjy^ 
Colonel Winston had been taken pi-isoner at his home in Platte County and 
had been confined some weeks in prison at Alton, Illinois. Colonel Thorn- 
ton, with Threlkill, Fletch Taylor and their forces, about the 10th day of 
July, captured Platte City with Capt. Davis Johnson and his command of 
about 100 men. The news was carried to Liberty which created great 
alarm among the militia and the people generally. The night of the day 
the news was received every able bodied man in the town was required to 
be in the court house or the court house yard. Captain Kemper, the 
commander of the troops or militia, was taken from the Arthur House on 
a litter, he having been seriously wounded a few days prior thereto by 
bushwhackers in a fight on Fishing River. A few days thereafter Col. 
J. H. Ford, of a Colorado regiment, and Lieut.-Col. D. R. Anthony, of Jen- 
nison's regiment, with their respective regiments marched through Platte 
City to Liberty, leaving behind them death and desolation. Platte City 
was almost entirely destroyed by fire; peaceable and law abiding old 



136 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

citizens, Gragg, Reddish and others called to their doors and shot to death. 
A meeting was called for all citizens to be at the court house to devise 
ways and means to get rid of all bushwhackers in the county. The chair- 
man of the meeting was Edward M. Samuel, a Union man of long resi- 
dence in the county. The chief and only spokesman on the occasion was 
Colonel Ford. He commenced his remark by saying, "I don't know what 
to say to you damned people, etc." What good resulted from this meet- 
ing is not known. General Schofield, commanding the Missouri Military 
Division quickly ordered these regiments back to Leavenworth, from 
whence they came. They were not permitted to return through Platte 
County, but were taken from Liberty Landing by steamboat to Leaven- 
worth. While the commands of Ford and Anthony were in Liberty they 
were turned loose upon the people and pennitted to commit the wildest 
excesses upon the citizens of the place; stores were robbed. They would 
steal whatever they could and abused the citizens without let or hindrance. 
The next day after the soldiery were suffeited, for the time being. Colonel 
Ford issued a general order that stealing, robbing and pillaging from the 
citizens of these counties must not be allowed. 

From July to the end of the year roving bands of bushwhackers in- 
fested the county and predatory squads and larger companies of state 
militia roamed over the county to the unrest and constant dread of peace- 
able, law abiding citizens. 

The news of the surrender of General Lee was a quietus to this kind 
of warfare. The Confederate people of Clay County became resigned to 
the inevitable and looked foi-ward to the future in hopes for peace. 

The telegraph brought the news of the assassination of President 
Lincoln which was received with the greatest regret by all classes. In 
Liberty all stores were closed. A large meeting was held to give ex- 
pression to the prevailing sentiment of sorrow. A series of resolutions 
were unanimously passed condemning the assassin and deploring the death 
of the President as a great national calamity. The committee who intro- 
duced the resolutions were composed of Col. A. J. Calhoun (cousin of John 
C. Calhoun, of South Carolina), Frederick Gwinner. Maj. Samuel Hard- 
wicke and Judge John Broadhurst. 

The last of the bushwhackers in Clay County were those under the 
command of 01. Shepherd, who on the 28th day of May, 1865, surrendered 
in Liberty to Lieutenant Cooper, of Captain Younger's company of state 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 137 

militia. They were only five in number, the other members of the band 
having left the county. The surrender occurred after several notes had 
passed between the militia lieutenant and 01. Shepherd, the commander 
of the bushwhackers. Those who surrendered were 01. Shepherd, who in 
1868, was killed by a vigilance committee in Jackson County ; Ninian Let- 
ton, who afterwards became city marshal of Liberty, and sheriff of Clay 
County, James and Alfred Corum and Milton Dryden. 



CHAPTER VIII. 



AFTER THE CIVIL WAR. 



DRAKE CONSTITUTION — CLAY COUNTY SAVINGS ASSOCIATION ROBBED — DIS- 
FRANCHISEMENT— DEMOCRATS SUPPORT B. GRATZ BROWN FOR GOVERNOR 
—HOW THE NEGRO VOTE WAS SECURED— RESULT— THE WOODSON-McCARTY 
SENATORIAL, CAMPAIGN— RAILROADS— GRASSHOPPER YEAR— POLITICAL 
ISSUES AND ECONOMIC CONDITIONS— INDUSTRIES — VALUATION— ELECTION 
OF 1920— DEMOCRATS CARRY CLAY COUNTY. 

The most drastic, undemocratic and objectionable document ever 
promulgated as a Constitution of a state, was the so-called Drake Consti- 
tution of 1865. Amied soldiers were stationed at all polling places on 
election day. June 6, 1865, to see that no one not loyal should cast votes 
against the infamous document. Thousands of men stayed away from 
the poles. Only 918 votes were cast in Clay County for and against the 
adoption of the constitution, as follows: 

Liberty township For 31 Against 528 

Fishing River township For 25 Against 102 

Washington to\\aiship For 1 Against 121 

Platte township For 33 Against 26 

Gallatin township For none Against 113 

90 890 

Majority against constitution 800. 

On the northeast comer of the public square in the city of Liberty 
is located a two-story brick building, originally erected by the Farmers 
Bank of Missouri for a branch bank, but on the 13th day of February, 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 139 

1866, the lower stoiy of the building was and had been for several years, 
occupied as the bank of the Clay County Savings Association. On this 
day a band of brigands from Clay, Jackson and other counties robbed this 
association , of about $60,000 and escaped. At the time the bank was 
looted a snow was falling and continued to fall so that by the time sherifi" 
and his posse could go in pursuit of the outlaws it was impossible to fol- 
low the trail, the snow having obliterated or covered up their tracks. It 
is known that the bandits crossed the Missouri River into Jackson County 
the same day. Several persons believed to be implicated in the robbery 
were an-ested charged with the crime, but on investigation there was not 
sufficient proof of guilt. The Liberty Tribune in its next issue after the 
robbery published the following account: 

"Our usually quiet city was startled last Tuesday by one of the most 
cold-blooded murders and heavy robberies on record. It appears that in 
the afternoon some ten or twelve persons rode into town and two of them 
went into the Clay County Savings Bank and asked the clerk, William 
Bird, to change a ten dollar bill and as he started to do so, they drew 
their revolvers on him and his father, Mr. Greenup Bird, the cashier, and 
made them stand quiet while they proceeded to rob the bank. After hav- 
ing obtained what they supposed was all, they put the clerk and cashier 
in the vault and no doubt thought they had locked the door and went out 
with their stolen treasure, mounted their horses and were joined by the 
balance of their gang and commenced shooting. Mr. S. H. Holmes had 
two shots fired at him and young George Wymore, aged about nineteen 
years (son of William H. Wymore), one of the most peaceable and promis- 
ing young men in the county was shot and killed while standing on the 
opposite side of the street at the corner of the old Green house. The 
killing was a deliberate murder without any provocation whatever, for 
neither young Wymore nor any of the citizens of town, previous to the 
shooting, knew anything of what had taken place. Indeed, so quiet had 
the matter been managed, if the robbers had succeeded in locking the bank 
vault on the clerk and cashier and had retired quietly, it would likely have 
been some time before the robbery would have been discovered. 

"The town was soon all excitement and as many as could procure arms 
and horses went in pursuit, but up to this writing nothing is knovra of 
the result. Our citizens exhibited a commendable willingness to do all 
they could to assist in the capture of the robbers and their booty. 



140 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

"Thus has our city and people been grossly outraged by a band of 
thieves and murderers and that too, when the people thought they were 
in possession of pemianent peace and a worthy young man murdered, one 
of the most successful and ably managed monied institutions and many 
private individuals have been heavy losers. We hope to God, the villians 
may be overhauled and brought to the end of a rope. Indeed, we can not 
believe they will escape. 

"The murderers and robbers are believed by many citizens and the 
officers of the bank to be a gang of bushwhacking desperadoes who stay 
mostly in Jackson County. But it makes no difference who they are or 
what they claim to be, they should be swung up in the most summary 
manner. Robbing and murdering must be stopped and if it requires 
severe medicine to do it, so be it. Desperate cases require desperate 
remedies, and we believe our people are in the humor to make short work 
of such characters in the future The people of Clay County want peace 
and safety and they are going to have it. 

"The robbers obtained about $60,000 in gold currency and 7 :30's U. S. 
bonds — about $45,000 of the amount was in 7 :30's. 

"Although the Clay County Association offered a reward of $5,000, 
no one was ever arrested who was convicted of the murder or robbery. 
The Association was temporarily suspended, but settled with all creditors 
by paying sixty cents on the dollar, which was satisfactory to creditors." 

Under the Drake Constitution of 1865, at least thi-ee-fourths of the 
men of Clay County were disfranchised. The gi'eater part of them being 
the better class of our citizenship. Take as an example, the lawyers : only 
two of about fifteen lawyers, resident attorneys, were allowed to vote. 
The Democratic committee of the county for years were lawyers Thomas 
McCarty, Henry L. Routt, D. C. Allen, James E. Lincoln and William H. 
Woodson ; not one of whom was permitted to vote, a right, however, which 
was vouchsafed to any and all negro men in the county. For years before 
an election, all men who proposed to vote at the election must be first 
registered and unless they measured up to the standard of loyalty as re- 
quired by the registration officers, who, in Clay County, with one or two 
exceptions, were invariably of the lowest class of our people they wei'e not 
permitted to register as voters. In 1868, a time when men were dis- 
franchised, the vote for President was, Seymour, Democrat, 320; Grant, 
Republican, 291. In 1872, when there was no registration of voters, the 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 141 

vote in Clay County for President was, Greeley, Democrat, 2,207; Grant, 
Republican, 528 ; O'Conner, "straight" Democrat, 27. For governor, Wood- 
son, Democrat, 2,472; Henderson, Republican, 527. 

In 1870, the Radical Republicans of the state nominated Joseph W. 
McClure for governor. The Democrats declined to make a nomination for 
the office but recommended that all Democrats support B. Gratz Brown, 
the Liberal Republican candidate for that office. If Brown was elected 
then, in that event, notice was given by the people that no longer was 
registi-ation and proscription of voters wanted in this state. Great interest 
was manifested in the race for governor, as well as the election for minor 
offices. In Clay County a movement was started to secure the negro vote 
for Brown for governor, and for the county ticket. Every night for over 
a week prior to the election, the colored people, male and female were 
invited to come to the court house, where they were entertained with 
speeches by one or more of the Democratic committee, after which re- 
freshments, oysters, etc., were served, the evening closing with a dance. 
The fii'st evening or two, there was but slight attendance of the colored 
people, but as the entertainments became more interesting and the 
speeches more and more convincing, the night before the election, it was 
believed that not a negro man or negro woman in the county had failed 
to put in his or her appearance, who was physically able to do so. 

Colonel Woodson was chairman of the meeting with nineteen negro 
vice-presidents. Had the platform been larger, the colored people were 
assured there would have been more vice-presidents. Colonel Routt was 
the speaker of the evening and although he spoke for an hour and a half 
and although he signally failed to utter one single truth, yet his speech had 
a most telling effect on his audience. With tears in his eyes, Colonel 
Routt would have the chairman read, time and again, the iniquitous pro- 
visions of a bill the Republicans intended introducing in the Legislature 
of the state to become a law provided Joseph W. McClure was elected 
governor. The most shocking part of the bill was to levy a tax upon 
every colored person in the state, male and female, over the age of eighteen 
years in the sum of fifty dollars. The bill, when it became a law, was to 
take effect in thirty days after its passage. Then the assessor in every 
county should make the assessment and if the person so assessed did not 
pay the lifty dollars to the collector of the revenue xi'ilhin thirty days 
thereafter, the party should be arrested to answer an indictment to be 



142 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

preferred by the grand jury. The penalty for the non-payment was two 
years in the state penitentiai'y. There was a preamble to the bill explana- 
tory to the effect, that it was to show the appreciation of the colored 
people to the Republican party, first, for having manumitted them and 
next for having given them the electoral franchise. Colonel Routt made a 
most pathetic appeal to his colored fellow citizens and produced a great 
sensation at one period of his address, when with tears streaming down 
his face, he cried out with agonizing voice to an old crippled colored friend 
who sat before him, "James Tuggles, my dear old colored friend, you with 
whom I played on the green in the good old state of Kentucky, where is 
the fifty dollars you've got to pay. Where is the fifty dollars your wife, 
old Aunt Nancy has got to pay; where is the fifty dollars your son, Jim. 
has got to pay; where is the fifty dollars your daughter, Lizzie, has got 
to pay?" and the colonel knowing exactly fourteen of old Jim's children, 
called out each of their names and inquix'ing where was the fifty dollars 
each one had to pay. Old Uncle Jim, looking up at the colonel, sobbing as 

if his heart was broken, cried out, "Mars Henry, we ain't got a d d 

cent." 

James Love, a former prominent educator in the county, was the 
Radical Republican candidate for the Legislature. Henry Smith, a prom- 
inent lawyer, was the Libera! Republican candidate against Mr. Love and 
was elected by receiving the solid negro vote of .the county. Had not the 
negro vote been cast for Smith, Love would have been elected. The St. 
Louis Republic commenting on the negTO vote of Clay County having been 
given to B. Gratz Brown for governor, among other things said: "If in 
the future there were any counties in Missouri anxious to get the votes 
of the negroes and didn't know exactly how to get them, we would sug- 
gest taking lessons from the Clay County Democratic Committee." 

The old third senatorial district of this state was composed of the 
counties of Clay, Clinton and Platte. For many years prior, and subse- 
quent to 1872, the custom was to alternate in the selection of a state 
senator. The district was verj' largely Democratic, so much so that the 
Republicans never even thought of making a nomination for that office. 
Clinton had the senator for the four years preceding 1872, and now it 
was Clay County's time to select a Democrat for senator, subject, of. 
course, to a ratification of a convention to be held later on. Before the 
Democratic voters of the county, there were four candidates: Col. Lewis 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 143 

J. Wood, Capt. Thomas McCarty, John R. Kellar and William H. Woodson. 
The 2nd day of June was the day selected when a mass meeting of the 
Democracy of the county would be held at Liberty to select delegates to a 
senatorial convention. The county had been thoroughly canvassed by the 
different candidates, and great excitement and zeal prevailed among all 
the people, so much so, that when the hour arrived for the mass meeting, 
the public square was filled with excited men, while at the second story 
windows of all business houses, the women could be seen ; they too taking 
the most active interest in what the meeting would do. The crowd was 
entirely too great to get into the court house, and the meeting was organ- 
ized, and held east of the court house, with Heniy L. Routt, as chairman, 
Judge James M. Sandusky, as Secretary, and others occupying the stone 
porch of the court house. To ascertain the strength of the various candi- 
dates, it was determined that all the friends of McCarty sJiould go to the 
northeast comer of the court house yard ; Woodson's friends to the south- 
east; Keller's to the southwest; Col. Wood'.s to the northwest. The friends 
of each candidate started to the respective stands. It was apparent that 
Woodson's friends were the most numerous. Col. ^Vood, seeing this, ad- 
vised his friends to go over lo Woodson, which they did in a body. The 
McCarty followers, seeing the overwhelming numbers against them, did 
not all go to the place allotted them. The Kellar men were few in num- 
ber. A motion was made that the various candidates be represented in 
the senatorial convention with their respective strength, which, aUhough 
defeated, was declared l.iy tb.e cliairman to be carried. The convention 
met at Plattsburg", Clinton County, on the day appointed. Woodson was 
nominated ; McCarty bolted the convention, and made the race as an inde- 
pendent democrat. Then commenced the most exciting and hotly contested 
senatorial race which ever took place in Missouri. All the old politicians in 
the district took sides with McCarty. and wherever McCarty made speeches, 
from two to half a dozen of these old "war horses" were with him, and 
likewise made speeches in McCarty's behalf. Meetings were held in nearly 
all the school houses in Clay, Clinton and Platte counties. The only 
speeches made in behalf of Woodson were made by himself. These political 
meetings continued until the night before the election in November. At 
Bari-y, in Clay; Parkville and Weston, in Platte, the audience would not 
pennit McCarty to answer Woodson; yet when the election took place, 
McCarty carried those precincts, and had sufficient majority in Platte 



144 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

to more than overcome Woodson's majorities in Clay and Clinton. Mc- 
carty's majority was small, in the district. 

One branch, the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad passes 
through Clay County. Originally the road was chartered before the war 
between the states, and was called the Kansas City, Galveston and Lake 
Superior. Afterward the name was changed to the Kansas City and 
Cameron. Afterwai'd it was merged into the Hannibal and St. Joseph, 
February 14, 1870, and is now known as the C. B. & Q. Railroad. This 
road was completed to Liberty in the fall of 1867. This enterprise was 
of great benefit to the county, as it gave an outlet for the produce of the 
county to the markets of the world, besides stimulated immigration to the 
county ; it created no less than six towns and villages, and added material 
wealth by the development of agricultural activities throughout the en- 
tire country. 

The following year, 1868, the St. Louis, Kansas City and Northern 
railroad was extended through the county. The name was changed to the 
Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific. 

Under a contract with the Hannibal and St. Joseph road, the Chicago, 
Rock Island and Pacific Railroad Company commenced in 1871 to run 
passenger and freight trains over this road, but was not allowed to take 
on or discharge passengers or freight in the county. 

In the month of May, 1875, Clay County was devastated of almost all 
vegetation. Great swanns of grasshoppers made their appearance, eat- 
ing every green vegetable, corn, wheat, oats, grass, and in many instances 
the leaves of the trees. So vast were their numbers that to war on them, 
to try to exterminate them, was futile. Fanners who did not have prov- 
ender in their barns for their stock were compelled to take their animals 
to other counties, to prevent starvation, or to be at no little expense in 
providing food for them. Cattle were driven to counties along the Iowa 
line for grass. Fortunately the grasshoppers left the county in time tn 
replant corn, other cereals, and seeds of various kinds, so that good crops 
were rai.sed. 

It has been well said that Missouri politics for thirty years after 
1875 seem monotonous and uneventful. Year after year the Democrats 
carried the state in national and state elections. The nominal issues 
were those of the reconstniction times ; the Democrats insisted on economy 
and conservation and denounced the carpet bag regime in the South, the 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 145 

iron-clad oath, the sale of railroads, and the heavy debt in Missouri. As 
the party became better united, the moi-e positive leaders came to the 
front. Gov. John S. Phelps had sei-ved in Congress from 1844 to 1862, 
had commanded a regiment in the Union Army and aided Blair in the 
organization of the Democratic party. He was succeeded by another 
Union Democrat, T. T. Crittenden, and he in turn by a Confederate briga- 
dier-general, John S. Marmaduke. With Marmaduke the older line ends 
and the later governors are younger men vi^ho took no part in the great 
struggle. 

After the panic of 1873, the reconstruction issues, although nomin- 
ally dominant in politics, wrere really subordinate in the minds of the 
people to the newer economic and social problems. Times were hard and 
the westerners believed, rightly or wrongly, that their troubles were due 
to the excessive rates and discriminations of the railroads and to a cur- 
rency which enabled the East to exploit the West. In Missouri the de- 
niand that the government remedy these evils did not lead to any consid- 
erable third party movement, but the Assembly made some attempt to 
regulate the railroads through a railroad commission. The demand for 
the free coinage of silver was generally endorsed and found one of its 
earliest and ablest champions at Washington in Richard P. Bland. In 
the '80s the revival of prosperity temporarily obscured this economic and 
social unrest and the Democrats maintained their unity. Governors D. R. 
Francis and W. J. Stone, a former member of Congress, r-r^eived sub- 
stantial majorities. Francis was later a member of Cleveland's cabinet 
and Stone has represented Missouri in the United States Senate. Until 
1903 the Democrats re-elected to the United Stxtes Senate Cockrell and 
Vest, first chosen in 1879, two senators who worthily continued the tra- 
ditions of Benton, Henderson and Schurz. 

When the panic of 1893 brought the economic issues to ihe front 
once more, the old parties lost their magic. The Missourians ioinod the 
new People's Populist party by the thousand and in the off year of 1894 
in coalition with the Republicans elected a Republican superintendent of 
schools. Before the next national election, however, the radical or 
Populist wing had captured the national Democratic party. Its candidate, 
W. J. Bryan, swept Missouri by tremendous majorities in both 1896 and 
1900, carrying with him the Democratic candidates for governor, L. V. 
Stephens and A. M. Dockery. 



146 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Then came the first substantial Republican victoiy since 1868. The 
national Democratic candidate for President, Parker, was an easterner 
and a consei-vative, unacceptable to the radical element in the West, while 
the Republican candidate, Theodore Roosevelt, apart from the cuiTency 
issue, which renewed prosperity was driving into the background, rep- 
resented many of the reforms which the radicals desired. At the same 
tune there was a revolt in the Democratic party against the older leaders 
under J. W. Folk, who secured the nomination on the issue of refonn. 
The election resulted in the success of Roosevelt and Folk and the Repub- 
lican candidates for the other state offices. The Repubhcans secured also 
a majority in the Assembly and sent William Warner to the United States 
Senate to succeed Cockrell. Four years later the split in the Democratic 
party still continued. Taft carried the state by a small majority over 
Bryan, H. S. Hadley, the Republican candidate, was selected governor, 
but the Democrats captured the other state offices and a small majority 
in the Assembly, which was held in 1912. The truth is that the older 
allegiance to the party name and party machinery has broken do\vn, the 
people more and more are voting intelligently on men and issues, and 
Missouri, today is a doubtful state. 

After 1872 Missouri entered a new stage in her economic develop- 
ment. The good government land was all taken up and immigrants from 
the East went farther west in their search of cheap land. Fi'om 1890 the 
increase in population in the ten-year period was about one-fourth, from 
1890 to 1900 it fell to one-sixth, and in the next two decades was very 
small. After 1880 the increase was to be found chiefly in the cities. As 
far as the agricultural population was concerned the state, and Clay 
County had reached the limit in rapid growth. The future development 
of the state and county must be along the lines of manufacturing and 
varied industries, although scientific farming is already checking the 
decline of agriculture. 

Although the population of Clay County has not materially increased 
during the last two decades, yet the lines of manufactures and various 
industries show a very decided increase within the last five years, which 
inevitably must in the near future very greatly increase the population 
of the county. Thus far the increase in population has been in North 
Kansas City, and Excelsior Springs. Probably no place in the state has 
more manufacturing plants in course of erection, and to be erected in 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 147 

1921, than North Kansas City. No question but in ten years, or less, 
North Kansas City will be the most populous city in the county, and com- 
posed, principally, of the operatives and families in the various manufac- 
tories and kindred industries. The assessed valuation of property in 
Clay County for the year 1920, is as follows: 

Real estate, $11,028,820; personal, $5,452,685; merchants and manu- 
factories, $941,259; railroads, $5,839,306. 

The great issue between the two great political parties, Democratic 
and Republican, in 1920, was the adoption or rejection of the Covenant 
and League of Nations, as agreed upon by the representatives of the great 
nations of the world, at Versailles, France. At this election the women 
in almost every state were permitted to exercise the right of suffrage. 
Owing to a state constitutional provision the women of Georgia, at this 
particular election were deprived of the right to vote, yet not denied the 
right at any future time The Democrats, as a party, were in favor of its 
adoption; the Republicans were opposed to its adoption. The German- 
Americans, and the Roman Catholics were opposed to the measure; the 
foi-mer because they thought the victors, in the late world war, were too 
severe in their demands of the fatherland; the latter because of their 
dislike of Woodrow Wilson. A vote for James M. Cox, the Democratic 
nominee for President, was a vote in favor of the adoption of the Coven- 
ant and League of Nations, while a vote for Warren G. Harding, the Re- 
publican nominee for President, was a vote against the adoption of that 
measure. 

Harding was elected. The vote at this election in Clay County, for 
President and Governor was as follows: 

James M. Cox (Democrat) , 6,621 ; Warren G. Harding (Republican) , 
2,788; John M. Atkinson (Democrat), 6,218; Arthur M. Hyde (Republi- 
can), 2,808. 



CHAPTER IX. 



LIBERTY TOWNSHIP. 



PRESENT BOUNDARIES-.TOPOOKAPHY-WATER SUPtLY-FIRST SETTLERS- 
OTHER SETTLERS-LJBERTY LANDING— LITTLE SHOAL CREEK BAPTIST 
CHURCH— PROVIDENCE MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH. 

Liberty is the south-central municipal township of Clay County and 
its present boundaries are as follows: Beginning at the northeast cor- 
ner, at the northeast corner of section 15, township 52, range 31; thence 
south to the Missouri river; thence up the river to the mouth of Big Shoal 
creek; thence up and along Big Shoal creek, on the eastern bank, to the 
southwest corner of section 22, township 51, range 32; thence due north 
to the northwest corner of section 3, township 52, range 31 ; thence east 
to the northeast comer of section 1, same township and range; thence 
south one mile to the northeast corner of section 7—52—31; thence south 
one mile to the southeast comer of said section 7 ; thence east three miles 
to the beginning. 

Although the country is naturally broken and hilly throughout the 
greater part of the township, some of the best farms in Missouri are 
here to be found. Without the least exaggeration some of the manor lands 
in Liberty are equal in point of development and improvement to many 
of the best estates in the famed blue grass region of Kentucky, or the 
much lauded farms of Central Ohio. To be sure many of the Liberty 
township famis have been cultivated for sixty years, but their possessors 
have not been slothful or unenterprising. 

The tiibutaries of Fishing river. Rush creek, Big Shoal and all of 
Little Shoal creek, furnish abundant water supply and adapt the township 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 149 

to stock raising, and this natural advantage is thoroughly well improved 
upon. The bottom lands along the Missouri are of course of the highest 
fertility. 

As to the first settlers in what is now Liberty township, it is probable 
that they were Richard Hill, Robert Gilmore, James Gilmore, Samuel 
Gilmore and Elijah Smith, who settled on Rush creek, in the southeastern 
part of the township, in 1820. The two first-named Gilmores, Hill and 
Smith came first in the spring and built cabins and put out small crops, 
leaving their families down in Petite Osage bottom (commonly calleil 
Tete Saw) in Saline county. In the fall of the year they returned with 
their families. 

Richard Hill settled on section 9, nearly two miles east of Liberty; 
the others were lower down the creek. All of these families were re- 
lated. Samuel Gilmore was the father of Robert and James, and the 
father-in-law of Hill and Smith. Mrs. Mary Poteet, a widow lady, who 
was the sister of Elijah Smith, and the mother-in-law of James and Rob- 
ert Gilmore, came with the party and made her home with her brother. 
She raised Mary Crawford, an orphan, who became the wife of Cornelius 
Gilliam, and was the first white woman married in Clay county. 

Other settlers came in quite numerously and located in the south- 
ern portion of the township in 1821, and in 1822, when the county was 
organized and Liberty laid out and made the county seat, there were still 
other additions made to the settlements in what is now the Liberty muni- 
cipal townshiiJ — then about equally divided between Gallatin and Fish- 
ing River, the two original townships of the county. Anthony Harsell 
said that in 1821 there was but one house north of Libei'ty — that of 
Jameri Hiatr, who lived a little more than a mile from town, due north 
(section .31 — 52 — 31), now known as the Baker farm. 

Liberty Landing, on the Missouri, three and a half miles south cf 
the city of Liberty, was established many years ago. The site was for 
many years a place of importance. All merchandise for Libeiiy and 
other interior towns north was put off the steamboats here for many 
years. From 18.58 to 1862 a large hemp factory, owned and operated by 
Arthur, Bunis & Co., was conducted at this point. The machinery in 
this establishment cost about $30,000, and the firm handled thousands 
of tons of hemp. The business was broken up by tlie war and the machin- 



^5Q HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ery sold to McGrew Bros., of Lexington. At present there is a railroad 
=t- tinn on the Wabash road at the Landing. 

Little ShorCreek. Old School Baptist church has the d.st,nc .on o. 
h„„,lhl%rt church organization in Clay county. It was const.tuted 

^ur "r 'vrhn:''A.T,:on:'rn":^l r:. -..,. nal,, Pa.sey 
S E,i!ha hIC lli^lbeth Monroe, Sally Stephen, and ^e Croon. 

krtrrnr;^r.rnrr:r;:rhp:^^^^^^^ 

sbc years; Elder Henry Hill, three years; Elder James Duval, 21 >ears. 
Elder Lucius Wright, two years. 

Providence Missionary Baptist Church was organized Apnl 29 1848^ 
at the house of Peyton T. Townsend by Revs. Robert James and Franklm 
Griv s P N EdwLds being the first clerk. The organization commenced 
Sth a membership of 44 persons, but has increased until at ^-esent w t^ 
ine there are 190. The first church building was erected in 1850, and 
was des rojed by fire in Feb.-uaxy, 1880, but was rebuilt the same year at 

Vff ToOO The pastors have been Revs. Robert James, John Major, 
I T W llSn A. N B^t W. A. Curd, G. L. Black and A. J. Emerso. 
ThTcZHs a brick building, and is situated in I;iberty t^wns^^^^^^^^^^ 
the southeast quarter of section 15. Present pastor, Rev. Ward Edwards. 



CHAPTER X. 



LIBERTY. 



TOWN SITE ON LAND OF JOHN OWENS— COUNTY SEAT SELECTED— FIRST SALE 
OP TOWN LOTS — FIRST HOTEL AND STORES— TOWN INCORPORATED — LIB- 
ERTY IN 1846 — REINCORPORATED IN 1861 — EARLY INDUSTRIES — WATER AND 
LIGHT— LODGES— CHURCHES — SCHOOLS — URBAN LAKE— ODD FELLOWS HOME 
—ADVANTAGES OF LIBERTY— PROGRESS. 

Upon the organization of Clay County, in January, 1822, the land on 
which the city of Liberty now stands was owned by John Owens and 
Charles McGee. Owens had built a house on what is now the northwest 
comer of Water and Mill streets some time the previous year, and kept 
a sort of tavern, or house of entertainment. His house was a rather 
large and roomy affair, and, as elsewhere stated, was used to hold the 
first courts in, and for other public purposes. McGee and Owens donated 
25 acres to the county for county-seat purposes, which donation was ac- 
cepted, and soon after the town was laid out. 

The legislative act creating the county appointed John Hutchins, 
Henry Estes, Enos Vaughan, Wyatt Adkins and John Poage commis- 
sioners to select a "pennanent seat of government" for the county, and 
provided that, until such selection, courts should be held at the house of 
John Owens. William Powe was afterward appointed on the commission. 
In their report to the circuit court July 1, 1882, as a reason for their 
selection, the commissioners say: "That, in pursuance of the object of 
their appointment, they assembled together on the 20th of March last, 
to examine the different donations offered the county, and continued in 
session three days examining the sites for a town ; that after mature de- 



152 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

liberation and minute investigation the tract of land owned by John 
Owens and Charles McGee was thought best adapted for the object for 
which it was designed, as being more central for the population, sur- 
rounded with good and permanent springs, lying sufficiently elevated to 
drain off all superfluous waters, in a healthy and populous part of the 
county, and entirely beyond the influence of lakes, ponds, or stagnant 
waters of any kind ; they, therefore, unanimously agreed to accept of the 
proposition of Mr. Owens and Mr. McGee of a donation of 25 acres each 
for the use of the county." 

As soon as the town was laid out, which was in the early summer of 
1822, improvements began to be made. The first sale of lots was on 
the 4th of July, and at that time nearly all of those fronting on the public 
square were disposed of. But up to about 1826 there were not more than 
a dozen houses in the place, and these, with perhaps one exception, were 
log cabins. 

Early hotel-keepers were Leon4rd_Sea£c^ who had a licensed taveni 
in the fall of 1826, and continued in the business for six or seven years; 
Laban Garratt, who opened a licensed tavern in December, 1827, and 
John Chnuncey, who began in about 1832. These hotels, or "taverns," 
as they were universally called, were simple affairs, but were comfortable 
enough, furnished plenty of good, wholesome food, and were adequate to 
the demands of that day. 

Probably the first store in Liberty was kept by Wm. L. Smith, the 
county clerk, who brought up a few goods with him from Bluflfton in 
1822, and sold them in his dwelling-house. 

Liberty was first incoi-porated as a town by the county court May 
4, 1829, on the petition of "more than two-thirds of the citizens," under 
the name and style of "The Inhabitants of the Town of Liberty." The 
following were declared to be the metes and bounds: 

Beginning at the southeast corner of the northeast quarter of sec- 
tion 7, in the line of the New Madrid claim ; thence due west along said 
Madrid line to the southwest comer of said quarter section; thence due 
north along the line of said quarter section to the northwest comer there- 
of; thence due east along said quarter section line to the northeast cor- 
ner thereof; thence due north along the line dividing sections 7 and 8, to 
the beginning comer at the mouth of the lane between Andrew Hixon, 
Sr., and said town tract. 



I 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 153 

This incorporation really included 160 acres of land, being the north- 
east quarter of section 7, township 51, range 31. The first board of 
trustees was composed of Lewis Scott, John R. Peters, Eli Casey, Samuel 
Ringo and John Baxter. 

Describing Liberty in 1829, the year of its first incorporation, a 
writer in the Tinbune in 1846. says: 

The public square in Liberty then had two houses on the soutli side, 
one on the west, two on the north, and two or three on the east. Hixon's 
Wilson's, Bird's and Curtis' addition to the town were then in old Mr. 
Hixon's com field. There was one tavern (the same now [1846] occu- 
pied by Judge Hendley) kept by Leonard Searcy. Parties and balls were 
frequent, and often times attended by ladies and gentlemen from Fort 
Leavenworth, Richmond, Lexington and Indejiendence. Preaching was 
uncommon — at least 1 never heard much of it. There was no church in 
town, but I think the Baptists had two or three in the country; perhaps 
at Big Shoal, Little Shoal and Rush Creek. 

There was but little use for doctors at tiiat time, as the chills and 
fever were unknown, except in the Missouri bottoms, where but few 
persons had then .settled. 1 lecollect that the first case of chills and 
fever that occurred in the uplands excited great alarm and astonish- 
ment. It occui'red, I think, in Platte township. Liberty was always 
healthy. Not a death took place for several years after I caiiu- to it, 
except one or two persons who came to it laboring under consumption. 
Once a physician. Dr. Conway, was sent for to see a sick man at the 
Council Bluffs It was regarded as- ;i most hazardous undertaking, bemg 
in the winter season, and the doctor received a fee of about $250 There 
was no other physician nearer at tliat time; now there are perhaps a 
hundred, and a trip to Council Bluffs is ;'s litt'e regarded as it formerly 
was to the falls of the Platte. 

The first settlers of Liberty were as tlever, as sociable, an.! ;is good 
Iieople as ever walked the eai'th. Many of them have gone to "that !)ourne 
from whence no traveler ever returns," and many of them are now still 
living. * * * There was a kind of brothei'liood existing among 
the people of Liberty and Clay County when I first came among them; 
nothing like envy or jealousy existed. They are perhaps more united 
yet than any other people in the state. This arose from the fact that the 



154 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

first settlers were almost entirely from Kentucky, and either knew each 
other, or else each other's friends before they came here. 

A contribution to the Tribune, in December, 1846, in an article hith- 
erto quoted from, describes Liberty as it was at that date : 

Liberty now contains three taverns, a printing office, three black- 
smiths, eight stores, three groceries, two drug stores, one hatter's shop, 
one tinner's shop, four tailors, three saddlers, three shoemakers, one car- 
riagemaker, two wagonmakers, one tanyard, one bagging and rope fac- 
tory, five physicians, six lawyers, three cabinetmakers, two milliners, 1 
oil mill, 1 carding factory, a Methodist Church, a Reformer's Church, 
with neat brick buildings, and a Catholic Church under way; also a Bap- 
tist Church of stone; one school, kept by a Mr. Harrel, and a male and 
female school, under the superintendence of Mr. and Mrs. Cunningham. 
Our schools are equal to those of any town in the state in the ability of 
the teachers. Good houses to teach in are all that are lacking. The Mis- 
sionary Baptists are making efi'orts to erect a church, and I doubt not 
will be successful. Efforts are also making to erect a large college, and 
judging from what has already been accomplished in the way of procur- 
ing subscriptions, it will go up on a scale commensurate with the wants 
of the surrounding countrj\ 

If there is a healthy spot in Missouri, it is in Liberty. It is finely 
watered, society is good, and in point of morals it is equal to any other 
place, and rapidly improving in that respect. There is stone enough in 
the streets to pave the whole town, and then enough left to macadamize 
the road to the Landing. These things will be done in due time. We have 
a "Union" Sunday School, numbering eighty scholars, and quite a re- 
spectable library attached to it. The day will come, if good colleges are 
erected speedily, when Liberty will be to Westeni Missouri what Lexing- 
ton is to Kentucky — the focus of intelligence and literature. When once 
improved as it should and will be, no place will be more handsome. 

Two or three good coopers and a chair-maker would do well to settle 
in Liberty. The want of such mechanics is seriously felt by merchants' 
families and farmers. 

March 28, 1861, the Legislature re-incoi-porated the town as "the 
City of Liberty," describing its site as "all that district of country con- 
tained within one mile square, of which the court house in Clay County 
is the center, the sides of said square being respectively parallel to the 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 155 

corresponding sides of said court house." The city is still governed under 
this charter and certain amendments. 

At the outbreak of the Civil War, Liberty was a flourishing town, 
with numerous well filled stores, a good woolen mill, rope-walks, hemp 
factories, etc., and was well known throughout the country. Its schools 
gave it something of favorable notoriety, as well as its commercial ad- 
vantages. A branch of the Farmers' Bank of Lexington had been located 
here. 

The Liberty Insurance Company, with E. M. Samuel, Michael Ar- 
thur and Gen. Doniphan as its leading spirits, existed for some years 
after 1850. 

The Civil War left the town much the worse for its experience, but 
during the four years of strife and demoralization business was kept up 
and the ordinary municipal affairs received proper attention. The build- 
ing of the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad was an epoch of importance, 
giving an outlet by rail to the marts of the world and swift communica- 
tion by mail and express with important commercial centers. Yet it is 
maintained by many that in another sense the building of the railroad 
injured Liberty more than it benefited it, as it gave facilities for going 
away from town to trade, and caused sundry small towns to be built, thus 
diverting business away from the county seat, and affecting its material 
prosperity considerably. 

Liberty owns its water plant. Water is pumped from South Liberty 
four miles in the gTeatest abundance. Also is lighted, houses and streets, 
by electricity. The electric lights are furnished by a power house in 
Kansas City, Mo. 

Liberty Lodge, No. 31, A. F. & A. M. — At Liberty, has been in exist- 
ence for eighty j^ears. The dispensation was issued June 26, 1840, on 
petition of A. Lightburne, E. M. Spence, Josiah C. Parker, Lewis Scott, 
John M. McLain, Thos. M. Bacon, Henry. Coleman and Heniy C. Melone. 
The first master, under the dispensation, was Josiah C. Parker, who was 
installed July 18, 1840, by three past masters, Thos. C. Case, Henry C. 
Melone and E. M. Spence, and resigned August 29th following because of 
certain "unmasonic conduct." A. Lightburne was made senior warden 
August 15, 1840. The charter was not issued until October 9, 1840, the 
first principal officers being Josiah C. Parker, master, and A. Lightburne 
and H. C. Melone, wardens The officers under the dispensation were 



156 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Josiah C. Parker, master; A. Lightburne and H. C. Melone, wardens; 
Thos. M. Bason, secretary; Henry Coleman, treasurer; Andrew McLain 
and Edward M. Spence, deacons, and John Gordon, tyler. On the seventy- 
fifth anniversai-y of the organization of the lodge a celebration of the 
event; speeches were made by Hon. D. C. Allen and Col. W. H. Woodson, 
the oldest living members who were made Master Masons in Liberty 
Lodge, No. 31, A. F. & A. M. 

Liberty Chapter, No. 3, R. A. M., was first organized under a dispen- 
sation, issued April 18, 1842 ; the charter was not issued until September 
13, 1844 Some of the fii'st members were: Alvin Lightburne, Fi-ederick 
Goi'lich and J. M. Hughes. The chapter meets in the Masonic Hall. 

Knights Templar. — Liberty Commandery, No. 6, K. T., was insti- 
tuted by Geo. W. Belt, R. E. P. Gr. Com. of Missouri, under a dispensation 
issued October 16, 1865, to Samuel Hardwicke, Rev. Ed. G. Owen, John 
S. Brasfield, Dan Cai-penter, W. G. Noble, S. H. Masterson, L. W. Ringo. 
G L. Moad and Thomas Beaumont. Of the first officers Samuel Hard- 
wicke was commandei-, Ed. G. Owen, generalissimo, and John S. Brasfield, 
captain-genera!. (These were appointed by the state grand commander.) 
Under the charter, which bears date May 21, 1866, the first officers were: 
Samuel Hardwicke, commander: E. G. Owen, generalissimo; J. E. Bras- 
field, captain-general; A. Lightburne and W. W. Dougherty, wardens; 
Dan Cai-penter, prelate; Peter B. Grant, recorder; W. A. Hall, standard 
bearer; D. C. Allen, sword bearer; W. W. Dougherty, warder. 

The charter members of Liberty Lodge No. 49, L O. 0. F., were 
Madison Miller, who was also one of the first members of Baltimore 
Lodge, No. 1, the first lodge in the United States, Larkin Bradford. T. K. 
Bradley, Geo. W. Morris, T. Leonard, 0. C. Stewart, Wm. Lamborn and 
J. W. Wetzel. The charter bears date March 5, 1851. The first officers 
were: Madison Miller, noble grand; Geo. W. IMorris, vice-grand: T. K. 
Bradley, secretai*y: John Neal, permanent secretary; Larkin Bi-adford, 
treasurer. 

The Knights of Pythias have a flourishing lodge and own their 
Castle Hall. 

Christian Church. — Two small organizations formed in 18.^>7 fonned 
the Christian Church in Liberty. One of these societies was denominated 
the "Church of God," of whom were the following named persons ; Thomas 
Swetnam, Caroline Swetnam, Mason Summers, Marie Summers. Howard 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 157 

Everett, James Everett, Anderson Everett, Polly Everett, John Reid, 
Sally W. Reid, Martitia Young, Jas. Hedges, Nancy Hedges, Walter Huf- 
faker, W F. Grigsby, Thos. M. Chevis, Frank McCarty, John Thompson, 
Sally Thompson, A. H. F. Payne, Nancy Tunier, and others, making a 
total of about thirty-five members. The first officers were chosen on De- 
cember 24, 1837. The deacons were John Thompson, Thomas M. Chevis 
and James Hedges. Bishops, T. T. Swetnam and Mason Summers. It is 
not known who the officers of the other organization were. In the month 
of May, 1839, the two organizations united, foiming the present Church 
of Liberty. The minutes of the "Church of God" of August 13, 1837, 
show the church selected Liberty for the pui^wse of building a meeting 
house, and Thomas M. Chevis, Jonathan Reed and James Hedges were 
chosen trustees, to superintend the erection of the building. The church 
building was completed about 1839. Adding to and remodeling of the 
building has produced one of the most commodious and elegant church 
buildings to be found anywhere. A few of the pastors are here men- 
tioned: Revs. A. H. F. Payne, Moses E. Lard, W. J. Pettigrew, Allen B. 
Jones, Josiah Waller, R. C. Martin, William H. Blanks, Francis R. Palmer, 
R. C. Morton, J. A. Dearborn, R. Graham, Frank D. W. Moore. Among 
these names are the names of mighty men in the pulpit, second to no men 
of similar calling in zeal and ability. 

Liberty M. E. Church South. — This church was organized in Liberty, 
in 1840. Among the first members were Peter B. Grant (cousin of Gen. 
U. S. Grant), J. B. Talbott, Dr. William B. Dougherty, and James Smithey. 
Their first church building was a brick, erected in 1842, and in 1857, a 
frame building was constructed at a cost of $1,800. At present their 
church building is a brick, modera in all respects, an ornament to the 
city. The present pastor (1920) is Dr. J. H. Jackson. Membership about 
two hundred. 

St. James Roman Catholic Church. — This church was organized in 
1847, and a brick church building erected the same year, and the next 
year, was consecrated by Archbishop Kendrick, of St. Louis. The original 
members were Graham L. Hughes, Cyrus Curtis, Phillip Clark, Patrick 
Hughes, Leonard Mahoney, Thomas Morrison, James Fraher, Philip 
Fraher, Michael Fraher, James Burns, Jos. Morton, Patrick Barry, Owen 
Shearin and Hugh McGowan. The pastors who served this church have 
been many, among them Revs. Bernard Donnelly, P. A. Ward, Jas. Mur- 



158 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

phy, Matthew Dillon, John J. Caffrey, Daniel Haley, Dennis Kennedy, Z. 
Ledwith, W. Lambert, James Foley, William F. Drohan, Fintan Mind- 
wilier, Peter McMahan, Thomas Hanley, Michael Milay, Dennis J. Kiley, 
Joseph Beil, Peter J. Cullen and Edward Mallen. The present member- 
ship, including the missions through the county, is about 300. A new and 
elegant church building, with all modern conveniences, has been lately 
erected, which is an ornament to Liberty. 

Presbyterian Church. — The first regular Presbyterian Church in our 
county was organized at Liberty, on the 29th day of August, 1829. A 
number of persons convened in a grove in the west part of Liberty 
(Northwest corner of Kansas Street and Moi'se Avenue), and after a 
sennon, notice having been previously given for that purpose, they pre- 
sented themselves and were organized into a church as follows: 

"Rev. Hiram Chamberlain, of the Presbytery of Missouri, presided, 
aided by Rev. N. B. Dodge of the Harmony Mission. Letters were re- 
ceived in testimony of the qualifications of the following, viz: Archi- 
bald McIIvaine and wife, Mrs. Hannah Mcllvaine, James McWilliams and 
Mary his wife, Walter Davis and Margaret his wife. William Modrel, 
Margaret Ward, Hannah Thompson, Isabella Moore and Jane P. Looney 
and her daughter, Polly W. Looney. The following persons were ad- 
mitted on examination, they having been members of Presbyterian 
churches and removing without letters, viz: Robert Elliott and Sarah his 
wife, and Mrs. Mary Long. After these examinations were made, the 
following covenant was read to the members present and solemnly assented 
to by them : Having professed your sincere belief of the Holy Scruptures ; 
your firm faith in the adorable Trinity; your hopes of pardon through 
Christ, your Redeemer, you, and each of you, do now in the presence of 
God and before these witnesses, enter into solemn covenant with this 
church that you will submit yourselves to its government and ordinances; 
that you will pray for its peace and enlargement; that you will study to 
promote its edification; that you will make the Word of God your con- 
stant rule of faith and practice; that you will most earnestly endeaver 
to walk in all ways of the Lord blameless; and that by a pure conver- 
sation and by holy living you will seek to convince the world of the su- 
perior excellence of our holy religion and try to win them over to the 
service of Jesus Christ. Do you thus covenant and promise? 

Having given their solemn assent, the members were then informed 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 159 

that they were authorized to elect their church officers, and after an 
address to the throne of grace, imploring Divine direction, the following 
persons were declared duly elected: Robert Elliott, James JVIcWilliams 
and William Modrel. Notice was given that the elders elect would be or- 
dained on the morrow, and services were closed by singing and prayer. 
The church met on August 30th, and after sermon the elders-elect were 
set apart and ordained according to the form of government of the Pres- 
byterian Church. Attest: H. Chamberlain, Moderator." 

Happily the complete records of this church are in existence, and 
from which the above was taken. 

Mr. Chamberlain was the first pastor, and the church since has 
been served by the following ministers: John L. Yantis, William Dick- 
son, J. M. Inskeep, R. H. Allen, J. C. Thornton, John G. Fackler, John 
Hancock, Robert Scott, David Coulter, John P. Foreman, J. L. Caldwell, 
Evander McNair, John N. McFarlane, Wm. Frost Bishop, J. J. Hill and 
H. P. McClintic. 

The full roll of elders in addition to the three named above is as 
follows: Allen Denny, Joseph Clark, William T. Wood, William Inskeep, 
Thomas Sublette, Edward M. Samuel, Greenup Bird, C. C. Trabue, James 
T. Marsh, M. D., William Webb, John A. Denny, A. M. Chase, Lewis B. 
Dougherty, James Love, James Robb, Ambrose M. Griffith, John J. Gaw, 
A. C. Courtney, W. L. Trimple, Morton Marsh, Prof. John Staley, Prof. 
E. J. Scott, George W. Herbold, Irving Gilmer and John Laipple. 

The present elders are Lewis B. Dougherty, James S. Robb, W. L. 
Trimble, John Laipple, Indng Gilmer, John L. Dougherty and John M. 
Newlee. 

Second Baptist Church. — The following is an abridgment of an his- 
torical sketch as furnished by Prof. R. P. Rider: 

The early records of the church were destroyed in the burning of the 
Clay County Court House in 1857, and, as our people, then, as now, little 
I'ealized the importance of preserving historical data, no effort was made 
to rescue the fading facts in the history of the church. The second rec- 
ord-book embracing the period from 1857 to 1869, has gone into undis- 
coverable hiding, quite as disastrous to our present purpose, as was the 
fire. 

Consequently, for our history prior to 1869, we must rely upon the 
memories of those then interested in its welfare; some of whom have 



160 HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 

kindly furnished us with personal reminiscences. These reminiscences, 
though not always reliable histoi"y, we have by careful comparison, found 
very valuable; and, as they have been mutually coiTective or coiTobora- 
tive, we have succeeded in gaining an apparently authentic historical out- 
line. We have received some little aid from casual notes and minutes of 
association found in the archives of the Missouri Baptist Historical So- 
ciety. 

In 1843 a few brethem and sisters, some of whom had previously 
been allied with the Primitive, or Anti-Mission Baptists, but who enter- 
tained beliefs with regard to Missions, Sunday Schools, and other aggres- 
sive Christian work, at variance with their religious beliefs, and others 
who had come to Liberty, Missouri, from nearby states where they had 
belonged to United or Missionary Baptist churches, desired to form a 
church of their own faith. 

Rev. A. P. Williams, who was then the Pastor of the Baptist church 
at Lexington, Missouri, and who, as a good bishop, was accustomed to 
visit the brethren in fields remote from his own vineyard, assisted by the 
Rev. W. C. Ligon, Pastor of the Baptist Church at Cari-oUton, Missouri, 
aided them in doing so. Thus on the second day of May, 1843, a Mis- 
sionary Baptist Church was organized in the towTi of Liberty, Clay County 
Missouri, with the following named brethren and sistei-s as constituent 
members : 

William D. Hubbell and his wiie, Eliza Hubbell, and William P. Hub- 
bell, their son. 

John W. Cockrell and his wife, Elizabeth Cockrell. 

Robert Minter and his wife, Martha Minter. 

Mrs. Harriet Minter. 

Mrs. Amanda McCarty. 

Miss Betsy Dabney. 

Twelve members. 

Its first pastor was a man whose name is honored among the Bap- 
tists of the early history of Missouri. Rev. A. P. Williams, from 1843 to 
1845, was the so-called pastor, but for a few months of that time, alter- 
nating with Rev. W. C. Ligon, so that between the two the church en- 
joyed the — at that time — somewhat rare privilege of having preaching 
twice a month. 

It would seem from tradition that Elder Williams resigned and left 




POST OFFICE. EXCELSIOR SPltlXOS. INK). 




EI^.MS HOTEL AXD PARK. EXCELSIOR SPRINGS. MO. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 161 

the care of the church for a short period of time during a part of the 
year 1846-7 and resumed it again in 1848 and 1849, for when Professors 
Dulin and Lockett came to Liberty at the close of the year 1849. Elder 
Lockett writes in his reminiscences "Rev. A. P. Wilhams had resigned the 
pastoral care of the church but a few months before and they were then 
without a shepherd." 

Professors Dulin and Lockett assumed charge under conditions men- 
tioned above. This joint pastorate continued until the middle of the 
year 1851. when Professor Lockett withdrew and presumably left Pro- 
fessor Dulin in full charge, but under what conditions we have been un- 
able to ascertain. Some of the reminiscences to which we have had access 
refer to Elder Dulin as Pastor till 1855, but other records which bear 
upon their front the conditions of greater reliability, state that he was 
frequently and casually called upon to serve the Chui'ch as occasion de- 
manded during the time — three or four years — that he was principal of 
a Young Ladies' Seminaiy in Liberty. 

In 1854 Rev. B. T. F. Cake assisted Elder Dulin in a meeting, and 
shortly thereafter was elected pastor. We have been able to learn none 
of the conditions or circumstances of this pastorate, but it appears to 
have terminated in about one year. During the next year we find fre- 
quent reference made to preaching done by Rev. W. C. Ligon, but whether 
this work was of a mere casual kind — serving the church while he was 
acting as financial agent for the college — we have been unable to learn, 
but from the frequency of mention and the character thereof, presume 
that for something like a year he gave a double service, that of financial 
agent to the college and of pastor to the church. 

He was followed by Rev. Josiah Leake, and he in turn was succeeded 
by Rev. J. B. Link. As it is pleasant to place foot on solid earth after 
one has been floating about among nebulae for awhile, allow us to quote 
a few lines written by Rev. J. B. Link himself: "About the first of Decem- 
ber, 1857, the writer became pastor. The church then had a good brick 
house of worship, very comfortably, but plainly finished. It was not en- 
closed till a few months later. At this time the church enjoyed a very 
good degree of prosperity." 

In 1858-1860 Dr. Ed. I. Owen, Professor of Ancient Languages in the 
college, supplied the pulpit. He was a Welshman, and a learned man. 
The first title accounts in a measure for the sturdiness of his piety and 



162 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

the strength of his fealty to the Word, and the second, for his elegant 
diction, and for the cloister-like peculiarities of the old-time scholar and 
bookworm, that manifested themselves in his daily life. He resigned his 
charge in 1860, and was followed by Rev. William Thompson, President 
of the College a man of rare ability as scholar, orator and leader of men. 

In 1865 Brother Ban-ett was called for a second year for one Sun- 
day in the month with Rev. Asa N. Bird for one Sunday. This arrange- 
ment gave the church Sunday services twice a month. At the close of 
this year, June, 1866, Bro. Bari'ett resigned and Bro. Bird was elected to 
serve the church and preach tw'o Sundays in the month. Bro. Bird re- 
signed at the close of the year, and in June, 1867, Rev. X. X. Buckner 
was elected. He sei-ved one year and was elected for the second, but 
could not serve and Rev. A. Machette accepted the call extended him. 

Elder Machette was associated with the Rev. X. X. Buckner in con- 
ducting a school for young ladies, and his care of the church, like others 
who preceded him, could not have been pastoral in the strict sense of 
the word. He could simply preach and assist in the administration of the 
affairs of the church. Still nothing is said about the frequency of the 
Sabbath ministrations, but from the salaries offered — $1,000 — it is pre- 
sumable that the organization had now (1868-9) grown into the stature 
of an "all-the-time" church. It is certain that succeeding pastors were 
pastors indeed, devoting their whole time and energy to the cause. 

The church, during the greater part of the year was endeavoring 
to find a pastor that would meet the growing demands of the people. 
Having failed in this for the time, they induced Dr. Rambaut, president 
of the college, to assume the duties of pastor, in addition to his duties on 
the Hill and in the state. They thus secured a remai-kable preacher, but 
his health soon failed and he was compelled to resign in March, 1872. 
In June of the same year Bro. Wm. Ferguson, then a student in the col- 
lege, aftenvards editor of the Central Baptist, was elected as supply pas- 
tor. This connection was maintained for a few months while the quest 
for a pastor was continued. Finally in the spring of 1873, at the church 
meeting of April, Rev. H. M. Richardson first presided as ex-officio mod- 
erator. Thus commenced a successful pastorate of eight years. 

Dr. W. R. Rothwell was elected to act as moderator in all business 
meetings in the interim between the close of Dr. Richardson's pastorate 
and the coming of the new leader, to be elected. 

In August, 1881. the church elected Rev. B. G. Tutt, of Mai-shall, 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 163 

Missouri, to shepherd the flock into whose fold he himself had been bap- 
tized in 1858, while a student in William Jewell College. 

The first year of Elder Tutt's pastorate seems from the church rec- 
ord to have been a prosperous one in the mission of soul-winning. Sev- 
eral who are now our most faithful members were received into the 
church during that year; and throughout the period of his incumbency 
the growth of the church, though moderate in numbers, was healthful 
and substantial. 

The church soon afterwards extended a unanimous call to Reverend 
Sam Frank Taylor, then of Columbia, Missouri, to become its pastor, and 
in some time in January, 1891 exact date not given, a letter of acceptance 
from him was read to the Church. 

After a successful pastorate of nearly three and one-half years, 
Rev. Sam Frank Taylor resigned to become president of Stephens College 
for Young Ladies at Columbia, Missouri. 

Rev. T. P. Stafford, Th. D., fresh from an extended and successful 
course of study in the Seminary at Louisville, was chosen to supply the 
pulpit during the summer of 1894. The church were so well pleased with 
his ministrations that in September of the same year they called him 
to become their pastor, which call he accepted. 

Dr. Stafford's pastorate closed in February, 1900, subsequent to his 
definite resignation tendered three months before — leaving the church 
in an harmonious condition and numbering 450 members. 

The church had the sei*vices of its former pastor and others as supply 
during the time that they were in quest of a successor to Dr. Stafford, 
so that all the meetings were sustained and interest in the work was not 
allowed to flag. August 12, 1900, the Pulpit Committee reported in favor 
of calling Rev. F. W. Eberhardt, of Paris, Ky. The adopting of this re% 
port was deferred for one week that wide notice might be given of the 
meeting and its object, and to call forth as large an attendance as possi- 
ble. At the time appointed, in a full meeting of the church, Brother 
Eberhardt was called unanimously to the charge of the church. In a 
short time his letter of acceptance was in the hands of the Pulpit Com- 
mittee indicating that (D. V.) he would preach for the church on Sun- 
day, September 9. 

In November, 1907, Pastor Eberhardt tendered his resignation to 
take effect the fourth Sunday in December. 



164 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Thus ended a pastorate of over seven years. A period of strenuous 
labor by our leader, and rich in large spiritual and material rewards. 

When he came to us he found us a somewhat sturdy band of 450, 
giving to missions and benevolent objects about $1.48 per member. When 
he left us were were a sturdier band, numbering 775, and giving $2.55 
per member. 

The Sunday School had grown from 275 to 575. The prayer meeting 
from two hundred to between four hundred and five hundred. 

During the time that the flock was without an under shepherd it was 
well fed and kept in good working order by the supply pastors, Dr. J. P. 
Greene and Rev. C. M. Williams, but everyone rejoiced when at the end 
of a nine-months quest, the South sent us from Greenwood, South Caro- 
lina, one of her treasured sons to go in and out before us. Dr. H. A. 
Bagby, in October, 1908, commenced a pastorate with us that, from his 
intelligent appreciation of existing conditions, his sympathetic yet strong 
and tactful grasp on the helm, gives promise of a pastorate the equal 
of any that the church in its life of sixty-six years has enjoyed. 

On the day of , 1920, the church was consumed by fire. 

Nearly $500,000 has been subscribed to build a church building with am- 
ple accommodations for many years. 

Dr. 0. R. Mangum is the present pastor. 

R. P. Rider, 
J. W. Kyle. 

Liberty is widely known as a school tovm. The presence of William 
Jewell College makes it possible for boys to complete their education 
from the first grade to their college degree without going away from 
home. Unfortunately the burning of the Liberty Ladies' College has 
retarded the higher education of girls, but a movement is being made, 
which will take care of this in the near future. 

Liberty High School is a first class high school, with an enrollment 
of 227 boys and girls. It is fully accredited so that the graduates may 
enter any institution of higher learning in the country. It not only takes 
care of the academic work in English, history, science, literature and 
languages, but has manual training, domestic science, teacher training 
and commercial departments. It is distinguished in that the teacher of 
agriculture is the county farm advisor. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 165 

The people believe in providing the best training for the boys and 
girls who are to be future citizens. Tangible evidence of this is found in 
the S. G. Sandusky building which was completed at a cost of $45,000, 
and which is one of the best arranged public school buildings in the coun- 
try. This elementary school is unique in that it not only takes care 
thoroughly of the work in the traditional three "r's" but its program in- 
cludes manual training, domestic science, picture and music appreciation, 
drawing, free play, caisthenics, nature study, hygiene and social civics. 
These activities are provided for in a special program which occupies one 
hour each day just before the close of school in the afternoon, and is 
organized on the "Gaiy Plan." The boys and gfrls get the benefit of these 
vitally interesting and useful functions at a time which in the ordinary 
school is wasted in idleness and mischief. 

All of these advantages are secured with a low tax levy. Eighty 
cents on the hundred dollars in Liberty yields a fund which is more than 
equal to a one hundred-cent levy in most towns of same size. 

Urban Lake, Liberty's play ground, is located about two miles west 
of Liberty, on the interurban at the station formerly called Urban 
Heights, and now Belleview. 

The lake itself is a semi-natural body of water of about ten or twelve 
acres and the entire grounds comprise about twenty-five acres, which 
have been improved with bath houses, wells, beaches, boats, camping 
grounds, airdome, and other improvements that with the shade, blue 
grass and water go to make it a first class summer resort. The main 
part of the gi-ounds are lighted by electricity and the waters are kept 
well stocked with fish, and the place is kept clean and is fi'ee from the 
rowdyism usually found at such places. 

This resort is necessarily a Liberty institution and a great many 
of the Liberty people take advantage of it for their recreation and go 
there for boating, bathing, fishing, picnicing and camping, but the repu- 
tation of the place has spread until it is attracting large numbers from' 
other places. 

The Odd Fellows Home for aged indigent Odd Fellows, wives, widows 
and orphans of Odd Fellows, is located about one mile south of the Court 
House in Liberty, on what is known as the Liberty Landing road, which 
is a continuation of South Leonard Street. 

The Home is maintained and supported by the Odd Fellows of the 



166 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

State of Missouri, under the direct control of a Board of Trustees elected 
by the State Grand Lodge, and is comprised of six members of said Grand 
Lodge, and three lady members elected from the Rebekah Assembly, 
which is the ladies' auxiliary of the Order of Odd Fellows. 

The plant comprises three main buildings whose actual cost totals 
$325,000.00, all of which has been fully paid. The Administration build- 
ing on the south was built and dedicated in 1900, and houses the younger 
members of residents of the Home; here also is the laundiy and dairy 
and domestic science depai'tments. The building in the center is used 
for school purposes on the first floor. In the basement is the band room, 
where the Home band holds its practices. On the second floor is the Audi- 
torium, which is equipped with a stage, and has a seating capacity of 
about three hundred persons. Simday School and church sei-vices are 
held here regularly every Sabbath. This building was erected in 1904. 

The building on the north is the Old People's Home. It was built 
in 1906 and was remodeled in 1911, when there was added a first-class 
hospital fully equipped with all the modern conveniences. Here also are 
cozy parlors and sun porches for the enjoyment of the aged residents, 
whose declining years are made as pleasant as evei'y modern equipment 
make possible. 

In 1913 and 1914 the heating and lighting plant was moved and en- 
larged, and an up-to-date refrigeration system installed, also a sanitary 
dairy barn and a building to cure and care for meats was erected and 
equipped for their individual uses. 

The Home shelters and is educating at this time sixty-four boys and 
forty-eight girls whose ages I'ange from two years up to sixteen years, 
and the Old People's Building has under its sheltering roof forty-two aged 
and infirm brothers and thirty-four sisters, a total of 188 persons who 
are enjoying the privileges of one of the finest, if not the very finest 
Home of its kind in the United States. 

The grounds which comprise the properties consist of 257 acres of 
fine and fertile land, which is cultivated for the use and benefit of the resi- 
dents of the Home. The broad lawns in front of the buildings are nicely 
and tastefully aiTanged and tenaced. Fine shade and ornamental trees 
and shrubbei-y add much to the beauty and enjoyment of the happy and 
contented family that find in this Odd Fellows Home a real home in every- 
thing that makes such a place the dearest place on earth. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 167 

Liberty is connected with Kansas City, fifteen miles distant, by a 
well constructed, high-speed electric line, which boasts of having electric 
automatic block signals protecting you all the way. The cars are built 
of steel and run hourly in each direction, being about 99 per cent, on time. 
An "express service at freight rates" is maintained, giving this town two 
complete daily deliveries. 

Liberty is truly a good place in which to live. It is very attractive 
because of its natural beauty. She has much of the inspiring charm of 
mountains without their great height and inconvenience, and all the leveli- 
ness of the prairie without the monotony. Her lawns are covered with 
stately trees, the homes of songsters which fill the air with music. Her 
beautiful homes express the wealth and comfort of her people and the 
glad hand of welcome extended to visitors is an expression of her South- 
ern hospitality for which she has long been famous. Her churches are 
active and progressive. Added to her natural beauty, and the charm of 
her homes and churches, the schools are her greatest asset. The pres- 
ence of William Jewell College enables the boys, at least, to get the train- 
ing from the primaiy grades to a college degree and there is hope that a 
like provision will soon be made for the girls. The public and high 
schools are teaching not only the "Three R's" as in the olden days, but 
are teaching the boys and girls to use the five senses and the ten fingers 
in the kitchen and in the can^enter shop, and in music and art, and 
nature, and science. 

Liberty is nearer in actual minutes of travel to the business section 
of Kansas City than many residence sections of the city itself. She thus 
enjoys the advantages of the good things of the city without being com- 
pelled to endure the bad. Space will not permit mention of the many 
achievements of the Liberty Community Club which has been active in 
bringing about the paving of her streets, the establishing of an adequate 
water and light system, building of a hotel, entertaining of visitors, and 
finally helping materially in bringing about Clay County's greatest achieve- 
ment, the voting of one and one-fourth million dollars to build two hun- 
dred miles of paved roads connecting Liberty with every hamlet and vil- 
lage in the county. This club is open to all who are for the upbuilding 
of the community because they believe that the man who lives five miles 
from the public square and is engaged in the production of something to 
feed and clothe the people is just as much a part of Liberty as is the 
man who lives only five blocks. 



CHAPTER XI. 



FISmNG RIVER TOWNSHip. 



LOCATION— SOIL — FIRST SETTLEMENT— EARLY SETTLERS — MISSOURI CITY — EX- 
CELSIOR SPRINGS — WILLIAMS' LANDING— FLOOD OF 1844— ST. BERNARD- 
TRAGEDIES— LODGES— CHURCHES. 

Fishing River township comprises the entire southeastern part of 
Clay County and consists of more than seventy-five square miles. Its 
boundary line begins at the Ray and Clay line, at the northeast corner 
of section 1-52-30, iiins thence south to the Missouri River, thence west 
to the dividing line between sections 2 and 3-50-31, thence north to the 
northwest comer of section 14-52-31, thence east to the range line between 
ranges 30 and 31, thence north to the township line between townships 
52 and 53, thence east to the beginning. 

With the exception of the bottom lands along the Missouri River, 
the land is rolling. No richer land can be found in Missouri or elsewhere. 
In many locations these bottom lands are two or more miles in width. 
Only in times of great flood are they submerged by overflow from the 
river. The uplands are very fertile and like all other upland in Clay 
County, are of loess fonnation. For many years a large lake known as 
"Cooley's Lake" was a resort for sportsmen, not only to catch fish, but 
shoot ducks and wild geese. The lake has been drained and the greater 
part heretofore covered with water is now producing wheat and corn 
fields. 

In the first settlement of the county. Fishing River township was 
one of the first permanently settled townships of the county. Among 
these first settlers were David McElwee and family, Thomas Officer and 




I'lULK SCHOOL, KEARNEY, MO. 








VIEW FROM MISSOl'RI CITY, LOOKING TOWARDS THE KIVKIt 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 169 

family, James Woolard and family, Alexander Woolard and family, Elisha 
Camron and family, John Camron and family, William and Thomas 
Slaughter and families, Winfrey E. Price and family and Napoleon Price. 
John and David Lisles were bachelors. In the fall of 1821, the trouble 
with several Indians at David McElwee's house occurred, an account of 
which is elsewhere given. During this year three "Forts" or block houses 
were built; one on the farm of Elisha Camron, another was at Gilmoi'e's, 
on Rush creek, and another at old Martin Parmer's on the Camden road. 
These houses of "refuge" were never used for protection against the wily 
and murderous Indians. 

The principal towns or cities in Fishing River townships are Excelsior 
Springs and Missouri City. The oi'igin of the latter place was the estab- 
lishment at the mouth of Rose's branch, in 1834, at what was known as 
Williams' Landing, whei-e a ferry was kept by Williams. A stock of 
goods was brought to this place in 1849 by Eli Casey, who opened a store 
and had as clerks Linneus R. Sublette and Dr. Frank Cooley. Several 
buildings, residences and store houses were built and the place named 
Richfield. The high water of the river in 1844, on its receding, left a 
large sand-bar in front of Richfield, preventing the landing of steam- 
boats and operation of a ferry. A joint stock company composed of 
Graham L. Hughes. John Keller, John Shouse and others laid out a town 
just below but mainly on the bluffs overlooking the river, giving it the 
name of St. Bernard. Below St. Bernard another town was laid out and 
called Atchison. The first store established on the hill was by Robert 
G. Gilmer, father of the editor and publisher of the Liberty Tribune and 
The Liberty Advance. The three towns of St. Bernard, Richfield and 
Atchison were incorporated by the Legislature as one and given the name 
of Missouri City, March 14, 1859. 

Several tragedies have occurred in Missouri City. Wiley Hemdon, 
an old bachelor, who lived alone in his store, was murdered some time 
before the war between the states and although it was not known for a 
certainty, it was believed robbed of a considerable sum of money. It 
was never known who committed the dastardly deed. 

One G. S. Elgin, in November, 1866, killed two men by the name of 
Titus. After the killing Elgin fled to the house of a relative near Weston 
in Platte County, where he was overtaken by John C. Titus, Noah Titus 
and John Bivens, relatives of the murdered men, taken out and killed. 



170 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

All parties to the latter killing were indicted for murder in Platte County 
and as the jail in Platte County was deemed unsafe, they were brought 
to Liberty and incarcerated in the Clay County jail, from which place they 
escaped in 1867. 

Missouii City M. E. Church South was organized in 1854 with the 
following as original members : 0. P. Gash and wife, Joseph A. Huff aker, 
wife and one sister, JVIr. and Mrs. Crasford and Mr. Bratten and wife and 
some five or six others whose names can not now be recalled. Rev. M. R. 
Jones, who organized this church, was the first preacher in charge. Next 
came Reverend Rich, followed successively by Revs. L. M. Lewis, Mayhew, 
McEwing, W. A. Tanvater, Samuel Huffaker, ^^Mlson, Wilburn Rush, 
Joseph Devlin, E. F. Bone, Babcock, W. C. Campbell, F. Shores, L. F. Linn, 
W. B. Johnson, W. E. Dockery and last J. F. Frazer. The frame church 
building in which services are held, was constructed at a cost of about 
$2,000, in the summer of 18r)7. In 1882-83 it was remodeled at an addi- 
tional expense of about $1,500. The Sabbath school has been flourishing 
since 1867, at which time Joseph A. Huffaker was superintendent. 

Missouri City Christian Church, as its name indicates, is located at 
Missouri City, where on Main street there was built in about 1859, at an 
expense of some $2,500, a good brick ediiice, in which the present mem- 
bership of about 150 persons worship. As organized in about the year 
1856, the members were E. D. Bell and wife, T. C. Reed and wife, Nancy 
Reed and two daughters, Richard Funk and wife, B. F. Melon and wife, 
George W. Bell and wife, Merritt Fisher and wife and Milton Hull. Rev. 
Richard Morton, who was prominent in this formation, was the first pas- 
tor, and he was succeeded by Revs. F. R. Palmer, J. W. Waller, Preston 
Akers, Bayard Waller, Henry Davis, Jacob Hugley, Revs. Perkins and 
Carter and others. 

Angrona Lodge No. 193, A. F. & A. M. — The dispensation of this 
lodge was issued in March, 1858, under which it worked until May 28, 
1859, when a chai*ter was issued. The first members and officers were 
A. L. Chapman, master; Jno. W. Collins, senior warden; Newton Fields, 
junior warden; T. Everett, secretary; S. Elgin, treasurer; R. H. Moore, 
senior deacon; William Adams, iunior deacon; T. Y. Gill, stewart and 
tyler; J. M. Allcorn, John A. Prather, Joshua Vaughn, S. Charlston, J. 
Johnson, John Linn, J. M. Donovan, Victoi- W. Tooley, D. E. Yarbrough. 

Fishing River Baptist Church, situated at Prathersville, was organ- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 171 

ized in about 1868. Its constituent members were L. T. Pettz, P. G. 
Smith, N. H. King", Richard King, Thomas W. Wilson, Nancy Wilson, John 
McCracken and Martin Price. The present membership is about eighty- 
five. The ministers who have served as pastors to this church are Revs. 
John Harmon, William Ferguson, S. H. Carter, T. H. Graves, Doctor Roth- 
well, Asa N. Bird and S. J. Norton. The present frame structure was 
erected in 1874, at a cost of $700. 

Erin Chui'ch, in the southeast comer of the southwest quarter of 
section 24, in Fishing River township, was organized October 16, 1877, 
with Joseph Turner, James M. Hill, Simon Hutchings, Marion Harris, 
Nancy Hutchings, Sarah Thurney, Susan M. Harris, Nancy Lewis, Mary 
E. Wyatt and Sarah E. Summers as its original members. The names 
of the ministers who have served this church as pastors are Revs. Joseph 
Prather and Lafayette Munkers. The present frame church was erected 
in 1878 at a cost of $1,000. 

Pleasant Hill Baptist Church.— In 1857, T. N. O'Bryan with four 
members, Jefferson Turner and wife, Elizabeth Free and Jane Quick organ- 
ized the above named church. At first meetings were held in school- 
house No. 1, and, in fact, until 1883, when a church building was erected 
in section 23, four and a half miles southeast of Liberty, the cost of which 
was about $600. 

German M. E. Church, located on section 14, four miles southeast 
of Liberty, was constituted an organization in 1847, by Rev. Henry Hog- 
refe, with the following original members: William Unger and wife, 
George Elliott and wife, Peter Elliott, Jacob Weber and wife, Henry Free 
and wife, Rudolph Irniinger and wife, Samuel Weber and wife. In 1870, 
a church house, 22x32, was erected at an expenditure of $900. After Mr. 
Hogrefe, who was the first pastor, came the Revs. Elders Neidermeier, 
Rouse, William Shreck, Hblzbeierlein, Muehlenbrock, William Maye, Prege, 
Brunly, Brinkmeier, Steinmeier, Bower, Menger, Eichenberger, Koiphage, 
Buchholz, Koenig, and Rev. Kaltenbach. 

Mount Zion Baptist Church was organized in April, 1853, its con- 
stituent members being John G. Price, William B. Hoges, James T. 
Withers, William H. Price, James Munkers, Thomas Holdes, Daniel H. 
Sans, Thomas Y. Gill, George H. McNealy, Elizabeth L. McNealy, Louisiana 
Hogen, Sarah E. Withers. Amanda Mosby, Agnes Munkers, Susan G. 
Withers, Margaret S. Gaur, America Price, Julia Gill and Martha Withers. 



172 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Those who have served as pastors are Elders William H. Price, Henry 
Hill, William T. Brown and James Duvall. The present brick church build- 
ing was erected in 1853, at a cost of about $1,500. This was the first 
brick church built in the county outside of Liberty. It is located on the 
northeast comer of the southeast quarter of section 30, township 52, 
range 30. James P. Withers and William Pi-ice are the only male mem- 
bers living that were members at the constitution, and Amanda Mosby 
and Mrs. T. P. Withers were the only female members. 

Mount Pleasant Church was organized September 18, 1830. The 
original members were Joseph P. Moore, William B. Slaughter, Andrew 
B. Baldwin, Abram (a sei-vant of J. P. Moore), Jonah Moore. Elizabeth 
Slaughter, Jane Welton, Mary Stoi-z, Jane Posey. Mary Baldwin, Lucy (a 
servant of James P. Moore), and Catherine (a servant of William B. 
Slaughter). The present frame church was built in 1879, its cost being 
about $1,500. It is located on the southeast corner of the northwest 
quarter of section 15. 

Woodland Christian Church was organized in about 1870 or 1872. 
Some of the first members were James M. Bohart, Richai-d P. Funk, Solo- 
mon Welton, J. W. Bradley and A. J. Roberts. The names of the ministers 
who have served this churcli ai-e Elders Josiah Waller, Baird Waller, Wil- 
liam Stephens, John Perkins. J. Trader and Revs. Williamson and Akers. 
The church building is a frame and was erected in 1872, its cost being 
about $2,000. It is located on the east half of the northwest quarter of 
section 29, in township 52, range 30. Near this church is a cemetery. 

Zoar German M. E. Church was organized in 1845 by Rev. Heinrich 
Nuelsen. The original membei-s were Rudolph Irminger, Susanna Irm- 
inger, John Irminger, Heinrich Irminger, Elizabeth Irminger, Anna Irm- 
inger. Samuel Weber, Henry \\'eber, Jacob Weber, Maria \\'eber and Mar- 
garet Frey. The pastors that have served this church have been the 
same as those of Bethel German M. E. Church, both churches being under 
the same charge. The church building is a frame and was erected in 
1873 at a cost of $700. 



CHAPTER XII. 



EXCELSIOR SPRINGS. 



DISCOVERY OF SPRINGS— J. V. B. KLACK— FIR.ST HOUSE— RAPID GROWTH— VIL.- 
LAGE INCORPORATED- FIR6T OFFICERS— A FAMOUS RESORT— HOTELS- 
PARKS AND DRIVEWAY— MORE THAN TWENTY SPRINGS— MINERAL PROP- 
ERTIES OP WATER— REGENT SPRINGS— K J I-/JAM SPRINGS— BATHING — GOLF 
CLUB AND COURSE — AN UP-TO-DATE TOWN— PUBLIC UTILITIES AND PRIVATE 
ENTERRIHES— AMUSEMENTS AND RECREATIONS — PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

Accordinjf to an historical and descriptive booklet issued by the tfjwn 
company of Excelsior Springs, Excelsior Springs was discovered in June, 
1880, and was found by the merest accident to possess medicinal prop- 
erties. Harvesters engaged in cutting wheat where the city now stands 
found a stream of clear cold water issuing from the bank of Fi.shing River 
and remarked that there was a mineral taste to it. A negro standing 
by, who was badly afflicted with scrofula, heard the ensuing discussion 
on the healing qualities of mineral spnng.s and resolved to try the water 
of this one on himself. A few weeks' use of the water effected a com- 
plete cure, to the great astonishment of all who knew the circumstances 
of his case. 

It may be stated as an historical fact that long prior to 1880 the 
healing properties of the springs were known, but only to a limited num- 
ber of persons who lived in that immediate section and who occasionally 
made use of the water for the cure of minor skin eruptions or disease. 
It was only when the Rev. J. V. B. Flack, a wide-awake, enterprising mer- 
chant, living at Missouri City, who having heard reports of the efficacy 
of the water in healing, determined to have the water tested to ascertain 



174 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

its common parts and having secured a sufficient quantity thereof, sent 
it to St. Louis for an analysis. A report from the chemists showed that 
the water was impregnated with such minerals that science always at- 
tributed the greatest curative value. 

The owner of the land upon which was the chief or largest spring was 
A. W. Wyman. Mr. Flack induced Mr. Wyman to lay out a good part of 
his farm into town lots, which accordingly was done, under the super- 
vision of Mr. Flack. When this was accomplished, the springs were pub- 
licly advertised, whereupon people flocked in large numbers from all parts 
of the country to avail themselves of the health-giving qualities of the 
spi'ings. There being no hotel or boarding house accommodations, invalids 
were encamped in the surrounding groves and provisions made among the 
farmei's for their care and attention. There was not a house near the 
springs when T. Benton Rogers, the county sui-veyor, surveyed the town in 
the early part of September, 1880. Had it not been for the interest, 
activity and enten^rise of J. V. B. Flack in making known to the world 
the almost marvelous curative properties of Excelsior Springs, in all 
pi'obability its wonderful reputation for the healing of the people would 
be to this day "unhonored and unsung". 

As soon as the survey was completed, Jim Pearson, of Libert}', erected 
the first house on Broadway, a lot only intervening between his lot and 
the "old spring". This building, a small frame or box, he used principally 
as a restaurant. The second building was Flynn's grocery store. In the 
winter of 1880, Doctor Flack erected a store building and removed his 
stock of goods from Missouri City and occupied it. The first hotel was 
built by Mr. Riggs, on the west side of Broadway and Main in 1880. Near 
the "old spring" Wyman and Wert built the "Excelsior House", which 
for several years was a leading hotel and conducted by Mr. Wert. Doctor 
Flack preached the first sermon in the fall of 1880, in a grove near town. 
The first school was taught by Mrs. Robert Caldwell and Miss Susie Hyatt. 
During this year was the contest for Congi-ess between Hon. D. C. Allen 
and Col. John T. Crisp. Speeches were made by Colonel Crisp, Judge 
George W. Dunn and Doctor Flack. The post-office was established in 
March. 1881. and for about two years was officially known as Viginti. J. 
Brack Holton was the first postmaster. 

No town in Missouri ever grew more rapidly in any twelve months' 
time than Excelsior Springs. Unquestionably the tovm was on a boom in 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 175 

1881. Although no census was taken, the increase must have reached to 
2,000 inhabitants. The first church built was The Christian Union, of 
which Dr. J. V. B. Flack was pastor. The doors of this church were 
always ready to be opened for the accommodation of ministers of other 
denominations to hold religious services.- In the fall of 1884, the Bap- 
tists began the erection of their church building, which was completed 
the year following. 

Excelsior Springs was incorporated as a village at the February tenn 
of the county court 1881, the site comprising all of the northeast quarter 
of the southwest quarter of section 1, township 52, range 30-40 acres. 
The first ti'ustees were W. B. Smith, J. D. Graham, W. C. Corum and W. P. 
Garrett. The town was incorporated as a city of the fourth class, July 
12, 1881. Mayor, E. Smith; clerk, J. C. Dickey; aldemien, first ward, 
N. L. Rico and J. C. Dickey; aldermen, second ward, Philip G. Holt and 
L. W. Garrett; attorney, John H. Dunn; marshal, J. I). Halferty. These 
were the first officers of the city of Excelsior Springs. 

The following from a brochure issued by the enterprising Commercial 
Club of Excelsior Spiings is history worthy of record: For many years 
the friends of Excelsior Springs have claimed that nowhere'eise could 
be found so varied and valuable a group of mineral springs. This merited 
claim now has thirty-five years of good record behind it and Excelsior 
Springs has advanced to the foremost rank among our national resorts; 
its prosperous growth and the continued increase in the number of its 
visitors year by year is proof of the value of its waters. They have made 
the town; they guaiantee its future. The surroundings are inviting and 
fortunately its location is central both as to cliinate and population. These 
favoring conditions have lengthened the first short summer seasons — 
each month has brought its increasing number of patrons, until there is 
now only one long season and Excelsior Springs is distinctly an all-year- 
round resort. 

Because of the all-year-i-ound guests the town has naturally made 
more substantial provision for their comfort and pleasure than most 
places which are under the necessity of reaping a quick profit during a 
brief summer or winter season. One readily recalls many of these well 
known resorts so alike as to be uninteresting; but the people of Excelsior 
Springs have, indeed, built a real town, a real health and pleasure resort. 



176 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

It is interesting and different, and thousands of its visitors tell that it 
has the home appeal which attracts them again and again. 

The resident population of more than 5,000 comfortably fills the Y- 
shaped valley of Fishing River with its active, up-to-date business dis- 
trict, spring parks, hotels and residences, then spreads upward along the 
picturesque timbered hills and beyond — to the rolling upland with its 
commandmg views of the most chamiing landscape to be found in the 
great Middle West. 

The hotels, boarding and other houses have heretofore met the needs 
of visitors, and the recent demand for a higher type of accommodations 
has been met by the erection of the Elms and Snapp's and the rebuilding 
and enlargement of the Royal, representing an investment of ?800,000. 
A careful estimate shows that during the past four years more than 
$2,000,000.00 have been expended in improvements and public utilities 
that make for attractiveness and add to the comforts of residents and 
visitors. 

The attractive environment has been from the start protected by 
the residents. As an instance, they acquired a tract of land for park 
purposes extending over a mile through the town along both banks of 
the stream. This was placed in the hands of George E. Kessler, the well- 
known landscape architect, for development and the construction of the 
spring pavilions and Siloam Gardens. $100,000 has already been ex- 
pended on this civic beauty plan in addition to the sums already spent 
by the city for concrete arch bridges and paved drives which fomi a pai*t 
of the extensive park and driveway system. 

This park and driveway system now provides for the uninterrupted 
passage of pleasure traffic between the extreme eastem and western town 
limits without entering the business district — ^few cities can boast of a 
similar system with more pleasing points of view. Dunbar and Kimball 
avenues wind around the rim of the valley and by easy grades descend 
the face of the western hills ; the South Valley road, which in Siloam 
Park runs along the stream — an ideal shaded mile of luxuriant foliage — 
merges into Golf Hill Drive, ascends through a forest glen and around the 
brow of the eastem hills, a new vista at every turn, to the club house of 
the Excelsior Springs Golf Club. 

True artistic feeling is evident throughout the completed work, there 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 177 

is no hint of the artificial, the drives flow along lines that display the 
region's native beauty and leave the charm unspoiled. 

These drives will connect with the 202 miles of oiled macadam roads, 
for the construction of which Clay County voted a bond issue of 
$1,250,000.00 in June, 1916. These roads radiate in every direction 
from the Springs, and its residents and visitors will have for their use 
one of the most extensive and attractive drivew^ay systems to be found 
anywhere. 

The municipal developments are being sensibly worked out from 
carefully matured plans, and their scope has been greatly expanded by 
the friendly co-operation of various private interests. Much has been ac- 
complished in a few years and on every hand are evidences of a con- 
tinuance of the energy and well directed effort which has built a resort 
that for varied chai-m and true usefulness invites comparison with the 
famous watering places at home, or abroad. 

Many invalid patrons of foreign watering places who were compelled 
by the war to seek a counteipart of their favorite spring nearer home, 
have been surprised to find at Excelsior Springs a group of springs with 
a range of curative value not to be found in any European resort. 

This distinguished group of more than twenty springs includes four 
distinct types classified as follows : Iron-Manganese, Sulpho-Saline, Soda- 
Bicarbonate, Calcic-Bicarbonate. 

The Siloam and Regent are two of the six well-known iron-manganese 
springs, and the only ones used commercially in the United States. The 
four others of this type are at Pyrmont and Schwalbach, GeiTnany ; Spa, 
Belgium and Mont St. Moritz, Switzerland. 

The value of manganese, when associated with iron, lies in the fact 
that it renders the iron more digestible. Iron has been prescribed for 
more than a century for the pun^ose of increasing the red blood corpus- 
cles, but until its association with manganese, was unsatisfactory, because 
its continued use deranged digestion. The combination, however, in per- 
fect solution, as in the Siloam and Regent, is digestible in the most delicate 
stomach. 

Therefore, the iron-manganese waters are invaluable in the treatment 
of the many ailments arising from impoverished and impure blood. They 
also stimulate the action of the kidneys and aid in the elimination of uric 
acid, hence are effective in cases of rheumatism, either inflammatory, 



178 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

musculax* or sciatic, and the chronic kidney and bladder troubles, includ- 
ing Bright's disease, diabetes and cystitis. 

The discovery in 1888 of the Sulpho-Saline water at a depth of 1,460 
feet, marked a most distinct advance in the city's claim for distinction as 
a watering place, and others of similar properties have since been found. 

These waters relieve promptly ordinary attacks of indigestion, acid 
or gaseous conditions of the stomach; inflammatory and catarrhal condi- 
tions of the mucous tissue of the respiratory and digestive tracts; dys- 
pepsia, biliousness, constipation, jaundice and the ailments caused by a 
torpid liver. 

The Soda-Bicarbonate waters, of which there are several, are most 
useful in the treatment of derangements of digestion, dyspepsia, bilious- 
ness and intestinal troubles, and are largely prescribed by the local physi- 
cians. 

The Calcic-Bicarbonate waters are prescribed where a uric acid con- 
dition exists ; for rheumatism, kidney and bladder troubles, and especially 
in many ailments' where the physician recognizes that in the patient's 
condition the use of the more "positive" waters is contra-indicated. 

To get the combined alternative, eliminative and tonic blood building 
effects of these waters one would, elsewhere, be compelled to visit two 
or more resorts. For example, the Carlsbad patient, if too much weak- 
ened by the eliminative action of the water and baths, is frequently urged 
to go to one or another of distant iron springs and there take a "building- 
up" treatment. This means additional time and expense. Similar condi- 
tions obtain in the treatment of chronic ailments at other resorts. 

In confirmation of the above statements, the analyses of world famous 
European Springs of the Iron-Manganese type have been tabulated for 
ready comparison with one typical Excelsior Springs water. Only the 
valuable and active mineral constituents are given, but in no instance has 
either a valuable or an objectionable constituent been omitted. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



179 



IRON-MANGANESE 

ANALYSES OF REGENT SPRING 
AND FAMOUS EUROPEAN WATERS OF SIMILAR TYPE. 

Ixjcation 

Name of Spring 

Chemist 

Iron Bicarbonate _ 

Manganese Bicarb. 

Calcium Bicarb. __ 

Magnesium Bicarb. 

Sodium Bicarb. 



Excelsior 
Springs 
•Regent 
Spring 
t (Mason) 


Spa. 

Belgium 

Pouclion 

Spring 

(Struve) 


SchwalbachSt. Moritz Pyrmont 
IJermany Switzerland Germany 
Stahl- Alte- Haupt- 
Brunnen Quelle Quelle 
(Fresenius) (Huseman) (Fresen's) 


. 4.1934 


4.5675 


5.4454 


2.3915 


5.0036 


0.8445 


0.6498 


1.1957 


0.3768 


0.4573 


.34.2406 


13.1159 


14.5719 


90.7003 


68.7866 


. 5.5445 


16.2496 


14.1376 


14.9704 


5.3435 


. 0.5425 


9.5595 


1.3475 


19.9593 





Mineral constituents expressed in grains per U. S. Gallon. 
*Awarded medal and diploma World's Fair, Chicago, 1893. 

tW. P. Mason, Dean and Professor of Analytical Chemistry, Rensselaer Polytechnic 
Institute, Troy, N. Y. 

A comparison of the analyses of the several Sulpho-Sahne and Bicar- 
bonate-Soda waters of Excelsior Springs with those of the famous 
European waters of similar type is no less impressive. Among the latter 
may be mentioned — Vichy, France; Ems and Nauheim, Germany; Karls- 
bad and Marienbad, Austria, and many others. And still more convinc- 
ing is the testimony of scores of former patrons of foreign spas who 
have found relief in this home of many wonderful springs. 

The highest type of analytical chemists obtainable have been em- 
ployed by the city and individual owners of springs, and a protective sys- 
tem seldom found in other resorts is rigidly enforced. The municipal 
chemist tests the licensed springs every thirty days and submits a report 
to the city council. If a suspicious element appears the spring is at once 
closed. The license to sell or ship water from a spring is only granted 
when a satisfactory analysis of it is submitted by a chemist of known 
ability and this analysis must be posted in a conspicuous place in the 
spring pavilion for inspection by patrons. 

A complete analysis of Siloam (Iron-Manganese) spiing owned by the 
city is of especial interest from the fact that it was the first of the group 
discovered and further, because it has remained first in the estimation of 
the public. 



180 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

SILOAM SPRING. 
(Analysis by Dr. W. P. Mason.) 

Iron Bicarbonate 2.7688 

Manganese Bicarbonate 0.2524 

Calcium Bicarbonate 21.5233 

Magnesium Bicarbonate 2.4305 

Sodium Chloride 0.9949 

Magnesium Chloride 0.7540 

Potassium Sulphate 0.1929 

Calcium Sulphate 1.8028 

Alumina 0.3890 

Silica 1.6777 



32.2863 
Temperature of Spring 54.5° F. 

The importance of bathing as one of the most valuable of the many 
curative agents employed at the modem watering place has also been 
fully recognized. The invalid will find here that the mineral waters, 
especially those of the Sulpho-Saline type, whose external use are so 
beneficial in a wide range of ailments, are utilized in connection with a 
complete equipment of scientific appliances. The standard of treatment 
in the bath houses, large and small, is uniformly high; the treatments 
are given by trained attendants and many of the bath houses employ only 
gradute Swedish masseurs. 

The Elms and Snapp's hotels have spacious and luxurious bathing 
establishments with elevator service from all floors. Each have separate 
departments for men and women. Without exception all of the many 
other bathing establishments are conveniently located within the hotel, 
boarding and apartment house district. 

Invalids are advised to consult a resident physician as to the use of 
the water and baths suited to their individual requirements. Many of 
the waters contain medicinal properties that are definite in their action — 
not merely negative — and harmful results may follow their miscellaneous 
use. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 181 

Another pleasing temptation to live in the open is the famous 18 
hole course of the Excelsior Spring Golf Club. 

The Club House is 200 feet above the Springs and overlooks, for 
many miles in every direction, a strikingly beautiful landscape. This 
beautiful envii-onment is protected by a restricted area of 500 acres owned 
by the Club. 

The course — 6,450 yards in length, par 75, bogey 82 — covers 125 
acres of natural golfing land — diversified, rolling, wooded upland — which 
has been covered with a heavy carpet of native blue grass for over 30 
years. Well known as "The course with no artificial hazards", it calls 
for an interesting variety of true golf play. There are no holes that one 
recalls as dull, or as freakish; a good proportion stand favorable com- 
parison with noted holes on other links and 2, 11 and 13 have a fame of 
their own as "The finest natural holes in the country". 

Hosts of golfers now desert their home clubs, twice each year, to be 
out of doors in the ideal spring and autumn weather on Golf Hill. The 
Club is open the year round ; the perfect drainage and heavy tui-f per- 
mitting continuous play excepting during Januaiy and P^ebruary. 

The Club House, which started in a log house (built in 1835), has 
been added to a number of times to meet requirements, now shelters 
locker-rooms, showers, and the many comforts usual to country clubs. 
Luncheon is served. There is a professional who gives lessons, makes 
clubs, and supplies all needed golfing accessories. Visitors cards for the 
day, week or month can be obtained at the Club House, entitling one to 
the Club and course privileges. 

The many hotels, the scores of apartments and rooming houses, flats 
and furnished cottages, meet the strictest requirements of the very-rich 
as well as the very-modest in purse. 

The large hotels are architecturally pleasing and of fire-proof con- 
sti'uction. They are complete with every convenience and luxury to be 
had in the highest type of hotels in the greater cities, but they carry an 
added appeal to those who are seeking pleasure, rest and health. 

Some have an added attraction as evidenced by a notably beautiful 
park, a spacious sun-parlor, a breezy roof garden or a complete bathing 
establishment, and all have an unusual excess of living and lounging space 
in their lobbies, assembly and ball rooms and verandas. All have good 
orchestras, dancing and a variety of entertainments. 



182 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

The smaller hotels and the boarding houses as well, are noted for the 
uniform excellence of table and room service and moderate charges. The 
apartments and flats offer a wide range of choice. One can have a suite 
of handsomely furnished rooms, including bath, dining room and kitchen- 
ette, or light housekeeping in a modest furnished cottage — the range of 
choice is almost unlimited. 

It may be remarked here that the reasonable charges for all classes 
of accommodations, also prevail in all other lines of business. This con- 
dition will probably continue in marked contrast to the cost of living at 
other resorts, for there is here a steady flow of visitors all the year 
round. 

Siloam Spring, ever since its discovery which led to the founding of 
Excelsior Springs in 1881, has been the center around which the visitors 
and residents have assembled — it remains the "hub" of the city. The 
fine woodland surrounding it and extending to the southern line of hills, 
together with a wide frontage on Broadway, the combined area occupy- 
ing two-thirds of the entire valley, has been purchased for the main park 
entrance and the site of the park's most elaborate development. 

The entrance is approached east and west by the Broadway "White 
Way". The same effective scheme of illumination has been extended 
to other streets and this together with the brilliantly lighted spring 
pavilions, places of amusement and shop vdndows, give the town at night 
a bright, inviting appearance. The stores and shops in great variety, 
with their smart window displays and up-to-date stocks, are in them- 
selves an interesting feature. They satisfactorily meet the wide range 
of needs of a resort and home community. 

The school system ranks among the best in the state. There are 
two primary schools, and the new High School, built at a cost of 
$65,000.00, includes manual training, domestic science, business and 
teacher training among its courses. Its graduation certificates are ac- 
cepted by all western universities. There is a fine Carnegie Public 
Library. Nearly all leading denominations of churches are represented : 
Methodist, Presbyterian, Episcopal, Baptist, Catholic, Christian, Christian 
Union and Christian Science. 

The Home Telephone Company owns its own exchange building and 
operates the Bell long distance system. The leading hotels have tele- 
phone service in all sleeping rooms. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 183 

There are many garages and also auto repair shops. The only manu- 
facturing industries of a commercial nature are the necessary public 
utilities plants, the bottling works, the pure milk company, and the ice 
and cold storage plant. 

Broadway, as well as all the other streets in the business section of 
the town, is paved with asphalt. The alleys are paved with brick laid 
on a concrete foundation. The curbing and sidewalks are cement. A 
sanitary sewerage system serves every section of the city. The domestic 
water supply comes from deep wells, eight miles south of the town near 
the Missouri River and is pumped to the water tower and reservoir which 
feed the high and low levels. No city has a better supply of pure water. 

With water and sewer connections enforced, the surface drainage pro- 
vided for, and a monthly sanitary examination of the springs, the city 
has taken every practical and scientific precaution to prevent any possible 
contamination of its mineral waters and safeguard the health of its resi- 
dents and visitors. 

In the fullest meaning of the words, there are here all the comforts 
and conveniences of a prosperous sanitary city amid beautiful and rest- 
ful rural surroundings. 

Amusements indoor and out are plentiful, all one would expect to 
find at a national resort. The shaded roads and byways, leading in every 
direction through the picturesque surrounding country, offer every temp- 
tation for walking, horseback riding, driving and motoring. The high 
class saddle horses, for which the Springs is well knovra, come from this 
blue grass region of fine cattle and horses. 

The Annual Fox Hunt over a preserve of nearly 2,000 acres some six 
miles distant has a more than local reputation and brings hundreds of 
hunters each fall to the camping ground in a forest nearby the scene of 
the meet. 

There is bass and croppie fishing at Wales' lake a short distance away 
and also a beach for bathing. 

Tennis is of course popular and there are several good courts. 

A large three-story building, costing $80,000, is devoted entirely to 
in-door sports — on the first floor are ten bowling alleys — and there are 
many other places devoted to clean, healthful amusements. 

Band concerts are given in the Spring park, and there is dancing 
four evenings each week at one or the other of the hotels. 



184 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Excelsior Springs is 30 miles northeast of Kansas City, "The Heart 
of America", and no other resort can be reached so comfortably and 
quickly, from all parts of the United States. More than 10,000,000 people 
are within a night's ride. 

Public Schools of Excelsior Springs, 
By Prof. G. W. Diemer. 

In the spring of 1880, the first school in Excelsior Springs began the 
work of preparing the children for a more efficient life and better citizen- 
ship. It was a private school with three months' term, taught by Mrs. 
Robert Caldwell at her present home, the Caldwell House. This first 
school mistress of Excelsior Springs taught forty-odd pupils, coming 
mostly from tents on the hillside, in rooms fitted with the furniture dis- 
carded from a country school house. 

In the fall of the same year, the first district school was opened. A 
man started the term as teacher, but he imbibed too freely of something 
stronger than mineral water, and was promptly discharged by the school 
directors. 

In the spring of '81, Mrs. Caldwell taught a three months' term in 
the old Snyder building on Broadway. It has burned down since but it 
stood where De Hoff's paint shop is now. That fall the directors rented 
three down stairs rooms in a combination store-house and residence on 
Broadway. Tom Wills was principal and Mrs. Caldwell and Miss Nancy 
Garrett, now the wife of Rev. H. A. Hunt, were teachers. 

Mrs. Caldwell's last term of teaching was of eight months' in the 
fall of '83 and the spring of '84. She was principal and Miss Mattie 
Withers was the other teacher. The Baptist church had just been com- 
pleted and school was held in it with a calico curtain dx'awn across to 
make two rooms. 

Speaking of her experience in teaching, Mrs. Caldwell said, "None of 
the schools were graded, but we taught nearly everything except Latin. 
Classes began at eight o'clock, and, in the afternoon, they lasted until the 
work was finished which was often five o'clock. Among my old pupils 
were Jeff and Walter Craven, Sam Huey, Mrs. Callerman, the six Prather 
boys, Lee and Wes Brummitt, Charlie Coppinger and Reba Prather, now 
Mrs. Coppinger". 




PriBI>ir LIRUARV. KXCEIJOlt SI'HIXCiS. M(\ 




hi(;h school uriLnixo. kxcklsior sprixcs, mo. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 185 

About that time, D. W. Henrie, then clerk of the Excelsior House, 
and, according to Mrs. Caldwell, "the best school director she ever saw", 
began working to interest people in a library for the schools. Mrs. Cald- 
well says she can remember yet how he looked bringing in a bushel bas- 
ket of books that had been donated, and distributing them for the pupils 
to use". 

In December, 1885, the Wyman school was completed. It has four 
rooms and was built on land donated by the Excelsior Springs Company, 
which owned most of the land in Excelsior Springs at that time. It 
took its name from Anson Wyman, the founder of the town — a brother 
of Jake Wyman. The first school in the building began in January, 1886, 
with Dr. J. J. Gaines as principal. 

Doctor Gaines says of the school and the town at the time: "No 
railroad ran through the town and everyone had to come in wagons from 
Liberty. There were no water or lighting systems and we used kero- 
sene lamps. I lived in the Cliff House where Frank Benson now lives, 
and looking down on the town on winter nights I could count all the 
lights on the fingers of one hand. There was not a graded school in the 
county. In the common school course wo taught some subjects more 
advanced than those now taught in the grammar schools. The pupils 
studied what they wanted and when they wanted to. While I was prin- 
cipal, the first class was graduated from the public schools. The mem- 
bers of the class were W. D. Flack, Fred Dice, Mel Weston and Mrs. Mollis 
McGlothlin, later Mrs. J. H. Samples, but now dead". 

Prof. H. H. King was principal from 1888 to 1890. Under him the 
course of study was enlarged and for the first time was uniform with 
that of the rest of the county. 

In 1890 the Isley school was built on ground donated by Jeiry Isley. 
Under Professor Iliggs, from 1890 to 1892, the High School was estab- 
lished. A full four years' course of study was not then offered, but one 
of the subjects offered was bookkeeping. The High School was brought 
up to the accredited standard under Prof. J. F. Kennedy, 1892-1900. 
Leslie Bates was superintendent the year following Professor Kennedy. 

While B. F. Brown was superintendent, from 1901-1904, athletics 
were introduced in the schools. The High School commenced playing 
baseball and football with Liberty but. sad to say until recent years, was 
always defeated. In 1902 the Isley school burned. An effort was made 



186 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

to rebuild where the Crystal Lithia Spring now stands instead of on the 
old site. The proposition was submitted to the people and was defeated 
by seventeen votes. The school was rebuilt on the east hill in 1903, and 
an addition has since been added to it. Prof. A. C. Farley was superin- 
tendent from 1904 to 1908, and Miss Eva Packard from 1908 to 1910. 

The development of the school has been especially great and rapid 
since 1910. Prof. G. W. Beswick was superintendent at that time and 
held the position for four years. During that period football and base- 
ball were dropped and basketball and track work were substituted. At 
the beginning of Mr. Beswick's term, the schools were in a veiy crowded 
condition. The High School was jammed in with the grades in the Wy- 
man school building. It had three rooms and an inadequate library, up- 
stairs, with a laboratory so poorly lighted that work in it was difficult, 
downstairs. One set of pupils had to study in a room while another re- 
cited which made the study difficult and the work poor. The faculty 
consisted of but four members, and graduates on going to college found 
themselves handicapped by their poor high school training. 

In 1912, the present High School building was completed ; manual 
training and domestic science were added to the High School cumculum. 
In 1913 the new heating plant was built with the manual training room 
over it. The manual training and domestic science courses were thrown 
open to the seventh and eighth grades. Mechanical drawing was put in 
the old manual training room on the first floor of the High School build- 
ing. A music supervisor was employed and credits were given in music 
just as in the other subjects. 

In 1914 the present superintendent, G. W. Deimer, was employed. 
During the seven years of his administration the growth and improve- 
m.ent of the schools has been continuous. During 1915 the capacity of 
the High School building was doubled by the addition of the south half 
of the building. This addition not only pi-ovided needed rooms to take 
care of the growth of the High School but contained a large and splen- 
didly equipped auditorium. 

During 1915-1916 the Junior HSgh School was organized, the first 
school of its kind to be thus organized in the state of Missouri. This 
school has proved a great success and has been the means of stimulating 
greatly the interest in grades seven and eight. So great has been the 
increased interest in these grades, that the enrollment in grades seven 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 187 

and eight of the schools is practically equal to the enrollment in grades 
one and two. 

During 1915-1916, the Commercial and Teacher Training courses 
were added. Scores of graduates from the Commercial Department are 
holding responsible positions in the business world, while some of the 
best teachers in Clay and Ray Counties received their professional train- 
ing in the Teacher Training Department of the E.xcelsior Springs High 
School. 

The war stopped temporarily the development of the schools. The 
year following the close of the war, the schools again began to move 
forward. Vocational Agriculture and Vocational Home Economics were 
added to the Senior High School course of study and special teachers were 
employed to take care of these courses. A full time Librarian and Studyi 
Hall teacher was employed, and the Excelsior Springs High School now 
has one of the best libraries to be found in any high school in the state. 

The Excelsior Springs High School has been repeatedly rated by 
the State Depai-tment of Education as one of best high schools in the 
state. The school is a member of the North Central Association of 
Secondary Schools and Colleges, the highest official rating that any high 
school can have. 

In various school activities the schools, also, have an enviable record. 
In 1918-1919 the high school basket ball team won the northwest Mis- 
souri and all state championships. In 1919-1920, the debating team, also, 
won the northwest Missouri and state titles. During this same year the 
school won the point trophy in the literary contests at William -Jewell 
College. 

The People of Excelsior Springs believe in education and have seen 
to it that progressive and able citizens are placed on the Board of Edu- 
cation. With men of unquestioned integrity in charge, the people of 
the community have given liberal financial support to the schools. As a 
result of this liberal financial policy, the schools are among the best 
equipped in the state. The Board has been able to pay attractive salaries 
in order to secure and hold competent teachers. 

The personnel of the Board and teaching staff at the present time is 
as follows: H. L. Moore, president; H. C. Tindall, vice-president; Dr. D. 
T. Polk, treasurer; M. L. Mahaffie, Dr. W. B. Greason, Dr. M. L. Rowe, J. 
Q. Craven, clerk; Katharine Robertson, office clerk; G. W. Diemer, super- 



188 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

intendent; Mary Hurt Shafer, Charles F. Schnabel, Benjamin H. Overman, 
C. H. Threlkeld, pi'incipal ; V. L. Pickens, Martha Chandler, Ruth Farwell, 
Ola Wickham, Lucy W. Clouser, Hazel E. Pfeiffer, Blanche Waters, Gladys 
E. Strong, Evelyn Duncan, Mercedes Vernaz, Elizabeth Ryle, M. Oclo 
Miller, Mary Lee Coffman, Vertie Hulett, J. W. Richardson, Stella Wells, 
Sally Mclver, Minnie Smart, Helen Dickey, May Smith, Anna Morgan, 
Mattie Clevenger, Arta Boterman, Winifred Mabry, Helen Ley, Carrie E. 
Wear, H. W. Burton. 



CHAPTER XIII. 



GALLATIN TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION — DRAINAGE — ONE OF THE ORIGINAL, TOWNSHIPS — SETTLED IN 1822 — 
VILLAGES — BARRY, FIRST AN INDIAN TRADING POST— HARLEM— MOSCOW- 
RANDOLPH— NORTH KANSAS CITY— EARLY CHURCHES. 

Gallatin township comprises the southwestern portion of Clay County 
and is bounded on the east by Liberty township and the Missouri River, 
on the south by the river, on the west by Platte County, and on the north 
by Platte township. It contains some e.\cellent lands and fine farms, 
but there is also a great deal of rough and unproductive tracts in the 
township. Big Shoal creek and its branches drain the greater portion 
of the township. 

Gallatin was one of the original townships of Clay County, compiis- 
ing in 1822 the western half of the county. Settlements were made along 
Big Shoal in 1822. David Manchester's mill was a noted point in 1825. 
It is alleged that a few French families lived on Randolph Bluffs in 1800. 
In the neighborhood of Barry settlements were made about 1830, and 
there was a postofRce at Barry in 1836, with P. Flemming as postmaster. 

Gallatin township boasts of the entei-prising and public spirit of its 
citizens and is noted for its fine horses, cattle and live stock generally. 

The villages of Gallatin township are numerous, viz: Barry, Linden 
and Gashland, Harlem, Moscow, Arnold (or Blue Eagle), and Minaville, 
or North Missouri Junction, Birmingham and the city of North Kansas 
City. 

Barry was established first as an Indian trading post about the year 
1830, before the Platte Purchase, when what is now Platte County be- 



190 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

longed to the red men. Its location immediately on the boundary line 
(west half of center section 10 and east half of center of section 11, town- 
ship 51, range 33) puts half the town in Clay and half in Platte. It has 
a population of about 200, contains two churches, Cumberland Presby- 
terian and Christian, a good school, stores, shops, etc. It is ten miles 
west of Liberty and about the same distance north of Kansas City. 

Harlem lies in the extreme southwestern part of the township, on 
the north bank of the Missouri, immediately across the river from Kansas 
City. It dates its origin from the completion of the railroad through it 
to Kansas City. Prior to 1880 the location was subject to complete over- 
flow by every "June rise" in the Missouri, but in that year the United 
States government built a strong levee to the northwest and large addi- 
tional appropriations have since been made from time to time to 
strengthen this work so as to prevent future serious overflow. The great 
flood of 1881, however, nearly drowned out the village. The following 
lines of railroad pass through Harlem: The Hannibal and St. Joseph, 
the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific, the Kansas City, St. Joseph and Coun- 
cil Bluffs and the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific — the latter rumiing 
over the track of the H. & St. Jo. 

Moscow is located on the noi-theast quaiter of section 7, township 50, 
range 32, eleven miles southwest of Liberty and five and one-half miles 
from Kansas City. The nearest station is Arnold's, two and a half miles 
away. 

Randolph, on the Hannibal and St. Joseph (sec. Y4. of 9-50-32), seven 
From its earliest history it has been quite a shipping point. It is re- 
miles northeast cf Kansas City, was founded upon the completion of the 
railroad by M. S. Arnold, Esq., for whom the place was first named. 

Minaville, or North Missouri Junction, is located on the northeast 
quarter of section 11, township 50, range 32, eight miles from Kansas 
City and six miles from Liberty. It is the point where the Hannibal and 
St. Joseph and the Wabash Railroad tracks formerly connected, and dates 
its existence from about 1868. 

North Kansas City, which is located in the southwestern corner of 
the township, just across the river from Kansas City, has within the last 
few years become one of the important industrial communities of the 
county. A number of industries are located here and all branches of 
business are well represented. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 191 

Barry Cumberland Presbyterian Church. — At Barry, on the county 
line, between Clay and Platte Counties, was organized June 3, 1826, by 
R. D. Morrow, with 27 members, among whom were Henry J. Weeden, 
Jonathan English, Jeremiah Burns, Benjamin Craig, Herman Davis, 
Easter (or Esther) Davis, John English, Jane Bums, Polly English, David 
P. Gill, William Hulott, Thomas Adams, Matilda Simrall and Hugh Brown. 
Some of the pastors who have served this church are Revs. Robert D. 
Morrow, 0. D. Allen, A. D. Miller, W. Schenck, W. 0. H. Pen-y and J. H. 
Norman. 

Barry Christian Church. — In the winter of 1840 a frame house of 
worship was built at Barry for a congregation which had been formed 
as a church organization on the 26th of April of that year. Among the 
original members were Thomas Chisis, Annie Chisis, William Beal, John 
Callerman, Bass Callerman, Archibald Woods, Jane Woods, Adam Woods, 
Mary Woods, James and Catherine Cerrj', Ann Ham, and Catherine Endi- 



cott. Some of those who have filled the pulpit of the church are John 
Callennan, Bayard Waller, Josiah Waller, G. R. Hand, Preston Aker, A. 
E. Higgason, J. A. Lord, S. G. Clay, W. S. Ramey, William C. Rodgers, 
and others whose names are not now recalled. In 1859 a second church 
edifice was erected ; it was also a frame one. 

Ebenezer Christian Church at Minaville was organized in 1865, with 
John Foster, Thomas and Betsey Stevens, John Tipton, Lucinda Tipton, 
John J. and Mary Brost, Elizabeth Lindenman, Thomas and Dinah Gib- 
bons, John F. and Susan Foster, Eleanor Foster, and James and Lucinda 
Stevens as constituent members. The pastors in charge have been Rich- 
ard Morton, Bro. Pickerall, Joseph Wollery and Bayard Waller. 

Big Shoal 0. S. Baptist Church, located eight miles southwest from 
Liberty, was organized May 21, 1823, by Rev. William Thorp. This 
church building is of brick, erected in 1851 at a cost of $2,200. 

Bethel Baptist Church, located on the Bariy road, five miles west 
of Liberty, was organized in Pleasant Valley school house, in 1872, by 
Elder James Rouse. Their present house of worship, a frame building, 
was erected in 1883, at a cost of $1,500. 

Antioch Christian Church, located five miles northeast of Kansas 
City, was organized in 1854. This church building is frame, erected in 
1858 at a cost of $1,800. Rev. Fred V. Loos is the present pastor. 

Faurbion Chapel M. E. Church South, located eight miles southwest 



192 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of Liberty, was organized in 1837. Their present house of worship, a 
frame structure, was erected in 1870, at a cost of $2,150. 

Rising Sun Lodge No. 13, A. F. & A. M.— May 6, 1852, this lodge 
was organized. Of the first officers and members there were but two 
names furnished, William Conway, master, and James W. Smith, senior 
warden. 




PUBLIC SCHOOL, S.\l LI'1 1 VI Ll.E. MO, 







.^.. .- ~».g-jf^^. 



BRIDGK ACIU)SS S,\iri'irs POIiK, XKATt SMITHVILLL 



CHAPTER XIV 



PLATTE TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION AND BOUNDARIES — PHYSICAL FEATURES — GOOD FARMS— EARLY SET- 
TLERS — "TANKKE" SMITH— OTHER SETTLERS- TOWNSHIP CREATED FROM 
GALLATIN IN 1827— ORIGINAL BOUNDARIES— FIRST OFFICERS AND ELEC- 
TIONS—ELM GROVE, FIRST POST OFFICE— CIVIL WAR TRAGEDIES — PIONEER 
CHURCHES— SMITHVILLE—GOSNEYVILLB. 

Platte township comprises the northwestern portion of Clay, its 
present boundaries being as follows: Beginning at the northwestern 
corner of the county, thence south along the county line between Clay and 
Platte to the southwest corner of section 22, in township 52, range 33, 
thence due east to the southeast corner of section 21, township 52, range 
32, thence north to the southeast corner of section 33, township 53, range 
32, thence east to the half section line north and south through section 
35, township 53, range 32, thence due noi'th to the county line between 
Clay and Clinton, thence west along the county line to the initial point. 

The greater portion of the township is well timbered and watered, 
and the principal farms have been hewed and dug out of the timber. 
Generally the face of the country is broken and the land rolling and 
elevated. The numerous branches of the Platte — Smith's fork. Camp 
branch, Owen's branch. Second creek, Wilkinson's creek — afford plenty of 
water and render the country hilly in their vicinity. The eastern part 
of the northern portion of the country was originally — at least many 
sections — prairie. 

Some of the best farms in the county are in Platte township. Con- 
siderable labor was expended in making them and those who performed 



194 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

this labor in most instances did not live to enjoy the full fruits thereof. 
It has been left for their successors to realize the good fortune. Many 
large farms and wealthy — albeit the latter are plain and simple in their 
lives — are to be found in Platte township. 

/ Among the first bona fide settlers in Platte township was Humphrey 
Smith, the old "Yankee", mentioned elsewhere. His mill, at what after- 
wards became Smithville, was the nucleus or head of subsequent settle- 
ments. Smith came in the summer of 1822. His son, Calvin, said his 
nearest neighbors were eight miles off, and were Ezekiel HuflFman, Tarl- 
ton Whitlock, David Magill, Abraham Creek and James Wills. 

Prior to 1824 there were in what is now Platte township, Rice B. 
Davenport, five miles east of Smithville; Capt. James Duncan, at Elm 
Grove, one mile south of Davenport; Capt. William Duncan, thi-ee miles 
south of Smithville, and in the fall of 1824 came Eleven Thatcher, to his 
claim, two miles south, or about one mile north of Duncan. One account 
given fixes the date of the settlements of the Duncans as in the spring 
of 1824. In the eastern part of the township (west half of section 14- 
53-32) a squatter named Castle White lived in 1826. The dates and loca- 
tions of other settlers in the township, prior to the ci'eation of the town- 
ship in 1827, can not now be obtained, but it is known that thei-e were 
at least thirty families in what is now the township before 1828. 

Upon the organization of the county what is now Platte township 
was included in Gallatin. But in time it became necessary to have a 
third township, this portion being then thickly settled and needing 
separate organization. Accordingly at the special term of the county 
court, in June, 1827, Platte township was created with the following 
boundaries : 

Beginning on the boundary line of the state where the sectional line 
dividing sections 22 and 27 strikes said boundary line, in range 33, from 
thence due east along said sectional line dividing 22 and 27, to the sec- 
tional line dividing sections 21 and 22, in range 32, and from thence due 
north along said sectional line between 21 and 22 in range 32, to the 
towship line dividing 52 and 53, and from thence due east to the western 
boundary line of Fishing River township, in section 36, township 53, and 
from thence due north to the northern boundary line of the county. 

The first justices of the peace of the township were William Duncan 
and James Duncan. The first constable was Jesse Yocum. Elections 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 195 

were held at James Duncan's and the judges were James Winn, William 
Yocum and John Loyd. 

The first post-office in the townsliip was at Elm Grove, the residence 
of Capt. James Duncan, six miles southeast of Smithville. It was estab- 
lished some time prior to 1835. This was the first post-office in this 
region of country, and was resorted to for years by the settlers in the 
Platte Purchase and by many others. 

During the Civil War a number of the citizens of Platte township 
were killed at or near their homes. The bushwhackers killed Bishop 
Bailey and Columbus Whitlock, and the Clay County mihtia killed Thomas 
D. Ashurst while on the way with him to Liberty, as narrated else- 
where. 

Jdin Ecton, Jr., had been in the Southern army, but had returned 
and was living quietly at home. A Federal detachment took him from 
his work of breaking hemp, carried him away and killed him. 

In the first week of June, 1863, a squad of Federal state militia took 
prisoner Rev. A. H. F. Payne, a prominent member of the Christian 
church, residing in the southern part of Clinton County, but well known 
and universally respected in Clay. They carried the prisoner with them 
on a raid through this township and halted one night at Smithville, where 
Mr. Payne passed his last night on earth at the residence of Col. Lewis 
Wood. The next day he was taken out, near his residence, and shot to 
death. 

Near the time when Reverend Payne was killed, Capt. John Reid was 
shot by a detachment of Federals at a point about three miles northeast 
of Smithville. Captain Reid was a prisoner and was mounted on a fine 
swift horse. He sought to escape by the superior speed of his horse and 
dashed away, but the Federal bullets were swifter than the horse and he 
was shot out of his saddle. Many a prisoner was shot during the war in 
an alleged attempt to escape, but it is said by good Southern friends of 
the captain that he really was attempting to obtain his freedom when he 
was killed. 

First Baptist Church of Platte. — This is probably the oldest church 
located in the limits of Clay County, and certainly the first one of Platte 
township, having been organized at Duncan's school house, on Saturday, 
June 23, 1827. It is located on the northeast quarter of section 36, in 
towTiship 53 north, range 38 west. Here the church building, originally 



196 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

constructed of logs, stood, but in 1876 a frame building was erected, cost- 
ing $1,000. The first members were William Vance, Barbara Vance, 
Richard Jesse, Frances Jesse, Juliet C. Jesse, John Thatcher, Woodford F. 
Jesse, William Corum, Bersheba Corum, Abijah Brooks, John Lloyd, Nancy 
Lloyd, Eleanor Corum and Polly Nance. Abijah Brooks was the first 
church clerk, being succeeded by Woodford Jesse. Revs. D. W. Riley, 
WiUiam Thoi-p, Eppa Tillery, Thomas Turner, Darius Bainbridge, William 
Warren, T. W. Todd and John E. Goodson have been the pastors in charge. 
Mount Olive Christian Church. — This church is located on the north- 
west quarter and southwest quarter of section 8, township 52, range 32, 
where stands an excellent frame building, erected in 1875, and costing 
about $2,000. In connection with it is a handsomely laid out cemetery. 
Twenty-six persons comprised the original membership, as follows: Louis 
Grimes and Jacob R. Wilson, who were made elders ; Samuel Hunt, William 
Christa, B. T. Gordon, G. C. Clardy, chosen as deacons; Bennett Smith, 
who was made clerk; Ellen Christa, Ruth Grimes, Mattie Wilson, Isaac P. 
Wilson, Isabella Wilson, Joel E. Grimes, Sallie Grimes, Sallie Hunt, Ellen 
Hunt, Nancy E. Smith, Sarah M. Crow, Mattie H. Crow, Lavena Black- 
stone, Elizabeth Dickerson, Giles C. Clark, Mattie Adams, Jeff T. Thomp- 
son, Lizzie Grimes, Ruth B. Grimes. The pastors who have filled the 
pulpit here are W. C. Rogers, Bayard Waller, A. B. Jones, H. B. Clay, 
S. R. Hand, Rev. Mr. Watson and Rev. Fred V. Loos, present pastor. 

Smithville. 

The town of Smithville stands on section 23, township 53, range 33, 
or one mile from the Platte county line and about five miles from Clinton 
County. It is a thriving town and all branches of business are repre- 
sented. 

The first settler on the present site of Smithville was Humphrey 
Smith, who came in the spring of 1822, and two years later, or in 1824, 
built a mill on the fork of Platte River. He was bom in New Jersey in 
1774, lived in Pennsylvania from 1784 to 1800, in Erie County, New York, 
from 1800 to 1816. and then removed to Howard County, Missouri, where 
he resided three years and a half; then he removed to what is now Car- 
roll County — then Chariton — where he remained until 1822, when he 
came to Clay. He was universally known as "Yankee" Smith. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 197 

With something of Yankee enterprise and shrewdness Smith located 
where he did and built his mill in order to catch the patronage of the 
government Indian agencies in the Platte country, and also the custom 
of the settlers who, he rightly conjectured, would push out in considerable 
numbers to the extreme frontier. The mill at first was but a "corn- 
cracker", but in a few years, when wheat was first raised in the country, 
Smith added a bolting apparatus, and it is said that this was the first 
flouring mill in Clay County. It stood near the site of Smith's dwelling 
house, a log cabin, which was built on the south side of Main street where 
the Liberty road turns south, and east of the road. The mill was operated 
by Smith and his sons for thirty consecutive years and then purchased 
by Col. Lewis Wood. It was washed away by a flood in 1853. 

"Yankee" Smith was all his life an avowed Abolitionist. He de- 
claimed against what he considered the sin of human slavery at all times 
and under all circumstances. For his principles he was mobbed in Howard 
County and driven away. His family fled to what is now Carroll, and he 
joined them as soon as it was safe to do so. But no sort of persecution, 
blows, mobbings, threats, denunciation, or raillery moved him or deterred 
him from speaking his mind. Frequently some bully would approach him 
and call out: "Smith, are you an Abolitionist?" "I am", was always 
the reply. The next instant he would be knocked down, but he would rise 
and calmly say, "0, that's no argument. You are stronger than I, but 
that don't prove you are right". Finally his soft answers turned away 
the wrath of those opposed to him. and he was allowed to hold and ex- 
press his opinions in peace. 

Smith always declared that slaverj' would be abolished in the United 
States, but he did not live until his eyes had seen "the glory". In June, 
1857, he died of small-pox. It has always been supposed that he caught 
the disease from an infected Abolition paper, called the Herald of Freedom, 
published at Lawrence, Kansas, and to which his son, Calvin, was a sub- 
scriber. The postmaster, James Brasfield, who handed Smith the paper, 
took varioloid, and Smith himself had small-pox in a violent and fatal 
form. At first his disease was not known, and persons who called to see 
him were infected and spread the contagion through the neighborhood. 
Many died therefrom and the incident was one long and sadly remem- 
bered. 

Humphrey Smith had a store at his mill before 1828 and soon after 



198 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

a little village sprang up. Calvin Smith, a son of Humphrey, managed 
the store at first. Next to him were Henry Owens and John Lerty, both 
of whom were small merchants here before 1840. James Walker was 
another early merchant. Dr. Alex. M. Robinson, afterward a prominent 
Democratic politician of Platte, Dr. J. B. Snaile and Dr. S. S. Ligon were 
the first physicians in the community. 

Old settlers assert that as early as 1845, Smithville was a place of 
much importance. The failure of the Parkville Railroad delayed the de- 
velopment of the place and entailed considerable loss on many of the 
citizens who were subscribers to the stock, but now the Q. 0. & K. C. R. R. 
passes through Smithville. 

Smithville has been several times incorporated. The first incorpora- 
tion was by the county court, August 7, 1867; this was amended April 
8, 1868, but the trustees appointed never qualified, and July 6, following, 
the county court apiwinted Erastus Smith. Jacob Kraus, Otis Guernsey, 
Theodoric Fitzgerald and Matthew McGregory in their stead. February 
4, 1878, there was another incorpoi'ation, the territoiy incorporated being 
described as "all that portion of the southwest quarter of section 23, to\vn- 
ship 53, range 33, lying south of Smith's fork of Platte River". October 
8, following, there was a reincoi-poration as "a town", with J. D. DeBerry, 
J. C. Brasfield, William Clardy, W. H. Rhoads and John Swaiiz as trustees. 
The town is now ininning under this incoi-poration. 

Church of Christ at Smithville. — There are but few facts mentioned 
in connection with the history of this church which have been presented 
and some of the most imjwrtant items of interest can not now be given. 
The organization of the church was effected October 13, 1843. The mem- 
bership in that early day was composed only of Alexander B. Duncan, 
Preston Akers, Henry Owens, L. J. Wood, Christopher C. Bailey, James 
G. Williams, Sr., Jonathan Owens, James H. Thon), John Grimes, James 
Krauss, Margaret Krauss, Helen M. Duncan. Rachel C. Buchanan, Lucinda 
G. Grimes, Eleanor Breckenridge, Elizabeth Ecton, Juda Strode, Missouri 
A. Owens and Joseph Shafer. Some of the pastors have been Moses E. 
Lard, Preston Aker, A. H. F. Payne, William H. Robison, G. B. Waller, 
John W. Tate, and Fred V. Loos, the present pastor. In 1848, at a cost 
of $1,000, a plain, unostentatious brick church edifice was built. In 1883 
a new building was erected at an expenditure of $4,500. This is one of 
the handsomest brick churches in the countv. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 199 

Smithville Baptist Church. — J. D. DeBerry and wife, Mary A. De- 
Berry, J. B. Colley and wife, S. P. Herndon, Eliza and Emeline Henidon, 
Mary J. Parker and Clarissa H. Basley were the constituent members of 
this church, which was organized in the spring of 1873. Rev. Mr. Liv- 
ingston was instrumental in its formation. The first pastor was L. D. 
Lampkin and he was succeeded by R. H. Jones, W. W. Wilkerson and A. 
Barton, after whom again came Mr. Jones. In 1882 the frame church 
building in which they now worship was constructed at a cost of about 
$1,700. 

Vigilant Lodge No. 289, 1. 0. 0. F., at Smithville, was organized 
November 28, 1872. The original members were John H. Marr, S. S. 
Johnson, F. 0. Estes, G. H. Hays and John Swartz. A. B. Crawford, L. 
J. Wood, Erastus Smith and Samuel Venrick were initiated the first night. 

Gosneyville. 

Gosneyville, a small hamlet in the northern part of Platte township 
(on the southeast quarter of section 5, township 53, range 32), has half 
a dozen houses, two churches, stores, etc. It was never regularly laid 
out, and has no official history. Many years ago John Gosney established 
a blacksmith shop here and for him the village was named. The post 
office is called Paradise. 

Gk)sneyville M. E. Church South. — This church was organized at the 
old Corum school house, near Smithville, in 1843, by Rev. E. M. Marvin 
and Rev. Amos Tutt, and was the first M. E. church organized in Platte 
township. The original members were: George W. Douglas, Jane Doug- 
las, Mahala McGee, James 0. McGee, Julia McGee, Thomas McGee, Samuel 
J. McGee, Jane McGee, Polly Huise, Mary Hulse, Moses McCall, Abner 
Loyd, William Slay ton and John K. Rollins. The first pastor was Rev. 
Amos Tutt. 

Gosneyville Christian Church was instituted July 18, 1868, by Rev. 
Preston Aker and Josiah Waller. The constituent members were John 
Gosney, Thomas D. Parks, F. M. Graham, A. J. Lawrence, Samuel Moore, 
N. W. Litton, Bird Benton, William H. Shannon, Rufus Patcher, Peter L. 
Holtzclaw, Henry Anderson, W. M. Endicott, Archibald Holtzclaw, Frank- 
lin Holtzclaw, Amos Anderson, James L. Vaughn, John Anderson, Francis 
McCracken, John W. Youtsey, Peter Youtsey, James C. Youtsey, David 



200 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Summers, A. E. Mackabell, George E. T. Parker, Alex. C. Scott, Jasper 
Perrin, John Bernard, Robert A. Hamilton, Peter C. Callaway, Henry 
Snow, T. K. Ross, Samuel Fleming and William Grooms. The church now 
has about sixty-five members. In 1870, a plain frame edifice was built, 
costing $1,500. Revs. Thomas Williamson, Bayard Waller, A. J. Pickrell, 

Benjamin Hyder, Blake and R. C. Watson have all ministered to 

this church as pastors 



CHAPTER XV 



KEARNEY TOWNSfflP. 



ORGANIZATION— BOUNDARIES — FIRST JUSTICE OF THE PEACE— TOPOGRAPHY- 
SETTLEMENTS— WILD ANIMALS— CIVIL WAR TRAGEDIES— CHURCHES— THE 
TOWN OF KEARNEY — HOLT. 

Kearney township was organized June 4, 1872, with the following 
boundaries: Beginning on the Hne between Clinton and Clay Counties, 
at the northeast corner of section 36, township 54, range 31, thence along 
the county line to the half section line running north and south through 
section 35, township 54, range 32, thence due south to the township line 
dividing townships 52 and 53, thence east one mile and a half to the 
southeast comer of section 36, township 53, range 32, thence south one 
mile, thence east one mile, thence south one mile, thence east to the range 
line between ranges 30 and 31, thence north along the range line to the 
beginning. 

Anthony Harsell was apix)inted by the county court the first justice 
of the peace pro tern. The township was named for the town of Kearney. 

The general surface of the township partakes of the character of 
that of the county and is rolling and broken, but some of the most valu- 
able farms of the county are situated herein. The northern portion of 
the township — at least the northeastern — was heavily timbered. This is 
true of much of the eastern portion, along Clear creek. Clearings were 
made and land reclaimed from the wilderness. 

Settlements were made in this township at a very early day. 'In the 
northwestern part of the township, two miles south of Camp branch 
(east half section 23, township 53, range 32), Anthony Harsell settled 



202 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

in the fall of 1827. A mile and a half northeast of Harsell, William Liv- 
ingston had come in 1825; James McCown settled one mile north of Har- 
sell in 1826; Hezekiah Riley and James Marsh settled east of Harsell in 
1827, the latter in the spring and the foniier in the fall. In the spring 
of the same year Edward Clark located one mile south. 

For some years after the to'WTiship was first settled bears and panthers 
were unpleasantly numei'ous. As late as the winter of 1836 a large bear 
was killed on Camp branch, two miles north of Harsell's spring. 

Over on Camp creek, on one occasion, John McCown, Jr., killed a 
large panther which his dog had attacked and was being worsted in the 
encounter. 

Among the tragedies of the Civil War, not especially mentioned else- 
where, may be mentioned the murder of two citizens of thisi township, 
David L. Ferrill and Dr. John Norris. They were Confederate sym- 
pathizers and their murder was accomplished by some of Colonel Cather- 
wood's regiment the Sixth Missouri State Militia. Ferrill was an old and 
well respected citizen of the township. His sons were in the Confederate 
army and his grandson, Red. Munkers, was a bushwiiacker, but Ferrill 
himself was an old man about seventy years of age, and had never been 
guilty of overt acts against the Federal authority. One day in September, 
1864, a squad of militia, led by Lieut. James N. Stoffel, of Company A, 
Cathei^wood's regiment, took out the old man and hung him to a tree near 
his residence. 

John Norris had sei*ved six months onder Price, but for some time 
he had been living peaceably at home. One night, a short time after 
Ferrill was hung, a squad of Catherwood's men took him from his home 
and shot him. 

Richard Sloan was a member of the party that hung Ferrill. He 
was a citizen of this township and in September, 1866, he was waylaid 
and shot and his body left lying in the road. 

Mount Gilead Christian Church. — This church is an outgrowth of 
what was originally a Calvinistic Baptist Church, as it was first organized. 
In March, 1844, there was a division in the congregation, some of the 
members still adhering to the Baptist denomination, while others, among 
whom were some of the old and most prominent Baptists, constituted 
themselves into a body of Chri.stians. The church building first put up 
was erected in 1844, but becoming defective and unsafe from the ravages 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 203 

of time, it was torn down and in its place a handsome brick edifice was 
built in 1873, costing $2,569.95. It stands on section 29, northwest 
quarter, township 53, range 31. . The first members were Elders Mason 
Summers, Timothy R. Dale and wife, Alfred M. Riley and wife, Hezekiah 
Riley, Robert Officer and wife. Weekly Dale and wife, James Riley and 
wife, George Dallis, Alexander Mooney and wife, A. H. F. Payne and wife, 
and John Dykes and wife. The deacons were Hezekiah Riley, Robert 
Officer and Weekly Dale. Following Augustus H. F. Payne, who was the 
organizer, the pastors have been Revs. Williamson, A. B. Jones, J. T. Tate, 
J. W. Perkins and others. The first Sunday school connected with this 
church was organized on the last Lord's day of May, 1868. The superin- 
tendent was 0. G. Harris, assisted by E C. Gill; the secretary was P. T. 
Soper. 

Clear Creek Old School Baptist Church, located in section 14, Kear- 
ney township, was organized August 6, 1840. Its original members were 
Benjamin and Nancy Soper, Joel and Rachel Estes, Annie Palmer, Charles 
Waller, Margaret Waller, Henry and Lucinda Estes, Robert and Sarah 
Thompson, Alvira Arnold, Arabella Arnold, Harriet Arnold, William and 
Nancy Yates, and Elizabeth Groomer. The names of the pastors who have 
served this church are Revs. John Edwards and Wolverton Warren. The 
present frame church building was built in 1853 at a cost of about $1,000. 
The constitution was formed by the following body, of whom John Ed- 
wards was moderator: William Clark, Henry Hill, John Atkins and E. 
Fillery, none of whom survive. 

Arley M. E. Church in this township has a membership of 150 per- 
sons. As originally constituted, in 1845, by the efforts of Heinrich Nuel- 
son, the constituent members were Fred Hartel, Peter Hartel, John Suter, 
Conrad Hessel, Jacob Hessel, Louis Feigat, Charles Fowler, Nicholas 
Frick, and perhaps others. After Heinrich Neulson, the first pastor, the 
pulpit was filled by Heinrich Hogrefe, Reverend Neidermeier, John Raus, 
Joseph Zimmerman, William Shreck, Andreas Holz Beierlein, Henry 
Muehlenbrock, H. Diyer, Peter Hebner, Carl Steinmeier, P. Mayer, Rev- 
erend Priegal, Henry Bruene, H. Prinkmeier, J. J. Jung, H. Deiner, C. 
Bauer, H. M. Menger, H. Eorphage, J. J. Eichenberger, J. W. Buchholtz, 
George Koenig, F. Kaltenbach, H^^nry Hoffman, J. J. Hammel, H. H. 
Peters, C. H. Schmackenberg, H. A. Hohemwald, E. Clepin, John Klein, 
E. T. Asling, W. B. Woestemeyer, R. D. Winker, L. H. Irminger, C. L. 



204 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Koerner. Until the building of the present frame church in 1875 (cost- 
ing $1,000), services were held at private houses. It is now in good 
condition both spiritually and financially, and is having steady growth. 
An impoi-tant adjunct to the church is the Sunday school, Epworth League, 
W. F. M. S. King's Herald and Cradle Roll. 

The Town of Kearney. 

What is now the southeastern portion of the town of Kearney was 
originally called Centerville, and was laid out by David T. Duncan and 
W. R. Cave in the spring of 1856. Duncan lived on and owned the north 
half of the site of Centerville. Cave purchased the south half from his 
father, Uriel Cave, the original owner. The first houses were built by 
Adam Pence and W. R. Cave and theirs were the first families in the 
village. 

Barney Spencer, a Kentuckian, owned the first store in Centerville, 
which was conducted for some time in the beginning by his brother-in- 
law, Sam Trabue. The second store was owned and run by John Wade, 
of Ohio. These stores were established in the spring of 1857. John Gil- 
boe had the third store. A school house was built in about 1858 by W. 
R. Cave. 

Upon the outbreak of the Civil War, Centerville contained about 20 
families, but when it closed there were only two or three. During the 
war only two houses were destroyed, however, and these were burned by 
the Federals — Ford's and Jennison's men. They were owned by John 
Corum and John Gilboe, but at the time they were burned Doctor Cravens 
lived in Corum's house, and W. R. Cave had a small grocery in Gilboe's 
building. The Federals claim that they did the burning in retaliation for 
the killing of Mr. Bond by the bushwhackers. 

The murder of John Julius, an old man and a reputable citizen, by 
Lysander Talbott, shortly after the war, was the only tragedy of note 
that ever occurred in Centerville. The killing was wholly unprovoked. 
Talbott was on the "war path" and "wanted to kill somebody". He was 
arrested, indicted, took a change of venue to Clinton County, escaped from 
jail, went to Texas, and was himself killed in a row. 

April 12, 1869, Alfred Pyle shot and killed Charles Smith, in a diffl- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 205 

culty in Kearney, but Esquire Corbin acquitted Pyle on the ground that 
he had acted in self-defense, and he was never afterwards indicted. 

The town of Kearney was laid out upon the building of the Hannibal 
and St. Joe Railroad in the spring of 1867, by John Lawrence. The first 
house was built by George H. Plitt, on the southwest corner of Washing- 
ton avenue and Railroad street, fronting the depot on the east. Plitt 
occupied it as a store room but aftei-wards conducted a hotel. The build- 
ing was erected before the railroad depot. Plitt was proprietor of a lum- 
ber yard and the leading spirit of the place for some time. Perhaps 
James Hightower had the second store. 

The town was named by John Lawrence for Fort Kearney, Nebraska, 
and not for a certain worthy citizen of the community. It is understood 
that Lawrence was at one time a resident of Fort Kearney before he 
came to Clay County. Soon after its establishment the village began to 
be peopled very rapidly. Stores and shops of all kinds were built, and in 
a little time Kearney and Centerville were practically united. 

Kearney was incoi-porated "as a town or village" by the county 
court, April 5, 1869. The first board of trustees was composed of George 
H. Plitt, P eter Rhine hart, R. B. Elliott, D. T. Dunkin and George Harris. 
As the location of the town is very attractive, the town itself presents 
a handsome appearance. Washington avenue, the principal street, is well 
lined with stores and shops, and the business done is considerable. 

The Clipper newspaper, a five-column sheet, was established by 
Thomas H. Frame, in July, 1883. I'he first church was the Missionary 
Baptist, which was at first called Mount Olive. It is worthy of note that 
John S. Majors, Esq., took an active and prominent part in the building 
of this church, contributing to it from first to last $1,000. It is a fine 
brick structure and still standing. 

Kearney Christian Church. — On the 25th of August, 1868, Lucy E. 
Coryell, Elizabeth Petterfield, Eliza Netherton, Hannah Pollock, Abraham 
Nethertun, Shelton Brown and wife, William H. Hawkins, D. T. Duncan, 
John S. Groom, James Reed and wife, Alfred Arnold and wife, George S. 
Harris. William Hall, G. D. Hall, Mrs. A. Rodgers, R. H. Burden and 
wife, Emily Craven, Nancy E. Pile, J. S. Sirpan, Elizabeth Rodgers, Alida 
Harris and Robert Morris formed themselves into an organization now 
known as the above church. This original membership has been added 
to from time to time. Among those who filled the pulpit here were Pres- 



206 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ton Akers, J. D. Wilmot, Joseph Davis, T. J. Williamson, Reverend Martz, 
Preston Akers a second time, James W. Waller, J. W. Perkins, B. C. 
Stephens and William S. Trader. 

Holt. 

The village of Holt, situated on the Clinton County line, on the 
northeastern half of section 35, township 54, range 31, has been in exist- 
ence only since the completion of the Cameron branch of the Hamilton 
and St. Joe Railroad. It was formerly the site of a heavy body of tim- 
ber in a little bottom on a branch of Clear creek. The land was oAvned 
by Jerry A. Holt, an old North Carolinian, whose residence was just 
across in Clinton County, and who came to Missouri in about 1835. There 
were many other families of North Carolinians in this region. 

Holt was laid out in the fall of 1867, and named for Uncle Jerry 
Holt, the owner of the land. Timothy R. Dale was the surveyor. The 
first house was built on lot 5, in East Holt, by J. C. Dever, and the build- 
ing was occupied by Mr. Dever first as a store. It was burned dowai in 
1873. Soon after Mr. Dever built a hotel called the Dever House, on lot 

10 in West Holt. The second store was built by Samuel Gairison on lot 

11 in East Holt. In the spring of 1869 Capt. Joab Lamb built the 
third store on lot 8 in Holt East. The second house in Holt West was 
built by Richard Fitzgerald, in the spring of 1869. 

The railroad depot was built in the spring of 1868, but previous to 
its construction the section house was used as a freight depot. The first 
station agent was Hiram Towne, and his brother, D. W. C. Towne suc- 
ceeded him. The public school building was erected in the summer of 
1873. A mill was completed in the spring of 1883, by A. P. Cutler, S. L. 
Cutler, J. K. Morgan and J. F. Lampson, who composed the firm of Cut- 
ler, Morgan & Co. The first church, the M. E. South, was completed in 
the spring of 1883. 

In 1868 the jwst office was established. Capt. Joab Lamb secui'ed 
the office and was the first postmaster, but in a short time he was super- 
seded by D. W. C. Towne. Prior to its establishment Haynesville, Clinton 
County, was the nearest post office. The first practicing physician in the 
place was Dr. J. M. Brown, of whose abilities many of the old citizens 
speak disparagingly, but yet it is admitted that he had fair success. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 207 

Holt was incorporated Februai-y 4, 1878. The first board of trustees 
was composed of Boston L. McGee, A. P. Cutler, Adam Eby, J. C. Dever, 
William H. Mclntyre. Upon the organization of the board A. P. Cutler 
was made chairman; Boston L. McGee, clerk; D. W. C. Towne, treasurer, 
and William M. Troxler, collector and marshal. 

The Baptist Church was completed in February, 1885. 

M. E. Church, South, located at Holt, in Kearney township, was 
organized in 1837 at Pleasant Grove, but was afterwards moved to Haynes- 
ville, and from there to the present place. Early pastors who served this 
church were Revs. B. C. Owens, T. H. Swearingen and J. T. Winstead. 

Christian Union Church, located at Holt, in Kearney township, was 
organized in November, 1879. Its constituent members were B. L. Mc- 
Gee, Adam Ebly and wife, W. 0. Greason, Jerry Holt and wife, G. M. 
Isley and wife, William Holt and wife, William Albright and wife, M. M. 
Albright and wife, and many otheis. G. W. Mitchell was the organizer 
of the church. 

Baptist Church at Holt, was organized in 1884. The same year a 
frame house of worship was erected which cost $1,700. Among the first 
members v.ere W P. Garrett and daughter Bettie, John L. Clark and 
wife, Byron Allnut, L. P. Garrett, Joseph Dov;ning, Mrs. Emsley, Whitsell, 
A. S. Garrett and wife. Prof. A. J. Emerson organized the church. 

Holt Lodge No. 49, A. F. & A. M. was first organised at Haynesville, 
May 19, 1854, but was removed to Holt in 1877, where it still is. Some 
of the first officers were Henry B. Hamilton, worshipful master; John R. 
Ling, senior warden, David W. Reynolds, junior warden. The hall was 
erected the same year of the removal of the lodge to Holt and cost about 
$600. 



CHAPTER XVI 



WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 



LOCATION AND TOPOGRAPHY— RAILROAD FACILITIES— GREENVIL1,E AND CLAY- 
VILLE EXTINCT TOWNS — FIRST SETTLERS — TOWNSHIP FORMED IN 1830 — 
BOUNDARIES— FIRST OFFICERS AND ELECTION — MT. VERNON MISSIONARY 
BAPAIST CHURCH. 

Washington township fomis the northeastern portion of Clay County 
and is composed of all of congressional township 53 and the lower tier 
of sections of towTiship 54, in range 30. Much of the temtory is very 
broken, rough and rocky. Many small streams, all of which ultimately 
run into Fishing River and its forks, head in the township. In many 
places picturesque bluffs are found along these streams, and the scenery 
is beautiful to look upon, but hardly appreciated by those owning the 
land. 

The St. Joe branch of the Santa Fe Railroad runs through the north- 
eastern comer of the towTiship, a distance of about two miles, and Law- 
son, in Ray County, is the nearest station and general shipping point. 
Kearney and Holt, on the Hannibal road, give the people something of 
competition in the matter of railroad facilities. 

Greenville (Claytonville P. O.) was located in the southern part of 
the to\\Tiship on Williams creek, sixteen miles northeast of Liberty and 
about six east of Kearney. At one time it contained a school house, two 
churches (Methodist and Christian), and about seventy -five inhabitants. 
It was one of the oldest villages in the country but it now no longer exists. 

Claysville (Prospect Hill P. 0.) was about two miles northeast of 
Greenville within half a mile of the Ray County line, and four miles south 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 209 

of Lawson, the nearest railroad station. Like Greenville, it no longer 
exists. Not a store in the township. 

As early as 1824 Travis Finley settled on section 26 in this township, 
two miles southeast of Greenville. Archibald Mcllvaine, Stephen Bax- 
ter and others were also early settlers. Ryland Shackelford located north- 
west of Greenville soon after Finley came, and Mr. Shackelford often de- 
clared that when he made his location and for a year afterwards, there 
was not a white settler between him and the North Pole. 

At the May term of the county court, 1830, Washington was created 
as a municipal township out of Platte and Fishing River. The boundaries 
were originally the same, practically, as at present, the two western tiers 
of sections being taken off in 1872 when Kearney was formed. The 
boundaries as ordered by the county court when the township was organ- 
ized were as follows: 

Beginning at the point on the county line between Ray and Clay 
Counties where the line between townships 52 and 53 strikes the same, 
Chence due west along said township line for eight miles to the section 
comer on said township line between sections 34 and 35, in range 31, 
thence due north along said section line between sections 34 and 35, in 
range 31, to the northern boundary line of the county. 

Singularly enough the court omitted to describe the northern and 
eastern boundaries of this township. They will be understood, however, 
to have been the northern boundary of the state, and the line between 
Ray and Clay extended to that boundary. 

It was certified to the Secretary of State that there were at least 95 
taxable inhabitants in the township upon its creation. John P. Smith 
and Harlow Hinkston were the first justices of the peace, John Wright 
the first constable, and Stephen Baxter, Archibald Mcllvain and Richard 
Clark the first election judges. The first election was held at the house 
of Stephen Baxter. 

Mount Vernon Missionary Baptist Church, located on section 15, 
township 53, range 30, was organized in 1857 by Rev. William Barrett. 
The names of the original members were Waltus L. Watkins, Mary N. 
Watkins, Kate Watkins, Spencer Anderson, Kitty Anderson, Mary Ander- 
son, Rev. William C. BaiTett, Jackson Garrett, L. B. Garrett, Samuel 
HoUingsworth. T. W. Barrett, Louisa Barrett, Olivia Barrett and Nancy 
K. Barrett. The present membership is sixty-four. The names of some 



210 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of those who have sen-ed as pastors are Revs. William Barrett, who filled 
the pulpit for three years, Thomas Montgomery, Asa N. Bird, J. W. Luke, 
G. L. Black and J. J. Fetts. This brick edifice was erected in 1871 at a 
cost of $5,000, more than one-half of which was contributed by Waltus L. 
Watkins. 



CHAPTER XVII 



WILLIAM JEWELL COLLEGE. 



THE STORY OF ITS FOUNDING AND LOCATION— OFFICERS AND FACULTY. 

It was at the request of an honored president of the Board of Trustees 
of William Jewell College, the following events and circumstances are 
related by one who was a youthful witness of the greater part of them, 
Hon. Leonidas M. Lawson, and who received the authentication of the 
remainder of them from the direct testimony of those who were them- 
selves the principal participants in these important transactions. It is 
probable that the remembrance of these deeds cannot be found in any 
other living repository, because most of the actors and their coetanians 
have passed away. 

The legal existence of the institution began when on the 27th day 
of February, 1849, the Governor of Missouri approved the act of incorpora- 
tion which constituted the persons named therein a body politic and 
corporate for the purpose of endowing and building up a college under 
the direction of the General Association of the Baptists of the State of 
Missouri. But as early as the year 1834, the subject of higher education 
began to be discussed and written about by prominent members of this 
enlightened and enterprising denomination in various parts of the state, 
and a voluminous correspondence is still in existence which evidences 
the rising interest in this important subject. 

A perusal of some of this quaint correspondence between the prim- 
itive promoters of this great educational enterprise the reader will observe 
the frequently recurring use of the word "Seminary" as descriptive and 
definite of the school it was the intention of the Baptists to establish. 



212 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

It is worthy of especial note that the significant etymology of this word 
was a happy forecast and an appropriate harbinger of the great work 
that has been accomplished. A seminary is a place where seed is sown 
for producing plants for transplantation. Felicitous metaphor has ap- 
plied the word to an institution of learning and appropriately and aptly 
to this great institution of learning because it has become a spot where 
is sown the seeds of superior scholarship and of the principles of civil and 
religious liberty, so vividly illustrated in the history of the great denom- 
ination of Christian which has stnjggled and fought and suffered on all 
the great fields of thought. The seed here sown has germinated and 
fructified and multiplied an hundred fold and by the free winds borne 
have been wafted to the remotest regions of our land and countiy, and 
have found a lodgment and a habitation under alien skies. 

In the annals of a nation, a state or a community, there is nothing 
of so transcending importance as the history of the origin, the location, 
the establishment and growth of its eminent schools. The existence of a 
college gifted with a great energetic and intrepid spirit, like that which 
informs the people of Missouri and the neighboring districts of the 
Mississippi Valley, diffuses an intellectual atmosphere which makes life 
better worth for every one who has the opportunity of breathing its 
invigorating influences. Immortal honors are due to those who conceived 
the work, who laid its foundations, who labored for its success, who made 
sacrifices for its completion and who stimulated the pulses of the people 
to a common eflfort for the great achievement. 

The inhabitants of the region which was destined to become the home 
of the seminary were a vigorous, manly, liberty-loving people, and their 
devotion to freedom caused them to name their county after the great 
Western statesman whose father was a Virginian Baptist minister, and 
one of that heroic band who stood for religious liberty in the Old 
Dominion. The early occupation of the son bestowed upon him the 
sportive appellation of "The Mill Boy of the Slashes," and his service to 
the people won him the title of the "Great Commoner". The sterling 
worth of this people and the \atalizing power of the principles which 
governed their public and private conduct made Clay County an eligible 
spot in which to plant a seminary of learning. 

When the Baptists of Missouri determined to establish a college, and 
appointed the meeting of a convention at Boonville, on the 21st day of 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 213 

August, 1849, to effect an organization and settle the place of its permanent 
abode, the friends of learning and education at Liberty committed to 
Gen. Alexander W. Doniphan the task of arousing the people of the county 
to the importance of making an effort to secure the location of the school 
in their county town and of obtaining the necessary subscription of money 
for that purpose. He responded to the call. 

General Doniphan had but recently returned from Mexico, crowned 
with great military distinction, and had been everywhere greeted with 
the applauses of his admiring countrymen. He was at the zenith of his 
fame as a soldier, a lawyer and a statesman. Seldom has it been the lot 
of a groat leader to unite in the same bright combination so rare, so 
happy and so delicate an assemblage of eminent qualities and qualifications 
as met in this brilliant man. His intellect was of passing power and 
force, incisive, serene, capacious and catholic, rapidly assimilative, luxuri- 
antly fruitful. His memory was astonishing and at the docile service of 
a nimble and agile intellectuality. His discernment resembled inspiration. 
His imagination was warm and vivid, his judgment clear, his energy sur- 
passing. His mind had been enlarged by an unusually wide experience. 
In the world of literature and the world of life he was equally at home. 
His face and figure were such as sculptors love to dwell upon. His per- 
.son was tall and commanding; his stature was six feet and four inches; 
his features were of classic elegance, but eager, mobile, animated; his 
hair was of the richest auburn hue; his forehead was high and intel- 
lectual ; his finely cut nose was a combination of Grecian and Roman 
significance; his lips indicated eloquence; his dark eyes were full of fire; 
his grace and dignity blended themselves in his deportment; his mental 
character was so happily constituted that his powers so compatible with 
each other were tempered into exquisite harmony. One faculty had been 
granted to him in the largest measure — the faculty of eloquent expression ; 
no man in the Western states was his superior in the "tongue's wars". 
There was a thrilling note of sincerity in his voice vibrant with a vast 
store of feeling and compelling magnetism. 

These superb powers he devoted to the task of awakening his fellow- 
citizens to an interest in higher education, and to inspiring an effort to 
secure the establishment of a college in the capital of their county. In 
making a series of brilliant addresses, he visited every part of the county, 
traversed every community, and presented a masterly, convincing argu- 



214 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ment for the cause of the college, and with unflagging zeal and tireless 
energy, he solicited the aid and support of the people in the great under- 
taking. Crowds poured forth to meet him, and joyful acclamations rent 
the air, similar to those which are evoked in times of great political excite- 
ment. The ambition of the people were stin-ed, their zeal was inflamed, 
and social, political and religious distinctions were submerged in the 
waves of the rising enthusiasm. With so powerful an advocate, with so 
grand a cause, and with so receptive a community, failure was hardly 
possible. The great effort was crowoied with success and with a formid- 
able subscription the delegates from Clay County were sent to the con- 
vention at Boonville. 

Great interest in the enterprise had developed and was manifest in 
other parts of the state. Lively competition sprang into life and there 
was active and determined rivalry in the emulous contest. Marion 
County, Gallaway County, Boone County, Howard County and Cooper 
County were represented by delegates composed of influential Baptists, 
and they bore with them important contributions to the capital fund for 
the foundation of the college. Cooper County, in which Boonville is 
situated, and where the convention was to be held, was making a special 
effort and with the advantage of being the convention city and the oppor- 
tunity thus afforded for the exercise of the social amenities of its grace- 
ful hospitality was exercising, exerting a powerful influence upon the 
assembling congress of the Baptists of the state. It was the center of a 
society which numbered among its members some of the most accom- 
plished men and women of the time. 

On the early morning of August 21st, 1849, a conference of the 
partisans of Boonville was held to consider and discuss the situation. 
It met in the counting room of Isaac Lionbergcr. an eminent and enlight- 
ened merchant, a devoted Baptist, and a relative of President Richard E. 
Turner, who was then a youthful resident of Cooper County. There were 
present, among others, the brilliant and versatile Tyre C. Harris, and 
notably the sturdy, stalwart, Jordon O'Bryan, who journeyed from his 
country home to counsel, encourage and aid his friends with his presence 
and his advice. They gathered round a circular board, but where the 
O'Bryan sat was the head of the table. He was a great planter, a man 
of wide knowledge and practical wisdom, his acquaintarce with affairs 
was large, his judgment was sound. He was a skilUul and adroit poll- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 215 

tician, a man of the highest probity, a loyal Baptist and an enthusiastic 
advocate of the candidacy of Boonville for the location of the college. 
He had been a representative of his county, and a senator from his dis- 
trict in the State Legislature. His influence was potent. Senator O'Bryan 
inquired of his colleagues about the personality of the several delegations 
which were in attendance upon the convention. The names of those from 
Howard, Boone, Callaway and Marion Counties were given him. They 
were the eminent Baptists of the several localities. 

Confidence was expressed that a canvass of the lists indicated a con- 
dition favorable to the choice of Boonville. At last, Senator O'Bryan in- 
quired if no one had come from Liberty? The reply was that Clay 
County had not evinced any great interest, that no Baptist people had 
come thence, that two distinguished gentlemen, not Baptists, had arrived, 
but that the Baptists of that locality were not in the contest. Besides, 
Liberty was a frontier town on the verge of the vast desert which 
stretched a limitless waste and unbroken wilderness until it reached the 
shores of the Pacific (at this period, 1849, the noble cities and prosperous 
commonwealth that embellish the map of the regions west of the Mis- 
souri River were not only unborn and unnamed, but they were undreamed 
of, save in the fecund brain of that illustrious statesman and precinct 
geomancer, Thomas Jefferson, who forty-six years before, had bought 
from the Emperor of the French the vast domain of rivers and plains and 
mountains, and dedicated it to American enten^rise and American free- 
dom). Senator O'Bryan listened with patient urbanity and asked who 
were the distinguished gentlemen who had arrived from Clay County. 
He was told they were Gen. Alexander W. Doniphan and Judge J. T. V. 
Thompson. A look of surprise and anxiety mantled the bright, genial 
face of Jordon O'Bryan. He spoke gently, but with emphasis and con- 
cern. Said he: "Gentlemen, you have trained your guns in the wrong 
direction. You have been wasting your ammunition and your energies. 
Liberty is the point for you to attack, the fortress you must take. Doni- 
phan and Thompson have not come here for mere maneuver or dress- 
parade. There will not be a mock tournament. I have served in the 
Legislature with both these men and I know their character and abilities. 
Judge Thompson is a shrewd and prudent manager and Doniphan is no 
carpet knight. While he is chivalrous and fair and gallant, you will find 
him armed cap-a-pie and ready to do and dare for his cause. He is the 



216 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

greatest master of polemical controversy this state has ever seen. His 
vigilance provides for all contingencies, except those which no human 
foresight can foresee. You will do well to rouse yourselves to encounter 
a sturdier competition than any you have yet imagined". The startled 
conference heard these words with dismay and adjourned. The Knights 
of the Round Table dispersed to begin new labors for Boonville among 
the delegates from the other counties. 

At the appointed hour, the convention assembled in the Baptist meet- 
ing house. The building was densely crowded, the organization was 
effected without delay. When the credentials of the delegates were pre- 
sented and passed upon, it was evident that the subscription of no single 
county was sufficient to constitute a majority of the total capital sub- 
scribed, and that the final result would depend upon concession, compro- 
mise, or a change of sentiment or opinion of some delegation. The sum 
subscribed by Clay County was the largest plurality. 

After the formal and preliminary work of organization was completed 
the president of the convention announced that the nomination of the 
place for the home of the college was in order. There was a hush of 
expectancy and there was hesitancy in every quarter. The friends of 
each place thought proper policy at the beginning was masterly inactivity, 
and that some advantage might be gained by waiting for others to make 
the first move. All seemed to wish the beneficial influence of the final 
word. 

The assembled multitude became impatient of the delay and the 
members of the convention were restive and uneasy. Doniphan's quick 
perception saw that the time had come to take the hazard of decisive 
measures. He detennined to hesitate no longer. 

"He either fears his fate too much, 

Or his deserts are small. 
Who dares not to put it to the touch 

To win or lose it all." 

He had applied his powers of observation to the study of the peculiar- 
ities of eveiy class of the great family of mankind — their humors, their 
prejudices and their passions, and to all these he knew how to appeal 
with exquisite propriety. He was master of rhetoric which casts a spell 
over deliberative bodies, as well as the rhetoric that stirs the masses to 




SCIEXCK HALL. \VILLL\.M .JEWKLL ( •01 .l.l'X! K 




\li:\V (iK lAMITS, WILIJAM JKWKLL COLLKCL 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 217 

enthusiasm. With these formidable powers he had entered the conven- 
tion at Boonville. He I'ose and began the presentation of his place and 
people with the i-emark that as no one else appeared to want the college, 
he wished to make it clear to the convention that Liberty would take it 
with grateful thanks and would exert its best efforts to deserve the boon 
and to foster, sustain and upbuild the infant institution. Then followed 
a careful and discriminating eulogy of his constituency and the eligibility 
of Liberty as a proper place for planting a great seminary. 

The entrant having been broken by Doniphan, the nomination of 
other places fololwed, with tasteful and appropriate commendations by 
the several speakers who presented their claims and their merits. At 
last came the offering of Boonville, which was gracefully and powerfully 
presented by her most eminent citizen, John G. Miller, whose career in 
Congress has shed luster upon the name of Missouri. 

Just when the balloting was about to begin, Dr. William Jewell, of 
Columbia, Boone County, proposed to the convention an additional sub- 
scription of ten thousand dollars to be paid in lands situated in Mercer, 
Sullivan and Grundy Counties, in the state of Missouri, the subscriber to 
have the corresponding number of votes on the question of the location 
of the college and the right to bestow a iiame upon the new institution. 
This proposition Vvas earnestly suppoi'ted by the Boonville delegation and 
others, but was strongly opposed by General Doniphan and his allies. It 
was believed that Doctor Jewell was favorable to Boonville as the home 
of the college. General Doniphan's opposition was most vigorous. He 
demonstrated the injustice of permitting the votes which represented an 
arbitrary valuation of unimproved and uncultivated land to weigh against 
the votes of subscriptions which represented available funds. He kindled 
in the breasts of his allies the same ardor that burned in his own. The 
justice of his contention was recognized, his arguments availed with a 
majority of the convention and the proposition of Doctor Jewell was re- 
jected. 

Then came the balloting upon a choice among the places in nomina- 
tion. An entente cordiale had long existed between the counties of How- 
ard and Clay. The territory of the latter was formerly a part of How- 
ard County and there were close family connections between them. Clay 
County had the largest subscription list and Howard County the smallest. 
Under the influence of Doniphan and the ties of friendship and con- 



218 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

sanguinity that bound the peoples together, Howard County made com- 
mon cause with Clay and the two joined made an absolute majority for 
Liberty and the location was determined. In recognition of this liberality 
and in evidence of the reciprocal good will and kindness toward each other*, 
the president of the Board of Trustees of the college was for long series 
of years chosen from among the Baptists of Howard County. 

The deliberations of the convention, the discussions and the balloting 
had occupied the entire day. After the selection of Liberty the meeting 
adjourned until the morrow at ten o'clock. 

After a night of repose, Doniphan arose with mental inspiration fit 
and ready for the labors of the new day. The work of the convention 
was to be appropriately closed by naming the college. 

Nothing is more useful, nothing more necessary, in the conduct of 
public affairs than a just discernment of the spirit of our fellow-men. 
This means that natural private sagacity which is conversant about indi- 
viduals and enables some men with penetrating eye to look as it were 
into the heads and hearts of others, and to discover in them the latent 
principles which constitute their true characters. This human wisdom 
is of use everywhere and with it the combination of peculiar circum- 
stances is improved to the best advantage. Doniphan knew Doctor Jewell, 
he knew that his whole soul was stirred by an honorable desire for literarj' 
distinction, and that he aspired to enroll his name among those who have 
shaped the fortunes of great institutions and guided the course of mighty 
destinies. He desired that his name should be entered in a great arena 
as a noble candidate contending for a noble prize. Doniphan determined 
to contribute to the gratification of this honorable ambition and lay 
these lofty sentiments under contribution for the welfare and promotion 
of the new institution which had just been ushered into existence, and 
found a home on the Western confines of the state. Doniphan prepared 
a careful, appropriate and tasteful resolution, which recited the labors of 
Doctor Jewell in the cause of liberal culture, his devotion to the interests 
of enlightened civilization and proposed that the new seminary of learning 
should be baptized with the name of "William Jewell College". This 
resolution, in an early hour of the day, Doniphan privately and con- 
fidentially carried to the Rev. William C. Ligon, with instructions to 
offer it to the convention as soon as the session opened. No man was 
better fitted for the delicate task than Mr. Ligon. His speech was 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 219 

effective, tender and devoted, courteous, decorous and sympathetic, and 
profoundly expressed the sentiments of the convention aad the large 
assemblage. 

The motion for the adoption of the resolution was seconded by Gen- 
eral Doniphan in a manner of surpassing charm and excellence, and in a 
style wherein the graces of colloquy and the graces of rhetoric were 
harmoniously blended. At no period of his life was his genius seen to 
greater advantage. The resolution was unanimously adopted and the 
name of William Jewell was indelibly stamped upon the v?ducational destiny 
of the Baptists of Missouri. 

Overwhelmed with the gi-atifying evidence of the devotion of his 
people and the honors that crowned his life. Doctor Jewell was barely 
able to make his acknowledgements in the articulate tones of spoken 
language, but gave visible evidence of an eloquence richer than the righest 
words. He then and there made the noble gift of the lands he had offered 
on the first day of the convention. His other benefactions absorbed one- 
third of his entire fortune, an instance of unrivalled liberality without an 
antecedent example and without subsequent imitation. He afterward 
went to Liberty to give his services in the superintendence of the erection 
of the first large building that crowned the hill. In the midst of his 
labors, during the canicular days of a Missouri summer, he was stricken 
with a fatal fever, and consummated his devotion with the princely sacri- 
fice of his life. 

Thus was founded this great school. Thus was established this great 
college. Thus was planted the great seminary whose seeds are destined 
to sow vast fields which shall ripen into abundant harvests. 

The college entered upon a career of varying fortunes and vicissi- 
tudes, but in the dai'kest hour of the gloom that sometimes enveloped its 
destiny, it was upheld by the faithful hands of heroic men and devoted 
women. Other chroniclers will tell of the labors of Roland Hughes, Oliver 
Perry Moss, Elizabeth Trigg Thornton, Wade M. Jackson, Caroline Thorn- 
ton Moss, and R. E. McDaniel. Everything that could be effected by a 
courage that rose superior to privation and reverses, by fidelity even to 
martydom and by a fortitude which death could subdue only by extinguish- 
ment these indomitable spirits have done and their triumph is here. 

RecuiTing to the story of its l)irth and baptism and the struggles of 
its infancy, it is difficult to realize the superb attainments in the arts of 



220 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

life and learning which this institution today presents, and in view of its 
immediate usefulness and influence, the impulse to cast its horoscope can- 
not be resisted. The progress of knowledge has given birth, of late years 
to arts and sciences so many and so varied that a man of liberal enlighten- 
ment finds here ample occupation for his time and talents in the acquisi- 
tion of such as are most attractive and most absorbing; and without a 
knowledge of these elegant and refined pursuits a man can scarcely pass 
muster in the informed circles of society. W!liile there is no popular or 
royal road to the profound truths of learning and philosophy, the facilities 
for their acquisition are so great here that it is impossible to defend 
against the allui-ing invitation, especially in this new era of intellectual 
enterprise and vigor, and in this age distinguished above all others for 
rapid development of the human faculties. 

In a region of unsurpassed opulence, in a climate of unrivalled charm, 
salubrious and invigorating, midway between the oceans and in the heart 
of the continent, William Jewell College is dedicated to the high pur- 
pose of opening the youthful mind, purified and imaginative, to the in- 
fluence of the moral afl'ections, as well as the graceful humanities of en- 
larging the knowledge and increasing the power of intellectual and 
physical man, of inculcating the lessons of gentle and ennobling virtue, 
of presenting lofty precepts and bright examples of liberality and magna- 
nimity and pure taste, and of inducing men to love goodness, aspire to 
elegance and improve at once the imagination, the understanding and the 
heart. 

The great and increasing importance and the perenial growth of the 
institution is attracting a large share of the public interest. It has 
mounted to a high place among the eminent schools of the land and there 
is none to oppose the progress of its fame. There is reason to hope and 
believe that the riches of the ham^est will con-espond to the splendors of 
the present promise. Its position of proud distinction is a vindication of 
the sound and comprehensive views of the President of the Board of 
Trustees and its extension and its strength is a brilliant monument to 
the genius, the unrivalled common sense and wisdom that has marked 
the years of consecrated service rendered by Richard E. Turner in that 
important position and his successor in the same relation. The enlight- 
ened plans and patriotic purposes that infonn his mind and that of his 
successor and that of their worthy colleagues in the Board of Trustees 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 221 

united with tlie zeal, tlic wisdom and energy of the late president of the 
college. Dr. J. P. Greene and the great executive ability of Dr. D. J. 
Evans, the present president of the college, and the faculty that sur- 
round him, give assurance that its facilities and resources will be enlarged 
and widened until, growing older in years, l)ut fresh in eternal youth, and 
immortal as the principles that gave it birth, it becomes so famed a seat 
of learning and influence as to induce to its portals ardent concourses of 
students, comparable in numbers to those which in former times flowed 
to Paris and Vienna, Padova, Upsal and Valencia. 

The edifice in which were enacted the scenes which have been related 
still stands in Boonville. The very spot can be identified where the Rev* 
William C. Ligon stood to deliver his panegyric upon the life and chai-- 
acter of William Jewell. The seat can be indicated whence rose the tall 
foiTTi of Doniphan to pour the tide of his eloquence upon the ears of the 
intent assembly, as well as the place occupied by Doctor Jewell, when with 
faltering accents of sublime emotion, he expressed his gratitude for the 
action which was to make his name immortal. This was the inaugura- 
tion of the first great enterprise which the writer of these lines has wit- 
nessed. The delegation returned to Liberty, they bore themselves with 
the dignity and moderation of consijderable victors. Judge J. T. V. 
Thompson signalized his generosity by the gift of the land which is now 
crowned with noble edifices, fraught with Orient spoil and hoarded 
treasures of the learning of all ages. Doniphan went home, his brow 
adorned with that truly civic crown which far outshines the coronals of 
power and laurels of conquest won upon ensanguined fields and which can 
only be surpassed by those unfading garlands which await the champions 
of light and liberty, in the loftier realms of mind and thought. Missouri 
does him appropriate honor. A splendid monument marks his resting 
plac6 in the beautiful Fairview cemetery in Liberty and the State of Mis- 
souri has had erected in Richmond, Ray County, a magnificent monument 
to his memory. 

"Her waters murmur of his name, 
Her woods are peopled witli his fame ; 
Her smallest rill, her mightiest river, 
Roll, mingled with his fame, forever." 

William Jewell College was opened to students at Liberty (in the old 



222 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Liberty Academy) January 1, 1850. Dr. E. S. Dulin as principal and 
professor of ancient languages and Rev. T. F. Lockett as professor of 
mathematics. This principal sei'ved until the close of the session of 1851- 
52. By the summer of 1853 the building knowTi as Jewell Hall had ad- 
vanced so far near completion as to admit of occupancy and use. This 
building started and almost completed under the direction of Doctor Jewell, 
is one of the most substantially built edifices in Clay County. The 
trustees of the college in 1853 called to the presidency Rev. R. S. Thomas, 
whose administration continued until the summer of 1855, when by rea- 
son of financial difficulties caused the suspension of the college for two 
years. 

The college reopened in the fall of 1857, under the presidency of 
Rev. William Thompson, LL. D. President Thompson, as he was called 
aftei-ward by every one who knew him, was one of the most remarkable 
men of his day; a leamed Scotchman, a graduate of the University of 
Edinburgh; a graduate also of the University of Law, he practiced with 
success in that profession until called to the gospel ministry, where his 
ability, learning and almost unequaled eloquence shone preeminently. His 
administration of the affairs of the college continued until 1861, when 
the advent of the war between the States caused a suspension of the col- 
lege, although a private school was conducted in the college building, as 
occasions would pei-mit. On account of the unsettled condition of the 
country until 1867, it was not deemed safe to reopen the institution, but 
in June of that year Rev. Thomas Rambaut LL. D., was called to the 
presidency. He was an extremely strong man, intellectually, sui-passing 
most men ripe in knowledge and erudition, better fitted possibly by nature 
and training for the pulpit of a large city church, than to come in contact 
with the hoiden ways of the average college boy. The college reopened in 
1868 with Doctor Rambaut, president; R. B. Semple, Professor of Latin 
and French; A. F. Fleet, Professor of Greek and German; John F. Lan- 
neau. Professor of Mathematics; James R. Eaton, Professor of Natural 
Sciences. Doctor Rambaut resigned as president in the spring of 1874 
on account of ill-health. 

The office of president remained vacant until the summer of 1892. 
The affairs of the college were managed by the faculty, acting through a 
chairman. Pi-ofessor William R. Rothwell was chairman from 1873 to 
June, 1883, and Professor James G. Clark from that date until June, 1892. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 223 

Lewis B. Ely, of Carrollton, Mo., had been a zealous friend of the 
college for many years, had charge of the financial affairs in 1887, and 
by his efforts had greatly increased the endowment fund of the institu- 
tion. Rev. W. Pope Yeaman, D. D., who had been chosen chancellor of 
the college, greatly assisted by Mr. Ely, contributed largely in increas- 
ing the endowment fund. Mr. Ely was also the president of the Board 
of Trustees until his death in June, 1897. 

Dr. John Priest Greene, pastor of the Third Baptist Church, of St. 
Louis, was elected president of the college in June, 1892. It has been 
well said, that "The crowning glory of Doctor Greene's presidency of 
twenty-seven years is that he has held the college to the prime purpose 
of its establishment, namely, the thorough literary and scientific train- 
ing of young men for Christian service," and as his devotion became 
known throughout the great West, and elsewhere, the number of students 
greatly increased. 

Dr. D. J. Evans, a graduate of Wm. Jewell College, was chosen 
president of the college, and was inaugurated as such president the 
afternoon of Friday, October 8, 1920, at the Christian Church, Liberty, 
Mo. Dr. Evans is a native of Wales. 

Faculty of William Jewell College. 

1920—1921. 

David Jones Evans, A.M., Th.D., (S. B. T. S.), President and Pro- 
fessor of Biblical Literature. 

John Priest Greene, A.M., D.D., LL.D., President Emeritus and Pro- 
fessor of Practical Ethics. 

James Gregoiy Clark, LL.D., Emeritus Professor of Mathematics. 

Richard Price Rider, A.M., Emeritus Professor of Latin. 

Harry George Parker, Ph.D., (Harvard), Professor of Chemistry. 

John Phelps Fruit, Ph.D., (Leipzig), Professor of English. 

Robert Ryland Fleet, Ph.D., (Heidelberg), Professor of Mathematics, 
and Dean of Arts and Sciences. 

William Denny Baskett, Ph.D.. (Chicago) . Professor of Modem Lan- 
guage. 

Walter Oliver Lewis, Ph.D., (Erlangen), Professor of Philosophy, 
and Dean of Biblical Literature and Religious Education. 



224 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John Eustace Davis, A.B., (William Jewell), Professor of Physics. 

Raymond Huntington Coon, Ph.D., (Chicago), Professor of Latin. 

Lorenzo Dow Weyand. Ph.D., (Chicago), J. E. Franklin Professor 
of Social Science. 

Loren Carey MacKinney, A.M., (Wisconsin), Professor of History 
and Political Science. 

Harry Elias Vick, A.M., (Cornell), Professor of Biology. 

Ward Edwai-ds, A.M., (William Jewell), Librarian and Associate 
English. 

Robert Earl Bowles, A.B., (William Jewell), Physical Director. 

Julio H. Valdes, Instructor in Spanish. 

Millard Spencer Everett, A.B., (William Jewell), Instructor in Latin. 

Harry E. Cooper, Director of Music. 

P. Casper Hai'vey, A.M., Associate in English. 

Standing Committees of the Faculty. 

Athletics: Professor Davis and Bowles. 
Catalog Bulletins: Professors Clark, P'ruit, Parker and Fleet. 
Chapel Attendance: Professor Baskett. 
Chapel Exercises: Professors Evans and Lewis. 
Curriculum Committee: Professors Baskett, Parker and Weyand. 
Faculty Advisors of Student Council: Professors Fruit and Vick. 
Fraternities: Professors Coon, Davis and MacKi'nney. 
Religious Activities: Professors Lewis and Baskett. 
William Jewell Student: Professors Fruit and Coon. 







i 

J 


1 

i 




^^^^1 


Bi 







JEWKLI. IIALI.. WIl.blAM JKWEFJ. COLLIOCK 



CHAPTER XVIII 



ORGANIZED MEDICINE IN CLAY COUNTY. 



By John Joseph Gaines, M.D., Secretary. 

FOXINDBD IN 1854— SECOND OLDEST IN THE STATE — EARLY MEETINGS — QUALIFI- 
CATION FOR MEMBERSHIP— OBJECTS— MEMBERSHIP FEE— FIRST OFFICERS 
—INVENTION AND DISCOVERY INVITED — CIVIL WAR— INTEREST— IN THE 
WORLD WAR— "EVERY MAN A VOLUNTEER"— DISTINGUISHED SERVICE- 
SERVICE AT HOME— AUXILIARY DEFENSE COMMITTEE— NECROLOGY OF 
MEMBERS— DOCTOR ALLEN— PRESENT OFFICP^RS. 

The Clay County Medical Association was so named, before the less 
ponderous word "society" was in general use. It is the second oldest 
medical organization in the state, being founded in 1854, according to 
the best available data. It is therefore, in its sixty-sixth year of prog- 
ress, and yields only to the St. Louis Medical Society in point of age. 

When we consider the sturdy parentage of this institution, we are 
not amazed at its long life. It was bom in the pioneer days, when 
strength of character, and ruggedness of frame were the prime essen- 
tials of progress. It was a time when "the going was hard" figuratively 
and literally. Meetings were to be attended monthly, and comprehend- 
ed a journey over roads that defied the points of the compass, and often 
challenged the most persistent depth-soundings. But your pioneer phy- 
sician was no weakling; he smiled at the idea of fatigue, and the mod- 
em essential of rest was not thought of, when the star of duty blazed, 
far out in the distance. 

The single qualification for membership in the association, as tersely 



226 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

expressed in the first by-laws, was "A reputable physician of Clay County, 
Missouri." Reputation was the sole requisite. It embodied graduation 
from an established institution of medical learning, with a character 
that knew no accusing finger. To "fall from gi'ace" meant charges pre- 
ferred, calm deliberation, and certain expulsion, if the charges were sus- 
tained. Probation, or the smearing over, or counsel with the unethical 
malefactor, were unknown and unthinkable. 

The objects of the association were comprehensive: "To constitute 
a representative body of the regular profession of Clay County, which 
may advance the interests, and encourage the unity and harmonious 
action of the profession ; to suppress empiricism as much as possible ; 
to restrict the privilege of practicing the profession of medicine to quali- 
fied graduates; to develop talent; to stimulate medical invention and 
discovery, and to maintain our rights and immunities as medical men." 

In the opinion of the writer, it is doubtful, if there is a preamble in 
the English language that is nearer Blackstonian in diction than this. 

The financial requirement assessed by our founders, was one dollar 
annual dues from each member: A society with an annual revenue of 
from seven to ten dollars, probably cut no melons in dividends. But 
those were days when the silver dollar was oftener singular than plural, 
and gave more distinction, being viewed in the light of a curiosity, or of 
a family keepsake. 

The first official roster is dim and yellow with age ... It tells 
us that Dr. W. A. Morton was the first president; no vice-president is 
mentioned ; Dr. Stephen Ritchie was secretary. The charter members 
were, Drs. J. M. Allen, Joseph Wood, and Drs. Snail, Gorin, Major, Gar- 
lichs, and Everett. The monthly meeting-place was Liberty, the county 
seat. It may be said, that, in this early day, the country was infested 
with conjurers, "yarb-doctors" and other sajtellites of ignorance and 
supei'stition, who were "Jest naterally bawn with knowin' how to cure 
all kinds of misery" — and it was against such importers that educated 
physicians wielded the scimiter and the lance, — and the battle is not 
over to this day. 

Medical invention and discovery were indeed invited. Many a keen 
and discerning mind, read the suffering face, and analyzed the doubtful 
symptom . . . Many an alert finger searched the wavering pulse, and, at 
the next meeting of the society, the language of suffering was trans- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 227 

lated into methods of successful procedure. It is to be regretted that 
the deeds of these noblemen were not chiselled into the imperishable 
rock, that the record might be a source of perpetual stimulus to their 
successors. 

The period of the Civil War wa.s not a favorable one for undisturbed 
medical reflection. But the Clay Count}'' Medical Society was not for- 
gotten on the tented field, or within the crude hospitals of the dread con- 
flict. And, when it was over, meetings were resumed, and re-organiza- 
tion perfected. Experiences in war-surgery were adapted to the restora- 
tion of civilian accidents, and the progress of "medical invention and 
discovery halted not, in its trend onward and upward." 

Membership and enthusiasm are the chief essentials to the success 
of any medical organization. There are times, when both are hard to 
maintain, hence there were intervals when attendance upon, and inter- 
est in the meetings languished, — but never died. Speaking of this to one 
of our older members some months ago, he said: 

"There was a time, when I was president, secretary, general man- 
ager, and quorum of this thing, and we did business right along." Spirit 
of that sort will live forever! 

The writer has watched the proceedings of this society for over a 
quarter of a century, which probably accounts for the many words in 
this article in its behalf. The secretary is considered the man at the 
throttle, whether justly so or not, I cannot say. Among the secretaries 
of the society who should go down in history, I may mention Dr. John 
H. Rothwell, of Liberty, who served for many faithful years. Not only 
did he bear the shortcomings of the membership, if there were any, 
but he also bore the expen.ses . . Then came Dr. J. F. Matthews, also of 
Liberty, who did the same thing for two decades, more or less. Dr. 
Matthews became honored with the presidency of the State Boai'd of 
Health, and soon was loaded "to the guards" with war work, which 
compelled him to practically sun-ender his practice, in the service of his 
country. The only apparent reason for a change of secretaries, when 
the writer was elected, some six years ago, was the humane desire to 
shift the burden to new, if not younger shoulders. 

When the serenity of "Old Gloiy" was menaced by the threat of 
a dangerous foe, the Clay County Medical Society sprang to arms as one 
man! Sometimes it takes war to show the stuff of which the civilian is 



228 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

made. "Every man a volunteer" became the slogan of the Clay County 
medical profession. The true M. D. does not need conscription when duty 
calls. I consider it an honor to name the following participants in the 
recent unparalleled war. Would that a better historian than I might 
have this privilege! 

Dr. George M. Dagg, of North Kansas City, sen'ed during the entire 
war, was decorated with the Croix de Guerre and medals for distinguished 
service. Dr. Burton Maltby, of Liberty, participated in the surgery of 
the awful conflict, and won medals for bravery in America's cause. Dr. 
H. O. Leinhardt, of North Kansas City, one of the first to enlist, rendered 
efiicient sei-vice. Dr. John F. Grace, after intensive training, embarked, 
and did not come back "till it was over, over there." Excelsior Springs 
is proud of Dr. Grace. Di-. Roy H. Milligan, of Kearney, was one of the 
brave young men, who locked his office, without a word, and risked his life 
for America, in the American Expeditionary Forces, now famous. 

None the less patriotic, and none the less desen'^ing of our country's 
gratitude, were the boys who were ready to sail when the armistice was 
flashed over the wires: 

With the rank of captain, Dr. J. E. Musgi-ave trained in Fort Riley 
and Camp Pike; Dr. Young D. Craven, at Lea\enworth and Camp Dix; 
Dr O. C. O'kell at Leavenworth and Camp Zachary Taylor; Dr. J. Ed. 
Baird, at Camp Oglethorpe; Dr. E. L. Parker, at Fort Riley; Lieutenant 
Dr. Andrew Grace trained at Fort Riley, and served regular at Salt Lake 
University; Dr. Roy W. Prather at Fort Riley — all the above from Ex- 
celsior Springs. 

From Smithville, Dr. E. C. Hill took intensive training at Camp 
Kearney; Dr. Howard Calvert, ready at his country's call, trained at 
Fort Riley; Dr. S. R. McCracken, then a senior medical student, joined 
the medical resei-ve corps, and was transferred to an army medical train- 
ing school ; was on duty when the armistice was signed. Dr. George A. 
McCulloch trained at Fort Riley, from Excelsior Springs. And last but 
not least. Dr. G. P. Alton, of Gashland, served in the medical corps, with 
honors, until the close of the war. 

As may be imagined, the drain upon medical service in the well- 
populated areas was heavy, and the men, women, and children at home, 
were faced with a shortage of physicians. And the healthful clijnate 
of Clay County became saturated with the deadly gemis of influenza. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 229 

The entire population was in danger. Thousands were stricken. It 
was then that the true physician battled, even beyond his strength. Gray 
heads and pudgy forms were traversing the country roads day and night, 
because duty demanded. These men were patriots as well: 

At Excelsior Springs— Dr. T. N. Bogart, Dr. J. T. Rice, Dr. S. D. 
Henry, Dr. W. J. James, Dr. C. H. Suddarth, Dr. J. A. Hodam, Dr. S. R. 
Keith, Dr. M. D. L. Isley, Dr. E. Lowrey, Dr. W. S. Wallace, Dr. D. T. 
Polk, Dr. H. J. Clark, Dr. R. E. Montgomery, Dr. J. J. Gaines. 

At Liberty — Dr. E. H. Miller, in addition to his practice, was presi- 
dent of the Medical Advisory Board ; Dr. J. H. Rothwell, Dr. R. E. Sevier, 
members of Advisory Board ; Dr. W. H. Goodson, Dr. W. L. Wysong, and 
Dr. W. N. Cuthbertson, who ser*ved continuously on the "Local Board" 
during the entire war period. 

At Holt— Dr. H. L. Tadlock ; at Nashua, Dr. E. E. Peterson ; at Smith- 
ville. Dr. J. F. Rupe, Dr. Wicker and Dr. R. J. Woods; at North Kansas 
City, Dr. H. M. Dagg, and I must acknowledge here, that if I have omitted 
any name, it has been solely because of my limited capacity, in obtaining 
data. 

It remains to fuithei' illustrate the completeness of the Clay County 
Medical Society's war organization, for me to give the personnel of the 
Auxuliary Medical Defense Committee: 

In Excelsior Spi'ings — Drs. H. J. Clark, E. C. Robichaux, Dr. J. E. 
Baird, J. T. Rice, J. J. Gaines, C. H. Suddarth. In Liberty— Drs. E. H. 
Miller, J. H. Rothwell, R. E. Sevier, W. H. Goodson, and W. N. Cuthbert- 
son ; F. H. Matthews. In Kearney — Drs. Rowell and J. W. Epler. 

Many of the above quota of Medical Defense men and members of 
the Volunteer Medical Service Corps, held from one to four positions on 
the various war boards, without a single slacker or drafted man. 

The necrology of the Clay County Medical Society must not be 
omitted in a history of this character. These men still live in the memo- 
ries of their successors: Drs. J. M. Allen, M. A. Ashley, A. C. Major, 
R. E. Montgomeiy, A. C. Donovan, and J. T. Rice — these in the more re- 
cent years. May we open the door on the more remote past? Dr. W. J. 
Yates, Kearney ; Dr. S. N. Denham, Kearney ; Dr. W. Porterfield, Kearney ; 
Dr. Y. Pinkston, Missouri City; Dr. J. L. Mizener, Smithville, Dr. Jones, 
Barry ; Dr. Marsh, Liberty ; Dr. Samuel Sheetz, of Greenville, and Drs. 
Posey, Chapman and Harrison, of Missouri City, must not be omitted 



230 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

. . . The white marble shafts will ever point heavenward over these men 
who are not dead! Merely absent in discharge of duty. 

Doctor J. M. Allen. For seventy-seven years, an active, pulsating 
figure in the profession of medicine. Courageous to the last, handsome 
of face, splendid of figure, towering in character, would that this poor 
pen could add one scintilla to the memory of his excellence! How many 
owe their lives to his dauntless energy and skill ! How many of his 
students owe their successful lives to inspiration of contact with him! 
The wi'iter acknowledges both . . . And it is on personal responsibility 
that we assert that Dr. J. M. Allen did more to elevate the profession of 
medicine, and more for the Clay County Medical Society than any man 
of his time! He sought positions of high character, lived up to them to 
the letter . . . And his memory will never die — those who knew and 
loved him number many thousands ... I cannot say more. 

The present membei-ship of the Clay County Medical Association is 
made up of thirty-nine participating physicians. The official roster for 
1920 is, president, Dr. R. H. Milligan; vice-president. Dr. W. H. Goodson; 
secretary-treasurer. Dr. J. J. Gaines ; censors, Drs. Burton Maltby, W. J. 
James, and W. H. Goodson. The meetings are held monthly, alternating 
between Liberty and Excelsior Springs, the last Monday evening in each 
month. 

All of the illustrious founders of the society, have imssed into that 
peaceful realm, where the foes of human happiness no longer defy them 
. . . But, sometimes, when the lights burn low in the council chamber, 
fi-om out of the shadows and the silence, beloved faces, and strangely- 
familiar voices seem to emanate, and to add an indescribable sweetness 
to the hour. 



CHAPTER XIX 



ROAD BUILDING. 



NEEL» OF OOOLi ROADS— MOVEMK.NT iN CLAY COUNTY IN ISlie— $1,250,000.00 BONt>8 
VOTED— WORK DELAYED BY WORLD WAIt— COD. E. M. STAYTON IN CHARGE 
—WORK ACCOMPDISHED AND IN I'ROGKESS— HOW THE FEDERAL GOVERN- 
MENT AND STATE COOPERATES IN GOOD ROADS BUILDING 

How true it is that no one needs good road.s quite so badly as thie 
progressive and up-t^j-date fanner. The up-hill and muddy roads fall 
heavily on him; and the longer the distances he must haul hLs produce 
and his supi^lies over had road.s, the heavier and more grievous the bur- 
den. Better roads makes inciease in land values, and invite the very 
be.st class of citizenship. The best of farming calls for quick and cheap 
transportation; the people of enterprise must have schools and churches 
that are easily accessible; the people of this day and generation are gre- 
garious and .social, and demand good road facilities so that the country 
residents will not be hampered in .social intercourse and enjoyment. 
Scarcely a family in Clay County is without an automobile, and trucks 
for the transportation of the products of the farms to markets are in- 
creasing in numbers. It is a rare occurrance to see a vehicle drawn by 
horses upon our public roads. Old Dobbin ha.s p)-actically been relegated 
to simple labor in fields at home. The people of Clay County, in the spring 
of 1916, held meetings in various parts of the county to get an expression 
of the people as to their views as to a proper time to commence the 
bruilding of rock or turnpike roads in the county, and if then was the 
right time, how much money would they be willing should be expended 
for that purpose. A government official gave an e.stimate of $1,2.50,000. 



232 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

From the concensus of opinion thus obtained, it was believed that the 
people would willingly vote over $1,000,000 for such kinds of roads to be 
built in the county. 

On June 26, 1916, an election was held, and the people, by an over- 
whelming majority, voted bonds to the amount of $1,250,000, be issued 
to erect turnpike roads in different parts of the county. Soon the World 
War was declared and plans for the construction of the roads were de- 
layed. As soon, however, as the armistice was signed, and our soldiers 
had returned to their homes, the county court employed as chief en- 
gineer of the roads to be built, Col. E. M. Stayton, of Jackson County, a 
colonel of engineers in France, with our army of occupation; no more 
capable man could have been found in the State. For more than a year 
up to August 1920, Col. Stayton and his assistants have graded a large 
part of the roads to be built, and also aided by the efficient and worthy 
county engineer and surveyor. Earl Denny, the roads thus far graded, 
will be completed during the year 1921. As the work progresses, the 
state and government contribute to the end in view. Already the county 
has received from this source $54,357.58, and as the work goes on, so 
the state and government contribute stated stipends, and will continue 
to make the contributions until really the roads are completed. The time 
is not far distant when Clay County will have the best system of roads 
in the state. All that is needed for full and ample transportation, quick 
and serviceable, is the completion of these roads, which, coupled with the 
service of the Kansas City, Clay County and St. Joseph Railroad, an 
electric road now doing an immense business between Kansas City, Lib- 
erty and Excelsior Springs, and Kansas City and St. Joseph, is all that 
is needed to make Clay County the most desirable location in the State 
for agricultural and other pursuits. 

In spite of the delays incident to the prosecution of the greatest 
wars; in the face of strikes which have crippled the transportation sys- 
tems of the country and reduced the output of necessaiy materials of 
construction to a degree unprecedented in the history of the nation, the 
program of co-operative highway construction, laid down in 1916, has 
been adhered to and the results which have been obtained thus far stamp 
the plan as an unqualified success. 

One of the earliest and most far-reaching results, directly attribut- 
able to the federal aid act, was the creation of adequate state highway 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 233 

departments in seventeen states, which previously had either no state 
department at all or which had departments insufficiently equipped to 
perform necessary functions. In one year, after the passage of the act, 
more constructive state highway legislation was placed upon the statute 
books than had ever before been enacted in the history of the country 
in a similar period, and a condition was brought about which otherwise 
would not have been reached in five or ten yeai-s. This legislative activity 
was a direct consequence of the conditions imposed upon the states by 
the federal aid act. 

The insistence of the government upon the construction of federal 
aid I'oads under the supervision of engineers of the state departments 
has resulted in the placing of more and more of the road work of the 
country under skilled supervision. In 1915, the year before the federal 
aid act was passed, only 30 per cent of the expenditure for roads and 
bridges built in the United States were expended under the supervision 
of state highway departments. This year the state departments will ex- 
ercise control over fully 80 per cent of the large sums that will be spent 
for road construction. 

In 1915 the total expenditure for roads and bridges by all the states 
and local governments was only $287,000,000. This year it is estimated 
that the funds available for main road construction are approximately 
$633,000,000. The willingness of the public to appropriate these greatly 
ina-eased sums is largely traceable to the confidence which has been in- 
spired by the creation and strengthening of the state highway depart- 
ments, the immediate cause of which was the federal aid act. 

The manner in which the large sums of federal money have been 
apportioned among the states is an accomplishment which has seldom 
been referred to, but it should be, nevertheless, a source of gratification 
to all the agencies which have co-operated in the work. In all, the sum 
of $266,750,000 has been divided among forty-eight states to the entire 
satisfaction of all interests involved, and without the slightest sugges- 
tion of impropriety or the least suspicion of favoritism. 

The actual road operations under the act thus far involve the ap- 
proval of projects the aggregate length of which would span the distance 
between New York and San Francisco nine times, and the estimated 
cost of which is greater than that of the Panama canal. Under construc- 
tion at the present time there are 15,944 miles of road, equivalent in 



234 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

length to live roads from the Atlantic to the Pacific; and the equivalent 
of 5,500 miles of road has been completed. 

Sixty per cent of the total allotment of federal funds which has 
been approved to date will be spent for roads of such durable type as 
bituminous concrete, Portland cement, concrete and vitrified brick; and 
these roads when they are built will increase by 7,600 miles the total of 
14,400 miles of roads of the class which existed in the whole UniJted 
States the year before the enactment of the federal aid law. 

In their contract with the government the states have given assur- 
ance that every mile of road constructed will be properly maintained; 
in fact, the requirements of the federal aid act have been directly re- 
sponsible for the enactment of laws in a number of states providing spe- 
cifically for the maintenance of all roads constructed, whether with or 
without federal aid. 

Under the law the secretaiy of agriculture is charged with the ad- 
ministration of the provisions of the federal aid act. He in turn has 
delegated the duty of caring for the details of administration to the 
bureau of public roads. This bureau was at the time of the passage of 
the act, and is now, in closer touch with the highway situation and re- 
quirements of the country as a whole than any other agency in the 
United States. Under any other agency federal operation would have 
been delayed to permit of the acquisition of necessary pieliminary data, 
which the bureau of public roads had at hand, ready to utilize without 
delay. 

The organization under the chief of the bureau of public roads, 
which cares for the details of the administration of federal ai|d funds, 
consists of a headquarters force headed by the chief engineer in the 
Washington office, and thirteen district engineers in charge of the work 
in thirteen groups of states. The districts vary in size. One embi-aces 
only one state, Califomia; others include four or five states; the largest 
one includes eight states. The district engineers are assisted by a num- 
ber of engineers who have supervision over sections of the disti'ict work. 
Where the work is sufficiently heavy to wan-ant it, one or more resident 
engineers have been placed in a state. In other districts, men are as- 
signed by the district engineer to cover special states, but do not have 
headquarters in those states. These men are authorized to approve slight 
changes in plans which become necessary as the work progresses, such 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 235 

as changes in the size of waterways, location of culverts, slight changes 
in grade and alignment, and even more important changes, providing 
they do not involve the government in additional expense. By tims 
making it possible to effect minor engineering adjustments on the ground, 
a great deal of time is saved, which would be lost if it were necessary to 
refer such matters to Washington. 

The federal aid act requires that projects for federal aid be initiated 
by the states. As the first step, a statement is forwarded to the dis- 
trict engineer in authority, announcing, in effect, that the state pro- 
poses to build a piece of road of a certain type and length in a certain 
location. This statement is known as the project statement, and it ils 
always accompanied by an approximate estimate of the cost of the pro- 
posed construction. The project statement is examined by the district 
engineer with the puiTiose of determining whether the project complies 
with the federal aid road act. If, i)n his opinion it does, he forwards 
the statement to the Washington office with his recommendation. It is 
there examined by the chief engineer and his assistants, and, if the chief 
engineer concurs in the recommendation of the district engitneer, the 
project is placed before the secretary of agriculture by the chief of the 
bureau, with the recommendation of the bureau, for his approval. 

Until the secretary has signified that the United States will co- 
operate, no further action is taken by the state. If the secretary ap- 
proves, the state is so notified, and it then proceeds to prepare detailed 
plans, specifications and estimates for the work. According to recent 
reports over half of the projects handled are passed by the district offices 
in an average of five days. Greater delay at this stage is generally due 
to the necessity for careful investigation to determine whether the road 
proposed is of sufficient importance to warrant the expenditure of fed- 
eral money upon it. When these doubtful points are cleared up the 
prompt passage of the project to approval by the secretary is practically 
assured, as is shown by the fact that 90 per cent of all projects received 
at Washington are passed by the bureau in an average of four days. 

After the plans and specifications have been prepared by the states 
they are submitted to the district engineers, together with a revised esti- 
mate of cost based on the carefully computed quantities of work to be 
done. A representative of the district engineer, either the federal en- 
gineer resident in the state or one especially assigned, makes an inspec- 
tion of the site of the proposed work, and on this inspection the district 



236 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

engineer bases his recommendation for approval or disapproval of the 
plans. Very frequently the federal engineer does not wait until the plans 
are completed, but goes, over the road to be built with the state engineer, 
pencil profile in hand, and he is often able in this way to suggest changes 
in the plans as contemplated which facilitate their approval when they 
are completed. 

As soon as the plans, specifications and estimates are recommended 
for approval by the district engineer the state may advertise for bids and 
let the contract. There may be minor adjustments and changes to be 
made in the plans before they are finally approved by the secretary, but 
generally speaking the states do not wait for all these matters to be 
cleared up before they initiate work on the project. The records of the 
bureau of public roads show that the plans, specifications and estimates 
for over half of the projects are passed through the district offices in an 
average of five and one-half days and about 90 per cent receive the ap- 
proval of the chief engineer in three and one-half days. Delays at this 
stage of the project are generally due to difference of judgment which 
are serious enough to be given special consideration. 

After the plans, specifications, and estimates have been approved, 
the co-opei-ation of the government is practically assured. The signing 
of the foiTTial project agreement follows in due course, but it is not 
necessary that the work be delayed pending this foiTnality. The au- 
thority granted by the secretary to proceed with construction before the 
formal completion of the agreement has practically removed all cause 
for criticism of the government on the ground of delay. 

To cover the cost of administrative work of the government, an 
amount not to exceed 3 per cent of the total appropriation for federal 
aid is reserved. As the total cost of fedei*al aid projects is more than 
twice the amount of the federal aid apportionment to them, the ad- 
ministrative allowance is really less than li/i per cent of the total cost 
of the roads constructed. 

Up to June 30, 1920, 2,985 projects involving a total of 29.319.3 miles 
of road had been approved by the secretary of agriculture. The prelimi- 
nary estimate of the cost of these projects is $384,916.819..53, of which 
$163,841,503.93 will be approved as federal aid. On the same date 2,116 
projects, representing approximately 15,944 miles, had either been com- 
pleted or were under construction. The estimated total cost of these 
projects in various stages of construction and completion is $200,000,000. 



CHAPTER XX 



DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



ALEXANDER DONIPHAN CHAPTER. 



By Mrs. Robert S. Withers. 

OBJECT — ORGANIZED IN 1909— COU ALEXANDER DONIPHAN— ACTIVITIES— MEM- 
BERS HONORED BY STATE ORGANIZATION— WORLD WAR WORK— ACTIVE 
RESIDENT MEMBERS— NON-RESIDENT MEMBERS — TRANSFERRED TO OTHER 
CHAPTERS — WITHDRAWN— DECEASED. 

Alexander Doniphan Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, an organization devoted exclusively to patriotic and historical in- 
terests, was formed in Liberty on March 6, 1909, receiving from the Na- 
tional Society D. A. R. the chapter number of 848. In choosing a name, 
the charter members honored Col. Alexander Doniphan, who was a resi- 
dent of Liberty at the time of the Mexican War and who led a regiment 
of Missouri volunteers in a victorious expedition to Old Mexico in 1846- 
1847, bringing fame to himself and to his men. 

The activities of the chapter have been three-fold. Americaniza- 
tion worlc has been carried on by encouraging students at William Jewell 
College, Liberty Ladies' College (before it burned) and the High School 
to give special effort to work in American History, in essay contests for 
gold medals. 

Historical interest has led to the collecting and compiling of much 



238 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

valuable county history data. To aid in this work pioneers of the county 
were persuaded to write articles dealing with conditions and life in the 
county's youth. In 1912, Mr. Dan Carpenter, who came to Clay County 
in 1845 at the age of twenty years, wrote a series on the churches, the 
schools, the mills, the cemeteries, the social customs and the homes of 
Clay County. These articles were published in the Liberty Tribune. 

A government marker was secured for the grave of Richard P. 
Simms, a soldier of the Revolution who is buried seven miles north of 
Liberty. After being properly inscribed, it was placed, in 1912, by his 
great-great-grandson, Robert S. Withers, the regent's husband. 

The Chapter has the nucleus of a valuable historical library and a 
few interesting relics. 

As a patriotic organization, Alexander Doniphan Chapter, D. A. R., 
has even been to the front with inspiring celebrations of special days 
in our nation's history. Washington's Birthday and Flag Day, June 
14th, have witnessed many beautiful spectacles and interesting fetes. 
Sometimes the program has featured patriotic addresses, at others music 
has been the chief interest, again family heirlooms and precious relics 
have held the center of the state and yet again charming hospitality 
alone has gi-aced the occusion. 

On Feb. 22, 1919. the Chapter held a memorial service for the nine- 
teen Clay County men who died in service in the World War. This was 
the only service held in the county for all the county's gold star men 
and was earned out in the most tender and inspiring manner. At the 
close, the Honor Roll, a very artistic production from the pen of Robert 
S. Withers, was unveiled and crowned with a wreath of leaves. Later it 
was placed at the south entrance of the Court House, where it hangs 
under its glass cover, as yet. the only memorial erected in honor of our 
World War dead. 

One thing done by the Liberty D. A. R. in 1912 called for editorial 
comment in the Kansas City papers and received newspaper publicipf 
as far as New York. 

No Star-Spangled Banner had floated over the Court House since 
the Federals were in possession of the county during the Civil War. The 
Daughters of the American Revolution, true to their code of patriotism, 
deplored this and petitioned the County Court to buy a United States 
flag and p)ovide a staff. The court granted the petition and on Novem- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 239 

ber 4, 1912, Old Glory was unfurled above the Court House at Liberty 
for the first time in fifty-one years. Mr. John Will Hall, State Com- 
mander of the Confederate Veterans, a resident of Liberty, officiated as 
flag raiser. This was an interesting point in the ceremonies, as he had 
also been the one to hoist the Confederate flag above the same Court 
House in 1861. Such captions as "Into the Union at Last" appeared in 
the headlines of metropolitan papers and the event was heralded as a real 
news item. 

The Daughters presented a handsome United States Hag and oak 
case to the Liberty Public Schools at the same time and instiftuted the 
Flag Salute and proper observances among the school children. 

The progressiveness of the local Chapter has met with recognition 
away from home, different members having been appointed to important 
state and national committees. Mrs. Ethel Massie Withers sei-ved as 
chairman of State Credentials Committee in 1914, and chainnan of Reci- 
procity Bui'eau in 1914-1915. Mrs. Temperance Lightburn Thomason 
sei-ved a term as state chairman of International Relations Committee. 

The Chapter has been honored with one state office, Mrs. Ethel 
Massie Withers having been elected State Historian in 1915 for a temi 
of two years. As State Historian her work received conimendatiion from 
the National organization. Her biggest work was the preparation of an 
illustrated lecture "Pioneering in Missouri." This covers the period 
from 1735 to 1860 and gives a comprehensive view of early settlements 
and development. With it go 157 slides depicting the earliest scenes, 
many of the first buildings, typical homes and portraits of the pioneers 
themselves. This lecture was given by Mrs. Withers at the State Con- 
ference in Louisiana, Missouri, in October, 1916, where it was heard by 
Floyd C. Shoemaker, who gave it favorable mention in the Missouri 
Historical Review. Later the lecture was sent on tour and was given in 
many towns of the State, including St. Louis, Kansas City, Springfield, 
Kirksville, Marshall, Liberty, etc. The lecture manuscript in printed 
form and the slides are now with the Missouri State Historical Society 
at Columbia. 

In 1916, Governor Major named Mrs. Withers as one of the members 
of the Missouri State Centennial Committee of One Thousand, and in 
1920 she was appointed to represent Clsy County on the Centennial 



240 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

Committee, formed to promote the celebration of Missourifs entry into 
statehood, at the State Fair in Sedalia, in August, 1921. 

During the World War, the women of the D. A. R. joined intensively 
in all war activities and gave leaders to many. Mrs. Margaret Wood- 
son Haiper had charge of all Red Cross sewing in the county. Mrs. 
Ethel Massie Withers was chairman of the Clay County Woman's Com- 
mittee, Council of Defense, County Food chairman, and member of the 
County Council of Defense. Mrs. Gladys Cook Davidson waa county 
chairman of Women's Registration, member of the County Council of 
Defense and secretary and publicity chairman of the Liberty Branch of 
the Red Cross. Mrs. Anne Ellis Fleet was county chaimnan of Speakers 
in the Woman's Committee Council of Defense. Mrs. Margaret Thoma- 
son Smith and Mrs. Loutie Clark Soper were chairmen of Kearney and 
Liberty townships in the Woman's Committee Council of Defense. Ev- 
ery member gave valiant individual service. 

In peace, as in war, Alexander Doniphan Chapter furnishes leaders 
in public activities. Mrs. Harper and Mrs. Davidson continue on the 
official board in the Red Cross Home Sei-vice work; Mrs. Withers suc- 
ceeded Mrs. Soper as Democratic Committeewoman for Liberty township, 
and is pi'esident of the local Woman's Democratic Club ; Mrs. Luella Hoff- 
man Goodson is in her second very successful year as president of the 
Liberty Fortnightly Study Club. Preceding Mrs. Goodson's regime, that 
office was held by Mrs. Soper for three years, she being the club's second 
president. 

The membership roll from date of organization in March, 1909, to 
the present time, November, 1920, is as follows, notations at the siide 
showing what changes have come with the years. There are at present 
thirty-one active resident and non-resident members — Americans all, 
proud of our heritage which has come through generations of loyal 
American ancestors who have formed the wai-p and woof of our nation's 
glory and whose work it is our duty to carry on. 

Active Resident Members. 

Mrs. Mary Garth Campbell, charter member. 
Mrs. Louise Wilson Miller. 
Miss Katherine Raymond, charter member. 
Miss Louise C. Stogdale, charter member. 



HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 241 

Mrs. Ethel Massie Withers, regent, 1911 to 1914, and December, 
1920, to . 

Mrs. Mary Allen Matthews, regent, January, to November, 1917. 

Mrs. Ella Thompson Owens Williams, regent, January, 1914, to Jan- 
uary, 1916. 

Mrs. Luella Hoffman Goodson. 

Mrs. Temperance Lightburn Thomason. 

Mrs. Maria Gray Snelling, regent, January, 1916-January, 1917. 

Mrs. Margaret Thomason Smith. 

Mrs. Anne Tutt Ellis Fleet. 

Mrs. Gladys Cook Davidson. 

Mrs. Loutie Clark Soper, regent, November, 1917-November, 1920. 

Mrs. Annie James Funkhouser. 

Mrs. Annie Stilwell Gachassin-Lafite. 

Miss Anna Grace Pence. 

Miss Sarah Wallace Yates. 

Mrs. Dora Thomason Atwater. 

Mrs. Margaret Woodson Harper. 

Mrs. Annie Ellen Darby Han-ison. 

Mrs. Lillian Lewis Stuart. 

Mrs. Willie C. Darr Thomas. 

Non-Resident Members. 

Mrs. Enfield Stogdale Lincoln, charter member. 

Mrs. Ozelle Miller Graves, charter member. 

Mrs. May Wilson Wallace McClintic, charter member. 

Mrs. Rosa Hill Dunwoody. 

Mrs. Maude Linn Beasley. 

Mrs. Julia Jordan Funkhouser. 

Mrs. Martha Virginia Montgomery Harrington 

Mrs. Margaret Porter Nail. 

Transferred to Other Chapters. 

Mrs. Bessie Miller Day. charter member. 
Mrs. Mabel Eaton Llewellyn, charter member. 
Mrs. Mary Virgimia Miller Smith, charter member. 



242 HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Mrs. Julia Allen Howard. 
Mrs. Caroline Rood. 
Mrs. Olivia R. Savage. 

Transferred to Daujjhters-at-Large. 

Mrs. Ida Miller Dye, charter member. 

Mrs. Martha McMillan Griffith, regent 1909-1910, charter member. 

Mrs. Martha Roy Raymond Lincoln, charter member. 

Miss Irene Raymond, regent 1910 to Jan. 1911, charter member. 

Mrs. Edna Withers Jones, charter member. 

Withdrawn. 

Mrs. Malvry Atkins Clardy. 

Deceased. 

Mrs. Cora Irene Francisco Wherritt. 
Mrs. Martha Kiersted Crawford. 
Mrs. May Waddill Sevier. 
Mrs. Myrtle Benedict Barrington. 



CHAPTER XXI 

THE PRESS. 



•THE FAR WEST" FOUNDED IN 1S3«— THE WESTERN JOURNAt."— "THE LIBERTT 
BANNER"— "THE WESTERN PIONEER"— "THE DEMOCRATIC PLATFORM"— 
■CLAY COUNTY FLAG"— "LIBERTY WEEKLY UNION"— "THE CLAY COUNTY 
DEMOCRAT"— "RICHFIELD MONITOR"— "THE SENTINEL"- "THE KEARNEY 
CUPPER"— "THE LIBERTY TRIBUNE"— "THE LIBERTY ADVANCE"— "THE EX- 
CELSIOR DAILY CALL"— "EXCELSIOR SPRINGS STANDARD"— "CHRISTIAN 
UNION HERALD"— "CI^Y COUNTY DEMOCRAT"— "CI^Y COUNTY RUSTLER"- 
"CLAY COUNTY NEWS". 

Quite a number of newspaper enterprises have been attempted in 
Clay County, all of which can not now be enumerated. "The Far West" I 
founded in 1836, was edited by Peter H. Burnett, afterward Governor of | 
California. "The Western Journal", founded in 1841, was edited by Leader 
& Ridenbaugh. "The Liberty Banner", founded in 1843, was edited by 
Henry L. Routt and T. W. W. DeCourcey, both lawyers, the former being 
the noted political "War Horse". "The Western Pioneer", founded in 
1844, was founded by William Ridenbaugh and edited by Benjamin Hays. 
"The Democratic Platform", founded in 1853, was owned by Judge James 
T. V. Thompson and edited by Robert S. Kelly. The "Clay County Flag", 
founded in 1860, was edited by C. Denny Dickeraon. 'The Liberty Weekly 
Union", founded in 1867, was edited by Sallyards & Sons. "The Clay 
County Democrat", founded in 1870, was edilted by Holloman & Bowman, 
succeeded by Bowman H. Simons. All the above named were published 
in Liberty and had brief existence. At Missouri City, "The Richfield 
Monitor", founded in 1855, was edited and published by .James C. Vertrees, 
afterward judge of the Probate Court of Clay County. Other papers 
have been published there by George W. Withers, T. L. P. Holloman and 



244 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

othei-s. At Kearney, "The Sentinel", founded in 1875, had a brief exist- 
ence. "The Kearney Clipper" is now being published in Kearney and 
was a long time published and edited by Capt. J. L. Jennett. The publi- 
cations in the county now ure "The Liberty Tribune, founded by Robert 
H. Miller in 1846 and edited by him. This paper has changed ownership 
several times until now it is being edited ?.nd published by Irving Gilmer. 
"The Liberty Advance" founded February 4, 1875, by George E. Patton, 
assisted by Thomas H. Frame. This excellent publication was conducted 
by Patton and Frame for about one year and they were succeeded by 
Thomas H. Frame in 1876, who in 1886, sold to John B. Mun-ay and C. S. 
Murray, brothers, who in 1907, were succeeded by Charles F. Ward, who 
in 1916, were succeeded by C. S. Murray and Chai-les Storms, the latter 
selling his interest to H. H. Boggs in 1917. Murray and Boggs ably con- 
ducted the paper until November 1st. 1919, when Irving Gilmer became 
the sole owner. 

The other newspapers in Clay County are as follows: At Excelsior 
Springs, "The Excelsior Daily Call", the "Excelsior Springs Standard" 
and "The Christian Union Herald", established by Dr. J. V. B. Flack and 
now edited by William Hyder. At Smithville the "Clay County Demo- 
crat". At Holt "The Clay County Rustler" and at North Kansas City, 
"The Clay County News", founded in 1920. Probably in no county in 
the state, outside of the large cities, are there more newspapers pubr 
lished, and certainly in no county in the state where better and more ably 
conducted newspapers can be found. 



CHAPTER XXII. 



THE MORMONS. 



MORMON INI-LIJX TO JACKBON COUNTY IN 1832— TROUBLE IN JACKSON COUNTY- 
TOOK RF:FUGE in CI>AY and other counties— hostilities against MOR- 
MONS — MORMONS ARMED — FORCES CONCENTRATED AT FAR WEST— STATE 
MILITIA CALLED OUT — GENERAL DONIPHAN IN COMMAND— MORMONS SUR- 
RENDER— JOE SMITH AND OTHER LEADERS INDICTED— IN JAIL AT LIBERTY 
—LEADERS SAVED BY DONIITTAN— GOVERNOR HOGGS MURDERED— MOR- 
MONS REMAIN AWAY FROM STATE FOR FIFTY YEARS — AT INDEPENDENCE. 

Joseph Smith, the Morinon Prophet, visited Jackson County just 
prior to 1832, when large numbers of acres of land were purchased for 
settlement by hi.s followers, and during 1832 there was a great influx of 
Mormons to Independence and the western paii of Jack.son County. The 
Mormon.s soon established a printing press and issued therefrom a news- 
paper in which criticisms of the Gentiles of the county were published. 
The Mormons were charged with numei'ous petty larcenies and crimes ; 
whether tnie or not, a bitter hatred arose between the Mormons and 
Gentiles and so intense did this hatred become, that the Gentiles deter- 
mined to drive all Mormons from the county. The Mormon printing press 
was destroyed and the Mormons compelled to leave the county, many 
taking refuge in Clay County, others in Caldwell, Davies and Ray Counties. 
The people of Clay County did not receive the refugees with open arms, 
but with suspicion and no little dread. The conduct of the so-called 
saints in Jackson County was not unheard of or unknown to Clay County. 
After this exodus from Jackson County and settlement of the saints in 
Clay, Ray, Davies and Caldwell Counties, the conduct of the Mormons 



246 HISTORY OF ClAY COUNTY 

were such as to exasperate the Gentiles to such an extent that open 
hostiUties resulted and so alarming did the situation become, especially 
when the Mormons began to concentrate their entire numbers at Far 
West, in Caldwell County, armed with every available weapon of warfare, 
that the governor oi the state was compelled to call out the militia. Two 
companies of militia were ordered from Clay County,' commanded by Cap- 
tain Pryor and 0. P. Moss. These companies were from Gen. A. W. Doni- 
phan's brigade, Maj. Gen. D. R. Atchison's division. The companies from 
Clay County and other companies of General Doniphan's brigade con- 
fronted the breastworks of the Mormons at Far West when surrounding 
the place. General Doniphan demanded the sun-ender of the Mormon 
forces, which were under the command of one G. W. Hinkle. The Mor- 
mon commander seeing resistance in vain, surrendered his forces. Not 
a fire from a hostile gun was heard after a near approach of the militia. 
The conditions of the sun'ender were that the Mormons should deliver up 
their guns, surrender their prominent leaders for trial, and the remainder 
of them with their families leave the state. Joe Smith, Sidney Rigdon, 
Lyman Wight, G. W. Hinkle and other prominent Mormons were held for 
the faithful performance of the conditions of the surrender and to await 
indictments which might be preferred against them. These prominent 
leaders were taken to Richmond, Ray County, before the presiding judge 
of the Circuit Court, Austin A. King, and remanded them to Daviiass 
County, there to await the action of the grand jury on a charge of treason 
against the state and murder. After being taken to Daviess County, it 
was then detennined that the jail of that county was not sufficiently 
safe, when the prisoners were taken to the Liberty jail. 

Indictments by the grand jury of Daviess County Avere found for 
various offenses, — treason, murder, resisting legal process, etc., against 
Joe Sinith, Hiram Smith, brother of Joe, Sidney Rigdon, G. W. Hinkle, 
Caleb Baldwin, Parley P. Pratt, Luman Gibbs, Maurice Phelps, King 
Follett, William Osburn, Arthur Morrison, Elias Higbee and others. Sid- 
ney Rigdon was released on a writ of habeas corpus. The others ob- 
tained a change of venue to Boone County, where some of them were tried 
and acquitted and the indictments against the others dismissed. The 
difficulty in getting the evidence against them, sufficient to convict, there 
being so many interested witnesses to combat the evidence for the state 
was insurmountable. Parley P. Pratt escaped from the jail ki Columbia. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 247 

Gen. A. W. Doniphan and Hon. James S. Rollins were of counsel for the 
defendants who were tried. 

Col. Lewis Wood, of this county, who was present, stated to the com- 
piler that a council of the leading militia officers held the night following 
the surrender, it was voted by nearly three to one to put these leaders to 
death and their lives were only saved by the intervention of General 
Doniphan, who not only urged his authority as a brigadier, but declared 
he would defend the prisoners with his own life. This statement goes 
to show the indignation of the Gentiles toward the Prophet and his fol- 
lowers. These officers knew the difficulty of conviction in court of these 
men by the state, where any number of men stood ready to give evidence 
to establish an alibi, or give other testimony directly in conflict that that 
adduced by the state to establish the innocence of the defendants. Gov- 
ernor Lilburn W. Boggs, who had taken an active part against the Mor- 
mons several years after the Mormons were driven from the state, while 
seated in a chair at his home in Independence was shot. Porter Rock- 
well, a notorious follower of the Prophet was arrested and charged with 
having committed the deed, and although there was evidence against him, 
enough in ordinary cases of the kind to convict, yet the array of witnesses 
for the defense was overwhelming; his brethren had come to hits relief 
in force. There can be no question that m the early organization of the 
Mormon church there were men who from fanatical zeal or other motives, 
brought the early church into disrepute, but it can be said that in these 
latter years, a more law abiding, and in many respects, better class of 
citizens cannot be found. 

For more than fifty years after the Mormons the greater part of 
them had left the state, very few of them, if any, made Jackson County 
their home, but within the last thirty-five years great numbers of Mor- 
mons have settled in and about Independence. One branch of this re- 
ligious denomination is the owner of what is known as "Temple Lot", a 
place where Joe Smith prophesied a great temple dedicated to the Lord 
would be erected. This lot was the property of the writer's father for at 
least a quarter of a century and was sold by him to a preacher of the 
Hedrick faction, a branch of the Mormon church. The Latter Day Saints 
of Utah and this Hedrick branch of the church were in litigation for 
years, each claiming that the property was purchased for the use of the 
Mormon Church and that each was the true church. The Supreme Court 



248 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of Missouri aflSrmed a decision of a lower court in which the decision was 
in favor of the Hendrickites. The Mormons in Jackson County belong 
to that branch of the church known as monogamists, while the Utah 
branch were believers in a plurality of wives and for many years practiced 
and preached plural wives as a doctrine of the church. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 



THE JAMES BOYS. 



NATIVES OF THIS COUNTY— FATHER, REV. ROBERT JAMES, DIED IN CALIFORNIA 
—MOTHER'S SUBSEQLnSNT MARRIAGKS— FRAI>nc JOINS CONFEDERATE ARMY- 
CAPTURED AND PAROLED— AGAIN ARRESTKD— ESCAPES AND BECOMES A 
GUERILLA— RAIDS— MOTHER ARRESTED BY FEDERALS— JESSE "WENT TO 
THE BUSH" — TWICE WOtTNDED — CAREERS OF BRIGANDAGE— PURSUIT KEPT 
UP BY LOCAL OFFICERS— PINKERTON DETECTIVE AND DANIEL ASKEW 
KILLED— END OF CAREERS— LITTLE KNOWN IN CLAY COUNTY. 

No attempt will be made in this history to give a detailed histoi-y of 
the noted bandit brothers known familiarly, not only throughout the 
United States, but in Europe, as the James boys. It is only from the 
fact that they were natives of the county and for a time resided here 
that they are mentioned at all. Other publications profess to narrate 
their exploits and their career correctly, but whether they do so or not 
is no affair of the publisher hereof, and perhaps of but little consequence 
to any one. What is set down here may be relied on as accurate, how- 
ever, and is given with the partial knowledge of its truth on the part 
of a large majority of the readers. 

Alexander Franklin .James was bom in thi.s county, January 10, 1843. 
Jesse Woodson James was born in the' house where his mother now lives, 
in Kearney township, September ,5, 1847. Both boys were raised on 
their mother's fai'm in this county, to their early manhood, except for a 
time during and inimediately subsequent to the Civil War. What little 
education they ix)ssessed was obtained at the common county schools of 
their neighborhood. Neither of them ever attended any other sort of 
school. 



250 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

In 1850, their father, Rev. Robert James, as mentioned elsewhere, 
went to California and there died soon after his arrival. He was a Bap- 
tist minister, a man of good education, and universally respected. 

In 1851, the widow James — whose maiden name was Zerelda Cole — 
was again married to a Mr. Simms, also of this county, a widower with 
children. At the time of her second marnage she was twenty-six yeai-s 
of age and her husband was fifty-two. The union proved unhappy and 
in less than a year was terminated by a separation. The lady alleges 
that the chief trouble arose from the fact that her three little children, 
Frank, Jesse and Susie, whom she had always humored and indulged, 
gave their old step-father no end of annoyance. He insisted that she 
should send them away and to this she once agreed, but her near relatives 
informed her that if she did so they would never more recognize her and 
so she separated from Mr. Simms, who, she yet alleges, always treated 
her with kindness and for whose memory she still has great respect. He 
died not long after the separation and some time afterwards Mrs. Simms 
was married to Dr. Reuben Samuel. 

In the fall of 1861, when eighteen years of age, Frank James volun- 
teered in the Confederate service, becoming a member of Captain Minter's 
company, Hughes' regiment, Stein's division. He was present at the cap- 
ture of Lexington and marched with Price's aiiny into southwest Missouri. 
At Springfield he was taken with measles and on the retreat of Price's 
army before General Curtis, in February, 1862, he was left behind in the 
hospital. The Federals, when they captured Springfield, took him pris- 
oner, paroled him, and he returned home to his mother's farm in Kearney 
township. He was arrested by Colonel Penick in the following early 
summer and released on a $2,000 bond. He returned to his home and 
went to work. 

From time to time Frank James was accused of having aided and 
abetted the Confederate cause in violation of his parole. The accusations 
may or may not be true, but in the early spring of 1863 he was again 
arrested, taken to Liberty and cast into jail. From here lie contrived to 
make his escape and soon afterwards, while a fugitive he determined "to 
go to the brush", as the phrase then was. and accordingly joined a small 
band of bushwhackers under the leadership of Fernando Scott. This 
was in May, 1863, and a few days later he took pait in the i-aid on Mis- 
souri City, when Captain Sessions and Lieutenant Grafenstein were killed. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 251 

Thereafter he was a bushwhacker until the close of the war, winding up 
his career with Quantrell in Kentucky. During his career as a guerrilla 
Frank James participated in three or four skirmishes with the Federals 
in this county. 

In May, 1863, soon after Frank James had gone to the brush, a de- 
tachment of Capt. J. W. Tumey's company of Clinton County militia, 
under Lieut. H. C. Culver, accompanied by Lieut. J. W. Younger, with a 
few Clay County militia, visited the Samuels homestead in search of 
James and his companions. Failing to find them, they sought by threats 
and violence to force the ^members of the family to give them certain 
infomiation they desired. Doctor Samuel was taken out and hung by the 
neck until nearly exhausted and the boy Jesse, then not quite sixteen 
years old, who was plowing in the field, was whipped very severely. 

A few weeks later, Doctor and Mrs. Samuel were arrested by the Fed- 
erals and taken to St. Joseph, accused of "feeding and harboring bush- 
whackers". This was the charge prefen-ed against Mrs. Samuel, but no 
charge whatever was ever filed against Doctor Samuel. Miss Susie James 
was not arrested. Mrs. Samuel had her two small children with her at 
the St. Joseph prison and three months later another child was born. 
She was released by Col. Chester Harding after two weeks' imprisonment 
and sent home on taking the oath. Doctor Samuel was released about the 
same time. While Doctor and Mrs. Samuel was absent in St. Joe their 
household was in charge of Mrs. West, a sister of Mrs. Samuel. 

Jesse James remained at home during the year 1863, and with the 
assistance of a negro man raised a considerable crop of tobacco. The 
next summer, in June, 1864, a year after he had been cruelly whipped by 
'the militia, he too "went to the brush", joinioig Fletch. Taylor's band of 
bushwhackers, of which his brother Frank was a member. He was pres- 
ent when the Bigelow brothers were killed and took part in the capture 
of Platte City, where he and other bushwhackers had their ambrotype 
pictures taken. The original picture of Jesse James is yet in possession 
of his family, but copies have recently been made and sold throughout 
the country. While with Bill Anderson's company on the way to Howard 
County, in August, 1864, Jesse was badly wounded by an old German 
Unionist named Heisinger, who lived in the southern part of Ray County, 
at Heisinger's Lake. Three or four bushwhackers went to Heisinger's, 
got something to eat and were looking about the premises when the old 



252 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

man tired upon them from a sorghum patch, put a bullet through Jesse 
James' right lung and routed the party. This practically ended his career 
as a bushwhacker. His companions hid him away and one Nat. Tigue 
nursed him for a considerable time. 

It was a long time until Jesse was able to be in the saddle again. In 
February, 1865, in the rear of Lexington, when coming in with some 
others to surrender, he was fired on by a detachment of Federals belong- 
ing to the Second Wisconsin Cavalry and again shot through the right 
lung. From this wound he did not recover for many months. He was 
nursed bj his comrades, then by his aunt, Mrs. West, in Kansas City, and 
at last taken by his sister. Miss Susie, to Rulo, Nebi*aska, where the 
Samuel family had been banished the previous summer by order of the 
Federal militai-j' commanders in this quarter. At Rulo, Doctor Samuels 
was making a precarious living in the practice of his profession — medi- 
cine — and here the young gueiTilla lay until in August, 1865, when th^ 
family returned to their Clay County farm. Jesse united with the Bap- 
tist Chuixh sometime in 1868. 

When, as is alleged, the James brothei-s entered upon their life of 
brigandage and robbeiy, their associates were those of the old guerrilla 
days and it is but true to say that this life succeeded to or was born of 
the old bushwhacking career. Not every old Confederate bushwhacker 
became a bandit, for many of the most desperate of Quantrell's, Todd's 
and Anderson's men became quiet, reputable citizens, but at the first 
evei-y bandit in western Missouri was an ex-guerrilla. 

After the Gallatin bank robbery the civil authorities of this county 
began the chase after the now noted brothers and kept it up for years, 
or until Jesse was killed m April, 1882, and Frank surrendered. The 
pursuit was considered by each Clay County sheriflT as a pait of his regular 
duties and ti*ansmitted the same as the books and papers of his oflice to his 
successor. 

Lack of space forbids an enumeration of the many adventures of the 
officers of this county in their efforts to capture the James boys and their 
partners. One fact must be borne in mind. Every sheriff woi'ked faith- 
fully and bravely to discharge his duties. The heroic and desperate fight 
near the Samuel residence between the intrepid Capt. John S. Thomason 
and his brave young son, Oscar, and the two brothers, when the Captain's 
horse was killed ; the night fight made by Capt. John S. Grooms ; the many 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 253 

expeditions by night and day in season and out of season, by Thomason, 
Grooms, Patton and Timberlake can not hei-e be detailed, interesting as 
the incidents tliereof may be. 

Connected with the careei' of the bandit brothers, may be briefly 
mentioned the attempt of Pinkerton's detectives to effect their capture — 
an attempt blunderingly and brutally made and ignominously failing, re- 
sulting in the killing of little Archie Peyton Samuel, the tearing off of 
Mrs. Samuel's right arm, the wounding of other members of the family, 
and the complete discomliture of the attacking party of detectives. 
Whether or not, either or both of the James boys and another member 
of the band participated in this melee and whether or not one of the 
detectives was killed, can not here be stated. 

The murder of Daniel Askew, the nearest neighbor of Doctor Samuel, 
which occurred a few weeks after Pinkerton's raid, has always been at- 
tributed to one or both of the James brothers, though the charge is 
stoutly denied by their friends. Askew was called out one night and 
shot dead on his doorstep. A detective named J. W. Whicher, who, as 
he: himself avowed, came to this county to plan in some way the capture 
of the brothers, was taken across the Missouri River into Jackson County 
and killed by somebody in Jackson County, March 10, 1874. 

That any considerable portion of the people of the county ever gave 
aid or comfort or countenance to the bandits who infested Missouri, 
whether the James boys, or who ever they were, is so prepostei'ously 
untrue that there is no real necessity for its denial. Not one person in 
one hundred of the people of the county knew either of the James boys by 
sight and but few more had ever seen them. After they entered upon 
their career of brigandage their visits to the county were so unfrequent 
and unseasonable and so brief that only the very fewest saw them, and it 
was not long ere those who once knew them intimately would not have 
known them had they met them face to face in open day ; for from smooth- 
faced boys they were growing to bearded men and no change is more 
complete than that from adolescence to manhood. 

Moreover, it is most absurd and most unjust, too, that any consider- 
able number such as lived in the county of Clay should be supposed to have 
any sympathy with villainy and villains of any sort. The county is and 
has now been for years full of school houses and churches and abounding 
with Christian men and women who fear God and keep His command- 



254 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ments, and keep themselves aloof from evil associations. Morality and 
love of the right are the rule among our people; immorality and vicious- 
ness the exception. 

That the James boys had a few confederates in Clay County is barely 
possible. Who they were, however, can now never be known. It is prob- 
able that if they existed at all they were few in number and their services 
and the character of their connection unimportant and unconspicuous. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 



THE WORLD WAR. 



PRESIDKNT \VILSON— AMERICAN .PATRIOTISM— SUMMARY OF WAR— PERSONNEL 
OP IX)CAL DRAFT BOARl>— ROSTER OF SOLDIERS AND SAILORS FROM CLAY 
COUNTY— NECROLOGY — HONOR ROLL OF GOLD STARS — AMERICAN EFFORT 
IN THE WORLD WAR— ACHIEVEMENTS OF AMERICAN TROOPS. 

President Wilson, in his speech before Congress on April 6, 1918, used 
these eloquent and forceful words that found spontaneous response in 
the true patriotism of America: 

"Let everything that we say, my fellow countiymen, everything that 
we henceforth plan and accomplish, ring true to this response till the 
majesty and might of our concerted power shall fill the thought and 
utterly defeat the force of those who flout and misprize what we honor 
and hold dear. 

"Germany has once said that force, and force alone, shall decide 
whether justice and peace shall reign in the affairs of men, whether right 
as America conceives it, and dominion, as she conceives, shall determine 
the destinies of mankind. 

"There is therefore but one response for us ; force, force to the 
utmost, force without stint or limit, the righteous and triumphant force 
which will make the law of the world, and cast every selfish dominion 
down in the dust." 

It may not be amiss to state here that Clay County has no German 
citizens, but a goodly number of American citizens of German birth or 
parentage. As a class, they are frugal, saving, prosperous and honest, 
withall good livers. 

Before our entrance to the great war, most of them were in sympathy 
with Germany, and such were not neutral. Germany's great propaganda, 



256 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

in which over $100,000,000 were spent, was insidious. The effect of many 
publications like "The Fatherland" had little to say in favor of their 
government, or of their institutions, but in practically every line eulogized, 
praised and upheld the institutions and theories of the German Empire, 
in direct opposition to American principles and institutions. But with 
the unfurling of Old Glory from the housetops, their hearts beat true, 
and they at once sprang to action, and responded as a class to every call. 
If there were leservations in the minds of a few, the number was indeed 
small, and existed largely in the mitnds of the suspicious. 

By reason of the peculiar situation of this class of our citizens, the 
editor feels called upon to pay this short tribute. We are Americana, 
regardless of the route each has traveled to become one. We are one 
in love of home and country. The names of our boys who toiled, suffered 
and bled in Flanders field are confined to no nationality. Each is a true 
American. 

"About his brow the laurel and the bay 

Was often wreathed — on this our 

Memory dwells — 

Upon whose bier in reverence today 

We lay these imortelles. 

His was a vital, virile, wairior soul; 

If force were needed, he exalted force ; 

Unswerving as the pole star to the pole, 

He held his righteous course. 

He smote at wrong, if he believed it wi-ong. 

As did the Knight, with stainless 

Accolade ; 

He stood for right, unfalteringly strong. 

Forever unafraid. 

With somewhat of the Savant and the 

Sage, 

He was, when all is said and sung 

A 

Man, 

The flower imperishable of his valiant 

Age, 

A ti-ue American." 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 257 

Early Monday morning, November 11, 1918, the news was flashed 
throughout the country that the armistice had been signed. A treaty of 
peace had been signed and our boys are returning to their homes. The 
material is not at hand to give more than the names of those who gave 
their services to theii- country. We are not able to give the promotions 
or special deeds of valor for our boys, for any attempt so to do, with the 
meager information at hand would be unjust to many. 

Summary. 

From "Statistical Summary of the War with Germany" prepared by 
Col. Leonard P. Ayres authorized by the War Department is extracted 
the following, which, of course, is of interest to our readers : 

Among each 100 Americans five took up arms in defense of the 
country. 

During the Civil War ten out of every 100 inhabitants of the North- 
em states served as soldiers or sailors. In that struggle 2,400,000 men 
served in the Northern army and the navy. 

Between April 6, 1917, and November 11, 1918, when the armistice 
went into effect 4,800,000 men constituted our land and naval forces. 
Yet a force proportional to that put forth by the North during the Civil 
War would have produced nearly 10,000,000 American fighting men. 

The British sent to France in their first year of the war more men 
than did the United States in the first twelve months. On the other 
hand, it took England three years to reach a strength of 2,000,000 men 
in France, while the United States was able to place that number across 
the seas in one-half that time. 

The organization of an immense army as that of the United States, 
its equipment and transportation across the ocean has never been equaled 
in the history of the world. 

Two out of every three American soldiers who reached France took 
part in battle. The number that reached France was 2,084,000 and of 
these 1,300,000 were engaged at the front. 

American divisions were in battle for 200 days and engaged in 
thirteen major operations from the middle of August until the armistice. 

The American divisions held during the greater part of the time a 
front longer than that held by the British in October. The American 
divisions held 101 miles of line or 23 per cent of the entire western front. 



258 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

In the battle of Saint Mihiel 550,000 Americans were engaged, as 
compared with 100,000 on the North side in the battle of Gettysburg. 

The artillery fired more than 1,000,000 shells in four hours, which 
is the most intense concentration of artillery fire recorded in the history 
of the world. 

The Meuse-Argonne battle lasted forty-seven days, during which 
1,200,000 American troops were engaged. 

During the period of hostilities two out of eveiy 100 American sol- 
diers were killed or died of disease. The total battle death of all nations 
in this war was greater than the total of all the deaths of all the wars 
in the previous 100 years. 

For every man killed in battle seven Avere wounded. 

Five out of every six men sent to hospitals on account of wounds 
were cured and returned to duty. 

In the expeditionary forces battle deaths were twice as many as 
death from disease. 

The number of American lives lost was 122,500, of which about 
10,000 were in the navy and the rest in the army and marines attached 
to it. 

The war cost of America was $21,850,000,000, or approximately 
$1,000,000 an hour. The greatest number of men sent over seas in a 
single month was 306,000 and the largest returned home in a single 
month at the time of the report was 333,000. 

The supplies shipped from the United States to France was 7,500,000 
tons in nineteen months. 

The registration of men for the draft was 24,234,021 and of these 
2,810,296 were inducted into service. The largest number inducted into 
the service in a single month was 400,000. 

Personnel of the Local Draft Board for Clay County. 

Members of Board — Lonzo P. Sissom, Chairman; Dr. W. N. Cuth- 
bertson, Edgar Archer, Secretary; Laura A. Campbell, Chief Clerk. 

Legal Advisory Board — Ralph Hughes, Chairman ; W. A. Craven, 
James S. Simrall. 

Medical Advisory Board — Dr. E. H. Miller, Chairman ; Dr. J. H. Roth- 
well, Dr. H. Rowell, Dr. J. J. Gaines, Dr. J. T. Rice, Dr. A. M. Tutt. 

Govenunent Appeal Agent — William H. Woodson. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



259 



Roster of Soldiers and Sailors from Clay County, Missouri, in the 
World War. 



Acuff, Leonard Christoph 
Aker, Bryan 
Ambrose, John Wood. 
Archer, Robert 
Arnold, Albert Gay 
Arnote, Peny Floyd 
Ashburn, Austin 
Adamson, Leroy 
Allen, James Lee 
Anderson, Arthur Ray 
Armbruster, Joe L. 
Arnold, George Cleveland 
Arthur, Paul A. 
Asher, Estelle Earl 
Agin, George 
Alton, G. P. 
Anderson, Reuben 
Arnold, Arthur 
Arnold, Walter 
Asbury, Ural Samuel 
Atterbury, Raymond L. 
Babby, Byron Hubert 
Bacon, James 
Bailey, William 
Baker, Lawren William 
Baker, Virgil Lester 
Baldwin, Guy Browning 
Barker, Clyde 
Barnes, Harry Carlyle 
Barnes, William 
BaiTett, Shei-man 
Bassett, Wylie Stackard 
Bates, Karl William 
Beall, Vivian August 



Becket, Cecil B. 
Beery, Wilkerson C. 
Bell, Thaddeus H. 
Benson, Carl Bannard 
Beswick, George Robert 
Bishoo, Clarence Wayne 
Black, Leslie Miller 
Blankenship, Ernest D. 
Blevins, Fred 
Boggess, Eliza 
Boggess, James Collier 
Bostic, George W. 
Boyd, Harold Tydings 
Boyer, Harry Sheridan 
Bratcher, Lee R. 
Breckenridge, Thomas Riley 
Britton, James McKinley 
Brooks, Eugene Orville 
Brown, Hariy Arthur 
Brumage, Alpha 
Bryan, Paul A. 
Bullock, Frank William 
Burnam, Henry Crafton 
Burris, John Bapc 
Bush, James Oscar 
Babcock, George Edwin 
Bagby, Edward B. 
Baker, Holbert 
Baker, Robert H. 
Baker, William N. 
Bales, Floyd B. 
Barlow, L. D. 
Barnes, James 
Baruett, Stanley 



260 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Bartee, Lawrence W. 
Bates, Claude Allyn 
Bates, Kenneth Stanford 
Beatty, Luther 
Beckett, Wilbert Estel 
Beistle, Tiffin O. 
Bell, WUliam D. 
Benson, Vivian Kerr 
Bevins, Riley Sleet 
Black, Clark 
Black, Will Homer 
Blankenship, George W. 
Blevins, William Edward 
Boggess, Frank Owen 
Boggess, Tarleton 
Bower, Allen W. 
Boyer, Olin R. 
Bradley, John Osward 
Breckenridge, Eddie 
Breeden, Frank 
Broderick, Waldo O. 
Brooks, Wylie 
Brown, Lelen Emil 
Brush, Cleo Wyatt 
Bullock, Charles 
Burke, Wilson Pence 
Burnam, Joseph 
Burriss, Thomas Ganes 
Butts, Tipton 
Bacon, Floyd Arnold 
Bailey, Benton Gilbert 
Baker, James 
Baker, T. J. 
Baird, J. E. 
Banks, Henry 
Barnes, Gerald Benton 
Barnes, James Richard 



Barr, Ernest 
Barton, A. Campbell 
Bates, Eugene Fields 
Bates, William Nowlin 
Beauchamp, John Ai-thur 
Reeman, George W. 
Bell, Harry Elliott 
Beller, Henry Denton 
Bentley, J. R. 
Billings, William Wyatt 
Black, Claude FVederick 
Blackmore, James R. 
Blevins, Beeler B. 
Boggs, Earl, Jr. 
Boggess, Harry U. 
Boone, Jasper A. 
Bou-man, Thomas Fred 
Boyer, Ray Vernon 
Bradley, Leroy 
Breckenridge, Fairy F. 
Breedlove, Harry 
Brody. John Alexander 
Brown, Charley H. 
Brown, William Jewell 
Bryan, Claude 
Bullock, Charles 
Burke, Willijam Wallace 
Burriss, Henry 
Burton, Henry William 
Bynees, James 
Camden, Preston Leroy 
Campbell, Spurgeon Broadus 
Carey, Claude 
Carey, Robert 
Carlyle, Lank A. 
Cai-penter, William F. 
Carroll. Elza 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 



261 



Chandler, John Temple 
Cheek, Jasper Lane 
Calvert, Howard Allen 
Cantrell, Bernis Milton 
Carey, Lester Clay 
Carlyle, Arthur L. 
Carpenter, Clarence M. 
Carter, E. Kemp 
Carson, Fred L. 
Chanfllor, Earl D. 
Church, Donald Mae 
Cantrell, Danney H 
Carey, Luther Rowell 
Carlyle, James Sterling 
Carpenter, Pryor 
Carr, I^wis Routt 
Cavanaugh, Walter 
Chappie, Roy L. 
Clardy, Irvin T. 
Clardy, William Norwood 
Clark, Oliver Edward 
Clarke, Joseph 
Clippard, Dick Columbia 
Cobb, Uel 
Coleman, John H. 
Collier, James William 
Columbia, Harmon 
Convers, Emerson Swain 
Cook, Amos 
Cooper, Ray David 
Cordell, Jewell P. 
Courtney, Dorris D. 
Cowherd, Maxey G. 
Crabb, Robert Samuel 
Craighead, Earl L. 
Cravens, Aubrey B. 
Cravens, Menefee 



Crawford, Wylie Clyde 
Creek, Everett Gill 
Crews. Lester 
Crow, Raymond Clark 
Cusworth, Charles D. 
Clark, James P. 
Clark, Oscar Irving 
Clements, Russell B. 
Coates, John Earl 
Cockrill, Troy Logan 
Coleman, Roger B. 
Collier, Joseph Alfred 
Columbia, Leslie 
Conyers, Joe 
Cook, James Hiram 
Cooper, Roy Milton 
Corum, Alonzo 
Courtney, Fred Z. 
Cox, Walter Wade 
Crabtree, Jesse Perk 
Craven, Curtis J. 
Cravens, Y. D. 
Creason, Dorsey E. 
Crews, L. D. 
Crockett, John 
Crummitt, Timni 
Cusworth, Edgar James 
Clark, Lester 
Clark, Samuel Wiley 
Clevinger, Jewell 
Cobb. Elmer Jean 
Cole, Kenneth Temple 
Collier, Charles Franklin 
Collins, J. T. 
Conner, Blaine 
Conyers, Nathaniel O. 
Cook, Lewis Calvin 



262 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Cordell, Henry W. 
Couch, Arthur Lee 
Cowherd, Coleby Chiles 
Cox, Hines Burnett 
Crank, Camell 
Craven, Harry J. 
Crawford, Henry Samuel 
Creason, McKinley Dean 
Crockett, Roy Leighton 
Cummins, Raymond W. 
Dagley, Scott 
Davidson, Blount Ferril 
Davis, Hendrix Eugene 
Dawson, James Carey 
DeNoon, Vaughn Sheetz 
DeYoung, John W. 
Diemer, John Obe 
Dixon, William Joseph 
Don Carlos, Frank 
Dorsey, Andrew Syl 
Douglas, James 
Dray, Mitchell 
Duncan, Huey 
Dykes, Ora B. 
Darby, Carl Alvin 
Davis, Alvin Clark 
Davis, Lewis A. 
DeBerry, Albin 
Dennis, Rubey 
Diegel, Henry Fred 
Dillen, John Bernard 
Donaldson, Arthur Miller 
Don Carlos, Robert 
Dougherty, Lewis B., J. 
Downey, Leo C. 
Dugan, Bernard Cecil 
Duncan, George W. 



Dagg, George R. 
Darnell, William, Jr. 
Davis, Arthur L. 
DaM'son, Cecil 
Deen, Cleo Clarence 
DeYoung, Andrew 
Diegel, William Albert 
Dirck, William 
Donaldson, John Doran 
Donnan, Lloyd Albert 
Douglas, Herman A. 
Doyle, Eddie Hudson 
Duncan, Gilbert Roy 
Dykes, Fairy Lloyd 
Eby, Earl Kennedy 
Eberts, William Jennings 
Elgin, John Thomas 
Elliott, Robert 
Evans, Cecil D. 
Evans, Joseph Fred 
Ewing, John B. 
Earls, ^ohn D. 
Eby, Herbert 
J^ Edwards, Earl Frederick 
Ellett, Frank W. 
Endicott, John Vernon 
Evans, Elisha Estes 
Evans, Oscar Lloyd 
Easley, William C. 
Eberts, Ray Y. 
Eldridge, Bedford 
Elliott. Graham 
Estes, Byron Eber 
Evans, Frank J. 
Everett, Jack 
Farmer, Ralph 
Farrar, Robert M. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



263 



FeiTil, Oscar 
Fischer, Caid Bishop 
Foley, Henry C. 
Foley, Roy P. 
Foster, Charles Boyd 
Francis, Charles William 
Frazier, Clarence Ortle 
Frick, William McKinley 
Fairchild, Milton 
Farrar, Frank D. 
Fenton, Russell 
Fihaley, Joe 
Fischer, Charles Orin 
Foley, Peter C. 
Foley, Samuel R 
Foster, William Edward 
Francis, James Kenneth 
Frazier, Robert W. 
Fritzlen, Da\id Walter 
Farmer, Everett W. 
Farrar, Hugh A. 
Ferril, Archie Howell 
Finley, John Henrj' 
Fischer, Fred Lee 
Foley, Luther B. 
Ford, Joseph F. 
Fraher, Philip John 
Francis, Ora Glenn 
Frick, Robert Riley 
Frye, Jewell L. 
Gabbert, Aubrey 
Galloway, Roy William 
Gartrell, Charles Burnett 
Gearon, Albert Bute 
Gibbs. Leslie Carl 
Gittinger, Jesse Norman 
Gaines. Clifton Grundy 



Glenn, Henrj' 
Gordon, William Garland 
Grace, John F. 
Graves, Ludwick 
Green, Othaniel 
Gresham, Burt 
Groom, Harry C. 
Gully, William Edward 
Gustine, John 
Gabbert, Paul Bryan 
Gans, Rufus 

Gartrell, Charles William 
Gibbs. George Franklin 
Gibson, Jesse E. 
Gittings, Lewis Darius 
Goodwin, James Earl 
GoiTnan, Marshall 
Grace, Tom F. 
Green, Harry Titpton 
Greene, John Wikoff 
Griffin, Herrington L. 
Groom, Willie 
Gulley. Milton Gordon 
Guthrie, Amos 
Gabriel, Clifton Grundy 
Garnett, Earl Lucas 
Gaw, Marshall 
Gibbs, Jesse 
Gilmer, Robert Gaston 
Glay, George (colored) 
Gordon, James Forrest 
Gourley, James Pasco 
Graham, Willie Alfred 
Green, Lawrence Emmett 
Greer, William Robert 
Groom, Arthur T. 
Grover, Walter Farr 



264 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Gustine, Clyde 
Haling, Hobart 
Hall, Hugh 
Hamel, Fred J. 
Hancock, Manlius T. 
Hardin, James Roy 
Harlin, John J. L. 
Harris, Cecil Earl 
Harris, Lester C. 
Harrison, Frank C. 
Hartel, Lawrence W. 
Hatfield, Frank 
Hendrix, Arthur W. 
Henry, William 
Herson, Mark Henry 
Hess, Evan Edwin 
Hessel, Bert 
Hessel, Clarence Weber 
Higgins, William W. 
Hobson, Floyd E. 
Holt, Herbert Holmes 
Holt, Leroy Charles 
Homback, Glenn Charles 
House, Melvin 
Howard, Deroy 
Huddlemeyer, Willie 
Hughes, Joseph P. 
Huminel, Robert 
Hunt, William Hays 
Hall, Bennie 
Hall, John Thomas 
Hamilton, Ardra Porter 
Hannon, Louis 
Hardin, William R. 
Harmon, Henry 
Han-is, Earl Ray 
Harris, Marion L. 



Hart, William. P. 
Hai-vey, John Edward 
Hay, Curtis 
Hendrix, James Martin 
HeniT, Frank Smith 
Hensley, Henry 
Hess, Edward Hovey 
Hess, Levi Earl 
Hessel, Victor Elias 
Hill, E. C. 

Hockensmith, Coopyer 
Holt, John Homer 
Hoover, 0. S. 

Homback, Noel William 

Howard, Charles Foster 

Hubbard, Chester 

Hudson, John S. 

Hughes, Robert G. 

Hunt, Thomas Russell 

Husher, Clarence Edward 

Halferty, Herschel H. 

Hall, George C 

Hall, Raymond R. 

Hamm, Isaac M. 

Hansen, Paul 

HargTove, William A. 

Hannon, Rolla Patrick 

Harris, James P. 

Harris, Sparrel 

Havtel, Herbert William 

Hatfield, Claude 

Hayes, Lee Roy 

Henry. Ralph Wirt 

Herman, Charles 

Hess, Ernest W. 

Hessenflow, Thomas 

Hicklin, John J. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



265 



Hobbs, Floyd James 
Hoffman, Henry 
Holt. King 

Homback, Daniel Earl 
Homback, Shelton B. 
Howard, Benjamin M. 
Huber, Michael M. 
Hughes, James 
Humbard, Minter 
Hunt, William 
Hutchings, Lester 
Irminger, James Philip 
Irminger, Victor E. 
Isenhour, Edwin Harold 
Jacks, J. D. 

Jarritt, Delvin Richard 
Johnson, Carl 
Johnson, Herbert 
Johnson, Thomas 
Jones, Raymond E. 
Judson, Glenn Vance 
Jackson, Alfred Earl 
Jenkins, Charles William 
Johnson, Floyd M. 
Johnson, Thelbert 
Jones, David William 
Jordon, Fred Robert 
Jackson, Thomas Gill 
Jenkins, Earl Powell 
Johnson, George Jennings 
Johnston, Elmer 
Jones, John Paul 
Judd, Roy A. 
Keams, Shelby 
Kelley, James A. 
Kennedy, Frank H. 
KeiT, Estell Stephens 



Kimsey, Edward Lewis 
Kindred, Joshua Emil 
Kittrell, Benjamin Harrison 
Koonse, Orville 
Kabardls, Demetros 
Keller, Walter David 
Kelley, Jesse Lee 
Kennedy, John Lewis 
Kiersted, W., Jr. 
King, Claude E. 
Kinney. Charles Francis 
Klamm, Robert V. 
Kaub, Pen-y Roscoe 
Kelly, Jack 

Kemper, George Forest 
Kennedy, Robert Ellis 
Kimber, Forest Lemoine 
King, Howard Churchill 
Kirkham, A. A. 
Kline, Roy Soper 
Lancaster, Arthur M. 
Latimer, Ralph Vivion 
Lee, Fitzhugh Rivers 
Leggltt, Benjamin Denham 
Lewis, Harry 
Lewis, W. O. 
Lightburne, John Albert 
Lincoln, Charles 
Lincoln, Gatewood S. 
Livingston, Ralph Moore 
Logan, Artie Wilson 
Long. Melvim Brooks 
Loos, Carter 
Lowres, Bemays 
Laffoon, Shirley 
Larison, Cecil 
Leabo. John Z. 



266 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Lee, Geoi'ge Quintus 
Lewis, Charles Stephen 
Lewis, Herbert D. 
Lienhardt, Howard 0. 
Lilly, Frank T. 
Lincoln, Charles Oliver 
Lindaii, Lorenzo Henry 
Lizar, Elmer 
Logan, Russell B. 
Long, Trigg Ellis 
Lott, William Franklin 
Lloyd, Dan T. 
Lamb, Mirl 
Latier, Frank L. 
Lederer, Carl Alfred 
Lee, Thomas Martiin 
Lewis, Eugene 
Lewis, Lucian L. 
Liggett, Thomas A. 
Lincoln, Albert Lloyd 
Lincoln, Floyd Fred 
Linder, Frederick Allen 
Lockridge, Meridith 
Logan, Sideny J. 
Loos, John C. 
Low, Q. D. 
Lyman, Guy Seymour 
Mc Arthur, John Henrj' 
McClintic, William W. 
McCorniick, Robert Lee 
McCoy, Robert 
McCroskie, Milo Thomas 
McFadden, William D. 
McGinness, John 
Mcllvain, Jefferson Davis 
McKinley Ross 
Mabe, Cecil Guy 



Mabion, Jesse 
Mackley, Sidney Wayne 
Main, Edgar, Jr. 
Maloy, Harold Chester 
Mann, John Jonas 
MaiT, William Walter 
Martin, Hubert Ford 
Massey, Clyde D. 
Means. Guy Kenmore 
Merritt, Ralph Emerson 
Mestrand, Paul Alfred 
Miller, George R. 
Miller, Lewis 
Milligan, Roy Heap 
Miner, Pai-ker 
Montgomery, Elmer 
Moore. Jewell 
Mo}-gan, Clifton H. 
Morris, George 
Morrow, Raymond W. 
Munkers, Redmond 
Murphy, Charley A. 
Musbach, Henry E. 
McCarty, Henry F. 
McConn, Bert 
McCoy, Clai-ence Edward 
McCracken, Samuel Ray 
McCullough, G. A. 
McFall, A. Albert 
McGinness, Strother 
McKee, Edwin James 
McMullen, Luther V. 
Mabe, Harry Gilbert 
Mace, John H. 
Macumber, Walter 
Main, Roland A. 
Maltby, Burton 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



267 



Manuel, James Elbert 
Marshall, Freddie 
Martin, Isaac Roy 
Massey, Huron V. 
Means, Leo Henry 
Mershon, Oscar Leo 
Miles, Chester 
Miller, Howard 
Miller, Price 
Million, Fred B. 
Mitchell, Clarence F. 
Moore, Charles Francis 
Moore, John M. 
Morgan, Frank 
Morris, Ralph Gilbert 
Mosby, Irvin L. 
Munkers, Arry 
Murray, Seldon Howe 
Musgrave, J. E. 
McClaslin, Harry 
McClary, Elisha H. 
McConnell, Clyde S. 
McCoy, Ralph 
McCrorey, Norman G. 
McFadden, LaVerne L. 
McGarvey, John Henry 
McGlothlim, Lewis C. 
McKee, Forest Gardner 
McMurray, Charles R. 
Mabery, George (colored) 
Macey, Allen Edgar 
Maher, Leo 
Malott, Ervin Earl 
Major, Schwab S. 
Marr, Roy Thomas 
Marshall, Ray 
Mason, Rue Finley 



Mazzei, Settimo 
Meredith, Wendell Tilton 
Merservey, Web Hull 
Miller, Edward Everett 
Miller, Julius Barron 
Miller, Wesley Allen 
Minter, Lloyd Francis 
Monroe, Loh William 
Moore, Daniel Lewis 
Moore, William M. 
Morris, Benjamin F. 
Morrison, Virgil Banies 
Moyer, Charles C. 
Munkers, Charles 
Musbach, Carl Fred 
Musgrove, Dooley William 
Neff, Ray 
Nelson, Herman P. 
Nokes, Albert 
Norton, Elijah Hise 
Nutter, O'Fallon D. 
Neidert, Otto W. 
Nelson, Joseph Earl 
Nolan, Harry Morrison 
Nutter, Frank L. 
Nelson, Charles 
Nieman, Allen Ross 
NoiTis, Will Victor 
Nutter, Lunsford 
Odell. Fred 
Odle, Silas Allen 
O'Kell, Otto Clarence 
Osborne, George William 
Owens, James Ely 
Odell, Alvis W. 
Odell, Lewis Melvim 
Oder, Gabriel Clark 



268 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Oliver, Leslie A. 
Overman, Benjamin H. 
Ovi^ens, Raymond C. 
O'Dell, Charley 
O'Dell, Silas Virgil 
O'Hare, Clifford 
Orfan, Tony Samuel 
Ovv^ens, Clarence 
Owens, Reuben 
Padgett, Clifford A. 
Paradise, Earl 
Parks, Hugh A. 
Patrick, John 
Payne, John Sidney 
Perkins, Leo 
Peters, Wilson White 
Petty, Eugene Orville 
Phillips, Ernest Cleve 
Pickett, William Darr 
Poe, Earl Manson 
Pointer, Jesse P. 
Porter, Fred B. 
Porter, Paul 
Poteet, Clifford A. 
Potter, James Franklin 
Prather, Lee H. 
Prather, William Hamlet 
Price, Glendon Wayne ' " 
Puckett, Ray P. 
Page, Lorn M. 
Parauaqua, August W. N. 
Paton, Walter Coffman 
Patrick, William N. 
Payne, Marion Franklin 
Peters, John F. 
Petropoulas, Andrew J. 
Petty, Thornton Pixlee 



Phillips, Jesse Norval 
Pipes, Eugene 
Pitts, Younger Arnold 
Polk, Graham 
Porter, George Frank 
Porter, Willard 
Potter, Allen B. 
Potter, Ray L. 
Prather, Roy 
Presley, Don Hazel 
Price, Guy Vaughn 
Pugh, Samuel Lawrence 
Palmer, John D. 
Parker, Kenneth H. 
Patrick, Charlton E. 
Patton, W. Sidney 
Payne, William Albert 
Peters, Roscoe Franklin 
Perrin, Theodore V 
Pfeisterer, Simmie Colon 
Pickett, Ralph 
Pixlee, Franklin Beverly 
Porter, Dewey 
Porter, Norfleat Emerson 
Portwood, Thomas 
Potter, Clayton E. 
Prather, John 
Prather, William 
Prewitt, Pete O. 
Price, William James 
Ragle, Roy H. 
Rector, Charles Austin 
Raimey, Ernest 
Ray, William 
Reel. Charles 
Richardson, George 
Richmond, Paul Prescott 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



269 



Ricketts, Gilbert Baker 
Roberts, Arthur F. 
Robertson, Samuel 
Robertson, Sterling Price 
Robison, Thomas Clifford 
Roosa, George Leona 
Rosenbaugh, Ulsferd 
Rowland, David Frank 
Roy, Archibald 
Russell, Walter Joseph 
Reece, Thomas Clyde 
Rardin, Gordon A. 
Reasor, Lawrence Crit. 
Reynolds, Luther Lee 
Richardson, Homer Willis 
Richmond, Rider Larabee 
Riffe, Luther 
Roberts, Witidsor Hall 
Robeson, Lewis 
Robinett, Harold Lee 
Roebken, Carl Buddenburg 
Rose, Richard Parks 
Ross, Lee 

Rowland, Lester Joseph 
Roy, Harve 
Ruyle, Park 
Race, Albert Lee 
Ramsey, John B. 
Ray, Russell 
Reed, Allen Bevins 
Reynolds, William B. 
Richardson, Opal H. 
Rickart, Harry Alexander 
Riffe, Melvin 
Robertson, John 
Robeson, John G. 
Robinson, James A. 



Rogers, D. W. 
Roselle, Arthur Clay 
Rothwell, Wellington 0. 
Rowland, Porter 
Ruddle, John Raymond 
Saad, Demetry G. 
Sandusky, Miller Allen 
Salisbury, John 
Sai-ver, William Franklin 
Sandboth, Joseph 
Savage, Paul H. 
Schill, Dewe August 
Schueler, Carl A. 
Schroeder, Ernest Charles 
Schroeder, Frank Wesley 
Scott, James Lester 
Scott, Ray G. 
Scrivner, John Henry 
Searcy, Wilson 
Sevier, Robert Earl 
Sellers, Geo. Avery 
Shanks, Lee 
Shannon, John Edgar 
Sharo. James Madison 
Shepherd, Billie A. 
Shepherd, Frank 
Sherwood, Samuel C. 
Shields, Oscar EIridge 
Shipp, John Clay 
Shaver, Everett 
Shu, John Lloyd 
Shuey, Newman L, 
Sickel, John Tyler 
Silmnions, James W. 
Simms, Jas. Robert 
Simpson, Chas. Robert 
Sims, Rochester F. 



270 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Sims, Grover C. 

Sires, Clyde C. 

Sisk, William HaiTy 

Smallwood, Chester H. 

Smiley, John R. 

Smith, Earl L. 

Smith, Ezra 

Smith, Fred G. 

Smith, Leroy 

Smith, Percival Gardner 

Smith, Porter Brown 

Smith, Raymond Franklin 

Smith, Ree Bum 

Smith, Rolla K. 

Smith, Roy Rothwell 

Smith, Russell D. 

Smithey, Bert Norwood 

Snow, Frank 

Snow, Isaac R. 

Snow, Joseph 

Snow, William Ambrose 

Snyder, Henry A. 

Sparks, Hickman E. 

Sparks, Robert H. 

Sparks, Scobie 

Spence, Albert G. 

Squires, Jesse Lee 

Squires, Albert Gallatin 

Stack, Nin H. 

Stack, Pinckney C. 

Stamper, Cad 

Stamper, George 

Stannard, Ely Martin 

Steele, Oliver Ira, Jr. 

Stein, Arthur Louis 

Sterling, John Franklin 

Stevenson, Nealy Ford 



Stevenson, Jesse Joseph 
Stevenson, John Arthur 
Stewart, Cephas 
Stewart, Hari-y 
Stewart, Samuel Harry 
Stewart, Scott Jennings 
Stewart, Van William 
Still, Thos. Franklin 
St. John, Emol Alex 
Stockwell, Lorin H. 
Stone, Dudley S. 
Stone, Edgar 
Stone, Geo. Bernard 
Stone, Willitam Lewis 

Story, Paul 

Stowers, Jas. Evans 

Slaughter, Joe H. 

Strode, William Flynn 

Suggett, Starling Green 

Sulliven, Harry Price 

Summers, Leroy 

Summers, Rothis 

Summers, Virgil 

Sumpter, Allen Sheridan 

Sumpter, Elmer K. 

Sumpter, William H. 

Swader, Dwight 

Swale, John 

Swan, Edgar Raym, Jr. 

Swan. Calvin Earl 

Swan, Edwin Riley 

Swaney, Hugh G. 

Swiger, Floyd Dolphus 

Swinney, John J. 

Swinney, Matthew L. 

Sympson, Ralph W. 

Talbott, William N. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



271 



Tatham, Arthur R. 
Taylor, Albert Lee 
Taylor, Daniel Arthur 
Taylor, Daniel W. 
Taylor, Geo. E. 
Taylor, James S. 
Taylor, Landon Lee 
Taylor, Richard Irvin 
Teaney, Harry Lloyd 
Teagarden, James David 
Teagai'den, Milton 
Teixeira, Daniel Milton 
Thomas, Brack A. 
Thomas, Geo. Cliflford 
Thomas, John Carroll 
Thomason, Joe 
Thomason, Chas. M. 
Thomason, Hugh W. 
Thomason, William M. 
Thompson, Arthur J. 
Thompson, Clarence R. 
Thompson, Geo. W. 
Thompson, John Harvey 
Thompson, Lulu R. 
Thompson, Luther 
Thompson, Thos. G. 
Thompson, Robert Grace 
Thurston, John 
Tickle, Home 
fillery, Wm. Orvil 
Tindayy, Raymond Kible 
Totman, Harold W. 
Todd, Glenn Lee 
Todd, Harry W. 
Towler, E. D. 
Trigg, Clarence E. 
Ti-i)tt, Ira Stewart 



Tritt, James Emmett 
Tritt, John Wm. 
Tronjo, Lawrence 
True, Richard 
Tulley, Robert S. 
Turner, Ruford 
Turpinot, Leo 
Tutt, Arthur Grafton 
Tyrees, Everett 
Tyrees, Joe Grand 
Unger, Benjamin 
Unger, Emil Pearl 
Vance, James Donald 
Van Home, Geo. Wm. 
Vanlandiugham, Harry C. 
Vertreese, Egbert 
Vincent, Lloyd 
Vivien, Gordon Dale 
Wiade, Andrew 
Wade, Herbert Thomas 
Wale, Herbert 
Walse, John S. 
Walker, Guy 
Walker, Marion 
Walker, Stephen D 
Walker. W. H., ,Ir. 
Walker, Willard H., Jr. 
Walker, William Wiers 
Wall, Jasper Henry 
Walls, Rose R. 
Wallace, Paul Garker 
Wallace, William Earl 
Waller. James Brooks 
Walrafen, Geo. Leonard 
\Valters, Gilbei-t R. 
^^'alters, Joseph Lewis 
Waltz. Walter Allen 



272 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



Waring, Alba G. 
Waring, Geo. H. 
Warren, Burt B. 
Warren, Clarence Arthur 
Wai-ren, Henry L. 
Wan-en, Leonard Arthur 
Warren, Ray 
Waters, Edward 
Watson, L. 
Watts, James L. 
Watts, Willie 
Wear, John Samuel 
Weber. Arley Philip 
Weber, Henry Com-ad 
Weber, Herbert James 
Wells, Bryan Jennings 
Wells. Lawrence Allen 
West, Han-ey A. 
Westbrook. Ernest B. 
\STiite, James D. 
White, Ford 

Wherrit, Alan Francisco 
Widener, Roy 
Wigington, Clarence Roy 
Wilcox, Ralph Lee 
Wilkerson. Edgar Lee 
Wilkerson. Riley D. 
Williams, Ernest Irvin 
Williams, Frank C. 
WiUiams, Glen E. 
Williams, Herbert 
Williams, Floyd Roberson 
Williams. Ivey 
Williams. James Edward 
Williams, James J. 
Williams, Marshall 
Williams, Neal Dow 



Williams, Oscar 
Williams, Robert 
Williams, Samuel H. 
Willis, Arthur Joe 
Willmot, Miller E. 
Wilson, Edgar O. 
^^'ilson, Otto 
Wilson, Ralph W. 
Wilson, William Alfred 
Wingfield, Harry 
Wingfield, Thomas 
Wise, Charley 
^''ilttmeyer, Urban 
VVolfes, Thomas 
Wolfert, A. L. 
Woods, Benjamin 
Woods, Elise Carl 
Woods. Hugh 
\\'oods, John Arthur 
Woodson. Samuel Cameron 
Woodworth, Clyde Lewis 
Womall, Thomas J.. Jr. 
Wrigley, Floyd 
\Vrigley, Harry 
^^'right. Roddie 
Wright. William 
\^'ubbenhorst. Hiram L. 
Yancey, Chas. E., Jr. 
Yancey, William Bell 
Yates, Edward Chas. 
Yates. Lewis D. 
Yates, Luther 
Yeager, Roy Ellis 
Yingling, Oda 
Young, Estell La Force 
Zidell, Joseph Mordecai 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 273 

NECROLOGY. 
The Honor Roll of the Gold Stars. 

Frank Wesley Schroeder, corporal, died November 1, 1918, in France, 
from wounds. 

Lewis Calvin Cook, first lieutenant, artillery; died October 18, 1918, 
in Argonne Forest. 

Eari D. Chanslor, infantry ; killed July 15, 1918, in France, on the 
Mame. 

Paul Hansen, National Ai-my; died November 26, 1917, at Camp 
Funston, of meningitis. 

Clyde Gustine, 43d Division; died May 27, 1918, in France, from gas 
and wounds. 

Graham T. Elliott, infantry, 3.5th Division; died of wounds October 
2, 1918. 

Bernard George Stone, infantry; killed August 10, 1918, on a quiet 
sector in Alsace. 

Coleby C. Cowherd, corporal. National Army; died October 12, 1918. 
at Camp MacArthur, Texas, of influenza. 

Jasper A. Boone, corporal, infantry, 89th Dii\'ision ; died November 
11, 1918, from wounds received November 5th in Argonne mattle. 

J. D. Jacks, navy, died in 1917, in Philadelphia, of meningitis. 

Lloyd Kingery, infantry, 89th Division ; killed in action November 
19th, 1918. 

Carl Fred Musbach, marijne; killed July 18th, 1918, at Chateau- 
Thierry. 

Selden Howe Murray, corporal, medical coips; died October 21, 1918, 
in Rouen, France, of influenza. 

James Philip Imiinger, marine ; killed June 25th, 1918, at Chateau- 
Thierry. 

Oscar Lloyd Evans, navy; died of meningitis, May 14, 1917. 

SpaiTel Harris, died of disease December 27, 1918, in Germany. 

William Edward Blevins, killed Sentember 28. 1918. in Argonne 
Forest. 

Frank William Bullock, died November 21, 1918, after being dis- 
charged because of a nervous breakdown. 



274 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Stanley Barnett, died November 18, 1918, in Fi'ance, from wounds. 

Robert H. Baker, died probably September, 1918, in Commune of 
Baulny, Department Meuse, France. The Liberty Post of the American 
Legion was named in his honor. 

American Effort in the World War. 

Total armed forces 4,800,000 

Total in army 4,000,000 

Men who went overseas 2,086,000 

Men who fought in France 1,390,000 

Total registered in draft 24,234,021 

War cost to April 30, 1919 $21,850,000,000 

Battles fought by American troops 13 

Months of American participation 19 

Days of battle — 200 

Days of duration of Meuse-Argonne battle __ 47 

Americans in Meuse-Argonne battle 1,200,000 

Americans wounded 236,000 

American deaths from disease 56,991 

Total deaths in army 112,422 

Clothing was shipped abroad in follo-^ving quantities: 

Wool socks, pairs 131,800,000 Undershirts 85,000,000 

Drawers 83,600,000 Shoes, pairs 30,700,000 

Flannel shirts 26,500,000 Blankets 21,700,000 

Wool breeches 21,700,000 Wool coats 13,900,000 

Overcoats 8,300,000 

The signal corps strung in France 100,000 miles of telephone and 
telegraph wires. The lines numbered 15,000 and reached 8,959 stations. 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 275 

Achievements of American Troops. 

From the middle of August to the end of the war, the Americana 
held a front longer than that held by the British. At the time of the 
greatest American activity in October, 1918, this front was 101 miles 
long, or about 23 per cent of the entire allied battle line. 

American troops captured 63,000 prisoners, 1,318 pieces of artillery, 
708 trench mortars, and 9,650 machine guns. In June and July they 
helped to shatter the enemy advance towards Paris and turn retreat into 
a triumphal offensive. At St. Mihiel, they pinched off, in a day, an enemy 
salient that had been a constant menace for four years. In the Argonne 
and on the Meuse, they carried lines which the enemy had determined to 
hold at all costs and cut the supply li>ne of communication and supply for 
half the Western battle front. 

The American air force at the front grew from three squadrons in 
April, 1918, to forty-five in November, 1918. These American squadrons 
played important roles in the battles of Chateau-Thierry, St. Mihiel and 
the Meuse-Argonne. In addition to the information, aid and protection 
given to the army, they brought down 755 enemy planes, while their own 
losses were only 357 planes. 



CHAPTER XXV. 



THE CLAY COUNTY COUNCIL OF DEFENSE. 



(By Robert S. Withers.) 

RAPIDITY OF RESPONSE — COUNSEL OF DEFENSE CREATED BY CONGRESS — WAR 
DECLARED — GOVERNOR GARDNER CALLS MEETING — CLAY COTWTY REPRE- 
SENTATIVES — PURPOSE AND DUTIES — ^MEMBERS. 

In order that we may appreciate the rapidity with which Clay County, 
a peace loving rural community, girded en her armor and got into her 
place in the front ranks of the nation's effectives, a brief resume of some 
dates is appropriate. 

On August 29, 1916, The Council of National Defense was created 
by act of Congress and approved. On April 2, 1917, the United States 
Congress assembled in special session and was addressed by President 
Wilson who asked Congress to declare war. On April 6, 1917, the Presi- 
dent issued the proclamation of war with Germany. On April 9th, the 
Secretary of War addressed a message to the governors of the various 
states asking for the establishment of State Councils of Defense. 

Governor Gardner of Missouri responded April 12th by calling a 
meeting of representative men from all walks of life. These men con- 
vened in Jefferson City on April 23rd to hold a war conference. The 
citizens invited to represent Clay County were Edwin Yancey, E. E. 
Kirkland, Frank C. Hamilton, Soper J. Taul and Robert S. Withers. 

The meeting was a very patriotic and enthusiastic demonstration of 
Missouri's determination to do all in her power to win the war and on 
the following morning Governor Gardner announced the appointment of 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 277 

the members of the Missouri State Council of Defense. Robert S. 
Withers of Clay County was appointed by the governor among the original 
twenty-nine who formed the State Council and was immediately ap- 
pointed County Chairman of Clay County. Thus Missouri was practically 
the first state to form a State Council of Defense and Clay County was 
among the very first counties of the state to be organized. 

The purpose of the State Council of Defense was, in the words of the 
governor, "to be the supreme authority of the commonwealth in relation 
to the state's duty to the nation during the entire period of the war." 

It will be seen at once that the duty of the County Council of Defense 
was to support the state in every way in this work. However, the in- 
telligence and patriotism of Clay County was of such high order that many 
duties that were most arduous in other counties were little in evidence 
here. In fact the duty of the County Council of Defense in Clay County 
resolved itself into keeping tl>e people informed as to what the administra- 
tion wanted done. The people responded spontaneously. 

Missouri ranked among the highest three in the National Council of 
Defense and Clay County ranked equally as high in the state organization. 

A great deal of the work of the Council of Defense, much of its most 
valuable work, was of a confidential nature and was not made public at the 
time. Later all records kept by the entire state were made public prop- 
erty by being placed on file in the archives of the Missouri State Historical 
Society at Columbia, where they can be inspected by any one at any time. 

Some of the duties assigned to the Council of Defense by the adminis- 
tration were as follows: To arrange a suitable farewell for each draft 
contingent; to locate skilled men for the army's technical work; to detect 
draft evasion and assist the local board in every way; to recruit for the 
regular army ; to recruit for the aviation school and pass on the applicants 
for the same ; to assist in the location of military units in colleges ; to co- 
operate with the British Recruiting Mission in locating British subjects; 
to establish Home Guard units ; to investigate disloyalty ; to co-operate 
with the Secret Service Department; to prevent non-war construction; to 
return an alien property survey; to pass on all applications for Army 
Officers Schools, Red Cross work in military service, the Salvation Army 
and Y. M. C. A. service at the front and in camp and the Near East Relief 
service. 

In addition to discharging the above duties, the Clay County Council 



278 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of Defense co-operated with the special committees in all Liberty Loan and 
War Savings work and in all other war drives that were made. 

The following constituted the membership of the Clay County Council 
of Defense : 

Robert S. Withers, Liberty, Chairman. 

E. H. Norton, Liberty. 

R. R. Fleet, Liberty. 

E. L. Black, Liberty. 

Miss Grace Tickle, Liberty. 

Mrs. Ralph Davidson, Liberty. 

Mrs. Robert S. Wifthers, Liberty. 

Harry Gordon, Smithville. 

Ben Will Thatcher, Smithville. 

R. C. Mcllvain, Kearney. 

Hugh Wilhite, Excelsior Springs. 

Charles Fish, Excelsior Springs. 

Ernest Holt, Excelsior Springs. 

Allen Thompson, Nashua. 

Ernest Davidson, North Kansas City. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 



CLAY COUNTY WOMAN'S COMMITTEE COUNCIL OF NATIONAL 

DEFENSE. 



(By Mrs. Robert S. Withers.) 

WOMAN'S PART IN THE WAR— WOMAN'S DIVISION OP MISSOURI ORGANIZED^ 
REGISTRATION— FAMILY ENROLLMENT— LUNCHEON AT LIBERTY— PROGRAM 
—FOOD CONSERVATION— CHILD WELFARE "WORK— WORK OF TRAINING 
CAMP ACTIVITIES COMMITTEE*— WAR SAVINGS AND LIBERTY IX)AN CAM- 
PAIGNS—MISCELLANEOUS ACTIVITIES — TOWNSHIP CHAIRMEN— TOWN CHAIR- 
MEN — COUNTY DEPARTMENTAL CHAIRMEN — FOOD CONSERVATION — CHILD 
welfare;— RED CROSS — LIBERTY LOAN— TRAINING CAMP ACTIVITIES — 
PATRIOTIC EDUCATION AND AMERICANIZATION— REGISTRATION. 

From the day that the United States entered the World War it was 
realized that this was to be a war in which every resource and influence 
must be utilized, and immediately recognition was given to the tremendous 
power resting in the hands of the nation's women. Ida M. Tarbell said, 
"The task before us is to make women think and serve in terms of the 
nation as a whole; to make them, in fact, soldiers in the service of the 
country. * • * The accepted wartime tradition is that men must fight 
and women must weep. In this day and age, however, woman has her 
definite place and task, which is to be a national woman." 

To utilize this great power and to co-ordinate and intensify the work 
of women in war service. The Woman's Committee Council of National 
Defense was appointed on April 21, 1917 by the National Council of De- 
fense. The Missouri Division of the Woman's Committee was organized 



280 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

at once and county units followed. Mrs. Robert S. Withers of Liberty 
was appointed Chairman for Clay County. Later, to bring about complete 
co-operation between the men and women in the defense work of the 
state, Dr. F. B. Mumford, Chairman of the Missouri State Council of De- 
fense, appointed Mrs. Withers as a member of the Clay County Council of 
Defense. 

The women of Clay County organized for war service in July, 1917. 
The first step was the registration of women on July 28th. After an in- 
tensive preliminary campaign caiTied on for two weeks by Mrs. Ralph 
Davidson and Mrs. Robert Withers during which meetings were held, 
speeches made, letters written and articles published, the women of the 
county were only partially familiarized with the need for the registration 
of women for war sei-vice. Over a thousand registered the first day and 
this thousand became the nucleus of a most enthusiastic, loyal body of 
workers. Later others registered bringing the number to 1,500, but many 
women gave freely of time and energy who never actually registered. 536 
reported as trained in more than one occupation; a number )egistered to 
go anywhere for service. 

The women who led in the registration in July, a month later were 
leaders in organizing an active Red Cross Chapter. This work grew and 
prospered under the eflScient direction of Mrs. Henry C. Harper whose 
compilation of data concerning Red Cross activities in Clay County appears 
elsewhere in this volume. 

In the Family Enrollment Campaign which was conducted from Octo- 
ber 28, to November 4, 1917, by the Food Administration, the Woman's 
Committee was the chief worker and the women were responsible for the 
thorough organization which resulted in the signing of the Hoover Pledge 
by 8,000 men, women and children. Back in July on the day of Women's 
Registration, only 384 Hoover Pledge cards were signed. This showed 
that the Woman's Committee was becoming effective in its effort to spread 
the idea of personal responsibility in the matter of food regulations. 

Up to February, 1918, there had been no general war conference in 
which the v/omen from all parts of the county could participate. Town- 
ship and town chairmen had been appointed and they were doing those 
things suggested by the county chairman, but it was felt that it was 
vitally necessary that more women should understand the work of the 
Woman's Committee and be interested in it. With this in mind, the 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 281 

County Chairman arranged for a Hoover Luncheon at the Major Hotel 
in Liberty on February 12th, with guests from every section of the county 
— a hundred in all. For the sake of future generations, the menu as 
arranged by the County Food Conservation chaiirman. Miss Grace Ticlde, 
is given, as well as the program which was planned by the County Chair- 
man. 

TOMATO BOUILLON. 

Use no croutons. 

CHICKEN PATTY. 

For meat use poultry, rabbits, fish and sea foods. Conserve the tran.s- 
portable meats — beef, mutton, pork. 

CREAMED CARROTS AND PEAS. 
Grow vegetables and use them abundantly. 

WAR BREAD. 
Corn helps us feed the world. 

COMBINATION SALAD— MAYONNAISE DRESSING. 

Use perishables. Use vegetable oils — cocoanut, olive, corn, peanut, 
cottonseed. 

LIBERTY PLUM PUDDING. 
Conserves sugar, wheat, fat, and fuel. No eggs. No shortening. 

COFFEE. HONEY OR CORN SYRUP. 
Use honey, maple and other dark syrups as substitutes for sugar. 

NO FLOWERS. 
Buy a Thrift Stamp. 

MISSOURI APPLES. 
"An apple a day will keep the doctor away." 



282 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Program. 

Invocation — Mrs. James Love. 

Luncheon. 

Purpose of Conference — The Chairman. 

Toast to the Flag — Mrs. M. H. Moore. 

County Council of Defense and Woman's Registration — Mrs. Ralph 

Davidson. 
Food Conservation — Miss Grace Tickle. 
Baby Bond and Thrift Campaign — Mrs. Jack Dougherty. 
Y. M. C. A.— Mrs. E. C. Griffith. 
Red Cross — Mrs. Henry Harper. 
Our County Institutions — Mrs. J. H. Mereness. 
Four Mimute Men— Mrs. R. R. Fleet. 
Solo — "Spring Song", "My Rows Awry", — Mrs. Boggs. 
State Council of Defense and Woman's Committee, Missouri Division 

—Mrs. B. F. Bush. 
General Discussion. 
Announcements. 

This delicious luncheon, adhering strictly to Mr. Hoover's instructions, 
was served as a practical demonstration in food conservation. 

The talks made by the local women about the different war activities 
and their status in the county gave the State Chairman of the Woman's 
Committee Council of Defense, Mrs. B. F. Bush, of St. Louis, inspiration 
for a splendid discussion concerning the co-ordination of all the efforts 
of women in war work. 

Our belief that such a m.eeting would be of value was justified and at 
once there was a marked increase of interest in various lines of war work. 
Food conservation met with greater approval, new Red Cross units were 
organized and more women were readj'^ to help push new campaigns. 

Following this conference in Februarj', 1918, the Woman's Committee 
organization was completed in the county with six to^vnship chairmen, 
twelve town chairmen, twelve county department chaiiTnen, and one woman 
in each rural school district whose business it was to co-operate with her 
Township Chairman. 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 283 



Food Conservation Work. 



Work in the interests of Food Conservation was carried on most 
actively during 1918. Seventeen demonstrations in war cookery were 
given at various points by Miss Gray, District Emergency Home Demon- 
stration Agent. Miss Grace Tickle gave the course sent out by the State 
Food Administration on "The Preparation of Food and Meal Planning" to 
twenty-seven women in Liberty, ten of whom took the examination and 
received certificates from the State Food Administration. The following 
received certificates: Mesdames T. J. Slaughter, Nolan Brasfield, S. G. 
True, E. E. Kirkland, E. A. Ross, C. H. Black, Maiy L. Davis, C. M. Wil- 
liams, J. E. Davis and Robert S. Withers. 

In July, 1918, the Woman's Committee carried on a successful cam- 
paign for a County Home Demonstration Agent. The Clay County Home 
Bureau with over 700 members was organized with Mrs. Dan B. Field as 
first president. The county court appropriated $720.00 to the necessary 
local funds. On September 11, 1918, Miss E. Hoffman, our first County 
Home Demonstration Agent, anived. 

This work, begun as a war measure, has continued in peace time and 
is of great benefit to the women of the county. 

Many novel and interesting ways were used to keep the food situa 
tion before the public mind. Exhibits of wheatless breads and sugarless 
sweets were placed in store windows, war recipes were published, leaflets 
and War Economy Cook Books were distributed and on one occasion the 
advertisement of a great mystery to be solved at the motion picture theatre 
in Liberty drew a large audience to hear a talk on the food situation and 
to sample hot biscuits made without wheat and caramel cake made with 
potatoes. 

On November 22. 1918, the County Food Chairman, Mrs. Robert S. 
Withers, who had succeeded Miss Grace Tickle in the work, was called to 
Jefferson City together with all other County Food Chairmen to hear 
about the food plans for the coming year. The slogan had been "Save 
Food and Win the War", it now became "Save Food and Save the World", 
and the first week of December, 1918, was set aside as World Relief Week, 
during which the most intensive food campaign ever staged in this country 
was carried on. 

In commenting on the work done in Clay County, Mr. Vaughn Bryant, 



284 HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 

the Educational Director of the State Food Administration, wrote, "You 
have sent out some unusually attractive announcements of the New Food 
Progi-am and of World Relief Weekly." 

ChUd Welfare Work. 

President Wilson said, "Next to the duty of doing everything possible 
for the soldier at the front, there can be no greater duty than that of pro- 
tecting the children." Many of the physical defects which caused the re- 
jection of one-third of the men coming up for examination in the first 
draft are believed to date from some slig'ht trouble neglected in early child- 
hood. 

Recognizing the need of protecting the children from the special dan- 
ger of wartime, the Children's Bureau of the United States Department 
of Labor planned for a Children's Year from April 6. 1918, to April 6. 
1919. The purpose was to save the lives of 100,000 babies under the age 
of five and to awaken the public conscience concerning Child Welfare. 
Every state was responsible for its quota of saved babies and likewise 
every county. 

Mrs. W. H. Woodson ot Liberty was Clay County's Chainiian of 
Child Welfare and with an efficiejit corps of aids succeeded in putting 
on a splendid campaign in the interests of children. 

The first step was the registering, weighing and measuring of all 
children under school age. 1.450 children under six years of age were 
weighed and measured. Diet changes were recommended in some cases. 
One baby was actually saved through the Committee's providing the 
proper artificial food. 

The Children's Year Program was kept before the public by an exhi- 
bition of Child Welfare posters and by helpful bulletins published in the 
county papei-s. The Rights of Childhood became the topic for sermon 
talks. 

A Better Babies Conference took the place of the usual Baby Show 
at the September Home Products Show in Liberty. Extensive prepara- 
tions were made and with the co-operation of the women of the town and 
a number of the physicians, the event was a great success. Over a hun- 
dred babies from over the county were enrolled and seventy-seven were 
given thorough physical examinations. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 285 

The Children's Year Program has been continued since the war, the 
weighing and meafiuring has been taken into the schools in some localities 
and a constant attempt is being made to lessen the number of mal- 
nourished children. 

Work of Training Camp Activities Committee. 

With a camp of our own, the Army Motor Mechanics School at North 
Kansas City, Clay County's Training Camp Activities Committee, under 
the leadership of Miss Ethel Sparks, of Liberty, was very active. Our 
work there began with the .sick and ended with them, though in the 
meanwhile entertainment was provided for the well, too. Magazines were 
contributed to the Y. M. C. A. Hut. On one occasion, 300 girls were 
gathered together for a big dance and on another the women provided 
a treat of sandwiches and .strawberry shortcake for 400 soldiers at 
Winnwood Lake. 

At first there was much illness among the men and no hospital 
facilities. It was our work to supply these garments, dressings, suitable 
food and other comforts. 

Later the government fitted up a hospital. The Woman's Committee 
evolved a system whereby a basket of dainty food was sent to the hos- 
pital each day of the week, each day's needs being filled by a different 
community. .Jellies, fruit, custards, soups and ice-cream wei-e con- 
tributed. In addition, the hospital was supplied with dainty muslin cur- 
tains, a reading table, numerous games and magazines. 

War Savings and Liberty Loan Campaigns. 

The women of Clay County worked in the War Savings and Liberty 
Loan Campaigns under the direction of the County Chairman of the 
Woman's Committee Council of National Defense who was also appointed 
County Chairman of the War Savings and Liberty Loan Committees. 

In February, 1918, a publicity campaign for War Savings Stamps 
was carried on by telephone, almost every home in the county being 
reached. 

A special campaign for the sale of Baby Bonds was conducted in 
Liberty on the first Monday in March. Sergeant-Major Mitchell of the 
British Recruiting Mission came over from Kansas City and made a talk. 



286 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

He was with the Canadian forces at Ypres and had seen seventeen 
months' service at the front. The women sold about $500.00 worth of 
bonds but did much more for the publicity of this particular war work. 

The most spectacular effort made by the War Savings Committee 
was a campaign put on by the women during the first ten days of May, 
1918. The women of the county were asked to buy W. S. S. with all the 
money collected from the sale of eggs during that time. The reports 
showed that $5,000.00 worth of W. S. S. were bought by the women in 
this drive and banks reported a great increase in the number of sub- 
scribers. This "Egg Drive" caught the popular fancy and an account 
of it was published in Thriftology, the War Savings publication, for June, 
1918. 

In the first and second Liberty Loan Drives, the Woman's Committee 
took no part. The material did not reach the Committee at all in the 
first and not until the close in the second. 

The history of the women's part in the Third Liberty Loan may be 
introduced with the following clipping from The Bond Bulletin for April 
20, 1918: "A baiTage of patriotic meetings in the schools of Clay 
County, Missouri, on the night of April 12, preceded an intensive cam- 
paign in that county for the Third Liberty Loan. The plan was formu- 
lated by the Woman's Committee, approved by the Chairman of the 
Men's Committee and proved to be a tremendous success as a means of 
arousing the enthusiasm of the people for the success of the campaign. 

Meetings were held on the same night at thirty different points. 
In a number of places several schools combined, so that practically every 
rural district was reached. The very best speaking talent was secured 
and in addition to the Liberty Loan talks, patriotic programs were pro- 
vided. In most cases children contested in four-minute talks on "How 
to Win the War". Thrift Stamps or Baby Bonds were given to the win- 
ners. At no other time had so many communities been reached simul- 
taneously and the results were far-reaching. Not only was the Liberty 
Loan promoted but each succeeding drive was made easier by this cam- 
paign of education. 

Actual sales reported by the women amounted to $9,600.00. This 
small showing was due to the fact that the women did not take credit 
for the many bonds sold at the school house meetings through their 
efforts. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 287 

For the Fourth Liberty Loan, Mrs. Robert Withers was again ap- 
pointed County Chairman. The Woman's Committee was thoroughly 
organized early in the campaign. In fact the only county meeting held 
in connection with that drive was the one called by the Woman's Com- 
mittee for the first day of the cam.paign, September 28, 1918, at Liberty. 

The summing up of the results of this campaign showed that the 
women sold $343,975.00 worth of the Fourth Liberty Loan Bonds or 41% 
of the whole. Mr. Hugh Wilhite, County Chairman of the Men's Liberty 
Loan Committee, had the following to say concerning the work of the 
women: "I want you to know that it is appreciated and the splendid 
assistance i.« recogTiized. I should say that one-half of the work has 
been done by the women, either directly or through their influence." 

Miscellaneous Activities. 

Other committees were active as the need arose. Patriotic Week 
was obsei-ved in April, 1918, with special efforts along the line of patriotic 
education and Americanization. Miss Louise Nardin, a member of the 
State University F'aculty and Chaitrmain of the State Committee on 
Patriotic Education, addressed three meetings in the county. The one at 
the Christian church in Liberty on the evening of Apnl 21st took the 
form of a patriotic demonstration. There were great speeches and great 
music. Miss Nardin spoke on "Anglo-American Relations". Dr. J. P. 
Greene, of William Jewell College, gave a stirring talk on "What is 
Patriotism". 

One work which was carried on by the Woman's Committee will 
mean much to the history of Clay County's part in the World War. This 
was the collecting of the War Service Records of the soldiers, sailors and 
marines of the county. Mr. Edgar Archer, Clerk of the Draft Board, 
was able to provide the names of those men who entered the service by 
way of the draft and did so before the order came from Washington to 
not give out these lists. There was no possible way to secure the names 
and branch of service of those who volunteered or were in the service 
before the draft went into effect save through the most painstaking re- 
search in every part of the county. 

This was undertaken by the women with the school district as a basis 
and resulted in locating over 300 men who entered the service by ways 



288 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

other than the draft. These lists were all sent to Mrs. Robert Withers 
who had them published in the Liberty Tribune. With the addition of 
the Draft Board's list of 700 men, Clay County's Service Roll went over 
1,000. This list was afterwards published in book form by G. A. Puckett 
under the title "Clay County Soldiers and Sailors". 

In addition to compiling this list of all men in sei-vice, Mrs. Withers 
corresponded with the families and secured the connect data concerning 
the nineteen men from Clay who died in service and whose names form 
our Gold Star Roll of Honor. This made it possible for the Woman's 
Committee to provide a correct list for the Honor Roll placed February 
22, 1919, by the Alexander Doniphan Chapter, Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution at the court house iln Libei'ty, as a memorial to those 
who died in service. 

Very soon after the close of the war, this work on soldiers' records 
proved of invaluable service. Adjutant-General Clark, in endeavoring to 
compile the history of Missouri's part in the World War, asked Mrs. 
Robert Withers to secure the War Sen'ice Record and brief biographical 
sketch of each soldier, sailor and marine from Clay County. So much 
had already been done along this line that the work was completed by 
June, 1919, and though a few may have been missed, Clay County can 
feed proud of the record kept of her fiphting men as well as proud of the 
number she sent into service. 

The work of the Clay County Woman's Committee ended in January, 
1919, with the dissolution of the state organization. It would not be 
possible to mention the names of all the women who aided materially in 
carrying on the Woman's Committee woi'k in Clay County. The follow- 
ing outline will serve to name the leaders and show the scope of the work. 

County Chairman Mrs. Robert S. Withers, Liberty 

Township Chairmen: 

1. Platte -• Miss Martha Snail, SmithvHle 

2. Kearney Mrs. George H. Smith, Kearney. R. F. D. 

3. Washington Mrs. Sanford Moore, Lawson, R. F. D. 

4. Fishing River Mrs. D. E. Brand. Excelsior Springs 

5. Liberty Mrs. Lee B. Soper, Liberty 

6. Gallatin Mrs. Campbell Davidson, Randolph R. F. D. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 289 

Town Chairmen: 

1. Smithville Miss Martha Snail, Mrs. Harry Gordon 

2. Holt Miss Irene Smith, Mrs. H. L. Tadlock 

3. Keanu^j' Mrs. Price Hall 

4. Excelsior Springs Mrs. D. E. Brand 

5. Missouri City Mrs. Hal Grubbs, Mrs. George Mereness 

6. Liberty Mrs. Cecil Wilson 

7. Birmingham - Mrs. Lelia Shaw 

8. Avondale Mrs. R. N. Swiger 

9. North Kansas City Mrs. O. H. Lienhardt, Mrs. John Frazier 

10. Gashland Mrs. G. W. Clardy 

11. Nashua __ Mrs. Allen Thompson 

12. Paradise Mrs. Ben McDaniels 

County Departmental Chairmen: 

1. Organization. 
Finance. 

Publicity under direct supervision of County, Township and Town 
Chairmen. 

2. Registration — Mrs. Ralph Davidson, Liberty. 

3. Red Cross — Mrs. Henry Harper, Liberty. 

4. Food Conservation — Miss Grace Tickle, Liberty. 

5. Child Welfare— Mrs. W. H. Woodson, Liberty. 

6. Patriotic Education and Americanization — Miss Cenia Marr, Liberty. 

7. War Savings — Mrs. Robert S. Withei's, Liberty. 

8. Liberty Loan — Mrs. Robert S. Withers, Liberty. 

9. Courses of Instruction — Mrs. Ernest Davidson, North Kansas City. 

10. Training Camp Activities — Miss Ethel Sparks, Liberty; Mrs. H. H. 

Boggs, Liberty. 

11. E.\isting Social Agencies — Home Charities — Mrs. G. H. Mereness. 

Excelsior Springs. 

12. Speakers— Mrs. R. R. Fleet, Liberty. 

Certain other women served most helpfully on the main Department 
('ommittees: 

Food Conservation: 

Mrs. B. W. Thatcher, Smithville. 
Mrs. W. 0. Greason, Holt. 



290 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Mrs. W. R. Klepper, Kearney. 

Mrs. Campbell True, Liberty. 

Mrs. Dan B. Field, Liberty. 

Mrs. Charles Bigham, Avondale. 

Miss Constance Crockett, Excelsior Springs. 

Mrs. Lee Kelsey, Randolph. 

Mrs. Cam Stean, North Kansas City. 

Child Welfare: 

Mrs. E. R. Stroeter, Smithville. 

Mrs. W. A. Cravens, Excelsior Springs. 

Mrs. Hugh Wilhite, Excelsior Springs. 

Miss Ella Parrott, Liberty. 

Mrs. George W. Clardy, Gashland. 

Miss Rita Crews, Liberty. 

Miss Blanche Maddeira, Holt. 

Mrs. Woodson Groomer, Kearney. 

Red Cross: 

Mrs. S. J. Williams, Smithville. 
Mrs. Jesse, Excelsior Springs. 
Mrs. John Frazier, North Kansas City. 
Mrs. Hal Grubbs, Missouri City. 

Liberty Loan: 

Mrs. J. C. Wright, Smithville. 

Mrs. George Mereness, Missouri City. 

Miss Mayre Francis, Kearney. 

Mrs. David Endicott, North Kansas City. 

Mrs. Alta Westhoflfer, Avondale. 

Mrs. Harry Taylor, Randolph. 

Mrs. W. Epperson, North Kansas City. 

Miss Alice Pickett, Holt. 

Mrs. Floyd Bandy, Liberty. 

Training Camp Activities: 

Mrs. J. J. Kirschner, North Kansas City. 
Mrs. J. R. Hubbard, Avondale. 
Mrs. Taggart, Excelsior Springs. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 291 

Patriotic Education and Americanization: 

Mrs. J. B. Woods, Smithville. 

Miss Nellie Rider, Holt. 

Mrs. S. W. Henderson, Excelsior Springs. 

Mrs. McGee Evans, Antioch. 

Mrs. Everett, North Kansas City. 

Mrs. Fred Cooley, Avondale. 

Registration : 

Mrs. S. W. Henderson, Excelsior Springs. 

Mrs. Rudolph Schroeder, North Kansas City (rural). 

Mrs. A. Schroeder, North Kansas City. 



CHAPTER XXVII. 



CLAY COUNTY CHAPTEE, AMERICAN RED CROSS. 



FIRST WAR FUND DRIVE — ORGANIZATION FORMED IN CL,AY COUNTY— OFFICERS 
OF CLAY COUNTY— CHAIRMEN— WAR FUND AND MEMBERSHIP CAMPAIGNS- 
RECEIPTS AND EXPENDITURES — PRODUCTION DEPARTMENT — CANTEEN 
WORK— HOME SERVICE SECTION— DOCTORS FROM CLAY COUNTY WITH 
ARMY AND NAVY— DENTISTS — VETERINARIES— STUDENT DOCTORS— NURS- 
ING DEPARTMENT JUNIOR RED CROSS— NEGRO AUXILIARY. 

Mrs. H. C. Harper, Mrs. A. M. Tutt, Mrs. Mayme Shaver, 
Historical Committee. 

The week of June 17th to 23rd, 1917, was the week set aside for the 
first great War Fund Drive for the Red Cross. There was no organ- 
ization in Liberty. Prof. W. O. Lewis sought to got various people in 
Liberty to form some organization to try to get some funds for the 
Red Cross during this week while everybody was thinking about the 
subject. A call for a meeting was published in the Liberty papers on 
Thursday, June 21st. The meeting was held in the court house, Friday 
night, June 22nd, 1917. The call for this meeting was signed by a 
number of the prominent men in Liberty. It was hoped that a good 
many citizens of Liberty would attend the meeting. An effort wa.^ 
also made to get people from other sections of the county to attend this 
meeting, but there were only nine present. At this meeting a small 
temporary organization was formed with W. 0. Lewis as chaiiinan, Mrs. 
Dora L. Hutchinson as secretary and John Major as treasurer. The 
men present decided to solicit funds on Saturday, Sunday and Monday, 
June 24th, 25th and 26th. Although there was little time to prepare 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 293 

for the canvass and few people outside of Liberty were solicited, about 
$6,000 was raised. 

Those who took part in this work felt that Clay County should have 
a Chapter of the Red Cross. The officers of the temporary organiza- 
tion entered into correspondence with the headquarters of the newly 
established Southwestern Division of the American Red Cross at St. 
Louis, Missouri, with reference to organizing. The petition asking for 
permission to organize a Red Cross Chapter in Clay County was finished 
and mailed July 11, 1917. The request was granted and the meeting 
in which the organization was completed was July 17, 1917. This meet- 
ing was well attended and the following officers were elected: Dr. W. O. 
Lewis, chairman ; Mr. H. R. Banks, chairman ; Mrs. Dora L. Hutchison, 
secretary, and Mrs. John Major, treasurer. Soon after the organization 
the chairman of the chapter, after advising with various ladies in the 
town, appointed Mrs. H C. Harper as chairman of all relief work such 
as sewing, knitting and surgical dressings, for the county. This proved 
to be a very fortunate choice. Mrs. Harper was in a position to give a 
great amount of time to the work and the success of the work in the 
county was largely due to her tact and executive ability. 

DR. W. O. LEWIS. 

Officers of the Clay County Chapter. 

Chairman — Dr. W. 0. Lewis, serving until July, 1918 ; succeeded 
by Mr. Robert Don Carlos, present chairman. 

ViceiChaarmanj — Mr. H. R. Banks, succeeded by Dr. William H. 
Goodson. 

Secretary — Mrs. Dora L. Hutchison, serving until April, 1918, suc- 
ceeded by Mrs. A. E. Morrow. 

Treasurer — Mr. John S. Major. 

Chairman of Woman's Work — Mrs. H. C. Harper. 

Chairmen of Department of Production. 

Chairman of Surgical Dressings — Mrs. Harry Maltby. 

Chairman of Hospital Garments — Mrs. H. C. Harper. 

Chairman of Knitting — Mrs. J. L. Thompson, serving until February, 
1919, succeeded by Mrs. A. M. Tutt. 



294 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Chairmen of Other Departments. 

Chairman of Home Service — Dr. E. H. Sutherland. 

Chairman of Nursing Department — Mrs. Mary L. Davis. 

Chairman of Junior Red Cross — Prof. G. W. Deimer. 

Chairman of Conservation Committee — Mr. H. F. Simrall. 

Chairman of Finance Committee — Mr. John S. Major. 

Chainnan of Publicity — Mrs. Ralph Davidson succeeded by Mr. H. 
H. Boggs, present chairman. 

Chairman of Canteen Committee — Miss Ethel Sparks. 

The Clay County Chapter includes all qf Clay County, subdivided 
into ten branches subdivided into nineteen auxiliaries. Following is a 
list of branches wilth their auxiliary, chairman of each and date of 
organization : 

Liberty Branch, Dr. W. H. Goodson, July 12, 1917. 

Bethel Auxiliary, Mrs. Fon Williams, December 22, 1917. 

Birmingham Auxiliary, Mrs. J. B. Burton, December 4. 1917. 

Randolph Auxiliary, Mr. Walter Sprong, May 7, 1918. 

Shoal Monroe Auxiliary, Miss Mary E. Robb, January 31. 1918. 

South Liberty Auxilijaiy, Mrs. Rose Clutter, May 8, 1918. 

Walnut Grove Auxiliary, Mrs. R. L. Harbaugh, March 15, 1918. 

Pleasant Valley Auxiliaiy, Mrs. Charles Pence, November 7, 1917. 

Winner Auxiliary, Mrs. Charles King, January 28, 1918. 

Excelsior Springs Branch, Mr. S. W. Henderson, September 21, 1917. 

Franklin School Auxiliary, Mrs. Dora E. Dagley, March 28, 1918. 

Pratherville Auxiliary, Mrs. Fannie McCrorey, April 5, 1918. 

Greenwood Auxiliary, Miss Maggie Dickey, July 2, 1918. 

Mosby Auxiliary, Mrs. Gertrude Collins, April 9, 1918. 

Lunsford School Auxiliary, Mrs. Stella Neidig, April 16, 1918. 

Washington School Auxiliary, Mrs. Russell Lynn, April 12, 1918. 

North Kansas City Branch, Mr. J. A. Weimer, October 15, 1917. 

Avondale Auxiliary, Mrs. C. R. Bigham, March 5, 1918. 

Antioch Auxiliary, Mrs. S. E. Rumble, May 4. 1918. 

Kearney Branch, Mr. R. W. Groomer, September 11, 1917. 

Prairie Home Auxiliary, Mrs. J. M. Scrivner, June 11, 1918. 

Holt Branch, Miss Irene Smith, August 30. 1917. 

Bodoc Auxiliary, Mrs. Will Wright, March 15, 1918. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 295 

Linden Branch, Mr. Oscar Clardj% December 16, 1917. 
Gashland Auxiliary, Mrs. Ciiarley Tliomas, June 13, 1918. 
Missouri City Branch, Mr. C. G. Shaw, August 27, 1917. 
Nashua Branch, Mrs. N. W. Griffith, May 23, 1918. 
Paradise Branch, Mr. J. L. Hulse, September 30, 1917. 
Smithville Branch, Mr. R. H. Major, September 27, 1917. 

War Fund and Membership Campaigns. 

The First War Fund Drive was made in June, 1917. 
Chairman, Dr. W. 0. Lewis. Amount raised, $5,794.83. 

The First Red Cross Membership Drive was conducted in Decem- 
ber, 1917. 
Chairman, Mr. Garnet Peters. Members secured, 6,599. 

The Second War Fund Drive was conducted in May, 1918. 
Chairman, Mr. F. D. Hamilton. Amount raised, $29,045.11. 

The Second Red Cross Membership Drive was conducted in Decem- 
ber, 1918. 
Chaii-man, Mr. Ralph Rand. Members secured, 5,916. 

The United War Work was conducted in the spring of 1919. 
Amount raised, $42,522.12. 

Receipts and Expenditures. 

The total receipts other than the campaigns amounted to $53,033.85 
and total expenditures were $46,306.49. This money was raised in 
every way that the ingenious mind of man and woman could devise — 
cake and pie sales, dances, parties, ice cream socials, ball games, auction 
sales, donation from Sunday schools and lodges. The I. O. 0. F. Lodge 
was especially active in raising money for the cause. A picture show 
and auction sale undertaken by them netted $1,615.45. The Masonic 
Lodge contributed generously, as well as the Knights of Pythias. The 
Excelsior Springs Golf Club donated the entrance fees of their State 
Tournament — a nice sum. Hotels and apartments donated sums of 
money. The Predated Check System was adopted by several of the 
branches of this Chapter with fair success. Excelsior Springs, one of 
the largest branches, was especially successful in raising a large amount 
by adopting this system. Their workroom needed $1,000.00 per month. 



296 HISTOEY OP CLAY COUNTY 

for running expenses. A campaign was started to raise this amount by 
using the Predated Check System, the result was that the greater part 
of the needed $12,000.00 was raised by this system. This campaign 
closed with a grand auction sale of live stock, poultry, produce, souvenirs 
and relics. The following local newspaper report shows the patriotic 
spirit that prevailed in this community: "Over the top with a bang, all 
trenches cleared, the enemy routed, and Old Gloiy flung to the breeze — 
that is the story of the Red Cross Auction in Excelsior Springs last 
Saturday. 'The business of the day has not been completely checked, 
but will total between $1,200 and $1,500.' Auctioneers of state wide 
reputation donated their services. A collar button worn by Jesse James 
at the time of his murder brought $.31.00. Frank James' rifle, carrying 
fifteen notches and having his name cut on it, was donated by his son. 
An old trunk made in England in 1830 was bought as a relic by a St. 
Louis trunk man. Another attractive gift was a gander which was sold 
and resold all afternoon bringing $132.00. One young lady offered to 
buy a husband ; however, none was offered for sale." - 

Production Department. 

When the government called upon the women of America to help 
with the war work, 1,540 Clay County women responded promptly, and 
were organized into a loyal and enthusiastic body of Red Cross war 
workers. 

The Production Department was the first section of the Red Cross 
to begin work and was perhaps the most active of the departments of the 
Red Cross Chapter during the war. 

There were four divisions of work in this department: 

Surgical Dressings. 
Hospital Garments. 
Knitting. 
Refugee Relief. 

The Surgical Dressing Division with Mrs. Harry Maltby as chairman, 
Miss Ethel Sparks and Miss Nellie Ruth Field, assistants, did fine work. 
Only four branches of the chapter assisted in this work which continued 
from August 15, 1917, until the oflficial closing of war work. The out- 
put was 372,440 dressings. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 297 

Hospital garments were made under the supervision of Mrs. Henry 
C. Harper. The work in this division was discontinued the first day of 
June, 1917. The women of America by that time had filled all of the Red 
Cross warehouses in America and all of the Red Cross warehouses in 
France with a reserve stock of hospital supplies, gannents and dress- 
ings. From September 1, 1917, until June 1, 1919, the output from this 
division was 9.269 hospital ga]Tnents. 

Knitting Division: When the Red Cross Chapter was fonnally 
organized, a large number of women already organized with Mrs. J. L. 
Thompson as chairman and doing fine work as Navy League Knitters, 
loyally and patriotically became Red Cross workers. Mrs. J. L. Thomp- 
son was appointed chairman, Mrs. Taylor Thorp, inspector, so they were 
ready to begin work immediately and the task of securing material began. 
This proved to be a most difficult matter. Finally in October, 1917, with 
much enthusiasm, our women and children and even one old man, one 
young man and a few boys began to knit. Oh, how they did knit. The 
telephone in the home of the chairman, where the supplies were kept, 
was at white heat. Why they went at knitting much as the boys did 
at the fighting in the Argonne. One woman knit as she walked the 
street. Something like 5,060 knitted garments (sweaters, sox, helmets, 
wristlets and mufflers) were made. All branches and auxiliaries rend- 
ered excellent service and the Chapter as a whole rendered splendid service 
both in amount and quality of work. 

On April 6th, 1918, Mrs. A. M. Tutt became assistant and in an ex- 
ceptionally loyal manner gave her services as knitter and assistant in 
office work. In December, 1918. Mrs. Tutt formally succeeded to the 
chairmanship. 

Refugee Relief work was under the direction of Mrs. William H. 
Woodson as chairman until her resignation, the first of June. Up to this 
time thi|S work was done in the schools and in the homes. After the 
making of hospital garments was discontinued, April 1, 1919, refugee 
garments were made in the Red Cross sewing rooms under the direction 
of Mrs. Heni-y C. Hai-per. 8,104 garments represented the work of this 
division, making the total output from the Production Department 395,624 
articles. Many women, by putting patriotic sei-vice before all other con- 
sideration received the certificate which in recognition of loyal service to 
the nation through the Red Cross is awarded to persons serving through 



298 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



periods of six, twelve and eighteen months. Each period of sitx months 
must have eight hundred hours actual work. Likewise each eight hun- 
dred hours work must carry with it six months service. The names and 
awards of Clay County workers are as follows: 

Eighteen months' service, 2,400 hours, badge with ribbon bearing 
two white stripes — Mjts. Henry C. Harper. 

Twelve months' sei'vice, 1,600 hours, badge with i-ibbon bearing one 
white stripe — 

Mrs. Dudley Van Dyke. Mry. J. L. Thompson. 

Mrs. Taylor Thorp. Mis. Harry Maltby. 

Miss Kate IJieckenridge. Mrs. Inez G. Brand. 

Miss Rose Breckenridge. Mi'^s Sallie Myall. 

Miss Bess Sparks. Mv<. B. F. Billings. 

Miss Gertrude Sparks. Mrs. A. M. Tutt. 
Miss Ethel Spai'ks 



Six months' sen-ice, 800 hours, 


badge beaiing plain blue ribbon- 


Mrs. A. E. Morrow. 


Mi-s. 


V. B. Stone. 


Mrs. J. M. Sandusky. 


Mi-H. 


W. T. Belt. 


Mrs. H. G. Parker. 


Mrs. 


Emmons. 


Mrs. W. H. Woodson. 


Mrs. 


Harriet Jones. 


Miss Lounette Denny. 


Mrs. 


J. Q. Craven. 


Miss Anna Simrall. 


Mrs. 


L. J. Edmonston. 


Mrs. E. B. Maltby. 


Mrs. 


Harriett Read. 


Dr. W. 0. Lewis. 


Mrs. 


S. B. Cole. 


Mrs. Mary Waring. 


Mrs. 


Fred Davis. 


Mrs. Kate McCi'ory. 


Mrs. 


0. L Steele. 


Mrs. J. T. Duncan. 


Mrs. 


C. S. Wilcox. 


Mrs. Ralph Davidson. 


Miss 


Fay Steele. 


r.Irs. Henry Haynes. 


Mrs. 


Sai*ah Clevenger. 


Miss Minnie Haynes. 


Mrs. 


W. W. Breckenridge. 


Mr. R. A. Davidson. 


Mrs. 


Glen Lewis. 


Mrs. E. H. Wear. 


Mrs. 


J. C. Shelton. 


Mrs. Don Shelton. 







Siic months' service but less than 800 hours, badge bearing khaki 
ribbon — Mrs. J. C. Anderson, 700 hours. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 299 

This department owes much of its success to the support of the 
business men who, with generous and kind consideration did the little 
things and big things that did not go on record, yet counted for much in 
adding to the comfort and efficiency of the work rooms. 

The Liberty branch ig especially indebted to Mrs. Frank Hughes for 
a cutting machine which was of invaluable help. To the First National 
Bank for several comfortable rooms and the patient endurance of all 
inconvenience and annoyance, necessarily and unnecessarily arising. To 
the Citizens Bank for use of room for our knitting. To the mayor and 
councilmen for use of Council Chambers for the office of our secretary. 
To Mr. E. B. Maltby for use of room and other favors. To Mr. James 
Costello for lumber, Mr. H. R. Banks for lumber. To Mr. Herbert Hill 
for chairs and other favors. To Mr. W. F. Paradise for daily delivery 
of ice. To Electric Light Office for electricity. To Mr. Pascal Parker 
for service of three telephones and other favors. To Sharp Brothers for 
use of two sewing machines and chairs. To Mr. Ralph Davidson for his 
faithful service at all ti|mes, especially in packing and shipping. To Mr. 
Harry Boggess, Mr. Joe Winston, Mr. Elihu Park and many others who 
were ever re^^dy to lend a helping hand when called upon. 

From Winner, a small auxiliary, the following report shows this 
same spirit of patriotism was manifested there, and in fact prevailed in 
all of the production work throughout the chapter: 

"This auxiliary was organized by Dr. Lewis, then County Chairman, 
on the night of January 27, 1918. He and Dr. Robert R. Fleet coming 
that night to this little country store with the mercury below zero ex- 
pecting to find eight or ten persons gathered for the meeting. They 
were amazed to see, before the evening was over, more than fifty men, 
women and children. And to show the good 'get together' spirit of our 
community in this great Red Cross work and also the never failing sup- 
port of our men folks, we want to mention one Red Letter Day of our 
organization. Early in June (we were in the habit of each one taking 
light lunch so as little tihie as possible be lost from our work) our men 
folks asked us into the store where they had supplemented our lunch 
with ice cream, strawberries and cake, ?11 good and nicely served as a 
surprise to the women workers and at this time had Dr. Ward Edwards, 
who was present, announce the gift of a serving machine by the men." 

The women of the Production Department are justly proud of their 



300 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

record, and of the fact that they ai-e a part of the loyal anny of Amer- 
ican women that proved a factor in the winning of the war, and in re- 
lieving the suffering growing out of it, and are ready to take up the 
peace time activities of the Red Cross with the same spirit and zeal. 

MRS. H. C. HARPER. 

Canteen Work. 

Owing to the fact that the Clay County Chapter of Red Cross is so 
closely situated to Kansas City, there was little opportunity for Canteen 
Service. For this reason Mr. Pettus of St. Louis, Chairman of this work 
in the Southwestern Division, first suggested there was no need for 
having a Canteen organization, but later advised that the Chapter 
organize to be ready for emergency work along this line. But did not 
think a hut or definite arrangements necessary. 

The Canteen department was organized with Miss Ethel Sparks as 
chairman and the following members: 

Mrs. Harry Maltby. Mr. Pascal Parker. 

Miss Ann R. Clark. Mrs. Jerome Alexander. 

Mrs. Eunice McCartney. Miss Bess Sparks. 

Miss Nellie Ruth Field. Miss Gertrude Sparks. 

Mrs. Aileen Benjamine. Mrs. Stanton Field. 

All with enthusiasm and patriotiism were eager to be of sei-vice and 
did render valuable aid to the hospital in connection with the Rahe Auto 
Tractor School, located at North Kansas City, Clay County. This school 
was taken over by the government and the drafted men were brought 
there; many of them were taken seriously ill and the school was not 
prepared to care for them properly. The government officer in charge 
appealed to the Clay County Chapter for aid until they could get things 
in running order. The Liberty branch supplied surgical supplies and hos- 
pital garments. The Chapter contributed many dainties for the sick 
boys — for weeks sent custards, soups, buttermilk, fruit and flowers and 
visited the hospital, supplying the immediate needs until the government 
completed arrangements for caring for the sick. 

At three different times the drafted men, in leaving were served 
supper — about three hundred in all. On the first occasion the supper 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 301 

was served by the ladies free of charge but other times the chairman of 
the draft board paid for the supper of each, the money being turned over 
to the local branch, Liberty, of the Red Cross Chapter. On one occasion 
a troop train stopped here for a short time and the men were well sup- 
plied with cigarettes, cigars and lunches. 

WTiile the Clay County Chapter realizes that veiy little service was 
rendered by the Canteen Department, it was only from lack of oppor- 
tunity and not of spirit. 

ETHEL SPARKS. 

Home Service Section. 

When the war broke out it was apparent to everyone that no one 
could fight well if he was worrying about his dependents at home. The 
Home Service Section of the American Red Cross was organized for the 
purpose of reducing such worry to the minimum. It was the business 
of Home Service Sections to take the places of soldiers and sailors in 
their homes as far as possible, giving moral, financial or other assistance 
when needed. 

The Home Service Section of the Clay County Chapter of the Amex*- 
ican Red Cross was organized in Octobez-, 1917, with Di-. E. H. Suther- 
land, professor of Sociology in the William Jewell College, as chairman. 
Mrs. Inez Brand was appointed as the representative in Excelsior Springs 
and Miss Irene Smith as the representative in Holt. Since the demands 
for work of this kind were so few at that time no other representatives 
were appointed then. The chairman gave his personal attention to all 
calls from other places. But as the situation became more serious it was 
apparent that a complete organization was necessary. During the spring 
of 1918 a thorough organization was developed, which was practically 
complete by July, 1918, with the following officers and representatives: 

E. H. Sutherland, Liberty, Chairman. 

Mrs. E. H. Sutherland, Liberty, Executive Secretary. 

Mrs. W. E. Templeton, Excelsior Springs, Representative. 

Mrs. Walter Hulen, Holt, Representative. 

Mr. Golf Logan, Kearney, Representative. 

Miss Mattie Snail, Smithville, Representative. 

Mrs. Eliza Hey, Linden, Representative. 



302 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Mr. Charles Lewis, Paradise, Representative. 

Mrs. Griffith, Nashua, Representative. 

Miss Sophia Schroeder, North Kansas City, Representative. 

Miss Gerti'ude Writesman, Missouri City, Representative. 

During the war Clay County sent 1,029 persons into service. These 
and their dependents constituted the field of work of the Home Service 
Section of the Clay County Chapter. Most of these families were 
entirely able to care for their own needs and no assistance was neces- 
sary other than the friendliness and neighborliness of their fellow- 
citizens. The Home Service Section rendered assistance of various kinds 
to 174 families. 

Financial aid was given to ten families, partly as loans, partly as 
gifts. Most of the loans were necessary because of the failure of the 
government to send family allowances and allotments on time, together 
with the fact of sickness, death or unemployment of those at home. 

The Home Service Section rendered its greatest service in furnish- 
ing to the constituent the information with which it was kept constantly 
supplied from headquarters regarding laws and provisions of the gov- 
ernment for assistance to the dependents of soldiers and sailoi-s. In 
doing this and other kinds of work 195 letters were written and ninety 
personal visits by the various representatives and by the secretary were 
made. 

The army used the Home Sen'ice Secretary as an official source of 
information regarding the necessity of furloughs for the soldiers. In 
that capacity the Home Service Section gave much assistance in secur- 
ing furloughs and in the extension of furloughs, mostly in cases of sick- 
ness and death of relatives. 

Other forma of service given were assistance in securing vocational 
training for wounded soldiers, securing emplojTnent for returned soldiers 
and financial aid for stranded soldiers. To the relatives of several of 
the nineteen men from this county who died in sei-vice aid was given in 
securing compensation, insurance and personal effects. 

Funds for this work were provided by the Clay County Chapter. 
At first no regular system was developed, but in September, 1918, the 
Executive Committee of the Chapter voted to establish a revolving fund 
of $100 from the Chapter funds for Home Service work. The expend- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 303 

itures of the Section duriaig its history are as follows: Loans $70.26, 
gifts $10.00, general expenses $53.37. 

An office was established in the Citizens' Bank Building, and the 
Executive Secretary maintained office hours there two afternoons a week. 

In June, 1919, Mrs. T. J. Rogers, became acting secretary, during 
the absence of Mrs. E H. Sutherland for the summer. 

The question has been raised regarding the future of Home Service 
work in this and other counties. In some places it has seemed desir- 
able to extend the field of Home Service work to families of persons who 
were not in service, and thus make it a general organization for the wel- 
fare of needy persons in the community. No action to that effect has 
been taken, but the need for some such organization has become very 
clear, and there is no doubt that the organization already developed 
could be used to good advantage for that pui-pose in this county. 

MRS. E. H. SUTHERLAND. 

Names of Doctors from Clay County with .\rmy and Navy. 

Dr. G. P. Alton, Barry, Mi-ssouri. 

Dr. J. E. Baird, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. Jno. F. Grace, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. Tom A. Grace, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. J. E. Musgrave, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. 0. C. Okell, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. R. W. Pi'ather, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. William Earl Wallace, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. Neal Dow Williams, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. Y. D. Craven, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. A. A. Kirkham, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. Howard Lienhardt, North Kansas City, Missouri. 

Dr. Sterling Price Stowers, North Kansas City, Missouri. 

Dr. George R. Dagg, North Kansas City, Missouri. 

Dr. Burton Maltby, Liberty, Missouri. 

Dr. Roy Heap Milligan, Kearney, Missouri. 

Dr. George R. McCullough, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Dr. E. C. Hill, Smithville, Missouri. 

Dr. H. A. Calvert, Smithville, Missouri. 

Miss Lutie Ecton, Smithville, Missouri (Red Cross nurse). 



304 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Dentists. 

Dr. W; R. Hardin, Liberty, Missouri. 
Dr. Uel Cobb, Liberty, Missouri. 
Dr. R. S. TuUy, Liberty, Missouri. 

Vetfcrinaries. 

Dr. J. P. Clark, Randolph, Missouri. 

Dr. Elmer Johnston, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Student Doctors. 

Brewer Pocter, Liberty, Missouri. 
Sam McCracken, Smithville, Missouri. 
W. W. Billings, Liberty, Missouri. 

Nursing Department. 

The Nursing Department of Clay County Chapter was among the 
last of its departments to be organized. The Sewing, Surgical Dressings 
and Knitting Departments were doing very creditable work a year or 
more before the imperative need of a Nursing Department was realized. 

In the latter part of July, 1918, just before our Chairman, Dr. W. 0. 
Lewis, left for camp, this department was established and Mrs. Mary 
L. Davis appointed to act as chaiirman. 

The chairmen of the various branches were requested to name a 
woman from each branch whom they could recommend, for their local 
or Branch Chairman of Nursing service. These with Mrs. Davis as chair- 
man completed the personnel of the Nursing Service and Educational 
Committee. 

Their names are as follows: 

Miss Vertie Hulett, Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Mrs. Matt Winn, Kearney and Holt, Missouri. 

Mrs. Maud Mosby, Linden, Missouri. 

Miss Kate Sexton, Missouri City, Missouri. 

Miss Nina Vance, Nashua, Missouri. 

Miss Grace Irminger, Paradise, Missouri. 

Miss Julia Hill, Smithville, Missouri. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 305 

During the month of August, 1918, a nursing drive was initiated. 
This was carriled out by the Red Cross Nursing Service in co-operation 
with the Women's Council for National Defense, resulting in twelve of 
Clay County's best young women entering training schools for nurses 
to prepare for future needs and to relieve others for active service in 
camps and at the front. 

A little later a survey of the Nursing Service of Clay County was 
made and it was found that we had twenty nurses who signed up question- 
naires. This sun'ey came after the Armistice was signed and when 
most people felt that the war was virtually over, or it would have re- 
sulted in more names being sent in. 

Since then two more cards have been sent us belonging to nurses 
residing in the county. 

Several of the above nurses have been requested to take the work 
of instructing classes in Home Nursing but so far none have been will- 
ing to do this for all of Clay County. Classes are anxious to begin the 
study of Home Nursing and one class in First Aid was organized in 
November, 1918, progressing as far as lesson five, when influenza inter- 
fered. Dr. W. H. Goodson, the instructor of this class will finish giving 
the course soon. 

As First Aid has lately been made a department vdthin itself, Home 
Nursing is being expanded into Public Health and Welfare Nursing, 
which is a more general arrangement fitted to times of peace. The aim 
is to bring this instruction to every woman in every home in Clay County 
who will take the course. 

Miss Galbraith visited us May 9, 10, 1919, and explained the changes 
in organization to be effected. Misses Allen and Witte came about June 
1st following her visit and explained further about the new plans that 
were being made. 

Several new names were added to the Nursing Committee represent- 
ing the various departments of civic and social life of the county. 

As the hot weather is upon us it was recommended that we do our 
best to get names for classes to be held in September and October and 
to try to procure a Red Cross nurse to take charge of these classes at 
that time. 

MRS. MARY L. DAVIS. 



306 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Junior Red Cross Work in Clay County. 

The Junior Red Cross work in Clay County was started in the sum- 
mer of 1917. The Chapter School Committee was appointed and plans 
were made for organizing the work after the opening of school in the 
fall. Soon after school started letters, literature and membership cards 
were sent to every teacher in the county and the teachers were urged 
to raise the membership fees and have their schools eru-olled as Junior 
Auxiliaries. The response was highly gratifying and by the close of 
the year practically every school in the county was a Junior Auxiliarj' 
and nearly eveiy pupil was entitled to wear the Red Cross button. The 
total Junior membership reached 3,750 out of a total of 4,670 children in 
the Chapter jurisdiction. Many of the Juniors took out Senior member- 
ship, paying the regular fee of $1.00. Various plans were used in rais- 
ing the fees. In most of the high schools the money was contributed by 
the students. In some of the high schools and in most of the rural 
and graded schools, entertainments, box suppers, bazaars, and various 
other community plans were used as a means for raising the funds. Ten 
per cent of the membership fees were sent to the treasurer of the Chap- 
ter School Committee. In as much as most schools raised considerably 
more than their membership fees, it is probable that at least $1,000 was 
raised by the children of the county during 1917-1918 for Junior Red 
Cross work. 

The Committee, having sufficient funds on hands to carry on the 
Health Crusade during 1918-1919, did not insist on schools again raising 
membership fees. Many did so, however, and under the new ruling from 
National Headquarters, all of this money was turned over to Mr. Black 
and part of it turned over, by him, to the treasurer of the Chapter. 

The Treasurer's report shows the following membei-ship summary: 

Number of school children (white and colored) in 

chapter jurisdiction 4,670 

Number of Junior members 3,750 

Number of Junior auxiliaries 69 

During the present year all schools are being urged to renew their 
membership by i-aising one-fourth as many dollars as they have children 
enrolled. Sixty per cent of this money will be sent to the National 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 307 

Treasurer to be used for relief work among the destitute children of the 
devastated countries of Europe and Asia. The remaining- 40% will be 
used by the Committee in the Health Crusade, or in other authorized 
activities connected with the Peace Program of the Juniors. 

The work of the Junior Red Cross during the war was varied includ- 
ing every form of war activity that the Juniors could carry on. The 
children and teachers all over the county took up the work eagerly. The 
only difficulty experienced by the Committee was to provide definite work 
for the children to do. Shot bags, gun wipes, comfort kits, infant lay- 
ettes, arm slings, refugee garments, sweaters, socks, hospital quilts, pil- 
lows, rugs, etc., were made by the children. The exact number cannot 
be repeated, as no accurate means of reporting to the Chapter School 
Committee was worked out. This is to be regretted as iit makes it im- 
possible for the Committee to make anything like a complete report. 

Many schools that did just as effective work as those listed below 
did not send in written reports. The following summaries, taken from 
the reports sent in, gives some conception of the scope of the work done 
by the Juniors in Clay County. 

Name of Auxiliary and Branch. No. and Name of Articles Made. 

Prathersville Auxiliary Raised $110.26. 

30 refugee garments. 
180 triangular bandages. 
48 sweaters. 
22 pairs of sox. 

Holt Branch Made refugee gannents. 

.3 hospital quilts. 

North Kansas City Branch Knit wash rags; made pillows. 

Kearney Branch Refugee sewing; sold salvage; col- 
lected used clothing for refugees. 

Paradise Branch Gave entertainments to raise money 

for Seniors. 

Linden Branch Did refuge sewing. 

Pleasant Valley Auxiliary Sewing and snipping; 1 quilt, shot 

bags, gun wipes and pillows. 

Woods School 2,000 gun wipes, 6 pillows, 1 quilt, 1 

rug. 



308 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Nashua Branch 16 pillows, i-ugs and gun wipes. 

Liberty Branch Boys made shipping boxes. 

Surgical dressing classes organized. 

Lai'ge numbers of shot bags, gun 

wipes, comfort kits, infant lay- 

g I I '^r, ., ettes, armslings. 

i. ' 'l " Collected refugee clothing, nut shells. 

j , Girls worked at Red Ci'oss rooms on 

I • ; j n ~ ' Saturdays and after school. 

Excelsior Springs Boys made shipping boxes. 300 

comfort kits, large numbers of 
hospital bandages, pillows, infant 
layettes, refugee garments. High 
school girls worked during noon 
hour and at Red Cross work rooms 
on Saturday and after school. 
More than 4,000 pounds of refugee 
clothing collected. Adopted three 
Fiench orphans. High school girls 
collected $300 on an American flag 
for the Senior Red Cross ; collected 
an equal amount on "Armistice" 
day. 

In addition to the above, practically every school in the county enlisted 
in the Health Crusade last year. Most of the children enrolled as Mod- 
em Health Crusaders and received the Squire's button and the Knight's 
pin. School closed before the children had opportunity to earn the 
final badge. The campaign is again being started in the schools of the 
county and the Committee hopes that the majority of the children in the 
county will win the Knight banneret pin. The crusade is a most prac- 
tical form of hygiene instruction and will materially raise the sanitary 
and health conditions in the homes and schools of the county. 

G. W. DEIMER. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



309 



Report of the Negro Auxiliary of Liberty. 

Liberty organized an auxiliary among the negroes of Liberty about 
December 15, 1918, with a membership of seventeen and Mrs. Lena 
Thompson, chairmart. Their work in the Production Department was 
exceptionally good. They contributed $100.00 in one of the Red Cross 
drives. 



Names of Members. 



Marion Pearley 
Minnie Beauchamp 
Vina Taylor 
Bell Walker 
Janie Davis 
Laura Robinson 
Martha Robinson 
Mary Dudley 
Lucy B. Capps 



Mattie Cathey 

Frances Alexander 

Pauline Allen 

Scottie Thather 

Bessie Dale 

Marie Parker 

Lena Thompson, President 

Delcia M. Gay, Secretary 



CHAPTER XXVIII 



SOME CLAY COUNTY AND MISSOURI EVENTS. 



SOME DATES OF DISCOVERY. SETTLiEMENT AND PROGRESS OF MISSOURI AND 
ANNALS OF CLA.y COUNTY, MISSOURI 

1755. 
The first settlement of whites in Missouri is made at Ste. Genevieve. 

1764. 
Laclede and his companions establish a trading post at St. Louis. 

1798. 
Population of St. Louis, 92.5. 

1800. 

Indian traders have headquarters at Roubidoux (St. Joseph) and 
at Randolph Bluffs, just above where the C. M. & St. P. R. R. crosses the 
Missouri River, in Clay County. 

1803. 

Louisiana ceded to the United States, by Napoleon Bonaparte, for 
$15,000,000; formal delivery of possession, December 20, 1803. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 311 

1804. 

Jurisdiction surrendered at St. Louis. 

March 26 — Congress divides the new territory into two parts. The 
northern department is called the District of Louisiana, and is attached 
to Indiana, of which Gen. H. Harrison is governor. 

May 14 — Lewis and Clark, with twenty-eight men, start from their 
camp opposite the mouth of the Missouri, on their expedition to the 
Pacific. On their return, they reach St. Louis, September 23, 1806. 

1805. 

By act of Congress, the District of Louisiana becomes the Territory 
of Louisiana, and Gen. James Wilkerson is appointed the first governor. 

1807. 
Merriwether Lewis is governor of the Territory of Louisiana. 

1808. 

The Missouri Fur Company is organized in St. Louis by the Chouteaus 
and others 

1809. 

The Missouri Gazette issued at St. Louis by Joseph Charless, and a 
copy of this newspaper of 1812 date, was sent to the Missouri Historical 
Society, St. Louis, from Liberty, in the spring of 1920. 

1810. 

Benjamin Howard, governor of Missouri. 

The United States census shows the population of the Territory of 
Missouri. 20,845. 

1812. 

June 4 — Congress changes the name of the Territory of Louisiana to 
the Territory of Missouri, the change to take effect December 7, 1812. 

1813. 
William Clark, governor of Missouri. 



312 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

1819. 

The Steamers Expedition, Captain Craig, Jefferson, Captain Offut and 
the R. M. Johnson, Captain Colfax, with nine keelboats, left St. Louis, 
June 21st on the long, arduous and perilous voyage to the mouth of the 
Yellowstone to ascertain the practicability of navigating the Missouri. 
Accompanying the voyagers was part of the 5th United States Infantry, 
under the command of Colonel Chambers. The Jefferson sank at Cote- 
Sans-des- Sans. Captain Martin in 1818, camped for the winter on Cow 
Island, with three companies of United States Rifiemen. This island is 
about ten miles above Leavenwoi'th. John C. McCoy, late of Kansas City, 
in a paper entitled "Survey of Kansas Indian Lands", read January 15, 
1889, before the Kansas Histoncal Society, and printed in the fourth 
volume of "Kansas Historical Collections", page 303, writes: "Captain 
Martin, in 1818. camped for the winter with three companies of United 
States Riflemen on Cow Island, ten miles above Leavenworth, and during 
the winter killed between two and three thousand deer, besides gi-eat 
numbers of bear, turkeys, etc." 

1820. 

March 6 — Congress passes the Compromise Bill, admitting Missouri 
into the Union as a state. The Constitutional Assembly met in St. Louis 
and assented to the terms of admission. The first govenior of the state 
was Alexander McNair, elected August, 1820. 

1821. 
August 10 — ^President Monroe recognized Missouri as a state. 

1822. 

Clay County was organized. It extended north to the Iowa line. 
The same year Liberty was made the county seat. Februarj' 11th, the 
first county court was held at the house of John Owens in Liberty. This 
house was located about half way between Kansas and Mill streets, on 
the west side of Water street, and occupied for many years before the 
war between the states, and after said war by Peter B. Grant, cousin of 
Gen U. S. Grant. Part of the materials from this old house is now doing 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 313 

good service in a brick and stoue building on tlie south half ol" lot 186, 
northwest comer of Water and Mill streets. Judges of the County Court 
were: John Thornton, Elisha Camron and James Gilmore; William L. 
Smith, county clerk, and John Harris, sheriff. 

1823. 

A wagon road was opened from Liberty by way of Smithville to 
Counci Blulf s. An express was at times run on this trial by contractors, 
traders and trappers. Smithville being the last town a train left and the 
first to entertain the drivers on their return, became for a short time a 
resort for drunken whites and begging Indians. Smithville and the) 
stream on which it is located were named for Humphrey Smith (Yankee), 
who had located there in 1822. Here Smith built a dam and constructed 
a mill of round, unhewn white-oak logs. A pair of 21/2 foot millstones 
were cut from what was called "lost rock" or boulders. The wheel wa,s 
the old-style flutter wheel. This was the first water-mill built in the 
county, and its erection caused immense interest ; half the people of 
the county attended the raising. 

1824. 
Commissioners are appointed to locate and open a road to Santa Fe. 

1825. 

General Lafayette ila in St. Louis. Steamboats commence to make 
occasional trips up the Missouri ; two reached Liberty Landing this season. 

1826. 

There is a great rise in the Missouri ]li\er. lacking about four feet 
of being as high as in 1844. 

November 11 — A company of 93 emigrants from Bourbon County, 
Kentucky, arriA'e in Clay County, after a long and "tedious overland 
iourney and settle near Smithville. The heads of the families are Capt. 
James Duncan, Matthew Duncan. William Duncan, Rice Davenport, James 
Winn, Sarah Music (widow), James Gray (teacher). The caravan con- 
sisted of seven wagons, four cars, five dearborns, 150 sheep, seventy-five 



314 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

cattle, and a large number of horses. Their only neig-hbors were the 
families of Humphrey Smith, Cornelius Gilliam, John Gilliam, William 
Riggs and Samuel Croley. 

November 20 — The seat of government was removed from St. Charles 
to Jefferson City. 

1827. 

March 7, 1827 — By order of Major-General Brown, Colonel Leaven- 
worth, of the 3rd Infantry United States Army, was ordered to locate a 
permanent cantonment at a point near the mouth of the Little Platte 
River and within a range of twenty miles, above or below its confluence. 
Acting in obedience to his orders. Colonel Leavenworth could find no suit- 
able place within this range on the left bank of the Missouri River, but 
recommended a site on the bank, or west side of the river, knowTi as 
Rattlesnake Hills. In the meantime. Colonel Leavenworth erected tem- 
porary barracks and his men named the post "Cantonment I^eavenworth". 
The name was adopted in General Orders, dated November 8, 1827. But 
the name was soon changed to "Fort". 

1828. 

For ten years after Fort Leavenworth was established, Clay County 
was the base of supplies for the soldiers. All beef, bacon, lard, vege- 
tables and other marketing were brought from Clay, as well as all horses, 
mules and cattle. 

1829. 

Bacon was sold to the quartermaster at Fort Leavenworth at one 
and one-fourth cents per pound; net pork sold for seventy-five cents per 
hundi'ed pounds ; horses brought fifteen dollars to twenty dollars ; oxen 
per yoke, thirty dollars, and large steers, ten dollars. Beeswax sold for 
twenty-five cents per pound. 

March 9 — A town and post office are established to be called Barry, 
in honor of the then Postmaster-General, William T. Barry. 

1830. 

On account of the danger in navigation of the Missouri River, prior 
to 1830, only an occasional steamer ventured up this stream. The first 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 315 

regular steamboat was the Otoe, Capt. J. B. Hill. She was followed by 
the Hancock. The Globe, Captain Wineland, made a trip for the govern- 
ment in 1830. 

September 24, 1830 — Maj. John Dougherty, agent of the Pawnee 
Indians, held a council with this tribe at Fort Leavenworth. 

1831. 

The mails from Libeily to the Fort, at first carried weekly by hor.se, 
are now conveyed tri-weekly by hack. 

1832. 

The Mormons come to Jackson County. Liberty Arsenal was erected 
this year. David M. Bivens did the carpenter work and Riley and Dykes 
the brick-work. 

1833. 

The Mormons, many of them coming into Clay County, from Jack- 
son County. Meetings were held in both counties to get rid of them. 

"1834. 

A few persons from Clay County crossed the line and made im- 
provements in Platte. 

1835. 

At a militia muster in the summer of 1835, on Weekly Dale's farm, 
about four miles north of Liberty, Gen. Andrew S. Hughes, a noted 
la^vyer of Liberty, but at the time agent of the Iowa tribe of Indians, 
presented the matter of the annexation of the Platte country to Col. A. W. 
Doniphan, Gen. D. R. Atchison, William T. Wood, Peter H. Burnett and 
Edward M. Samuel, as these parties were seated around one common table, 
partaking of the noon day repast. With but little discussion, it was then 
and there determined to memorialize Congi'ess to extend the limits of the 
state so as to embrace the Platte country. Accordingly William T. Wood 
(afterwards judge) prepared the memorial, which was signed by the 
above named distinguished men and by many others. The document was 
sent direct to Dr. Lewis F. Linn, United States Senator from Missouri, 
who, with the aid of Hon. Thomas H. Benton, Congi'ess gave its assent to 



316 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

this extension, conditioned upon the extinguishment oi the Indian title, 
and the acceptance of the terms by the state. The Legislature of the 
state gave its acceptance December 16, 1836. 

1836. 

Large numbers of persons from Clay County crossed the line into 
Platte County and made improvements, crude although these improve- 
ments were. Among their number were William Woods, Eph. Gilliam, 
Handel Vance, Sol. Eads, Charles Cook, David Rupe, Ben. Cornelius, 
Leander Jones, James Rupe, Robert Chance, Felix Beauchamp, William 
Brown, Robert Asher, Nat Boydston, and William Asher. A short time 
thereafter, the authorities at Washington, being apprised of this invasion, 
dispatched an officer with troops and quietly, but firmly, required all 
these settlers to leave the territory of the Platte, destroyed the primitive 
improvements and gave notice that no settlements would be tolerated 
until further notice. Notwithstanding this action on the part of the gov- 
ernment, late in the fall of this year, Nat Boydston and several others 
returned to this territory and were not molested. 

Platte County was attached, by act of the Legislature, to Clay County 
for ci\il and military purposes. 

1837. 

Treaty with the Indians ratified. 

From 1827 to 1837, practically all supplies of every kind, except 
clothing for the maintenance and support of the garrison of Fort Leaven- 
worth, were obtained from Clay County. Thomas C. Gordon, John Dough- 
erty, James T. V. Thompson and others, all residents of the county, 
furnished cattle, horses, mules, bacon, lard ; in fact, the whole of all neces- 
sary commissoiy and quartermaster supplies. Liberty was a place of 
resort for the officers of the fort. The good people of Liberty prepared 
weekly functions, parties, dances, etc., for the elite of this garrison, and 
during these ten years Liberty had as guests many men, who in later 
years, became renowoied in the country's history; probably the most 
distinguished being Jefferson Davis. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 317 

1838. 

All Mormons left Clay County and joined their brethren at P'ar West, 
in Caldwell County. 

OctoVjer of this year the "Mormon War" occurred with results as de- 
tailed elsewhere. 

1844. 

Great Hood, the greatest ever experienced by the people of Clay 
County. Waters of the Missouri extending from bluff to bluff. 

1846. 

The "Liberty Iribune" established; Robert H. Miller', editor and pub- 
lisher. A cyclone passed over the central part of Clay County, from 
southwest to northeast, doing dam.age to houses, trees, fences, etc. De- 
cember 2G, 1846, the first railroad meeting in aid of the Hannibal and 
St. Joseph Railroad was held. Capt. O. V. Moss's company of soldiers 
for the war with Mexico organized. 

1847. 

The Masonic College was removed from Marion County and located 
in Lexington. A strong effort had been made to have the college located 
in Liberty. Col. John Thornton died October 24; born December 24, 
1786. 

1848. 

In the winter and spring, a temperance wave struck the entire county. 
Henry L. Routt as H. P.; Benj. Hayes, W A.; H. M. Jones, R. S.; J. W. 
Ringo, F. S. and Isaac Palmer, treasurer. The vote of Clay County this 
year for governor: James S. Rollins, 745; Austin A. King, 531. For 
Congress, Edgar M. Samuel, 570; Willard P. Hall, 578. For Legislature, 
Thomas F. Swetnam, Whig, 739 ; Henry L. Routt, Democrat, 478. Sheriff, 
0. P. Moss, WTiig, 654; Samuel Hadley, Democrat, 645. George Lincoln 
died April 28 ; born April 15, 1792. 

1849. 

"The Jackson Resolution" passed by the Missouri Legislature. The 
Whig representative from Clay County voting against them. 



318 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

1850. 

Increased excitement over the discoveries of gold in California. 
Population of Clay as follows: 10,332. Whites, 7,590; blacks, 2,732. 

1851. 

Cholera made its appearance in the county. ^Anderson Edwards and 
another man and three negroes died in Liberty with the disease i!n July. 

1852. 

The vote for governor: Winston, Whig, 732; Sterling Price, Demo- 
crat, 491. Congress, Mordecai Oliver, Whig, 840 ; James H. Birch, Demo- 
crat, 311 ; Austin A. King, Democrat, 73. Legislature, O. P. Moss, Whig, 
and Nathaniel Vincent, Whig, were elected without opposition. 

1854. 

Mordecai Oliver was elected this year to Congress over Leonard, 
Lowe and John E. Pitt, of Platte County. 

1856. 

The vote for governor was: R. C. Ewing, Know Nothing or American, 
575; Trusten Polk, Democrat. 831; Thomas H. Benton, Independent, none. 
Congress, James H. Moss, Know Nothing, 802; James Craig, Democrat, 
824; Joel Tumham, Democrat, 808. 

1857. 

The great race for govenior between James S. Rollins and Robert M. 
Stewart. Stewart was declared elected, but the Whigs and Americans 
contended that Stewart was fraudulently counted in. The vote in the 
state stood: Stewart, 47,975; Rollins, 47,641; Stewart's majority, 334. 

1858. 

The vote this year for Congress : James H. Adams, WTiig and. Amer- 
ican, 993; James Craig, Democrat. 826. State Senator, J. H. Layton, 
Whig and American, 929 ; J. T. V. Thompson, Democrat, 837. Craig was 
elected to Congress and J. T. V. Thompson for State Senate. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 319 

September 1 — Solomon Binswanger was killed in a drunken quarrel 
at Missouri City. Dr. George C. Tuley was indicted and tried at Liberty 
for the crime, convicted of manslaughter in the third degree and sentenced 
to three months' imprisonment in the county jail and to pay a fine of 
$100. In April, 1859, George H. Wallis was tried, but the jury disagreed 
and he was allowed to plead guilty of manslaughter and received the 
same sentence as Doctor Tuley, but in October following he was pardoned 
by Governor Stewart. Wallis had been indicted with Tuley. September 
7, 1858, two estimable citizens, J. A. S. Major and Samuel Trabue became 
involved in an altercation, which resulted in the death of Trabue. 

1859. 

In June, Richard Moore stabbed and killed Patrick Cusick in a saloon 
in Liberty. The contractors. Crump & Thompson, for building the court 
house completed the building and it was accepted, November 9, 1859, 
but it had been occupied by the courts and clerks for some time previously. 

1860. 

Not a vote in Clay County for Abraham Lincoln. Population, whites, 
9,525; colored, 3,498. Total, 13,023. 

1861. 

April 12, Fort Sumpter was fired upon by the Confederates. When 
the news reached Clay, the county was ablaze. Liberty Arsenal was cap- 
tured April 20th by Confederate sympathizers. Paradoxical as it may 
appear, many men who aided in sacking this arsenal became ultra Union 
men when it appeared the South was not likely to win. A number of com- 
panies leave the county to join the Missouri State Guards at Lexington. 

1862. 

Parker's raid into Liberty. Constitutional Test Oath required and 
shortly thereafter the "Gamble Oath" was supplemented by one more 
binding, more exacting, harder to take and still harder to observe, a dis- 
grace to civilization. This wa.s called the "Ironclad Oath". 



320 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

1863. 

Capt. Darius Sessions was killed, May 19, by bushwhackers. Raid on 
Missouri City was made by bushwhackers. Raid made on Lawrence, 
Kansas, in which several Clay countians are said to have participated. 
Up to the 31st day of December, there had been eighteen citizens of the 
county murdered by the militaiy forces of both sides. Four Union men 
had been killed by the bushwhackers and the Federals had killed four- 
teen men of Confederate procli\ities. Of the latter, Penick's men killed 
six, em-olled and provisional militia six, and the Twenty-fifth Missouri 
Infantiy two. 

1864. 

Bushwhackers continued operations in the county. "Fletch" Taylor 
and his men, the chief distui"bers of the county's peace, as well as the 
peace of the militia. Capt. B. Wi Kemper, of Company C, Ninth M. S. M., 
was very seriously wounded by bushwhackers. Advent of Col. J. H. Ford 
and D. R. Anthony and their hordes from Colorado and Kansas, of whom 
special mention is made elsewhere in this history. 

1865. 

General Lee's army surrenders to General Grant. Tlie last of the 
bushwhackers. John D. Hall died March 1 ; bom April 23, 1800. 

1866. 

February 13th, the Clay County Savings Association was robbed and 
young Wymoi-e killed by the bandilts. Thomas C. Gordon died January 
8th; born May 29. 1799. 

1867. 

On January 1, 1867, the Commercial Savings Bank of Liberty begins 
its operations in a brick building at the southwest corner of the public 
square, with Col. A. J Calhoun as president and David Roberts as cashier, 
the capital stock being $5,000.00 paid in. The following are further 
"landmarks" in the history of this bank : 

January 1, 1870 — President Calhoun and Cashier Roberta resign. 
Dai"win J Adkins is elected president and A. J. Calhoun, cashier. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 321 

September 26, 1870 — William A. Hall succeeds A. J. Calhoun as 
cashier. 

May 20, 1871 — Lewis B. Dougherty assumes the cashiership; vice 
W. A. Hall resigned. 

January 1, 1883 — B. B. Corbin becomes associated with the bank as 
bookkeeper. 

August 11, 1885 — James M. Sandusky is elected director. 

September 16, 1885 — A. Cooper Davidson is chosen president; Darwin 
J. Adkins, deceased. 

September 25, 1885 — George Hughes is elected president. 

December 22, 1893 — James M. Sandusky becomes president. 

April 4, 1895— Capital stock is increased to $50,000.00. 

May 19, 1896— New charter, capital $75,000.00 January 7, 1898 ; John 
L. Dougherty,, assistant cashier. 

September 15, 1899 — Name changed to The Commercial Bank of Lib- 
erty; April 25, 1902, absorbs Liberty Savings Association. 

January 16, 1906 — J. L. Dougherty, cashier, succeeding L. B. Dough- 
erty, elected vice-president. 

November 16, 1907— Capital stock increased to $100,000.00. Januarj' 
1, 1912, F. D. Hamilton associated with bank as assistant cashier. B. B. 
Corbin resigns as assistant cashier to which he was elected June 4, 1908. 

1870. 

B. Gratz Brown elected governor. Freedom of the people from Rad- 
ical Republican government. Population of Clay County: Whites, 
13.718; colored. 1.846. Total. 15,564. 

1872. 

Silas Woodson elected governor, the first Democrat governor since 
1860. Contest between Thomas McCarty and William H. Woodson for 
State Senator. For President, Greeley, D. & L., 2,207 ; Grant, Republican, 
528; Charles O'Conner, Democrat, 27. Judge J. T. V. Thompson died; 
boni, 1797. Peter C. Pixlee died June 15, bom April 26, 1824. 



322 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

1873. 

A negro named Sam Walker, formerly a slave of Morgan Walker, of 
Jackson County, killed his wife, Katie, because she would no longer live 
with him. She was employed as a domestic by James M. Jones, who 
lived southwest of Liberty in two story brick house built before the Civil 
War by Col. James H. Moss. Capt. Thomas McCarty died August 6 ; bom 
July 23, 1822. 

1874. 

May 15th, the negro, Sam Walker, was hung for the killing of his 
wife. On the scaffold he made a rambling talk and just before the noose 
was placed around his neck lie began to bid his colored friends goodbye. 
Obser\'ing old Uncle Harve, a noted colored man, looking at him, Sam 
cried out, "Good bye. Uncle Harve!" To which Uncle Harve replied, 
"Goodbye, Sam; take good keer of yourself". 

1875. 

Long to be remembered as grasshopper year. "The Advance" estab- 
lished this year, George E. Patton, editor and publisher. E. H. Norton, 
of Platte and D. C. Allen were elected delegates to Con. Convention. 

1876. 

For President, Tilden, Democrat, 2,848 : Hayes, Republican, 509 ; 
Cooper, Greenback, 57. Markets: Gold, $1.10; apples, $1.00; ibutter, 
twenty-five cents; coffee, twenty-five cents; com, twenty-five cents; flour, 
$3.75; eggs, nine cents; hams, fourteen cents; hogs, six and one-half 
cents; hemp, $1.30; lard, fourteen cents; wheat. $1.15; wood, $2.50 a cord. 

1878. 

Barney Swinney was indicted and tried for the killing of John Fuller. 
About ten days were consumed in the investigation of the case before a 
court of inquiry and about two weeks in the final trial. Liberty had 
about fifteen resident lawyers, every one of whom were engaged, first and 
last, in the trial, with the exception of D. C. Allen. William H. Woodson 
was the prosecuting attorney. The evidence against the defendant was 
entirely circumstantial. Swinney was acquitted. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 323 

1879. 

Abijah Withers died August 17, aged eighty-one years. 

1880. 

The total population of Clay County in this year according to the 
official census was 15,572, of which 8,132 were males and 7,440 were 
females. The whites numbered 14,059 ; the colored people 1,513. By 
townships the population was as follows: 

Fishing River, including Missouri City 2,885 

Gallatin - 2,772 

Kearney, including Kearney and Holt 2,667 

Liberty, including the city of Liberty 3,714 

Platte, including Smithville and Paradise 2,352 

Washington 1,212 

Total 15,572 

1881. 

In the spring the Missouri River was higher than it had been since 
1844. The bottoms were overflowed and much damage resulted. Harlem 
was all under water and many buildings were destroyed. Some old settlers 
declared that the river was even higher in 1881 than it was in 1844. Cer- 
tainly the damage was greater^ for there was more to destroy. 

Capt. Oliver P. Moss died June 7; bom September 26, 1813. Col. 
Henry L. Routt died February 23. P. L. Moore died June 16, aged forty- 
five years. 

1882. 

Mrs Julia Ann Lincoln died September 5; bom February 16, 1802. 
John Berry died December 17; born April 5, 1796. 

1883. 
John Chrisman died January 23rd. 



324 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

1884. 

James Lunsford Nutter died December 20th; bom April 25, 1842. 
Anderson Turpin died November 2Gth ; born December 22, 1804. 

1885. 
Darwin J. Adkins died July 20th ; born October 19, 1821. 

1887. 
Gen. Alexander William Doniphan died August 8th ; bom June 9, 1808. 

1888. 

Dr. Stephen Eitchey died March 6th; bora March 21, 1824. Isaiah 
Sissom died February 25th ; born 1824. 

On the 16th day of May, 1887, the First National Bank of Liberty 
was organized and began its operations in a brick building at the north- 
west corner of the public square, with Daniel Hughes as president and 
James T. Riley as cashier, the capital stock being $50,000. Directors: 
Daniel Hughes, James T. Riley, Witten McDonald, James E. Lincoln, John 
J. Stogdale. John T. Chandler and R. J. Stone. Of these officers and 
directors, all are deceased with the sole e.xception of Mr. Stogdale. 

In 1897, John S. Major became president, James Costello vice-presi- 
dent, George S. Ritchey cashier, Miss Louise Riley bookkeeper, and later 
Henry H. Parrott, clerk. In April, 1919, Claude M. Donovan became vice- 
president. 

Last statement made by the bank, September 8, 1920, shows as 
follows : 

Capital $ 50.000 

Surplus 50,000 

Undivided profits 96,400 

Total resources over $1,000,000 

1906. 

In the summer of 1906, The Citizens Bank, of Liberty, Missouri, was 
organized with L. A. Davidson as president. Dr. John M. Robinson, vice- 
president, and John M. Newlee, cashier, and opened for business in the old 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 325 

Farmers Bank Building on the northeast corner of the public square, with 
a capital stock of $25,000. In February, ]9iO, to keep abreast of its in- 
creased business, the bank doubled its capitalization and elected as its 
officers William F. Norton, president ; L. A. Davidson, vice-president ; John 
M. Newlee, cashier, and Elijah Hise Norton, assistant cashier. During 
the years 1912-1913, the bank caused an elegant brick bank building to be 
erected on the southwest corner of the pul'lic square and moved into this 
building March 18, 1914. In 1813. its capitalization was increased to 
$75,000, with a surplus and undivided profits of $18,000. In 1920, the 
officers, directors and employees of the bank are as follows: William F. 
Norton, president ; John M. Newlee active vice-president ; E. S. Hunt, vice- 
president; E. H. Norton, cashier; John R. Smiley, assistant cashier; Jessie 
Norton, charge savings department; Ella M. PaiTott, bookkeeper. 
Directors: E. C. Bell, J. S. Robb, Dr. E. H. Miller, W. P. Downing, E. S. 
Hunt, S. P. Boggess, Dr. F. H. Matthews, Theodore Emerson, K. H. Norton, 
W. F. Norton and John M. Newlee. Condensed statement of the financial 
condition of the bank at the close ol' business August 26, 1920, shows 
resources, a total of $700,782.11. 

1913. 

The Kansas City, Clay County and St. .Joseph Electric Railroad was 
completed and commenced operation between Kansas City and St. Joseph, 
and between Kansas City via Liberty and PJxcelsiior Springs, in January, 
to the great satisfaction of the people of Clay County. 

1920. 

Merchants engaged in business in buildings around the public square 
m Liberty, December, 1920 : South side, Joseph H. Barnes, druggist ; Lee 
Clark, clothing; Trimble & Trimble, hardware, machinery and automo- 
biles; Elston Century, druggist; Boggess & Sons, hardware, machinery 
and automobiles: S. D. Church &: Sons, furniture. Southwest corner, 
Trigg Nutter & Son, restaurant: Mrs. McArthur, 5. 10 and 25 cents store. 
West side, A. W. Land, clothier; Myall & Myall, furnishings for women 
and children; Clarence Smith, groceries; J. H. Whiteside, jeweler; Philip 
Fraher & Son, boots and shoes (business being conducted by Mrs. Thomas 
Fraher, daughter and .son) ; Joseph C. Simmons, druggist; Holcomb (Jack) 



326 HISTORX OF CLAY COUNTY 

Petty, boots and shoes. North side, L. T. Dorsett, groceries; J. J. Stog- 
dale & Co., clothiers; H. F. Simrall, Jr., dry goods; Frank Hughes, diy 
goods; Charles Ward, boots and shoes; W. W. Whiteside, jeweler; Laipple 
& Hummel, groceries; Stephens Furniture Co. Northeast comer, Mrs. 
Minnie Duncan, millinery. East side, Peace Clothing Company; Herbert 
H. Hill, undertaker ; Perkins & McGinniss, druggists ; Liberty Book Store ; 
L. P. Camden, meats and groceries ; C. H. Sevier, druggist ; Pitts & Hamil- 
ton, gi'oceries; George G. Hall, meats and groceries; J. S. Conway, 
groceries. 

Sunday night, December 12th, William D. Badgley was killed by auto 
thieves in front of hiis store in Liberty. After disarming a deputy sheriff, 
the two thieves made their escape. The Liberty Tribune of December 
17th, has the following concerning sums of money found in the store of 
"Billy" Badgley: 

"Had the two motor thieves v.ho killed William Badgley in front of 
his store, Sunday night, when they stopped there for gasoline, known his 
house was a treasure house — money secreted in all parts of it — they no 
doubt would have got busy and made a big haul, for over $2,100 has 
been found hidden in the store and home of Badgley. Tin cans, tobacco 
sacks, socks, cigar boxes, etc., have been discovered full of coins, from 
pennies to quarters mostly. In the money were about 3,000, 5,000 nickels 
and 2,500 pennies and over $800 in paper money was found in an old 
kitchen cabinet. It was in pocket books. No gold, so far, has been dis- 
covered. Badgley's sales wei-e mostly in small amounts and the small 
change, with his saving habit and economical way of living thus accumu- 
lated. 

"The search of the house for the money is being conducted by Coroner 
Wysong, who has charge of the effects until the administrator is given 
charge. Doctor Wysong is assisted in the search by constable Willis 
Grimes and J. A. Land, the brother-in-law of Badgley's, who came here 
from Illinois. The search the first day, Tuesday, resulted in $1,001.10 
being found in the small coins. A peck of nickels was in a 50-pound flour 
sack, and there was half a sack of pennies. Wednesday, $1,082.24 was 
found. The currency was part of this amount. Two hundred dollars was 
in cigar boxes. The total found up to Wednesday evening was $2,186.40. 
The search will be kept up and the walls and attic and the ground under- 
neath the floors be examined. Badgley had about $150 deposited in a 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY W'll 

bank. The money was taken to the Citizens Bank, where it is counted. 
The coins are rapidly run through a counting machine. 

"Since so much money has been found, some people think that the 
motor thieves had heard reports he kept a great deal of money about the 
place and may have intended robbing hilm, but Kennedy coming up frus- 
trated their plans. Anyhow, they knew where Badgley's store was and 
that gasoline could be had. They located it before. Badgley always had 
plenty of change when customers were buying from him, but it was never 
talked around that he probably kept so much money hid in his store. 

"The post mortem was held Tuesday by Coroner Wysong and the 
bullet was found "floating" in the lower part of the body. It was a 38- 
caliber automatic revolver. 

"The body was shipped to Illinois, Wednesday night and accompanied 
by Mr. Land, the brother-in-law, who came here. The funeral will be 
held at Belleville, Illinois, and the burial be near there. 

"C C. Moore, whose Essex car was stolen at the Springs, resulting in 
the murder, sent a nice floral offering. The car has been kept here since 
recovered by ofllcer Kennedy until after the inquest. 

"Mr. Land will return here to look after the business affairs of the 
estate. The inquest was held Thursday afternoon. The house Badgley 
occupied was rented of Mrs. Myall." 



CHAPTER XXIX 



OFFICIALS FROM THE ORGANIZATION OF CLAY COUNTY. 



CONVENTION DELEGATES — STATE SENATORS — ■ REPRESENTATIVES — CIRCUIT 
COURT JUDGES— PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS— JUDGES OF PROBATE — COLTNTY 
COURT JUDGES — COUNTY CLERKS — SHERIFFS — CIRCUIT COURT CLERKS — 
COLLECTORS OF COUNTY REVENUE— COUNTY ASSESSORS— <;OUNTY TREAS- 
URERS—COUNTY SURVEYORS — RECORDERS OF DEEDS — COUNTY COMMISSION- 
ERS OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS — CORONERS— RESIDENT ATTORNEYS— EARLY 
LAWYERS. 



Convention Delegates. 



1845. Daniel Branstettev. of Ray. 186-5. 

1845. John E. Pitt, of Platte. 1865. 

1845. Tliompson Ward, of Platte. 1865. 

1845. Bro^\•n. of Platte. 1875. 

1865. Dr. Wm. A. Morton, of Clay. 1875. 

1865. Samuel A. Gilbert, of Platte. 



Alex. W. Doniphan, of Clay. 
James H. Moss, of Clay. 
Elijah H. Norton, of Platte. 
Elijah H. Norton, of Platte. 
DeWitt C. Allen, of Clay. 



Slate Senators. 

1822-1826. Duff Green, of Howard. 1834-1842. J. T. V. Thompson, of 

182G-1828. Martin Pamier. of Clay. 

Clay. 1838-1842. Cornelius Gilliam, of 

1823-1830. Lilburn W. Boggs, of Platte. 

Jackson. 1842-1846. Andrew Johnson, of 

1830-1834. Richard Linville. of Platte. 

day. 1842-1846. Wm. R. Ely the. of Ray. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



329 



1848-1850. John G. Price, of Clay. 
1846-1850. Lewis Bumea, of 

Platte. 
1850-1854. Dr. Joseph Chew, of 

Ray. 
1854-1858. Dr. A. M. Robinson, of 

Platte. 
1858-1862. J. T. V. Thompson, of 

Clay. 
1862-1866. .John Doniphan, of 

Platte. 
186C-1868. George W. Park, of 

Platte. 
1868-1872. James H. Birch, Jr., 

of Clinton. 
1872-1873. Thoma.s McCarty, of 

Clay. 
1873-1876. .John R. Keller, of 

Clay. 



187G-1880. 

Platte. 
1880-1884. 

Clinton. 
1884-1888. 
1888-1892. 

of Platte. 
1892-1896. 

Clay. 
1896-1900. 

Platte. 
1900-1904. 

kalb. 

1904-1908. 
of Clay. 

1908-1920. 
Holt. 



Representatives. 

1822-1824. Simon Cockrell. 1844-1846. 

1824-1830. John Thornton. 1844-1846. 

1830-1832. Andrew Robertson. 1846-1848. 

1832-1834. Woodson .J. Moss. 1848-1852. 

1834-1836. David R. Atchison. 1852-1854. 

1831-1836. Thomas C. Gordon. 1852-1854. 

1836-1838. .John Thornton. 1854-1856. 

1836-1838. Alex. W. Doniphan. 1856-1858. 

1838-1840. David R. Atchi.son. 1853-1861. 

1838-1840. James M. Hughes. 1861-1864. 

1838-1840. Jesse Moran, of Platte. 1864-1866. 

1840-1842. Wm. T. Wood. 186S-1868. 

1840-1842. .John Doue^herty. 1868-1870. 

1840-1842. Alex. W. Doniphan. 1870-1872. 

1842-1844. Dr. Woodson J. Mo.ss. 1872-1874. 

1842-1844. Merritt Tillery. 1874-1876. 



R. P. C. Wilson, of 

Wm. W. Bland, of 

H. F. Simrall, of Clay. 
Norton B. Anderson, 

Theodore K. Gash, of 

Francis M. Wilson, of 

Frank Costello. of De- 

Thos. J. Woman, Sr., 

George W. Click, of 



Thoma,s C. Gordon. 
Coleman Younger. 
Henry Owens. 
Thomas T. Sweatman. 
James H. Moss. 
Nathaniel Vincent. 
Alex. W. Doniphan. 
Joel Tumham, Sr. 
Benjamin Lampton. 
Luke W. Burns. 
Oliver P. Moss. 
Robert McMillen. 
Wm. G. Garth. 
Henry Smith. 
-John T. Chandler. 
James M. Bohart. 



330 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



1876-1878. 
1878-1880. 
1880-1882. 
1882-1884. 
1884-1886. 
1886-1888. 
1888-1890. 
1890-1892. 
1892-1894. 
1891-1896. 
189G-1898. 



James E. Lincoln. 
Wm. W. Dougherty. 
I. B. Thompson. 
C. M. Sweatnian. 
Dr. J. M. Allen. 
John H. Dunn. 
Theodore K. Gash. 
John M. Harrel. 
John M. Harrel. 
John B. Gill. 
John M. HaiTel. 



1898-1900. 
1900-1902. 
1902-1904. 
1904-1906. 
1906-1908. 
1908-1910. 
1910-1912. 
1912-1914. 
191M916. 
1918-1920. 



I. B. Thompson. 
John Williams. 
Elmer L. Riley. 
Fi-ank H. Ti-imble. 
Theodore Emerson. 
Theodore Emerson. 
D. A. Shai-p. 
B. T. Gordon. 
B. T. Gordon. 
Willard P. Hall, Jr. 



Circuit Court Judges. 



1822-1831. 
1831-1837. 
1837-1845. 
1848-1862. 
1862-1863. 
1863-1865. 
1865-1867. 
1867-1874. 



David Todd. 
John F. Ryland. 
Austin A. King. 
George W. Dunn. 
Austin A. King. 
George W. Dunn. 
Walter King. 
Philander L/Ucas. 



1874-1886. 
1886-1892. 
1892-1900. 
1900-1907. 
1907-1912. 
1912-1919. 
1919-1920. 



George W. Dunn. 
James M. Sandusky. 
Elbridge J. Broadhurst. 
Joshua W. Alexander. 
Frank H. Trimble. 
Frank P. Divelbiss. 
Ralph Hughes. 



Prosecuting Attorneys. 



1822-1824. 
1824-1826. 
1826-1827. 
1827-1828. 
1828-1829. 
1829-1831. 
1831-18.34. 
1831-18.37. 
1837-1840. 
1840-1841. 
1841-1848. 
1848-1849. 
1849-1852. 



Hamilton R. Gamble. 
Abiel Leonard. 
Charles Fi-ench. 
Robert W. Wells. 
John Wilson, acting. 
Amos KeeS, acting. 
Amos Rees. 
Thos. C. Burch. 
Wm. T. Wood. 
Peter H. Burnett. 
George W. Dunn. 
Charles J. Hughes. 
Mordecai Oliver. 



18.52- 1856. 
18.56-1860. 
1860-1802. 
1862-1864. 
1864-1865. 
1865-1868. 
1863-1872. 
1872-1874. 
1874-1876. 
1876-1878. 
1878-1880. 
1880-1882. 
1882-1884. 



Christopher T. Garner. 
Aaron H. Conrow. 
DeWitt C. Allen. 
David P. Whitmer. 
Wm. A. Donaldson. 
Elijah Esteb. 
John G. Woods. 
.James E. Lincoln. 
Horatio F. Simrall. 
William H. Woodson. 
William H. Woodson. 
James M. Sandusky. 
James M. Sandusky. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



331 



1884-1886. 
1886-1887. 
1887-1889. 
1800-1892. 
1892-1894. 
1894-1896. 
189G-1898. 
1898-1900. 
1900-1902. 



Lamce W. Newman. 
James L. Sheetz. 
.James L. Sheetz. 
John Dougherty. 
John Dougherty. 
^Villlam H. Woodson. 
William H. Woodson. 
Frank H. Trimble. 
Frank H. Trimble. 



1902-1904. Ralph Hughes. 

1904-1906. Ralph Hughes. 

1906-1908. W. A. Craven. 

1908-1910. William H. Woodson. 

1910-1912. James S. Simrall. 

1912-1914. James S. Simrall. 

1914-1916. Ernest G. Simrall. 

1916-1918. Ernest G. Simrall. 

1918-1920. Claude Coppinger. 



Judges of Probate. 



1825. 

pointed. 
1825-1827. 
1827-1859. 

Judges. 
1859-1860. 
1860-1861. 
1861-1877. 
1877-1884. 
1884-1886. 

Appointed 



Eli.'^ha Canron. Ap- 



Wm. L. Smith. 
The County 



Court 



Henry L. Routt. 
Jame.s C. Vertrees. 
County Court Judges. 
James E. Lincoln. 
William H. ^\'oodson. 
by governor. 



1888-1890. William H. Woodson. 

1890-1894. William E. Prowler. 

1894-1898. William E. Fowler. 

1898-1902. William E. Fowler. 

1902-1906. Lewis G. Hopkins. 

1906-1910. Lewis G. Hopkins. 

1910-1914. Lewis G. Hopkins. 

1914- Frances Hopkins. 

1914-1918. Ben A. Reed. 

1918-1922. Ben A. Reed. 



County Court Judges. 



1822-1824. 
1822-1825. 
1822-1825. 
1824-1825. 
1825-1827. 
1825-1826. 
1825-1826. 
1825-1827. 
1826-1827. 
1826-1827. 
1827-1831. 
1827-1831. 



John Thornton. 
Elisha Camron. 
James Gilmer. 
Zadoc Martin, Sr. 
George Burnet. 
Sebron G. Sneed. 
George Huffaker. 
Howard Averett. 
Eppe Tillery. 
James Gilmer. 
Elisha Camron. 
Samuel Tillery. 



1827-1830. Joel Tumham. 

1830-1834. J. T. V. Thomp.son. 

1830-1831. .James Duncan. 

1831-18.32. Archibald Mcllvain. 

1831-1832. Shuabel Allen. 

1832-1838. Elisha Camron. 

1834-1838. John Bird. 

1834-18.38. Peter Rogers. 

1838-1844. .Joel Turnham. 

18.38-1840. James Kuykendall. 

1838-1842. Meritt TUlery. 

1840-1846. Elisha Camron. 



332 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



1842-1850. 
1844-1850. 
1846-1853. 
1850-1858. 
1853-1854. 
1854-1856. 
1854-1858. 
1856-1862. 
1858-1865. 
1858-1865. 
1862-1865. 
1865-1866. 
1865-1866. 
1865-1866. 
1866-1867. 
1866-1868. 
1866-1872. 
1866-1874. 
1868-1869. 
1868-1870. 
1870-1872. 
1870-1871. 
1872-1876. 
1872-1878. 
1874-1880. 
1870-1882. 



Nathaniel Vincent. 
Robert Adkins. 
Benj. Ricketts. 
Wm. V. Hodges. 
Edw. M. Samuel. 
Joel Turnham. 
Joseph Thorp. 
Thomas M. Che\is. 
Alva Maret. 
Isaac Wood. 
James M. Jones. 
Joseph T. Field. 
Milliner Haynes. 
John Chrisnian. 
^^■m. T. Davis. 
James Henshaw. 
Anderson B. Everett. 
Thomas M. Wilson. 
Gabi'iel T. Hughes. 
Franklin Graves. 
Isaac Wood. 
Thomas J. Gunn. 
Em. H. Lane. 
John Broadhurst. 
Linneus B. Sublette. 
Wm. F. Gordon. 



1878-1886. 
1878-1882. 
1880-1884. 
1882-1886. 
1884-1886. 
1886-1888. 
1891-1893. 
1894-1896. 
1894-1898. 
1896-1898. 
1896-1898. 
1898-1902. 
1898-1902. 
1900-1904. 
1902-1906. 
1904-1906. 
1904-1906. 
1906-1910. 
1908-1912. 
1906-1910. 
1910-1914. 
1912-1916. 
1914-1920. 
1916-1920. 
191S-1920. 



Wm. B. Morris. 
Thos. J. Gunn. 
James M. Gow. 
John Broadhui-st. 
Harrison Chambers. 
Jas. M. Bernard. 
Jas. M. Gow. 
Wm. H. Atkins. 
Wm. J. Francis. 
George ^^^ Sexton. 
T. R. Shouse. 
A. W. Gross. 
John C. Cooper. 
Handel Vance. 
A. W. Gross. 
John L. Hodges. 
R. H. Connell. 
John W. Karr. 
James S. Robb. 
John L. Hodges. 
Joseph R. Thompson. 
Josiah B. Waller. 
Jacob B. Minter. 
Zarious W. Huntington. 
Robert L. Ferril. 



County Clerks. 



1822-1831. 
1831-1835. 
1835-1848. 
1848-1853. 
1853-1859. 
1859-1865. 



Wm. L. Smith. 
Wm. T. Wood. 
Abraham Shafer. 
Greenup Bird. 
Thomas McCarty. 
Ephraim D. Murray. 



1865-1870. 
1870-1894. 
1894-1898. 
1898-1906. 
1906-1914. 
1914-1922. 



William Brining. 
Luke W. Burris. 
James L. Thompson. 
Lee B. Soper. 
Thns. C. Stean. 
Edgar Archer. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



333 



Sheriflfs. 

1822-1826. John Harris. 1865-1866. 

1826-18:J0. Shubael Allen. 1866-1868. 

1830-1834. Cornelius Gilliam. 1868-1872. 

1834-1838. John Ba.xter. 1872-1874. 

1838-1842. Samuel Hadley. 1874-1878. 

1848-1850. Ohver P. Moss. 1878-1882. 

1850-1854. Samuel Hadley. 1882-1886. 

1854-1854. Winfrey E. Price. 1886-1892. 

1854-1856. Trigg T. Allen. 1892-1896. 

1856-1858. Samuel Hadley. 1896-1900. 

1858-1862. Richard A. Neeley. 1900-1904. 

1862-1862. R. W. Fleming, coroner. 1904-1908. 

1862-1863. Southard W. Long. 1908-1912. 

1863-1865. Francis R. Long. 1912-1916. 

1865-1866. Darius Gittings. 1916-1920. 



James M. Jones. 
Joseph H. Rickards. 
Oliver P. Moss. 
George E. Patton. 
John S. Groom. 
James R. Timberlake. 
James F. Reed. 
Oscar Thoniason. 
Ninian Letton. 
Jacob H. Hymer. 
.John King. 
Andrew P. Wymote. 
William H. Thomason. 
Seth H. White. 
Lonzo P. Sissom. 



Circuit Court Clerks. 



1822-1831. 
1831-1854. 
1851-1865. 
1865-1866. 
1866-1870. 
1870-1874. 
1874-1878. 



Wm. L. Smith. 
Samuel Tillery. 
Ale.x. J. Calhoun. 
James Love. 
Bishop A. Bailey. 
Edwin G. Hamilton. 
Alex. J. Calhoun. 



1878-1886. 
188G-1898. 
1898-1906. 
1906-1914. 
1914-1921. 
1878-1920. 



Sidney G. Sandusky. 
James F. Reed. 
Chas. A. Newlee, Jr. 
Andrew C. Holt. 
Robert DonCarlos. 
Dan. S. Bradley, dep- 



uty 42 years. 
Janitor of Court House for thirty-one years, Steve Swader (colored). 



Collectors of County Revenue. 



1822-1823. 
1823-1825. 
1825-1827. 
1827-1830. 
1830-1831. 
1831-1832. 
1832-1833. 



Jes.se Gilliam. 
Timothy Bancroft. 
Thornton Strother. 
Ij€onard Searcey. 
Merit Tillery. 
.John D. Hall. 
Lewis Scott. 



1833-1835. 
1835-1837. 
18.37-1872. 
1872-1878. 
1878-1882. 
1882-1886. 
1886-1894. 



Samuel Hadley. 
Jacob P. Hymer. 
The Sheriffs. 
J. J. Moore. 
John S. Groom. 
Clint Tillery. 
James A. Gillispie. 



334 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



1894-1896. Thos. J. KeUer. 
1896-1904. Chas. H. Scott. 
1904-1906. Geo. C. Waller. 



1906-1910. Fred Zaiss. 
1910-1918. Soper J. Taul. 
1918-1920. Matt. D. Logan. 



County Assessors. 

1822-1823. William Hall, for Gal- 1858-Range 

latin township. ton. 

1822-1823. Joshua Adams, for 1858-Range 

Fishing River township. 1859-Range 

182o-1824. Joshua Adams. 1859-Range 

1824-1826. Eppe Tillery. ford. 

1826-1827. Reuben Tillery. 1859-Range 

1827-1829. Michael Arthur. 18o9-Range 

1829-1830. John Thoip. 1860. 

1830-1831. J. T. V. Thompson. 1860-1862. 

1831-1832. Solomon Kinsey. 1862-1863. 

1832-1833. Geo. Huffaker. 1863-1866. 

1833-1834. John Hendley. 1866-1868. 

1834-1835. Solomon Kinsey. 1868-1872. 

1835-1836. James Dagley. ~ 1872-1874. 

1836-1838. Samuel Hadley. 1874-1876. 

1838-1841. James Dagley. 1876-1880. 

1841-1842. Jacob P. Hymer. 1880-1882. 

1842-1843. Simeon Wilhoite. ason. 

184.'^-1849. Thos. T. Sweatman. 1882-1884. 

1849-1853. Mabry Mitchell. 1884-1892. 

1853-1858. Greenup P. Collier. 1892-1896. 

1858-Range 30. James Dagley. 1896-1904. 

1858-Range 31. Jacob P. Hymer. 1904-1912. 

1912-1920. 



32. James H. Comp- 

33. Benj. F. Wood. 

30. James Dagley. 

31. Ryland Shackei- 

32. John S. Gi-oom. 

33. Wm. T. Graham. 
Robert W. Fleming. 
John S. Groom. 
James Burns. 
Timothy R. Dale. 
Chas. J. J. Leoix»ld. 
Thos. A. Harsel. 
John Collins. 

Wm. L. Thompson. 

D. Stout. 

Augustus W. Thom- 

Lai'z A. Logan. 
Thos. B. Rogers. 
John W. Wilkerson. 
R. P. Chanslor. 
John T. North. 
Walter Manly. 



Countv Treasurei-s. 



1822-1825. 
182.^ 1826. 
1826-1833. 
18.33-1836. 



The County Clerks. 
^^'are S. May. 
The County Clerks. 
Hirach Rich. 



1836-1838. 
1838-1853. 
1853-1853. 
1853-1859. 



James M. Hughes. 
Gi-aham L. Hughes. 
Madison Miller. 
Ephraim D. MuiTay. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



1859-1860. 
1860-1864. 
1864-1866. 
1866-1868. 
1868-1874. 
1874-1876. 
1876-1882. 
1882-1886. 



1822-1829. 
1829-1835. 
1 83.5-1859. 
18.59-1801. 
1863-1868. 
1868-1880. 
1880 1888. 



1822-1869. 
1869-1870. 
1870-1878. 
1878-1882. 
1882-1890. 



Stephen li. Shrader. 
Benj. F. Tillery. 
David S. Miller. 
Joseph T. Field. 
Trigg T. Allen. 
Lewi.s E. Dougherty. 
Clint Tillery. 
John J. Stogdale. 



188f;-1890. 
1890-1892. 
1892-1898. 
1898-1902. 
1902-1906. 
1906-1908. 
1908-1918. 
1918-1920. 



County Surveyors. 



David Manche.ster. 
Geojge Withers. 
Timothy R. Dale. 
Wrn. L. Thompson. 
Timothy R. Dale. 
Thos. B. Rogers. 
Reuben J. Stepp. 



188.^-1900. 
1900-1908. 
1908-1910. 

P>igJneer. 
1908-1916. 
1916-1920. 



J. D. Ford. 
James T. Riley. 
Chas. A. Newlee, Jr. 
Presley D. Anderson. 
Jacob H. Hymer. 
0. F. Tomlinson. 
David C. Roberts. 
Mrs. Fanny Roberts. 



Chas. L. Leitch. 

Edgar Main. 

Edgar Main, County 



Recorders of Deed.s. 



The Circuit Clerks. 
Edwin G. Hamilton. 
Sidney G. Sandusky. 
John W. Collins. 
Wm. A. Morton. 



1S90-1898. 
1898 1906. 
1906-1914. 
1914-1922. 



Wm. E. Barnes. 
Earl Denny. 



•lames D. Ford. 
Wm. C. Craven.'*. 
John Will Hall. 
Nicholas Mosbv. 



1853-1854. 

phan. 
1854-1882. 
188r-1897. 
1897-1902. 
1902-1904. 



1878-1882. 

1882 '882. 

vacancy. 



County CommiHsioners of Public Schools. 

Alexanrler W. Doni 



George Hughes. 
.John H. Perkins. 
V. E. Holcomb. 
Benj. F. Brown. 



1901-1905. 
1 905-1 rj09. 
1908-1909. 
1909-1913. 
191.3-1920. 



Coroners. 



E. J. Scott. 
Cha.s. S. Storms. 
.James N. Hawthorne. 
•James A. Robe.son. 
E. L. Black. 



Wm. B. Arnold. 
Robertson C. Ewing, 



1«82-1886. Napoleon B. Bush. 
1886-1892. .John H. Roth well. 
1892-1894. Henrv A. Cox. 



336 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



1894-1898. 
1898-1900. 
1900-1902. 
1902-1904. 
1904-1906. 



Robert E. Sevier. 
Frank D. Rowell. 
Geo. P. Lingenfelter. 
Robert C. Black. 
John P. Wilson. 



1908-1912. 
1912-1916. 
1916-1918. 
1918-1920. 



Wm. N. Cuthbertson. 
Wm. H. Goodson. 
Burton Maltby. 
W. L. Wysong. 



Resident Attorneys to 1920. 



Gen. David R. Atchison. 

Amos Rees. 

Gov. Peter H. Burnett. 

Gen. Alexander W. Doniphan. 

Frederick Gwinner. 

Ben. Hays 

Gen. Andrew S. Hughes. 

Sebron C. Sneed. 

Abraham Shafer. 

Col. DeWitt C. Allen. 

Judgo James E. Lincoln. 

James C. Murray. 

Sidney G. Sandusky. 

Doc. Worthington. 

Theodore Emerson. 

James L. Sheetz. 

James Fraher. 

Robt. Emmet Ward. 

Wm. J. Courtney. 

Ernest G. Simrall. 

Mactin E. Lawson. 

W. A. Craven. 

Leslie E. Bates. 

Claude Coppinger. 

Judge Ben A. Reed. 

Alan Wherrijtt. 

Francis G. Hale. 

Loui;-. R. Bever. 

Gen. Bela M. Hughes. 



Gen. John Loughborough. 
Lewis Ramage. 
Capt. Thomas McCarty. 
Col. James H. Moss. 
Judge Wm. T. Wood. 
Col. Henry L. Routt. 
Samuel Hardwicke. 
Maj. Milton R. Singleton. 
Col. Wm. H. Woodson. 
Judge James M. Sandusky. 
Horatio F. Simrall. 
John Y. Rucker. 
Claude Hai-dwicke. 
William M. Burris. 
Job South. 
George S. Withers. 
Henry Smith. 
James S. Simrall. 
James C. Davis. 
Judge Ralph Hughes. 
Chas. H. Coppinger. 
Capt. Harris L. Moore. 
Judge Wm. E. Fowler. 
Robert T. Stephens. 
Samuel J. Rowell. 
Richard L Bruce. 
Bayless T. Gordon. 
M. L. Swanner. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 337 

Early Lawyers. 

The only attorneys in active practice of law in Clay County in 1835 
were Gen. David R. Atchison, Gen. Alexander W. Doniphan, Gov. Peter 
H. Burnett, Judge Wm. T. Wood and Amos Rees, each of whom, after- 
ward rose to eminence and great distinction. Gen. Atchison became a 
circuit judge, United States Senator, an acting vice-president, and, for 
one day, was President of the United States, a like honor never before, 
nor since, bestowed upon any other man in the history of this country. 
General Doniphan became the most noted and successful criminal lawyer 
in the western states and achieved great celebrity in leading his regi- 
ment in its march from Fort Leavenwortli to th'e City of Mexico, during 
the war between the United States and Mexico, an expedition without a 
parallel in the history of the world. Governor Burnett led a caravan of 
emigrants from Clay and Jackson Counties to Oregon duriing the early 
settlement of that countiy, became a prominent citizen of that territoiT 
and after a few years removed to California, where his talents and worth 
soon won for him the honor of becoming its first governor. Judge Wood, 
after many years of practicing law, was elected circuit judge of a circuit, 
of which Lafayette County was a part and unti a very old age, dis- 
charged the duties of that office with credit to himself, with great satis- 
faction to his contituency and the bar of his district and state. About, 
or just before Kansas was admitted into the Union, as a state, Amos 
Rees located in Leavenworth and began the practice of law. Soon, very 
soon, he was recognized as one of the leading lawyers of the state, and, 
long before his death, the bar of the state proclaimed him one of the 
most eminent men of their profession in the state of Kansas. 



CHAPTER XXX 



BIOGRAPHICAL HISTORY 



Dr. David Jones Evans, president of William Jewell College, of Lib- 
erty, Missouri, is one of the widely known ministers and educators of the 
Middle West. He is a native of South Wales, born May 10, 1875, and 
is a son of William J. and Ann (Jones) Evans, both natives of Wales. 

William J. Evans came to America with his family in 1881 when David 
Jones Evans, of this review, was about six years old. They settled in 
Carroll County, Missouri, where they remained until 1884, when they re- 
turned to Wales. However, they came to America again in 1887, and the 
mother died in this country the following year. In 1893 the father re- 
turned to Wales again, remaining that time until 1906, when he came 
to America and after a short time returned to his native land where 
he died in 1907. During his active career he was engaged in dairy farm- 
ing. 

To William J. and Ann (Jones) Evans were bom the following chil- 
dren: Sarah, married Joseph Hughes; Dr. David Jones Evans, the subject 
of this sketch; and William T. Evans, a hardware merchant at Calcutta 
Indian. He served as lieutenant in the British army during the World 
War and was a member of the famous Cold Stream Guards. He was 
severely wounded in France in 1918, but recovered sufficiently to train 
troops, although he was unable to return to the front. 

Doctor Evans was educated in the National Schools of Wales and 
the public schools of Carroll County, Missouri, and later attended a private 
normal school at Chillicothe, Missouri. In 1895 he entered William Jewell 
College where he was graduated in the class of 1900, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, and in 1901 took his Masters degree at that institution. 
He then took the course at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary 
where he was given his degree of Doctor of Theology in 1905. He served 
as pastor of the West Park Baptist Church, St. Louis, Missouri, until 
the fall of 1906, when he came to William Jewell College as professor 
of Biblical Literature. In 1908 Doctor Evans was made Dean of the 




'^::2.-0— e. 




c< Yf (Q'tr c<^tA^ 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 339 

Bible School. In 1909 he made the trip to Egypt, Palestine, Syria and 
Southern Europe with the Travel Study Class of Chicago University. In 
1919 he became vice president of William Jewell College and succeeded 
to the presidency of that institution January 1, 1920. 

In addition to his labors in the field of higher education Doctor Evans 
is ever active in the ministry. He has served as pastor of churches at 
Polo, Caldwell County, Missouri, and the Baptist Church at Kearney for 
seven years, and has served as supply pastor for a number of Baptist 
Churches in Kansas City, including the Bales Avenue Church, Westport, 
First Baptist Church and Calvary Baptist Church and for the Second and 
Third Baptist Churches of St. Louis, Missouri. He served as president 
of the Baptist Young People's Union of America during the years 1919 
and 1920. 

Dr. David Jones Evans was united in man'iage, December 21, 1897, 
with Miss Eva Anne Lewis, of Dawn, Livingston County, Missouri. She 
is a daughter of D. W. and Anne (Jones) Lewis, the former of whom 
is deceased and the mother resides with Doctor and Mrs. Evans at Liberty. 
To Doctor and Mrs. Evans have been born one son, David Price Evans, 
bom in 1907. 



John Sleet Major, president of the First National Bank of Liberty, 
is one of the well-known and successful bankers and men of affairs in 
Clay County. He is a member of one of the honored pioneer families of 
this county and was born near the present site of Kearney, February 22, 
1852. He is a son of Dr. Hermon S. Major and Mary L. (Swearingen) 
Major, a biography of whom appears in this volume. 

John Sleet Major attended the primary school at Mt. Gilead, near 
his home, and later he was a student in the Kentucky Military Institute 
and William Jewell College. Mr. Major engaged in farming and stock 
raising in early life, in which he was successful and in 1882 he assisted 
in the organization of the Kearney Bank, an institution which had a pros- 
perous career from the beginning. In 1887, Mr. Major sold his Clay 
County farm and banking interest here and removed to Arkansas, where 
he was engaged in the lumber business until 1896. He then returned to 
Clay County and settled at Liberty. In 1897, he bought an interest in the 
First National Bank here and was elected president of this bank and has 
served in that capacity to the present time. This is one of the substantial 
institutions of Clay County, further mention of which is made elsewhere 
in this volume. 



340 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

October 3, 1876, John Sleet Major was married to Miss Virginia 
Anderson, a daughter of Joseph D. and Mai-y A. Anderson, both mem- 
bers of early pioneer families of this county. To Mr. and Mrs. Major 
have been born four sons, three of whom died in childhood, the surviving 
son being Dr. Ralph Hermon Major, further mention of whom is made in 
this volume. 

Mr. and Mrs. Major have lived in Clay County all of their lives, except 
eight years, and during the last twenty-three years Liberty has been 
their home and they are widely known and highly respected in Liberty 
and Clay County. Mr. Major is a deacon in the Second Baptist Church 
of Liberty and president of the board of trustees of William Jewell Col- 
lege. He is progressive and public spirited and one of the substantial 
citizens of Clay County. 



John M. Newlee, vice-president of the Citizens Bank of Liberty, Mis- 
souri, is one of the widely known and successful men in the practical 
field of finance of western Missouri. He is a native of Clay County and 
was bom at Liberty, Februaiy 24, 1861, a son of C. A. and Mary (Huff) 
Newlee. 

C. A. Newlee was a native of Virginia, born at Christainsburg and 
his wife was bom at Cmnberland Gap, Tennessee. They were married 
in Tennessee and in 1856 came to Clay County, Missouri, and settled at 
Liberty. C. A. Newlee was a merchant tailor and was engaged in that 
business at Liberty for over forty years. He took a prominent part in 
local affairs and was a man of high standing in the community. He was 
city councilman for several terms and also served as mayor of Liberty. 
He died in 1903. His wife died in 1895 and their remains are buried in 
Fairview cemetery. 

To C. A. and Mary (Huff) Newlee were bom the following childi-en: 
W. H. Newlee was engaged in the drug business in Liberty for many 
years and also served as councilman and mayor of Liberty, is deceased; 
R. G. Newlee was engaged in the grocery business hei-e for twenty-five 
years or more, is deceased ; C. A. Newlee, Jr., sei-ved as county treasurer 
of Clay County two temis and clerk of the circuit court, is deceased; 
John M. Newlee, the subject of this sketch; and 0. D. Newlee, who is 
engaged in the wholesale di-y goods business in Kansas City, Missouri. 

John M. Newlee was educated in the public schools, Libeiiy high 
school and William Jewell College. Early in life he engaged in a mer- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 341 

cantile career and for twenty-five years conducted a drug business at 
Liberty. He sold his business to M. J. Kelly, who was later succeeded 
by Perkins and McGennins. 

In 1906, Mr. Newlee assisted in the organization of the Citizens Bank 
of Liberty of which he is now vice-president, and since that time he has 
devoted his attention to the banking business, having been identified with 
the Citizens Bank for the fourteen years of its successful banking his- 
tory. During that period this bank has developed into one of the 
strongest financial institutions of the state. A history of the Citizens 
Bank appears elsewhere in this volume. 

During the course of his career as a successful business man and 
banker, Mr. Newlee has always found time to devote to the betterment 
and upbuilding of Liberty and Clay County, to the interests of which 
he has at all times shown unselfish devotion. He has served as a mem- 
ber of the city council for two terms and was mayor of Liberty one 
term, lie was president of the Boai'd of Public Works when that body 
established the present water works and sewerage system of Liberty. 
At that time, this progressive movement was unpopular and Mi\ Newlee 
paid for the first survey for the water work system, out of his own 
pocket. He has been a staunch supporter of every practical movement, 
the object of which has been for the good and advancement of Liberty. 

Mr. Newlee was married in 1891 to Miss Dora B. Miller of Liberty. 
She is a daughter of Madison and Anna (Arthur) Miller, both of whom 
are deceased. Madison Miller was a pioneer drygoods merchant of Lib- 
erty and was engaged in business here for many years. He was the 
pioneer banker of Clay County. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Newlee have been born one daughter, Ann Marj', 
who married Minetry L. Jones, a wholesale hat dealer of St. Joseph, 
Missouri. 



, Dr. Hermon S. Major, a prominent physician, who was engaged in 
the practice of medicine in Clay County over half a century ago, was a 
native of Kentucky. He was a son of Rev. John Sleet Major, a biography 
of whom appears in this volume. Dr. Hermon S. Major was bom in 
Franklin County, Kentucky, August 4, 1827, and was reai-ed to young 
manhood in his native state. Early in life, he prepared himself for the 
medical profession and entered the Louisville Medical College where he 
was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, 



342 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

On March 21, 1850, Dr. Hermon S. Major was united in marriage 
with Miss Mary L. Swearingen, of Kentucky, and they immediately came 
to Clay County, where he engaged in the practice of medicine. He was 
an able physician and surgeon and had a large practice in this section 

of the state. . 

To Dr Hermon S. Major and Maiy L. (Swearingen) Major were born 
ten children, the eldest of whom died in infancy and the others were as 
follows- John Sleet Major, Charles Swearingen Major, William Weeden 
Major, Mary R. Major, Slaughter G. Major, Susan Y. Major, Sarah Belle 
Major, Rueben H. Major, and Hermonetta Major. 

Dr. Hermon S. Major died at his home near Kearney, Missouri, 
December 26, 1859. His widow, Maiy L. Major, survived him for a num- 
ber of years and died at Kearney, December 4, 1909. 

Rev. John Sleet Major, a prominent pioneer minister who was actively 
identified with organizing of Baptist churches in Clay County, was a 
native of Virginia. He was bom in Culpeper County, Virginia, March 
26 1789 His father was a Revolutionary soldier and moved from Vir- 
ginia to Franklin County, Kentucky, in 1799. Here, John Sleet Major 
was given the advantages of such schools as the times and locality 
afforded. He served as major under General William Henry Harrison in 
his campaign in the Northwest Territory against the Indians. 

In 1819, John Sleet Major was converted and united with the South 
Benson Baptist Church in Franklin County, Kentucky. He was after- 
wards pastor of that church. He came to Missouri in 1850 and settled 
in Clay County. Here he bought and entered a large tract of govern- 
ment land, near the present site of Kearney. For twenty-two years, he 
followed farming and preached the gospel and assisted in the organiza- 
tion of a number of churches in Clay and adjoining counties. 

In 1817, John Sleet Major was united in marriage with Miss Lucinda 
Smith Slaughter of Kentucky and to this union were born five sons and 
five daughters, all of whom made their homes in Missouri. The five sons 
came to Missouri about 1850 and settled on farms here, which their 
father had bought for them. The sons bom to Rev. John Sleet Major 
and wife were as follows: John A. S. Major, Hennon S. Major, Stephen 
S. Major. William Weeden Major, and Slaughter G. Major. They are all 
now deceased, except William Weeden Major, who resides at Artesia. 
New Mexico, at a ripe old age. The daughters born to Rev. John Sleet 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 343 

Major and wife were: Ann Eliza, married Joseph Flood; Susan Frances, 
maiTied Dr. J. C. Bernard; Rosannah M., married Johnson Yates; 
Euphrates, married Albert G. Davis; and Sarah Belle, married Wilson H. 
Smith. They are all now deceased. 

Rev. John Sleet Major was a Christian gentleman and was held in 
the highest regard. He was the kind of man who made the world bet- 
ter for having lived. His career was above reproach, or even criticism. 
He died September 16, 1872, honored and loved by every one who knew 
him. 



The First National Bank, Liberty, Missouri, is one of the substan- 
tial financial institutions, not only of Clay County, but, of the state and 
has to its credit thirty-three years of successful banking which, alone, is 
a testimonial to the soundness of its policy and methods. 

The First National Bank of Liberty was organized May 1, 1887, with 
a paid-up capital stock of $50,000.00. Daniel Hughes was its first presi- 
dent and James T. Riley was the first cashier. Mr. Hughes disposed of 
his interest in 1897, John S. Major becoming the purchaser. At that time 
Mr. Major succeeded Mr. Hughes to the presidency of the bank and has 
served in that capacity to the present time. 

The present ofRcei's of The First National Bank are: John S. Major, 
president; James Costello, vice-president; Claude M. Donovan, vice-presi- 
dent ; and George S. Ritchey, cashier. Mr. Costello and Mr. Ritchey have 
served in their respective capacities in the bank for twenty-three years, 
as has also Mr. Major. Mr. Donovan became connected with the institu- 
tion in 1919, having been a successful banker at Orriclc, Missouri, for a 
number of years previous. 

The present capital stock of the bank is $50,000.00; surplus, 
850,000.00 ; and undivided profits, $90,000.00. The record of this bank as 
a successful financial institution has rarely been equaled in the history 
of banking. The last statement to the comptroller of currency shows the 
assets of this institution to be more than $1,000,000.00. 

The policy of this bank has always been to extend its aid to the 
weak and deserving, the officers feeling that to be their obligation, and 
the phenomenal growth and development has given evidence of the cor- 
rectness of this policy. The gentlemen who have directed the aff"airs of 
this bank and who are still shaping its policy are all high class financiers 
of long experience and vridely known for their ability and integrity. 



844 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

The present boai-d of directors consists of the following gentlemen: 
J. H. Barnes, James Costello, M. E. Lawson, B. F. Pixlee, J. D. Wason. 
John J. Stogdale. Ed. Withers, L. S. Watkins, C. M. Donovan. John S. 
Major. George S. Ritchey. 



Dr. John Hughes Rothwell, a widely known and successful physician 
and surgeon of Liberty, Missouri, is a descendant of a distinguished 
pioneer family of Missouri. He was born at Huntsville, Missouri, July 
9, 1858, and is a son of Dr. William Renfrew Rothw-ell and Louisa M. 
(Hughes) Rothwell. 

Dr. William Renfrew Rothwell was a man of unusual ability and 
attainments, and during his time was one of the most prominent educators 
of the state. For a number of years immediately preceding his death he 
was president of William Jewell College, at Liberty. He was a son of 
Dr. John Rothwell. a pi-ominent pioneer doctor who practiced in Callaway 
and Boone Counties, coming from Kentucky to that section of the state 
in 1830. He practiced his pi"ofessioii until his death in 1868, and his 
remains are buried in Cedar Church cemetery, near what is known as 
Stephen's store, in Boone County. 

Dr. William Renfrew Rothwell, after receiving a good preparatory edu- 
cation, took a aiurse in the Missouri University at Columbia, Missouri. 
He then became president of the Elm Ridge Academy, in Howard County. 
Missouri. This was a pioneer educational 'institution, conducted in a two- 
room log building of the primitive type. There were no glass windows. 
Ught being admitted by opening wooden shutters. After conducting that 
academy for some time, Doctor Rothwell became president of the Mt. 
Pleasant College at Huntsville. Missouri, which was a prominent educa- 
tional institution during its time. He held that position until 1860 and 
■was corresponding secretary of the Missouri Baptist Association which 
sponsored and promoted Mt. Pleasant College until 1871. Doctor Roth- 
well then came to Liberty as president of William Jewell College, and also 
professor of moral philosophy and was identified with that well known 
institution until the time of his death in 1808. He was a man widely 
knowii in educational work to which he devoted his life and left his im- 
print in the field of higher education in which he wielded such a strong 
influence during the many years of his active and successful career. 

Louise M. (Hughes) Rothwell. the wife of William Renfrew Rothwell, 
died a young woman, in 1860, at about twenty-five years of age. She 




liU JOHN II. IfOTIIWKM. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 347 

was a daughter of Allen and Melvina Hughes, early pioneer settlers of 
Howard County, Missouri, and natives of Kentucky. To Dr. William Ren- 
frew and Louise M. (Hughes), Rothwell were born one child, Dr. John 
H., the subject of this sketch. Prof. Younger P. Rothwell, superintendent 
of public schools of Pomona, California, was a child of his father's second 
marriage, to Fannie A. Pitts, a native of Kentucky, now living with her 
son in California, and is eighty years old. 

Dr. William Renfrew, great grandfather of Dr. John Hughes Roth- 
well, was a pioneer doctor in Callaway County, Missouri. He and Doctor 
Carter, a full blooded Indian, practiced medicine in partnership in Ken- 
tucky during the early twenties. They also manufactured herb medicines 
and were known as herb doctors, and their remedies were used extensively 
among the pioneers. Doctor Renfrew came to Callav/ay County in 1831. 
Doctor Carter, a son of the Indian Doctor Carter, later came to Missouri 
City, Clay County, where he practiced medicine and manufactured herb 
remedies and had a large practice. 

Dr. John Hughes Rothwell v.as educated at Mt. Pleasant College. 
Huntsville, Missouri, and afterwards attended William Jewell College 
where he was graduated in the class of 1880. After reading medicine for 
a time under the preceptorship of Doctor Allen, of Liberty, he took the 
medical course at the Missouri Medical College and later attended Bellevue 
Hospital Medical College of New York City. In 1883 he engaged in the 
practice of his profession at Kearney, Missouri, and one year later located 
at Liberty where he has since been engaged in practice for a period of 
thirty-six years. He is an able physician and has ever commanded a large 
practice. 

Doctor Rothwell has always taken an active and commendable interest 
in public affairs. He was elected coroner of Clay County m 1886 and 
reelected to that office in 1888, and has served as county physician fo)" 
several years. In 1887 he was appointed surgeon for the Chicago, Mil- 
waukee and St. Paul Railroad, a position which he has since held, and 
since the death of Doctor Allen he has also served as surgeon for the 
Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. 

Dr. John H. Rothwell was united in marriage September 15, 1886, 
with Miss Leta Maude Hardwicke, a native of Clay County, and a daughter 
of Samuel and Ada (Hall) Hardwicke, both also natives of Clay County 
and descendants of Missoun pioneers, from Kentucky. Samuel Hardwicke 
was one of the organizers of the Anti-Horse Thief Association. He and 



348 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Andrew Loughrey, Sidney Summers and Kit Russell who lived near An- 
tioch Church were the organizers of this association. The building in 
which they met and organized is still standing. This small organization, 
by these men, was the beginning of what is now the powerful Anti-Horse 
Thief Association whose members may be found in all parts of the country. 
Samuel Hardwicke died about 1896 and his widow lives on the old home 
place, two miles south of Liberty. Doctor and Mrs. Rothwell have an 
adopted son, Willard S., aged ten years. 

Doctor Rothwell is a member of the County, State and American 
Medical Association, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons. 



L. T. Dorsett, a well known merchant of Liberty Missouri, who has 
been in business here for over forty years, is a native of Indiana. He 
was born in Putnam County, Indiana, March 25, 1854, and is a son of 
James and Lydia (Bray) Dorsett, both of whom are now deceased. The 
mother died in Indiana in 1864, and the father died at Everett, Missouri, 
in 1889. and his remains are buried there. 

James and Lydia (Bray) Dorsett were the parents of the following- 
children: A. H., who became a Baptist minister and is now deceased; 
Mrs. Susan Patrick, deceased; J. H., deceased; John C, deceased; James, 
deceased ; Lydia C, deceased ; H. B., who is engaged in the livestock busi- 
ness in Kansas City, Missouri; L. T., the subject of this sketch; Mr.s. 
Nancy Stevens, Archie, Missouri; Ruth, died in Portland, Oregon; Jane, 
deceased ; Ira, deceased ; and Mrs. Mary C. BaiTett. After the death of 
his first wife James Dorsett was again married, and to that union were 
bom the following children: Mrs. Laura Ehler, who lives in Kansas; 
Mrs. Belle McCoy, Portland, Oregon; and Mrs. Ola McClelland, Seattle, 
Washington. Her husband is Judge Robert McClelland of Seattle. 

When L. T. Dorsett came to Missouri, he located in Cass County and 
taught school in the vicinity of Everett for five years. At one time dur- 
ing his teaching career he had eighty-seven pupils which he taught in 
one room. After teaching he engaged in the mercantile business, con- 
ducting a general store at Everett for several years. In 1879. he engaged 
in business at Liberty, Missouri, where he has since conducted a grocei7 
store and he also handles Queensware and glassware. 

Mr. Dorsett was mamed March 25, 1880, to Miss Jennie Liggett, of 
Freeman, Missouri, a daughter of Anderson Liggett, who settled in Cass 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 349 

County with his family in 1867. They came from Ohio. Anderson Lig- 
gett and his wife are both now deceased and their remains are buried at 
Freeman, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Dorsett have no children, but they 
reared a brother and sister of Mrs. Dorsett, Sallie and Earl Liggett, both 
of whom are deceased. 

Mr. Dorsett is a member of the Masonic Lodge, having been made a 
Mason in the lodge at Everett, Missouri, in 1875. He is also a member 
of the Modern Woodmen of America and the Baptist Church, and has 
been a deacon since 1880. For twenty-one years he was superintendent 
of the Sunday school at Liberty and during that time the enrollment 
reached 700. He resigned as superintendent about five years ago. 

Mr. Dorsett is a substantial business man and well known in Liberty 
and Clay County. 



The Citizens Bank of Liberty, Missouri, was organized in 1906 with 
a paid up capital of $25,000.00, and the following were the first officers 
of the bank: L. A. Davidson, president; J. M. Robinson, vice-president; 
John M. Newlee, cashier. The board of directors was as follows: L. A. 
Davidson, A. B. Crawford, J. M. Robinson, P. B. Bums, F. H. Matthews, 
D. E. Bell, John M. Newlee, Walter P. Downing, John Lindan, Theodore 
Emerson and James S. Robb. 

The first location of the bank was on the northeast corner of the 
public square in what is now known as the Crawford building. The 
Citizens Bank opened its doors for business August 15, 1906, and since 
that time the business has had a rapid and substantial growth. 

In February, 1910, to keep pace with the increased business of the 
bank, the capital stock was increased from $25,000.00 to $50,000.00. At 
that time the following officers were elected: William F. Norton, presi- 
dent; L. A. Davison, vice-president; John M. Newlee, cashier; and E. H. 
Norton, assistant cashier. In 1913, the capital stock was again increased, 
this time to $75,000.00. 

In June, 1913, ground was broken for the present magnificent bank 
building which was completed and ready for occupancy in February, 
1914, and on March 18, 1914, the new building was open for business. 
In planning this structure the ofllicers of the bank had in view the pur- 
pose of meeting the needs of the institution for generations to come, in 
the plan and scope of the new building. As a result, this banking build- 



350 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ing is, without doubt, the finest, the most convenient and complete in 
every detail of any bank building in the state outside of the largest cities* 
The sen'ices of the best architects were procured and they were given 
these specific instructions, "to design a building embodying the latest 
ideas in bank arrangement and convenience, to build it fire proof and to 
build it strong". 

The Citizens Bank building, manifestly, was built according to the 
above instructions. The entire building is of brick, stone and reenforced 
concrete and is rated and accepted by insurance companies as fire proof. 
The bank occupies the main floor and the basement and the second floor 
are given over to offices . The entrance to the building is through a large 
vestibule. At the right of the vestibule is the entrance to the president's 
private office and to the left are the marble stairways leading to the second 
floor and basement offices. The main banking room is 35 x 40 feet and 
is divided into a lobby, work space, women's parlor and rest room, and 
cashier's office. In the rear of this room are the large double vaults, 
coupon booths, the directoi's' room, men's rest room and laboratories. The 
banking room is finished in mahogany and marble with bronze fixtures 
and a marble wainscotting extends around the room. The floor is of 
white tile. The ceiling is beamed with ornamental plaster from which 
large chandeliers are suspended which are supplemented by smaller fix- 
tures artistically arranged at convenient places. 

The Citizens Bank cames on a general banking business and also 
conducts a savings department and a safety deposit department. 

The oflTicers and directors of this bank are all substantial business 
men of practical experience with wide banking experience. It is their 
desire to give the public real sei-vice which is the outgrowth of years of 
experience, and it is their aim to give every possible aid to the growth 
and development of the community. 

The present oflficers of the Citizens Bank are as follows : William F. 
Norton, president; John M. Newlee, active vice-president; E. S. Hunt, 
vice-president; E. H. Norton, cashier; John R. Smiley, assistant cashier; 
Jessie Norton, in charge of the savings department. The follo^\^ng are 
the board of directors: E. E. Bell, J. S. Robb, E. H. Miller, W. P. Down- 
ing, E. S. Hunt, S. P. Boggess, F. H. Matthews, Theodore Emerson, W. F. 
Norton, John M. Newlee, and E. H. Norton. The assets of this bank at 
the present time are nearly $1,000,000.00. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 351 

vDr. Ralph Hermon Major, the only surviving son born to John Sleet 
Major and Virginia (Anderson) Major, a sketch of whom appears in this 
volume, was bom near Kearney, Missoui-i, August 29, 1884. He re- 
ceived his preliminary education in the kindergarten and the public 
schools of Little Rock, Arkansas. When the family settled at Liberty, 
he entered William Jewell College in September, 1896, and was graduated 
from that institution in the class of 1902, being less than eighteen years 
old at the time and one of the youngest graduates of that institution. In 
1903, he went abroad and studied for two years and a half in the uni- 
versities of Germany and France. Upon his return to America he de- 
cided upon medicine as his profession and 1906 entered Johns Hopkins 
Medical School at Baltimore, Maryland, where he was graduated in 1910 
with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 

After receiving his degree, Doctor Major sei'ved two years as interne 
and assistant. He then went to Europe to continue his medical studies 
and studied under Dr. Von Pisquet of Vienna and Dr. Muller of Munich. 
He w^as then called to the Pathological Department of Leland Standford 
University and from there to the Kansas University as Professor of Path- 
ology'. At present he is a member of the medical staff of the Henry Ford 
Hospital, at Detroit, Michigan. 



Captain Lewis B. Dougherty, vice-president of the Commercial Bank 
of Liberty, has been a conspicuous figure in the banking affairs of west- 
em Missouri for many years and has been connected with the Com- 
mercial Bank since its organization. He is the only living member of 
that group of men who met in Liberty, September 24, 1866, for the pur- 
pose of organizing what is now the Commercial Bank. A souvenir book- 
let which was published by the bank in 1910, on the occasion of its fiftieth 
anniversary, was very appropriately dedicated to Captain Dougherty. 

Captain Dougherty is a remarkable man in many ways. At the age 
of ninety-two years, he is still active in mind and body and is a conspicu- 
ous character in the annals of Clay County banking and business enter- 
prise. He was born at Ft. Leavenworth, December 6, 1828, and was the 
second white child bom in the territory which is now the state of Kansas, 
and is the oldest person living who was born in what is now Kansas. 

When the Civil War broke out. Captain Dougherty enlisted in the 
Confederate army, in 1861. He became a member of Company B, Third 



352 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Missouri regiment and served in Gen. Sterling Price's Division and under 
Gen. Francis M. Cockrell, who later represented Missouri in the United 
States Senate for many years. Captain Dougherty was twice wounded 
while in the service and was captured at Island No. 10. He is the pioneer 
banker of Clay County and one of the best known men in this part of the 
state. 



The Commercial Bank of Liberty, Missouri, is one of the substantial 
banking institutions, not only of Clay County, but, of the state and for 
fifty-four years has had a successful banking career. The Commercial 
Bank was incorporated September 24, 1866. The first meeting held for 
the purpose of eft'ecting the organization of the bank was held in Temper- 
ance Hall and the founders and original stockholders of the bank were: 
L. B. Dougherty, D. J. Adkins, C. J. White, H. L. Routt, Solomon Levy, 
David Roberts, A. C. Davidson, R. S. Adkins, James M. Watkins, John 
Ecton, Joseph T. Field, Elisha Higbee, Samuel Hardwicke, A. J. Calhoun, 
Moss and Armstrong, Eph Sandusky, R. G. Gilmer, D. S. Miller, Mrs. Kate 
Routt, Thomas M. Gosney, Edward D. Miller, H. J. Robertson, Joseph "V. 
Clark, William H. Witthoff, John J. Moore, William A. Hall, A. M. Robert- 
son, Augustus Bishop, A. J. Wilson, William S. Gai-vey, R. G. Robertson, 
George Hughes, James Chanslor, L. T. Petty, D. D. Miller, 0. F. Dougherty. 
A. J. Calhoun was the first president and David Roberts the first cashier. 
The paid up capital stock was $5,000.00. 

On January 1, 1867, the bank formally opened for business in the 
room now occupied by Albert Land on the southwest comer of the square. 

January 1, 1870, President A. J. Calhoun and Cashier David Roberts 
resigned and were succeeded by D. J. Adkins, president, and A. J. Calhoun, 
cashier. September 26, 1870, W. A. Hall succeeded A. J. Calhoun as 
cashier. May 20, 1871, L. B. Dougherty became cashier, succeeding W. 
A. Hall, who resigned. January 1, 1893, B. B. Corbin became associated 
with the bank as bookkeeper and on August 13, 1885. J. M. Sandusky was 
elected a member of the board of directors. 

Cooper Davidson was chosen president to succeed D. J. Adkins, de- 
ceased, September 16, 1885 and on September 25, 1885, George Hughes 
was elected president and served until December 22, 1893, M'hen James N. 
Sandusky became president. 

On April 4, 1895, the capital stock was increased to $50,000.00 and 
on May 19, 1896, a new charter was secured and the capital stock was 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 353 

again increased to $75,000.00. January 1, 1898, John L. Dougherty 
became assistant cashier and on September 15, 1899, the name of the 
bank was changed to the Commercial Bank of Liberty. April 25, 1902, 
the absorption of the Liberty Savings Association by the bank was effected. 

January 16, 1905, J. L. Dougherty became cashier, succeeding L. B. 
Dougherty who was elected vice-president. November 16, 1907, the 
capital stock was again increased, this time to $100,000.00. January 1, 
1912, F. D. Hamilton became associated with the bank as assistant cashier 
and on January 1, 1916, B. B. Corbin resigned as assistant cashier, hav- 
ing held that position since June 4, 1908. 

In the spring of 1915, the board of directors, feeling that their bank- 
ing home should be in keeping with the necessities and stability of their 
business, decided to make everything new except the kind of treatment 
which for years had been accorded their valued patrons. As a result, 
the substantial brick building, on the southeast comer of the square, 
which had fonnerly housed the Liberty Savings Association for years and 
had been the home of the Commercial Bank since 1902, was transformed 
into a metropolitan banking house, the entire first floor being converted 
into offices for the bank. The building was completely remodeled, includ- 
ing a substantial stone front which presents a magnificent appearance. 

The main banking room is so arranged that customers find easy 
access to the four windows of the circular counter. A flood of light from 
the numerous windows, prompted one of the patrons of the bank to sug- 
gest, and, not inappropriately, that the bank easily dispenses sunshine 
in connection with its banking service. "Rich, but not expressed in 
fancy", might well be the description of the bank's complete equipment. 
The fixtures are of genuine South African mahogany with accompaniment 
of a twelve-inch base of Verde Antique and a forty-foot wainscoting of 
Colorado Yule, naturally veined which creates a beautiful design. This 
harmony suiTounds the interior walls of the banking room. The presi- 
dent's office opens from the directors' room and the cashier's desk is on 
the left, as one enters the bank. Two large vaults of modem proof con- 
struction with all-steel shelving offer a secure depository for filing items 
and valuable papers. This bank is as complete in all its appointments 
and convenience for both the customers and employes as any other bank 
to be found in the country. 

The present officers of the Commercial Bank are: James M. San- 
dusky, president; L. B. Dougherty, vice-president; J. L. Dougherty, 



354 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

cashier; and F. D. Hamilton, assistant cashier. The assistants in the 
bank are : Roland A. Main, Anna J. Hall, and Miss Doris Robinson. The 
Board ol" Directors are: J. L. Dougherty. F. D. Hamilton, Frank Hughes, 
James N. Sandusky, James S. Siiiiral!, S. M. Woodson, T. J. Wornell, and 
C. E. Yancey. 

The best conception of the groArth and development of the Com- 
mercial Bank can be obtained from the following figures: On January 1, 
1867, the capital stock was $5,000.00 and the deposits $4,672.50 ; January 
1. 1877, capital stock, $32,500.00, deposits, $61,403.86; January 1, 1887, 
oapital stock, $40,000.00, deposits, $155,486.30; January 1, 1897, capital 
stock, $75,000.00, deposits, §149,881.37; January 1, 1907, capital stock, 
$100,000.00. deposits $614,782.76; January 1, 1917, capital stock, $100,- 
000.00, deposits $707,932.20. The deposits at the present time ai-e over 
$1,000,000.00. 



E. E. Kirkland, the present mayor of Liberty, Missouri, and a widely 
known and successful real estate and insui^ance man, is a native of 
Missouri. He was bom in Scotland County, November 29, 1878, and is a 
son of Thomas and Bell (Greene) Kirkland. Thomas Kirkland was a 
native of Kentucky and came to Missouri with his parents at a very early 
day and settled in Scotland County. He grew to manhood in Scotland 
County and was engaged in farming and stock raising there for a number 
of years and now lives in Montana. Bell (Greene) Kirkland was a native 
of Virginia and came to Scotland County with her parents when she was 
a child. Her father. Judge Thomas Greene, was a pioneer of Scotland 
County and prominent in the early day affairs there. He was a country 
merchant and also a farmer. He served as county judge of Scotland 
County. Mrs. Kirkland died in Scotland County in 1913. 

E. E. Kirkland was educated in the public schools and the high 
School at Memphis, Missouri. He then entered William Jewell College 
at Liberty, Missouri, where he was graduated in the class of 1904. After 
completing his college course, Mr. Kirkland engaged in the gent's furnish- 
ing business in partnership with M. A. Burch. This business association 
continued for six years, and in 1910 Mr. Kirkland sold his interest in 
the business to his partner and engaged in the real estate and insurance 
business at Liberty, Missouri. He has built up an extensive business 
and is a leader in his respective lines in Clay C!ounty. 




E. K. KIRKLAXD 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 357 

Since locating at Liberty, Mr. Kirkland has taken an active interest 
in the welfare and development of Liberty and Clay County. He was 
elected a member of the city council in 1910, serving two years. In 1917 
he was elected mayor of Liberty and at the expiration of his term of 
office he was reelected, in April, 1919, and is now serving in that capacity. 
He has given the city a capable and efficient administration, and his 
efforts in the direction of a clean city government is appreciated by the 
people, as was evinced by his reelection to the office of mayor. Mr. Kirk- 
land is also the present public administrator of Clay County, having 
been elected to that office in 1916 and was reelected in 1920. 

In February, 1906, Mr. Kirkland was united in marriage with Miss 
Hazel Moore Adkins, a daughter of D. J. M. and Anna (Moore) Adkins. 
Mr. Adkins now resides in Kansas City, Missouri, and his wife is deceased. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Kirkland have been bom two children: Robert Greene 
and Earl Vance. 

Mr. ffirkland is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 
He has an extensive acquaintance in Liberty and Clay County and is 
a substantial citizen. 



William Canby Willmotl, .secretary and treasurer of the 0. H. Corbin 
Milling Company of Liberty, Missouri, has been prominently identified 
with the business interests of Liberty and Clay County for many years^ 
and is one of the successful men of affair.s of this county. Mr. Willmott 
was born at Huntsville, Illinois^ February 17, 1862, and is a son of W. W. 
and Mary (Breckenridge) Willmott. Mary J. Breckenridge was a mem- 
ber of the Breckenridge family of Kentucky and a second cousin of John 
C. Breckenridge, the well known statesman of a few years back. 

W. W. Willmott removed from Kentucky to St. Louis in 1869, and 
was engaged in the wholesale cracker business there for three years. 
He then removed to Baton Rouge, Louisiana, where he purchased a sugar 
l)lantation which he operated until 1879. He then came to Clay County 
and engaged in farming near Liberty, and he and his wife both spent the 
remainder of their lives in this vicinity. 

William C. Willmott was educated in the public schools of St. Louis, 
Hocker's College at Lexington, Kentucky, Louisiana Agricultural and 
Mechanical College at Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and William Jewell Col- 
lego at Liberty, Missouri. He came to Clay County with his parents and 
shortly afterwards his father purchased the McDonald Lumber Yard 



358 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

which they operated about eight years. In 1890 he became interested 
in the O. H. Corbin Milling Company and since that time he has served 
in the capacity of secretary, treasurer and manager of that institution. 

Mr. Willmott was united in marrage, December 2, 1885, with Miss 
Emma Wymore, of Liberty, Missouri. She was a daughter of William 
H. Wymore, Jr. To Mr. and Mrs. Willmott have been born one son. 
Miller Edward, who was educated at William Jewell College and the Rolla 
School of Mines, and is now a mining engineer at Tonopah, Nevada. 

Mr. Willmott has always taken an active interest in local affairs 
and has served two terms as mayor of Liberty, having been elected the 
first time when he was only twenty-one years old. He also sen'ed as a 
member of the city council for many years. 

The Willmott family is of old American stock and dates back to 
colonial times. Colonel Robert F. Willmott, great grandfather of Wil- 
liam C. Willmott, was an officer in the Revolutionary army and was a 
member of General Washington's staff. He spent his latter life in Ken- 
tucky and his remains were buried on the old Willmott homestead near 
Paris, Kentucky. 



John Claude Coppinger, junior member of the law fii"m of Coppinger 
and Coppinger, of Liberty, Missouri, and the present prosecuting attorney 
of Clay County, is a native of this county. He was bom at Excelsior 
Springs, Missouri, February 10, 1892, and is a son of Charles H. and Reba 
J. (Prather) Coppinger. Reba J. Prather was a daughter of John S. and 
Luella (Roberts) Prather, natives of Kentucky. John S. Prather was a 
pioneer of Moscow, Missouri, and established the first grist mill there 
and later he removed to Excelsior Springs and was one of the early set- 
tlers there. He was the first mayor of that town and spent the remainder 
of his life there. He died in 1914, and his wife departed this life in 1894 
and their remains were buried in Crown Hill cemetery at {Excelsior 
Springs. 

John Claude Coppinger received his preliminary education in the 
public schools of Excelsior Springs, and later attended the University of 
Missouri at Columbia. He then entered the University of Texas and was 
graduated from that institution in the class of 1914 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws. He. then returned to Clay County and since that time 
he has been engaged in the practice of his profession. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 359 

In 1917, Mr. Coppinger organized the Liberty Abstract and Title 
Company of which he is president. This company was incorporated with 
a capital stock of $10,000.00, and they have a complete set of new abstract 
books, embracing the complete records of Clay County titles. 

Mr. Coppinger was elected prosecuting attorney of Clay County in 
1918 and after capably filling that office for one term he was reelected in 
1920. 

Mr. Coppinger is a Knights Templar Mason and a member of the 
Mystic Shrine and also holds membership in the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He is a successful attorney and the fii'm of Coppinger and 
Coppinger has an extensive practice in this section of the state. 



B. B. Corbin, president of the 0. H. Corbin Milling Company, of Lib- 
erty, Missouri, is a native of Virginia. He was born April 8, 1847 and 
is a son of 0. H. and Sarah A. (Petty) Corbin, who settled in Clay 
County in 1849 and spent the remainder of their lives here. 

O. H. Corbin engaged in the milling business at Liberty in 1850, 
which was the beginning of the present milling business in this city 
which bears his name. The original mill was located on the south side of 
the St. Joseph and Hannibal railroad track. That building was destroyed 
by fire and later a new building was erected on the present site on Water 
and Mill streets. The 0. H. Corbin Milling Company was incorporated 
in 1898 with a capital stock of $20,000.00. This mill has a capacity of 
100 barrels of flour daily and is equipped with all modern milling 
machinery. A very high grade of flour is manufactured here which has 
won a wide reputation for its excellent quality. The company also manu- 
factures feed and general mill products and also conducts a retail coal 
business. O. H. Corbin, the founder of the business, was born September 
10, 1820, and died September 2, 1892. His wife was born July 15, 1820, 
and died August 15, 1885. 

To 0. H. Corbin and wife were bom the following children: Mary 
F. is a stockholder in the O. H. Corbin Milling Company and lives at 
Liberty, Missouri; W. H., who was also interested in the business and is 
now deceased; James M., was also interested in the business and died in 
1820; B. B., the subject of this sketch; Benjamin F., Liberty, Missouri; 
George W., Liberty, Missouri; Laura E., Liberty, Missouri; Mrs. Adelaide 
Duncan, deceased; Herbert T., Berkley, California; and Mrs. Hattie B. 
Yancey, Chicago, Illinois. 



360 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

B. B. Corbin was about two years old when he was brought to Clay 
County by his parents. He was reared and educated in Liberty and 
began his business career as a clerk in a grocery store, and later worked 
in a woolen factory. He then served as deputy county clerk, and later 
entered the employ of the Liberty Savings Bank as bookkeeper. He then 
entered the employ of the Commercial Bank, remaining with that institu- 
tion for thirty-two years, when lie took an active position with the 0. H. 
Corbin Milling Company of which he had been a stockholder for several 
years. 

Mr. Corbin was married December 21, 1886, to Miss Margaret Beau- 
champ, a daughter of John A. and Sydney (Owen) Beauchamp, both now 
deceased. John A. Beauchamp's father was one of the early white men 
to locate in this section of the counti-j' and for a number of years in the 
early history of Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, he was the government Indian 
agent there. Mrs. Corbin died in 1889. Two children were bom to Mr. 
and Mrs. Corbin, one of whom died in infancy and the other at the age 
of sixteen months. 

Mr. Corbin is a substantial business man and has an extensive ac- 
quaintance in Clay County. He is a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows. 



James S. Simrall, a well known and successful lawyer of Liberty, is 
a native of Clay County. He was born at Liberty, November 7, 1884, 
and is a son of Horatio F. and Martha J. (Denny) Simi-all, further men- 
tion of whom is made in connection with the sketch of Ernest G. Simrall 
in this volume. 

James S. Simrall was educated in the public schools of Liberty and 
attended the high school here. Later he entered William Jewell College 
and was graduated from that institution in the class of 1805. He then 
entered the Kansas City School of Law where he received the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws in 1908 After being admitted to the bar, he engaged 
in the practice of his profession at Liberty, to which he has since devoted 
himself with success. He was elected city attorney of Liberty in 1909 
and served two years. In 1910, he was elected prosecuting attorney of 
Clay County and reelected for that office in 1912, serving four years. He 
sei-ved two years as clerk of the school board and was later elected a 
member of that body. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 361 

Mr. Simrall was married July 25, 1911, to Mis.s Ruby Bell, a 
daughter of David E. and Alice R. (Cravens) Bell, the former of whom 
is now deceased and the mother resides at Liberty. David E. Bell was a 
successful farmer and stock raiser, although he was engaged in the hard- 
ware business for a time. He died in 1920. He was a son of Edwin 
Bell who was a very early pioneer settler in Clay County who settled near 
Missouri City, where he was engaged in farming. To James S. Simrall 
and wife have been bom two children: Martha Jane and James S., Jr. 

Mr. Simrall is vice-president and treasurer of the Clay County Ab- 
stract Company and he is a director of the Commercial Bank of Liberty, 
and also a member of the board of directors of the National Bank of 
North Kansas City. He is an able lawyer and ranks high in the legal 
piofession of western Missouri. 



Ernest G. Simrall, of Liberty, Missouri, is one of the able and suc- 
cessful lawyers of this section of the state. He is a son of Horatio and 
Mattie J. (Denny) Simrall. 

Horatio H. Simrall was bom in Shelby County, Kentucky, in 1845. 
After graduating from the University of Louisville, Kentucky, he came 
to Clay County, Missouri when a young man, and after teaching school 
about a year he engaged in the practice of law at Liberty, and for forty 
years was one of the successful lawyers of Clay County. He was a 
prominent Democrat and took an active part in political matters. He 
served as district committeeman and served as prosecuting attorney of 
Clay County. He served in the State Senate and was chairman of the 
judiciary committee of the Senate for two terms. During the time he 
was a member of the senate he succeeded in getting through some im- 
portant legislation some of which had to do with the reclamation of 
swamp lands. During the course of his practice at Liberty, he was in 
partnership for a time with Judge J. M. Sandusky, and later he was 
associated with Judge H. Trimble who is now judge in Kansas City. He 
died January .31, 1911, and his remains are buried at Liberty. His widow 
now resides at Liberty. Her father, John A. Denny, was a native of 
North Carolina and came to Liberty at a very early day. He was a dry 
goods merchant here for a number of years and was a highly respected 
citizen. He was a member of the Presbyterian church. 

To Horatio F. Simrall and wife were bom the following children: 



362 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Denny, an attorney in Kansas City, Missouri; Horatio G., a dry goods 
merchant; James S., an attorney of Liberty, Missouri; Eniest G., the 
subject of this sketch; Riley, a mining engineer, Bartlesville, Oklahoma. 

Ernest G. Simrall received his preparatory education in the public 
schools of Liberty and then entered William Jewell College where he 
was graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Arts in the class of 1908, 
and two years later received his Masters degree from that institution. 
He attended the Kansas City Law School where he was graduated in 
1911 witli the degree of Bachelor of Laws. He then engaged in the prac- 
tice of law at Liberty to which he has since devoted his attention with 
marked success. He has held the office of city attorney of Liberty, and 
also served as prosecuting attorney of Clay County for four years. 

Mr. Simrall is secretary of the Clay County Abstract Company, a 
position which he has held for the past nine years. He is a member of 
the Masonic Lodge at Liberty and also holds membership in the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. 



L. A. Davidson, now living retired at Liberty, Missouri, after a suc- 
cessful career, is a native of Clay County. He was born in Gallatin 
township, November 1, 1842, and is a son of John K. and Lucy (Tillery) 
Davidson, both natives of Kentucky. John K. Davidson was bom in 
Madison County, Kentucky, and his wife in Woodson County. He came 
to Clay County, Missouri, when a young man and died and was buried 
here. He died at the age of thirty-two years and his wife departed this 
life at the age of fifty-five years. At the time of his death, John K. 
Davidson was the owner of two hundred and ten acres of land in Gallatin 
township. 

To John K. and Lucy (Tilleiy) Davidson wei-e boni the following 
children: Samuel A., served as a lieutenant in the Confederate army 
under General Sterling Price and died at Little Rock, Arkansas, while 
in the service ; L. A., the subject of this sketch ; Oscar, who owns a farm 
in Gallatin township and is now living retired at Kansas City, Missouri; 
and Mary Ann, who married Henry Haynes and is now deceased. 

L. A. Davidson was reared on a fann and educated in the district 
schools ; he recalls as his first teacher, George Hughes, the father of Ralph 
Hughes, the present circuit judge of this district. In early life, Mr. 
Davidson engaged in farming and stock i-aising and fed stock extensively 
for the market. He met with success and continued his active career 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 363 

until he met with an accident which resulted in a broken leg and since 
that time he has been unable to actively engage in business and maizes 
his home at the Major Hotel at Liberty. 

Mr. Davidson was married about 1877 to Miss Fannie Reynolds, a 
daughter of John and Rebecca Reynolds of Liberty, Missouri. They are 
both now deceased and Mrs. Davidson died about 1882 and her remains 
are buried in the Davidson private cemetery. Two sons were born to 
L. A. Davidson and wife: O'Fallan, who resides on the home place, and 
Ralph A., a farmer and stockman of Liberty township ; he maiTied Gladys 
Cook, of Liberty, Missouri. 

L. A. Davidson is one of the substantial and highly respected citizens 
of Clay County. 



George E. Swan, proprietor of the Liberty Steam Laundry at Liberty, 
Missouri, is one of the progressive and entei-prising business men of Clay 
County. He has had over twenty years' experience in the laudry busi- 
ness, during which time he has developed a business and built up an 
industry of which few towns of the size of Liberty can boast. 

The Liberty Steam Laundry employs from fifteen to eighteen people 
and is equipped with all modern laundry machinery, with a view of turn- 
ing out high class work with the greatest possible speed. This laundi-y, 
not only serves the people of Liberty and the immediate vicinity, but 
also work is sent here from various suiTounding towns over a broad scope 
of territory. The building which houses the Liberty Steam Laundry is 
a three story brick structure 31 x 96 feet in dimensions and is located at 
the corner of Missouri and Kansas streets. 

George E. Swan was bom in New York, March 31, 1877, and is a 
son of B. F. and Emma A. (Sheppard) Swan. B. F. Swan was also a 
native of New York and during the Civil War he served in the Union 
army and now resides at Urban, Missouri. His wife died in 1917. They 
were the parents of the following children: Ben, lives in Califamia; 
Ed, Liberty, Missouri ; George E., the subject of this sketch ; Mrs. Mary 
Ewing, Kansas City, Missouri; Mrs. Winner Allen, Urban, Missouri; and 
Frank, Haskill, Oklahoma. 

George E. Swan was educated in the public schools of Liberty, 
Missouri, and entered the employ of Bnrnham, Hanna and Munger Dry- 
goods Company of Kansas City, Missouri, and was with that concern for 
seven years. He then engaged in the laundry business at Liberty and 



364 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

since that time has devoted himself to that industry and has met with 
success. 

Ml*. Swan was married in 1902 to Miss Genevieve Marshall, of Kan- 
sas City, Missouri. Three children have been born to this union: 
Imogene, Ernest and Marshall. 

Mr. Swan is a substantial and public spirited citizen and stands high 
in Liberty and Clay County. 



B. F. Hayes, of B. F. Hayes and Son, who conducts one of the leading 
restaurants of Liberty, where they are also engaged in the mercantile 
business, is a native of Clay County. B. F. Hayes was bom in a log 
house at the corner of Main and Mill streets, Liberty, July 2, 1864, and 
is a son of Samuel and Susan Virginia (Estes) Hayes. 

Samuel Hayes was a native of Virginia. He came to Clay County 
from Greenbrier County, Virginia, in 1858, and for a number of years 
was engaged in contracting and building at Liberty. He helped erect 
the present court house and also the old building of William Jewell College 
and many business buildings and residences at Liberty. He died at Liberty 
in June, 1917, and his wife died in May, 1920. She was a daughter of 
Fountain Estes, a Kentuckian, and an early settler at Liberty. He came 
here several years prior to the Civil War. Of the children bom to Samuel 
and Susan Virginia (Estes) Hayes, the following are living: B. F., the 
subject of this sketch; L. L., a contractor of Liberty; M. S., retired. Lib- 
erty, Missouri; R. W., is engaged in the restaurant business at Slater, 
Missouri ; Mrs. U. V. Samples, Oakland, California ; Mrs. Dora Hutchinson, 
Liberty, Mi.^souri. 

B. F. Hayes was reared at Liberty, Missouri, and attended the public 
schools. In early life he learned the trade of plasterer and brick layer 
and soon engaged in an independent career as a contractor and builder. 
He did a great deal of concrete work, including the building of side-walks, 
and today there is hardly a block in Liberty that does not bear his name 
on the walk. He was successfully engaged in the contracting business for 
thirty-six years, and on June 23, 1920, he engaged in his present business 
in partnership with his son, C. M. Hayes. Their restaurant and store is 
located on East Kansas street, and they have a large patronage. 

B. F. Hayes was married to Miss Delila Dever, a native of Clay County, 
bom near Missouri City. She is a daughter of George W. and Margaret 
De\er, natives of Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. Hayes have been born sixteen 




B. K. IIAVKS 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 367 

children, seven of whom are living, as follows: G. B., a contractor in 
Kansas City, Kansas ; F. H., Bellevue, Missouri ; C. M., who is engaged in 
business in partnership with his father at Liberty; Ora D., a student in 
William Jewell College; Agnes Dorothy, a graduate of the Liberty High 
School, and now engaged in teaching; Roxie, a student of the Liberty High 
School ; and May, a student in the grade school. Mr. and Mrs. Hayes have 
six grandchildren : Marion, G. B., William B., Joellen, Philip, and David 
Hayes. 

Mr. Hayes has been a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows for twenty-five years, and is a substantial business man. 



Lonzo P. Sissom, the present capable and efficient sherift' of Clay 
County, is a native son of this county and a descendant of one of the 
early pioneer families of this section of Missouri. Mr. Sissom was bom 
in Gallatin township, Clay County, within three miles of his present place 
in that township. He is a son of Isaiah and Dorkey Ann (Shanks) Sissom, 

Isaiah Sissom was a native of Tennessee and his wife was bom in 
Ross County, Ohio. He died in 1887, and his wife departed this life in 
1912. Isaiah Sissom cade to Clay County at a very early day and for a 
number of years, during the days of extensive steamboating on the Mis- 
souri River, he conducted a woodyard at what was known as Sissom's 
Landing, and supplied various steamboats then plying the river with 
wood. Among the early steamboats which Sheriff Sissom recalls were 
the "Fannie Lewis", "Kate Kinney", "Joe Kinney", "Gold Dust", "David 
R. Powell", "E. H. Durfee", "The Dakota", "The Montana", "Jim Wat- 
son", and many others, most of which were owTied by the Missouri River 
Packet Company. 

To Isaiah and Dorkey Ann (Shanks) Sissoni were born the following 
children: Lonzo P., the subject of this sketch; Frank and Catherine, the 
latter of whom died in infancy, and Frank is a farmer and now resides at 
Birmingham, Mi.s.souri; Mrs. Siman J. Wentworth, Kansas City, Mis.souri; 
Mrs. Dulcina Ricketts, lives in the state of California; Mark, resides near 
Randolph, Missouri; Mrs. Anna B. Glasscock, Moscow, Missouri, and 
George M., Kansas City, Missouri. 

Lonzo P. Sissom attended the early day subscription schools and 
later the public schools. He engaged in farming in early life and was 
engaged in fanning and stock raising in 1916, when he was elected sheriff 
of Clay County and has served in that capacity to the present time. Dur- 



p,j^^ HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

ing the course of his ofucitvl career, Sheriff Siss<fm lias faitlifully carried 
out the mandates of his office without fear or favor and has made a 
recoi-d of which he may be justly proud. He had a number of years 
experience as an officer before being eleclol sheriff, having sened as 
constable of Gallatin township for eighteen years. 

Mr. Sissom owis a valuable farm In Gallatin township which is 
located about three-fourths of a mile from the place where he was born. 
His father owned about three hundred acres of Missouri River bottom 
land which was practically all wasiied away by the current of the river • 
during the tiood of 1003. 

Lonzo P. Sissom was married April 8. 1880. to Miss Lucy V. Arnold, 
a daughter of Merritts and Lucy (Holbert) Arnold, pioneer settlers of 
Gallatin towiship, and both now deceasetl. To Mr. and Mrs. Sissom have 
been born the following children: Myrta M.. married Clarence Reeke, 
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Merritt Ray, Bimiingham, Missouri, married 
Anna E. Dickison and they have the following children : Muriel Mildi-ed. 
Thelma JLixine. Merritt Ray. Jr., and Margery. 

Merritt Ray Sissom is a prominent farmer and stockman of Gallatin 
township and also ownis a farm of 29G acres of valuable river bottom 
land in Lafayette County, near Camden, Missouri. 

Sheriff Sissom has an extensive acquaintance and stands high in 
Clay County. 

John Hummel, a well knowi and highly respected business man of 
Liberty, Missouri, is a member of the old reliable and well established 
firm of Laipple and Hummel, leading groceries of Liberty. 

John Hununel was born in Gemiany, January 25, 1852, a son of Fert 
and Margaret (Schmidt) Hummel, both natives of Gemiany and who 
spent their lives there. John Hummel was about twenty-eight years old 
when he can^.e to America and settled at Florence, Morgan County, Mis- 
souri. He worked at the potter's trade there for ten years when he 
came to Liberty and engaged in the grocery business in partnership with 
John Laipple. Since that time this firm has continued to do business in 
Liberty where they are well known and have an extensi\e trade which 
covers a large scope of surrounding territory, as well as Liberty. 

John Hummel was mai-ried to Pauline Laipple of Florence, Missouri, 
in 1884. and to this union have been bom the following children: Oscar, 
who was accidentally killed while playing baseball while attending scbool, 



HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY '.id'.) 

when eleven years old ; Waiter died when two months old; Robert, enlisted 
in the United States army during the World War in Montana and served 
in a laundry unit as first sergeant and is now engaged in the laundry 
business in San F'rancisco, California; and Emma resides at home with 
her parents. 

Mr. Huminel is a member of the Masonic Lodge at IJbeily and he 
also holds membership in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is 
a substantial business man and is widely and favorably known in Literty 
and Clay County. 



Charles Henry Coppingtr, a well known lawyer of Liberty, Missouri, 
and senior member of the law firm of Coppinger and Coppinger, was bom 
in Jefferson County, Kansas, December 24, 1868. He is a son of Claude 
and Mary Lilies (Bixindridge) Coppinger. 

Claude Coppinger was a native of Kentucky, bom July 1, 1843. He 
was a son of William H. Coppinger who was bom in Tennesse, January 
1, 1808. Hf: went from Tennessee t^j Kentucky, and in 1857 came to 
Missouri and settled in Platte County near what is now the town of Wes- 
ton. Later, he bought four thousand acres of land in Jeffer-son County, 
Kansas, and gave each of his eight children 160 acres. He died at Win- 
chester, Kansas. 

Claude Coppinger, the father of Charles H. Coppinger, sei^ved in the 
Confederate army under General Price, during the last two years of the 
Civil War. He followed farming throughout his life and died at Win- 
chester, Kansas, January 18, 1880. Mary Lilies (Brundridge) Coppinger 
was bora in Sangamon County, Illinois, and died at Excelsior Springs, 
Missouri. She was a daughter of Elder J. A. Brundridge, a primitive 
Baptist minister, who was one of the pioneer preachers of Jefferson 
County, Kansas. He began the ministry in 1859 and came to Clay 
County in 1880, settling at Excelsior Springs. 

Charles H. Coppinger has a brother, James C, who is engaged in 
the automobile business at Cleveland, Ohio. Charles H. Coppinger was 
educated in the public schools at Winchester, Kansas, and was graduated 
from the high school there. He then took a course in the business col- 
lege at Lawrence, Kansas, and afterward entered the Kansas City School 
of Law where he was graduated in 1898, when he engaged in the practice 
of lav/ at Liberty, to which he has since devoted himself and has built up 
a large clientage and is recognized as one of the able lawyers of Clay 



370 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

County Mr. Coppinger has had a varied experienc;) in industrial aflfairs, 
in addition to his practice of law. Before being admitted to the bar he 
^vas auditor for the Excelsior Springs and Northern Railroad Company 
from 1894 to 1898, resigning to engage in the practice of law. He built 
the first telephone system of which the present system there is the out- 
growth and in 1901, he built the Maples Hotel at Excelsior Springs. 

On April 21, 1891, Charles H. Coppinger was united in marriage 
with Miss Reba J. Prather, of Excelsior Springs. She was born at Mos- , 
cow Clay County, Missouri, and is a daughter of John S. and Lulu 
(Roberts) Prather, the former a native of Kentucky and the latter of 
Clay County, and both now deceased. John S. Prather was an early 
settler in Clay County and a pioneer school teacher in the vicmity of 
Moscow To Mr. and Mrs. Coppinger have been born one son, John 
Claude, prosecuting attorney of Clay County, and the junior member of 
the fii-m of Coppinger and Coppinger. 

Mr. Coppinger is secretary and treasurer of the Liberty Abstract 
and Title Company which was organized by Coppinger and Coppinger m 
1917 and incorporated with a capital stock of $10,000.00 and is one of 
the prosperous institutions of Clay County. 

John Laipple, of the old established and well kno^vn retail grocery 
company of Laipple and Hummel, who are located on the north side of 
the public square at Liberty, Missouri, is a native of Ohio. 

Mr Laipple was bora in Hancock County, Ohio, February 24, 1867. 
a son of Paul and Catherine (Staley) Laipple. The Laipple family came 
to Missouri and settled in Morgan County in 1870, where Paul Laipple, 
the father, died in 1876. The motlier survived her husband for a num- 
ber of years and also died in Morgan County. 

In 1887, John Laipple came to Liberty, where he was engaged as 
clerk for about three years, in the employ of an uncle, Fred Fischer, and 
E. B. Maltby. In 1890, he engaged in the retail grocery business in part- 
nership with John Hummel, and for thirty years this firm has continued 
in business at Liberty. They have an extensive business and by their 
reliable methods and high quality of goods have won a large patronage. 
John Laipple has been twice married. His first wife was Miss Vina 
M. Schondelmier, of Houston, Missouri. After they were married about 
seventeen years, Mrs. Laipple died and in March, 1915, Mr. Laipple was 
married to Mai-y Ramsey Rife, of Clay County. Missouri. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 371 

Mr. Laipple is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Knights of Pythias and for the past eight years he has been 
superintendent of Sunday School at the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows Home' at Liberty. He i.s public .spirited and progressive and a busi- 
ness man of high standing. 



Walter Manley, the present county assessor of Clay County, is one 
of the widely known and popular county officials of this county. He was 
born near Seymour, Indiana, September 2, 1873, a son of James and 
Martha Manley, the former a native of North Carolina, and the latter of 
Tennessee. 

James Manley was reared in North Carolina, and when the Civil War 
broke out he enlisted in the Confederate army, becoming a member of 
Company H, 13th North Carolina Infantry. He served in General Robert 
E. Lee's army under General Rhodes, until he lost an arm at the battle 
of Antietam which disqualified him for further military service. Shortly 
after the Civil War was over he came to Clay County and remained here 
about a year. He then lived for a time in Indiana and Tennessee, but 
later returned to North Carolina. 

To James and Martha Manley were bom the following children: 
.John, Sawtell, California; William, died at the age of twelve years; 
Maggie, died at the age of ten years ; Walter, the subject of this sketch ; 
Harvey, who is engaged in railroad work at Columbus, Ohio ; Archie, a 
superintendent for a hide and leather company at Indianapolis, Indiana. 

Walter Manley was educated in the public schools of Indiana, and 
was graduated from the high school at Columbus, Indiana. In 1892, he 
came to Missouri and followed farming in Ray County about a year when 
he came to Clay County and engaged in farming and for six years he 
was rural mail carrier on Route No. 5. In 1912 he was elected county 
assessor and was reelected for that office in 1916 and is still serving in 
that capacity. His present term expires June 21, 1921. 

Mr. Manley was mamed January 31, 1895 to Mrs. Clara Mitchell, a 
daughter of William and Sarah Simms of Clay County, Missouri, who 
are both now deceased. William Simms was a very early pioneer settler 
of Missouri. He was a Kentuckian and came to this state in 1834 when 
he was twelve years of age. He came by boat from Kentucky and first 
settled in Boone County. He drove the first two-horse wagon into Boone 
County, making the trip from Hannibal. This vehicle was used as a 



0,^2 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

;_ ^..- Pi..eer ^e. o. ^ ^-j:^ J^ ^..^ ^^ 
rLrrr^dl'^^^^^^^^^^^^ Missouri. He -Id that o^ 

Tt the same time that George Vest, who later became Umted States 
Senator rMissouri, was city atto.^ of Columbia Mr. S.mms d.ed 
A cl 1^ 1908 at the age of eighty-six years and his remams were 
August 13, 1908. at the a » September, 1913, at the age 

Bv her first mar ia.e Mrs. Manley had two children: Maud who died at 
fv 'cl nf fifTeen yeai-s and Dean, who resides at Liberty, Missouri. 

XllalTi a m^^^^^^^ of the Knights of Pythias and tl.e Modern 
woodman ofLerica. He is also a member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows of which he is Past Grand. 

Tim-g L Nutter, proprietor of the Liberty Cafe, which is located at 
the s^^uthw; t corner of the Public Square. Liberty, Missouri is a native 
of C lav Countv and is a descendant of pioneers of this county. He wa 
born five mile northwest of Liberty, September 5, 1872. and is a son of 
Lunimd and Nannie (Williams) Nutter, both natives of I-"t.icky. 

Lunsford Nutter was born near Georgeto^^'n, Kentucky, and his ^^fe 
was to f t Maysville, Nicholas County, Kentucky. They came « fy 
Countv with their respective parents who were very early settkrs m 
?hTs • cinitv Lunsford Nutter was a son of James Nutter and Nannie 
V li rl a daughter of Jarrott Williams. Lunsford N.jtter derked 
in a drug store in early life and later o.-ned a fann ^^^^^^iL^T^n^ 
which he operated until he retired, when he returned to Libert, and 
spent the remainder of his life. . 

Lunsford Nutter lived here during the Civil War and one night dui 
ing that time, he and W. H. Woodson, the editor of this work, were th 
only occupant, of the old Arthur Hotel at ^^^^^ ^^^ ^J^^ ^ 
Federal troops was expected. The previous night Piatt City had been 
LkeTbv the Federals and, as a precaution against an expected attack 
Se Quests of the hotel were ordered to the Public Square and Nutter and 

''''Z:'r^t%.. only living child bom to his pareiits; one 
daugMei'died in infancy. Trigg L. Nutter was educated - the puhhc 
schils and William Jewell College. He was engaged in the furniture 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 373 

and undertaking business for a few years and then was in tiie real estate 
business at Liberty. On September 13, 1919, he engaged in the restau- 
rant business and became proprietor of the Liberty Cafe. He conducts a 
first class restaurant and has a soda fountain in connection and carries 
a complete line of cigars. The Liberty Cafe is a leading restaurant and 
refreshment place in town and has won a well merited populanty. 

Mr. Nutter was married October 18, 1893, to Miss Clara M. Barnes, 
a native of Gallatin township. Clay County, and a daughter of Francis 
and Henrietta (Noll) Barnes, who were early settlers in Clay County and 
are both now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Nutter have been born six 
children as follows: Lunsford B., in the employ of the Wichita Horse 
and Mule Company, at Wichita, Kansas; Frank L., a druggist in the 
Barnes drug store at Liberty, Missouri; Kathleen, a teacher in the Ruth 
Ev.'ing School ; O'Fallen D., who is assisting his father in the cafe ; 
Paul and Pauline, twins, are attending school. 

Mr. Nutter is a member of the Knights of Pythias and belongs to 
the Liberty Commercial Club. He is a progi-essive and enterprising 
citizen and the Nutter family stand high in Liberty and Clay County. 



Edward D. Moore, of the E. D. Moore Agency of Liberty, Missouri, 
has been identified with the interests of Liberty and Clay County for a 
number of years and is recognized as one of the substantial and enter- 
prising business men of this section of the state. 

The E. D. Moore Agency is an extensive real estate, general insur- 
ance, loan and investment company and was established in 1898 by ?]. D. 
Moore. This company repi-exents twenty-two fire insurance companies, 
three accident and casualty companies, the S. W. Straus and Company, 
investment bonds, the New England Mutual Life Insux'ance Company and 
also does a general brokerage business. They represent the Federal Land 
Bank Bonds, making loans through the Liberty National Farm Loan 
Association, of which E. D. Moore is secretary and treasurer. 

Edward D. Mooie was born at Concord, Kentucky, April 24, 1866 
and is a son of P. L. and Anna Eliza (Vance) Moore. P. L. Moore was a 
native of Lewis County. Kentucky. ; nd caine to Missouri in 1875 and for 
a time lived east of Warrensburg in .Johnson County. However, he came 
to Liberty the same year and was engaged in farming and stock raising 
in Liberty township during his entire active career. He was the pioneer 
good roads booster of Clay County and built two and one-half miles of the 



3^4 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

«- .00. ..oa. - - -!;:^:forrir2:ra:rte"S; 
li:r h: diTru ::t r m,. l »«= was . ..^.. »< omo a.,. 

loads, ne aieu prominent m Ohio. 

' ^THrEuJIaLeMl'In; U.en>., MissouH, in 1890. at *e 

^^^ °E,:r D^Morr «« „.,., so,, b„,.., t„ h. parens. T.e.e was 
Edward u MOO ^.^^ ^^^ .^ ^^^^ deceased. 

three years has been in the insurance bu j^.^ ^^e North 

o^/^ V.O r,ro-ani7ed h s present company, m uio, ne "i^^" 

Snsas cftv Loai and Investment Company and still has an mterest m 
Kansas City Loan and ^^^.^^ ^^^.^^^^^ ^^^^ ^^^ ^^j^^^.„^g 

^^.^TZ.J:JZ":t has won and retained the con.dence of the 

'"'"Mr. Moore is a thirty-second degree Mason and a member of the 
Knights of Pythias. 

Miss Laura A. Campbell, the popular and ^^^f^J^X^ZVl 
Clav County, was born at Liberty, Missouri October 8. 1892, 
dauehter of Brack and Lura (Frame) Campbell. 

Bracl Campbell was bom at Owington. Owen County Ken- 

u A-^A ir, Anvil 1S9*) and his remains are buried in tair\iew cemeteii 
L^r Fra^e' c™ W is a native of Illinois and she an., Mr. Campbell 
Lara (T*"™' ^ i; ^ following children were boin to them. 

^^i^hXt rar^rani^'ulloc. an. He is now ..ease. a„^ 
resides at Liberty. Missouri; Laura A., the subject of this 

"-crrt,::s:r:eSCT;\:;"rrittended the public 

schooTlndtfjduated from the Liberty High School m the class of 




LAURA A. CAMVBKIA. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 377 

1913. She then completed the course at Huff's Business School at Kansas 
City, Missouri. During- the World War she was appointed chief clerk of 
the local draft board, and in 1918 she was appointed deputy county clerk 
of Clay County under the administration of Edgar Archer and served 
in that capacity until January 1, 1920. She was then appointed deputy 
county treasurer under Mrs. Fannie Roberts. In 1920 she was elected 
county treasurer, being the first woman elected to that office in Clay 
County and is now serving in that capacity. 

Miss Campbell is an efficient public official who stands the test of re- 
sponsibility and measures up to a high standard. She is a Democrat and 
is a member of the Presbyterian Church. 



Claude N. Donovan, vice-president of the First National Bank of 
Liberty, has had a vast experience in the important field of banking and 
is well known in banking circles of western Missouri. He is a native of 
Clay County and a descendant of an honored pioneer family of this sec- 
tion of Missouri. Mr. Donovan was bom at Missouri City, July 30, 1875, 
and is a son of Asbury K. and Ann Elizabeth (Marsh) Donovan. 

Asbury K. Donovan was bora at Maysville, Mason County, Kentucky 
and was a son of James M. Donovan. James M. Donovan came to Mis- 
souri and settled in Clay County at Missouri City in 1854, when Asbury 
K. Donovan was twelve years old. He was a cari^enter and worked at 
his trade after locating at Missouri City where he and his wife spent the 
remainder of their lives. Asbury K. Donovan was a live stock dealer and 
was one of the pioneers of that business in Clay County. He bought and 
shipped stock in the days before there were any railroads in this part of 
the-country, shipping by the boats which were then plying on the river. 
He also conducted a general store at Missouri City and was one of the 
pioneer merchants there. 

Ann Elizabeth (Marsh) Donovan, mother of Claude M. Donovan, 
now lives at Missouri City and is sixty-five years of age. She is a 
daughter of Charles Marsh and is a native of Missouri. Her father was 
a native of Kentucky and one of the earliest settlers of Missouri, having 
lived at different places in the state. He died at the age of eighty-nine 
years and his remains are buried at Drexfe], Missouri. 

To Asbury K. and Ann Elizabeth (Marsh) Donovan were bom the 
follovdng children: Elmer A., a druggist, at Bronson, Missouri; Claude 
M., the subject of this sketch; Park 0., was agent for the Wabash rail- 



o,7Q HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

road at Carrolton. Missouri, and died at the age ^^ ^-^"t.^-^^"'" f ^^^ 
Maggie, died at the age of fourteen years; Luke E., a merchant, ^h - 
souH City. Missouri; and Frances, a music teacher at Missouri City, 

""'"cilude M. Donovan was educated in the public schools at Missovm 
Citv and in earlv life became a clerk in a gi'oceiy store of Owens and 
Now^in at Missouri City. ISvo years later he became bookkeeper for 
The Norton Brothers Banking Company of Missouri City^ This company . 
was liter incoi-porated into a state bank, and Mr. Donovan became 
cashier. He resigned that position in 1907 to accept the -^^lership of 
the Citizens Exchange Bank at On-ick, Missouri, and remained NMth that 
institution until April. 1919, when he resigned and became -ce-Presiden 
of the First National Bank of Liberty. Missouri, and smce that time he 
has been actively associated with that institution. 

June 3 1902. Claude M. Donovan was married to Mi^s Edna b. 
Ralph, a daughter of Dr. A. D. Ralph and Ella (Hardwick) Ralph oiU^ 
souri Citv. The Ralph family were early settlers at Missouri City, locat- 
ing there prior to the Civil War. Mrs. Donovan's parents are deceased 
and she has one sister. Lois, who is now the wife of E. L. Hunt, of Liberty. 
Missouri To Mr. and Mi-s. Donovan have been born two children: 
Ellen who is a student in the Liberty High School; and Margaret. 

Mr Donovan is a member of the Methodist Church South and is a 
Democrat. He is a close student of the intricate problems of finance 
and is well informed on the important subject of banking. 

Peter C Pixlee, now deceased, was one of the pioneer settlers of 
Clay Countv and came here with his father. Peter Pixlee, from Kentucky, 
who brouoht his family to Clay County and entered government land in 
Fishino- River township. Peter C. Pixlee was bom in Kentucky, April 
26 1824 and died in Clay County. June 15, 1872. He was a soldier m 
the Mexican War and when the Civil War broke out, he entered the Con- 
federate service and serA-ed as captain. After the war he returned to 
Clav Countv where he spent the remainder of his life and was success- 
ful'ln his affairs, and was one'of the prominent and well-to-do men of 

his time. . , i » 

Peter C Pixlee was married. December 23, 1847, to Achsah Ann 
Waller, a native of Kentucky, who came to Missouri with her parents 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 379 

when she was a girl and they settled in Clay County. She now resides 
with her daughter, Mrs. Elisha E. Petty. She is ninety-three years old 
and still retains her mental and physical vigor to a remarkable degree. 
To Peter C. and Achsah Ann (Waller) Pixlee were born the following 
children: Margaret E., married William H. Bohart; Lillian, married 
Walter Robinson; Edwin C, married Flora Harrington; William T., mar- 
ried Eva M. Mosby; John W., married Elizabeth Levy; Peter C, married 
Frances J. Johnston; Benjamin F., married Flora Pixlee; Allen C, mar- 
ried Gorilla H. Johnston; Carrie M., married John T. Petty; Annie, mar- 
lied Elisha E. Petty. 

The Pixlee family is of English origin and is one of the old Amer- 
ican Colonial families. The founder of the family in this country came 
from Herefordshire, England, prior to 1665. He had three sons, the 
eldest of whom was married and reared a family of daughters and hav- 
ing no sons, the family name of his descendants became extinct. The 
second son settled at Great Barrington, Massachusetts, and still has 
descendants in that vicinity. The third son, David, is the direct lineal 
ancestor of Peter C. Pixlee, whose name introduces this sketch. David 
settle^] at Old Mill, near Bridgeport, Connecticut, about 1665. David 
Pixlee had two sons, William, who was killed at Rocky Hill, in a battle 
with the Indians in 1712, and Peter, who was bom in 1702 and died 
August 2, 1788. He married Mary Nicholas, a daughter of John Nich- 
olas, of Booth Hill, Connecticut. Peter Pixlee was a large landholder 
and a prominent Whig during the Revolutionary War. The Nicholas 
family were Tories. Peter's oldest son, William, mamed Betty Judson 
and she died September 27, 1776 ; he then married a Miss Lewis. He 
built and operated the Berkshire Mills and kept a public house during the 
Revolution. He died May 8. 1800. He had two sisters, Eunice, who 
married a Mr. Willis, of Putney, Connecticut, and Hulda. 

The children bom to William Pixlee and Betty Judson were Phoebe, 
born June 29, 1757 and married a Mr. Summers and their children were 
David, who lived in Bridgeport, Connecticut, and Eunice, who moved to 
Troy, New York; Mary, who was bom in March, 1760, married a Mr. 
Wells and their children were Agur Elisha, Hezekiah, Cornelia, Betsy, 
Catherine and Mary; David, bom March 5, 1762, married Miss Whiting 
and removed to Oneida County, New York and their children were Wil- 
liam, Eliza, Isaac, Aresteen, David and Charles; and Peter, the youngest 
son of William Pixlee and Betty Judson, who was the direct ancestor of 



380 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



the subject of this sketch, was bom May 29, 1764, and died May 6, 1836. 
He man-ied Elizabeth Curtiss, May 18, 1785 and the following children 
were bom to that union; Hulda, bom August 7, 1787, married David 
Lewis Februai-y 1, 1881, and lived at Utica, New York, where she died 
May 31 1855, leaving the following children: William P., Elizabeth 
Ann who married Philemon Lyon and after his death married Nathan 
Thompson; Betsy, bom July 23, 1788, married David Curtiss, of Putney, 
Connecticut, and their children were Mary Elizabeth. Shelton, Margaret, 
Owen Charles, Peter and Elizabeth; William, born in January, 1790, 
married Margaret Owen in Henry County, Kentucky, and came to Lib- 
erty Clay County and reared the following children, Betsy, Catherine, 
William, Julia, Margaret, Peter, Caroline and Benjamin; Peter of this 
family being the father of Peter C. the subject of this sketch. The 
other children born to Peter Pixlee and Elizabeth Curtiss were Mary 
Julia born November 20, 1793, married Fredric Olmstead, of Stratford, 
Connecticut, and livedo at Bridgeport, Connecticut and reared the follow- 
ing children, Francis, Fredric, Caroline, John, Susan and James, Fredric 
being the head of the California branch of the family; Peter C, bora 
September 7, 1793, married Mary Lewis of Startford, Connecticut; Agnes, 
bom July 12, 1801, married Helen Whitney, of Stratford, Connecticut, 
and their children were Charles, William and Eliza; and Elizabeth Jane, 
born September 8, 1808, mamed George Ray of Utica, New York, m 1833 
and their children were George P., bom at Binghampton, New York, in 
1835 and Francis Burrows, born in 1838, at Black River, Ohio, and now 
living in Kansas City, Missouri. 

To Peter Pixlee, son of William Pixlee and Margaret (Owens) Pix- 
lee and wife, Mary Lewis, were bom the following children: Elizabeth 
Curtiss (Pixlee) Watts, bom June 5, 1815, and died in 1878; Catherine 
Jessie (Pixlee) Bird, bom February 8, 1817; Mary Julia (PLxlee) Gill, 
bom September 17, 1818 ; William Franklin Pixlee, bom March 17, 1822, 
and died August 24, 1887 ; Peter Chilton Pixlee, the subject of this sketch, 
bom April 26, 1824, and died June 15, 1872; Margaret Owens (Pixlee) 
Huo-hes, born December 12, 1826; Hulda Lucinda Pixlee, bom August 
ll,"l828, and died in infancy; Caroline Judson (Pixlee) Watson, bom 
December 18, 1830; and Benjamin Thomas Pixlee, born August 13, 1834, 
and died July 14, 1863. 

The Pixlee family is not only prominent in this country, but the 
branch which remained in England is prominent and of the English 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 381 

nobility, and members of the family still reside on the Pixlee baronial 
estate in England. The family coat of arms may be described as a cross 
standing between the points of two extended wings, mounted on a ped- 
estal with the motto "per vias rectas" inscribed across the base of the 
pedestal. This motto freely translated means "by the right road". 

The Pixlee family is a numerous one in this country and there are 
prominent members of it in various sections of the country. 



Benjamin F. Pixlee, an extensive land owner and prominent farmer 
and stockman, now residing at Liberty, Missouri, is a native of Clay 
County and a member of one of the prominent pioneer families of this 
section. He was born in Fishing River township, September 23, 1863, 
a son of Peter C. and Achsia Ann (Waller) Pixlee, the former now de- 
ceased, and the latter resides in Clay County with her daughter, Mrs. 
Elisha Petty, at the age of ninety-three years. An extensive history of 
Peter C. Pixlee and the Pixlee family appear elsewhere in this volume. 

Benjamin F. Pixlee was reared on his father's farm in Clay County 
and attended the Woodland district school, and recalls that James M. 
Bohart was his first teacher. He later attended school at Kingstown, 
Caldwell County, Missouri. Mr. Pixlee engaged in farming and stock 
raising in early life and* has met with success from the start, and today 
is one of the extensive stockmen and men of affairs of Clay County. He 
raises and feeds for the market a great many cattle, and at this writing 
he is feeding about 300 head on his farm in Fishing River township. He 
and his two sons own over 2,000 acres of land all in one body with the 
exception of forty acres. This farm is located on the Liberty-Excelsior 
Springs Rock Road and most of it is located south of the electric railway 
line. Mr. Pixlee is also extensively engaged in raising and feeding hogs 
for the market. He cairies on general farming, utilizing for that pur- 
pose as many as 400 acres some seasons ; however, the greater portion 
of his land is devoted to pasture. 

Mr. Pixlee was first married January 1, 1885, to Mrs. Flora (Harring- 
ton) Pixlee, widow of Edwin P. Pixlee and to that union was bom one 
son, Edwin C. Pixlee. By her former marriage Mrs. Pixlee had one son, 
Hugh Pixlee. Mrs. Pixlee died September 5, 1890. Benjamin F. Pixlee 
was married, the second time, to Rachael Petty, a daughter of Beverly 
and Martha Ann (Estes) Petty. She died September 26, 1917, leaving 
the following children: Franklin B. Pixlee and Ethel E. Pixlee. Ethel 



382 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

E Pixlee was educated at Stephens College at Columbia. Missouri, and 
the Colonial School at Washington, D. C. Franklin B. Pixlee was edu-, 
cated in the Liberty High School and University of Missouri. During 
the World War, he enlisted in the United States navy and was sent to the 
Great Lakes Training Camp and from there to Ne^^Tort, Rhode Island, 
and was just ready to begin his career as a torpedo gunner when the 
armistice was signed. He was released from active duty m February, 
1919, and is now a member of the Naval Reserve Corps. He is a Knights 
Templar Mason and a member of the Shrine 

Benjamin F. Pixlee was one of the organizers of the First National 
Bank of Liberty and has served as a member of the board of directors 
since the organization of that bank. The Pixlee home is one of the splen- 
did modern residences of Liberty. It was built in 1905-6 and is a two 
story structure with a large circular stone porch, adorning the front of 
the house, which adds greatly to its artistic beauty as well as to comfort. 



W. P. Ligon, the capable and efficient city marshal and collector of 
Liberty, is a native of Clay County. He was bom in Gallatin township 
May 30, 1863, and is a son of D. S. and Betty (Wilkerson) Ligon, the 
former a native of Virginia and the latter of Kentucky. They were 
early settlers in Clay County and both died at Liberty, the former at the 
age of seventy-six years and the mother at the age of sixty-eight. Their 
remains are buried in Fairview cemetery. 

To D. S. and Betty (Wilkerson) Ligon were bom the following chil- 
dren: W. P., the subject of this sketch; Joseph L., lives in California; 
Carrie, married D. G. Capps. who is now deceased, and she lives at Wells- 
ville. Kansas; James D.. Waverly, Kansas; H. E.. who is engaged in fann- 
ing in Gallatin township, Clay County. 

W. P. Ligon was reared in Gallatin township and educated in the 
public schools. He was engaged in fanning and stock raising in Gallatin 
township until April, 1919, when he removed to Liberty which has since 
been his home. He was elected city marshal of Liberty in April, 1916. 
and at the expiration of his temi he was reelected in April, 1920, and is 
now serving his second tenn. 

Mr. Ligon was married in 1901 to Miss Gertie DeMoss, of LaCygne, 
Kansas. She is a daughter of James and Jane DeMoss, both of whom 
are now deceased. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 383 

Mr. Ligon is a fair and fearless officer and has always done his duty 
as he sees it, without fear or favor. He stands high in the community. 



J. W. Thomason, a member of the well known real estate and insur- 
ance firm of Holt and Thomason, of Liberty, Missouri, is a native of Clay 
County. The firm of Holt and Thomason began business October 1, 1919. 
and the partnership consists of A. C. Holt and J. W. Thomason. They 
deal in both city property and farm lands and do an extensive business 
in Clay County and also adjoining counties. 

J. W. Thomason was born near Smithville, Missouri, April 11, 1862, 
a son of William Anderson and Fannie E. (Moore) Thomason. William 
Anderson Thomason was a native of Kentucky and settled in Clay County 
Missouri, at a veiy early date. He located on a farm ten miles northwest 
of Liberty, near Smithville. Here he bought a farm of 160 acres, twelve 
acres of which were cleared, at ten dollars an acre. He cleared the bal- 
ance of his fai'm and made improvements and spent the remainder of 
his life there, engaged in fanning and stock raising. He died June 1. 
1898 and his remains are buried in Mt. Olivet cemetery. He was a son 
of Nelson Thomason, a Kentuckian, wlio was born near Georgetown, in 
Scott County, Kentucky, in 1812, and died there in 1849. 

Fannie E. (Moore) Thomason is a native of Kentucky and a daughter 
of J. M. Moore and her mother bore the maiden name of Wills. J. M. 
Moore and family came to Missouri from Kentucky about 1854, and set- 
tled on a farm northwest of Liberty. Here the parents spent the re- 
mainder of their lives and are buried in the family cemetery in the 
locality of their old home. Mrs. Thomason is now eighty-five years old 
and lives on the old home place with her son, S. N. Thomason, the present 
owner. 

To William Anderson and Fannie E. (Moore) Thomason were born 
the following children: Mrs. Sallie Moore, who died in Montana, about 
1915; Lucy, died at about nineteen years of age; Kate, man-ied Merritt 
Connell, of Sp6kane, Washington ; J. W., the subject of this sketch ; 
Robert E., deceased; S. N., who resides on the old homestead in Clay 
County; Mrs. Evelena McDowell, deceased; and Mrs. Matilda Crow, de- 
ceased. 

J. W. Thomason was reared on the home farm in Clay County and 
attended the Gordon disti-ict school. In early life he engaged in general 
farming and stock raising and also stock buying. About 1907. Mr. 



334 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Thomason .ent to Jackson County and for twelve y-- liv^'^ f ^^^^ 
Summit where he still owns a valuable larm. September 1. 1919 he 
LnTto Liberty and engaged in the real estate business as above stated. 
M^. Thomason was married in 1884 to Miss Bell Thomason of Kear- 
ney, Missouri. She died in 1895, leaving two children: Kate E., who 
man-ied Charles Wiegley; and Earl Ray, who resides at Kearney Mi.- 
Turi In 1887, Mr. Thomason was married to Emma Goodnch of 
Mosby Missouri. She was bom and reared in Wisconsm and .s a 
TXr of A. D. and Josephine (VanWie) Goodrich. The moth- now 
resides in Dubuque, Iowa, and the father is deceased. To Mr. and Mis^ 
Thomlson haveleen bon. two children: Vivian and Clarence H., both of 
whom are students in William Jewell College. 

Oliver P Gentry, the capable postmaster of Liberty, Missouri, is not 
only well known in Clay County but is widely and favorably kno^vn over 
the state. He was born near Centralia May 2. 1862, a son of Richard 
H Gentry, and is a member of one of the prominent early pioneer families 
of Missouri, many members of which have attained distinction in the 
vai-ious walks of life in this state. 

Richrd H Gentrv moved to Columbia, Missouri, when Olivei P. GentiN 
of this review was about two years of age. He engaged in the mercantile 
business there, continuing in that line until his death m 18 a^ 

Oliver P or "Oil." as he is familiarly known to his friends, was one 
of a family of two brothers and five sisters, all of whom w-ere educated 
at the Universitv of Missouri. The sisters all became teachers of note, 
and the brother. Richard Gentry, vas a pronnnent business man and finan- 
cierin Kansas Citv, Missouri, up to the time of his death. 

After leaving the State University at Columbia. 0. P. Genti-y entered 
the drug store of Ford and Arnold in K-^-^j^ty, Missouri where he 
learned the drug business. He was examined by the State Board of 
Ph^macy and received his diploma in July, 1894. That same month he 
located at Smithville. Missouri, and became associated '^vlth Dr. b^ A^ 
Riley in the drug business under the firm name of Gentry and Riley Soon 
Sler^^rds Mr. Gentry bought his partner's interest and ^^^^^^^ 
o^^^led and conducted the business in his own name. Mr. Gentry ^^as also 
a partner of W. H. Patterson in the milling, grain and l^^;;/^;;;;,' 
Smithville for several years. This business was ^;"^"f ^^/"^ fJJ^^ 
firm name of Patterson and Gentry, and the products of their mill ^^eTe 
well known all over Missouri. 




0. I'. GEXTKY 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 387 

While living at Smithville Mr. Gentry took an active part in securing 
a railroad for the town. He helped secure the right of w^ay and assisted 
in raising bonuses, in order that the road should be completed to the town 
of Smithville. I'his proved to be a good move for when the road was 
completed to Smithville the company went into the hands of a receiver, 
and Smithville became the terminus of the railroad for several years. Mr. 
Gentry spent two winters in Washington, D. C., in the interest of legisla- 
tion which was necessary before the new railroad could be of much bene- 
fit to the farming and commercial interests of Smithville and vicinity. 

When the Bell Telephone Company was running the first telephone 
line from Kp.nsas City to Saint Joseph they required a guarantee of fifteen 
dollars per month before they would install an instrument at Smithville. 
and Mr. Gentiy was one of three who gave the company a written guaran- 
tee to that effect. Smithville got a telephone instrument, and the business 
from Sm.ithville never fell below the minimum from the beginning and 
the guarantee was never called upon. In contrast to that time Smithville 
nov,- has an extensive telephone system with hundreds of instruments and 
a force of employees. 

Mr. Gentry' has always taken an active interest in politics. In 1888 
he espoused the cause of David R. Francis v.'ho was then a young man from 
St. Louis and a candidate for governor. Mr. Gentry was elected a Francis 
delegate from Clay County to the State convention, and since that time 
he has been active and influential in the political affairs of the County, 
State and Nation. He was al\yays a strong supporter of A. M. Dockery 
while he was Congressman from the Third District of Missouri, and when 
Mr. Dockery was candidate for governor of the State he had no truer 
friend than Mr. Gentry. When Mr. Dockerj' was elected governor Mr. 
Gentry was offered the position of his private secretary. He accepted 
and moved to Jefferson City and served as piivate secretary to the governor 
for four years. 

At the expiration of his service at the State Capitol, January 15, 
1905, Mr. Gentry returned to Clay County and located at Liberty when 
he again entered the drug business. 

In 1912 Mr. Gentry was elected a delegate froir. the Third District 
of Missouri to the Democratic National Convention at Baltimore, Mary- 
land, when Woodrow Wilson was nominated for president of the United 
States. When a vacancy in the postmastership of Liberty occurred Mr. 
Gentry was recommended for the position by Congi-essman J. W. Alex- 



388 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 



■ tr^A t,^ tVi-ii office bv President Wilson. At the 
ander, .„d «.s ^^'^^^ J „ ^^'^fe Mr. Gentri- was .e-appoinled June 
exp.rat.onolh,s four year term o^ ^^^^^ ^^_.^,._,^ !„ ,^,j 

5, 1920, lor a term of four yearb, jmu 

capacity. j ^^^ .,,.tive part he has 

r;er:ir::r:x*rJsr:iM-H. 

"""r"Ge"«"1» married November »0, 1886, to Mis, Almyra K. Mar- 

Missoun. C'hri'^tiaTi Church, having become a 

Mr. Gentry .a membei ^^^^^^ ^^^^^^ ,, the Independent 
n.emberatSmxthvdlem 1885^ Heha bee^ ^^ .^ ^^^. ^^.^^^ 

Order of Odd Fellows s„.ce 1887 .nd has ^ee„ P ^^ ^^^ ^^^^ 

ever since. He has been a member <> ^^^ ^^''^^f^^^^ ^^,^, .membership 

Fellows Honie at ^^^%'^\'^'f^Zi^^^^^^^ «^ ^"-^^^ 

in the Masonic Lodge, Knights of ?>thias. Moc era ^^^^ 

and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Ellv^. He \n 
Tnd patnotic. and one of Clay County^emost citizens. 

Claude Hardwire, a well known ^^;^^::;Zfo^ 
County who is engaged in the practice ^^^'J^^Zurl He was 
of the prominent pioneer families ot ^ '«>'^^«"^f/ ^ ,^' H,,,,vicke. the 
.cm at Liberty and is a son ^^^^^^^ Zt... place in Lib- 
former now deceased and the lattei re. i(iet« ^i 

"""sTufH^rd^iCe .as born i„ C.»"»''" '»" tl^r "cHvllSouri 
1833 He studied law „,.dev Jud.o F,U,iah Norton Pla^ ^^ ^Ttbe 
and en.a.ed in .he praeU^e o^ ^et 'r„; ^ .af e;::.ed in tbe 

'a Democrat and took an active P^^^ 'J P«^ ^ Crd^ K \vho was a 

political office. He was a son of Phibp Allen n 

;.„,i„e„t Wbi. and went '°4»f--,-*7,r , rr^i CaliL.i. 

and over the mountains m 1850. He staneu 
by water but died during the trip. 



HISTOEY OF CLAY COUNTY 3gc, 

or IPH.?^ ^r?' '"."""' "' ^"'""'' Hardwicke, was a prominent man 
?r . '' ''"*"'^' ""' ^^'"^''"^ '' '"^"y- He wrote the "Com- 
jnerce of the Prairies", which i. considered one of the best histories of 
Ihe Santa Fe trail and other pioneer highways and trade on the plains 
ever written His diaiy. is now in the possession of Claude Hardwicke' 

Dunng the Mexican War he was a correspondent for the Louisville Jour- 
nal and was at the battle of Buena Vista, and after the battle he took 
charge of the Mexican wounded. After the Mexican War, he went to 
Cahfomia and died on the Trinity River in that state, in 1848 He left 
his diary with a friend at San Francisco and started on a trip into the 
wilds of the interior and never returned. 
n..^r^ (H^H) Hardwicke, mother of Claude Hardwicke, was born in 

cluntv ?' ' ?''"■ '' '^''^ ^- ^^"' ^ ^--y -r^^ P--- of Clay 
County, who came here from Tennessee, probably about 1820 

dren M^f '"'^ ^^^ ^^^"^ Hardwicke were bom the following chil- 
Ckude f,^"^'^' ^^'l^I^- John H. Rothwell, of Liberty. Missouri; 

fn Lfb;rt V •". V'' "''*'''■ ^'"^P- "^« '•-« - th« home farm 
n Liberty township; Norton, „,arried Ethel Braley, of Clay County and 
lives on the home farm in Liberty township. 

Claude Hardwicke was educated in the public schools and William 

the benefit ot hi.s health, he returned to Liberty and read law under the 
preceptorship of his father who was not only an able lawyer but re '^ded 
.xs^one of the best instructors on the subject of law in the s ate. ^^ le 
Hardwicke was admitted to the bar in 1888 and immediately engag d in 

LT His o^: ^^^^-f '/V'^^^^ he has since succes.sfully'rot: 
'™erty: ''' ^^'"' '" *'' Commercial Bank Building at 

CounlTnir'"""' ■"■■; '' '" "'"'" "'■ '^'' '''''''' ^"^ ^ de.scendant of Clay 
29 " g/lr- 'I- . ""' "" '°''" " "^'^''"-^ ^'^^^ *«-^'^hip, July 

Lty) Won, r r;': . T '^-'^^^ '^"^*"'- ''■ '■ Wo^aU and Emmi 
iPetty) ^^olnalI of Liberty. T. J. Woraall was bom on a farm in Jack- 

B WoTnan . ''' """ "''"'^' '" ^^"'^^^^ ^^*-^- «« ^ ^ -" of John 

ferv d as sfl" "? ' T"^' °' '^^'^^^" ^«""*^' ^'---■- -^ also 

Tv J Petty a!cl r h" "^ ^'''""^ '^«^"^" '« ^ ^^'^hter of Lind- 
say J. Petty and was bom in Clay County in Fishing River to^™ship, and 



390 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

died in 1910 Her father Lindsay T. Petty settled in Clay County in 
1854 To Senator T. J. Wornall, Sr., and Emma (Petty) Worna 1 were 
ior^wo chndtn: Tom J. Won^all, Jr.. the subject of this sketch; and 
R B Wornall, of Liberty, Missouri. „.-n:^^ 

Tom Wo nail, Jr., was educated in the public schools and ^^.lham 
TPwe 1 College and was graduated from that institution. After complet- 
ngh s etc'ation, he enjaged in farming and stock raising on the ^ome 
faL in Fishing River township of which he is now the proprietor. The 
SaTe is kn wn as "Grassland Stock Fai-m" and contains 505 acres. Here - 
he cabled on farming and gave special attention to breedmg pure blood 
Shorthorn cattle. His father began breeding Shorthorn cattle on thi. 
placet 1896, and some of the finest cattle in the counti-y have been 
bred and raised on this place. They have been exhibited at various stat 
fairs Tnd stock shows in various parts of the middle west and won a 
number of prizes and premiums. , , . . „j 

During the World War, Tom Wornall, Jr., rented his farm and 
entered the officers training camp at Camp Pike, Arkansas. He was a 
member of the Second Battalion of Infantry, Cental Officers Training 
School, and after the armistice was signed, he was discharged m Decem- 

"""' M? Wornall was married October 30. 1911, to Miss Floy Crews, 
a daughter of W. A. Crews, of Liberty. Missouri and a daughter. Sue. 

has been born to this union. , tvt ^„ 

Mr. Woman is a thirty-second degree Knights Templar Mason. 

E B. Black, the present city recorder of Liberty. Missouri, is a 
native of Jackson County and a descendant of f ^^/^ P^""^^" ..^^ 
was born August 9. 1862 and is a son of Rev. G. L. and Sue S. (Chiles) 

Rev G L Black was a pioneer Baptist minister of western Mis- 
souri. He was born in Boone County, Missouri, November 23 1833, and 
died at Liberty. July 30. 1914. He preached during the Civil War and 
later was engaged in farming in Jackson and Carroll Counties^ He was 
educated in WiHiam Jewell College. In 1879. he settled at Liberty, where 
he remained until the time of his death. Sue S. (Chiles) Black was boin 
in Jackson County, Missouri, in 1840. and was a member of a prominent 
pioneer family of that county. She was reared in Jackson County and 

died June 30, 1914. , ^ „ • .i,n 

To Rev. G. L. and Sue S. (Chiles) Black were born the following chU- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 391 

dren: E. B., the subject of this sketch; J. H., died at Liberty at the age 
of twenty-five years ; Sue, married Dr. Walter Lane who is now deceased 
and she resides at Maryvilie, Missouri; David Hickman, lives in Los 
Angeles, California; Clara, married H. 0. Perkins, Liberty, Missouri; and 
Nellie Irwin, married C. C. Graves, of Maryvilie, Missouri. 

E. B. Black was educated in the public schools of Boone County, 
Missouri, and William Jewell College. He taught school for some time 
and was later engaged in the grocery business for three years. He then 
followed farming in Piatt and Clay Counties for twenty years, and spent 
one year on a ranch in Montana. In 1914, he moved to Libei-ty in order 
that his children might have the advantage of the schools here. For the 
past three years Mr. Black has served as city recorder and he is also clerk 
of the Board of Public Wlorks. 

Mr. Black was mairied October 5, 1887, to Miss Sue Clarke, of Piatt 
County, Missouri, and a daughter of David M. and Sue Clarke. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Black have been bom five children: Clarke, sei*ved in the World 
War, having been trained at Ames, Iowa, and Camp Jackson, South Caro- 
lina, and Camp Wadsworth, and on August 20, 1918, was sent to France 
with Company D, 3rd Corps Artillery Park and served in the battle of 
the Argonne Forest with the Eighty-ninth Division and in other im- 
portant engagements with his command and was honorably discharged at 
Camp Taylor, Kentucky, July 15, 1919 ; Mary Virginia, resides at home 
with her parents ; Sue Jane, a stenographer and bookkeeper in the office 
of the mayor of Liberty; Ruth Elizabeth, a teacher; and Bassie, a student 
in the Liberty High School. 

Mr. Black is a member of the Kappa Alpha College fraternity, hav- 
ing become a member while he was a student at William Jewell College. 
He is a substantial citizen and the members of the Black family are well 
known and highly respected in the community. 



E. L. Black, superintendent of the public schools of Clay County, is 
a well known and successful educator whose administration at the head 
of the schools of Clay County has been notable for its progress and the 
betterment of the public schools of this county. Mr. Black is a native 
of Missouri, bom at Wellsville, Montgomery County, -lanuary 20, 1885. 
He is a son of John H. and Ella L. (Wise) Black. 

John H. Black was bom in Wellsville, Missouri, in 1856 and was suc- 
cessfully engaged in farming and stock raising in that vicinity all his life. 



392 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

He was a son of John H. Black, who came from Canada in 1855 and set- 
tled at Wellsville, Missouri. Ella L. (Wise) Black, mother of E. L. Black, 
was born at Johnstown, Ohio, and now resides at Montgomery, Missouri. 
The following children were bom to John H. and Ella L. (Wise) Black: 
E. L., the subject of this sketch ; Harvey C, an attorney for the Standard 
Oil Company at Independence, Kansas ; Eila E., a teacher at Montgomery 
City, Missouri; and Maybelle, married Bernard T. Taylor, of Montgomery 
City, Missouri. 

E. L. Black was reared at Wellsville, Missouri, and attended the pub- 
lic schools, including the high school there and later took a course at the 
Kirksville State Normal School. He taught his first school at Martins- 
burg, Missouri. He was then employed in the Wellsville Bank for three 
years, after which he served as principal of the Wellsville schools for two 
years. He then served in a similar capacity at Lawson, Ray County, 
Missouri, for two years. He then became superintendent of the public 
schools at Smithville and was serving in that capacity when he was ap- 
pointed superintendent of public schools of Clay County in 1915, to fill 
out an unexpired term and in 1919 at the expiration of that term he 
was elected to succeed himself and is now serving in that capacity. 

There are fifty-nine school districts in Clay County, eight high 
schools, and one consolidated district at Linden which includes five 
original districts. There are 7,766 pupils of the school age in the county 
which shows a gain of 170 over 1918. The eight high schools of the 
county are credited schools; five are first class, two second class and one 
third class. The first class high schools are at Liberty, Excelsior 
Springs, Smithville, Keaniey and Holt; the second class high schools are 
at Linden and North Kansas City; the third class school is at Missouri 
City. The average salaiy paid to teachers is over $75.00 a month. 

E. L. Black was married August 18, 1909, to Miss Arline Barker, a 
daughter of J. L. Barker, of Wellsville, Missouri. J. L. Barker is a prom- 
inent attorney of Wellsville. He was born in St. Charles County, Mis- 
souri, and his wife, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Douglass is a 
native of Kentucky. Mrs. Black is a graduate of Hardin College at 
Mexico, Missouri, and is an accomplished musician, having studied ex- 
tensively along that line. To Mr. and Mrs. Black have been born one 
child, Dorothy Gueme. 

Mr. Black is a member of the Masonic Lodge at Liberty and is an 
educator of recognized ability. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 393 

W. L. Trimble, of Liberty, Missouri, is one of the veteran merchants 
of Clay County and of this section of Missouri. He has been engaged in 
the mercantile business for thirty-eight years, thirty-six years of which 
have been spent in Liberty. He was in business at Plattsburg, Missouri, 
for two years before coming to Liberty. 

W. L. Trimble was born in Clark County, Kentucky, April 19, 1857, 
a son of James W. and Esther J. (Morris) Trimble, the former a native 
of Clark County, Kentucky, and the latter of Fayette County, Kentucky. 
His parents both died at about forty-five years of age and their remains 
are buried at Plattsburg, Missouri. 

James W. Trimble came to Missouri with his family at an early day. 
He drove through with a team and wagon from Kentucky and first set- 
tled in Clinton County and bought a farm there. Later he removed to 
Plattsburg where he was engaged in the mercantile business at difl'erent 
times during his career. There were two sons born to James W. Trimble 
and wife, who are now living: M. J. Trimble, of Plattsburg, and W. L., 
the subject of this sketch ; one daughter who married E. S. Fray, is now 
deceased. 

W. L. Trimble was educated in the public schools of Plattsburg, Mis- 
souri, and when sixteen years of age he began clerking in a store at 
Plattsburg. Later he engaged in the hardware business there in 1882, 
in partnership with W. D. Hockaday. Two years later he sold his interest 
in the hardware business at Plattsburg to his i^artner and came to Lib- 
erty. Here he purchased the John Messick stock of hardware which was 
located in the same building which is now occupied by Mr. Trimble's 
hardware store. For the past thirty-six years, Mr. Trimble has con- 
ducted a successful hardware business here and has been in business 
longer than any other merchant in Liberty. During his long career as a 
merchant, Mr. Trimble has built up a reputation for honesty and in- 
tegrity of which he may be justly proud. 

Mr. Trimble was married in 1887 to Miss Maiy M. Mitchell of Piatt 
County, Missouri. She is a daughter of Warren and Betty Mitchell, both 
natives of Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, and early pioneer settlers of Lincoln 
County, Missouri. Later they moved to Platte County, Missouri, where 
they spent the remainder of their lives. To Mr. and Mrs. Trimble have 
been born one son, George Dawson Tiimble, who was bom at Liberty, 
Missouri, in 1890. He was educated in the public schools at Liberty and 
then entered William Jewell College where he was gi-aduated in the class 



394 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

of 1913 and is now a member of the firm of Trimble and Tiimble, of Lib- 
erty. George Dawson Trimble was united in marriage with Miss Frances 
Meservey, a daughter of Edward Meservey, a prominent attorney of 
Kansas City, Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. George Dawson Trimble have 
been bom one son, George Dawson, Jr., age two years. 

Wi L. Trimble is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and one of the honored pioneer business men of Clay County. George 
Dawson Trimble is a member of the Masonic Lodge and one of the well 
known and progressive merchants of Clay County. 



William Irmin^er, of Liberty, Missouri, has been for many years iden- 
tified with the development of Clay County, and is one of the successful 
farmers and stockmen of the county. He is a native of Clay County, 
bom on a farm six miles southeast of Liberty, September 20, 1856, and 
is a son of John and Catherine (Hammel) Irminger, both natives of Ger- 
many. 

John Irminger and his wife were early pioneer settlers of Clay County. 
They came here in 1844 and settled in Liberty township where they both 
spent the remainder of their lives. He died in 1912 and his wife pre- 
ceded him in death a number of years. They were the parents of the 
followine: children: William, tha subject of this sketch; Kudolph, lives m 
Platte County, Missouri; Louis H., lives in Fishing River to\\Tiship, near 
Missouri City; Carrie, married James McKamin, Tola, Kansas; and Mrs. 
Fannie Boetje, deceased. 

William Irminger was reared in Clay County and educated in the 
public schools. He engaged in farming and stock raising in early life, and 
has prospered. He is the owner of four laiTns in Fishing River and Lib- 
erty townships and is one of the well-to-do men of Claj' County. On De- 
cember 9, 1918, he moved to Liberty and resides on South Leonard street. 
Here he has a nice modern residence. It is a modem brick bungalow 
and is located on a two-acre lot. 

William Irminger was married April 23, 1877, to Maria Small, a native 
of Annstrong County, Pennsylvania, and a daughter of Daniel and Kath- 
arine (Helery) Small. Daniel Small served In the Union Army during 
the Civil War and died shortly after returning home from the war from 
exposure and disease contracted in the army. Mrs. Irminger has one 
brother living, James Smail, who lives in Pennsylvania, and her sister, 
Lucy Bruner, died in Pennsylvania, leaving a family of seven children. 




JAMKS I'liii.ir ii;\ii.\(;i:i; 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 397 

one of whom, Samuel Bruner, was a soldier in the World War and was 
killed in France while serving in the United States Army. 

To William Irminger and wife have been bom the following children : 
Edgar, a farmer of Liberty, Missouri, married Berda Lilly; Samuel, a 
farmer of Liberty, married Ella Lilly: Henry, a farmer of Liberty, mar- 
ried Mable Hollyfield; Emma, a teacher .\t American Falls, Idaho, where 
she took up a Government claim in 1914 and proved up on it, and during 
the World War she was a Red Cross nurse stationed at Camp Lewis, Wash- 
ington; and James Philip, who was killed in the World War. 

James Philip Inninger was born February 24, 1891. He was educated 
in the public schools at Liberty and then entered the University of Mis- 
souri, at Columbia, where he was graduated from the agriculture depart- 
ment in 1917. On December 12, 1917, he enlisted in the Marine Corps, 
becoming a member of 134th Company Second Replacement Battalion, 
United States Marine Corps, and was later transferred to the 16th Com- 
pany, 5th Regiment, 3rd Battalion United States Marine Coi-ps. He was 
trained at Paris Island and was a sharp-shooter, ranking high in marks- 
manship, and was one of sixteen men out of his company of 250 who re- 
ceived medals for marksmanship. He was killed in Bellau Wood, June 23, 
1918. He was the first of the Liberty, Missouri, boys to die on the battle 
field during the World War. His remains are buried in France. He was 
a member of the Knights of Pythias and the Baptist Church, and a young 
man of exceptional ability and high character. 

Mr. and Mrs. Irminger have ten grandchildren, as follows: Paul, 
Ralph, Frances, Albert, Roy, Willard, Charles, John, William, Lester and 
Miller Irminger. 

Mr. Irminger is a substantial Clay County citizen and the Irminger 
family is well known and stands high in the community. 



S. F. Word, leading merchant of Liberty, who is engaged in the 
grocery business, is a native of Kentucky. He was bom in Lincoln 
County, near Crab Oixhard, August 31, 1855, a son of Nelson and Mar- 
garet (Birch) Word. 

Nelson Word was born in Tennessee and his wife was a native of 
Kentucky. They settled in Dekalb County, Missouri, at a very early day 
and spent the remainder of their lives there. He died at the age of 
seventy-five years and she was seventy-four years old at the time of her 
death. They were the parents of the following children: John M., died 



398 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

at the age of twenty-five years; James T., died at the age of twenty-five 
years- William S., died at the age of seventy years; Charles T., died at 
the age of sixty-three years; China, man-ied John Shackleford and died 
at the age of sixty-five years; Ellen, maiTied Augustus Tuttle and died 
at the age of seventy years; Robert, Amoret, Missouri; Margaret Ann, 
married Henr>- Pope and died at the age of fifty-eight years; Sanders 
died at the age of forty-nine years; S. F., the subject of this sketch; and 
Charity married John Swearingen, Maysville, Missouri. 

S F Word was educated in the public schools of Dekalb County, 
Missouri and Stewartsville College at Stewartsville, Missouri. When he 
was twenty-two years of age he began farming in Dekalb County and 
was thus engaged until 1897. He then conducted a meat market at 
Stewartsville and also one at Maysville. Later he was engaged m farm- 
ing until September, 1914, when he came to Liberty and bought the 
grocery stock of Joe Carel and since that time has conducted the grocery 
business at his present location. He has met with success here and has 
built up an extensive trade. He carries a complete stock of high class 

Mr Word was married in 1882, to Florence Smith, vvlio died in 1891, 
On May 11, 1892, he was marned to Mrs. Grace Church Everette. of 
Clinton County, Missouri. She was born in that county, a daughter ot 
William and Cassie (Hawkins) Church. William Church died in Colo- 
rado November 27. 1901 and his wife died April 13, 1920, at Liberty. 
Missouri, aged eighty-four years. To S. F. and Grace (Church) Word 
have been born two children: China, who assists in the store; and Alma, 
who married H. H. Schwamb, of Liberty, Missouri. 

Mr. Word is a member of the Masonic Lodge and is a progressive and 
public spirited citizen and one of the reliable merchants of Clay Count^^ 

E. P. Hall, senior member of the firm of Hall and Son, who conducts 
a first class meat market on the east side of the public square in Liberty. 
Missouri, is a native son of Clay County and a descendant of very eariy 
pioneers of this county. He was born in Keaniey township, March 4. 
1862 and is a son of George W. and Rebecca A. (Courtney) Hall, both 
natives of Kentucky and eariy settlers of Clay County. 

George W. Hall was a son of John R. Hall, who settled about three 
miles east of Liberty, and Rebecca (Courtney) Hall was a daughter of 
E T Courtney, of Madison County. Kentucky. George W. Hall and his 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 399 

wife both died at Kearney, Missouri, and their remains are buried in the 
cemetery there. They were the parents of the following children: 
James A., died at Kearney in January, 1917; Thomas G., Hunter, Okla- 
home; William H., died in October, 1918; Betty F., died at Kearney, in 
1900; Joseph C, lives at Kearney; E. P., the subject of this sketch; D. 
M., Kearney, Missouri; and Cal. H., died in 1898. 

E. P. Hall was educated in the public schools and in early life learned 
the painter's trade, and for twenty-one years followed that vocation. He 
was then engaged in farming for ten years when he engaged in the mer- 
cantile business at Kearney, remaining there until 1918, when he came 
to Liberty and since that time he has been engaged in the meat business. 

E. P. Hall was married in 1887 to Maiy B. Hughes, of Smithville, 
Missouri. She is a daughter of Gabriel and Ann (Shaver) Hughes, the 
latter of whom was born in Clay County, Missouri and died at the age of 
forty-four years. To Mr. and Mrs. Hall have been bom one son, George 
G., who is engaged in business at Liberty with his father. 

George G. Hall was educated at Colorado Springs, Colorado, the pub- 
lic schools of Clay County, including a course in the Kearney High School. 
He married Miss Helen Anderson of Kearney and two children have been 
bom to this union: Lucille and Jack. 

Hall and Son conducts a modem sanitary meat market and handle 
first class products which together with their method of doing business 
is appreciated by the public, as is indicated by their large patronage. 
They are assisted in their meat market by John Warren who is i-ecog- 
nized as a first class man in that line. 



William F". Norton, president of the Citizens Bank of Liberty, Mis- 
souri, has been engaged in the banking business for thirty-five years and 
is one of the well known bankers of western Missouri. Mr. Norton was 
bom in Platte City, Missouri, February 20, I860 and is a son of Elija H. 
and Melinda C. (Wilson) Norton. 

Elija H. Norton was one of the prominent lawyers and jurists of 
Missouri during his career. He was bom at Platte City, Missouri. He 
read law in early life and engaged in the practice of his profession at 
Platte City and soon attained distinction as an able lawyei" and in early 
life became a prominent attorney. He was a Democrat and took a prom- 
inent part in politics. In 1858 he was elected to Congress from what is 
now the Fourth Congressional District and served one term. He was 



400 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

elected a member of the Missouri Supreme Court and served for twelve 
years with distinction. He died in 1914 at the advanced age of ninety- 
three years, having been retired for a number of years prior to his death. 
His wife, who bore the maiden name of Malenda C. Wilson, was born at 
Booneville, Missouri, and died in 1872. 

To Elijah H. and Malinda C. (Wilson) Norton were born the follow- 
ing children: Presley M., a farmer and stockman, Platte City, Missouri; 
Margaret C, manned Benjamin J. Woodson, a prominent attorney of St. 
Joseph, Missouri; John W., an attorney and extensive ranch o\vner of 
Arizona, who is now a candidate on the Democratic ticket for United 
States Senator from that sta.te; William F., the subject of this sketch; 
George E., was a railroad clerk in the employ of the Missouri Pacific Rail- 
road Company and is now deceased; Charles W., a partner of his brother; 
John W., in Arizona; and Anna, man-ied Eckstein Huiskamp, a shoe 
manufacturer of Keokuk, Iowa. 

William F. Norton was educated at William Jewell College and in 
1885 engaged in the banking business at Platte City, Missouri. He and 
his brother, Charles W., engaged in the banking business at Missouri 
City, under the firm name of the Norton Brothers, in 1885 and conducted 
a banking business there for twenty-five years, and in 1910 sold their 
interest there to the present owners, Charles G. Shaw and Elmer L. Pigg. 
In 1910, Mr. Norton became connected with the Citizens Bank of Liberty 
and since that time he has been president of this well known and sub- 
stantial banking institution, and his son Elija H. Norton has been cashier 
of this bank for the past year. 

William F. Norton was united in marriage in 1887 to Miss Maud F. 
Force, a daughter of D. M. Force, of St. Joseph. Missouri. D. M. Force 
and his wife are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Norton have been born 
four children as follows: Elija H., a graduate of William Jewell College, 
married Miss Nell Harrison of Liberty, Missouri, and is the present 
cashier of the Citizens Bank of Liberty; Nell F., a graduate of Monti- 
cello College at Monticello, Illinois, mamed Spurgeon B. Campbell, of 
Liberty, Missouri, who is engaged in the life and accident insurance 
business in Kansas City, Missouri : Jessie B., who is at the head of the 
Savings Depai'tment of the Citizens Bank of Liberty, is a graduate of 
the Northwestern University of Chicago in the class of 1919, resides at 
home with her parents; and Margaret W., who is also a graduate of the 
Northwestern University of Chicago. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 401 

Mr. Norton is a member of the Masonic Lodge and also belongs to 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He has been a member of the 
Baptist chuich since 187.3. His career has been a successful one and he 
is recognized as one of the substantial men of affairs of western Missouri. 

The Norton residence is one of the beautiful homes of Liberty. Its 
location is ideal and everything about the place is strictly modern and 
embi-aces the rare combination of beauty and convenience. Mr. Norton 
built the place in 1911. 



Prof. Ward Edwards, liljrarian and associate professor of English of 
William Jewell College at Liberty, Missouri, has been identified with this 
well known institution since he entered college here as a student in 1896, 
and for the past seventeen years he has been instructor in English. He 
is a student and thinker and by close application to his chosen field of 
endeavor has won a prominent place among the leading educators of the 
state. 

Professor Edwards was born in Boonville, Missouri, December 29, 
1878 and is a son of 0. D. and Sophia (Ebert) Edwards. 0. D. Edwards 
was a native of England, bom in Sussex, in 1836, and came to America in 
1858, settling at Boonville. He was engaged in photography there dur- 
ing his active career and died in 1911. Sophia (Ebert) Edwards was 
bom in St. Louis, Missouri, in 184.3, and departed this life in February, 
1919, and her remains rest by the side of those of her husband in the 
cemetery at "Boonville, Missouri. They were the parents of the following 
children: Louis S. Edwards, Boonville, Missouri; Ward, ihe subject of 
this sketch; and Mrs. H. Roger Morton, Kansas City, Missouri. 

Prof. Ward Edwards was reared in Boonville, Missouri, and was gi'adu- 
ated from the Boonville High Scliool in the class of 1896. He entered 
William Jewell College the following fall and was graduated from that 
institution in 1903. The following year he became instructor in English 
and has held that position to the present time. He is also college librarian 
and in that capacity has charge of over 30,000 volumes which is one of 
the valuable collections of books in this country. Further mention of 
the William Jewell College Library is made elsewhere in this volume. 

In addition to his other duties which are numerous. Professor Ed- 
wards has charge of the college print shop, a department which was 
organized January 1, 1917, and has met with marked success. The equip- 
ment of this department is now valued at $6,000.00 and over $5,500.00 



402 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

has been paid to students tor their work here. Real art printing is done 
here and the students are fortunate for this opportunity to familiarize 
themselves with high class printing. 

Professor Edwards is an ordained minister of the Baptist church and 
for the past thirteen years has been pastor of the Pi-ovidence Baptist 
Church which is located six miles northwest of Liberty, and for eight 
years he has been pastor of the Baptist church at Holt, iMissouri. He 
holds two meetings a month at each place. 

January 5, 1898, Mr. Edwards was married to Miss Mamie B. Lucas, 
of Kansas City, Missouri, and to this union have been born three sons: 
Ward Addison, O. D. and Rider Clark. 

Professor Edwards served as president of the Missouri Library 
Association in 1917, and is now president of the Missouri Library Com- 
mission, an organization with headquarters at Jefferson City. His 
private library consists of a valuable collection of 3,500 volumes among 
which is the best collection of Walt Whitman's works, west of New York. 



Henry Haynes, a well known citizen of Liberty, Missouri, is a native 
of this state and a representative of one of the early pioneer families of 
western Missouri. He was bom at Liberty township, March 29, 1844, 
and is a son of Millner and Susan (Skillman) Haynes. 

Millner Haynes was born in Bedford County, Virginia, in 1799, and 
his wife was born near Georgetown, Kentucky, about 1804. They were 
married in Kentucky and at a veiy early day came to Clay County, Mis- 
souri, driving here from Kentucky with a team and wagon. They bought 
a farm in Liberty township where they spent the remainder of their 
lives. Millner Haynes died. May 21, 186G, and his wife departed this 
life in October, 1879. The old Haynes homestead in Liberty townsliip 
consists of 440 acres of land and is now owned by William Williams. 

Hem-y Haynes is the only one of the family of children bom to his 
parents who is now living. The names of the others are as follows: 
Nancy, married Thomas A. Dale; Mary, married Lloyd Leach; John, died 
at Parkville, Missouri ; Eliza, married Leonard Ligon ; Charles W., died 
at Roswell, New Mexico. 

Henry Haynes received his education principally in the private 
schools, but the Civil War came on when he was a youth and after that, 
he had very little opportunity to attend school. He was reared on the 
home fann in Liberty township and remained with his parents as long 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 403 

as they lived. He then buught out tlic interests of the other heirs and 
after a time sold the place and removed to Vernon County, Missouri, 
where he remained about four years. In 1883, he returned to Liberty, 
purchased a home and has since resided here, his present residence being 
located at 429 North Leonard street. 

Henry Haynes was united in marriage, January 'Z(i, 1874, with Mi.ss 
Anna Tillman, a daughter of Edward C. and Keziah (Thompson) Tillman, 
and a cousin of Senator Ben Tillman of South Carolina. 

Edward C. Tillman was born in North Carolina and was married in 
Todd County, Kentucky. He came to Clay County, Missouri, driving 
through from Kentucky, at a very early date in the historj' of this county. 
He entered land in Platte township and here spent the remainder of his 
life. He died in 1885, at the age of eighty years ; his wife died in 1874. 
Mrs. Haynes has one brother, John William Tillman, of Lil:)erty, Missouri ; 
and there was one other sister in the family, Mrs. Susan Masterson, who 
is now deceased. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Henry Haynes have been born three children, as 
follows: Susie, married Louie Miller and they reside at Little Rock, 
Arkansas ; Minnie, resides at home with her parents ; and Birdie, who 
died April 2.5, 1916. She was educated in private schools and the Liberty 
Ladies College and later took a business course and at the time of her 
death was a bookkeeper in the Commercial Bank of Liberty. 



E. A. Squires, of Chandler, Missouri, is a native of Illinois. He was 
born in Madison County, Illinois, October 13, 1871, and is a son of Mar- 
tin V. and Sarah E. (Dolbow) Anderson Squires. 

Martin V. Squires came from Illinois to Clay County in 1880, and 
bought the farm upon which the village of Chandler is now located. He 
was the pioneer merchant at that place, starting the first store there in 
1884. He was engaged in business there at that time for five or six 
years when he sold out to Parks and Tapp. Later they were succeeded 
by W. W. Squires who in turn was succeeded by Marion Squires. The 
store was owned successively by Abe Cresswell, Quisenbury, Cooper and 
Vines, Hayes, Fred Carroll, and Mr. Stevenson, the present proprietor. 
When the railroad was built the station at this point was known as Rob- 
inson, but later when the postoffice was established the name was changed 
to Chandler. 

The following children were bom to Martin V. and Sarah (Dolbow) 



404 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Anderson Squires : W. W., deceased ; G. M., deceased ; H. F., a telegraph 
operator of Kansas City, Missouri; E. M., of Liberty, Missouri; E. A., the 
subject of this sketch. 

E. A. Squires was educated in the public schools and since early man- 
hood has been engaged in fanning. His faiTn, which is located at Chand- 
ler, was formerly a part of his estate and here he carries on general farm- 
ing and stock raising. 

Mr. Squires was mamed Januarj' 3, 1893, to Miss Rosalee Mosby, a 
daughter of Dewilton W. and Mattie M. (Archer) Mosby. 

The Mosby family is one of the early pioneer families of Clay County. 
Dewilton W. Mosby was bom in Fishing River township in 1825. He 
was a veteran of the Mexican War and died in 1889, and his picture ai> 
pears in a group of Mexican War Veterans in this volume. He was a son 
of Nicholas Mosby, a Kentuckian, who settled in Fishing River township 
probably about 1820 and spent the remainder of his life there. After 
the death of Dewilton W. Mosby, his widow married Robert H. Wallia 
and now resides on the old home place in Fishing River township. Clay 
County. Mrs. Squires was one of the following children bom to her par- 
ents : Jesse D. Mosby, Missouri ; Mrs. E. A. Squires, of the review ; 
Emmett, Liberty, Mo.; Nicholas, recorder of deeds in Clay County; and 
Bonnie M., married W. E. Brawner, of Chandler, Missouri. 

To Mr. and Mrs. E. A. Squires have been born five children, as fol- 
lows: Jesse Lee, Albert Gallitan. Mattie Musette, Willard Alonzo, Mar- 
tin Dewilton. 



Daily and Dugan, manufacturers of and dealers in monuments at 
Liberty, Missouri, is one of the substantial and pi'ogressive business con- 
cerns of Clay County. This company began business in 1909 and since 
that time their business has had a substantial growth and development, 
and extends to adjacent counties, and they also do an extensive business 
in Kansas City, Missouri. 

The monument works of Daily and Dugan is located on the corner 
of Mill and Main streets in Liberty, where they have just completed a 
modem building, properly arranged and well suited for their class of 
work, and for storage and display purposes. The building is a brick 
structure, 27x70 feet in dimensions, with concrete floor. They employ 
five skilled mechanics, and the firm of Daily and Dugan is recognized 
as an important industrial acquisition to Liberty and Clay County. 



CO C 




HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 407 

C. M. Daily, of the firm of Daily and Dugan, well known monument 
manufacturers and dealers of Liberty, Missouri, is a native of Kentucky. 
He was born in Mason County December 4, 1858, and is a son of Samuel 
J. and Belle (Johnson) Daily, natives of Kentucky. 

Samuel J. Daily settled in Jackson County, Missouri, in the seventies, 
and after making that county his home for a time, he and his wife went 
to New Mexico where he died after spending about twenty-five years in 
that state. After his death his widow went to Georgia where she spent 
her last days with her daughter. 

C. M. Daily came to Missouri in 1875 and settled in Jackson County, 
and for many years was engaged in the drug business in Kansas City, 
and in 1878 he came to Liberty. Here he was employed by Trigg T. Allen, 
J. H. Barnes and 0. P. Gentry, but for the past eleven years he has been 
engaged in the monument business and has met with substantial and 
well merited success. 

Mr. Daily was married in 1887 to Miss Lucy D. Land, a daughter of 
John T. and Elizabeth Land, both natives of Kentucky, and early settlers 
in Clay County, and are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Daily have been 
born two daughters: Euth, a graduate of ihe Liberty Ladies' College, and 
for the past sixteen months has been in the employment of the War 
Risk Bureau at Washington, D. C. and Irene, who died in 1904, aged 
fourteen years. 

Mr. Daily has sers^ed two terms as mayor of Liberty and has been 
a member of the city council several terms. He always takes a com- 
mendable interest in local affairs and is a progressive citizen. 



Garnelt M. Peters, representative of the Farmers Mutual Insurance 
Company of Clay County, is a progressive and entei-prising man, whose 
methods arc backed by results. Mr. Peters was born in Clinton County, 
near the Clay County line, in 1870. He is a son of Thomas R. and Mary 
E. (Best) Peters, both members of pioneer families of Missouri. 

Thomas R. Peters was born in Clay County, Missouri, in 1833. He 
was a son of Ira Peters, a Kentuckian, who settled in Clay County, Mis- 
souri, at a very early day. He died on his farm, six miles north of Lib- 
erty in liiberty township, in 1887. Ira Peters was born in 1805 and when 
he came to Clay County he entered 360 acres of land in Liberty town- 
ship which he improved and followed fanning there during the remainder 
of his life. His remains are buried at Little Shoal cemetery. 



408 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Thomas R. Peters spent most of his life in Clay County and died in 
1902 and hi.^ wnife, who was born in Kentucky in 1849, died in Clay 
County in 1905 and their remains are buried in Providence cemetery. 
Thomas R. Peters sei-ved in the Confederate amy four years during the 
Civil War, ia General Shelby's brigade, Price's division. 

To Thomas R. and Mary E. (Best) Peters were born the follov\ing 
children: Garnett M., the subject of this sketch; Mrs. Anna H. Munkire, 
Liberty, Missouri; Mrs. Arthusa E. Reynolds, Liberty, Missouri; George^ 
W., Kearney. Missouri; and Zack M., Colorado Springs, Colorado. 

' Garnett M. Peters was about one year old when his parents returned 
from Clinton County to Clay and settled in Liberty township. He was 
educated in the public schools and Spaulding's Commercial College in 
Kansas City, Missouri, and was engaged in general fanning and cattle 
feeding until 1905. He sei-ved as deputy assessor of Clay County, under 
Assessor John T. North for seven years. On October 1, 1913, Mr. Peters 
accepted the appointment as representative of the Farmers ]\Iutual Insur- 
ance Company and in that capacity he lias advanced the interests and 
increased the business of this company to a very satisfactory degi-ee. 
When he took his position with the company, the amount of insurance 
carried was $1,687,000.00, and the company now carries $3,164,375.00, 
which shows that the business of the company has nearly doubled during 

that time. 

The Fai-mers Mutual Insurance Company of Clay County is the suc- 
cessor of the Patrons Home Protective Insurance Company of Clay 
County and the original organization was eected October 1, 1876, by the 
Grange organization of Clay County. The company carries no insurance 
on property within the corporate limits of any city or town, but confines 
its risks to farm property. 

In March, 1918, Mr. Peters organized the Clay County Mutual Auto- 
mobile Insurance Company. This company insures against the loss of 
automobiles by fire, lightning, tornadoes and theft. The company now has 
$300,000.00 of insurance on its books, having had a man^elous gro.vth 
from its organization. 

Mr. Peters is president of the State Association of Fann Mutual In- 
surance Companies of Missouri. He is a Democrat and takes an active 
part in politics and in 1920 he was elected State Representative from Clay 
County. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Follows and 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 409 

the Knights of Pythias and has served as Chancellor Commander of the 
Knights of Pythias, and has also been representative to the Grand Lodge 
several times. 



E. K. Bell, proprietor of the Liberty Garage is one of the progressive 
business men of Clay County and conducts the leading garage and auto- 
mobile repair shop of Liberty. Mr. Bell is a native of Clay County and 
was born six miles east of Liberty in 1891. He is the son of D. E. and 
Alice R. (Cravens) Bell. 

D. E. Bell was born in Clay County and was a son of E. D. Bell, a 
native of Kentucky who settled in Fishing River township about 1837. 
He came here with his father, Fielding Bell, who was also a Kentuckian. 
D. E. Bell was prominent in the affairs of Liberty and Clay County. For 
a number of years he was engaged in the mercantile business and con- 
ducted the hardware store which is now owned by Boggess and Son. He 
also conducted a livery barn at Liberty. He was mayor of Liberty when 
the water works system was installed. He clerked at the first public 
stock sale held at Liberty at which Colonel Neal was the auctioneer. He 
died at Liberty and his remains are buried there. Alice R. (Ci'avens) 
Bell was bo)ii in Clay County and is now living at Liberty. She is a 
daughter of E. T. Cravens who was a pioneer settler of Clay County and 
established his home about four miles east of Liberty. He was a veteran 
of the Civil War, having sei^ved in the Confederate army in General 
Shelby's brigade and Price's division. He spent his life in Clay County 
after coming here and his remains are buried at Missouri City. 

E. K. Bell attended the public schools and was graduated from the 
Liberty High School in the class of 1908. He then entered William 
Jewell College and was graduated from that institution in the class of 
1912. After leaving college, Mr. Bell was engaged in farming and stock 
raising for about five years. In June, 1917, he engaged in his present 
business and since that time has been proprietor of the Liberty Garage. 
The Liberty Garage is located on East Kansas street and has a floor 
space of 11,000 square feet and is capable of storing seventy cars. Mr. 
Bell also does automobile repair work and employs five men in that de- 
partment. The Liberty Garage advertises that it takes the "vice" out 
of service and this is accomplished by excellent service and honest work 
at reasonable prices. 



410 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Mr. Bell was mamed in 1912 to Miss Ethel Sevier, a daughter of W. 
J and Mary E. Sevier, of Liberty, Missouri. Mrs. Bell was born and 
reared in Liberty to\\Tiship and educated in the public schools and the 
Liberty High School. To Mr. and Mrs. Bell have been born two children: 
Keller, Jr., and Ann Margaret. 



WUliam E. Hallissy, a well knowii and successful farmer and stock- 
man who owns and operates a valuable farm of 183 acres in Liberty town- 
ship is a native of Clay County. He was bora at Liberty, July 17, 1871 
and is a son of Timothy and Mary (Ledworth) Hallissy, both natives of 

Ireland. 

Timothy Hallissy was born in Ireland in 1830, a son of John Hallissy. 
and came to America with his parents in 1840, when he was ten years old. 
John Hallissy was a stone mason and worked at his trade in Liberty for 
many years. He built the first sidewalks of native quarried stone in 
Liberty. He died here in 1877. Timothy Hallissy was a rope manu- 
facturer and was thus engaged in Liberty until the raising of hemp prac- 
tically ceased in this locality. He o\\Tied twenty acres of land just north 
of Liberty and also owTied the property where Costello's Lumber Yard is 
now located, and which was later bought by William E. Hallissy. Tim- 
othy Hallissy died January 16, 1888, and his wife died in 1893. They 
were the parents of the following children: William E., the subject of 
this sketch ; James, Kansas City, Missouri ; John, with the Corbin Milling 
Company, Liberty, Missouri; Amelia, married Daniel Kilty, San Bern- 
ardino, California; Timothy C, cashier for the Internal Revenue Office, 
Kansas City, Missouri. He was formerly city mar-shal of Liberty, ser^•- 
ing two teiTTis. 

William E. Hallissy was reared and educated in Liberty, and began 
his career as a clerk in the Maltby grocery store at Liberty, and remained 
there three years. He bought his present farm which is located three 
miles northeast of Liberty in 1907. However, he did not move to the 
place until 1912. He owns a valuable and productive farm of 183 acres 
and is successfully carrying on general fai-m and stock raising. 

June 13, 1907, William E. Hallissy was married to Miss Kate Haley, 
of Liberty. Missouri. She is a daughter of Michael and Mary Haley who 
now reside near Nevada, Missouri. Mrs. Hallissy is one of a family of 
nine children bom to her parents, six of whom are now living as follows: 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 411 

William, a locomotive engineer on the Missouri Pacific railroad, served in 
the United States army in the Hospital Corps for fourteen months at 
Camp Pike, during- the World War, and now^ lives at Nevada, Missouri; 
John, a locomotive engineer on the Great Western railroad, served in the 
United States army and was in France for twenty- two months, during 
the World War, in the transportation department as a locomotive 
engineer; Thomas served in the United States army in France with the 
Thirty-fifth Division for sixteen months and was in the commissai-y de- 
partment as wagoner; Nellie, married William Kelly, bookkeeper for the 
Costello Lumber Company, Liberty, Missouri ; and Celia, married Joseph 
Sheridan, a farmer and stockman of Vernon County. Missouri. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Hallissy have been l:)orn one daughter, Maiy 
Catherine. 



John S. Stollings, a successful farmer and stockman, of Liberty town- 
ship, is a native of Clay County and a member of one of the very early 
pioneer families of this section of Missouri. He was born in Liberty 
township, December 21, 1852 and is a son of Jesse and Sarah (Benton) 
Stollings. 

Jesse Stollings was born in Logan County, Virginia, in 1802 and 
died in Clay County, Missouri, in 1865. He settled in Clay County in 
1822, prior to the organization of the county. He bought land in Liberty 
township and was quite an extensive land owner. At the time of his 
death, he owned a part of the place which is now owned by his son, David 
Y. Stollings. Sarah (Benton) Stollings was bom in Kentucky in 1820, 
and was a daughter of Hiram Benton. The Benton family settled near 
Kearney, about 18-34, being among the very early pioneers in that section. 
Mrs. Stollings died April 1, 1905, at the advanced age of eighty-four 
years. 

To Jesse and Sarah (Benton) Stollings were born the following chil- 
dren: David Y., a sketch of whom appears in this volume; GriflRn H., 
was killed near Missouri City by Kansas soldiers while he was serving 
in the Confederate army ; Elisha, died in Texas ; Melinda Ann, died at the 
age of twenty-one years; John S., the subject of this sketch; Mary Jane, 
married William Tapp and is now deceased ; Elizabeth, died at the age of 
six years; Maggie, married William Stollings and lives in Texas; Jacob, 
died in early youth, and Jesse, died in California. 



412 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John S Stollings was educated in the public schools of Clay County, 
attending school in the Walnut Grove district. He recalls that Professor 
Baker was his first teacher. Mr. Stollings engaged in farming m early 
life and bought his present place March 1, 1883. It is a part of the old 
Mccarty homestead and consists of 122 acres, located six miles northeast 
of Liberty Mr. Stollings has placed all the improvements on his farm, 
including a good residence which he built in 1905, and also a large barn 
and other suitable farm buildings. He carries on general farming and 
stock raising and is one of the progi-essive men in that line m Clay 

County. ^ 1 U4. 

Mr Stollings was married in 1878 to Miss Lucy F. Searcy, a daughter 
of Clifton and Betty (Petty) Searcy, both of whom are now deceased. 
Mrs. Stollings was reared in the vicinity of Kearney, Missouri. To Mr. 
and Mrs Stollings have been bom the following children: Griffin H., a 
surveyor and civil engineer. Continental, Arizona; Clara, resides at home; 
Jesse, a foreman for a copper mining company, San Francisco, California; 
Arthur, a farmer and stockman. Liberty township; Allene, died at the age 
of six years; and Ethel, married Ed Dunn, of Chandler, Missouri. 

Mr. Stollings is a substantial citizen and the Stollings family stand 

high in Clay County. 

An interesting feature of the Stollings farm is an old pear tree, 
standing in the yard, which has borne fruit since 1865. It was planted 
by Mrs. McCarty who lived here prior to the Civil War, and five geneia- 
tions of the Stollings family have enjoyed the fruit from this tree. 

William F. Paradise, a progressive business man of Liberty, who 
is proprietor of the Liberty Ice and Cold Storage plant, one of the im- 
portant institutions of the city, is a native of Illinois, although a descend- 
ant of pioneers of western Missouri. He was born in Fulton County, 
Illinois, May 1, 1869, a son of Wade Hamilton Paradise. 

Wade Hamilton Paradise was bom in Tennessee in 1819. In 1847, 
he settled in Jackson County, Missouri, about two and one-half miles east 
of Independence. His father, Samuel Isaac Paradise, and other members 
of the family came to Jackson County at the same time. Samuel Isaac 
Paradise bought 240 acres of land and was engaged in farming there 
when the Civil War broke out. He and two of his sons. Plummer and 
Isaac, enlisted in the Confederate army at the beginning of the war, and 
Wade Hamilton, another son, the father of W. F., of this review, enlisted 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 413 

in the Union army. Tliey all served until the close of the war. Samuel 
Isaac Paradise returned to Jackson County after the war and spent the 
remainder of his life there. He died at his home in Independence. After 
the war, Wade Hamilton Paradise .-'ettled in Fulton County, Illinois. 

William F. Paradise was one of the following children born to his 
j)arents : John, who is engaged in farming and stock raising at Barnes 
City, Iowa; James, Stella, Nebraska; Isaac, Chicago, Illinois; VV^illiam F., 
the subject of this sketch; Charles, St. Joseph, Missouri; and Mrs. Mary 
Sarvis, Barnes City, Iowa. 

William F. Paradise was educated in the public schools of Illinois and 
Iowa and for a number of years was engaged in stationary engineering, 
and was connected with that line of work when he came to Liberty in 
1913 and bought the Liberty ice plant which he has since successfully 
operated. This plant has a capacity of twelve tons of ice per day and 
Ml'. Pai'adise now has impiovements under way which will increase the 
capacity of his plant to eighteen tons a day. 

Mr. Paradise was married September 19, 1897, to Miss Mable Blanche 
Shores, of St. Joseph, Missouri. She is a daughter of Madison and Delia 
(Fuller) Shores, both of whom are deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Paradise 
have been born six children: William Earl, who is associated with his 
father in the ice plant ; Ethel, Dorothy, Floyd. Mary Catherine and 
Charles Howard, all of whom are at home with their parents. 

Mr. Paradise is a membei- of the Modern Woodmen of America and 
the Knights of Pythias. 



Richard W. Edwards, chief engineer for the Missouri Gas and Elec- 
tric Service Company, is a native of England. He was born in Lincoln- 
shire, March 25, 1858, a son of Richard and Alice (Holl) Edwards, both 
of whom were natives of England and spent their lives in their native 
land. 

Richard W. Edwards was educated in Jiinghmd and came to America 
in 1881, and located at Liberty, Missouri, the same year. He was a car- 
penter and builder and worked at his trade in Liberty and vicinity for 
several years. He helped erect several residences here, including that of 
Richard Moore and also build a church at Nebo, Missouri. He followed 
farming in Clay County for some years and also was engaged in business 
at Liberty. At one time he owned the ice plant here. In April. 1018, he 
became chief engineer for the Missouri Gas and Electric Service Company 



414 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

at Liberty and has since held that position, and is recognized as a capable 

and efficient man. ,. ^^ ,. . u 

Mr Edwards was first married in England to Amelia E. l-oster, who 
died at Liberty in 1881, leaving one son, Fred Edwards. Mr. Edwards' 
second man-iage was to Mary A. McKarnin, of Clay County, a daugnter 
of James and Ann McKarnin, both of whom are now deceased. To Mr 
and Mrs Edwards have been bom the following children: Anna, man-ied 
Ed Burriss, Tripplett, Missouri; Roy, a stationai-y engineer m the em- 
ploy of the Santa Fe Railroad at Marceline, Missouri ; HariT, a farmer, 
Birmingham, Missouri; and Charlie, who is now a motor mechanic at Fort 
Collins, Colorado. He is a veteran of the World War, having enlisted 
September 18, 1917, and became corporal February 17, 1918. He was a 
member of Batteiw C, 341st Field Artillery. He did service in France 

and was in the Envezin sector from September 17th, to November 11, 

1918 when the armistice was signed. He was mustered out of sel•^^ce 

and honorably discharged June 10, 1919, after having been in the service 

for twenty-one months. 

Mr and Mrs. Edwards have six grandchildren as follows: Clara 

May, Mary Wilmouth; and Gladys Louise Edwards; Etta Albert. Burruss 

and William Albert and Burton Edwards. 

Mr. Edwards is a substantial citizen and the Edwards family is well 

known and highly respected in Liberty and Clay County. 

Dr. Francis Holmes Matthews— When Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes was 
asked at what age a child's education should begin, he replied, "One hun- 
dred years before he is born." Another well known author has written 
upon the theme of "Choosing a Grandfather." So strongly is heredity 
emphasized in biology today that in all improved strains of animals it 
stands out as a prin.al factor, and in the biographies of men who have 
achieved distinction in any field of work, distinguishing traits can be traced 
to immediate forbears in such definite manner that individual history 
becomes in a large degi-ee the fulfillment of family prophecy. For this 
reason a brief reference to the life and character of Dr. Matthews father 
and mother is a most fitting introduction to the record which he has made. 
His father Dr John W. Matthews, a distinguished physician of his 
day, was born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 182.5. Brought up in a strongly 
southern atmosphere, he was thoroughly imbued vvith the belief and spint 
that made chivalric defenders of those who later fought for the principles 




l>lt, F. H. MAT'I'HKW.- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 4I7 

of the Lost Cause. He was of English parentage, and possessed the sturdy 
traits characteristic of English yeomen, who have always been the bone 
and sinew of the nation. 

His early education in the best schools of his day was .supplemented 
by medical training, and in 1847 he was admitted into the brotherhood 
of physicians. In 1849 failing health compelled him to set his face west- 
ward, and in 1855 he settled in Wellington, Missouri, which became the 
family heme. Here he pi-acticed his profession, gaining a position of re- 
spect and honor. When the war broke out Dr. John W. Matthews became 
a surgeon in the Confederate Army, where he served with distinction in 
his work. Near the close of the war, on account of the depredations of 
border ruffians, he was compelled to move his family to Troy, Illinois, for 
protection, and it was while they were thus in exile that his son Francis 
was born. In the early seventies Dr. Matthews returned to Missouri and 
continued to practice his profession in Pike County until 1899, when, retir- 
ing from active work, he came to Liberty, Missouri, residing with his 
son, Di-. F. H. Matthews, until his death in 1912. 

The mother of Dr. Matthews, Miss Ella Flanders, was of French 
descent, her ancestors having come from what is now known as Flanders. 
She was a gentle woman who combined intellectual attainments and re- 
ligious convictions in the sweet piety of her home life. Her helpful spirit 
made home the choicest place, and she has remained an inspiration to her 
children throughout the years. Her care for them included supervision 
of work at home in connection with that of the schools, and embraced 
carefully outlined courses in reading and literature, reviewing the work 
done at stated periods. Mrs. Matthews' deep religious convictions made 
her a close student of the Bible, and one of her greatest joys was hei- 
class in the Sunday School, which she retained to the end of her life. 

With the rich heritage of such parents. Dr. Francis Holmes Matthews 
was born, under circumstances which ^ve have mentioned, at Troy, Illinois, 
June 29, 1866. Much eariy instruction was received at home, to which 
was added the ordinary course of our Missouri public schools. Home in- 
fluences begat within him a desire to n.ake something worth while of 
his life, and to this was added a willingness to work for that end. His 
eariy manhood was given to mercantile pursuits, in which he achieved 
marked success, and he rendered a much needed service to the City of 
Liberty during the eariy days of his residence there by installing its public 
telephone system. 



,^^g HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Mercantile work, however, was but a stepping stone to his real life 
work, and resigning his position with a prominent Kansas City firm. 
Dr. Matthews pursued the medical course at the University Medical Col- 
lege in Kansas City, Missouri, from which he was graduated m the class 
of 1900 Dr Matthews located immediately in Liberty, and has practiced 
his profession there with as much success as crowned his earlier business 
life To the true physician, his profession is a real callmg, not simply 
a means of securing a livelihood, but a field of helpful sei^vice and this . 
I one of the chief attractions of his work. Honors have ngh ly come 
along this pathway, but greatest of all is the consciousness of service 
o-iven Among his associates Dr. Matthews has enjoyed a position of help- 
ful co-operation. He has been a prominent member of the C ay County 
Medical Societv, which he sensed as secretary, for a number of years and 
lo as its president. He has been a member of the State and American 
Medical Associations since 1900, and of the State Board of Health fion 
^913-1917 of which he was president from 1914-1917, when he resigned 
in response to a call to other patriotic sei-vice. In July. 1917, he was 
appointed by President Wilson as a member of the Western Missouri Dis- 
trict Draft Board, whose meetings were held in Kansas City, Missoun, 
and he served until the board was honorably discharged m March, 1919. 
In addition to recognition of this nature, Dr. Matthews has been closely 
identified with Liberty and Clay County in its varied civic life. He was 
one of the organizers of the Citizens Bank, and has continued with it as 

In 1892 he married one of Liberty's fair daughters, Miss Mary Allen, 
whose father, Trigg T. Allen, Esq., was a 1"«^^^^; ^^^^If^V^'/l^^J^' 1 
Two children have been born to them, Mrs. Harry G. Moberly. of Ro wel , 
New Mexico, and Francis H. Matthe^ys, Jr.. at present a student m College. 
Dr Matthews is a Demcrat of the dyed-in-the-wool type. and takes 
pride in the distinction. He is a member of the Methodist Church and 
has been one of its stewards and trustees for twenty-five years 

Hel a prominent member of the Masonic and Odd Fellows OMers. 
and has been physician to the Odd Fellows Home Hospital smce 903. 
He has also been local surgeon for the Rock Island Railroad since 1907 
and chief surgeon of the Kansas City, Clay County and St. Joseph Railroad 
since 1914. In these varied fields of work in which he has been so ac tiveb 
engaged Dr. Frank H. Matthews has shox^n remarkable ability, and today 
has a well earned place among Clay County's distinguished physicians. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 4]^9 

Charles M. Moore, who is successfully engaged in raising small fruits 
and gardening, near Liberty, Missouri, is a native of Delaware. He was 
bom in Kent County, Delaware, November 20, 1855, a son of Abraham 
and Rachel (Biddle) Moore. Abraham Moore died near Dover, Dela- 
ware, in 1856, and his wife died in Wilmington, Delaware, in 1890 ' They 
\vere the parents of the following children: James, died in childhood; 
George, died at the age of twenty-one years; William, died in 1884- Mrs' 
Lizzie Perkins, died in 1917; MoJlie A. Moore, lives in Philadelphia 
Pennsylvania; and Charles M., the subject of this sketch. 

Charles M. Moore was educated in the pubhc schools of Delaware 
and m early life learned the trade of coach trimming at Wilmington' 
Shortly afterwards he came west and settled at Orrick, Missouri where 
he lived for twenty-five years. He was engaged in faming and stock 
raismg and in 1903 he met with considerable loss on account of the flood 
ot that year. He then traded his fann for his present place, two miles 
north of Liberty. He owns sixty acres here which is devoted to fruit 
raising and garden. He has an apple orchard of five acres and several 
acres devoted to blackberries, raspben-ies, strawben-ies and other small 
truits. He also carries on an extensive gardening and raises practically 
all vegetables to which this soil and climate is adapted. His three sons 
assist in the work on the place and he employs a gi-eat deal of other help 
during the busy seasons. 

Charles M. Moore was first married in 1878 to Miss Minerva Mitchell 
who died a few years after her marriage, leaving two children: Edward 
of Kansas City, Missouri; and Maude, deceased. December 5 1882 Mr' 
Moore was married to Sarah F. Creason of Ray County, Missouri, a 
daughter of Rial and Mary D. (Hall) Creason, the former a native of Ray 
County and the latter of North Carolina, and both now deceased Rial 
Ci-eason died at eighty-one years of age and his wife died at the age of 
forty-four years. They were the parents of the following children - 
Martha, deceased; Cyrus, Kansas City, Missouri; Emma D., deceased; 
Thomas W., deceased; Mary Susan, deceased; Mrs. Charles M. Moore of 
this sketch; Almedia, deceased; Fumey. deceased; Wiley, deceased- 
Rosalia, deceased; Robert, deceased; Daisy, deceased; and Mrs. Helena 
Wholt of Sedaha, Missouri. After the death of his first wife Rial 
Creason was again married and the following children were bom to that 
umon: Frank, Beulah, fola and Inez, twins. 

To Charles M. Moore and wife have been bom eleven children as 



420 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

follows- Herbert A., Falls City, Nebraska; Robert E., Ogden, Utah; 
^tb,^rried Sa. Hall^an; Rial C., 0.den, Ut^; Mar. E rnarr^ 
Walter Ruyle; Charles F.. Ogden. Utah; Jewel L., St. Paul Minnesota 
Cyrus A.. Bel-nard, James William and Mable Irene, all at home .ith 

''^'crals^F. Moore se.-ved in the army during the World War. He 
enlisted iav 11, 1918, and was tirst sent to Jefferson Barracks and trom 
he^to Camp Paliaferro, Califonua, and from there to Camp Kearney, 
where he was stationed when the war closed. He was a member of Com- 
pany H, 21st Infantry, and was discharged at Can.p Funston u. January. 

^^'^Jewel L. Moore enlisted August 27, 1918. and was sent to Camp 
F Jton and from there to the Officers T.-aining Camp at Camp Grant and 
was there when the war closed. He was discharged January 7, 1919. 

Leonard N. Hicks, proprietor of the "Michigan Cleanei-s and Dyers" 
of Liberty, Missouri, is an enterprising business man who is meetmg 
w>th wen merited success and conducts one of the up-to-date institutions 

'' 'lT.Ll N. Hicks was bo™ in Stoddard County, Missouri September 
30 1881, and is a son of A. W. and Rameth (Mosley) Hicks, both natives 
o?' South Carolina. The mother died in Stoddard County Missoun in 
November. 1900, and the father departed this hie in January 1911. 
Thiy wer the parents of the following children: Leonard N the sub- 
•it of this sketch; Sciota C. who lives in Alabama; Augusta, lives m 
Arkansas; and Mrs. Maud Brown, in Mississippi 

Leonard N. Hicks was educated in the public schools of Stoddard 
County, Missouri, and in early life learned the tailor's trade at Bloom- 
field, Missouri. He worked at his trade in Illinois and also in St Lou^s 
and has been engaged in his present business since June, 1902 He came 
to Liberty, Missouri, in September, 1908, and was in the eniploy of Kirk- 
land and Burch for a time when he engaged in business for himself unde 
the name of the "Michigan Cleaners and Dyers". His business is located 
In a new fire proof brick and stone building 43 x 63 feet, on North Mis- 
souri street. The business occupies the first floor and basement, where 
tailoring, cleaning and pressing are done on an extensive «cale. The excel- 
lency of his workmanship is recognized, not only in Liberty, but he has a 
large patronage from the surrounding country. He has a well earned 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 421 

reputation for doing first class work at fair prices. He also has a rug 
cleaning and sizing department which is operated in the basement of his 
building and he does an extensive business in this line. 

Mr. Hicks was married June 5, 1913, to Miss Clara Irniinger, a 
daughter of Lewis Irminger, who resides in Fishing River township" Clay 
County. Mrs. Hicks has one brother, Victor Irminger, who lives with his 
parents. 

Mr. Hicks has an extensive acquaintance in Liberty and stands high 
in the comnuinitj'. 



James D. Wa.son, a well known and highly respected citizen of Clay 
County, IS a native of this county. He was born in Gallatin township, 
March 18, 1851, a son of James and Ann (Young) Wason, both natives of 
Woodford County, Kentucky. 

James V/ason, the father, was born June 11, 1798, and his wife was 
born December 25, 1811. They were married in Woodford County Ken- 
tucky, September 25, 1833, and in 1837 came to Clay County, Missouri, 
and entered government land on what was known as Doherty Prairie' 
Two years later, they settled near Big Shoal Church where they spent the 
remamder of their lives. James Wason died June 18, 18C8. and his wife 
sun'ived him for a number of years; she died May 19, 1893. 

To James and Ann (Young) Wason were born the following chil- 
dren: William T., born October 25, 1834. in Kentucky, and died in Clay 
County, Missouri. December 9, 1839; Logan D., born December 20 1835 
m Woodford County, Kentucky, and died in Clay County, July 18* 1837- 
Helen M., born June 7. 1838 and died February 15, 1840; Ann E born 
July 18. 1844 and died November 15, 1847; Mary J. and Martha C twins 
bom May 29. 1841; Mary J., mamed W. S. Embree, June 15, 1890 and 
died March 22, 1913; Martha C, married W. B. Morris, April 4, 1878 and 
after his death she married Thomas A. Dykes, October 24, 1900 and she 
died May 2, 1912; Virginia Y.. born April .30, 1848, married W M Douo-- 
lass. May 29, 1870, and they reside in Cass County. Missouri: and James 
D.. the subject of this sketch. 

James D. Wason was reared on the pioneer home farm and received 
his education in the Sugar Creek Grove .'-chool district. He recalls that 
Thomas B. Ricketts was his first teacher and later Joseph N. Raker who 
«-as recognized as one of the ablest teachers of the eariy days, was his 
teacher. Both Ricketts and Baker are now dead. When James D. Wason 



422 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

^o r.^A >,i« father died, and at that early age he 

Mr Wason was first married September 11, 1878 to Miss Alice vvi , 
i.lhfer of Willis and Elizabeth Winn. She died February 13 1890. 
on Septmb sTsi Mr. Wason was married to Miss Betty H. Barnes 
TdShter of Francis and Henrietta (Nail) Barnes. Mrs. Wason was 
torn in GllTatin to^mship and reared and educated there. Her parents 
were naSes of Kentucky and early settlers ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 
Mr and Mrs. Wason have been bom three 'children Robert Heijej 
Wason who was educated in the public schools of Liberty, and Bett^ K 
Hd NdUe M., twins, both of whom graduated from the Liberty High 

'^'tr^LfJplbH^Ued and ta.es a commendable interest in 
public affTirs. He has been a member of the school board for nine years 
and se^ed on the city council three years, and at the present time i a 
membe7of the Board of Public Works. He has been a director in he 
Fh-Tt NatVonal Bank since 1906, and is one of the substantial men of Clay 



County. 



George W. Prick, who is recognized as one of the leading farmers 
and 'r "en of Liberty township, is a native son of Clay Coun y aiid 
member of one of its pioneer families. He was born on the place ^here 
Te now resides, in Liberty to^™ship. April 16, 1861, and is a son of Heni> 

and Elizabeth (Walker) Frick. , ■ ;„ i«4q nnl 

Henry Frick came to Clay County from Pennsylvan.a m 184o and 

enter^ITovernment land here. Later he ^i^-Vel^V F^r « 
1851 settled on the place which is now «7«j^ ^^ ^^l^^^f '„' .^'K.nsas 
lived here until 1886, when he went to Burlington, Coffey County, Kansas 
:: spent the remainder of his days there. His wife .-as a native o 
Kentucky and came to Clay County with her parents m 1831. ^ hen she 
w s seven years old. She died at Burlington, Kansas^on ^^ -^-^^^^^^ 
birthday, and her husband died on his eighty-fourth birthday. They 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 423 

were the parents of the followmg children: John, lives in Woodson 
County. Kansas; Henry Tilman, deceased; William, deceased; Mattie, 
married Alex Butchart, Kansas City, Missouri; James, Stillwater, Okla- 
homa; Mrs. Susan Hartel, deceased; Joseph, Colorado; Ellen, deceased: 
Georg-e W., the subject of this sketch ; Lizzie, married William Stern, 
Washington; Martha, mairied Sylvanus Stem, Coffey County, Kansas. 

George W. Frick was reared on the home farm in Liberty township 
and attended school in the Providence district. He recalls Dock Shaver 
and Reuben Stapp as being among the early teachers, and those who 
taught subscription schools here before the Civil War were Bob Flemings, 
Mr. Whittaker, Mr. Bancroft and Mr. Colby. Mr. Frick has been engaged 
in farming and stock raising since early life. He first bought ninety- 
five acres of the old home farm in 1881 for which he paid twenty dollars 
an acre. Later he sold that and bought eighty acres, which he traded to 
his father for 120 acres which constituted the old homestead. He now 
owns 380 acres of land in Liberty township, which is a valuable and well 
improved fann. The farm residence has been remodeled and there is 
a large bam on the place 40 x 50 feet. Thei'e are also two residences, 
besides the family home. Mr. Frick is an extensive stock raiser and 
raises large numbers of cattle, horses and mules and feeds and ships a 
great many hogs and cattle. 

On April 25, 1881, Mr. Frick was married to Mary C. Liggett, who 
was bom and reared in Liberty township and is a daughter of Thomas 
and Nancy Angeline (Galloway) Liggett. To Mr. and Mrs. Frick have 
been born nine children: John, Henry, George Allen, Robert Riley and 
Nannie, all of whom are at home with their parents; Elizabeth, mairied 
Ralph Passmore, of Goff , Kansas ; James, Goff , Kansas ; Roxie, married 
Oscar Warren and is now deceased; and Glenn at home. 

Robert Riley Frick, above mentioned, entered the United States 
army, September 19. 1917 and was sent to Camp Funston for training 
and later to Camp Pike, Arkansas. June 12, 1918, he embarked for 
France, as a member of the 35th Field Artillery and sei-ved with the 
42nd Division in France which was kno\vn as the Rainbow Division. He 
took part in several of the important engagements of the World War. 
He was sent to the front line July 13, 1918, where he remained until 
October 27th. He was wounded by shrapnel in the right arm at Verdun 
and as a result spent two months in a hospital. His wound was of a very 
severe nature but he finally recovered. He was at the Aisne front, 



424 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Chateau Thierry and the Meuse. He left France Dece-be^^25 1918 a^^^ 
arrived at Newport News, Virginia, January 7, 1919, and .a shortly 
aftei-wai-ds discharged at Camp Funston. Jasper Boone, a Clay County 
boy who went with Robert Riley Frick, died from wounds received n the 
^^ice. He was wounded November 5th and died November 11, 1918, 
the day the armistice was signed. ^ ^jj r^i 

oLge W. Frick is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows of Liberty and a well known and highly respected citizen of Clay 
County. 

Alonzo E. Macken, a well known farmer of Gallatin to^vnship, who 
resides near Randolph, is a native of Clay County, and was born on the 
place where he now resides June 26. 1886. He is a son of Albeit and 
Elizabeth Jane (Curry) Macken. .,„^ Hipri nn 

Albert Macken was born at Columbus, Ohio, m 1844, and died on 
his home place in Gallatin township January 26, 1911. He was mamed 
Elizabeth Jane Curry at Blue Eagle, which was later ^no^ - ^-; 
dolph, in July, 1867. She was a daughter of L^'oy -d Rebecca Am 
Currv Leroy Curry was a native of Virginia, and died m 1907. His wife 
died when Mrs. MaTken was a child, five years old. Leroy Curry married 
a second time to Amanda Williams, a native of Terre Haute Indiana. 
She died in June, 1918. Mrs. Macken has a brother. Alonzo, who lives m 
Kansas City, and a sister. Mrs. Frances Emily Carpenter, of Randolph, 

""""TrAlbert and Elizabeth Jane (Curry) Macken were born the follow- 
in-, children: William Macken, a grocer of North Kansas City. Missouri 
mnnrmarried John Montgomery, of Moscow, Missouri ; Bertha married 
John Prather. of Avondale. Missoun. and Alonzo E.. the subject of this 

-'^'^Alonzo E. Macken was educated in the public school in District No. 71, 
and has followed truck farming .ince early manhood, f f^^^^^^s the 
home farm which consists of 101 acres of productive land m Gallatm 
toT^hip He raises lima beans and strawbernes and other garden pro- 
duT and at times employs as many as thirty-five people during the busy 
seasons He markets his products in the Kansas City market^ he and 
hs father having had a stall in the Kansas City market for about forty 
yirs The Macken place is well improved and conveniently arranged 
for successfully carrying on the garden truck business. 




ALRKErr AM> KL1ZAH?:TH .1. MAC'KKX 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 427 

On January 30, 1912, Alonzo E. Macken was united in marriage with 
Miss Lettie Manual, a daughter of Philip and Margai'et (McRae) Manual. 
Mr. Manual died in 1906 and is buried at Huntsville, Missouri, and his 
widow resides in Kansas City, Missouri. Mrs. Macken was a teacher, 
having taught in the schools of Randolph and Clay counties prior to her 
marriage. To Mr. and Mrs. Macken have been born three children : Albert 
Earl, deceased; Alonzo Edward and Arthur Stanley. 

Mr. and Mrs. Macken have an extensive acquaintance in Clay County 
and stand high in the community. 



Oscar M. Petty, a prominent farmer and stockman, who is one of the 
large stock raisers of Clay County, was born in Fishing River township. 
August 6, 1868. He is a son of Jesso M. and Elizabeth (Michalucine) 
Petty. 

.Jesse M. Petty was a native of Spottsylvania County, Virginia, and 
came to Missouri and settled in Clay County at an early date. He spent 
the remainder of his life here and died on May 3, 1907, and his remains 
are buried in the old cemetery near Kear^iey. His wife was born in Clay 
County and was a descendant of a very early pioneer family of this 
county. Jesse M. Petty and wife were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Florence, married Newton Lincohi, of Lil^erty, Missouri; Mariah 
F., married John M. Coates and is deceased ; Oscar M., the subject of this 
sketch; Edgar N., Liberty, Missouri; Kate E., married E. P. Tapp, Chand- 
ler, Missouri ; and Lottie, married James Greenfield, and is deceased. 

Oscar M. Petty was reared on a farm and educated in the Estes 
school district and the public schools at Kearney. He engaged in farm- 
ing on his own account in early life and bought his home place of 160 
aci'es, in 1892. Since that time he has bought additional land, including 
one place of forty-seven acres and another of 176 acres, a!) in oiie body. 
The 176 acre farm i^ a part o1' the And;-' Robinson place, and tiie brick 
residence now standing on this place is one of the historic landmarks of 
Clay County and was built by Andy Robinson, about 1830. Mr. Petty's 
home place is a part of the old Dale farm. He cultivates about seventy 
acres and uses the balance of his land for pasture. He specializes in 
Whiteface cattle and at this writing is feeding 123 head, but he aims to 
generally keep on hands about one hundred head or more. His place is 
well watered and adapted to stock raising and he is one of the successful 
stockmen of Clay County. 



_^98 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Oscar M. Pettv was mamed in April. 1895. to Miss Edna M. King 
. naUve of Clav County and a daughter of Moses and Anna King, of 
X; toLhip. To Mr. and Mrs. Petty have been born t- duldr^. 
Marshall Il-^vin. born Febmar," 11, 1896, and is engage^ m the .took 
busTnes. in partnei-ship with his father. He was mamed December 26. 
19 7 t; Miss Lucille Bert Munkii-s. of Kearney to.-nship. Clay Countj , 
and \nna Lee. born October 7. 1901 and died February 2/. 190o. 

Oscar M. Pettv and his son are progressive and entei-pnsmg citizens 
and are well and favonibly known in Clay County. 

Mr. and Mrs. Petty have one grand daughter. Marjone Jean. 



P M Dale, of Liberty township, is one of the weU knoNvn and de- 
pendable farmers and stockmen of Clay County. He was bom on the 
fami where he now resides, five miles northwest of Liberty, in Libert> 
fo^ship! June 26. 1879. and is a son of Ne..on and Margaret Ann 

(Stevenson) Dale. . 

Newton Dale was born in Liberty to^^•nshlp. Novembei ^-/8^1- ^^ 

was a son of Weakley Dale, whose wife bore the maiden name of McCo^^^^^ 

Yeaklev Dale and his wife were among the very early pioneer set lers o 
Liberty township. Newton Dale was a farmer and stockman and sp^n 
his entire career in Clay County. He died. September lb. 1889 His 
^e M garet Ann Stevenson, was bom in Liberty to.-nship. February 
S^i846 and died at Liberty. She was a daughter of Samuel Stevenson. 
a pioneer settler of Clay County. ^, .- , 

To Newton and Margaret Ann (Stevenson) Dale were bom the fol- 
lowing children: Lottie J., died in 1914, at the age of fort>^one years; 

Amii; Belle, died Januaiy 28. 1898. at the age of twenty-three yeal^. 

and P. U. Dale, the subject of this sketch. 

P M Dale was reared on the home place where he now resides and 

educated hi the Little Shoal district school and the Liberty High School. 

He has always made famiing and stock raising his ^^^^^^ ^^^^^^^Xt 

has met with success. In 1904. he purchased the interests of the other 

heirs in the home place and in 1918 added forty acres by purchase, and 

now has a well improved and valuable fami of HO aci-es. The farm was 

originally a part of the old Hall homestead. 

Mr Dale was mamed in 1908 to Miss Irene Bayer, a daughter o^ 

Henry and Sarah (Liggett) Bayer of Liberty township. To Mr. and 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 429 

Mrs. Dale have been bom three children, Beulah and Frances at home 
with their parents, and one son, Hany, who died in infancy. 

Mr. Dale is a progressive and enterprising citizen and well known 
and highly respected in Liberty township and Clay County. 



John F. Robb, a prosperous farmer and stockman of Liberty town- 
ship, is a native of Kentucky. He was born in Ma.son County, April 20, 
1848, a son of W. W. and Margai-et M. (Pipei-) Robb, both natives of 
Kentucky. 

W. W. Robb came to Missouri in 1873 and settled in Cass County, 
where he remained one year. He then went to Illinois and settled in 
Greene County and later returned to Missouri and settled in Clay County. 
He and his wife died in Illinois. They were the parents of the following 
children : William lives in Mason County, Kentucky ; James S., who 
served as county judge of Clay County two terms, now resides at Liberty; 
John P., the subject of this sketch ; and Mary Eliza, marrietl Jasper John- 
son and lives in Greene County, Illinois. 

John P. Robb was reared and educated in Kentucky and in 1873, 
when he was twenty-five years old, he came to Missouri with the other 
members of the family and settled in Cass County. A year later vvhen 
the family removed to Illinois, he accompanied them and taught school 
and farmed in that state until 1880. He then returned to Missouri and 
settled in Liberty tovmship, Ciay County. Here he bought eighty acres 
of land which was known as the McGinnis farm. He sold that place later 
and bought the Joseph Reddick place which he afterwards sold and bought 
his present place from Jacob Brost. This farm contains 123 acres of 
valuable land which is well improved and under a high state of cultivation. 
The place is located two miles northwest of Liberty, on the Liberty- 
Smithville road. The farm residence and the other buildings about the 
place are in good condition and the farm presents a well kept appearance. 

John P. Robb was married September 2, 1875 to Miss Tobitha Ann 
Foster, a daughter of James L. and Elizabeth (BroAvn) Foster, both 
natives of Nicholas County, Kentucky. The Foster family removed to 
Illinois and settled in Macoupin County in 1864, and the parents both 
spent the remainder of their lives in that state. The father died in 1900 
and the mother in 1892. Mrs. Robb was the second of seven children 
bom to her parents. The others are as follows: David M., deceased; 
James, deceased; Maiy, married Rollin McGee and they live at Girard. 



430 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

IlUnois; Charles A., Bucyrus. Kansas; Elizabeth, Giravd. Illinois; and 

n^: J^hrrn^'anrwife have been horn the follow^n, children : 
James E^ p^^o^essive farmer and stockman who operates the home 
fam in Liberty township; Bessie C, married Van Boydston, Liberty. 
M^ouri Ann Eii.a, at home with her parents; Rev. Wilham L., a gradu- 
ate of WlUam Jewell College and the Presbyterian Theologjjal Semmair 
f l^uirville, Kentucky, is a Presbyterian minister, marned ^-1 Days 
of Touisville Kentucky, and resides at Brighton. Ilhnois, John Cailyle,. 
a reaT St e ntn at San Antonio. Texas, married Miss Bonme Simmons 
^f Clay County. Missouri. There are three gi-and children m the Robb 
fLily as follows: John David. Irvin Luther and Bernice Robb. 
''" j'ohn P. Robb is one of Clay County'. -^^ -bs^^^^f .tToimTy 
the Robb family is representative of the best citizenship of Clay County. 

John Walter Pryor, a well known and successf.il farmer and stock- 
man, of Liberty to.oiship. was born in this township Octobei 8, 1872. He 
is a son of James G. and Ruth M. (Darby) Pryor. 

James G Pryor was also a native of Clay County. Missovin, bmn 
here in 1844. He was a son of Captain Pryor whose wife bore he 
^ITden name of Lewis, and they were very early P-- -^^^^^^ ^^ 
County coming from Kentucky to this county and settling in Libertj 
"^ZX. .ames G. Pryor followed ^^-in-n^ f^r^^^^^^^ ^^1 S- 
to^vnship throughout his active career. He died Septembei 
•,nfl Viis remains are buried at Liberty. 

'" RuthT. (Darby) Piyor was born in Gallatin township C lay Cuunt,^ 
She was a daughter of Andrew and Malinda Darby, natives ot Noith 
Ca ola .:ho settled in Gallatin township. Clay County, and were « 
the early settlers of that section. Mrs. Pryor. mother of John ^^ alter 
Prvor died September 1. 1903 at the age of fifty-six years. 

To James G. and Ruth M. (Darby) Pryor were born two. sons John 
Walter C" the subject of this sketch and Eugene, a live stock conv 
Z^LlZi Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. He married Miss Lizzie Groom, 
a daughter of Porter Groom of Liberty township. Clay Coun >. 

jSn Walter Pn^or was reared on the home farm in Liberty town- 
ship and abided t^e school of Ruth Ewing school district and the public 
sc^lf of L^erty. Missouri. He began farming and stock raismg in 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 431 

early life and has met with success in this field of endeavor. He owns 
the old home farm in Liberty township, having purchased his brothers' 
interest in the estate. The place consists of 160 acres of well improved 
and valuable land and is located two and one-half miles southeast of 
Liberty. It is an excellent stock and grain farm and has an ample sup- 
ply of water. This place was purchased by James G. Pryor in 1878, for 
twenty "dollars per acre. 

October 19, 1893, John Walter Pryor was married to Miss Artie E. 
Groom, a daughter of M. A. and Emma (Adkins) Groom. The father is 
a native of Clay County and now resides at Liberty. He is a member of 
one of the pioneer families of Clay County which have been conspicuous 
in the history of the county. John S. Groom, an uncle of Mi's. Pryor, 
served in Colonel Doniphan's regiment and his picture appears elsewhere 
in this volume. J. J. Moore, another Mexican War veteran, whose pic- 
ture appears in this volume, was related to the Pryor family. 

Mr. Pryor is well known in Clay County and is one of the progressive 
and enterprising citizens of Liberty township. 



William Williams, a successful and enterprising farmer and stockman 
who owns and operates a farm of 244 acres, in Liberty township, is a native 
of Kentucky, although he has spent practically all his life in Clay County. 
He was born in Nicholas County, Kentucky, April 6, 1853, and is a son of 
Jarrott and Lucinda (Sims) Williams, natives of Kentucky. 

Jarrott Williams was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, in 1826, 
and died in Clay County in 1899. Lucinda (Sims) Williams was bom in 
Nicholas County. Kentucky, near Carlisle, in 1834, and died in Clay 
County in 1888 ; their remains are buried in Little Shoal cemetery. Jar- 
rott and Lucinda (Sims) Williams were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: William, the subject of this sketch; Nannie, married IJnsford 
Nutter and is now deceased; Charles, resides in Kansas City, Missouri; 
James, died at Garden City, Kansas; Margaret, married John M. Grayson, 
Clinton County, Missouri; Edward, deceased; Lizzie, Liberty, Missouri; 
George, a fanner. Liberty township ; Frances, married John Brost, Liberty 
township; and Robert, Liberty, Missouri. 

Jarrott Williams spent his early life in Kentucky and in 1854 came to 
Clay County with his wife and family. The same year he bought a fann 
in Liberty township from Joseph Stout, for which he paid seventeen dol- 
lars an acre. This was an early day in this section. The only part of 
Kansas City then in existence was Westport Landing. Jarrott Williams 



432 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



H in raisine hemp and tobacco and fax-med generally, and also 
7ZIIZ ulZl Landing was the shipping point and the hemp 
was bai'd there and loaded on boats and shipped down the nver. Janott 
Wmiams enlisted for service in the Mexican war, before commg to Clay 
^ountr However, the war closed before he was called mto service 

William Williams was reared in Liberty to^^'T.shlp and attended the 
first Jch oh! was held at Little Shoal school house, and a Mr. Stephens 
ltZ,t teacher Mr. Williams gi-ew up familiar with farm life, and - 
Tg^g d in thrpui^ for himself in early life. He bought his present 
T 1 nf 244 acres in 1888. It is well improved and a valuable farm with 
n od fal reXce and other buildings, including a tobacco b^. 
36X9C feet Mr. Williams has raised tobacco several years and has car- 
ried nineral farming and stock raising on an extensive scale He i 
Ihe owner of "Mack the Second," one of the most valuable ,acks m the 

""Srch 6 1914, Mr. Williams was married to Miss Mattie J. Elliott of 
Clav County By a former marriage Mr. Williams has three chUdren: 
Wmiam G a ci^^ engineer, of Dallas, Texas; Elizabeth, ™--ed ^enn^. 
Tcrrgg, of Gallatm township; and James Jarrott, a fai-mer and stock- 

man of Liberty township. t ru^r 

Mr. Williams is entei-prising and progressive, and one of Clay 

County's most substantial citizens. 

Melvin M. Gabbcrt. a well known farmer and stockman of Gallatin 
township is a native of Buchanan County. Missouri, and was bom October 
1 1856 Seis a son of -James and Levinia (Ellison) Gabbert, both now 

'"Tames Gabbert and his wife were both natives of ^-^\^^^-^'^^^^^ 
ana He was bom April 18, 1830, and was a son of George W. and Gazella 
Gabbert George W. Gabbert was bom in Madison County, Indiana. 
January 28 1812. and spent the latter part of his life in Buchanan County, 
MTssom-i where he and his wife died. James Gabbert came to Missouri 
^1845 and settled in Buchanan County. In 1849, during the gold rush 
to Ca ifomia, he made the trip overland to the Pacific coast. He went a 
far as Salt Lake City with ox teams and when that city was --hed the 
oxen were sold and the balance of the trip to the coast was made by pack 
mules After remaining in California about two years, he returned Ea 
Ty the Isthmus of Panama and landed at New York. He then returned to 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 433 

Buchanan County, and 1857 removed to Leavenworth County, Kansas. 
He remained there until 1874, when he returned to Buchanan County and 
bought a farm adjoining the first land which he owTied in that county. 
He died February 3, 1906. His wife was born July 8, 1836 and died 
February 2, 1911. 

The children born to James and Levinia (Ellison) Gabbert are as fol- 
lows: Elizabeth, married Charles Gallagher and died in 1916, in Oak- 
land, California; Melvin M., the subject of this sketch; Rosell, Dekalb, 
Missouri; Ella, mamed Burton Gardner, Kansas City, Kansas; Belle, 
married Henry Dittamore and they live in Buchanan County, Missouri; 
Mollie, maried J. W. Dittamore, of Buchanan County, Missouri; Charles, 
Buchanan County, Missouri; and Eva, married Ison Wood, Buchanan 
County. 

Melvin M. Gabbert was reared in Leavenworth County, Kansas, and 
educated in the public schools. In 1874, he removed to Buchanan County 
with his parents. In 1896 he came to Clay County and since that time 
he has been engaged in farming in Platte and Gallatin tovsmships. He 
bought his present farm in Gallatin township, of J. S. Hooper, in 1920. 
He owns 140 acres, six miles northwest of Liberty. The place is well 
improved, with a good substantial residence and other farm buildings. 
There is an ample supply of water for stock and the place is generally 
well adapted to both grain fanning and stock raising. 

Melvin M. Gabbert was united in marriage February 1, 1882, with 
Miss Laui-a V. Gabbert at St. Joseph, Missouri. She was born in Leaven- 
worth County, Kansas, a daughter of William and Levina Gabbert, both 
natives of Indiana and both now deceased. Mrs. Gabbert is one of nine 
children bom to her parents, the others being as follows: Bettie, mar- 
ried David Divorce; Fielding, Ray County, Missouri; America, married 
James Chappell, Troy, Kansas; Theodosia, married Isaac Wisler, Troy, 
Kansas; E. S., Billings, Montana; J. R., Lyons County, Kansas: W. E., 
Platte tovraship, Clay County ; and A. D., Palisade, Colorado. 

To Melvin M. Gabbert and wife have been born nine children as fol- 
lows: Charles, Winnetonka, Missouri; Levina, married Clay Schoolfield, 
Kansas City, Missouri; John S., Kansas City, Kansas; William, Nashua, 
Missouri; Hugh, Liberty, Missouri; and Ray, Bryan, Chester, and Miller, 
residing at home with their parents. 

Mr. Gabbert is a member of the Knights of Pythias, of Liberty, and 
is a Democrat. 



434 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John C. Frazier. the present postmaster of North Kansas City, has 
held this position since the post office was established here in 1913, and 
he also has the distinction of being the pioneer merchant of North Kansas 
City Mr. Frazier is a native of Clay County and a descendant of early 
pioneers here. He was born one mile south of Linden July 9. 1867, a 
son of B. G. and Elizabeth (White) Frazier, natives of Kentucky. 

B G Frazier came to Missouri in 1837 and first settled in Ray County. 
Later he removed to Platte County and went from there to Kansas wheiv 
that state was a territory. In 1861 he traded his farm in Leavenworth 
Countv Kansas, for a farm near Linden, Clay County. Here he spent 
the remainder of his life, and died in 1891 : and his wife died at Liberty. 
Missouri. Their remains are buried at Bany- 

To B G. and Elizabeth (White) Frazier were born the following 
children- Belle, died at the age of fifteen years: William L., a real estate 
dealer at El Campo, Texas; Dora, married Charies Dunlap: May, a twin 
sister of Dora, married R. Patrick; Elizabeth Lee, married Dr. A. C. 
Majors who is now deceased, and she resides at Excelsior Springs; John 
C the subject of this sketch; and Frank J., who is engaged in the live 
stock commission business at Seattle, Washington. By a former marnage 
the following children were boi-n to B. G. Frazier: Thomas H., died at 
Liberty, Missouri; Jennie, married M. W. Gardner: and they are both 
deceased; and Anderson M., lives at Adrian, Missouri. Elizabeth (White) 
Frazier was first married to James Dean and three children were born to 
that union: Jerry S.. deceased; Sarah, married William H. Hudson ana ,s 
deceased; and Mary J., married R. T. Murray and is deceased. Horace 
S White, a nephew of Mrs. Frazier, was reared in the Frazier family 
and is now in the furnishing goods business in Kansas City. Missouri. 
John C Frazier was reared in Clay County and educated in the public 
schools. He engaged in the mercantile business at Hariem, Missouri, in 
1890 and continued in business there until 1912, when he located at 
North Kansas Citv and engaged in the mercantile business here. His 
was the first store to locate here, and the following year, through his 
efforts, he secured the establishment of the post office here. He was suc- 
cessfully engaged in business until June. 1918, when he sold out. and 
since that time he has been postmaster. 

Mr Frazier was man-ied, June 6. 1893, to Miss Alletta N. Vance, a 
daughter of John T. and Mariah A. (Taylor) Vance. John T. Vniice was 
a native of Kentucky. He came to Clay County when a young man and 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 437 

settled here and here spent the remainder of his life. He died in 1892, 
at the age of sixty-two years. His wife was a daughter of George Taylor, 
a Clay County pioneer, who settled near Smithville. He was killed during 
the Civil War while serving in the Confederate Army. Mariah A. (Tay- 
lor) Vance was born near Smithville in 1839, and died in 1907. Mrs. 
Frazier is one of five children born to her parents, the others being as 
follows : Palmetto May, married W. A. Williams, of Kansas City, Missouri ; 
Minnie P., married John H. Hartman, and they reside in Canada; William 
R. Vance and W. H. Vance, live in Kansas City. To Mr. and Mrs. Frazier 
have been bom one son, Robert W., and a daughter, Geraldine May, born 
November 6, 1907, and died February 1, 1910. 

Robert W. Frazier was bora at Harlem, Missouri, April 5, 1894. 
During the World War he enlisted on July 16, 1918, at Liberty, Missouri. 
He was sent to Waco, Texas, for training, and later was made a sergeant. 
He afterwards went to the Officers Training School at Waco, Texas, where 
he was discharged November 14, 1918. He was mamed December 8, 
1918, to Miss Ruth L. Anderson, of Kansas City, Missouri. He is now 
city salesman for the Klein Wholesale Grocery Company of Kansas City, 
Missouri. 

John C. Frazier is one of the well known and highly respected citizens 
of Clay County. 



Oscar M. Wren, a successful and enterprising farmer and stockman 
of Gallatin township, is a native of Clay County and a descendant of a 
pioneer family of this section of Missouri. He was born June 6, 1889, 
a son of Thomas and Lucy S. (Powell) Wren. 

Thomas Wren was bom in Platte County, Missouri, of Kentucky par- 
ents, who were very early pioneer settlers in Missouri. Thomas Wren 
died May 12, 1919, and his remains are buried in Little Shoal Church 
cemetery. Lucy S. (Powell) Wren was bom near Smithville, Clay 
County, in 1854. She is a daughter of Lawson Powell who was an early 
settler in Platte township. Clay County. She now resides in Gallatin 
township with her son, Oscar M. Wren, whose name introduces this 
sketch. 

To Thomas and Lucy S. (Powell) Wren were born the following chil- 
dren: Hattie Gertnide. married L. R. McComas, who died September 1, 
1909; Benjamin C, died in 1900, at the age of nineteen years; Rosella. 



438 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

A- A f tv,. «<rp nf twelve years; Viola, died in infancy; Iva P., man-ied 
fltXrG:nJ^:Z^^^^^;^^^^ 0.car M., the -b^ect of this Sketchy 
Oscar M. Wren was reared on a fann and attended school m the Bell 
M district He engaged in farming and stock raising n. early life 
a^d ts me^tith succL' He owns the forty-acre farm where he was 
born '^ich was the home of his parents, and also eighty aci-es where his 
pre^;n residence is located. His farm is well improved with good buUd- 
fng and Mr. Wren is a progressive and up-to-date farmer. He is 
equ pped with all faming implements and machineiy includmg a tractor 
which he purchased in 1919. He carries on general farmmg and stook 

'^'''November 24, 1909, Mr. ^^■ren was married to Miss Sallie Lucile 
Sparks a daughter of John I. and Mollie Bell (Scobee) Sparks, of Liberty 
Ss ouri Mrs. Wren was born near Avondale, Missouri, and her parents 
^v i^ide at Gashland. To Mr. and Mrs. Wren have been born three 
Sren: Oscar Thomas, Jr.. bor. December 3, 1911 , Lloyd Woodrow. 
bora November 8, 1913; and Dorothy Bess, born June 27, 1918. 

Mr Wren is a substantial citizen and stands high in the community 
where he is best known. 



Webster Withers, o^^^ler and proprietor of "Blue Eagle Stock Fanns" 

in Liberty township, is one of the well knou-n and successful breeders of 

^ure br^Duroc Jersey hogs of Clay County. Mr. Withers was bora in 

Liberty township. August 8. 1878, and is a son of Conn and Ella (Mc- 

Kown) Withers, further mention of whom is made m connection with 

sketch of R. S. Withers, in this volume. . .v, f v -, fnnr 

Webster Withers attended the public schools and then took a foui 

year course in William Jewell College, at Liberty. He then entered the 

LdIov of the Long Bell Lumber Company at Kansas City. Missouri, and 

Z with that company from 1900 until 1906. From 1906 untH 191.5 e 

was engaged in the lumber business in partnership with C. A. Whr^e. In 

1915. they sold their busmess to H. R. Banks, and since that time Mk 

Withers has been engaged in stock raising and breeding. He is one of the 

extensive breeders of pure bred Duroc Jersey hogs in '^^ '^''^'^'^^''1^' 

the present time has nearly 1.000 head of these hogs on hand^ His heid 

is headed by "Supreme Orion's Sensation." which is one of the va luab^ 

male hogs of the country. "Eagle Stock Farms" consists of four farms 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 439 

in Liberty township and the places are well arranged for breeding pur- 
poses and is one of the valuable farm plants of Clay County. 

Mr. Witchers' home, "Yamada," is one of the most attractive places 
in Clay County. It is located just at the city limits of Liberty, twenty- 
nine acres of the place being within the city limits. The architecture of 
the house, which is a brick structure, is of a unique character and very 
attractive. It, in a way, conforms to the Japanese style of architecture, 
seldom seen in this country. It presents a cozy appearance, with a large 
concrete porch extending around three sides. The gate entrance to the 
residence is an unusual and attractive arrangement and inunediately 
arrests the attention of the observer. The residence stands on a com- 
manding eminence, overlooking the city of Liberty on the West, and a 
clear view can be had of Independence, across the river, under favorable 
atmospheric conditions. Altogether, this is one of the attractive show 
places of Clay County. 

Mr. Withers was married October 17, 1914, to Miss Louise Gremmel 
of Kansas City, Missouri, and a native of Muscatine, Iowa. She died July 
21, 1920, and her remains are buried in Fairview Cemetery. 



Cyrus D. Wilson, proprietor of "Ideal Stock Farm," is one of the sub- 
stantial and enterprising farmers and stockmen of Clay County. He was 
bom in McLean County, Illinois, Januaiy 22, 1860. His parents were 
Hugh and Sarah (Dill) Wilson, both natives of Ohio, the father, of Holmes 
County, and the mother, of Hardin County. The Wilson family removed 
from Ohio to McLean County, Illinois, in 1856, and the mother died in 
Illinois. In 1894 Hugh Wilson came to Missouri and settled near Park- 
ville, Platte County, where he spent the remainder of his days. Hugh 
Wilson was a grandson of Colonel James Wilson, a distinguished soldier 
who served in Washington's Army in the Revolutionaiy War. 

The following children were born to Hugh and Sarah (Dill) Wilson: 
John H., Parkville, Missouri; William, Parkville; Mrs. Sarah J. Glass, 
Parkville; Charles. Baltimore, Ohio; and Cyi-us D., the subject of this 
sketch. 

Cyrus D. Wilson was reared and educated in McLean County, Illinois, 
and has been a practical farmer and stockman all his life. He came to 
Missouri in 1894, and settled in Platte County. He was engaged in farm- 
ing and stockraising there until 1909, when he came to Clay County and 



440 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

bought his present place, near Nashua, in Gallatin to.Tiship. This farm 
contains 240 acres of well improved, productive and valuable land^ and i. 
appropriately named "The Ideal Stock Farm". The place is located on the 
Jefferson Highway, and the residence with its ample number of shade 
trees presents a comfortable and attractive appearance, and the Ideal 
St" k Fa^' is one of the prettiest places in Clay County. Mr. Wdson 
carries on general faming and stockraising. He raises cattle, hogs, and 

™" ^October 1 1887, C>aais D. Wilson was married to Miss Mary John- 
son a daughter of William and Hannah (Bamhart) Johnson, both of 
whom are now deceased. William Johnson was born in Piqua County. 
Ohio, September 27, 1822, and died February 21, 1900; his .af e was born 
June 1, 1832, and died June 15, 1897, and their remains are buned in the 
cemetery at ParkviUe, Missouri. They came from Colorado m 1896 and 
settled at Parkville. Mrs. Wison was bom in Tippecanoe County, Indiana, 
October 1 1858. She is one of the following children bom to her parents: 
J B lives in Colorado; C. E., deceased; Mrs. Anna E. Allen, deceased; 
Mrs' Cyrus D. Wilson, of this review; Mrs. Martha H. Reed, lives in 
Nebraska; John H., Hiattville, Kansas; Frank L., Denver, Colorado; W. 
C Topeka, Kansas; Lucius O., Parkville, Missouri; Mrs. Fannie Anders. 
Fi^esno, California; and Mrs. Etna Sayres, Seattle, Washington. 

To Mr and Mrs. Wilson have been born the follo^ving children: Mabel, 
married J. M. Anders, Parkville, Missouri; William H., Nashua, Missouri, 
married Miss Beryl Clardy, of Nashua; Frank 0., married Pearl Pratt. 
Nashua, Missouri; and Ethel, resides at home with her parents. There 
are five grandchildren in the Wilson family, as follows: Inez, William 
Frank, and Wilbur Wilson Anders; and Virginia Kathryn and DeForest 
Leon Wilson. 

William Newton Winn, now deceased, was an early settler in Clay 
County and a member of one of the early pioneer families of this part ot 
the state He was bom in Mercer County, Kentucky, in 1832 and died 
December 2. 1902. He was a son of Willis H. and Elizabeth Shipp (Bras- 
field) Winn. ^ ^ ,^. _. 

Willis H Winn was bom in Kentucky in 1796. He .came to Missoui. 
and entered government land in Howard County, in 1827, and the govern- 
ment land patent, signed by President J. Q. Adams, is still in the posses- 



HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 441 

sion of the Winn family. In 1850, Willis H. Winn came to Clay County 
with his family and settled in Gallatin township, where he bought a 
section of land which had been formerly owned by the Young-ers. Cole 
Younger's wife, Eleanor Younger, and her child are buried on°this place. 
Willis H. Winn was engaged in farming here until the time of his death 
in 1869. His wife died here March 1, 1875. 

Willis H. Winn and his first wife were the parents of one child, Wal- 
ler, born January 18, 1818, and died at the age of eighty-six years.' The 
following children were bom to the second union: William Newton, the 
subject of this sketch; George W., married Annie E. Nail; James B.,'died 
at the age of twenty-seven years ; Willis W. ; Bettie Roy, who married W. 
D. Oldham, died in 1871 ; and Mildred Alice, married James D. Wason and 
died in 1890. 

William Newton Winn came to Clay County, Missouri, from Cali- 
fornia, in 1856, and at his father's death inherited a part of the Winn 
homestead In 1850, he crossed the plains and went to California, where 
he remained until 1856. In 1874, he went to Carroll County, but returned 
to the old homestead eleven years later and remained here, engaged in 
farming and stock raising until his death. 

On October 9, 1872, ^^llliam Newton Winn was married to Geraldine 
Compton. She was the fourth of nine children born to James H. and 
Mar>' A. Compton. The Compton family is of English descent and Mrs. 
Winn's mother was of Scotch ancestry. 

To William Newton Winn and wife were born three children: Frank 
D., Mary Elizabeth, and James C, all residing on the home place. 

The Winns have been interested in stock raising for twenty-five 
years. In 1896, William Newton Winn and his son. Frank D., began 
breeding registered Poland China hogs and this partnership continued 
until the father's death. In 1901, Frank D. Winn formed a partnership 
with Thomas H. Mastin, of Mastin. Kansas. Mr. Mastin died in 1905 
and smce that time, Mr. Winn has been in business alone, although at 
intervals of a few years at a time he has not been engaged in the breeding 
business. 

Winnwood Beach, the well known outing resort which is located 
between Kansas City and Liberty, is on the Winn farm and is one of the 
favonte bathing, boating and fishing resorts within close proximity to 
Kansas City. This is an ideal place for bathing, fishing and general 
recreation. There are several lakes on the place which aggregate about 



^42 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

f „f«v TViP lakes are surrounded by natural growths 

Henry Kimbrell, a Civil War veteran, now residing at Belleview 
Station, Clay County, has been a resident of Mussoun smce 1874^ He 
was born in Estill County, Kentucky. March 18. 1844. and .s^a ^o.. o W 
-md Lavinia (Bragg) Kimbrell, the former a native of North Carolma 
:fd theTtte/of Kentucky, lliey both spent their lives in Kentucky and 

are buried in Powell County. .a 

Zry Kimbrell was still a youth when the ^-11 War broke out. and 
in August 1861, he enlisted in the Union ai-my m Powell County Ken- 
ucky H; became a member of Company E, Fourth Kentucky Infantxx 
vhfch was attached to the Second Brigade, Third D---'^^^^-'^;^^ 
Army Corps, Department of Cumberland, under command of Gen. Geoige 
H Thomas. Mr- Kimbrell was first sent to Camp Robmson, Kentucky. 
He took part in a number of important engagements and many sku-nushes. 
fnclulg Lookout Mountain and Missionary Ridge which were fought on 
November 24-25, 1863. He was in the battle of Mill- Sprmgs Kentucky. 
Stone Rver. Temiessee. Chickamauga, Georgia, and Shiloh. He was cap- 
tured at East Point Georgia, in 1864. and sent to AndersonvUle pnson 
Ire he was kept from July 21st until September 16th^ f ^'^^ ^ '^^ 
transferred to Camp Lowden prison, and from there to ^har estc^., Sou^^^^ 
Carolina; then to Florence, South Carolina, and from there to Gold.bug 
North Carolina, where he was paroled. He was mustered out of -seiv ce 
at Macon. Georgia. August 17. 1865 and received his discharge at Loui.- 

""\fte"rTlfe'close of the war. Mr. Kimbrell -turned to Kentucky, and 
was engaged in farming in Montgomery County until 1874. He then 
Tme to Missouri, and first located in Macon County. Eighteen moiiths 
later, he went to Audrain County and afterwards lived in Chariton, tar- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 443 

I'oll, and Platte Counties. In 1887, he came to Clay County where he 
lived until 1913, making his home near Smithville. He then removed to 
Liberty township and since thai time has lived with his son, Otis Kimbrell. 

Henry Kimbrell was married September 18, 1868 in Powell County, 
Kentucky, to Miss Elizabetii Anderson, a daughter of iVIeredith and 
Delilah (Johnson) Anderson. She was born in Clark County, Kentucky. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Kimbrell have been t>orn the following children: Anna, 
married Ed. Smith, Linden, Missouri; Ella, married Frank McClary, 
Smithville, Missouri ; Came, died in Chariton County at the age of three 
years; Otis, further mention of whom is made in this sketch; and Dollie. 

Otis Kimbrell, the only son of Henry Kimbrell, was educated in the 
public schools of Smithville, Missouri, and was engaged in farming and 
.stock raising until 1913. Since that time he has followed carpenter work 
and building. He owns a pleasant home at Belleview Station where he 
has a small, although valuable, fruit farm, where he raises apples, 
peaches and ben-ies. He is also successfully engaged in laising standard 
bred White Leghorn chickens. 



Thoma.s Benton Rogers, Jr., a successful farmer and stfjckman of 
Gallatin township, is a native of Clay County. He was born on the place 
where he now resides, November 20, 1890, and is a son of Thomas Ben- 
ton, Sr., and Nannie (Asher) Rogers. 

Thomas Benton Rogers, Sr., was born in Tennessee in 1834, and was 
brought to Clay County, Missouri, by his parents when he was three years 
old. He was a son of David S. Rogers who settled in Gallatin township, 
on the place near where the Rogers family now reside. David S. Rogers 
spent the remainder of his life here, after settling in Clay County and is 
buried in Crowley cemetei'y. 

Thomas Benton Rogers, Sr., was county surveyor of Clay County 
for over twenty years. He died in 1908, and his widow now resides on 
the home place with her son, Thomas B., Jr. Thomas Benton Rogers, 
Jr., was the only child bom to his parents. One child was bom to a 
fomier marriage of Thomas Benton Rogers, Sr., Florinda, who maiTied 
W. M. Leitch, of Kansas City, Missouri. 

Thomas Benton Rogers, Jr., was reared and educated in Clay County 
and has made farming and stock rai.sing his occupation. He i-aises sheep 
extensively, giving special attention to this branch of animal husbandrj' 



444 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

and usually keeps about 500 head or more. The Rodgers home place con- 
sists of 212 acres which Mr. Rogers operates himself, and he owns another 
farm of 160 acres which he rents. 

Rogers Climax Spring, which is located on the Rogers place, is becom- 
ing widely known as a mineral water of merit and is becommg very 
popular A chemical analysis of this water shows that it is a moderately 
alkaline chalybeate water of value; the amount of iron it contains is 
large enough to give it its special characteristic, while each one ot the 
other constituents increases its therapeutic vhtues. The sihca, though - 
reported as such, is probably in combination v^^th one of the alkalies and 
the amount of carbonic acid is large. 

Thomas B Rogers, Jr., was married August 31, 1910 to Miss Pear! 
Griffing, a daughter of John and Sallie (Hines) Griffing, of Liberty Mis- 
souri former residents of Caldwell County, Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Rogers have been bom two children: Flora Belle and Merie Bermce. 

Mr. Rogers is a member of the Masonic Lodge and one ot the well 
known and substantial citizens of Clay County. 

Thomas C. Gordon, deceased, was a pioneer settler of Clay County, 
and during the course of his career was prominently identified with the 
early development and progress of this county. He was a native of Ken- 
tucky and was reared and educated in that state. He was married there 
July 25 1830, to Miss Charlotte Grigsby, and in 1834. with his wile and 
two children, came to Clay County, Missouri, and settled in the then 
unbroken wilderness, eight miles northwest of Liberty, and here spent 
the remainder of his life. He became an extensive farmer and stock 
raiser and also bought and sold cattle. He became a large land ov^mer and 
was well-to-do at the time of his death, leaving each of his children a 
fann He took an active part in and was prominent in public affairs, and 
represented Clay County in the State Legislature several tei-ms, and was 
a member of that body at the time of his death. , , ,^ 

Thomas C. and Chariotte (Grigsby) Gordon were Hie parents of the 
following children: William F., born in Kentucky, June 24, 1831 ; Mary 
C bom in Kentucky, May 9, 1833, married James M. Clay; John Lewis, 
bora in Clay County, Missouri, March 30, 1835; Sarah F., born in Clay 
County. Missouri, April 2, 1837; Catherine M., bora m Clay County. 
Missouri, July 28, 1839, married A. B. Jones, and died J^""^ ^4 1920 , 
^rzelia, bora in Clay County, Missouri, April 6, 1841, married William M. 




THOMAS C. GORDON 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 447 

Pleas; James T., born in Clay County, Missouri, March 31, 1843; and 
Baylis Thornton, born in Clay County, Missouri, July 28, 1815. 

All of the above members of the Gordon family are deceased except 
Sarah F., who was married to Dr. Isaac Newton Greene, in 1869. He was 
a native of Bourbon County, Kentucky, and came to Missouri shortly after 
the Civil War and was engaged in the practice of medicine here about 
ten years, and is now deceased. Mrs. Greene resides on East Kansas 
street, where she has a comfortable home, and she has resided there for 
the past thirty-one years. She was educated in the schools of Liberty, 
and practically all of her life has been spent here. She still owns the 
farm which was left to her by her father at his death. She is a member 
of the Christian Church, as were her parents before her. She is one 
of the interesting pioneer women of Clay County. 

Charlotte (Grigsby) Gordon died in Clay County September 8, 1848, 
and in 1850 Thomas C. Gordon was married to Mrs. Emily J. Adams, a 
widow. She had one son by her foimer marriage, Eugene B. Adams, who 
married Miss Mattie Drake, and they had three .sons, all of whom are now 
living on the old Gordon. home farm in Platte township. 

Thomas C. Gordon died .January 8, 1866, one of the honored pioneers 
of Clay County. 



George Thomas Compton, of Gallatin township, is a representative 
of one of the prominent old pioneer families of Clay County. He is a son 
of James Howard and Mary Ann (Wirt) Compton. 

James Howard Compton was a native of Virginia, born in Prince 
William County in 1815. He came to Platte County, Missouri, in 1834, 
and for a number of years was engaged in the mercantile business at 
Platte City. He crossed the plains, following the Santa Fe Trail to Santa 
Fe, New Mexico, in 1846, or 1847, hauling govenmient supplies for the 
United States army during the Mexican War. He removed from Platte 
County to Clay County and for a number of years lived on a farm near 
Liberty. Later he removed to "Oak Ridge Farm", a name which he gave 
the place and which has since been the family home. 

Mary Ann (Wirt) Compton was born in Shelby County, Kentucky, 
in 1820, and died in Clay County in 1895; she and her husband who died 
in 1878, are buried in the William Jewell College Hill cemetery. She was 
a daughter of George Wirt who came from Kentucky to Missouri in 1833. 
His wife bore the maiden name of Sallie Redrick, and they were both 



lis HISTORY OF OL.\Y COUNTY 

natives of Virginia and at an early day went from A'irpinia to Kentucky 
and fi-om there came to Missouri. On their way fi-om Virginia to Ken- 
tucky thoy stopped to cai'e for the sick wife of one of their cousins, named 
Reddish. They remained with and cai-ed for tlie woman until she died. 
They then took her five motherless boys with them on their journey to 
Kentucky. They reared and oducitod tho.-e live lx)ys. all of whom becamt^ 
prominent professional men in Kentucky. 

To James Howard and IMary Ann (Wirt) Compton were born the 
following children: George Thomas Compton, Emma L. Compton, Anna 
Compton, who married D. J. Coon ; and Kosji Compton, who married S. I.. 
Fugitt all of whom reside at "Oak Ridge Farm", and Helen, the widow of 
W. D. Oldham of Kansjxs City, ^lissouri : and Geraldino, widow of William 
Newton Winn. Those deceased are Sarah A. Compton. Evelyn Compton, 
and Rettie, who married James M. ^^'eems. 

The Compton children were all educated in a private sclu>ol which 
was kno\\^l as Sugar Tree Grove Academy, which was an advanced institu- 
tion, having two very competent teachers. 

The residence of "Oak Ridge Fami" is one of the interesting historic 
old buildings of the county. The original structure was built in 1829 or 
1830. It was constructed of oak and walnut logs, on the plan of the one 
and one-half story pioneer home of those early days. It was remodeled 
in the fifties and slieeted. or sided with walnut siding, which were sawed 
on the place. The original building was a four room structure, but six 
rooms have been added. There were originally three tire places and in 
the course of remodeling and enlarging the old home, another fireplace 
has been added. 

The Compton family has been identified with the development of 
Clay County since the pioneer days and many memories of pioneer times 
and early day methods cluster around tlie fireside of this honored pioneer 
family. 



.\lbert Vest, a successful merchant of East Kansas City. Mis^ouri. 
is a native of Illinois. He was born at Colchester, Illinois, December 11, 
I860, a son of Daniel W. and Lucy Ann (Rich) \'est. both natives of 
Kentucky. 

Daniel \\'. Vest was born in Kentucky, JIarch 1, 183^.. and now lives 
at Cuba, Illinois. His wife was also bom in Kentucky, May 5, 1840. and 
died at Colchester. Illinois in 1884. They were the parents of the fol- 



HISTORY OK CLAY COUNTY 449 

lowing- children: Um Anna, marrUid A. B. Mcintosh, Ottumwa, Iowa; 
Emma J., n'larried William Dickason, Cuba, Illinois; Mary J., married 
William Marten, Kenosha, Wisconsin ; and Albert, the subject of this 
sketch. 

Albeii. Vest was reared at Colchester, Illinois, and attended the pub- 
lic schools there as did his sisters. In early life, he followed the voca- 
tion of coal mining and later he was engaged in farming. In 1890, he 
came to Missouii and .settled at Randolph, Clay County. Here he bought 
some property and for twelve years was rural mail carrier out of Ran- 
dolph. October 22, 1919, Mr. Vest purchased his present mercantile 
business and since that time he has conducted a general store at East 
Kiinsas City. He carries a very complete line of general merchandise 
and has an extensive patronage. 

November 1, 1892, Albert Vest was married to Fannie Daw.son of 
Randolph, Missouri. She is the daughter of W. H. and Anna J. (Robin- 
son) Dawson. W. H. Dawson was a native of Virginia and an early 
settler in Clay County ; he spent the latter part of his life here. He died 
in 1904, at the age of seventy-five years. His wife was a native of Ken- 
tucky and they were married in that state. She died in 1914, and their 
remains are buried in the Crowley cemetery. Mrs. Vest is one of the 
following children bom to her parents: Addie, married W. N. Lyles, of 
Kan.sa3 City, Mis.souri ; Anna, married Benjamin Cazzell, of Kansas City, 
Kansas; Luther, lives at Winnwood, Missouri; Beauregard. Kansas City, 
Missouri ; and Mrs. Vest. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Albert Vest have been bom the follov/ing chUdren: 
Bernard, married Elizabeth Smith, Lathrop, Missouri; Irene, married M. 
L. McFanen and died in 1918, at the age of twenty-one years, being a 
victim of the "flu" epidemic of that year ; Dewey and Eloise at home with 
their parents. Mr. and Mrs. Vest have two grandchildren. Jack Vest and 
Vol G. McFairen. 

Mr. Vest is a progressive citizen, as well as an enterprising merchant 
and he is an asset to the citizenship of Clay County. 



Colonel Doniphan Wymore, of Liberty U^Avnship, is a successful 
farmer and stockman and one of the v.'ell known breeders of Clay County. 
He is a native of this county and war, bom about one and one-half miles 
south of Liberty, on what is now the Bell farm, November 26, 1874. He 
is a .son of George W. and Sallie (Turner) Wymore. 



450 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

George W. Wymore was born near Lexington, Kentucky, in 1829, 
and came to Clay County, Missouri, with his parents in 1843. He was a 
son of Samuel Wymore, who, upon coming to Clay County in the above 
mentioned year, settled south of Liberty on the place that is now owned 
by John Conley. Samuel Wymore and wife spent the remainder of their 
lives in Clay County after coming here and their remains are buried in 
a private burial ground on the Conley place. 

George W. Wymore was well known as the most successful horse and 
mule breeder of his time in Clay County. He raised and sold more high 
class horses than any other man during his active career. He died in 
Liberty township, March 12, 1909, at the age of eighty-four years, and 
his wife departed this life July 17, 1917, in her eighty-fourth year. 

George W. Wymore and wife were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: John, Craig, Colorado; Walter, San Francisco, California; Thomas, 
Grandview, Missouri ; Andrew P., Randolph, Missouri ; Lila, married John 
Donaldson, Liberty, Missouri ; Bessie, Chicago, Illinois ; Mattie, Kansas 
City, Missouri ; Colonel Doniphan, the subject of this sketch ; Nannie, mar- 
ried Ade Arnold and died at Liberty in 1907; Oscar was killed by a bull 
in 1899; Charles died in 1911, at the age of fifty-six years. 

Colonel D. Wymore was reared in Liberty township and since early 
life, like his father before him, he has given special attention to breeding 
high class mules, in connection with general farming and other stock 
raising. He usually keeps on hand between ten and twenty head of 
mules and is recognized as one of the breeders of high class mules of the 
state. Some of his animals are usually exhibited at the Missouri State 
Fair and other fairs with satisfactory results. The Wymore farm con- 
tains 160 acres of well improved land and is located five miles south of 
Liberty on the Birmingham road. It is a well improved place and is con- 
veniently arranged for stock raising and general farming. The place 
is supplied by water pumped to a tank by a hydraulic ram and distributed 
from there by gravity to various points of convenience. 

Colonel D. Wymore was man-ied June 22, 1898, to Miss Fannie Ligon, 
a daughter of Benjamin Ligon and wife, who were early settlers in Clay 
County and now deceased. Further history concerning the Ligon family 
will be found in connection with the sketch of Charles L. Ligon in this 
volume. To Mr. and Mrs. Wymore have been bom four children, as fol- 
lows: Harold, Frances, Doniphan and George W., all residing at home 
with their parents. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 451 

Mr. Wymore is a member of the Independent Order of the Odd Fel- 
lows and is a Democrat. 



James Hughes, now deceased, was an early settler in Clay County 
and for many years, during his active career, was prominently identified 
with the development of southera Clay County; three generations of the 
Hughes family have been worthy citizens of this county. James Hughes 
was bom in Providence, Rhode Island, in 1837, and died at his home in 
Clay County, July 27, 1912. He was a son of Patrick and Sarah (McGarr) 
Hughes. 

Patrick Hughes and his wife were both natives of County Tyrone, 
Ireland. They were married in Providence, Rhode Island. In 1837, when 
James Hughes, the subject of this sketch, was an infant, his parents came 
west and located in Clay County. They settled on the place which is now 
owned by the Hughes family, near Birmingham, Patrick Hughes buying 
this fann from Larkin Broyles who entered the land from the govern- 
ment. Patrick Hughes spent the remainder of his life here and died in 
1873. His wife preceded him in death a number of years, having died 
in 1846, leaving her husband with the care of three small children: 
James, the subject of this sketch; Mary, who married Thomas Ward, of 
Clinton County; and Sarah, who died in August, 1882, unmarried. Pat- 
rick Hughes and his wife are buried in a private cemetery on the home 
fann. 

James Hughes was reaied on the home place, in Clay County, and 
educated in the pioneer schools in that vicinity. At the death of his 
father, he and his sister inherited the home place which consisted of 
eighty acres. Later he added about 300 acres to the old home place, 
which now constitutes the family home. He bought and sold a number 
of farms during the course of his career, and was a successful man of 
affairs. He was interested in fanning and stock raising all his life and 
also did some real estate business. He was a successful man in his under- 
takings and a dependable citizen who had a wide acquaintance and many 
friends. 

James Hughes was married in Kansas City, Missouri, September 6, 
1885, to Miss Alice Hope, a daughter of Luke and Alice (Gormley) Hope, 
both natives of Westmeath County, Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Hope were 
married in their native land, the ceremony being performed at Mullengar, 
November 4, 1841, by the Reverend Bernard Masterson. Luke Hope and 



452 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

his wife came to America in 1842, and after a short stay in New York, 
settled in Clark County, Ohio, where they were living when the Civil War 
broke out. He enlisted in the Union army and served throughout the 
war and about the time the war ended, in 1865, he died in a military hos- 
pital at David's Island, in New York harbor. Some time after her hus- 
band's death, Mrs. Hope came west with her family of children and set- 
tled on a farm four miles north of Liberty, where she died February 27, 
1883. Mrs. Hughes has one brother, John T. Hope, who lives in Kansas 
City, Missouri. 

To James Hughes and wife were born four children: Joseph P., on 
the home farm with his mother; James L., married Miss Frances Clara 
Smith, of Kansas City; Charles I. and Mary A. 

Joseph P. Hughes, the oldest son of James Hughes and wife, is a 
veteran of the World War. He enlisted in the United States army, De- 
cember 7, 1917, at Kansas City, Missouri, and was sent to Jacksonville, 
Florida, for training. He was in the Remount Department of the army 
for about seven months when he was commissioned a second lieutenant. 
Shortly afterwards, he was sent to France with a detachment of 300 men. 
He was sent to the advance zone for duty with the First Army of the 
American Expeditionary forces and assigned to duty in the Third Corps 
in the Argonne. After the armistice was signed, he w-ent with the Third 
Army of Occupation in Gennany. He returned to Amei'ica, August 25, 
1919, and received his honorable discharge after twenty-one months of 
service. 

Mrs. Hughes and her sons have a valuable fann of about 300 acres 
where they are successfully engaged in cari-ying on general farming and 
stock raising. The Hughes place is well miproved, having a good modern 
residence which was built in 1912 and the other buildings about the place 
are of a substantial character and kept in good condition. The Hughes 
family is well known and highly respected in Clay County. 



David Thomas Bronaugh, now deceased, was a native of Clay County 
and during his life time was prominently identified with the agricultural 
interests of this county. He was bom near Antioch church in Gallatin 
towiiship, April 25, 1843, and died May 15, 1914. He was a son of John 
and Hannah (Morton) Bronaugh, early pioneer settlers of Clay County. 

John Bronaugh was a native of Virginia, born at Spottsylvania Court 
House, August 22, 1798. He was a cashier in a bank at Maysville, Ken- 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 453 

tucky. In 1842 he settled in Clay County, Missouri, and at that time 
bought a place in Gallatin township which is now a part of the David T. 
Bronaugh estate. He was engaged in farming after coming to Missouri 
and died on his place in Gallatin township in December, 1883. His wife 
died June 30, 1890, and they are buried at Barry, Missouri. The children 
born to John and Hannah (Morton) Bronaugh were: David Thomas, 
the subject of this sketch; Anna, married John Park; Mary Mildred, died 
at the age of three years; Virginia Morton, died at the age of one year; 
and Fannie M., died at the age of twenty-three years. There ai-e no sur- 
viving members of the John Bronaugh family. 

David Thomas Bronaugh was reared in Clay County and educated in 
the public schools and'William Jewell College. When the Civil War broke 
out he enlisted in the Confederate army in a Missouri company, under 
Captain McCarty. Later, he was transferred to the 16th Arkan.sas In- 
fantry. He took part in a number of impoi*tant engagements of the Civil 
War and suffered many hardships and privations, common to the lot of 
a soldier. He was severely wounded at the battle of Corinth, Mississippi, 
and was left on the battle field and reported as having been killed. Fed- 
eral soldieivs found him and after recovering from his wounds, he escaped 
but was taken prisoner again by the Federals at Port Hudson and sent to 
Johnson's Island as a prisoner of war. He was transferred from there 
and afterwards confined in other Federal prison camps, including Morris 
Island and Ft. Pulaski. He suffered unusual hardships while a prisoner, 
owing to the fact tliat he was one of si.x hundred Confederate prisoners 
who refused to take the oath of allegiance. While in the ai'uiy, he was 
commissioned a lieutenant and served as adjutant. At the close of the 
war, he returned to Clay County and was .■^ucce.ssfully engaged in farming 
and stock raising here during the remainder of his life. 

On May 18, 1871, Da\id Thomas Bronaugh was married to Miss 
Mary Waller, a daughter of Esme M. and -Jane (Moffett) Waller, early 
settlei-s of Clay County. Esme Waller was born iii eastern Maiyland and 
his wife was a native of Kentucky. The Waller family came from Ken- 
tucky to Missouri and after spending one winter in the vicinity of St. 
Louis, they settled in Saline County and after remaining there a year 
came to Clay County in 1855. Esme Waller died January 18, 1892 and 
his wife died May 26, 1893. They were the parents of the following 
children: Alexander H., who sei-ved as circuit judge for thirteen years 
and is now a prominent attorney at Moberly, Missouri ; Mrs. Mary Bro- 



454 HISTOKV OF CLAY COUNTY 

iiaugh of this sketch; and George Cotinau Wallei-, who was bom Novem- 
ber 30. 1850 and died June 15, 1909, sensed as county collector of Clay 
County for two terms and was one of the widely and fa\-orably known 
men of this county. 

The Waller family is of Englisl'. origin and the first records we have 
of the family in this country appears in the church records in eastern 
Maryland during the sixteenth century. Esme M. Waller, Mi-s. Bro- 
naugh's father, was a son of Eben Cotnian Waller, who was born at 
Somerset, Maryland, in 1771 ; his wife. Anne Waller, was Ixun in eastern 
Maiyland. April 12. 1782, and they moved to Kentucky in 1804. 

To David Thomas and Mary (Wallei*) Bronaugh were born two sons: 
John Esme and David Waller. 

John Esme Bronaugh attended the public schools and afterwards 
entered William Jewell College at Liberty where he was graduated in the 
class of 1894. Since that time he has been en8"aged in fanning on the 
home place and has won a wide reputation as a successful breeder of 
Shorthorn cattle. He i-aises pure bred cattle and is recognized as one of 
the successful breeders of the state. 

David Waller Bronaugh is engaged in larming on ihe home place and 
is one of the successful fanners and stockmen of Clay County. He mar- 
ried Miss Stella Scott, a daughter of J. R. and Rosanna (Aker) Scott. 

The Bronaugh family is one of the representative prominent pioneer 
families of Clav Countv. 



John M. Blevins. a well known and highly respected citizen of Galla- 
tin townsliip, who is engaged in farming and stock raising on his farm, 
one and one-half miles northeast of Linden, is a native of Kansas. He 
wa.s bom in Jefferson County. Kansas. October 20, 1866. and is a son 
of Wilhajii and Martha (Chandler) Blevins. 

William Blevins was a native of County Armagh, Ireland. He came 
to America in 1850 and for a time remained in Ohio, where he was 
employed as a locomotive fireman. He then went to Ft. Leavenworth and 
was engaged in freighting across the plains, and made three trips from 
Leavenworth to Ft. Laramie, in the capacity of wagon master with the 
overland wagon trains of the early days. He then took up a claim of 
Government land in Jefferson County. Kansas, pj-oved up on it and made 
his home there for the remainder of his life. He was a successful farmer 
and stockman and met with a reasonable degree of success. He died in 




JOHN M. UI.KVIXS 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 457 

1886 and his remains were bui-ied in Pleasant View cemetery, at Oskaloosa, 
Kansas. 

Martha (Chandler) Blevins was born in Clay County, near what is 
now North Kansas City. She is a daughter of William Chandler who was 
one of the very early settlers of Clay County, and entered Government 
land in Gallatin township. He died in this township and was burled on 
his old home place. Mrs. Blevins now resides at Oskaloosa, Kansas. 

The following children were bom to William and Martha (Chandler) 
Blevins: James C, Kansas City, Missouri; John M., the subject of this 
sketch; William, was born at Oskaloosa, Kansas, in 1861 and died there 
in 1918; Elizabeth, widow of E. B. Slade, of Oskaloosa, Kansas, has been 
engaged in teaching there for the past fifteen years; and Sarah E., mar- 
ried J. F Hanssen, of Gallatin township. 

John M. Blevins was reared in Jefferson County, Kansas, and edu- 
cated in the public schools at Oskaloosa. the Oskaloosa College and Spald- 
ings Commercial School of Kansas City, Missouri. He was engaged in 
farming in Jefferson County for five j-ears and came to Clay County, 
locating at Linden. He bought his present place in 1896. It is a part of 
the old Hiram Fugitt farm and contains 120 acres. Mr. Blevins has made 
extensive improvements and has erected good farm buildings and made 
other improvements of a substantial character, and has one of the 
attractive places of Clay County. There are a number of natural shade 
trees on the place which add greatly to its comfort and general beauty, 
and the place slopes gently which affords natural drainage. 

John M. Blevins was married January 10, 1893,. to Miss Anna Beeler, 
of Louisville, Kentucky, the youngest of fourteen children of Presly 
Beeler. Mrs. Blevins died in 1907 and is buried in Fairview cemetery at 
Liberty, Missouri. To John M. Blevins and wife were bom four children, 
as follows : Beeler, Esther M., William Edwards and Fred. 

Beeler Blevins served in the Aviation Department of the United States 
Army during the World War. He enlisted in January, 1918, and was 
first sent to Ft. Wayne, near Detroit, Michigan, then to Ithaca, New 
York, and later to Arcadia, Florida. After the close of the war he Avas 
discharged, July 10, 1919, with the rank of second lieutenant. He was 
married May 24, 1917, to Viva Gray, of Olathe, Kansas, and they have 
one daughter, Helen E. 

Esther M. Blevins married J. J. Sevage, and they have one daughter, 
Mary Ann. 



458 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

' William Edwards Blevins was one of the American boys who won a 
gold star with his life in the World War. He was bom July 28, 1898, 
and at the age of twenty he enlisted in Company B, Third Eegmient, 
Kansas Infantry April 4, 1917, and received his honorable discharge from 
the Kansas National Guard, upon entering the Federal Service, August 
5 1917 He left Oskaloosa with his company September 24, 1917, for 
Ft Sill" Oklahoma, and went overseas with his command in April, 1918. 
He was killed in the battle of Argonne Forest September 28, 1918. He 
was a member of the Christian Church at Barry, Missouri 

Fred Blevins enlisted in the United States Army in July, 1918, and 
was sent to Maine as a member of the Fifth Anti-Air Craft Battalion 
He was sent overseas in September, 1918, and remained in Fi-ance until 
after the armistice was signed, when he returned to the United States 
and received his honorable discharge. He is now in Kansas City. 

John M Blevins takes an active interest in local affairs. He has 
served as justice of the peace of Gallatin to^^'nship since 1918. He was 
one of the organizers of the Bank of Linden and has been a member of 
the board of directors since the bank was organized. He is a member, 
of the Masonic Lodge, Rising Sun Lodge No. 13, Barry, Missouri; Con- 
sistory, Kansas City, Missouri; Ararat Temple, Mystic Shnne, also of 
Kansas City, Missouri. Mr. Blevins belongs to several lodges. 

Walter Carpenter, who is successfully engaged in small fruit farm- 
ing near Randolph. Missouri, is a native of Indiana. He was born near 
La Grange, Indiana, and was reared in Wills County of that state. His 
parents were Lyman and Elizabeth (Cothrell) Carpenter, both natives ot 
New York They were married in Michigan and aftenvards removed to 
Indiana and both spent their lives in that state. The father died in 1905 
and the mother in 1912. 

Walter Carpenter was one of ths following children born to his par- 
ents- Albert, lives in Ft. Wayne. Indiana; Charles. Ft. Wayne, Indiana; 
Mrs Emma Cline. Ossian, Indiana; William, died while serving in the 
Union army in the Civil War; Walter, the subject of this sketch; Newton. 
died about fifty years of age at Ossian. Indiana; Orlando, died at Oss.an. 
Indiana; and Frank, died in southern Missouri. 

Walter Cai-penter was reared in Indiana and attended the public 
schools there. When he was eighteen years old. he started in life for 
himself and shortly aftenvards came to Clay County, Missouri, arming 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 459 

here in 1869. For several years, he followed saw mill work, for which he 
received thirty dollars a month. In 1898, he bought his present place 
on the river bottoms near Randolph. He met with considerable loss dur- 
ing the flood of 1903, much of his land being washed by the river. How- 
ever, he has been successfully engaged in truck faraiing and raising small 
fruits, vegetables and alfalfa. 

Mr. Cai-penter was married January 5, 1871, to Miss Frances Curry, a 
daughter of Leroy Curry, a pioneer of Clay County, further mention of 
whom is made in this volume in connection with the sketch of Alonzo 
Macken. To Mr. and Mrs. Carj^enter have been born three children as 
follows: Mabel, mamed Thomas Williams and they live in Los Angeles, 
California; William Jewell, who is employed by the Standard Oil Com- 
pany at Sheffield, Missouri; Letta, married Robert Morgan, of Moscow, 
Missouri. One son and a daughter died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Car- 
penter have the following grandchildren: Carl, Ralph and Helen Car- 
penter; Lynn, Lucile, Frances, Wargaruite. and Thomas Williams; and 
Robert Jewell and Geneva Morgan. 

, Mr and Mrs. Carpenter celebrated their golden wedding anniversary 
on .January 5, 1921. They are highly respected citizens and stand high 
in Clay County. Mr. Carpenter is a member of the Anti-Horse Thief 
Protective Association. 



E. B. Land, a successful fanner and stockman of Liberty township, 
is a native of Virginia. He was bom in Hanover County, July 25, 1853, 
a son of William and Helen (Snead) Land. The father died in Virginia 
in 1858, when E. B. Land of this review was about five years old. Later 
E. B. Land, his mother and sister, Helen, and a cousin, Pole Binford, 
came to Clay County, Mis.'^ouri. This was in 1869. Helen (Snead) Land 
was a native of Hanover County, Virginia, and died in Burlington, Kan- 
sas, in 1884, while there visiting his daughter. 

A. E. Higginson, a half brother of E. B. Land, graduated from Beth- 
any College and when the Civil War broke out he enlisted in the Con- 
federate army in 1861, serving throughout the war. After the war 
closed, he came to Missouri and settled in Platte County and taught school 
in Platte and Clay counties for a number of years. He died in 1916. 

E. B. Land was one of three children born to his parents, the other 
two being Mrs Sophia Fitzgerald, deceased, and Mrs Helen A. Woods, of 



-160 HISTORY OP CLAY COUNTY 

Liberty. E. B. Land has lived in Clay County for the past foi-ty years, 
with the exception of about five years when he lived near Barry in Platte 
County. He began fanning and stock raising in early life and has de- 
voted himself to that vocation. For the past twenty-six years he has 
operated the Captain Dougherty farm in Liberty towniship as lessee. 
Mr. Land, with his son, Fi-ed W., also ovn\ a valuable fami of eighty aci-es 
in Liberty township and that place is operated by his son. He also owns 
residence propei-ty in Kansas City, Missouri. 

September 16, 1875, E. B. Land was married to Miss Ida L. Wilson, a 
daughter of John and Martha (Arnold) Wilson. John Wilson was born 
near Barry, Clay County, in 1824. He was a son of John Wilson who 
was one of the first settlei-s in Clay County and entered go\ernment land 
here. John Wilson, Mi-s. Land's father, spent his entire life in Clay 
County on the place where he was born. He died in December, 1900. 
IMartha (Arnold) Wilson was bom in Woodford County, Kentucky, in 
1830, and came to Clay County with her brother-in-law and sister. She 
was educated in the old college in Liberty and spent the remainder of 
her life in this county after coming here. She died in 1911 and she and 
her husband are buried in the Barry cenieterj'. They were the parents 
of the following children: Mrs. Elizabeth Waller, William A. Wilson, 
John V. Wilson, IMrs. Je.-^sie Givens, deceased ; Mrs. John Harns, deceased : 
and Mrs. E. B. Land, of this review. 

To Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Land have been bom three children: Helen 
Maude, mamed C. M. Kilgore, Nashua, Missouri; Fred W., a fanner and 
stockman of Liberty township ; and Albert W. who is engaged in the cloth-, 
ing businesg at Liberty, Missouri. The following are the grandchildren 
of Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Land: Edwin Allen, Charles Anthony, John 
Barker, Helen and Mary Frances Kilgore: and Maiy Helen, Albert, Jr. 
and Charlotte Land. 

Mr. Land is a Democrat and has been a candidate for the nomination 
of county assessor. He takes a commendable interest in local affairs and 
is public spirited and progressive. 



Claude F. Knighton, an enterprising and successful merehant who 
has been engaged in the mercantile business at Gashland, Missouri, for 
the past twenty years, is a native of Clay County and a descendant of one 
of the pioneer families of this section of Missouri. He was bom a half 
mile north of Gashland, Februarj- 8, 1869, and is a son of Ezra F. and 
Margaret (Johnson) Knighton. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 461 

Ezra Knighton was bom in Morristown, New Jersey, May 'i, 1823, 
and died in Clay County in 1908, at the advanced age of eighty-five years. 
He came to Missouri in 1842, and settled at Parkville. He was a car- 
penter and worked at his trade in Platte County and was employed in the 
construction of the first court house in that county. His father was a 
native of England and settled in New Jersey at an early date. 

Margaret (Johnson) Knighton was bom in Kentucky and came to 
Clay County with her parents at a vei-y early date in the settlement of 
this county. The Johnson family entered government land in Gallatin 
township about one-half mile north of Gashland and this land is now 
owned by the Knighton brothers, whose grandfather entered it from the 
government. Mr. Johnson spent the remainder of his life on this farm 
and he and his wife are buried in a private cemeteiy. Margaret (John- 
son) Knighton died in 1880. 

The following children were born to Ezra F. and Margaret (Johnson) 
Knighton: Benia, on the home place; Alice, married F. M. Williams of 
Barry, Missouri ; John R., a farmer and stockman, Linden, Missouri ; 
Charles, lives at Hampton, Missouri; Daniel C, Platte City, Missouri; 
Claude F., the subject of this sketch ; and William S., resides on the home 
place. 

Claude F. Knighton was reared in Gallatin township and attended 
the Fair\'iew school. His brother, William S., was educated at the same 
school, but the older children attended school in a log school house which 
stood across the street from where Mr. Knighton's store i.s now located. 
Claude F. Knighton lx)ught a new stock of goods and engaged in the 
mercantile business at Gashland on April 7, 1901. His business is located 
in the Carpenter Building and he carries a very complete stock of gen- 
eral merchandise and does an extensive business. His patronage comes 
from a large scope of territory surrounding Gashland. During the many 
years he has been engaged in business here he has built a wide reputation 
for honesty and square dealing which has been an important factor in 
the development of his business. Mr. Knighton is a member of the 
Masonic Lodge at Barry, ha\ang been made a Mason in 1898. 



P'rancis Marion William.s, is a native of Missouri and a descendant 
of a pioneer family of Clay and Platte counties. He was bom in Platte 
County, May 14, 1844, and is a son of Edward and Frances (Turner) 
Williams, both natives of Kentucky. 

Edward Williams was bom in Scott County, Kentucky, in 1815. and 



^g2 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

died in 1891. His ^v-ife was a native of Woodford County, Kentucky, and 
died in 85 and their remains are buried m Barry cemetery. They were 
married in Scott County, Kentucky, and came to Missoun, -ttlmg near 
GasTland in 1839. Shortly after coming to Missouri, Edward W.lham 
Id a brother chopped wood for forty cents a cord for a man who operated 
a di tme y Ifter they had completed their work they had to take a 
bar e of whisky for pay. They took the whisky home expectmg to s 11 
■t later but they had so many visitors that winter that m the spnng the . 

^'^iL^SloXg children were born to Edward and Frances (^..er, 
Williams: William Hemy, bom in Sco^^^^-f ' ^^'^^"^^^^^^ 
there- Oscar F., born in Kentucky and died m Jackson County, Kansas 
G^^'e Thomas, died in Salida, Colorado; Francis Marion, the subject of 
STs Setch; Amanda, the widow of John W. Belt, of Norbome, Missoun 
Adela vklow of Richard Elliott, Parkville, Missouri; Jenme, mamed 
Henry Wheeler, Columbia, Missouri; Edward, died in Carroll County^Mis- 
foun; Benjamin, lives at Barry. Missouri; and Kate, married Henry 
Brown. Randolph, Missouri. . . 

Fi'ancis Marion Williams was reared and educated m the xacimty o 
Barry, Missouri, and at the age of seventeen years he enlisted m the 
Confederate army in Captain WoodsmalVs company and sei-ved in Gen^ 
Joe Shelby's brigade. He was taken prisoner m the fall of 1862 while 
in TexL County Missouri. He was taken to Rolla, Missouri, and from 
here to St. Louis where he was paroled. While a prisonei- of war he 
suffered greatly for want of proper food and clothing and h,s hea^h 
became very much impaired. He attributes his recovery to the caie 
ZT^^Z the Sisters of Charity who found hini while he was at the 
point of death and cared for him and nursed him back to health. Dui- 
L the war, he recalls that on one occasion he paid in Confederate money, 
ten dollars for a postage stamp and envelope with which to write home. 
He retui-ned home in March. 1863. and in 1864, he made the tnp to Den- 
ver Colorado, with a herd of cattle. He was in the employ of the gov- 
ernment as teamster with the United States troops in the west, and m 
that capacity had much experience with hostile Indians who were on the 
waiath at Ihat time. He was with the Second Colorado Battery under 
command of Lieutenant Ayers when they had a hot engagement ^Mth 
Sans on Smoky Hill about forty miles northeast of Ft^ Lamed ^ in 
1864. Twenty-six men were killed in that engagement. He was al* 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 463 

in an engagement with the Indians at Sand Creek, where 300 Indians 
were killed, but none of the troops were lost. In the spring of 1865, he 
went to Denver where he was employed in a government blacksmith shop 
until October of that year. He then returned home and since that time 
has resided in Clay and Platte counties, with the exception of three 
years when he lived in Jefferson County, Kansas. 

April 9, 1876, Francis Marion Williams was married to Miss Alice 
Knighton, a daughter of E. F. and Matilda M. (Johnson) Knighton, both 
of whom are now deceased and their remains are buried in the cemetery 
at Barry, Missouri. Mrs. Williams was bom in Barry and reared and 
educated there. To Mr. and Mrs. Williams have been born two sons: 
Edward K., married Bertie Spencer, a daughter of R. W. Spencer, of 
Barry, Missouri, and they have one son, Rollin Williams ; and Frank May 
Williams, resides at home with his parents. He is employed in the 
railway mail service as postal clerk, between Kansas City, Missouri, and 
Siloam Springs, Arkansas. During the World War he wanted to enlist 
in the heavy artillery but was rejected and later was inducted into service 
and when the armistice was signed he was at Liberty, Missouri, ready 
to start to Kelly Field, San Antonio, Texas, but was never ordered there. 
He received his discharge and a government vouchei' for one day's service. 
He never got his voucher cashed, but keeps it as a souvenir. 

Francis Marion Williams was a candidate for representative on the 
Populist ticket about thirty years ago, but later refused to accept the 
nomination on the same ticket. He has had an unusual experience during 
the course of his active career and is one of the interesting and substan- 
tial citizens of Clay County. 



P. D. Hodge, cashier of the Security Bank of Avondale, is one of the 
progressive and enterprising bankers of Clay County. He was bom near 
Mexico, Missouri, May 8, 1888, and is a son of J. R. and Dora B. (Younger) 
Hodge, who now reside at Laddonia, Missouri. 

P. D. Hodge was educated in the States Teachei's College at Kirks- 
ville, Missouri, Central College at Fayette, Missouri, and the Dakota Busi- 
ness College at Fargo, North Dakota. In 1912, he accepted a position 
with the Farmers Bank of Laddonia, Missouri, and remained with that 
institution until 1914. He then went with the Lewiston State Bank at 
Lewiston, Montana, where he became assistant cashier and remained until 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 
464 

Decanbe,-, 1918, wl,en he accepted the Position », assisUnt cashier ot the 
EmpiveBankandTrustCompany o thatc,ty^ ^^^ ^^^_^.^^ 

Mr. Hodge became >"t"«''''^ '" February 28 1920, with a paid up 
Bank °* A7^f'« *tra?At baTstarted b„si„e;s with deposit. 
""''";„!lol318r00 At this "riting the deposits amount to over 
amounting to ^di,»uu.oo. -^.Htntinn has had a substantial and 

?rtrr4tvtrirt :::rr^ - -. ^^^^^^^^^^^^ 
rt;rrrod:cLrr::.xro^-^^^^^^^ H.^conne„ .. 

A. C. Watkins, directors. ^ j^^^ ^ 

P n Hodffe was married June 7, 1915, to miss re "^^ ,„„ 

daulter of G W. and Laura Ti-iplett of Triplett, Missoviri. Mrs. Hodge 
was educated in Howard Payne College at Fayette. Missouri. To Mi. 
Ind M^r Hodge have been born^one^ter, Mav,or,e Dons. 

rh«rl« L Ligon, a well known farmer and stockman of Gallatin 
.„ Jht" a''de?cLdLnt o, an ear, pioneer ^^.^^ «-- ^ ^ 
bom in Gallatin township August 18, 1863, a son 

"'"Sarw Cfwas bom in Gallatin to,™ship Clay County, in 

.„r "1^9. He L a son ;^^:^'z^':^^:^^^^^ 

very early pioneer settlers of M ssoun. ««"«««»" ^^ „„, „, 

what was known as the Booneshck Country m K16, wh.ch 
the earliest f«em-ts that far jes ;' * j'^, ^ totship. and here 
rpe^^heZld-er :tr«?:,"He'and hi, wife are buried on the fa,. 

which is now owned by Lee Story. manhood 

J wr T {<ynr\ father of Charles L. L-igon, gic" ^-^ 
Leonard W. Ligon, ^atner ^^^^^ ^^ ^^^^ ^^^ 

amidst the pioneer surroundings m Cla^ (^unty ^g^i ^^^n 

fanning here ^-ng his entire life, e^cep^^^^^^^^^ of ^^^^ ^^^ ^^^ 
he went to California during ^^f ^f ^. '™'J p^„a„,a. He died in 
overland but returned by way of t^e ^^^^^^^^^^^ bounty and 

r r rSiembe? ^^^^ and her husband are buHed in 
Little Shoal Church cemetery. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 467 

Charles L. Ligon is one of the following children born to his parents : 
William B., of Kearney, Missouri; John, who was accidently killed by 
a kick from- a horse; Susie, married Alex Davis, died in September, 1886; 
Alvin, died at the age of thirty-two years : Charles L., the subject of this 
sketch; Eddie, died at the age of two years; Emmet A., a farmer and 
stockman, three miles south of Liberty ; Leonard W., died at the age of 
thirty years ; Allie, married Frank Dobbins, ElCampo, Texas ; and Walter, 
Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

Charles L. Ligon was reared in Gallatin township and attended school 
in the Bell school district. He lived in Clinton County for nine years, 
and in 1900 he and his brother, Emmet A. Ligon, purchased a farm of 
240 acres in Gallatin township, known as the Carr Dougherty farm. The 
brothers improved the place and brought it under a high state of culti- 
vation, and in 1909 Charles L. Ligon bought his brother's interest in the 
farm, which he still owns and operates. It is a valuable farm and well 
improved. He carries on general farming and stock raising and has been 
successful. In former years he fed cattle for the market extensively, 
but in recent years he has given more attention to raising hogs. 

Mr. Ligon was married in September, 1889, to Miss Elizabeth Leach 
of Plattsburg, Missouri. She is a daughter of Iiloyd and Mary (Haynes) 
Leach, the father, a native of Kentucky, and the mother, of Claj^ County. 
Lloyd B. Leach lived to the advanced age of ninety-eight years, and he 
and his wife are buried at Plattsl)urg, Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. Chai'les 
L. Ligon have been bom one son. John Henry Ligon, who was lx)rn 
August 16, 1890. 

Emmet A. Ligon, brother of Cliarles L., mentioned above as having 
been associated with his brother in the ownership and management of 
the fai-m, is now engaged in farming and stock raising in Clay County, 
south of Liberty. He was married, September 24, 1903, to Miss Mattie 
Pryor, a daughter of Captain B. B. Pryor, of Smithville, Missouri. He died 
at the age of ninety-six years, and Mrs. Ligon's mother died when Mrs. 
Ligon was a child. To Emmet A. Ligon and wife have been bom the 
following children: Joseph Leonard. Allen Pryor, and Charles P., who 
died at the age of two years. 



Oswald E. Claidy, a well known farmer and stockman of Gallatin 
township, is a native of Missouri and a descendant of a pioneer family. 
He was born in Platte County, August 7, 1864, a son of Garland C. and 
Margaret V. (Waller) Clardy. 



46g HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Garland C Clardv came to Missouri with his parents, Giles C. and 
Minta Clardv from Kentucky in 1837. He was born in 1836. Upon com- 
ing to Missouri the Clardy family settled near Mt. Olivett church and 
later settled east of Gashland on a place which is now oxraed by the 
Clardy brothers. Garland C. Clardy grew to manhood in this %acmity 
and in early life taught school for a number of years and later devoted 
his attention to fai-ming and stock raising. He died in 1905. Margaret 
V (Waller) Clardy was bom in Platte County in 1844. She was a mem- 
ber of a prominent pioneer family of this section further mention of whom 
is made in this volume. She died in April 15, 1920. 

Garland C. Clardy was a man of strong influence who took a com- 
mendable interest in the affairs of Clay County. He was one of the 
organizers of the Mt. Olivett Christian church and for many years was 
an elder in that church. He was a stanch Democrat and a member of 
the Masonic and Independent Order of Odd Fellows lodges. The Eastern 
Star lodge of Smithville was named in his honor. 

To Gariand C. and Margaret V. (Waller) Clardy were born the fol- 
lowing children: Madeline, married Willis L. Vance and is deceased; 
Oswald E , the subiect of this sketch; Vivian, maiTied Willis Vance and 
is deceased; Eliza, mamed Frank Walker of Colorado Springs, Colorado; 
George T lives on the home place; Dora, married William Adams; Mattie, 
married Bland Adams, St. Joseph, Missouri; Walter, Gashland. Missouri; 
Guy, Gashland, Missouri; and Beryl, married William Wilson. Nashua, 

Missouri. , ,. ^ • ^ J 

Oswald E. Clardy attended sciiool at the Gordon school district and 
since eariy life has been engaged in farming and stock raising with the 
exception of four years when he conducted a hardware store at Nashua, 
Missouri. He now operates some rented land and also his own farm 
near^Gashland. He carrie.s on general fanning and stock raising and 
raises pure bred Duroc Jersey hogs. 

December 31, 1902, Oswald E. Clardy was married in Platte town- 
ship, Ciav County, to Miss Mary E. Hart, a daughter of T. B. and Elva 
(Smith) Hart. T. B. Hart was bom in Lafayette County. Kentucky, in 
1849 Ir 1851, he came to Dekalb County, Missouri, wlh his parents. 
Edwin N. and Elizabeth (Bryan) Hart. Later the Hart family came to 
this section of the state and Edwin N. Hart died near Smithville in 1872. 
His ^rife died at Liberty in 1867 and their remains are buried m the old 
cemeten- at Libertv. Thev were the parents of the following children: 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 469 

Mrs. Clardy, of this sketch; Saniantha, married Clay Kimsey, of Smith- 
ville, Missouri; Edwin Claude, died at Pueblo, Colorado, at the age of 
thirty-four years ; Lydia May, married Walter R. Scott and lives near 
Smithville, Missouri. Three of T. B. Hart's brothers served in the Con- 
federate aiTOj^ during the Civil War. John Hart was an officer in the 
Confederate army and was killed at Independence, Missouri, and the other 
two brothers were Edwin D. and Bryan C. 

Mr. Clardy is a member of the Masonic Lodge at Smithville and is a 
progressive Clay County citizen. He was the organizer of the Linden 
Bank and is now the heaviest stockholder in that institution. He was 
elected an officer at the start but declined to accept any position. 



Frank V/. Steenstry, general merchant and postmaster at Avondale, 
Missouri, is a progressive and entei^prising citizen, and although not a 
native of Clay County, is a descendant of a pioneer family of Missouri. 
He was bom in Chariton County, Missouri, a son of J. W. and Lena 
(Partenheimer) Steenstry. J. W. Steenstry, the father, was serving in 
the Union aiTny during the Civil War and was killed in Chariton County 
while home on a furlough. 

Lena (Partenheimer) Steenstiy, mother of Frank W. Steensti-y, came 
to this country with her parents when she was a young girl. She was a 
daughter of Frederick Partenheimer who settled in Chariton County, 
Missouri, and entered land there in 1842. He spent the remainder of his 
life in Chariton County, where he died in 1883. F. W. Steenstry was the 
only child born to his parents but some time after the death of his father, 
his mother married Henry Gabb and to that union were born the follow- 
ing children: Martin G. of Slater, Missouri; Fred H., Gilliam, Missouri; 
Mrs. Lena Sleyster, Gilliam, Missoui-i ; and Robert, deceased. 

Shortly after the death of his father, Frank W. Steenstry went to 
Saline County, Missouri, with his mother. He grew to manhood there 
and was engaged in farming for some time. He then went to McPherson 
County, Kansas, remaining there about twelve years. In 1912, he came 
to Clay County and for the past three years has been engaged in the 
general mercantile business at Avondale. The postoffice is located in his 
store and he has served as postmaster here since 1914. The Avondale 
postoffice was established in 1913 and Robert Patterson was the first 
postmaster. He was succeeded the following year by Mr. Steenstry. 

Frank W. Steenstry was married in 1884 to Miss Anna Slavine, of 



470 HISTORY CP CLAY COUNTY 

Marshall, Missouri, and six children have been born to them : Anna May. 
died in infancy; Viola, married Gus Weber of Avondale, Missouri; 
Frances, married D. S. Skinner, who is in business with Mr. Steenstry in 
his store; John, married Vesie Jackson, of Slater, Missouri, and they 
reside at Avondale: William and Emory at home with their father. 



John J. Kii'schner, cashier of the National Bank of North Kansas 
City, is a native of Missouri. He was born at St. Joseph, December 28,- 
1891, and is a son of Dr. P. J. and Martha M. Kirschner. Dr. P. J. 
Kirschner was bom in St. Joseph, Missouri, and was successfully engaged 
in the practice of medicine for many years. He died in September, 1904, 
and his widow now resides in California. 

John J. Kirschner was reared in St. Joseph and attended the public 
school and later he attended the Missouri Military Academy at Mexico, 
Missouri, and the Lake Forest Academy at Lake Forest, Illinois. He 
then entered the general freight offices of the St. Joseph and Grand Island 
Railroad Company at St. Joseph. He served in that capacity for three 
years w-hen he entered the Bank of Buchanan County at St. Joseph as 
teller. He was associated with that bank in the capacity of teller for four 
years and in 1916 he became cashier of the National Bank of North Kan- 
sas City and has since sensed in that capacity. 

Mr. Kirschner was mamed October 16, 1912 to Miss Margaret Chap- 
man of St. Joseph, Missouri. She is a daughter of H. A. and Martha 
Chapman, of St. Joseph. 

Ml". Kirschner is a Capable and experienced banker and is a close 
student of the intricate pi-oblems of finance. He is conservative enough 
to be safe, and progressive enough to recognize the investor's oppor- 
tunities. He has an extensive acquaintance among financiers and is a 
prominent factor in the development of North Kansas City as an indus- 
trial center. 



William E. Macken, an entei-prising merchant of North Kansas City, 
who is sen'ing his fourth tenn as mayor of this progressive town, is a 
native of Clay County. He was bom at Randolph Heights in Gallatin 
township, August 30. 1871, and is a son of Albert and Elizabeth J. 
(Curry) Macken. Albert Macken was the pioneer merchant of Randolph 
Heights, conducting a store there as earl.v as 1864. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 471 

William E. Macken was reared in Clay County and educated in the 
public schools. He engaged in farming in early life and followed that 
vocation until 1906. He then bought a store at Harlem, Missouri, which 
he has since conducted. In 1913, he and his brother, A. E. Macken, 
engaged in the mercantile business at North Kansas City. Their busi- 
ness is located in the Pioneer Building and occupies a store room with a 
frontage of twenty-six feet and lifty feet deep. They have built up an 
extensive business and have a large pati'onage. 

William E. Macken was elected mayor of North Kansas City, in 
1916, and has been re-elected to that office three times and is now serv- 
ing his fourth consecutive term. He is a capable executive officer and 
has contributed in no small way to the progress and development of 
North Kansas City since he has been mayor. He is president of the 
North Kansas City Loan and Investment Company which is one of the 
thriving business entei-prises of the town. John Davis is secretary of 
this company. 

Mr. Macken was married in 1910 to Miss Nora E. Dagg, a daughter 
of Dr. H. M. Dagg, of North Kansas City and to this union have been 
bom two children: Romaine and Virginia. 

Mr. Macken is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He is progressive and enter- 
prising and a live factor in the development of North Kansas City. 



Frank Prewitt, of the firm of Prewitt and Mace, North Kansas City, 
Missouri, is a native Missourian. He was bom in Linn County, Septem- 
ber 10, 1881, a son of Joseph and Julia Ann (Clemmons) Prewitt. 

Joseph Prewitt was born in Danville, Kentucky, November 8, 1887 
and died at Harlem, March 25, 1911, and his remains are buried at Orrick, 
Missouri. He spent the early part of his life in Linn County, Missouri, 
and during the Civil War, served as a member of the home guards in 
Linn County. Julia Ann (Clemmons) Prewitt was bom in Linn County, 
Missouri, September 15, 1848, and now resides with her sons in North 
Kansas City, Missouri. 

To Joseph and Julia Ann (Clemmons) Prewitt were born the fol- 
lowing children : Mrs. Ona Olson, died at Pueblo, Colorado, January 23, 
1893 ; James, North Kansas City, Missouri ; John J., Centralia, Missouri ; 
Mrs. Ida Windsor, Orrick, Missouri ; Frank, the subject of this sketch ; 
Clem C, Olathe, Kansas ; Mrs. Amy Elliott, Quenemo, Kansas ; Mrs. Fred 



472 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Roberts Bonita, Kansas ; Peter, who volunteered for service in the United 
States navy during the World War and served on the destroyer "Con- 
nors" which was engaged in convoying troop transports through the 
submarine danger zone; and Joseph A., died at the age of forty-three 

years in 1915. , , . ^, ui- 

' Frank Prewitt was reared in Clay County and educated in the public 
schools of Liberty including a high school course. For the past ten years 
he has been employed as bookkeeper until Januaiy. 1920, when he 
entered into partnership with John Mace in conducting a tobacco and 
cigar store and billiard parlor in North Kansas City. 

Mr. Prewitt is a member of the Knights of Pythias at Liberty, 

Missouri. 

The National Bank of North Kansas City is one of the substantial 
institutions of Clay County. This bank was organized in April, 1913, 
with a paid up capital of $25,000.00. The present capital stock is the 
same with a surplus of $20,000.00 and deposit of $300,000.00 and undi- 
vided profits. 

• The first officers of the National Bank of North Kansas City were: 
F W Fratt, president; C. H. Hodge, vice-president; S. J. Ashby, cashier; 
and the board of directors were F. W. Fratt. C. H. Hodge, L H. Rich, J. W. 
Murray and C. M. Carter. 

The present officers of this bank are: W. Clay Woods, president; 
A M Thompson, vice-president; J. J. Kirschner, cashier; and the direc- 
tors are as follows: W. Clay Woods, A. M. Thompson, W. S. Woods, J. 
S. Simrall and J. C. Frazier. 

This bank has had a substantial growth and extension of business 
since its organization and the men who constitute its officers and board 
of directors are recognized as all being dependable and enterprising 
citizens. 



Herbert M. Cooley, a widely knoviTi and highly respected citizen of 
Gallatin township, who lives in the vicinity of Avondale, has been a resi- 
dent of Clay County for fifty years. He was bom in Athens County. Ohio, 
in 1848, and is a son of Milton and Martha (Vinal) Cooley. 

Milton Cooley was engaged in steamboating dui-ing his active career;^ 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 473 

his wife died wiiile accompanying- him on a trip on the Ohio River. He 
died in Athens County, Ohio. Milton Cooley was a son of Caleb and 
Matilda (Buckingham) Cooley of Cooperstown, New York. The Bucking- 
hams are of English descent and descendants from an old English family 
of Buckinghamshire, England. Thomas Buckingham was the founder of 
the Buckingham family of America. He was a member of the firm of 
Eaton and Hopkins, London merchants, who came to Boston June 26, 1637. 
He was a minister and settled in the tov/n of Milford, Connecticut. 

Herbert M. Cooley was one of the following children born to Milton 
and Martha (Vinal) Cooley: Edwin. Santiago, California; Harvey V., 
Athens County, Ohio ; Kate F. Cooley, Independence, Missouri ; Herbert M., 
the subject of this sketch ; and Charles Roland, who was killed while serv- 
ing in the United States army. He was a member of the Second Colorado 
Cavaliy and was killed by Indians. 

Herbert M. Cooley was educated in the public schools of Ohio and 
gi-ew to manhood in that state. In 1870, he came to Missouri and after a 
short stay in Boone County, he came to Clay County in August of that 
year. He has lived on his present place in Gallatin township since 1874. 
At first he owned 132 acres but owing to ihe development of this section 
and the demand of residence property within the last few years, he has 
sold a number of lots and now oAvns about eighty acres. He has been quite 
extensively engaged in the dairy business and has also been successful in 
fruit raising, as well as general farming and stock raising. 

Mr. Cooley was married December 31, 1874, to Miss Ella F. Ragan, a 
daughter of Elias and Louisa Ellen (Thomas) Ragan. Elias Ragan died 
in 1887, at the age of seventy-one years and his wife departed this life 
in 1876, and their remains are buried in the Crowley cemetery. Tliey 
were the parents of the following children: W. 0., Randolph, Missouri; 
Mary, manied Ernest Weideman, Santiago, California; Albert, deceased; 
Elizabeth, widow of Robert Searcj', Seattle, Washington; John, Seattle, 
Washington; Dora, married George Whitehouse, Portland, Oregon; Mrs. 
Cooley of this sketch ; and Evan, of Kansas City, Missouri. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Herbert M. Cooley have been bom the following chil- 
dren: Frederick Earl, a sketch of whom appears in this volume; Wilburt 
J., married Maude Dickson and lives in Gallatin township; Kate F., mar- 
ried Frank Gorsuch, Kansas City, Missouri ; and Martha E., married 
Charles Bigham and they live in Gallatin township. The following are the 



r" 



474 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

^-andchildien in the Cooley family: Herbert, Dick, Ketura, Robert. 
Margarite and Mildred Cooley. 

Mr. Cooley is well known in Clay County and the Cooley family stana 
high in the community. 

John Hudelmever, a well kno^vn and successful farmer and stockman 
of Liberty township, is a native of this county and a son of pioneer parents. 
He was born on the farm which he now owns, in Liberty to^^^lshlp, January 
30 1846 a son of John and Rosann (Glassley) Hudelmeyer, natives of 
Germany They came to America in early life and were afterwards mar- 
ried in Ohio. They were early settlers in Clay County and upon commg 
here John Hudelmeyer entered 160 acres of Government land which is 
now owned by John Hudelmeyer, the subject of this sketch, the title 
having remained in the family since the land was entered from the Gov- 
ernment. , 

John Hudelmeyer was one of those venturesome men who joined the 
great rush to California during the days of the gold excitement, m 1849, 
and never returned. Shortly after reaching the coast he died there and 
his widow remained on the old place in Clay County where she died about 
1900 They were the parents of the following children: George, Mrs. 
Lucy Warren, Mrs. Betty Leach, John, the subject of this sketch; Mrs. 
Rosann Stevenson; and William, deceased. John Hudelmeyer is the only 
member of the family now living. 

John Hudelmeyer, whose name introduces this sketch, was reared 
on the home place in Liberty township and was educated at Little Shoal 
School He has followed fanning and stock raising all his life. Early 
owned and operated the old home farm and still owns the original IfeO 
in life he bought the interests of the other heirs and since that time has 

fl.Cl'GS 

John Hudelmeyer was married January 22, 1871, to Mary E. Rippy^ 
daughter of J. E. and Elizabeth (Searcey) Rippy, the former a native of 
North Carolina and the latter of Ray County. Missouri. Mrs. Hudelmeyer's 
mother died when Mrs. Hudelmeyer was a child. Her father was mamed 
four times and the following children were born to him: Ben.iamm. St. 
Joseph, Missouri; John, Atchinson. Kan.sas: William, Colorado; Thomas. 
Colorado; Jerry, deceased; Ed, St. Jo.senh. Missouri; J^^^^^' ft. Joseph. 
Missouri; Mrs. Daisy Bell Lewis. Atckinson, Kansas; Mrs. Martha Mix, 
deceased; Pearl. St. Joseph, Missouri; Laura Lucas, St. Joseph. Missouri. 




Ml{. AM) MKS .lOHX HII >i;i,\l ICVKR AND GRANDSON 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 477 

To John Hudelmeyer and wife have been bora the following children ■ 
Maggie, married Peter Stevenson, Liberty township; James Thomas^ 
Nashua, Missouri; John H., Liberty township; Mary Frances, died in in- 
fancy; George William, Liberty township; Rosana, married William Greer 
Liberty township; Ella, married Frank Gabbert, Liberty township; Lucy! 
married Nevil Fowler, Liberty township; Stella, married Oscar Hash, Lib- 
erty township ; and Laura Silvy, married Thomas Liggett, Liberty town- 
ship. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hudelmeyer have the following grandchildren: Asa, 
Jesse, John, Bessie, Mary, Pearl Stevenson; Willie, Edith, J. T., John 
Henry, Mary, Mary Alice, Robert D., Rothwell, William Fra^nklin, Logan, 
Grace Agnes, Roxie Esther, Mable Louise Hudelmeyer; John J., and Wil- 
liam Henry Greer; Ruth, Frances and Aleta May Hash; Everett, Charles 
Wilson, and Nevil Goodson Fowler; John Fielding; Susie Emarine, Mattie 
Elsie and Essie Gladys Gabbert; Ella May, Anna Frances, Casey Everett, 
Irvin Roy, and John Lee Hudelmeyer. The great-grandchildren are as 
follows: Claud Arthur, Bonnie Leola Stevenson; W. T. and Dora Lee 
Dally, and Mattie Lucille Dally. The Hudelmeyer family consists of ten 
children, thirty-six grandchildren and five great-grandchildren, all of whom 
reside in the vicinity of the old Hudelmeyer homestead. 

Mr. Hudelmeyer has always taken a commendable interest in local 
affairs, especially in education, and has served on the school board for 
a number of tenns. He is a substantial citizen and the Hudelmeyer family 
are highly respected in Clay County. 



John H. Mace, of the firm of Prewitt and Mace of North Kansas City. 
•Missouri, is a veteran of the World War and bears the distinction of 
being the only Clay County soldier who was honored by being awarded 
the Distinguished Service Cross. John H. Mace was born at Liberty 
Missouri, November 18, 1890, and- is a son of James and Nancy (g[i- 
waters) Mace, the former a native of Illinois and the latter of Virginia, 
both now deceased and their remains are buried in Fairview cemetery at 
Liberty. 

James and Nancy (Gilwaters) Mace were the parents of the follow- 
ing cliildren: Bertie, married Theodore Asbury, of Liberty, Missouri; 
William, Liberty, Missouri; John H. and Jesse, twins, the former the 
subject of this sketch and the latter resides at Liberty, Missouri; Irvin, 
Liberty, Missouri; and Mrs. Maude DeLong, deceased. 



478 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John H Mace spent his boyhood days in Liberty and attended the 
public schools. Before the United States entered the World War he was 
in the employ of the James Costello Lumber Company of Liberty. On 
May 29 1915 Mr. Mace enlisted in the Missouri National Guard and was 
sent to 'the Mexican border during the trouble there. When the United 
States entered the World War, he went to Ft. Sill. Oklahoma, with the 
Missouri troops and from there to France in May, 1918. He was a mem- 
ber of Company H, 140th Infantry, 35th Division, and participated in the 
many hard fought battles of the war in which the famous 35th Division - 
was engaged, including the battles of Somme, St. Mihiel and the Argonne 
Forest During the battle of the Argonne Forest, he captured a German 
machine gun nest which necessitated the killing of the entire machine 
gun crew This he accomplished single handed and alone and for this act 
of gallantry he was awarded the Distinguished Sei-vice Cross. During 
the course of his military career he was wounded at different times and 
was in a hospital for three months. He was honorably discharged from 
the service May 13, 1919, with a military record to his credit equalled by 
few and excelled by none in the annals of American wars. 

Mr Mace was married September 29, 1916, to Miss Callie Fiene, a 
daughter of Mrs. Beatrice Fiene. To Mr. and Mrs. Mace have been born 
one daughter, Margaruite. 

Mr. Mace is a charter member of Robert H. Baker Post No. 95. Amer- 
ican Legion. 



Frederick Eari Cooley, a well known fanner and stockman of Gallatin 
towiship, is a native of Clay County. He was born near Avondale, 
February 6, 1876, a son of Herbert M. and Ella F. (Ragan) Cooley, a 
sketch of whom appears in this volume. 

Frederick E. Cooley was reared on the home farm in Gallatin to^vn- 
ship and attended school at Pleasant •Hill school district and later took a 
course in Spalding's Commercial College at Kansas City, Missouri. Since 
early life, he has been engaged in farming and stock raising and for a 
number of years was quite extensively engaged in the daiiy business. At 
the present time, however, he has on hand only about six cows and gives 
more attention to general farming. He built his present residence, which 
is a six-room modem bungalow, in 1912. His place is well kept and pre- 
sents a neat and prosperous appearance. 

Mr. Cooley was married October 25, 1911, to Miss Matilda Park, a 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 479 

daughter of John and Sallie E. (Jacobs) Park. Mrs. Cooley was born in 
Clay County, about two miles north of Liberty. John Park enhsted in the 
Confederate army from Platte County, during the Civil War and sei-ved 
under Gen. Sterling Price. He was captured by the Federals and confined 
in a military prison at St. Louis for a time. He died in 1901 and is buried 
at Liberty, Missouri. Sallie E. (Jacobs) Park was born in Irvington, Ken- 
tucky and now resides at Liberty, Missouri. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Cooley have been born two children : Sarah Mar- 
garet and Mildred. 

Mr. Cooley is a vice-president and director of the Security Bank of 
Avondale and is a well known and progressive citizen. 



A. B. Glasscock, a well known and leading citizen of Gallatin town- 
ship, is a native of Missouri and a member of one of the early pioneer 
families of this state. He was bom in Lafayette County, Missouri, in 
1860, and is a son of C. B. and Rose E. (Smith) Glasscock. 

C. B. Glasscock was born in Virginia in 1830. He is a son of A. A. 
Glasscock, who died in Pettis County, Missouri, in 1878, and is buried 
near Sedalia. C. B. Glasscock was brought from Virginia to Missouri by 
his parents, who located in Pettis County in 1832, when he was about two 
years old. He was reared in Pettis County and when the Civil War broke 
out he enlisted in the Confederate army and served for four years until 
the war closed. He served under General Price and was at the battle of 
Lone Jack and a number of other engagements in which General Price's 
army participated. He has lived in Kansas City, Missouri, for the past 
thirty-two years. Although now in his ninetieth year, he is still as 
active in body and mind as the average man many years his junior. His 
wife is eighty-four years old and also remarkably active for one of her 
years. 

C. B. and Rose E. (Smith) Glasscock were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: L. V., lives in California; C. L., Lexington, Missouri; 
Ema A., married J. W. McClure, Pettis County, Missouri; F. D., Cali- 
fornia ; A. B., the subject of this sketch ; W. L., Lafayette County, Mis- 
souri; R. L., Kansas City, Missouri; Emma, man-ied C. A. Welch, Kan- 
sas City, Missouri ; Rose, married Charles Decker, Kansas City, Missouri ; 
and Shirley, Kansas City, Missouri. 

A. B. Glasscock was reared and educated in Pettis County, and began 
farming and stock raising there in early life. In 1888, he came to Clay 



480 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

County and for a few years farmed rented land. He operated the John 
Rickets farm near Avondale, for six years. In 1900, he bought a place 
to which he since added additional land and is now the owner of a very 
valuable, although not a large farm. His place is well improved. In 
1914, he built a modem residence and the same year he built a good sub- 
stantial barn and has since erected a silo. He carries on a daiiying busi- 
ness, keeping from twelve to fourteen cows and his milk is shipped to 
Kansas City, Missouri. He also raises fruit, including plums, cherries 
and other small fniits in profitable quantities. 

Mr. Glasscock was married to Miss Annie Sissom, a daughter of Isaiah 
Sissom, a prominent early settler of Gallatin township, further mention 
of whom is made in connection with the sketch of Alonzo Sissom. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Glasscock have been bom two children: Pansy Belle, mar- 
ried Homer Devling, of Avondale; and Cecil, married Mida Musgrove. 
The following are the grandchildren of the Glasscock family: Robert 
B., Nadine, Lucile, Marjorie and Edna Devling; and Lorine Glasscock. 

Mr. Glasscock is a Democrat and takes a commendable interest in 
general events and local affairs. He has been a member of the local 
school board in District No. 71 for the past fifteen years. 

George T. Hall, of the George T. Hall Livestock Commission Com- 
pany, of Kansas City, Missouri, whose residence is "White Hall" on the 
"Clover Hill Fann", is the owner of one of the most attractive places in 
Clay County. Mr. Hall has been engagefl in business in Kansas City for 
a number of years and for the last few years has made his home in this 
county. He was bom in Henry County, Kentucky, December 22, 1850, 
and is a son of Thomas and Edna (Fallis) Hall, both natives of Kentucky. 

The Hall family came to Missouri in 1857, and settled in Buchanan 
County and the father was engaged in farming and stock raising there 
for twenty years, when he removed to Gower, Clinton County, Missouri, 
and he and his wife spent the remainder of their lives there. They were 
the parents of the following children: John, deceased; D. S., deceased; 
George T., the subject of this sketch ; Erasmus C, a prominent attorney, 
of Kansas City, Missouri. 

George T. Hall was reared and educated in Buchanan County and in 
early life engaged in the mercantile business at Gower, Missouri. He was 
the pioneer merchant of that towTi and was engaged in business there for 
fourteen years. He then went to St. Joseph, Missouri, where he was 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 481 

engaged in the livestock commission business. He tiien became a mem- 
ber of the firm of Scruggs, Hall and Company, and engaged in the live- 
stock commission business at Kansas City, Missouri, and later organized 
The George T. Hall Livestock Commission Company, of Kansas City, Mis- 
souri. This is one of the extensive livestock commission concerns of 
Kansas City and Mr. Hall is regarded as one of the most successful men 
in his line. He has had years of experience in the livestock business and 
has availed himself of every opportunity to study the details of the busi- 
ness from its various angles. 

May 30, 1881, George T. Hall was united in marriage with Miss Inez 
C. Shields, a daughter of Zadok and Penelope (Asbuiy) Shields, both of 
whom died in Virginia. To Mr. and Mrs. Hall have been born the follow- 
ing children: Thomas, of the Hall-Leeper Hardware Company of t)en- 
nison. Texas; Howard Shields, married Hannah A. Jobes, of Kansas City, 
Missouri; and Helen, married Henry A. Bundschu,''of Independence, Mis- 
souri. 

Mr. Hall is the owner of 800 acres in Liberty township, which is 
known as the "Clover Hill Farm" and his home, "White Hall", is best 
described by the architect, Mr. Edgar P. Madorie, who designed it, as fol- 
lows: "On a tract of seventy acres on the Excelsior. Springs electric 
line, one-half mile south of Liberty, Missouri, George T. Hall, of the 
George T. Hall Live Stock Commission Company, of Kansas City, Mis- 
souri, erected a large country home of colonial architecture. 

Tlie house has many features of the old New England style, such as 
was built in the colonial days. The structure consists of two floors with 
basement and attic and has a frontage of 110 feet by thirty-one feet in 
depth. It is built entirely of lumber, the exterior walls faced with wide 
boards and painted white; and is roofed with wood shingles of natural 
weathered color. The first story floor is but one step above the yai'd 
grade, as was the old Abbott farm house, built in Massachusetts during 
the year of 1685. The shed roofed porches are typical of the Webb 
house erected in Long Island in 1790. 

The front and rear entrance with their two story cov'ered porticoes, 
long spindle columns, and Dutch doors with side lights and iron balconies 
suspended from above, form a very interesting picture of those old 
colonial days. 

It has been said that this type of architecture has been almost for- 
gotten, as it is not in keeping with modem times; but the owner was 
desirous of caiTying out in detail this beautiful period. 



^g2 HISTORY OF CLAI COUNTY 

II„„n this tract of land sun-ouiuling this beautiful home, the arch,, 
tect ha: pCreTLlscape -hawih^s. wh.h. v.heu completed, wll sur- 

hrid.?s!:r;::hioned^e,,..thoa.eohuc.e..ahiceh^^ 

"''"dr'TLl:" s^XtouI :tTmai:™:.anr and fonna, garden 
;7A JeTLCL^with nower heds. OHn.in. fountain. .„n a. 
bird baths and sui-rounded with covered promenades and lust.c 
"'"Vr'inSor of the house is finished with uhi.e and tinted gray and 

'"'';;f rotrnJ rtrgtTght and especial,, well ventilated; and the 
servi"rn such as baths, kitcher. and pantries have tile l.n<^walU 
aJ,d floors and are equipped with all modern conven.enees such as cab- 
taets hinged tables, electrical ranges, sinks, refngerators etc. 

Upln the completion of this edifice, the architectural character was 
deoartrd from by adding a humorous feature, that of plac„_^ bronze 
d klkl upon three of the chamber doors_a symbol of "Robmson 
Crusoe", the old "Liberty Bell" and the "Devil with a fire pot . 

Sidney Slr«.t, an enterprising merchant of Linden »'«' - ^f° P"^'" 
master at that place, is a native of Virginia. He was bon, at Umon Hill 
V rSa April 7. 1875. and is a son of John A. and Fannie A. Jeffersoi 
Strfet. both natives of Virginia. Fannie A. Street died April 26. 189. 

■And John A. Street died in 1907. 

John A Street spent his early life in his native state, where he was 
,.ar/ied and in 1886 can.e to Clay County with his family Shortly after 
clTg to Clay County, he was engaged in business at Lmden, m partner- 
hrwith DocL AdKins. in 1903. he and his son, Sidney Stvee . engaged 
In the mercantile business at Linden under the firm name of John A^ 
Street Tnd Son. When the father died in 1907. Wilham. Sidney and 
ZZl Street continued the business until Januai-y 1, 1920, when Suney 
St^^ b rl the sole owner and proprietor. Mr. Street conducts a 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 483 

general store and carries a very complete stock of dry goods, groceries, 
shoes, hardware and farming implements. He buys and sells all kinds 
of marketable country produce and does an extensive business; his cus- 
tomers extend over a large scope of territory surrounding Linden. His 
store is a large structure, 30 x 60 feet, and was built jointly by Mr. 
Street and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Linden, in 1914. 

Sidney Street is one of the following children born to his parents: 
Nannie, married George Williams of Salem, Virginia ; Ina, mamed John 
Bennett of Glade Hill, Virginia; William A. of Linden; Miss Mamie Street 
of Linden; Sidney, the subject of this sketch; and Victoi-ia, died at the 
age of twenty-three years. 

On October 18, 1910, Sidney Street was married to Miss Zepha A. 
Bandy, of Liberty, Missouri, and a daughter of C. G. and Harriett A. 
(Estes) Bandy. C. G. Bandy was a native of Virginia and his wife was 
bom in Clay County and now lives in Kansas City, Missouri. Her father, 
Abraham Estes, was a bugler in the United States army in the Mexican 
War and was killed west of Liberty in Clay County, during the Civil War. 
To Mr. and Mi's. Street have been bom thi-ee children: Louise, Sidney, 
Jr., and Vernon. 

Mrs. Street is one of the following children bom to her parents : 
Lizzie, married A. C. Spear, Kansas City, Missouri; Ernest, a traveling 
salesman; Jesse, whose address is unknown; Charlotte, married Frank 
Rogers, of Warrensburg, Missouri; Floyd, Liberty, Missouri; John, Lib- 
erty, Missouri ; Mrs. Street of this sketch ; and Edna, who resides in Kan- 
sas City. 

Mr. Street is a member of the IndpendenI Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Rebeccas. 



E. L. Pigg, cashier of Missouri City Banking Company, Missouri 
City, Missouri, is one of the well known and successful bankers of Clay 
County. He was bom at Orrick, Ray County, Missouri, October 9, 1885, 
a son of W. L. and Margaret (Kirkpatrick) Pigg. 

W. L. Pigg was one of the organizers of the Citizens Exchange Bank, 
which was founded in 1890, and he has been president of that institution 
since that time and is well known as one of the substantial men of affairs 
of Ray County. 

E. L. Pigg attended the public schools and was graduated from the 
high school at Richmond, Missouri, in the class of 1905. He was then a 



484 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

student in the University of Missouri at Columbia for one year and on 
May 2, 1906, he came to Missouri City as assistant cashier of the Mis- 
souri City Banking Company and the following year he became cashier 
and has served in that capacity to the present time. 

Mr. Pigg was first married February 2, 1910, to Miss Anna Ham- 
acher, of Richmond, Missouri. She died April 24, 1914, leaving one son, 
E. L., Jr. On September 2, 1915, Mr. Pigg was maiTied to Miss Angle 
Cleaiy, of Noble County, Ohio. She is a daughter of John W. and Mary 
Cleary. Her mother died in September, 1919, and the father now resides 
in Noble County, Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. Pigg have been bom two children, 
Margaret Cleary Pigg and William Boyd Pigg. 

In 1909, Mr. Pigg was elected secretary of Group Four of the Mis- 
souri Bankers Association and in 1910, he was elected chairman. He is a 
member of the Masonic Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at 
Liberty, Missouri ; is a Royal Arch Mason and a Knights Templar and a 
member of the Mystic Shrine, Ararat Temple, Kansas City. He also 
holds membership in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 



David Y. StoUings, of Liberty township, is a native of Clay County 
and a descendant of one of the early pioneer families of this county. He 
was bom on the place where he now resides October 10, 1842, and with 
the exception of the time he was in the Confederate Army and a few 
years spent in the West, Clay County has been his home. His parents 
were Jesse Stollings and Sarah (Benton) Stollings. 

Jesse Stollings was a native of Virginia and came to Missouri and 
settled in Clay County. Here he bought 240 acres of land at fourteen 
dollars an acre from Uncle Joseph Bright, a Clay County pioneer. Later 
Jesse Stollings sold 120 acx-es to James McCarty. Further history of the 
Stollings family appears in this volume in the sketch of John S. Stollings. 

David Y. Stollings now owns 160 acres of the old home place where 
he was bom and 103 acres three miles west of the home place. When 
Jesse Stollings settled here he built a three-room log cabin and here 
his nine children, four girls and five boys, were bom. This pioneer log 
cabin stood on the place until 1889. Jesse Stollings died on this place 
September 24, 1865, and his wife departed this life April 1, 1904, and her 
remains and those of her husband and four of their children are laid to 
rest in the family cemetery on the home place. 

Sarah (Benton) Stollings was bom in Kentucky, September 19, 1820, 




DAVID Y. STOI.LIXC^ 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 487 

and was a daughter of Hiram Benton who came from Kentucky with 
his family and settled in Clay County about 1842, or perhaps a little earl- 
ier. Of the nine children born to Jesse and Sarah (Benton) Stollings, 
three are now liviing as follows: John S., Sarah Margaret, Gray, Okla- 
homa, and David Y., the subject of this sketch. 

David Y. Stollings was reared on. the home farm in Liberty township 
and educated in the early day schools, such as the pioneer times afforded, 
his first teacher being Professor Johnson. During the Civil War he en- 
listed in the Confederate Army under Gen. Joe Shelby in Piece's Army. 
He was in several battles and skirmishes and was at Shreveport, Louisiana, 
when the war closed. He saw service in Missouri, Arkansas, Texas and 
Louisiana and was in the army about one year. 

After the close of the war Mr. Stollings returned to Clay County and 
shortly afterwards went to Colorado, where he remained about six years. 
He then returned to Clay County and bought the interests of the other 
heirs in the home place, and cared for his mother as long as she lived. 
He has been successfully engaged in fanning and stock raising and is 
one of the substantial and well-to-do citizens of Clay County. He is now 
seventy-eight years old and is assisted in the operation of his broad acres 
by his nephew. 

Mr. Stollings is one of the few men now living who has had an oppor- 
tunity to witness the great development that has taken place in this 
country during the last half century and more. He vdtnessed the pass- 
ing of the pioneers who built the first cabins in Clay County. He saw 
the West as it was and had the experience of driving an ox team across 
the unbroken and unsettled plains to the then mountain village of Denver, 
and on the trip saw thousands of buffalo which were practically the sole 
inhabitants of the then desert waste. 



The Linden Bank, Linden, Missouri, was organized by 0. E. Clardy 
and J. M. Brandenburg, June 10, 1919. The capital stock is $10,000.00 
and a surplus of $2,000.00. The first officers were James M. Branden- 
burg, president; J. E. Thomas, vice-president; Sidney Street, cashier; and 
R. E. Dudley, assistant cashier. The board of directors consisted of the 
above mentioned gentlemen and J. M. Blevins and Harry Nave. 

The present officers of the bank are J. E. Thomas, president; Harry 
Nave, \ace-president ; R. E. Dudley, cashier; and besides these gentlemen 
the directors are J. M. Blevins, Sidney Street, and J. T, Masterson. 



^...^ HISTORY OF CLAY COl'NTV 

The Linden Bank has had a good substantial business from the start 
and numbers among its patrons the leading business men and farm^vs m 
and around Linden. It is under the management of good substantial 
and conservative men who have been successful in then- respective bus. 
ness operations. 

The Missouri Qty Banking Company.-In 1885, William F. and 
Charles W. Norton organized the fii-m of Norton Brothers, Bankers, and 
be.an business at Missouri City in the room which had been occupied by 
the old Missouri City Savings Bank which was orgamzeo m 18<8 and did 
business until 1883. Charles W. Norton was cashier of Norton Bro hers^ 
Bankers In 1896. the Norton Banking Company was incoi-porated and 
W F. Norton became president, Claud M. Donovan, cashier and C N\_ 
Norton was a member of the board of directors. The capital stock of 
the bank was $10,000.00. In 1903, the capital stock was increased to 

^" ' In 1906 C M. Donovan resigned to accept a position with the Citizens 
Exchan<^e Bank at Orrick, Missouri. The same year, E L. Pigg, son of 
W L Piog. president of the Citizens Exchange Bank of Orrick. became 
cashier of the Norton Banking Co., .succeeding Mr. Donovan. 

November 1. 1909, Norton Brothers sold their interest in the bank 
to E L. Pigg and C. G. Shaw, the present owners, and in October, 1910. 
L name of the bank was change.l to The Missouri City Bank.ng Com- 

Danv, the present name. . 

The present officers are: C. G. Shaw, president: E. L. Pigg, cashiei . 

and the directors, besides the above "^^^^ f f 7^"' rol(f„;7',,^: 
Grav A C Pi-g and A. S. Shaw. The capital stock is ?20,000.00, sui 
pluJand undivFded profit.. $1.5,000.00 and deposits about ^l^O'OOO 00 

This is one of the substantial and well managed banking institutions 
in Clay County. The officers are all men of extensive banking experience 
and conservative business men. 

Isaac Ellis Thomas, deceased, was for many years identified with 
Clay County and was a member of one of the pioneer fan.ibes of this sec^ 
tion He was born in Gallatin township, on the farm where his Mdow 
now resides, June 20, 1835. a son of Napoleon B. and Sarah (Faubion) 
Thomas. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 489 

Napoleon B. Thomas was a native of Tennessee, born February 23, 
1810 and died in Clay County, January 24, 1875. He was a very early 
pioneer settler of Clay County. He made the trip from Tennessee to 
this county on horseback in 1832. Sarah (Faubion) Thomas was born 
October 24, 1812, and died August 30, 187i). She was a daughter of Rev. 
Jacob Faubion. 

To Napoleon B. and Sarah (Faubion) Thomas were born the follow- 
ing children: Isaac Ellis, the subject of this sketch; James S., born June 
15, 1837; William M. K., born October 5, 1839; Lafayette W., born Janu- 
ary 3, 1842 ; Mary Adelia, who married Thomas Boydston, was born June 
6, 1844; American J., born November 3, 1846, married William Nelson 
Johnson; Sarah Frances, born August 21, 1850, died at the age of thirteen 
years; Eliza Alice, married William Bowles of Barton County, Missouri, 
was born March 17, 1853 ; and Margaret E., bom Decembei- 17, 1856, mar- 
ried Joseph M. Tarwater. 

Isaac Ellis Thomas was reared and educated in Clay County, served 
in the Confederate army under Gen. Sterling Price during the Civil War 
and participated in the battle of Wilson Creek and a number of other 
engagements. He followed farming and stock raising throughout his 
career. He remained on the home place and cared for his father and 
mother in their declining years and spent his life on the old Thomas place 
in Gallatin township, where he was born. He died in May, 1914, age 
seventy-eight years, eleven months and seven days, and his remains are 
buried at Chapel cemetery. 

Isaac Ellis Thomas was married September 16, 1896, to Miss Burlie 
Owen Smith. She was born at Liberty, Missouri, March 17, 1871, and is 
a daughter of Mack and Irene (Turpin) Smith. Mack Smith was born 
in Sacramento. California, in 1840. He was captured and carried away 
by the Indians when a child and was not heard from for fifteen years. 
The Smith family came to Illinois from California and the mother of 
Mack Smith died six weeks after reaching that state. Mack Smith later 
came to Clay County and was killed at Liberty. 

To Mack and Irene (Turpin) Smith were born the following chil- 
dren: Josephine, married Albert Schwartz, Quenemo, Kansas; Alonzo H. 
Smith, Los Angeles, California; and Mrs. Thomas of this sketch. After 
the death of Mack Smith his widow married Thomas Francis Weldon and 
to that union was bom one son. Clarence A. Weldon, of Kansas City, 
Missouri. Mrs. Thomas' mother now resides in Kansas City, Missouri. 



490 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Anderson Isaac Turpin, grandfather of Mrs. Thoiiiiis, was the pioneer 
tailor of Liberty, Missouri. He came from Sterling, Kentucky, and set- 
tled in Olathe, Kansas, before the Civil War and was at Westport for a 
time and then came to Liberty. He died here in 1882. 

To Isaac Ellis Thomas and wife was bom one daughter, Irene Fay, 
bom May 13, 1898, married John B. Sevage and they live on the home 
place. Mr. Sevage was born in Gallatin township and is a son of Oscar 
and Mary (Allen) Sevage. 

Mrs. Thomas has in her possession some interesting historic docu- 
ments, among which is a patent, or land warrant, issued to William 
Brov.-n for 160 acres of land of which her home place is a part. It was 
signed by President Andrew Jackson and dated November 1, 1830. She 
also has a receipt given by Mr. Starks to Napoleon Thomas for a negro 
woman named Catherine, the price paid for the slave being $1,100.00. 



Luke E. Donovan, a successful and entei-prising merchant of Missouri 
City, who has been engaged in the mercantile business there for the past 
eighteen years, is a native of Clay County. He was bom at Missouri 
City, September 18. 1881, a son of A. K. and Elizabeth (Marsh) Donovan, 
a more extensive history of whom appears in connection with the biog- 
raphy of C. M. Donovan in this volume. 

Luke E. Donovan was reared and educated in Missouri City and was 
graduated from the public schools there in the class of 1900. Two years 
later, with C. G. Shaw, he opened a store for the Missouri City Coal Com- 
pany at that place and in 1903, Mr. Donovan and C. G. Shaw pui-chased 
the store and he has been engaged in business here since that time. They 
caiTy a complete stock of general merchandise and have an extensive 
business in Missouri City and vicinity. The firm owns its own building, 
which is a brick stioicture, 24 x 36 feet, and was built in 1901 by the Mis- 
souri City Coal Company. 

Luke E. Donovan was manued October 18, 1906, to Miss Cecil Bell, 
a daughter of W. S. and Ella Bell. She is a gi'and daughter of G. W. 
Bell, a Clay County pioneer, who served under Colonel Doniphan in the 
Mexican War and died here about 1908 and his remains are buried in the 
cemetery at Missouri City. Mrs. Donovan was reared and educated in 
Missouri City and graduated in the same class with her husband. 

Mr. Donovan is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 
of Missouri City and is a Knights Templar and a member of the Mystic 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 491 

Shrine of Kansas City, Missouri. He also holds membership in the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows at Missouri City and Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks at Excelsior Springs. He is an enteriirising citizen 
and one of the substantial men of Clay County. 



James P. Heifner, the well known druggist who for the past seventeen 
years has conducted a drug store at Missouri City, was born near Jack- 
sonville, Randolph County, Missouri, August 27, 1868. He is a son of 
Jacob and Susan E. (Brock) Heifner, both now deceased. 

Jacob Heifner was a native of Kentucky and an early settler in Mis- 
souri. He served in the Confederate army during the Civil War and 
participated in some of the notable engagements of that conflict, includ- 
ing the battle of Gettysburg. He went to California in 1848, and while 
en route, he camped in Clay County and here became acquainted with 
John A. Shouse, a Mexican War veteran, and they became very closely 
associated. They drove ox teams together and had many interesting 
pioneer experiences in common. Jacob Heifner died at the age of 
seventy-three years. His wife was a native of Macon County, Missouri, 
and a descendant of a pioneer family of that section. She died at the 
age of forty-eight years. 

Jacob and Susan E. (Brock) Heifner were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Rev. M. L. was a Missionary Baptist minister and died 
November 11, 1918, at the age of fifty-eight years; Mary E., died at the 
age of two years ; W. P., lives at Jacksonville, Missouri ; J. B., subject of 
this sketch ; George W., an employe of the Wabash Railroad at Mobei'ly, 
Missouri ; Minnie, married William Lamb, of Huntsville, Missouri ; and 
Edna E., married James Manning, of Moberly, Missouri. 

James B. Heifner was educated in the public schools at Jacksonville, 
Missouri, and when a young man was the possessor of unusual talent in 
vocal music. He applied himself to the study of this art and when he 
was twenty-two years old, he began teaching vocal music and was suc- 
cessful in that vocation from the beginning. He taught music for 
thirteen years and during that time his work brought him over the states 
of Illinois, Nebraska and Kansas, as well as Missouri. He taught 2,367 
pupils in Monroe County, Missouri. At a musical convention which he 
conducted at Leesburg, Missouri, there were over 7,000 people. 

In 1904, Mr. Heifner came to Missouri City and purchased the drug 
business from Dr. Wysong and conducted a business at the old stand 



492 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

until 1917, when he moved to his present location. Mi*. Heifner passed 
the State Board of Pharmacy examination in 1911, and is a licensed 
pharmacist. He carries a complete line of drugs and druggist sundries 
and also sells pianos and other musical instruments. Mr. Heifner owns 
the building in which his store is located and also a good residence in 
Missouri City. He also owns twenty-five acres of valuable Missouri river 
bottom land in the vicinity of Missouri City, the operation of which he 
has found to be highly profitable. During the past season of 1920, he 
raised twelve acres of potatoes for which he received $4,800.00. He 
raises an early variety of potatoes knovm as the Early Ohio and used 
government certified seed. He also raised thirteen acres of com this 
season. 

Mr. Heifner was married in 1904 to Miss Ruby E. Poison, of Moberly, 
Missouri. She is a daughter of Linley and Amanda Poison, the former 
of whom died at Cairo, Missouri, in August, 1919, and the latter, August 
3, 1920, and their remains are buried at Moberly, Missouri. Mrs. Heifner 
has one brother and a sister: Harry Poison, of Moberly, Missouri; and 
Bemice, who married Harold Hutsel, of Moberly, Missouri. 

Mr. Heifner is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
Lodge No. 500, at Missouri City, Missouri, and is one of the progressive 
business men of this section. 



Robert L. Kenyon, manager for Sears, Roebuck and Company of 
North Kansas City, Missouri, is one of the live progressive business men 
of this section. He was bom in Saline County, Missouri, August 2, 1885, 
a son of Charles and Hattie (Felkens) Kenyon. 

Charles Kenyon was bom in Ray County, Missouri, and died at For- 
sythe, Missouri, in 1900, at the age of sixty-five years. He was a son of 
Captain Kenyon, a native of Virginia, who spent the latter years of his 
life in Richmond, Missouri, where he died. Captain Kenyon had the dis- 
tinction of having served in two wars. He ran away from home when he 
was a boy and enlisted during the Mexican War and when the Civil War 
broke out, he enlisted in the Union aiTny and served throughout that con- 
flict. Hattie (Felkens) Kenyon was born in Saline County, Missouri, and 
now resides at Forsythe, Missouri. 

To Charles and Hattie (Felkens) Kenyon were born the following 
children: Joseph, lives on the home place at Forsythe, MissotJ*4; Robert 
L., the subject of this sketch; Allison, Estella, Bertie and RajTnond. 

Robert L. Kenyon was educated in the public schools at Forsythe. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 493 

Missouri, and first entered the mercantile business at that place. He 
then came to Kansas City, Missouri, and entered the employ of the old 
Jones Dry Goods Company which has since been reorganized into the 
Jones Store Company. He was employed in the receiving department 
of that concern for seven years. On October 14, 1911, he entered the 
employ of Sears, Roebuck and Company and now has charge of the North 
Kansas City warehouse for that company. 

Mr. Kenyon was married March 11, 1908, to Miss Mary C. Scott, of 
Carrollton, Missouri, and to that union have been bora two children, 
Delores Loretta and Etta May. 

Mr. Kenyon is a member of the North Kansas City Commercial 
Club and was the first vice-president of that organization. He is a mem- 
ber of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and the Modern Woodmen 
of America. He takes a commendable interest in local afl:"airs and has 
served two terms as a member of the North Kansas City council. 



John Gragg, of the well known firm> of Nail and Gragg, leading 
grocers of North Kansas City, is a native son of Clay County and is a 
descendant of veiy early pioneer settlers of this section of Missouri. He 
was boiTi in Gallatin township, April 4, 1878, a son of Ben Long and 
Martha E. (Bryant) Gragg. 

Ben Long Gragg was born in Platte County, Missouri, in 1846, and 
died in 1911, and his remains are buried at Barry, Missouri. He is a son 
of John and Elizabeth (Ford) Gragg. Jol^n Gragg came to Missouri and 
settled in Platte County with his parents in 1814, and they were among 
the very first settlers in this part of the state. Martha E. (Bryant) 
Gragg was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and came to Missouri with her 
parents, Louis and Jemima Bryant, who were early settlers here and both 
now deceased. Mrs. Gragg lives on her old home place, eight miles north 
of North Kansas City, where she has lived for the past thirty years. Ben 
Long and Martha E. (Bryant) Gragg were the parents of the following 
children: Louis Mahala, married Harry Griffith, Liberty, Missouri; John, 
the subject of this sketch; Jefferson Jerome, who is engaged in the insur- 
ance business at Colorado Springs, Colorado ; and Ben, lives on the home 
place in Gallatin township. 

John Gragg was reared in Clay County and educated in the Faubion 
School District in Gallatin township. He was successfully engaged in 
farming and stock raising near Gashland until 1920, when in February, 



494 _ HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

he rented his farm and in August, 1920, he engaged in the grocery and 
meat business in partnership with Edgar Nail, under the firm name of 
Nail and Gragg. They are both enteri>rising business men and are doing 
a good business. 

December 8, 1897, John Gragg was married to Miss Lena Belle Nail, 
a daughter of George and Elizabeth Nail, further mention of whom is 
made in connection with the sketch of Edgar Nail in this volume. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Gragg have been bom one daughter, Lucile, who married 
John Johnson, a farmer, who resides near Parkville, Missouri, and they 
have one son, John Johnson, Jr., who was born December 27, 1916. 



James R. Scott, a well known and prosperous farmer and stockman 
of Platte township, is a native son of Clay County and a member of 
one of the pioneer families of this part of the state. He was bom on 
the farm where he now resides in Platte township, February 25, 1848, 
and is a son of Washington and Ruth Ann (Duncan) Scott. 

Washington Scott was a Kentuckian, bom in that state in 1812, and 
was reared to manhood there and maiTied. In 1840 he came to Missouri 
with his wife and settled in Clay County. Here he settled in Platte 
township where he bought a farm of 240 acres and carried on general 
farming and stock raising during the remainder of his life. He was 
a successful man of affairs and at the time of his death he was the 
owner of 412 acres of land. He died February 6, 1857. His wife was 
also a native of Kentucky; she died on the home place in Platte town- 
ship in 1864. They were the parents of nine children, as follows : Mary 
E., deceased; John W., of Smith ville, Missouri, a sketch of whom appears 
in this volume with a more extensive history of the Scott family : 
Israel L., deceased; Washington W., deceased; Ruth A., deceased; James 
R., the subject of this sketch; Sarah J., deceased; Nancy F., deceased; 
and Ida, J., deceased. 

James R. Scott was reared on the home farm in Platte township, 
and attended the district school. He remained at home and assisted 
his parents as long as they lived. In 1868 he rented a fai-m in part- 
nership with his brother, John W., north of Smithville. In 1872 he 
bought 80 acres of the home place and later he bought more land until 
he is now the owner of 356 acres of valuable land and has one of the 
best farms in Platte township. He cairies on general farming and stock 
raising and has been successful in his undertakings. He is a member 




JAMKS R. SCOTT 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 497 

of the board of directors of the Farmers Bank of Smithville and has 
been identified with that bank for a number of years. 

On November 20, 1872, James R. Scott was united in marriage with 
Miss Rose Ann Aker, a daughter of Martin J. and Nan (Rollins) Aker, 
both natives of Kentucky, and now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Scott 
have been born the following children : Jennie, deceased ; Martin A., 
lives in Clay County; Sue C, resides at home; Richard W., resides at 
home; Stella W., married D. W. Bronaugh, and they live in Clay County; 
James A., Jr., lives in Texas; John W., deceased; Agnes J., married 
E. P. Merritt, Wynne, Arkansas; Ruth A., deceased; Rose Lee, married 
Warren Hall, Weston, Missouri; and Ira Henry, died in infancy. 

Mr. and Mrs. Scott are members of the Christian Church. He is 
a Democrat and belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
Mrs. Scott is a member of the Rebeccas. The Scott family is well known 
in western Clay County and stand high in the community. 



Rice Emmett Hall, a well known contractor and builder who also 
operates a planing mill at Liberty. Missouri, is a native of this state. He 
was bom in Clay County, February 12, 1875, and is a son of John Will 
Hall and Mary Ellen (Burbette) Hall. 

John Will Hall was also a native of Clay County, born about two 
miles northwest of Liberty, January 28, 1844. He was a son of John 
Hall, a Kentuckian, who settled in Liberty township, Clay County, in the 
early thirties and followed contracting and building and also improved a 
farm in Liberty township. John Will Hall was also a contractor from 
early manhood until the time of his death. He took a prominent part in 
local affairs during his career. He served two terms as recorder of deeds 
of Clay County and was mayor of Liberty several terms. 

When the Civil War broke out, John Will Hall enlisted in the Con- 
federate aiTny and served for four years under Gen. Sterling Price. He 
was wounded three times while in the service. He was one of the Clay 
County boys who helped construct the breastworks at William Jewell 
College during the early part of the war. He died at Liberty in 1916, 
and his remains are buried in Fairview cemetery. His widow now re- 
sides at Liberty. She was born in Vii-ginia in 1850. 

To John Will and Mary Ellen (Burbette) Hall were born the follow- 
ing children: Rice Emmett, the subject of this sketch; Harry L., a car- 
penter, who lives at Liberty. Missouri; Sarah, married Willard P. King, 



^gy HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Fort Worth, Texas; Nellie Will, married Morris G. Gordon, Fort W'orth, 
Texas; Oscar B.. the eldest of the family died in 1910 at the age of forty- 

"""^ RkrEmmett Hall was educated in the public schools of Liberty, at- 
tending the high school from which he was graduated He was brought 
up in L building business, learning the carpenter trade with his father 
before he reached his majority. He soon followed m the footsteps of 
his father and grandfather and soon became a contractor and bu.Me, 
which he has successfully followed. He has built a number of the bes 
residences in Liberty, including the Christian parsonage and residences 
of Samuel Webber, John L. Allen, Ed Watkins, L. W. Hicks and at presen 
is erecting a residence for W. W. Dougherty. The three generations of 
Halls have perhaps, erected over half the buildings in Liberty. Mr. Hall 
flsl bunds s'ilos for the Crates Silo Company of Kansas City. Missoun, 
and does a great deal of work for that company. ^ ^ ■ r. 

Rice E Hall was married December 16, 1914, to Miss Catherme Ben- 
son, of Smithville, Missouri. She is a daughter of James F. and Margaret 
M (Ar-buckle) Benson. Mrs. Hall is one of the following chiMren born 
to her parents: Mrs. Robert Robertson, Smithville, Missouri; Mrs^ Clara 
Lew Pardee; Mrs. Emma Johnson, Pratt, Kansas; WUham Benson 
Smithville, Missouri; and Catherine, the wife of Rice E. Hall, the sub,ect 

of this sketch. „ ,, . t j xt-. i7a nc 

Mr Hall is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Lodge No. 174, ot 
Liberty, Missouri. He is a substantial progressive and enterprising 
citizen. 



Edgar Nail, a member of the firm of Nail and Gragg, progressive 
and enterprising merchants of North Kansas City, Missouri, who conduc 
one of the leading grocery stores of that thriving to.^. -J^Jj^^- « 
Clay County. He was born in Gallatin township, near Big Shoal Baptist 
Church, November 14, 1873, and is a son of George and Ann E. (Baker) 

^^" George Nail was also born in Gallatin township, near Randolph. He 
was a son of William and Morning (Harrison) Nail, nati^'es of \ irgmia. 
They were eariy settlers in Clay County and located on a farm near Ran^ 
dolph The place is now owned by the Meffert heirs. George Nail died 
at his home near Big Shoal church at the age of sixtj^eight years^ Ann 
(Baker) NaU was bom in Madison County, Kentucky, a daughter of 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 499 

Jonah Baker, who were early settlers in Gallatin township, locating on a 
farm adjoining Big Shoal church on the south. Mi's. Nail now resides 
at Welch, Oklahoma, and is seventy-six years old. 

To George and Ann E. (Baker) Nail were born the following chil- 
dren: Ernest, a farmer and stockman, Welch, Oklahoma; Nora, married 
Lee Kelsey, North Kansas City, Missouri ; Edgar, the subject of this 
sketch ; Carry, Welch, Oldahoma ; Rose, married Waller Woods, Seattle, 
Washington ; Lena, married John Gragg, member of the firm of Nail and 
Gragg, North Kansas City, Missouri; and Ozella, Welch, Oklahoma. 

Edgar Nail was reared on the home farm, and educated in the public 
schools of Clay County. He engaged in farming and stock raising in 
early life and was successfully engaged in that line of endeavor until he 
engaged in the mercantile business at North Kansas City, August 23, 
1920, in partnership with John Gragg. This firm carries a complete line 
of groceries and also have a meat department in which they carry all 
kinds of fresh and canned meats. They are located in the Pioneer Build- 
ing and their business occupies a frontage of twenty-five feet and seventy- 
five feet deep and also a basement. They have had a good patronage 
from the start and their many customers appreciate their dependable 
goods and square dealing. 

Mr. Nail was maiTied September 6, 1919, to Miss Mina Wilkerson, a 
daughter of William and Bettie Wilkerson of Smithville, Missouri, and 
natives of Clay County. To Mr. and Mrs. Nail have been bom two sons : 
Claude and Arthur. 

Mr. Nail is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He has been a lifelong 
Democrat and has taken an active part in political matters. He is the 
present chairman of the Democratic County Central Committee of Clay 
County. 



Ambrose Lancaster, a progressive farmer and stockman of Liberty 
township, is a member of one of the pioneer families of Clay County. He 
was bom in Liberty township, December 24, 1872, and is a son of John 
Samuel and Kittle (Price) Lancaster, a sketch of whom appears in this 
volume. 

Ambrose Lancaster was reai^ed on the home fai'm and educated in 
the public schools. He became familiar with farming and stock raising 
in early life and since his boyhood he has been interested in that vocation. 



500 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

He operates about 150 acres of the home place and also conducts a farm 
of seventy acres of which he is the owner. He and his father and his 
brother, James, have been engaged in the breeding business in addition 
to their other fanning operations, for the past forty years. John Samuel 
Lancaster began breeding pure bred Poland China hogs over forty years 
ago, and he and his sons have been breeding pure bred Hereford cattle 
for over thirty years. Ambrose Lancaster operates a thi-eshing outfit 
during the threshing season and the past season he has threshed 25,000 
bushels of wheat and 8,000 bushels of oats. 

January 1. 1901, Ambrose Lancaster was married to Miss Gertrude 
E. Moberly, a daughter of Simeon and Sarah Moberly of Liberty, Mis- 
souri. Simeon Moberly died at the age of seventy-five years and his 
remains were buried in the old Liberty Church cemetery and his widow 
now resides in Liberty. To Mr. and Mrs. Lancaster have been born the 
following children: John B., Julius M., Ambrose M., Sarah, Myra and 
Leslie R. 

Mr. Ambrose is a Democrat and in 1918 was a candidate for the 
nomination to the office of county collector. He is a member of the 
Modern Woodmen of America, having been a member of that lodge for 
twenty-six years. He also holds membership in the Knights of Pythias 
and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows lodges. 



John Samuel Lancaster, one of the older pioneer residents of Clay 
County, still resides in Liberty township which has been his home for 
sixty-three years. He was bozm in Jassimine County, Kentucky, Novem- 
ber 2, 1835, a son of Mason S. and Polly (Collins) Lancaster, both natives 
of Kentucky and now deceased. Mason S. Lancaster came to Clay County 
in 1866 and died here in 1884. His wife died in Kentucky in 1852. They 
were the parents of the following children: John Samuel, the subject of 
this sketch; Mrs. W. E. Sallee, deceased; Mrs. Bettie Van Dyke, of Lib- 
erty, Missouri; Lewis, of Excelsior Springs; and Ambrose D., deceased. 

John Samuel Lancaster was reared in Kentucky and received his edu- 
cation in private schools. In 1857, when he was twenty-two years old, he 
came to Clay County and worked for his uncles, John and George Collins. 
He was in their employ for sixteen months and received twenty dollars a 
month. In 1860, he bought eighty acres of land for which he paid twenty 
dollars an acre. Later, he sold that place and bought 178 acres for 
thirty dollars an acre. In 1888, he traded that farm for 300 acres which 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 501 

is located five miles northeast of Liberty, in Liberty township. This is 
one of the valuable and well improved farms in Clay County, and all of 
the improvements have been placed there by Mr. Lancaster. There is a 
good residence on the place which was built in 1903, and the other build- 
ings about the place are of a substantial character and kept in good condi- 
tion. Mr. Lancaster has retired from the active operation of the farm 
and turned the responsibilities of its care and operation over to his son, 
Ambrose Lancaster. 

January 6, 1859, John S. Lancaster was married to Miss Kittle Price, 
of Platte County, Missouri, a daughter of James and Mary (Elliott) Price, 
natives of Kentucky, the former of Harrison and the latter of Woodford 
County. James Price died in Platte County, Missouri, and his wife died 
at Liberty. Mrs. Lancaster had one brother, William Price, who was a 
veteran of the Civil War, having serv^ed in the Confederate army under 
General Price and is now deceased. Another brother, James T. Price, 
who also served in the Confederate army during the Civil War, now lives 
at Liberty, Missouri. 

To Mr. and Mrs. John Samuel Lancaster have been bom the follow- 
ing children : James Mason Lancaster, Olathe, Kansas ; George C, de- 
ceased ; Lena, married John Vinton Wilson, and they live near Chandler; 
Eudora, man-ied John H. Funk, Liberty, Missouri; Leslie, a farmer in 
Fishing River township ; Ambrose, who farms the home place : Fannie, 
who resides on the home place. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lancaster celebrated their golden wedding anniversary, 
January 6, 1909, and many of their old friends and acquaintances were 
present to do honor to this venerable couple on that occasion. 

Mr. Lancaster is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
having been made a Mason at Salvisa, Kentucky, in 1866. Later he got 
a transfer to Barry, Missouri, and still later one to the Masonic Lodge at 
Liberty, Missouri. He is one of the substantial and highly esteemed 
pioneer settlers of Clay County, and the Lancaster family is one of the 
representative families of this section. 



Charles Pence, a prominent citizen of Liberty township, belongs to 
an early pioneer family of this section of Missouri. He was bom in 
Platte County, May 3, 1861, a son of Henry Clay and Virginia (Ligon) 
Pence. 

Henry Clay Pence was a son of Henry Pence, a Kentuckian, who 
came to Clay County and settled in Liberty township at a very early date. 



502 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

He was a large slave holder and prominent in the early day affairs of 
this county. He was a man of fine abiUty and excellent character. Henry 
Clay Pence is now deceased and his. widow resides in King City, Missouri, 
at the age of eighty-seven years. She is a descendant of Colonial an- 
cestors. Her mother, Eliza Atkinson, was a direct descendant of Colonel 
William Mayo, of Revolutionary fame. 

The following children were born to Henry Clay and Virginia (Ligon) 
Pence: William Franklin, San Fienando, Calif omia; Mary Eliza, married 
James Wallace, who died at Pueblo, Colorado ; Henry, died in Dekalb . 
County, in 1902 ; Augustus, a successful farmer and stockman of Dekalb 
County! Missouri; Charles, the subject of this sketch; G. B., a hardware 
merchant at King City, Missouri, was formerly a member of the Legis- 
lature from Dekalb County; George, died at Florence, Colorado; Martha, 
married J. R. Berry, King City, Missouri ; and Octa, died at the age of 
eleven years. 

Charles Pence was educated in the public schools of Platte and 
Dekalb counties and for twelve years he was engaged in the mercantile 
business at Grower, Missouri. In 1903, he settled on a farm in Liberty 
township, where he has since devoted his attention to general fanning 
and stock raising. The Pence farm is one of the historic old places of 
Clay County and was formerly the Lewis Lancaster farm. 

Charles Pence was married March 22, 1883, to Miss Genie Vermilion. 
Prior to her marriage, Mrs. Pence was prominent in educational work 
and a well known and successful teacher in Clinton and Dekalb counties. 
She is a daughter of William Henry and Marie Catherine (Furse) Ver- 
milion. William Henry Vermilion hved in Daviess County, Missouri, 
when the Civil War broke out. He enlisted in the Confederate amiy and 
died while in the service. During the war his widow came to Clay County 
where she was a prominent teacher for a number of years. She was an 
accomplished woman of unusual ability. Maria Cathrine Furse Vermilion 
was married a second time to Rev. William W. TiUerj-, a Primitive Baptist 
minister. They removed to Clinton County and she now resides at St. 
Joseph, Missouri, with her daughter, Grace, wife of Judge Thomas B. Allen. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Charles Pence have been born four children as fol- 
lows: Henry Clay, born October 15, 1884, is now deceased; Charles 
Edgar, bom April 10, 1886; Fannie Catherine, bom September 7, 1888, 
is now deceased ; and Anna Grace, at home. 

Charles Edgar Pence attended the public school and after gi-aduating 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 503 

from the Gower High School, he entered William Jewell College, where 
he was graduated with the degree of Batchelor of Arts in the class of 
1908. He was then principal of the Doniphan High School and after- 
wards attended Chicago University. He was then elected to the chair of 
Latin and Greek in the Hai"vard School for Boys at Chicago and is at 
' present one of the owners of that institution. The Harvard School is one 
of the exclusive schools for boys of Chicago and is one of the old edu- 
cational institutions of high standing in that city. It is regarded as one 
of the best schools of its kind in the West. It was founded in 1886. 
Charles Edgar Pence mairied Miss Mary Elizabeth Martin, a daughter of 
Dr. C. H. Martin, of St. Joseph, Missouri. 

Anna Grace Pence was graduated at the Liberty Ladies College in 
1913. She then attended the University of Missouri and was graduated 
from that institution with the degree of Batchelor of Arts in 1917. She 
then taught Latin and History at Granby, Missouri, and was later prin- 
cipal of the Kearney High School for one year. She then returned to 
the University of Missouri, receiving her Masters degree in 1919 and now 
occupies the chair in Latin at Trinity University, Waxahachie, Texas. 



Robert H. Connell, a prominent farmer and stockman of Gallatin 
township and a former county judge of Clay County, was bom in Leaven- 
worth County, November 4, 1856. He is a son of Jesse and Mary (John- 
son) Connell, both natives of Kentucky, the former born in Trimble 
County and the latter in Woodford County. 

Jesse Connell settled in Platte County, Missouri, in the early forties. 
Later he removed to Leavenworth County, Kansas, where he remained 
during the Civil War and until 1875. He then settled in Gallatin town- 
ship, Clay County, where he bought a farm and was engaged in farming 
and stock raising until 1880. He then went to Bates County, Missouri, 
and spent the remainder of his life in that county. While a resident of 
Bates County, he was elected presiding judge of the county court and 
sei'ved in that capacity until the time of his, death, in 1892. His remains 
are buried at Butler, Missouri. His widow survived him for a number of 
years and died in Leavenworth County, Kansas, in 1914, and her remains 
are buried by the side of her husband at Butler, Missouri. 

Jesse and Mary (Johnson) Connell were the parents of the following 
children: Robert H., the subject of this sketch; Nannie, married L. S. 
Watkins, Liberty, Missouri ; Jack, died at Centerview, Missouri, in 1918, 



504 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

at the age of fifty-eight years ; Medley S., died at Rogers, Arkansas, in 
1906; and May, who resides at Easton, Kansas. 

Robert H. Connell was reared in Leavenworth County, Kansas, and 
educated in the public schools. When he was eighteen years old, he came 
to Clay County with his parents and when twenty-one years old he^ 
engaged in farming and stock raising for himself. In 1896, he bought 
his present place one and three-fourths miles southeast of Linden, in 
Gallatin township. He owns eighty-four acres of valuable land which is 
improved with substantial buildings. Judge Connell carries on general 
fanning and stock raising with a special aim to raising pure bred stock. 
He raises Shorthorn cattle and Shropshire sheep, keeping i-egistered males 
at the head of his herd and flock. 

Judge Connell was married July 2, 1884, to Miss Emma J. Groseclose, 
a daughter of Eli and Louise (Harmon) Groseclose, both natives of Vir- 
ginia. Mr. Groseclose is now eighty-six years of age. His wife died in 
1918. Mrs. Connell is one of five children born to her parents, the others 
being as follows: Ballard, Kansas City, Missouri; Davis, lives in Linden, 
California; Richard, Pulaski, Virginia; and Mrs. Gertie Wilson, North 
Kansas City, Missouri. To Judge and Mrs. Connell have been bom two 
children: Willie B., died at the age of six years and one child died in 

infancy. 

Robert H. Connell is a Democrat and has always taken an interest 
in political matters. In 1904, he was elected county judge of Clay County 
and re-elected to that oflSce in 1906 and gave the people of Clay County a 
highly satisfactory administration. He is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows at Liberty, Missouri. 

George W. Wagner, a successful fanner and stockman of Gallatin 
township, is a native of Virginia. He was bora in Bland County, January 
27, 1857, a son of Jacob and Ann (Harmon) Wagnei-, both now deceased. 
Jacob Wagner serv'ed in the Confederate Araiy, a member of the Eighth 
Virginia Cavalry, under Captain Thomas Harmon. After serving two 
years he was discharged on account of poor health, and for three years 
thereafter was practically an invalid. While doctoring himself he became 
interested in medicine and took up the study of that profession and 
practiced medicine for several years in Virginia. He died in Washington 
County, Virginia, at the age of seventy-five years, and his wife died in 
Bland County, Virginia, age thirty-eight years. 




MK. AXn .M1{S. GEORGE \V. WAGXEIl 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 507 

To Jacob and Ann (Harmon) Wagner were bom the following chil- 
dren: Ellas Henry, better knovm aa "Charley", of Liberty, Missouri; 
Eli P., lives in Nebraska; George W., the subject of this sketch; Alice, 
married James Hubble, of Smith County, Virginia ; Hezikiah, a farmer in 
Gallatin township; Amanda V., married Piper Naff, of Roanoke, Virginia; 
Ardelia Abby, married Fisher Gearing, Bland Court House, Virginia; W. 
G., Gallatin township; and Willie Stewart, died in infancy. 

George W. Wagner was reared on a farm, and in 1882 came to 
Clay County, Missouri. His entire outfit consisted of a grip and fifty dol- 
lars in money. He began here by working by the month for eighteen 
dollars a month. He was thus engaged for eighteen years when he made 
his first purchase of land. He bought forty acres upon his present home 
site. Later he bought 100 acres more, and is now the owner of 140 acres 
of well improved farm land, in one body. His place is well improved with 
a good residence and other farm buildings of a substantial character. He 
is successfully can-ying on general farming and raises hogs, sheep and 
cattle. His place is well adapted to both stock raising and the production 
of grain. 

Mr. WagTier was married, April 24, 1901, to Miss Willie Wisler, a 
daughter of Lsaac and Dosia (Gabbert) Wisler. Isaac Wisler was a Union 
veteran of the Civil War and after the war he settled in Gallatin town- 
ship, where he spent the remainder of his life. His remains are now- 
buried in the Little Shoals Church cemetery. His widow resides at Troy, 
Kansas. Mrs. Wagner is one of four children bom to her parents, the 
others being aa follows: Guy D., Troy, Kansas; Evalena, married Doc. 
Perkins, of Gallatin township ; and Miss Dee Wisler, of Troy, Kansas. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Wagner was bom one child, Anna Frances, who died in 
infancy. 

Mr. and Mrs. Wagner have an extensive acquaintance and stand 
high in the community. They are members of the Mt. Ollivett Christian 
Church. He is a stockholder of the Linden Bank of Linden, Missouri. 



Robert S. Withers. — -The Withers family i.s one of the pioneer 
I'amilies of Clay County, Missouri, and belongs to that very small claas 
having the unique distinction of living for four generations at the same 
homestead. While progx-essiveness in the usual material sense has been 
characteristic of the Withers family, an equally iileasant distinction has 
been its observance of the fine old traditions of a long line of American 



508 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



antecedents, and its close affiliation with culture and the best standards 
of moral and upright citizenship. ,, , ■ 

The family name was originally "Wither" and continues to be that m 
England, while all the American branches use the corrupted pluralized 

form of "Withers". 

For eighty-six years "Withers Farm", located two miles southwest 
of Liberty Missouri, has been the home of the Withers people and m 
that period its changes and improvements have corresponded with the 
development of the county. In 1834, the log cabin was erected as a 
temporary shelter; in 1842, a commodious frame house was built after 
the fashion of the day. This house still stands and is admired for its 
beautiful walnut woodwork, massive mantel and hand-carved stairway. 
In 1892 Conn Withers built a new frame house in the same yard and to . 
this home his son, Robert Withers, has added modem conveniences m 
the way of hardwood floors, a water system and electric lights. The 
home has a beautiful setting in the midst of giant elms and hard maples. 
In early days hemp was one of the most profitable crops, but the 
cultivation of that passed with the passing of the slaves, though after 
the Civil War all, save one of the negroes, returned to find work and 
homes with the old master. Today, there is a greater variety of crops. 
Grass, corn, wheat, tobacco and alfalfa bring in their returns and help to 
make life on the farm attractive. ^ . 

Cultural and refining elements have kept pace with the material 
progress of the family. The library shows a large and well-selected col- 
lection of books, the piano and victrola bear company with the ancient 
guitar The present owner, Robert Withers, is a collector of weapons 
and historical relics and has in his cases one of the most valuable assort- 
ments of guns, knives and spears of various peoples to be found in any 
private home in this section. The Withers men and their waives have 
been college-bred people. Only one son of each generation has continued 
to live on the farm, the others having chosen business and professional 

careers. , 

Abijah Withers, the pioneer of the family in Clay County, was born 
in Fauquier County, Virginia, of an old Colonial family, ^^ ^''^\ ^^ 
emigrated to Kentucky about 1825, and there met and niarried Prudence 
Blackburn White, August 10, 1830. She was a daughter of Wilham 
White and Mildred Blackburn and was bom in Woodford County, Ken- 
tucky November 16, 1809. Her mother, Mildred Blackburn, was a 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 509 

daughter of George Blackbum and Prudence Bury Blackburn, who emi- 
grated to Kentucky in 1786 over the "Old Wilderness Ti-ail". George 
Blackburn was born in Hanover County, Virginia. 

In 1834, Abijah Withers, with one slave, came to Missouri and bought 
the land in Clay County which has since been known as "Withers Farm". 
After building log cabins to house his family and servants, he left his 
faithful slave, "Merit", in charge and returned to Kentucky in 1835, to 
bring his wife and three sons to Missouri. 

Nine children were born to Abijah and Prudence Withers: (1) 
William Thomas Withers, born in Kentucky, August 3, 1831, died of brain 
fever brought on by too close application to his law studies, August 8, 
1855, at Weston, Missouri; (2) George Samuel Withers, born in Ken- 
tucky, May 13, 1833, married Mollie E. Newman in Weston, August 29, 
1857. He was a lawyer and an orator of local renown. He died at Lib- 
erty and was buried there; (3) Conn Withers, born in Kentucky, Septem- 
ber 22, 1835, married Ella Esther McCoun in Liberty, August 6, 1872, 
and died at Rochester, Minnesota, January 17, 1906. He was buried at 
Liberty. Conn Withers was the one of his generation to carry on 
"Withers Farm", having bought it from his father early in the '70s. In 
his day he was one of the solid men of the community, known everywhere 
for his fine neighborly qualities, good judgment and sound opinions; 
(4) Webster Withers, born in Clay County, Missouri, January 29, 1837^ 
married Cara Lee in Kansas City, Missouri, October 31, 1868. He died 
and was buried in Kansas City, where he was in turn a commission mer- 
chant, a banker, internal revenue collector, railroad receiver and capitalist 
—one of the men who helped to make Kansas City; (5) Albert F. Withers, 
born in Clay County, Missouri, October 22, 1839. He was killed in the 
Confederate service at Carthage. Missouri, being the first man of his 
company to die; (6) Edwin Ruthven Withers, born in Clay County, Mis- 
souri, January 15, 1842, married Julia Miller, February 3, 1874. He is a 
retired farmer and resides in Liberty, Missouri; (7) Mildred E. Withers, 
bom at "Withers Farm", March 4, 1845, man-ied Dudley M. Steele, of St.' 
Joseph, Missouri, died August 16, 1894, and was buried in St. Joseph; (8) 
Julia Withers, bom November 22, 1850, at the farm near Liberty, mar- 
ried R. J. Stone, Februaiy 3, 1874, and now lives in Liberty; (9) Kate 
Blackburn Withers, born in Clay County, Missouri, July 2, 1852, died 
unmarried in July, 1879. 

Abijah Withers died August 16, 1879. His wife died on January 



510 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

92nd Of the same year and the home place came into the complete posses- 
;fon of Com. Withers, who had bought it from his father several years 

'^'"conn Withers' wife, Ella McCoun Withers, taught school for a short 
time previous to her marriage. Her father, William McCoun, was State 
Senator from the district which included Clay County. Her mother, 
V^na Peters McCoun, conducted a school in Liberty with |reat success 
during her widowhood. Her father, John R. Peters, was a State Senator 
and her grandfather, Richard P. Simms, was a Revolutionary sold er , 
under GeSral Washington and is buried seven miles -rth ^f Ube^^^^ 
^1912 a Revolutionary marker was placed at the grave of Richard P. 
Simms by his great gi-eat grandson, Robert S. Withers. 

To Conn a^d Ella McCoun Withers three children were born, al of 
whom are still living: (1) Robert Steele Withers, bom April 19 1875, 
Whom are hun uving ^ ' <. o i«7q further mention of whom is 

(2) Webster Withers, bom August 8, 1878, further mention o 
lade in this volume; (3) Kate Blackbum Withers, bom January 19, 1881. 
ZtZ AMn W Lightbume in August, 1906, and resides on a fai-m near 

'''"tonn Withers died January 16, 1906, his ^ll^'^^'^^^'^^^^^'^J^ 
1906, and "Withers Farm" was bought by their son, Robert Steele 

"^'Tobert Steele Withers received his education in the Liberty public 
.ehooTir at William Jewell College, ^^in. been a mem^^^^^^^^^^ 
.f iRQR nt the latter He was a member of the Phi Gamma ueiia n^ 
JrX Lite atarrand histoT were hi, favorite »«'- -^^^1'% ^"^ 
SaTtaiem wa. dra^n.. Had not '^TTZ^.T^tL^^- 

rrr:: rrj^- o-rorr re:-: l .^ 

'- r„Srtre^:r;arJ;at i—nt-ti^e and e.n. .«^ 
«nt He was a member of the Missouri State Council of Defense, 
fhatman of he CiT; County Council of Defense and County Food Ad 
chairman o Ua^omc lodge. Blue Lodge No. 31, 

uC cl.":;, sXh Kite, Pre,e=t,o„ No. 2, a.d Ararat Shnne. 

'^-'H:rst':r;it„e. .a„.ied A.- B" «x:;rrrc!S 

,006, at he,- father. h„„e i" Hay.ore. M.so„r^ She -^^^^^^ ^ 
County, Illinois, December 22, 1881. and traces 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 511 

John Johnson, a Revolutionary soldier of Virginia. (1) John Johnson 
was born in Virginia in 1740, married Annie Honeycut in 1781, and died 
in Garrard County, Kentucky, January 25, 1827. (2) Margaret Johnson, 
their daughter, was born in Virginia, in 1797, married Joseph Ryman in 
Kentucky and died' in Lyon County, Kansas, February 27, 1879. (3) 
Joseph Granville Ryman, their son, was born near Lexington, Kentucky, 
February 27, 1824, married Nancy Buchanan Turley, near Concord, Mor- 
gan County, Illinois, on March 17, 1850, and died at the home where he 
had lived almost sixty years, on April 11, 1908. (4) Margaret Elizabeth 
Ryman was born in Morgan County, Illinois, December 25, 1855 and on 
August 18, 1878, married Benjamin F. Massie, who was born February 
14, 1854, in Cass County, Illinois, also of Virginia-Kentucky stock. From 
this union were born two children, Byron Granville Massie on November 
5, 1879, and Alice Ethel on the date mentioned above. 

Ethel Massie Withers attended country schools in Illinois and Mis- 
souri, spent three years in Woodland College at Independence, Missouri, 
graduating with highest honors in 1898, and then had four years at the 
Missouri State University, receiving her A.B. degree there in 1903. 
Three years of teaching history in the Liberty High School preceded her 
marriage to Robert Steele Withers. From January, 1911, to January, 
1914, she served as regent of Alexander Doniphan Chapter, Daughters of 
the American Revolution, and in addition to serving on vai'ious national 
and state committees in that organization, was State Historian from 
October, 1915, to October, 1917. While holding that office she prepared 
an illustrated lecture on "Pioneering in Missouri". This was given in 
many towns in the state and now the slides and manuscript are with the 
Missouri State Historical Society at Columbia. 

During the World War, she was chairman of the Clay County 
Woman's Committee Council of Defense and in that capacity served par- 
ticularly in Liberty Loan and Thrift Campaigns, in Food Conservation, in 
Child Welfare Work and in the Red Cross. 1920 brought her into the 
field of politics as Democratic Committeewoman for Liberty township 
and the campaign of education carried on for two months resulted in prac- 
tically all the women of the towTiship going to the polls ready to vote 
intelligently. 

The children boin to Robert Steel Withers and Ethel Massie Withers 
are: (1) Conn Withers, born September 25, 1907, the male representa- 
tive of the fourth generation to live on "Withers Farm". (2) Margaret 
Withers, bom July 29, 1910. 



512 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Though the Withers men have always allied themselves with the 
moral element of the community and have stood for the best in citizen- 
ship, they have not been church members. Always the women have had 
church affiliations, Ethel Massie Withers and her two children being mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church at Liberty. 

In each generation the Withers family has stood for the best in the 
community. The Withers home has been noted for its charming hos- 
pitality and memories of almost a hundred years have made of "Withers 
Farm" a county landmark. 



Ed Jamison, proprietor of "Riverview Farm", located two and one- 
half miles from Liberty, is one of the progressive farmers and stockmen 
of Liberty to\\Tiship. He was born in Nodaway County, Missouri, JanuaiT 
19, 1876, and is a son of Jasper and Ceha (Stephenson) Jamison. 

Jasper Ne\\i;on Jamison was a native of Missouri, bora in Callaway 
County, of pioneer parents, and spent his life in this state. He died in 
1911 and his remains were buried at Excelsior Springs. Celia (Stephen- 
son) Jamison was also a native of Missouri and died in Nodaway County 
in 1877, and her remains are buried at Maryville, Missouri. They were 
the parents of three children as follows : Mrs. Minnie Korell, of Culbert- 
son, Nebraska; Mrs. Cora Gant lives in Caldwell County, Missouri, and 
Ed Jamison, the subject of this sketch. 

Ed Jamison was educated in the public schools of Barnard, Missouri, 
and in Nebraska, and in Caldwell County, Missouri. He mad© his own 
way in life from a very early age. When he was a young man, he entered 
the employ of William Lile, of Excelsior Springs. He .saved his money 
and soon began his independent career as a farmer and stockman. Four 
years later he engaged in the dairj- business at Excelsior Springs and for 
ten years devoted himself to that business. He purchased his present 
farm, which is known as "Riverview Fann". in 1919. This is one of the 
valuable and well improved farms of Clay County and contains 193 acres. 
Mr. Jamison carries on general farming and stock raising and has been 
successful in his undertakings. "Riverview Fai-m" has valuable improve- 
ments including a good seven room residence, a large bara and other 
buildings, all of which are lighted with electricity and have modern con- 
veniences and equipment. 

September 3, 1906, Ed Jamison was manned to Miss Myrtle Eliza- 
beth Ligon, a daughter of John and Cenie (Creek) Ligon, the former of 
whom is deceased and the mother resides with her children. To Mr. and 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 513 

Mrs. Jamison have been born the following children: Thelma Margaret, 
Eddie, J. L., and George. 

Mr. Jamison is a member of the Masonic Lodge and one of the well 
knowTi and highlj^ respected citizens of Clay County. 



Ross H, Clutter, operator and agent for the Wabash Railroad Com- 
pany, at South Liberty, Missouri, is one of the veteran employees of that 
company and has been in its employ for thirty years. He is the second 
oldest telegraph operator in point of years of service on the western 
division of the Wabash railroad. 

Mr. Clutter was born in Green County, Pennsylvania, February 7, 
1869, a son of Henry and Abbie (Hedge) Clutter, both natives of Pennsyl- 
vania. The mother died in that state in 1894 at the age of fifty-one 
years, and the father now lives at Washington, Pennsylvania, and is 
seventy-three years old. They were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Ross H., the subject of this sketch; Richard, an iron-worker, of 
Massillon, Ohio; Miss Lula Clutter, of Washington, Pennsylvania; Mrs. 
Lizzie Morris, deceased; and Mrs. Nellie Hughes, Washington, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

Ross H. Clutter was educated in the public schools at Martinsburg, 
Missouri, and when he was twenty-one years old, attended the Southn 
western Telegraph School at St. Louis, Missouri. After completing the 
course there he accepted a position as night operator on the Wabash 
railroad at Clifton Hill, Missouri. From there he went to Willis, Mich- 
igan, and then to Martinsburg, Missouri, Kirksville and Cairo, as extra 
operator. He was stationed at Norbome, Missouri, about ten months 
and for the past tuenty-seven years he has been agent and operator at 
South Liberty. Mr. Clutter has been in the employ of the Wabash Rail- 
road Company since November 30, 1891. 

November 27, 1895, Ross H. Clutter was married to Miss Maggie 
McLennan, of Liberty Landing. She is the daughter of Daniel and Mary 
(McKenzie) McLennan, both natives of Scotland and now deceased. Mrs. 
Clutter was born at Steeleville, Crawford County, Missouri. She was 
reared in Clay County and attended the Ruth Ewing school in Liberty 
township. To Mr. and Mrs. Clutter have been bom three children: 
Ross James, died at the age of fifteen months ; Arthur, a student in Lib- 
erty High School ; and Mary, also a student in Libei'ty High School. 

Mr. Clutter is a member of the Knights of Pythias and has an ex- 
tensive acquaintance. 



514 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John B. Woods, president of the Farmers Bank of Smithville, Mis- 
souri, and owner and proprietor of "Elnnvood Stock Farm", has been 
known for many years as one of the prominent breeders of Shorthorn 
cattle of the countiy. He was born on the farm near where he now 
resides, November 17, 1855, and is a son of Kemp M. Woods and Sarah 
J. (Chiles) Hamilton. 

Kemp M. Woods was a native of Woodford County, Kentucky, and 
when a young man came to Missouri and settled in Kearney township, 
Clay County. He made the tnp from Kentucky to Clay County alone, 
riding a pony the entire distance. He bought 800 acres of land in 
Kearney towTiship for which he paid $10 an acre. After remaining here 
a short time he returned to Kentucky for his mother and sisters. The 
family lived on the land which he had purchased in Kearney township 
for about two years. He then traded that place for 320 acres in Platte 
township, south of Smithville, which is still a part of the Woods home- 
stead. Here he carried on general farming and stock raising and met 
with marked success. He owned a great deal of land in this part of 
the counti-y. and at one time had over 3,000 acres in Clay and Platte 
counties. He was a progressive and public spirited man and did much 
for the betterment and upbuilding of the community in the early days. 
He built a school house on his farm, with the object ot furnishing ad- 
vanced educational advantages to young women. Here music was taught 
as well as the other arts and sciences. This was before the Civil War. 
When the Civil War broke out he served as Captain of the Home Guards 
of Platte township, and was knowii thereafter as Captain Woods, having 
earned his title by actual service. 

Kemp M. Woods was twice married, his first wife l>eing Miss Sarah 
Skinner, and two children were bom to that union: Phineas, who was 
killed during the Civil War, while sei-ving in the Confederate Army; 
Kemp M.. Jr., who is also deceased. After the death of his first wife 
Kemp M. Woods jiiaiTied Sarah J. (Chiles) Hamilton, a widow, and to 
this marriage three children were born, as follows: John B., the sub- 
ject of this sl^etch; Henry A., Platte township; and Cornelius H., de- 

John B. Woods attended the district school and later took a course 
at William Jewell College, at Liberty, Missouri. When he was eighteen 
years old he began fanning and stock raising for himself on his father's 
land, and has devoted himself to that line of endeavor all of his hfe. 




r ^f 





'^^-^^ . /3 #<^-T^/-<' 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 517 

His farm which is known as the "Elmwood Stock Farm" contains 800 
acres, and is one of the valuable farms of Clay County. 

Mr. Woods has been an extensive breeder of pure bred Shorthorn 
cattle for twenty years, and the Elmwood herd of Shorthorns was one 
of the pi'oniinent pure bred herds of Missouri, and Mr. Woods has filled 
orders for pure bred Shorthorn cattle, from his herd, from nearly all the 
western states. *' 

John B. Woods was married, near Lexin^on, Kentucky, to Miss Lela 
Wiglesworth, a daughter of William and Fannie (Goodloe) Wiglesworth, 
both natives of Kentucky. To Mr. and Mrs. Woods have been bom two 
children, Helen and Mildred. 

Mr. Woods is a Knights Templar Mason and a member of the Mystic 
Shrine. He also holds membership in the Modern Woodman of America 
and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Ms. Woods is a member 
of the Eastern Star. They are lx)th members of the Christian Church, 
and Mr. Woods is an elder. 

Mr. Woods is a progressive and enteiTDrising citizen and always stands 
ready to co-operate with any movement which has for its object the better- 
ment and upbuilding of his county and state. He is widely known as a 
good roads booster. He is one of the substantial citizens of Clay County. 
He was one of the organizers of the Bank of Nashua and is one of its 
directors. 

Mr. Woods was instrumental in getting the rural free delivery started 
throughout Platte township from Smithville, there being three routes estab- 
lished at that time and another was added later. He established the first 
country telephone line in Platte township. 

The Woods' residence is modem throughout and one of the fine homes 
of the county. 

The Farmei-.s liank of Smithville, Missouri, was organized with the 
following officers: John B. Woods, president; Richardson C. Hulse, vice 
president; P. T. Aker, cashier, and the first board of directors were: John 
Brooks, Richard Hulse, Kemp M. Woods and Martin Aker. The present 
officers are: John B. Woods, president; Henry A. Woods, vice president; 
0. J. Boggees, cashier, and 0. A. LowTnan, assistant cashier. Official state- 
ment of the financial condition of the Farmers Bank of Smithville. At 
Smithville, State of Missouri, at the close of business on the 7th day of 
December, 1920, published in the Democrat-Herald, a newspaper printed 
and published at Smithville, State of Missouri, on the 17th day of December, 
1920. 



513 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

RESOURCES. 

Loans and discounts, undoubtedly good on personal 

or collateral $188,088.21 

Loans, real estate 27,m00 

Overdrafts „ • 

Bonds and stocks ^""-^^ 

Real estate (banking house) 9,000.00 

Other real estate ^ --^OO.OO 

Furniture and fixtures t'^a^^'oo 

Due from banks and bankers, subject to check 18,097.38 

Cash Items ^^^ ^^ 

Currency ^92.30 

Specie 

Total $251,541.82 

LLA.BILITIES. 

f^rrv" '":-:: 

Surplus fund 71 V.^q oi 

Undivided profits, net ' n' ^ 1 

Due to banks and bankers, subject to check.— 17,000.00 

Individual deposits subject to check ^ofi'qsnln 

Time certificates of deposit ?n onn 00 

Bills payable and rediscounts 10,00U.uu 

Total $251,541.82 



Daniel Conlev, a well known and successful farmer of Liberty town- 
ship, Clay Count;, is a native of Tennessee. He was bora in Williamson 
County, Tennessee, October 29. 1862. and is a son of John A. and Hannorah 

^^^^The Conle^ family came from Tennessee to Missouri in 1870, when 
Daniel Conley of this review was about eight years old. They made he 
trip by river steamboat from Nashville, Tennessee,, to Kansas City, which 
required twenty-eight days. The family located in Clay County at Mis- 
souri City, where the father worked on the railroad a few years and later 
engaged in farming in the vicinity of Excelsior Springs Junction. He 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 519 

sold his place and removed to Kansas City, where he died a short time 
afterwards, in 1892, at the age of seventy-five years. His wife died in 
1906 and their remains are buried in Fairview cemetery. They were the 
parents of the following children: Michael, deceased; Johanna, mamed 
R. W. Ferrish, of Phoenix, Arizona; John, now deceased; and a daughter 
who died in infancy, twins; Jerry, deceased; Daniel, the subject of this 
sketch; and Hannorah, deceased. 

Daniel Conley was educated at the Clevenger school house in Fish- 
ing River township, and early in life he engaged in farming and stock 
raising. He bought his present farm in Liberty township in 1908, 
although he had owned two farms before this. His present place consists 
of fifty-five acres and is a well improved farm with a good residence and 
other farm buildings. The residence is at the highest point of the farm 
and presents a commanding view of the surrounding country. The place 
is supplied with city water from the main of the Liberty water plant, 
Mr. Conley having laid 3,000 feet of pipe to connect with this main. He 
carries on general farming and stock raising and has met with success. 

January 27, 1871, Daniel Conley was married to Miss Jeannette E. 
Boyer, a daughter of Nelson and Mary (Easterly) Boyei'. The mother 
is now deceased and the father lives in Fishing River township and a 
sketch of him appears in this volume. To Mr. and Mrs. Conley have 
been bom the following children: Elizabeth, married Irving Archer, Lib- 
erty, Missouri ; John, a fanner of Liberty township, married Edna George ; 
Florence, married E. J. Murphy, a farmer of Liberty township; and 
Everett, a farmer of Liberty township, man-ied Evelena Davis. Mr. and 
Mrs. Conley have ten grandchildren as follows: Galen and Gladys 
Archer; Ellen Conley; Frances James E. and Conley Murphy; Daniel, 
John N., and Ralph Franklin Conley. 

Mr. Conley is a progressive and enterprising citizen and widely and 
favorablj'^ known in Clay County. 



William J. Stark, now deceased, was an early settler of Clay County 
and prominently identified with the development of this section during 
his career. He was a native of Virginia, bom in Fauquier County in 
1809. He was reared to manhood in his native state and was thei-e mar- 
ried to Emily Waller, a native of Culpeper County, Virginia. 

In 1849, William Stark came to Missouri and settled in Gallatin town- 
ship. Clay County. He drove through from Virginia with his family 



520 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

and brought about twenty ne^-o slaves, and dvu^ing ^he ^Wil War w^^^^^ 
the slaves were liberated, he owned about forty. One ^^^^^J^^^^^^l 
Winnie lived to be 103 years old. She died in 1875. Grandma Wmme 
!ls a great favorite with the Stark children and they were very fond of 

""'"when William J. Stark came to Clay County or shortly after 
reachTng here, he bought the place in Gallatin township where the S ark 
reacmng ne , ,^^ ^40 acres and is located four. 

mTef n S. "f North Kansas City. It is one of the histonc old places 
"c ay County. The original farm' residence which contained two rooms^ 
was built by the Mormons, a hundred years ago. ^e ^arm was enteie^ 
from the government by a Mr. Bancroft, who sold it to Alex. Fudge 
from whom Mr. Stark bought it. It is an attractive place, the residence 
bergtirounded by locusts and elm trees which were planted and caied 

''' WimamTsiark died in 1882, at the age of seventy-one years. His 
wifel dTn 1891 at the age of eighty-two years a^ the- maj^^^^^^ 
u • A ir. +v,o Waller cemetery. Thev were the parents of the following 
cMdl: Eizl* i:^e/wi.Ua™ Eu^se,,, wW sewed in *e Mexican 
War in Colonel Doniphan's regiment and also served m the Cvl War and 
Te and Ms wife are now both deceased; Charles Seldon was k.lled m 
btSedunr Civil War at Lone Jack, Missouri; Cathenne. decea.^. 
Sotale. married Gray Westhrook, who died '"J™"!f^='/™ *;£ 
w,r tarn the effect of a wound received at the battle of Corinth. Missis 
Si 'Jile Ll. in the Confederate anny -d Mrs Jest rook now 
lives on the Stark home farm; Fannie, resides on *».'■<''"! ''^=':/'"^ 
tandy Stark, was killed at Hartsville, Missouri, during the Civil War 
wWle serving in the Confederate amiy; May F.. deceased; J. T.. deceased 
r^iu W on he home place; Josephine, resides on the home place; and 
Wr* married Robert Oriffith, who died January 12. 1914, and she 

"'■';: WiMaC::: Eirabeth (Stark) Russell were born three children 
who In Hiving. They are as ^o^^''..■Urs.U.ry^n,.^s,^2 
Ls in Buchanan County; Edward, ""™\\«:,'' f J 'i.^' ^N * 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 521 

The Stark family have in their possession many historic heirlooms 
which give mute testimony to many events associated with the history 
of the Stark family. A diary which was written by Fountain Waller, a 
brother-in-law of William J. Stark, contains much interesting data con- 
cerning the writer's trip from Fauquier County, Virginia, to Missouri, 
in 1831. It gives a description of the entire route followed by the writer, 
and was written as a sort of a guide book for others who were making 
the same journey, the principal points along the way being described, 
after the style of a modern automobile tourist's guide. The Stark family 
also have in their possession a feed trough for horses, which was used 
on Mr. Stark's trip to Missouri in 1849. Mrs. Westbrook has in her 
possession a cannon ball which was fired at a building in which her hus- 
band was stationed at the battle of Ossawatomie, during the battle with 
John Brown's men. 

The Stark family is one of the prominent pioneer families of Clay 
County and its members are highly respected and representative of the 
best citizenship of Clay County. 



C. G. Shaw, coal operator, banker, and merchant of Missouri City, 
is a prominent factor in the commercial and industrial affairs of Clay 
County. He was bom at Huntsville, Randolph County, Missouri, and is 
a son of D. A. and Eliza (Frazier) Shaw, pioneer settlers of Randolph 
County. 

C. G. Shaw was reared and educated in Randolph County, and early 
in life became interested in the operation of coal mines in the vicinity of 
Huntsville. He operated a mine at Kimberly, between Huntsville and 
Moberly, in partnership with others, for eight years. In 1903, he became 
interested in the Missouri City Coal Company, of which he is now secre- 
taiT-treasurer. He is also the senior member of the firm of Shaw and 
Donovan, leading merchants in Missouri City, and he is president of the 
Missouri City Bank, at that place. 

The Missouri City Coal Company of Missouri City, Missouri, is the 
only coal mine in Clay County. This company was organized and began 
business in 1893 with a capital stock of $2000.00 by local men. The 
capital stock was increased in 1895, to $10,000.00. The following were 
the officers at the time of the incorporation: Willias M. Simmons, presi- 
dent; Charles W. Norton, secretary; Luther A. Bell, J. M. Grubbs, and 
Josiah Lingenfelter, directors. There were about twenty stockholders. 



522 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

In 1900, V/. H. Jones and George C. Gray bought all the stock of the com- 
pany, and in 1903, C. G. Shaw bought Mr. Jones' stock and since that 
time has been secretary-treasurer and general manager of the company. 
For the past seventeen years the Missouri City Coal Copipany has 
done an extensive business. However, the largest output of the com- 
pany was in the year of 1909, during which year they mined 50,000 tons 
of coal, giving employment to about 150 men. Fi-om 1903 to 1911, this 
company supplied the Wabash railroad with coal here for their trains. 
In 1911, the chutes, tipple, and machinery were destroyed by fire, but 
the entire equipment was rebuilt and ready for operations within thirty 

days. 

This mine is being operated by the latest mmmg machmeiy, known 
to the mining industry. They operate two electrical mining machines, 
and more are being installed. It requires four men to operate one of 
these machines, and each machine, mines about seventy-five tons of coal 
a day. There are now employed in and about the mine sixty men, and 
the present wage scale is from $7.50 to $8.00 a day. The shaft, leading 
to the mine, is 170 feet deep. The coal vein is about twenty inches thick 
and is of an excellent quality of coal. 

Mr. Shaw is also interested in the Jacksonville Coal Company, and 
for the past three years he has been general manager for that company, 
which employs 125 men and has a daily output of alx)ut 400 tons of coal. 

Philip E. Hamel, Jr., an enterprising and capable farmer and stock- 
man of Fishing River township, is a native son of Clay County. He was 
born in the township where he now resides September 21, 1883, a son of 
PhiUp, Sr., and Maggie (Martin) Hamel. 

Philip Hamel, Sr., was born in Germany in 1844, and at the age of 
nine years came to America with his widowed mother who first settled 
in Cincinnati, Ohio. Shortly afterwards the family came to Clay County, 
Missouri, settling in Fishing River township, and Philip Hamel, Sr., has 
since made his home in this township where he has followed fanning 
and stock raising all his life. He is a veteran of the Civil War, having 
served in the Union Amy throughout that conflict, and during- the 
course of his active military career he was wounded three times. His 
wife was bom in Maryland, a daughter of Henry and Maggie Martin who 
were early settlers in Kansas City, Missouri. 

The following children were born to Philip Hamel, Sr., and wife: 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 523 

Eddie and Henry, twins, both deceased; Lizzie, deceased; Emma, mar- 
ried Gus Haney, Turon, Kansas; Philip E., Jr., the subject of this sketch; 
Anna, deceased; Anna, married Logan Foster, Fishing River township; 
Fred, who was in the United States Army during the World war; 
William resides at home with his parents; and one son died in infancy. 

Philip E. Hamel, Jr., was reared in Fishing River township and 
educated in the district school. He has always followed farming, hav- 
ing been familiar with farm life since early boyhood. For the past six 
years he has operated a farm of 244 acres, the property of T. M. and 
William Raney of Kansas City, Missouri. This is one of the productive 
farms of Clay County, being all Missouri River bottom land. Mr. Hamel 
devotes himself chiefly to raising grain, and during the past season he 
raised 125 acres of corn, ninety acres of wheat and eighteen acres of 
alfalfa. His alfalfa averages about five cuttings a season. 

September 22, 1919, Philip E. Hamel, Jr., was married to Miss Ger- 
trude Mitchell, who was the only child of J. F. and Mary Mitchell of 
Kansas City, Missouri. 



W. M. Thomas, a well known fanner and stockman of Liberty town- 
ship, who is now operating the Robert Withers farm, five miles south- 
east of Liberty, is a native son of Clay County. He was bom in Fish- 
ing River township in 1879, a son of George and Barbara (Greenwood) 
Thomas. The Thomas family came from Kentucky, in which State both 
parents were bom, and came to Missouri at a very early date, making 
the trip up the Missouri River by steamboat. George Thomas was a son 
of Fred Thomas, a Kentuckian, who settled in Platte County, near 
Barry. George Thomas died in 1908, and his wife departed this life in 
1898. Their remains are buried in Nebo Cemetery. 

To George and Barbara (Greenwood) Thomas were born the fol- 
lowing children : Anna, married Ed. Whitton, and is deceased ; Ed. 
Thomas, deceased ; John Thomas, resides on the old Thomas homestead ; 
George, deceased ; Samuel, deceased : W. M., the subject of this sketch ; 
and Claudie, deceased. 

W. M. Thomas was reared in Clay County and educated in the public 
schools. He has followed farming since early manhood and has always 
made his home in Clay County. 

Mr. Thomas was married July 27, 1909, to Miss Lula Evans of Lib- 
erty township. She is a daughter of James and Alice (Cathcart) Evans. 



524 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

James Evans was a native of Jackson County, Missouri, and was acci- 
dentally killed by a Wabash train. His widow afterwards married A. J. 
Stevens and now lives seven miles north of Liberty. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Thomas have been born six children as follows : William, George, Robert, 
Dora Alice, Roy, and Ralph. 

Mr. Thomas is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and a progressive and enterprising citizen. 



Hugh H. Preston, manager of the Gashland Lumber Company, is one 
of the enterprising business men of Clay County. He was bom one and 
one-half miles east of Barry, Missouri, September 19, 1896, and is a son 
of J. C. and Melvina (Williams) Preston. 

J. C. Preston was bom at TwelvemJle, Indiana, May 29, 1854. He 
died January 27, 1920. He was reared in Indiana and came to Missouri 
when he was about eighteen years old. He was a druggist and engaged 
in that line of business in early life. Later he entered the employ of the 
Sewall Paint and Glass Company as their travelmg representative in 
southem Missouri and Arkansas and for twenty-seven years, prior to his 
death, he was in the employ of that company in that capacity. He founded 
the Gashland Lumber Company in 1910 and his son, Hugh H. Preston, 
has managed this business since its organization. They carry a complete 
line of lumber and building material and have one of the well equipped 
lumber yards of the country. 

J. C. Preston was married in 1882 to Miss Melvina Williams, of Gash- 
land, Missouri. She was born and reared in Gallatin township and now 
resides in Kansas City. To J. C. and Melvina (Williams) Preston were 
bom two sons: Paul R., of Independence, Missouri, married Miss Ina 
Newell of Butler, Missouri, succeeded his father as traveling representative 
for the Sewall Paint and Glass Company, and now holds that position ; and 
Hugh H., the subject of this sketch. 

Hugh H. Preston received his education in the school of Kansas City, 
Missouri, and attended Spalding's Commercial College. He was with the 
Arma Lumber Company at Arma. l^^ansas, for three years, and when the 
Gashland Lumber Company was organized in 1910 he came here as man- 
ager of that enterprise and has since sen'ed in that capacity, and has, 
therefore, had much to do with the progress and development of this 
successful enterprise. 

April 30, 1912, Hugh H. Preston was married to Mi'=is Margaret 




^P ^ '-:li ^ 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 527 

Thomas, a daughter of J. L. Thomas. Mrs. Preston was bom at Osceola, 
Missouri, and her mother now resides in Kansas City, Missouri. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Preston have been bom two children : Vena Charlene and Hugh 
Herbert, Jr. 

Mr. Preston is a member of the Masonic Lodge at Barry, Missouri, 
and is one of the substantial and enterprising business men of Clay County. 



William Isenhour, a successful farmer and stockman of Liberty town- 
ship, is a native of Clay County. He was lx)m in Fishing River town- 
ship, October 4, 1876, and is a son of Wilham H. and Lydia (Bunvay) 
Isenhour, both natives of Indiana. 

William H. Isenhour was reared to manhood in his native State and 
when the Civil War broke out, enlisted in an Indiana regiment and 
served in the Union Army for three years. After the close of the war 
he returned to Indiana and 1872 came to Missouri and settled on a fai-m 
on the Missouri bottoms in Clay County. He followed farming in Clay 
and Clinton counties for a number of years and now resides at Leaven- 
worth, Kansas. His v.ife died about 1881, and her remains are buried 
in the Nebo Cemetery. They were the parents of the following chil- 
dren: Frankie, deceased; George, lives in Liberty township; Alice, mar- 
ried Jesse Crawford and is now deceased; and William, the subject of 
this sketch. 

William Isenhour was reared in Clay County and educated in the 
district schools, attending school in the Sharj^ school district. He began 
working by the month for farmers in the vicinity of his home when he 
was still a youth. He worked for Charles Story for four years, for 
fifteen dollars a month and for a time was employed by George W. Petty. 
After he had saved a sufficient amount of his earnings, he bought a 
team and some farming implements and worked rented land for three 
years. He then bought eighty acres of land, forty acres of which were 
• river bottom land, which he still owns. About six years later, he bought 
thirty-six acres more. In March 1918. he bought ninety-two acres, and 
has recently purchased 120 acres moie. He is now the owner of 328 
acres of well improved and productive land. He raises wheat, com, oats 
and a'falfa and is quite extensively engaged in stock raising. He raises 
cattle, hogs, and horses. 

Mr. Isenhour was married October 4, 1893. to Miss Frankie Yates. 
She is a daughter of Nathan and Catherine Yates of the Nebo district. 



528 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 



""'wXlt r/^ndustrious and .nte..pri.i.« ciU»„ a„<. what 
p.„g"l. J« t: ™de ha, beendue to honest hard «ork an. self sacnflce. 

lames P. Carson, a successful farmer of Fishing River township, 
.lames r. v. •■ jessamine County, Januai-y 10, 

to -^""f.^^^" " f/;" . '^He died in Can-oil County. Missouri, in his 

lilts :r "anl ;itrersr:;;a„d ,.„ speda, atte„«on to ..in. 
Reed's Yellow Dent con, for seed PUnP-es an .s »- ° ' ^ -"t,, 
seed coi-n growers in th.^^eet.on of the county. He 
seed com at Excelsior Springs lair at two diBcienl times. 
He is "re owner of 120 acres which through his management is kept in 
a high state of cultivation. ^,, 

Mr Tai-son was married October i. 1»&-j, to Miss raipinr , 

rift^h:-^:^ ^^- - - -— ^- ^^ 
Ei^:^r.^sr:ri^-r;^r:^^^S^ 

-1 TTonmnTi n Miller Jr , of Co ns, Missouri, and Bessie, 
the former married Harmon U. Miner Jr., o , engaged 

married John Temple of Missouri City; and [!^' '.;'?. ^.^r He is 

in the operation of the home farm m P-»-t;"-^^^'P,"\^^ .'"/^f^ Armv 

foJn nf the Worid war. having entered the United ^tates Arm> 

Ut 1918, and waf sent to Camp Kunston for training and was s- 

tered out of .service ahd honorably discharged .tanuaiy i. 1.119. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 529 

Ml'. Carson and his two sons are progressive and enterprising-, and 
rank among the leading citizens of Clay County. 



G. W. Long, superintendent of the Frank H. Sweet stock farm of 
Liberty township, Clay County, is one of the capable and practical farm- 
ers and stockmen of this county. He was bom in Caroline County, Vir- 
ginia, August 22, 1866, and is a son of G. M. and Sarah Long, both now 
deceased. G. W. Long was reared and educated at Fredericksburg, Vir- 
ginia. He came to Clay County when a young man and for a number 
of years was engaged in farming and stock raising in Fishing River 
township, where he now owns a farm of eighty acres. 

Mr. Long was married April 18, 1886, to Miss Sarah Cathei-ine 
Minter, a daughter of F. M. and Sarah (Bohart) Minter. Mrs. Long was 
bom in Clay County, August 12, 1869. To Mr. and Mrs. Long have been 
bom two children: J. R., who is operating his fathei-'s farm in Fish- 
ing River township; and Sarah, maiTied J. J. Williams, a farmer in Fish- 
ing River township. There are two grandchildren in the Long family: 
G. W. Long and Beverly Williams. 

Mr. Long is a member of the Modem Woodmen of America, Camp 
No. 2002, Kansas City, Missouri. 

The Frank Sweet stock farm, of which G. W. Long is superintend- 
ent, is one of the important agricultural enterprises of Clay County. 
This place contains about 300 aci-es and is principally devoted to raising- 
horses and mules, and at this writing there are about 300 head of each 
on the place and from three to four hundred head of cattle on the place. 
Mules are bought and fed and cared for on this place, when they are 
shipped to markets in the southern states and as far east as Boston. The 
farm is practically all under grass. Mr. Long has four assistants on the 
place to care for the stock. Mr. Sweet bought this place in March, 1920, 
and prior to that time he o"WTied a stock farm near Belton, Missouri, 
where Mr. Long was superintendent for six years before taking charge 
of the Clay County faiTn. He is thoroughly experienced in handling 
farming and stock raising on a large scale. 



Arthur and Lank Carlyle, enterprising young farmers and stockmen 
who are operating the "Land" fai-m of 200 acres, in Gallatin and Liberty 
townships, are both natives of Clay County, born in Liberty township. 
Arthur was bom November 22, 1889, and Lank was born March 18, 1891. 
They are sons of John and Mattie (James) Carlyle. 



g3() HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

John Carlyle was born and reared in Virginia, and when a young 
„.an came to aay County, Missouri, and was engaged in famnng and 
sockraTlg here until his death, at the age of fifty-nine years, and h.s 
er^ains are' buried in Little Shoal Church cemetery Matt.e (James) 
Carivle was born in Liberty township. Clay County, a daughter of John 
SmI and now resides with her sons, Arthur and Lank Carlyle^ The 
oZ chiWren born to John and Mattie (James) Carlyle are: WUham, 
who is emp oyed by the Bell Telephone Company, of Liberty ; James, hves 
Tn olhoma; Loretta, married Howard Jahn, Liberty, M.ssoun; and 
Mabel married Fillmore Kaphart, Liberty, Missouri. 

Arthur and Lank Carlyle were educated in the public schools ot 
LibertrMissouri, and followed woodwork contracting for some time. In 
i^Olfthey engag d in farming and stock raising and oP^rated the Chand 
er farm on the Missouri river bottoms for one year, and in March, 1920 
hey ook possession of the J. T. Land farm, in Gallatm o-ship -hic^ 
Insists of 200 acres. They raised -f ^^-^^ -^^^^,«f/^™,f ^^^^^^^ 
«P«.nn and have ninety-five acres under wheat. They laise uuroc 
7Zl hogs rr Shorthorn cattle, all of which are eligible tx> registra 
Sn In addition to their farming and stock raising oP-'at-ns they 
To buy and sell mules. At this ^vriting they have on hand a herd of 
about 400 hogs, and 140 on feed for the market. ,,,,,, -.^^ 

The carlyle family was well represented in the -ks «f ^^^/^^^ 
States Army in the World War. Lank Carlyle entered the Umted States 
A^v October 3, 1917. and served until the close of the war with the 
35"h Mant;, 'sOth Division. He was mustered out of service and 
honorably discharged March 23, 1919. 

Arthur Carlyle entered the United States Army m J""^- l^^S. and 
was sent to Camp Funston, Kansas, where he became a mernber of the 
Sh Headquarters Company and was honorably discharged and mus- 
tpvpd out of service in February. 1919. 

James Carlyle. another brother, entered the United States Army 
in May 918. and was sent to Camp Dodge, Iowa, for training and froin 
there to France with the Supply Department and was with the 88th 
mvi ion and saw much service on the battle front in France. He was 
r he battle line four different times and after the armistice was ^gned 
he was kept in France a few months, when he was returned to the 
united States and honorably discharged, after having been m the ser- 
vice for eighteen months. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 531 

James L. A. Gates, proprietor of "Gates' Oak Ridge Farm," is one 
of the successful and enterprising farmers and stockmen of Clay 
County. He was born near Kearney, Missouri, June 12, 1860, and is a 
son of George W. and Nancy J. (Ferril) Gates. 

George W. Gates was born in Missouri, and prior to the Civil War, 
was engaged in farming near Kearney. When the Civil War broke out 
he enlisted in the Confederate Army and died at Springfield, Missouri, in 
1862, while in the service. Nancy J. Ferril was bom and reared on the 
old Ferril homestead, near Kearney. After the death of her first hus- 
band she was to married to B. W. Reames in 1868. She died in Butler 
County, Kansas. James L. A. Gates and a sister, George Ann, were the 
only children bom to his mother's first mamage. George Ann died in 
infancy. To her marriage with B. W. Reames were bom the following 
children: Mrs. Gordia Huff, Horton, Kansas; H. F. Reames, St. Joseph, 
Missouri ; Walter Reames, Kearney, Missouri ; and Mrs. Mary L. Barnes, 
Springfield, Missouri. 

James L. A. Gates was educated in the public schools of Kearney 
township and in the schools of Cowdey County, Kansas. In 1879, he 
returned to Clay County and engaged in farming and stock raising. 
For the past nineteen years he has owned his present fann in Liberty 
township. He purchased this place from the Captain Grooms estate. 
This place consists of 250 acres of valuable and improved land. It is a 
good grain farm and is especially well adapted to stock raising. There 
is an ample supply of water, good shade and every natural condition, con- 
tributing to an ideal stock farm. Mr. Gates raises high grade cattle, 
sheep and hogs. 

James L. A. Gates was married in 1887 to Miss Sallie McMahan who 
was born in Wise County, Texas, and reared in Clay County, Mis.souri. 
She is the daughter of John and Frances (Meanes) McMahan, both of 
whom are now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Gates have been bom the 
following children: Georgia, married John Best, Liberty, Missouri; 
Harry D., mairied Beulah Wright and is a farmer and stock raiser near 
Liberty, Missouri; Mrs. Nannie Black, Liberty, Missouri; Gertrude, mar- 
ried Gal Massey of Liberty and Fi-ank, resides at home with his parents. 

Mr. Gates is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and the Modern W^oodmen of America. He is a Democrat and a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church and an elder. He is progressive and 
enterprising and a substantial citizen. 



532 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

George W. Reynolds, a well Icnown farmer and stockman, of Liberty 
tovvTiship, is a native son of Clay County. He was born on the David 
Creek fann in Liberty township, May 7. 1866, a son of Jonas and Jane 
(Creek) Reynolds. 

Jonas Reynolds was an early settler in Clay County, and owned and 
operated a farm about six miles north of Liberty. He died at the age 
of sixtv-five years. Jane (Creek) Reynolds was born in Clay County 
and was a daughter of Kill Creek who was a very early pioneer of this 
section. Mrs. Reynolds died in 1869, and is buried by the side of her 
husband in Providence cemetery. To Jonas and Jane (Creek) Reyn- 
olds were born the following children: Emma, married Charles Creek 
and lives at Oak Creek, Colorado; John E., L. J., and K. A., all farmers 
and stockmen of Liberty township; and George W., the subject of this 

George W. Reynolds was reared in Liberty towTiship and attended 
school in'the Providence and Bell districts. In early life he spent two 
years in Colorado and Kansas and then returned to Clay County with 
has since been his home. He first bought a farm of thirty acres which 
he later sold and bought 115 acres. He afterwards sold seventy-four 
acres of that place and bought eighty acres additional. He now owns 
128 acres which is one of the well improved and valuable farms of Clay 
County. In 1918, he built a modem two story residence of nine rooms, 
and the other buildings about the place are of a high standing. He car- 
ries on general farming and stock raising and keeps a good grade of 

Mr. Reynolds was manned in 1892, to Miss Martha Warren, a daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Lucy (Hudelmeyer) Warren. Mrs. Reynolds' par- 
ents are both deceased. They were very early settlers in Liberty town- 
ship, and Mrs. Reynolds was born in this township. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Reynolds have been bom the following children: Wallace A., died at 
the age of one year; Ruth, married D. V. Britten; Grace M., mairied 
Kirk Burke; Blanch M., married James D. White, and Clara, Lucy. 
Frank N., and George W., residing at home with their parents. The 
follovving are the grandchildren of the Reynolds family: Evelyn Jean. 
Georgeann, and Fay Ruth Britton, Lucile, John Reynolds, Wallace Wil- 
son Burke, and Martha Reed White. 

Mr. Reynolds is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and belongs to the Rebeccas. Mr. Reynolds is the original good roatis 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 533 

promoter of his district. He made the first I'oad drag and operated it on 
the Range Line road. This pioneer road drag was made of two slabs, 
one of walnut and the other of white oak, and Mr. Reynolds had this 
crude device in operation in his district over twenty years ago. He is 
progressive, public spirited, and a Clay County citizen of real worth. 



James T. Martin, a well known citizen of Liberty township, is a native 
of Clay County and a descendant of pioneer parents, who settled in this 
county at an early day. James T. Martin was born about a mile and one- 
half south of Linden, December 7, 1848, and is a son of Thomas and Jane 
(Sutton) Martin, the former a native of Jess amine C ounty, Kentucky, j 
and the latter of Woodford County, Kentucky. 

Thomas Martin came to Clay County, from Kentucky, in 1844, and 
bought 100 acres of land for which he paid ten dollars an acre; later he 
bought 240 acres for which he paid thirty-three dollars and one-third an 
acre. The old homestead is now owned by his daughter, Emma Barnes, 
and she is now living there. The first place which he bought here was 
covered with a heavy growth of blackben-y brush and pawpaws. He 
cleared the land, made improvements and spent the remainder of his life 
here, and he and his wife are buried in Barry cemetery. Thomas Martin 
was one of the adventurers who made the hazardous trin to California 
during the gold excitement in 1849. He remained there about a year, 
engaged in gold mining and succeeded in finding some gold, but not in 
paying quantities. 

James T. Martin was reared to manhood on the home farm in Clay 
County and received his education in the Davis district school. In early 
life he went to Texas and after spending about three years in Texas and 
the Choctaw Nation, which was then Indian Territory, he returned to 
Clay County and engaged in farming and stock I'aising in the vicinity of 
Linden. He owned a farm in Gallatin township, and also one in Platte 
township which he later sold. In February, 1911, he moved to his present 
place, one mile south of Liberty, where he owns seventeen acres of val- 
uable land which is worth at least $800.00 per acre. He has a comforts 
able home here and is engaged in raising small fruit. 

Mr. Mai'tin was married in 1878 to Miss Lizzie Crouse, a daughter 
cf C. M. and Nancy (Dickey) Crouse, of Harlem, Missouri. C. M. Crouse 
was a native of Germany, bom March 23, 1838, and came to Missouri 
wlien a young man. He was justice of the peace and notary public for 



534 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

many years. He died in 1912. His wife was born in Bates County. Mis- 
Turf February 6, 1842, and died in 1915. Mrs. Martm was born m 
Son Count^, Missouri, in 1861, and was reared and edueated^n tha 
county and came to Clay County with her parents m 1876 To Mr and 
Mrs. Martin was born one son, Thomas, who was killed by bghtnmg Maj 
1, 1895, at the age of thirteen years. , , ■ n^ r.M,.fv 

James T Martin is well known and highly respected m Clay Countj 
where he and Mrs. Martin have many friends and acquaintances. They 
are worthy representatives of the best pioneer element of this county. - 

Henry A Woods, a successful farmer and stockman and large land 
owner of Platte township, is a native of Clay County and a member of one 
of the prominent pioneer families of this county. He was born in Platte 
toJUshrJuly 1. 1858, a son of Capt. Kemp M. and Sarah Jane (Hamilton) 

^°' Capt. Kemp M. Woods was a prominent pioneer settler of Clay County. 
He was born in Woodford County, Kentucky, in 1815, and came to Clay 
Cour; with his mother in 1835. They settled in Platte towns ip^ wher 
they bought 400 acres of land which is now known ^s the John Ecton 
faS^ They lived on that place for three years when they traded it foi 
trhome pLe where LiUie M., widow of Kemp M. Woods. Jr., now lives, 
which at that time contained 1.200 acres. 

When the Civil War broke out Kemp M. Woods' sympathy v.as wi h 
the South. His place was devastated by Federal soldiers and his stock 
driven away, except two calves which were later broke and sei-ved him 
an ox team for several years after the war. Mr. Woods was axTested by 
Federa IsoTdiers and taken to Weston, but was released upon arnving her 
He then went to Little Rock, Arkansas, and from there returned to h.^ 
fid hom"e in Kentucky where he organized a ^^^^y^^^^^^ 
Confederate Army and he was commissioned captain of t^a^ «rg^"^^f f^^^ 
About the time that his company was ready for service General Lee sur 
fendered and the war was at an end. In 1866 Captain Woods returned to 
fZetciay County and again started ^^-in. and stc>ck v.s^^^^^ 
He was a successful man and spent the vemamder of his life in Platte 
township where he died in March, 1897. 

Capt Kemp M. Woods married Sarah Jane Han.ilton, who was born 
in Woodford Cunty, Kentucky, in 1822, and came to Missouri with h 
parlts who settled in Jackson County in 1825. Her maiden name was 




Mr And Mrs Henry A Woods 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 537 

Chiles and she was the widow of John Hamilton, by whom she had two 
children : Annie, who married J. W. Woods, and is deceased, and one child 
died in infancy. Capt. Kemp M. Woods was first manied to Miss Sarah 
Skinner, who died in 1847. To that union were born three children: 
Phineas, deceased; Kemp M., Jr., died in 1.912; and Mary, died in infancy. 
To Capt. Kemp M. and Sarah Jane (Hamilton) Woods were bom the fol- 
lowing children : One died in infancy ; John B., who lives in Clay County, 
^nd a sketch of whom appears in this volume; Henry A., the subject of 
this sketch ; and Cornelius H., who died in 1900. 

Henry A. Woods was reared on the home farm in Platte township and 
educated in the district school and William Jewell College, at Liberty, 
Missouri. He assisted his father on the home place until he was twenty- 
four years old, when he married, and at that time his father gave him 
240 acres of land. Here he engaged in his independent career as a farmer 
and stoclonan. He met with success and bought more land from time to 
time until he became the owner of 800 acres. He made numerous and 
substantial improvements, including a good modem residence which he 
built in 1890 and two large bams. He has been engaged in general farm- 
ing and stock raising and has also been one of the leading breeders of 
Shorthorn cattle in Clay County for the past thirty years. He also has 
been an extensive mule raiser and has raised more mules than any otner 
man in Platte township, and he has also raised a great many horses. He 
has given two of his sons 200 acres of huid each foi' a .start and they are 
progressive young men and are maldng good. 

Mr. Woods is not only a success in the industry of famimg and stock 
raising but has been an active factor in other fields of local entei-prise. 
He has been identified with the Farmers Bank of Smithville for a number 
of years and is a member of the board of directors of that institution. He 
was one of the organizers of the Bank of Nashua, Missouri, and has been 
a director of that bank since its organization, about fifteen years ago. 

On June 1, 1884, Mr. Woods was mari-ied to Miss Annie Aker, of Smith- 
ville, Missouri. She is a daughter of Martin and Ann Aker, both natives 
of Kentucky and now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Woods have been bom 
five children, as follows : Lee A., born July 24, 1885, lives in Clay County ; 
John D., l)orn April 10, 1889, lives on the home place; Calvin C, bom 
April 17, 1893, and died March 20, 1902; Ralph H., born February 19. 
1899, and died March 3, 1893 ; and Fred, bora December 26, 1900, lives at 
home with his parents. 



-g^ HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Mr Woods has been a life long Democrat and has always taken an 
active interest in political matters, although he has never aspired to hold 
office He has always taken a deep interest in the progress and welfare 
of the public schools, and for the past thirty-five years he has sei-yed as 
president of the local school board. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modem Woodmen of America. 
Mrs Woods is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star and the Christian 
Church. Mr. Woods is a substantial citizen and one of the dependable 
men of Clay County. 

WiUiam Hey, owner of "White Oak Grove Farm," near Gashland, Clay 
County, is a progressive and enterprising fanner, who by industry and 
constant application, has won for himself a place among the leading cit- 
izens of Clay County. He was bom in Gallatin tovv^iship. about one and 
one-fourth miles north of North Kansas City, March 16. 1862, and is a 
son of Christian and Mary (Chandler) Hey. 

Christian Hey was a native of Germany and when eighteen years 
of age came to America, and settled in New York City where he worked 
for a time. He then came to Jackson County, Missouri, where he worked 
in a blacksmith shop with a brother, Fred Hey. About 1858, he came 
to Clay County, Missouri, where he was married and spent the remainder 
of his life here. He died in 1886, at the age of forty-nine years. Mary 
(Chandler) Hey was married in 1904, to Henry Jennings and they reside 
on the old home place in Gallatin township. She was bom in Gallatin 
township, on the Chandler place, about one mile east of her present home. 
Her father, William Chandler, was among the very earhest pioneer 
settlers of Gallatin township. He died here and his remains are buried 
on the old Chandler home farm. ^ „ • 

To Christian and Mary (Chandler) Hey were born the followmg 
children- Rosa, married William Chandler, and now lives in Oregon; 
William, the subject of this sketch; F. B., Drexel, Missouri; James F 
died on the home place at the age of forty-seven years; Susie Ehzabeth 
man-ied Fred Hanson, and is now deceased: and Anna B. married Walter 
Suggett, of North Kansas City, Missouri. 

William Hey was reared in Gallatin to^^^lship and educated in the 
Glenwood school. He was reared on a farm and in early life engaged m 
farming and stock raising, for himself. He bought his present farm in 
1894 from Thomas Broadhurst. The place at that time was practically 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 539 

unimproved and much of it was covered with the thick growth of brush. 
Mr. Hey began clearing away the place and making improvements, and 
for the first three years he was unmarried and lived alone on the place. 
He has improved his place, erected good buildings, and today has one of 
the productive and well kept farms of Clay County. The place has an 
ample supply of water, furnished by numerous springs and Shoal Creek 
courses its way across the southwest corner of the place. There are 
twenty acres of bottom land and the balance is upland, and all is rich, 
productive soil. Mr. Hey has given special attention to breeding high- 
grade cattle, mules, horses, and hogs. He has some of the finest stock in 
the country, including three valuable registered jacks, and a number of 
jennets and pure bred Percheron horses. He has about one hundred and 
twenty-five Big Type Poland China hogs, thirty head of Shorthorn cattle, 
and one hundred Shropshire sheep. He is one of the progressive stock- 
men and breeders of Clay County, and perhaps and has done as much as 
any other may, to raise the general standard of livestock in this county. 
He has kept registered stock for the past fourteen years. 

Mr. Hey was married January 15, 1896, to Miss Eliza Johnson, of 
Gallatin township. She is a daughter of William Nelson and Nancy 
Jane (Thomas) Johnson. Her mother is now deceased and her father 
lives near Barry, Missouri. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hey have a good comfortable home and a fine farm 
which they have accumulated through their own eflforts. They are in- 
dustrious and enterprising, and rank among the leading citizens of Clay 
County. 



George S. Ritchey, cashier of the First National Bank of Liberty, is 
one of the widely known bankers of western Missouri, and has been con- 
nected with the First National Baiik for thirty-three years, and twenty- 
five years of that time he has been cashier. Mr. Ritchey is a native of 
Clay County, bom at Liberty, June 9, 1862. He is a son of Dr. Stephen 
and Nannie (Stone) Ritchey. 

Dr. Stephen Ritchey was a pioneer physician of Clay County. He 
was born in Woodford County, Kentucky, in 1824, and came to Clay 
County from his-native state about 1849, and was engaged in the prac- 
tice of medicine at Liberty and vicinity until the time of his death, 
March 6, 1888. Nannie (Stone) Ritchey was also a native of Kentucky. 
She sunived her husband a number of years, and died June 1, 1917. 



540 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Dr. Stephen and Nannie (Stone) Ritchey were the parents of the 
following children: Irwin, a traveling salesman, Kansas City, Missouri; 
Cora, maiTied J. E. Bradley, Long Beach, California; Martha, married 
D. T. Haines, Muncie, Indiana; and George S., the subject of this sketch. 

George S. Ritchie was educated in the Liberty High School, and Wil- 
liam Jewell College. He was then employed by the William Blumes Dr>' 
Goods Company, of Kansas City, for six years. In 1888, he returned to 
Libei-ty and entered the employ of the Kemp M. Woods and Company 
Bank, and remained with that institution until April 1, 1889. He then 
entered the employ of the First National Bank, and for the past twenty- 
five years has been cashier of that institution. The First National Bank 
has had a marvelous gro^^'th and development during the quarter of a 
century that Mr. Ritchey has been cashier. A history of the bank ap- 
pears elsewhere in this volume. 

Dr. Hiram McElroy Dagg, a prominent physician of North Kansas 
City, is a native of Pennsylvania. He was born at Washington, that 
State, July 26, 1850, a son of James T. and Anna (Means) Dagg, both 
natives of Washington County, Pennsylvania, who spent their lives there. 
Dr. Dagg has one sister living, Mrs. Jennie Elliott, of Revenna, Ohio. 

Dr. Hiram M. Dagg was educated in the public schools of West Vir- 
ginia and read medicine in early manhood, and began the practice of 
his pi-ofession in West Virginia, in 1875. Later he attended Medical Col- 
lege at Cleveland, Ohio, where he was graduated, in 1880. He continued 
the practice in West Virginia until 1887, when he came to Missouri, locat- 
ing at Harlem City, Clay County. He was the first physician to locate 
at North Kansas City and has practiced here with uniform success for 
thirty-three years. 

Dr. Dagg was married, October 22, 1873, to Miss Josephine Kimmms, 
of Dallas, West Virginia, a daughter of Abner and Elizabeth (McDonald) 
Kimmins! Mrs. Dagg died November 7, 1900. To Dr. and Mrs. Dagg 
have been bom six children, three of whom are deceased. Those living 
are Mrs. W. E. Macken, a sketch of whom appears in this volume: Dr. 
G. R. Dagg, a physician and surgeon of North Kansas City ; and Burdella, 
married R. H. Wade, a prominent attorney, of Yonkers. New York. 

Dr G R. Dagg received his preliminarj^ education in the public 
schoolsand the Kansas City High School. He then entered the University 
of Oklahoma and after a course there entered the Kansas City Medical 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 541 

College, where he was graduated with the degree of Doctor of Medicine, 
in 1907. He was engaged in the practice of his profession until the United 
States entered the World War. In the spring of 1917, he volunteered for 
service in the Medical Department of the United States Army and in July, 

1917, he was ordered to Allentown, Pennsylvania, and during that month 
he was sent to Fi-ance. At first he was assigned to the British Ai-my, 
serving with the 15th Division, Scottish Black Watch, from August until 
November, 1917. He was then transferred to the French Army, serving 
with the Third Chaussuers from November 17, 1917, until January 12, 

1918. He was then assigned to the First Division, American Expeditionery 
Forces, and was relieved from duty March 19, 1919. 

Dr. Dagg entered the service with the rank of first lieutenant and 
while in France was promoted to captain and at the close of his sei-vice 
ranked as major. He was cited for distinguished conduct in action while 
with the First Division, south of Soissons, July 18-22, 1918, for displaying 
exceptional courage and efficiency in the personal supervision of the exacu- 
ation of the wounded, and for frequently subjecting himself to great dan- 
ger in directing the removal of damaged ambulances from areas which 
were under heavy fire of the enemy. 

Since returning home. Dr. Dagg has been engaged in thp practice of 
his profession in North Kansas City. 

Dr. Dagg was married to Miss Maud McGee, of Kansas City, Missoui'i, 
and they have three children: Ruth, Frances and Henry M. 



Robert L. Harbaugh, a well known farmer and stockman of Liberty 
township, is a native son of Clay County and was bom on the place where 
he now resides, five miles north of Liberty, November 14, 1870. He is a 
son of Washington E. and Frances (Wolfenberger) Harbaugh. 

Washington Harbaugh was married in Pennsylvania and removed 
from that state to Ohio, and in 1866 came to Missouri and settled in Clay 
County on the place where Robert L. Harbaugh now resides. He was a 
successful fanner and a prominent member of the Grange, back in the 
nineties. He was one of the charter members of Clay Grange No. 196, 
of Liberty township. He served as master of the State Grange and also 
held the office of gate keeper of the National Grange. He attended a 
meeting of the National Grange at Syracuse, New York, and one held in 
Califoniia in 1889. He died in Clay County in 1904, at the age of seventy- 
three years. His first wife, the mother of Robert L. Harbaugh, died in 



542 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

1871, and he was afterwards maiTied to Mrs. Margaret Harbaugh, but 
there were no children bom to the second marriage. 

To Washington and Frances (Wolfenberger) Harbaugh were bom 
four children: Charies Edward, deceased; Y. E.; Clava, married Daniel 
Crockett; and Robert L., the subject of this sketch. 

Robert L. Harbaugh was reared on the home farm, where he now re- 
sides and attended the Walnut Grove district school. At that time Mrs. 
Caldwell who now resides at Excelsior Springs was principal. Mr. Har- 
baugh has always followed farming and stock raising and has met with 
success His place is well improved and he has recently built a modern 
bungalow which adds greatly to the appearance of the place as well as to 
the general comfort of the owners. 

September 10, 1896, Robert L. Harbaugh was married to Miss Fannie 
DeGolia She is a daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Haines) DeGolia. 
Joseph DeGolia was born in Steuben County, New York. He went to 
Califomia during the gold excitement of 1849 and was in that state 
twelve years later, when the Civil War broke out. He enlisted in the 
Union army and served until the close of the war. He died at the home 
of his daughter, Mrs. Harbaugh, in 1918, at the advanced age of mnety 
years His wife was born in Indiana and died near Gilman City, Mis- 
souri in 1912, at the age of seventy years. They were the parents of the 
following children: Judson, died at Altamont, Missouri; Dora, died m 
infancy; Georgiann, married Stephen Forson, Humphreys. Missouri; and 
Mrs Fannie Harbaugh, of this sketch. 

To Mr and Mrs. Harbaugh have been born three children: Juanita, 
married Cart E. Munkers, Liberty, Missouri; D. N. and Eari, both resid- 
ing at home. , 

Mr Harbaugh was for many years a prominent member ot tne 
Grange and served as secretary of the State Grange from 1898 to 1900. 
He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and a substan- 
tial citizen. 



Alan F. Wherritt, a capable young attorney of Liberty, Missouri, is 
a native of this State and a descendant of a family of very early pioneers 
here He was bom at Pleasant Hill, Missouri, June 15, 1895, a son of 
Alonzo C. and Cora I. (Francisco) Wherritt and was the only child born 
to them. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 543 

Alonzo C. Whemtt was also born at Pleasant Hill, a son of Peter and 
Mary (Peacock) Wherritt, natives of Virginia, who settled in Cass County, 
Missouri, prior to the Civil War. Peter Wherritt was an extensive land 
owner and owned the land in Jackson County where Fairmount Park is 
now located. He traded this land for land in Cass County and was 
engaged in farming there until his death, in 1876, at the age of sixty 
years. He reared a family of fourteen children, of whom Alonzo was 
the youngest. 

Alonzo C. Wherritt was reared at Pleasant Hill, Missouri, and when 
a young man engaged in the drug business thei'e. Later he became a 
traveling salesman for the Burrough Manufacturing Company, a whole- 
sale drug house of Baltimore, Maryland, and at the present time he is 
traveling representative for the Norwich Pharmaceutical Company, of 
Norwich, New York, and resides at Liberty, Missouri. Cora L (Francisco) 
Wherritt was bom at Warren, Illinois, and died in 1915. 

Alan F. Wherritt was educated in the public schools and graduated 
from the Independence High School, at Independence. Missouri, in 1912. 
He then entered William Jewell College where he took a three years course. 
In June, 1916, he entered the University of Chicago where he was grad- 
uated in 1917, with the degree of Ph.B. Shortly aftei-wards he enlisted 
in the Medical Corps of the regular army and was later assigned to the 
United States Ambulance Service. He first ranked as sergeant and later, 
first lieutenant, and was commissioned captain May 1, 1918. In June, 
1918, he sailed for overseas, and after eleven months' ser\ace in Italy and 
Austria he was returned to the United States and discharged at Camp 
Dix, New Jersey, May 9, 1919. He then returned to Liberty, Missouri, 
and shortly afterwards returned to the University of Chicago where he 
was graduated in June, 1920, with the degree of Doctor of Jurisprudence. 
He then engaged in the practice of his profession at Liberty. 

Mr. Wherritt was married June 9, 1919, to Miss Alberta L. Oldham, 
of Independence, Missouri. She is a daughter of Joseph E. and Cora 
(Newby) Oldham, both natives of Independence. The father is now de- 
ceased and the mother resides in Independence. 

Mr. Wherritt is a Democrat and a member of the Presbyterian 
church. He is a Thirty-second Degree Mason, and a member of the Mystic 
Shrine. 

As a mark of distinction while in the service, during the World War, 
he was decorated, receiving the Italian War Cross for meritorious service.. 



544 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

Judge J. W. Scott, a Civil War veteran who for many years was en- 
gaged in fanning and stock raising, is now living retired at Smithville, 
Missouri. He was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, July 26, 1838, a 
son of Washington and Ruth Ann (Duncan) Scott. 

Washington Scott was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, December 
18, 1812, a son of William and Elizabeth (Smith) Scott, natives of Bourbon 
County, Kentucky, also. Washington Scott came to Missouri and settled 
in Platte township, Clay County, in the fall of 1839, and here he bought 
400 acres of land which he later lost on account of defective title. He , 
then bought 200 acres where he engaged in farming and spent the re- 
mainder of his life. This land is still owned by members of the Scott 
family. When he came here from Kentucky he drove through with a 
four-horse team and brought his wife, two children, one of whom is the 
subject of this sketch. He also brought a negro slave. William Scott 
built a log cabin on his claim, which was completed March 1, 1843. He 
followed fanning and stock raising all his life, and died February 28, 
1857. His wife was also a native of Bourbon County, Kentucky, and 
they were married April 23, 1835. She died in this county September 20, 
1864, and her remains are buried in Second Creek cemetery, in Platte 
County. They were the parents of the following children: May E., de- 
ceased; John W., the subject of this sketch; Jeremiah, died in infancy; 
Israel L, deceased; Washington W., deceased; Ruth Ann, deceased; James 
R., lives on the old Scott homestead, in Clay County; Sarah J., deceased; 
Nancy F., deceased; and Ida J., deceased. 

J. W. Scott was reared on a farm and educated in the district schools. 
He remained at home with his parents until after the Civil War broke 
out. In 1862 he enlisted in the Confederate Army under General Price. 
He took part in a number of skirmishes and engagements and was taken 
prisoner by the Federals at Jefferson City, Missouri. From there he was 
sent to Gratiot Street prison at St. Louis, Missouri, and later transferred 
to the Federal military prison at Alton. Illinois. He was taken sick there 
and sent to a hospital. After he recovered he went to work on a fann in 
Illinois and later taught school there, and remained in that state two years. 
After returning to Missouri he was engaged in freighting, with ox teams, 
from Fort Leavenworth to Denver. Shortly after that he engaged m 
farming and stock raising in Clay County, where he prospered and became 
the o^vner of 400 acres of land. He was engaged in fanning until 1904 
when he sold his place and removed to Smithville, where he has smce 
lived retired. 




JUDGl': J. W. SrOTT 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 547 

J. VV. Scott was married. March 10, 1868, near Platte City, Missouri, 
to Miss Mary Elizabeth Cain, daughter of John B. and Martha Jane 
(Bavins) Cain. John B. Cain was born in Shelby County, Kentucky, and 
came to Missouri with his parents and settled in Platte County at an 
early day. Here he grew to manhood and was engaged in farming until 
1870 when he went to California and died there. His wife was a native 
of Clay County and died at Pine City, Washington. Mrs. Scott v/as one 
of fourteen children bom to her parents, three of whom are now living, 
the other two being Margaret, who married N. Price, and they live in 
Platte County, and William, of Woodland, California. To Mr. and Mrs. 
J. W. Scott have been bom the following children: John P.., Lathrop, 
Missouri ; Doctor Alexander B., Topeka, Kansas ; Wade W., Clinton County, 
Missouri; Arthur, Kansas City, Missouri; Geneva, married Richard Bruce; 
Arthur and Ada, twins, the latter being deceased, and Arthur lives in 
Kansas City, Missouri. 

Mr. Scott is a member of the Christian Church, as is also his wife. 
He has taught Sunday School for over fifty years. He is a member of the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and has been chaplain of the local lodge 
for the past fifteen years. He is a Democrat and has been justice of the 
peace for a number of years. He is one of the highly respected and sub- 
stantial citizens of Smithville and Clay County. He was president of the 
Mutual Insurance Company of Liberty, Missouri, for a number of years. 



Earl Denny, county engineer of Clay County, is widely and favor- 
ablj^ known in this County as a conscientious and capable public official. 
He is a descendant of one of the representative pioneer famihes of Clay 
County. He was bom in Washington township, November 11, 1881, a 
son of George R. and Nancy E. (Wharton) Denny. 

George R. Denny was also born in Washington township, this county. 
December 1, 1852, a son of Levi and Hamiah (Clark) Denny, natives of 
North Carolina, who were man-ied in that stale arid came to Missouri in 
the early forties, settling in Washington township, Clay County. They 
were the parents of one other child besides George R., Maggie, who mar- 
ried William Lynn, and they reside at Excelsior Springs, Missouri. 

George R. Denny followed farming and stock raising during his 
active career and is now living retired at Kearney, Missouri. He is the 
owner of 510 acres of valuable land. He was married in 1879 to Miss 
Nancy E. Wharton, who was bom in Washington towmship, about 1860. 



548 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

She was a daughter of Porter and Nancy Ella (Patterson) Sartor 
natives of North Carolina. They came to Clay County at an early day 
afd entered Government land here. The Whartons were good ci izen. 
a^ld rTlSous people. They were members of the Presbytnan church and 

-^^ToXTZT^^n.y E. (Wha.^n) Denny were bo™ four chil- 
dren: Earl, the subject of this sketch; Omer, lives - ^an Franas o C^ 
iforaia- J P Washington township; and L. P., San Francisco. California. 
Srm;thef"of these toys died in 1898, and the father was aftei-.-ards 
married to Mattie Taylor, a native of Clay County. j 

Earl Denny was reared on the home farm in Washmgton townsh P 
and attended the public schools. He then took a course m the U-er^^ 
of Missouri, where he was gi-aduated in the class of 1905. He then took 
charieof h s father's farm in Washington township, where he earned on 
general facing and stock raising until he assumed the office of county 
eng ; r having been elected in the fall of 1916 and has since that time 
discharged the duties of that office in a very acceptabk manner. 

Mi Denny was married November 25, 1905, to Miss Ruby Rust, a 
native of Washington township, Clay County.' She is a davigMer of 
Charles G and Hamet A. (Green) Rust. Tl.e mother died m 1911, and 
?he father now lives on his fai-m in Washington to.-nship. Mi-s. Denn> 
L one of six children boi. to her parents. To Mr. and Mr. Denny have 
been bom two children: George Estill, and James Gilbert. 

M^. Denny is a member of the Presbyterian church and is a Demo- 

crat. 

Elisha E. Bell, a prominent farmer and breeder of Liberty to.^sliip, 
is a native of Clay County. He was bom in Fishing River township Sep- 
tember 3, 1886, and is a son of David E. and AUce R. (Cravens) Bell. 

Davm E. Bell was bom on the old Bell homestead in ^^^^ 
ship, and was a son of pioneer parents, who were very early settlers in 
Cllv County David E. Bell was an early merchant at Liberty and foi 
^^.tv vears conducted a hardware store there. During the last fifteen 
TeTsof his life, he was engaged in farming in Liberty tov™ship^where 
he Led a farm of 250 acres which is still o.-ned by the family. He di d 
at the age of sixty-five years and his widow who is also a native of Clay 
County and the descendant of one of the early pioneer families, resides at 
Liberty. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 549 

To David E. and Alice R. (Cravens) Bell, were bom the following- 
children: Nancy, married James A. DeArmond, who is the present 
mayor of Butler, Missouri, and a son of former Congressman David A. 
DeArmond, deceased; Anna L., Liberty, Missouri; Elisha E., the subject 
of this sketch ; Ruby, married James S. Simrall, of Liberty, Missouri ; and 
E. K., proprietor of a garage at Liberty, Missouri. 

Elisha E. Bell was educated in the Liberty High School and William 
Jewell College, graduating from the latter institution in the class of 1908. 
He then engaged in farming and stock raising and for the past three years 
he has been breeding pure bred Big Type Poland China hogs and is one of 
the successful breeders of Clay County. He has one of the valuable pure 
bred male hogs at the head of his herd in Clay County and at this writing 
has about thirty pure bred registered sows. He raises and feeds cattle 
and hogs for the market on an extensive scale. He owns a valuable farm 
of 135 acres, and, in addition to that, he operates the home place of 210 
acres, and also 140 acres of Missouri River bottom land. He operates, in 
all, 487 acres. 

November 1, 1920, Mr. Bell bought, in partnership, with his brother, 
E. K. Bell, the Liberty garage which they conduct on East Kansas street. 
Liberty, Missouri. 

Elisha E. Bell was married February 7, 1911, to Miss Lavenia Hunt, 
a daughter of Ed S. Plunt, of Liberty, Missouri. Mrs. Bell was born at 
Hardin, Missouri, and educated at the Liberty Ladies College and Lexing- 
ton College. To Mr. and Mrs. Bell have been bom three children: Ed- 
ward H., David E. and Morris M. 

Mr. Bell is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at 
Liberty, Missouri, and is one of Clay County's most progressive and enter- 
prising citizens. 



Hubert Earl King, of Birmingham, Missouri, is a native son of Clay 
County and belongs to a pioneer family of this section. He was bom on 
a farm in Gallatin township. June 9, 1871, and is a son of Martin A. and 
Margaret (Sutton) King. 

Martin A. King was born in Ohio and his wife was a native of Clay 
County and they were man-ied in Clay County. They settled on the farm 
which is now owned by Mrs. Alice Hughes. During the Civil War, Mar- 
tin A. King served in the Confederate army under Gen. Sterling Price. 
He was at the battles of Westport, Springfield and a number of other 



550 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

engagements in which General Price's command was engaged. He was 
killed by lightning August 5, 1885, at the age of forty-two years and his 
wife died April 4, 1911. 

Martin A. and Margaret (Sutton) King were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children : Anna Belle married Samuel Root and now lives in Cass 
County, Missouri; Maiy, mairied Robert Lee Minter; Joannah May, mar- 
ried S. P. Minter, Kansas City, Missouri; Hubert Earl, the subject of this 
sketch; Maggie, married W. W. Cosby and died August 21, 1900; and 
Ardena Brown, married J. J. Eichinger, of Randolph, Missouri. 

Hubert Earl King was educated in the public schools of Minnaville, 
Missouri, and at Liberty, Missouri. He engaged in farming in early life 
and has since successfully devoted himself to farming and stock raising. 

Mr. King was married November 10, 1895, to Miss Lela Cutler, a 
daughter of B. B. and Dicie (Devers) Cutler. B. B. Cutler was born at 
Orland, Indiana, and was married to Dicie Devers, November 30, 1874, at 
Holt, Missouri. Her parents were George and Lutetia (Ross) Devers, 
natives of Kentucky; they died in Indiana. Dicie Devers was born in 
Gallatin County, Kentucky. B. B. Cutler died May 11, 1916, at the age 
of sixty-three years and his widow now makes her home with her daugh- 
ter, Mrs. King. 

To Mr. and Mrs. King have been bom four children: Cecil, was 
manned to L. A. Blankenship. December 23, 1916, and they have one 
daughter, Inez Louise; Bemham Martin. Forest Leo, and Hubert Lowe, 
residing at home with their parents. 

Mr. King is a member of the Central Protective Association. He 
and the other members of the King family stand high in Clay County. 



John Williams, president of the Bank of Smithville. Smithvilie, Mis- 
souri, is a native of Clay County and has been prominently identi|ied with 
this section of the state throughout his career. He was born near Smith- 
ville, August 23, 1865, a son of John and Julia (Brooks) Williams. 

John Williams, the father, was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, 
October 21, 1821. He came to Clay County, Missouri, and settled on 
government land which he entered in Platte township in 1844. He was 
successfully engaged in farming and stock raising here during the re- 
mainder of his career and became well-to-do, being the owner of 450 acres 
of valuable land. He died January 6, 1844, and his remains are buried 
in the Odd Fellows cemetery at Smithville, Missouri. His wife was born 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 551 

in Smithville, Clay County, October 3, 1831, and they were mairied in 
Platte townsliip in 1856. She died March 15, 1915, and is also buried in 
the Odd Fellows cemetery at Smithville. They were the parents of two 
children: John, the subject of this sketch and Sidney J., cashier of the 
Bank of Smithville, of whom a sketch appears in this volume. 

John Williams was educated in the district school of the neighbor- 
hood, where he was born and later attended the State Normal School at 
Kirksville, Missouri. He remained on the home place and assisted his 
father until the death of the latter which occurred in 1884. He was then 
married and continued to operate the home place until 1900. He then 
came to Smithville and engaged in the hardware and implement business 
which he successfully carried on until 1918, when he was succeeded by 
his son, J. C. Williams, who is now conducting the business. Mr. Wil- 
liams has had a successful business career and is one of the well-to-do 
men of Clay County. In addition to his banking, mercantile and other 
interests, he is the owner of a valuable and well improved farm of 500 
acres. 

December 16, 1886, John Williams was man-ied to Miss Nannie C. 
Moore and to this union three children have been born, as follows : John 
C, Smithville, Missouri; Arthur L., deceased; and Sidney S., who is 
engaged in the hardware and implement business at Smithville, Missouri. 

Mr. Williams has been a member of the Masonic lodge for twenty 
years and a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows for twenty- 
eight years and he has held membership in the Modern Woodmen of 
America for fifteen years. He is a Democrat and has always taken an 
active interest in political affairs. During Governor Dockery's adminis- 
tration, Mr. Williams served as a member of the state legislature from 
this county. He is a capable business man and one of the most pro- 
gressive citizens of Clay County. 



Bank of Smithville, of Smithville, Missouri, is one of the substantial 
financial institutions in Clay County and has to its credit thirty-tv/o years 
of uninterrupted and successful banking. This bank was established in 
1888 by H. H. C. Snail, who was its first president, S. C. Duncan, the first 
cashier, John Williams and A. B. Crawford. 

The Bank of Smithville was the first bank to be established in Smith- 
ville and is one of the pioneer banks of Clay County. The business of 
this bank has been on a substantial basis from the start and for years it 



552 HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 

has been recognized as one of the strong banking institutions of the state. 
The report of the bank at this writing shows the following figures: 
Deposits, $450,709.35; surplus and profits, $102,817.00; capital stock, 
$10,000; loans, $591,837.45; real estate, $4,000.00; furniture and fixtures, 
$1,500.00; cash due from other banks, $88,556.19. 

The present officers of the bank are : John Williams, president ; S. J. 
Williams, cashier; the directors are as follows: J. C. Williams, Miss 
Mattie Snail and J. L. Phillips. 



Sidney J. Williams, cashier of the Bank of Smithville, Missouri, is 
one of the widely known and successful bankers of Clay County and west- 
em Missouri. For the past twenty-four years he has been connected with 
this well known banking institution. He was born in Platte township, 
near Smithville, April 17, 1868, a son of John and Julia (Brooks) Wil- 
liams, the former a native of Kentucky, and the latter of Clay County, 
Missouri. A more extensive and detailed history of the Williams family 
appears in this volume in connection with the biography of John Wil- 
liams, president of the Bank of Smithville. who is a brother of Sidney J. 
Williams of this review. 

Sidney J. Williams was reared on the home fann in Platte to^vnship 
and educated' in the district school and the State NoiTnal School at Kirks- 
ville, Missouri. He remained at home with his father who was a large 
land owner and extensive farmer. At the death of his father, he con- 
tinued to operate a part of the home place which he inherited from his 
father, the place having been divided between the two brothers who were 
the only children. 

Mr. Williams was engaged in fanning and stock raising until 1896, 
when he became assistant cashier of the Bank of Smithville. He served 
in that capacity until 1902, when he became cashier of the bank and has 
capably held that responsible position to the present time. In addition to 
his banking interests, Mr. Williams is the owner of 430 acres of land 
which is one of the valuable farms of Clay County. 

On February 17, 1886, Sidney J. Williams was married to Miss Betty 
L. Morton, a daughter of Dr. C. H. Morton, who was one of the pioneer 
physicians of Smithville. Mr. and Mrs. Williams have no children. 

Mr. Williams is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
having joined that organization twenty years ago. He is a Democrat and 
he and Mrs. Williams are members of the Christian church and she be- 
longs to the Rebeccas. 



HISTORY OF CLAY COUNTY 553 

Owen J. Boggess, one of the well known and successful bankers of 
Clay County, who occupies the important position of cashier of the 
Farmers Bank of Smithville, is a native of this county and is a descendant 
of early Clay County pioneers. He was bom near Smithville, in Platte 
township, August 31, 1881, a son of James W. and Elizabeth (Shrite) 
Boggess. 

James W. Boggess was born in Platte township, Clay County, July 
3, 1844, on the farm which his fat